Only show reviews for Brunswick Karma Urethane

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.75Write a Review    Read all 8 reviews

I Love It
 
75% (6 of 8)
I Like It
 
25% (2 of 8)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 8)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 8)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 8)

Brunswick Karma Urethane Reviewed By: Cripper 12/20/2012 00:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    224
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/4" over x 3/4" up
 
I used this ball at a tournament and it paid for itself that day. While people were using high end balls, I was using urethane. This ball gave me a look no one else had. I was +150 after 3 and I couldn't be happier with how the ball performed. I did change the cover from 1500 to 1500/shine. After bowling at my typical houses the urethane went too far and snapped too hard off the pattern. Taking the ball to 4000 was perfect. I never owned a urethane ball before but after throwing this....it is staying in the bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cripper


Brunswick Karma Urethane Reviewed By: DaBoss300 11/25/2012 12:57 ( stars)


 

The Karma Urethane rolled like a typical Urethane ball. The Karma Urethane rolled very early in the mid-line providing a very controlled and smooth breakpoint. Comparing the Karma Urethane to my Karma Solid it was 4-6 boards right with my feet and 2-3 boards right with my eyes. Obviously with the Urethane I had to play a pretty tight line. I will say the one of the surprising features of this ball was the backend pop it provides. This Urethane ball seems to carry much better than other Urethane balls from our competitors. I’ve even thrown some “scouts” with this Urethane ball.

When I received this ball I was a little scared to drill it. I wasn’t sure how to drill it nor was I sure how it would roll for me. Last Urethane ball I threw was a Teal Rhino Pro when I was 13. I decided to drill this as an old school Urethane ball, like how I remember my Rhino Pro being. From what I can remember this was very similar to my Rhino Pro. Very controllable. Comparing this to my Karma Solid it was an earlier roll and less at the breakpoint so I had to play on Old School straighter line to the pocket.

Strength – Predictability. This will be a great ball on shorter patterns where I need to control the backend. Carry is another strength of this ball. Normally I see flat corners with urethane balls. Not this urethane…..it snaps out the corners with ease!

Weakness – None at this time

Jason Jones
Pin Action Pro Shop
Bloomington, IL
Brunswick Staff

The opinions expressed are soley those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DaBoss300


Brunswick Karma Urethane Reviewed By: laserboypa 10/08/2012 12:21 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
LANE CONDITION

Length: short and medium
Volume: medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): cheetah, boardwalk, and THS

BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker
Ball Speed: 16.50 mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track

COMMENTS

Likes: Great rolling urethane ball

Dislikes: None

This ball is great for when the lanes get fried or shorter oil patterns. With my higher rev rate, this ball allows me to play right without over reacting to friction. With the karma core, this ball will rev up but still have a smooth motion because of the urethane coverstock. I can still get this ball to flare, but it doesn't take off like a resin ball would when reaching the friction. This ball would be good for somebody with slower ball speed who needs a smoother reaction than a pearlized reactive resin ball. Comparing it to the Avalanche Urethane, it has a smoother reaction and doesn't jerk off the friction.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


Brunswick Karma Urethane Reviewed By: GreatWhite 09/16/2012 19:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 over, 5/8 up
 
DA- 55x5x42 500/Polish finish

Out of the box, the Karma Urethane starts to hook fairly early on the lane. However, I hit my Karma with 500 and some polish, and now it gets through the heads much easier. Even with the polish, the Karma has a very clean, easy to read reaction. This is a great ball when I am needing to play straighter through the front part of the lane. Compared to the Avalanche Urethane, the Karma has a smoother reaction and is considerably less "jumpy" in the back part of the lane. Also if I am catching carry down, the Versa Max is a great ball to switch to in order to eliminate some of the skid.

