Only show reviews for DV8 Nightmare 14 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.5Write a Review    Read all 20 reviews

I Love It
 
70% (14 of 20)
I Like It
 
20% (4 of 20)
It's Ok
 
5% (1 of 20)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 20)
I Hate It
 
5% (1 of 20)

DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 10/17/2012 10:11 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
You thought DV8 had already created the most aggressive ball they could, didn't you?

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 60* x 5" x 65*
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500, 1000, 4000 Siaair)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
After seeing the DV8 video of the new Nightmare release I figured I would use a pretty simple layout that most ball drillers may use. I kept the pin 5" from my PAP and used the dual angles to keep it below my fingers and the mass bias right of the thumb in a strong position. DV8 said this would be the strongest ball to date in their line so this layout should allow us to see what this ball could really do.

I was expected a very strong roll motion off my hand and through the transition part of the lane. The ball is supposed to have an explosive motion down lane while maintaining the strong roll that DV8 was looking for.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Wow this ball looks awesome going down the lane. I know that has nothing to do with ball motion but this thing looks sick going down there.

I will say I was very surprised by how clean this ball was through the heads. Normally when you get a ball this strong you will see some early movement
which causes the ball to smooth out as it goes down lane. Not with the Nightmare, it was super clean for me off my hand. In my opinion I don't know that I can say it hooked more then my Revenge but it was definitely a stronger rolling ball with a more continuous motion off the break point. For me the Revenge changed motion too much down lane so the Nightmare was a great look for me.

I was able to play in the oil and see a really strong roll from start to finish with no signs of the ball losing energy as it got closer to the pins. In comparison to the previous releases I would say the the Nightmare was overall the strongest motion. This ball will compliment most of the DV8 line very well and you will be able to cover a variety of conditions with their line up this season.




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/02/2012 16:56 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
DV8 Nightmare is here and wow this ball is scary. The Solid coverstock will give you that strong roll you need in the heavy oil patterns. The cover can be altered to give you more length and more control in the front. The new Nightmare is the new hook monster in the DV8 Line if you need help with drilling check out or drilling options.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com
facebook ormondlanesproshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Reviewed By: bannachb12 11/13/2012 13:07 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Nightmare
By: Bryan Bannach DV8 Regional Staff Member

DV8 describes the nightmare as a ball that “skids easily through the front and mid-lane with an extremely quick response to friction on the backend creating a highly continuous motion that cuts through the pins. The Nightmare with its new Class 8 Reactive coverstock is the most hooking DV8 ball to date and should be used on medium oily to oily lane conditions.”

I was not sure how I wanted to drill the Nightmare. After some discussion with my pro shop guy we decided to go with a 4” pin and a fairly large drill angle. The Nightmare comes with an Out of Box surface of 500/1000/4000 Abralon. I have never had much success with this surface so I decided to knock the surface down to 500/2000 before I even threw it.

I initially used the Nightmare on a house shot in league. The first time I threw it down the lane I could not believe my eyes when it came out of the ball return. It must have flared 8+ inches! It looked like almost the whole ball had flare rings around it. But the reaction I got out of it was not exactly what I expected. As described the Nightmare made it clean through the heads, but it never seemed to make the corner as strong as I expected. It seemed to burn itself out. I suspected that the surface I put on it, was just too much, and the ball was burning itself up way too early.
Before my tournament last weekend, I decided to change the surface slightly. I changed it to 500/1000/2000. I know it isn’t a huge change but I was hoping that the slightly higher “under” grit would help retain some energy. The reaction did change slightly but not enough to make me fall in love with this ball.

So we went back to the drawing board and plugged and re-drilled the Nightmare. This time we went with a 6x4x4 drilling, which put the pin above and slightly left of my middle finger, and the mass bias to the right of my thumb about an inch.

I now LOVE this ball! I get the reaction exactly as described. It is clean through the front. It then reads the mid-lane great, which is something I like to see, and then it makes a very strong move on the backend. This ball now makes it back from ANYWHERE on the lane! When I need to move in and open up my angles this ball allows me to do just that. It also lets me close them down and play square when the lanes are tight. It is amazing what the right drilling can do!