Barry McKee
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are soley those of the writer and not the Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GreatWhite


Brunswick Karma Urethane Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 07/28/2012 02:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8x 3/4 up
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 4.5
Starting Top Weight: 2.1 oz
Ball Weight: 15 lbs 5 oz
DRILL PATTERN
Ball: 65 x 4 1/2 x 75
X Hole (if there is one): No Hole
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 375 rpms
Ball Speed:17.5 mph
PAP/Track: 4 3/4 over 3/4 up
SURFACE PREP
Grit: Shiny
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished
LANE CONDITION
Lengths of patterns: 41
Volumes: higher side of moderate
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): house
BALL REACTION
Length: early and smooth
Back End: very little.....smooth roll in the middle of the lane
Overall Hook: Low
Midlane Read: strong
Breakpoint Shape: hook and set
COMMENTS
Likes: The low hook potential and smooth roll allow me to stay closer to the dry
Dislikes: Was a little strong out of the box
Today's tournament lane conditions can be very wet/dry at times and bowling balls are getting stronger as time goes by. The Karma Urethane gives that vintage urethane look that smooths the wet/dry reaction out and allows me to play a little closer to the dry without sacrificing carry. I found this ball a little strong out of the box an so I ended up smoothing the surface out some and then polishing it. Once it was polished, the ball lived up to my expectations and allowed me to add a little rotation while playing right up the dry portion of the house shot. It also provided a significant amount of miss left as the ball just slid right to the pocket. I believe this ball will be a real winner when faced with conditions where you need to square up and you don't need the ball to hook much. Compared to the previous Avalance Urethane I find this ball to read the lane a little sooner and hook about 2 more boards. This ball would be a great option for a beginner bowler looking to learn the game and also looks to be a good option for those heavier handed individuals that need a lesser aggressive ball. If you are looking for a ball to smooth out drier conditions look no further than the Karma Urethane.
Chris Garrett
Upstate Pro Shop
Greenville, SC 864-248-4737
Upstateproshop@charter.net
PBA Member
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Brunswick Karma Urethane Reviewed By: brunswick802 07/27/2012 22:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205-210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8" right
 
Brunswick Karma Urethane
Bowler Stats:
Right handed
PAP: 4 ¾” right
Speed: 18-18.5 mph
Rev Rate: 450 rpm
Axis rotation: 20-45 degrees
Axis Tilt: 15 degrees

Ball 1 Layout:
40* by 5” by 45*

Ball 2 Layout:
30* by 4.5” by 80*
Hole through cg

Purpose:
There are two reasons to love urethane balls like this Karma. 1) They provide the most consistent reaction you can possibly have, save for plastic. 2) They give you a look on drier and/or shorter patterns that many other bowlers will not be able to have. Between the two Karmas I drilled, I’m confident that on patterns from 33’ to 38’ I will have a great look and a smooth reaction that basically no one will be able to match with reactive equipment. While Ball #1 will be smooth, Ball #2 will be slightly stronger and even smoother

Observations:
On fresh THS, I was surprised of the overall movement out of these two balls. I was able to play closer to the friction, anywhere from 2nd arrow to 3rd arrow, very comfortably. Just seeing what all the ball could do, I took Ball #2 and really really hit it at the bottom and had a shockingly good look slow hooking 4th arrow. In comparison to the retired Urethane Avalanche, I’d say that the new Karma Urethane hooks about 1-2 boards more overall and is even smoother. This ball doesn’t know what overreaction is. So smooth and so forgiving, you can’t expect to find a more controllable ball. This ball is all about a smooth arc through the whole lane and you know what this ball is going to do as soon as you set it down. Those of us with higher rev rates might require sanding the surface up to 3000 or so to get the ball a little further downlane. I haven’t touched the surface on either of these yet because I want to first see how they react on short sport patterns, as is. Even on Scorpion, I could throw both of these up 9-10 and have a predictable look to the pocket. No doubt, this is a look that only urethane can provide.

Final thoughts:
The Karma Urethane is ideal for short sport patterns and scooting closer to the friction on house shots. Bowlers with high rev rates and/or slower speeds will find this to be more truthful and that a ball like this can really create predictability and confidence on the lane. There’s nothing like the feeling of knowing exactly what to expect out of a ball and how consistent that ball is going to react time and time again. If you need a smooth ball for the lower end of your arsenal (and possibly to double as a spare ball), the Karma Urethane is the ball for you.