As a recommendation to people looking to drill the Nightmare, if you are a high rev player, try not to drill it with too strong of a pin. I did, and it did nothing but burn itself up. This ball is very strong on it’s own, it does not need the help of a layout to make it move.

Bryan Bannach
DV8 Regional Staff Member
www.damngoodbowling.com

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bannachb12


DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Reviewed By: is395awd 11/12/2012 17:48 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Its Not exactly what I thought I was gonna get.I thought I was gonna get a hook monster,a pin striker, but I didnt get that. I am also aware that I have it drilled for an inside shot, but it just doesnt have the hit i was expecting. it just seems to flatten out and leave pocket 10 pins. my plan for the ball was for it to be the first ball out of my bag and be done with it after game one because it was going to hook too much, but thats not the case I have it coming out for the 3rd game when I have to play the inside shot and it works. the ball is nice it was just not what I was expecting or looking for, I was looking for a real hook monster

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Reviewed By: rbgrn 11/12/2012 16:02 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Threw it back to back on a medium to heavy house shot with my Critical Theory. The Theory is drilled almost the same layout but pin down whereas I have the Nightmare's pin higher up for more length.

The Nightmare isn't always stronger than the CT (Critical Theory), just in heavier or longer oil it seems to be. Through the mids and onto the drier boards, the CT seems to recover more, however when I throw a much deeper line (across the 12 or deeper) the Nightmare picks up quicker and makes a bigger move than the CT can.

I bought the Nightmare specifically for longer/heavier sport patterns and replaced my older Theory with it which so far seems like an appropriate choice. The way DV8 markets, I wasn't going to be surprised if it was several boards stronger than the CT in all situations but that's not the case (it's actually a board or two weaker when playing the outside of our THS).

Overall if you're shooting very heavy oil, this seems like a good ball that will actually read and move in it, but I don't think I would buy it if it were going to be my only ball because I found it more difficult to control in the lighter oil than any of my other balls.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Reviewed By: kuminilkat 06/10/2014 23:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Decent ball but a bit of disappointing. When I got it I was looking for a very strong ball for the heavy sport patterns. With the out of box surface it never did that. When I resurfaced it with 1000grit it started to do what it was supposed to do. The problem is that when dulled down it is very unpredictable and early hooking, burning most of the energy down the lane when it hits the pins. With out of box surface it is of course longer but barely handles any oil and hooking really weak. However it is quite good sponge so it's good for opening up a pattern, just need to attack a little straighter than expected. Also good on fresh house shot.

Drilling: Pin down, no balance hole. Surface: tried from 500 to 4000 grit sanding.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kuminilkat


DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Reviewed By: seanfr1@hotmail.com 02/26/2014 15:58 ( stars)


 
Left Hand
Low Rev
Stroker
185 Ave

What a great ball. Up until now, my goto favorite ball is a Storm Lucid. I wanted a little more anglular ball to use when the lanes have more oil. This so far has done the trick. I drilled it Pin up.
Threw it for an entire 3 game set for 689 scratch. 239, 236, 214. It was very consitent and my moves were minimal.

Too bad I found this DV8 ball at the end of the production run. I hope to try more DV8 equipment.

In the Bag:
Voodoo Lucid
Voodoo Vivid
HyRoad
Sync
Freak'n Frantic
DV8 Nightmare



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Reviewed By: Alcoholic seamen thrower 11/06/2013 13:24 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    270-280
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
this ball feels nice and explodes the pins once it hits the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Alcoholic seamen thrower


DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Reviewed By: Alcoholic seamen thrower 11/06/2013 12:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    270-280
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This ball explodes the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Alcoholic seamen thrower


Read all 20 reviews

DV8 Nightmare 14 Only Bowling Balls 4.50 out of 5 based on 20 ratings. 20 user reviews.