Thanks for reading. Good luck and good bowling!

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brunswick802


Brunswick Karma Urethane Reviewed By: brunswick802 07/27/2012 22:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205-210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8" right
 
Brunswick Karma Urethane
Bowler Stats:
Right handed
PAP: 4 ¾” right
Speed: 18-18.5 mph
Rev Rate: 450 rpm
Axis rotation: 20-45 degrees
Axis Tilt: 15 degrees

Ball 1 Layout:
40* by 5” by 45*

Ball 2 Layout:
30* by 4.5” by 80*
Hole through cg

Purpose:
There are two reasons to love urethane balls like this Karma. 1) They provide the most consistent reaction you can possibly have, save for plastic. 2) They give you a look on drier and/or shorter patterns that many other bowlers will not be able to have. Between the two Karmas I drilled, I’m confident that on patterns from 33’ to 38’ I will have a great look and a smooth reaction that basically no one will be able to match with reactive equipment. While Ball #1 will be smooth, Ball #2 will be slightly stronger and even smoother

Observations:
On fresh THS, I was surprised of the overall movement out of these two balls. I was able to play closer to the friction, anywhere from 2nd arrow to 3rd arrow, very comfortably. Just seeing what all the ball could do, I took Ball #2 and really really hit it at the bottom and had a shockingly good look slow hooking 4th arrow. In comparison to the retired Urethane Avalanche, I’d say that the new Karma Urethane hooks about 1-2 boards more overall and is even smoother. This ball doesn’t know what overreaction is. So smooth and so forgiving, you can’t expect to find a more controllable ball. This ball is all about a smooth arc through the whole lane and you know what this ball is going to do as soon as you set it down. Those of us with higher rev rates might require sanding the surface up to 3000 or so to get the ball a little further downlane. I haven’t touched the surface on either of these yet because I want to first see how they react on short sport patterns, as is. Even on Scorpion, I could throw both of these up 9-10 and have a predictable look to the pocket. No doubt, this is a look that only urethane can provide.

Final thoughts:
The Karma Urethane is ideal for short sport patterns and scooting closer to the friction on house shots. Bowlers with high rev rates and/or slower speeds will find this to be more truthful and that a ball like this can really create predictability and confidence on the lane. There’s nothing like the feeling of knowing exactly what to expect out of a ball and how consistent that ball is going to react time and time again. If you need a smooth ball for the lower end of your arsenal (and possibly to double as a spare ball), the Karma Urethane is the ball for you.

Thanks for reading. Good luck and good bowling!

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brunswick802


Brunswick Karma Urethane Reviewed By: brunswick802 07/27/2012 22:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205-210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8" right
 
Brunswick Karma Urethane
Bowler Stats:
Right handed
PAP: 4 ¾” right
Speed: 18-18.5 mph
Rev Rate: 450 rpm
Axis rotation: 20-45 degrees
Axis Tilt: 15 degrees

Ball 1 Layout:
40* by 5” by 45*

Ball 2 Layout:
30* by 4.5” by 80*
Hole through cg

Purpose:
There are two reasons to love urethane balls like this Karma. 1) They provide the most consistent reaction you can possibly have, save for plastic. 2) They give you a look on drier and/or shorter patterns that many other bowlers will not be able to have. Between the two Karmas I drilled, I’m confident that on patterns from 33’ to 38’ I will have a great look and a smooth reaction that basically no one will be able to match with reactive equipment. While Ball #1 will be smooth, Ball #2 will be slightly stronger and even smoother

Observations:
On fresh THS, I was surprised of the overall movement out of these two balls. I was able to play closer to the friction, anywhere from 2nd arrow to 3rd arrow, very comfortably. Just seeing what all the ball could do, I took Ball #2 and really really hit it at the bottom and had a shockingly good look slow hooking 4th arrow. In comparison to the retired Urethane Avalanche, I’d say that the new Karma Urethane hooks about 1-2 boards more overall and is even smoother. This ball doesn’t know what overreaction is. So smooth and so forgiving, you can’t expect to find a more controllable ball. This ball is all about a smooth arc through the whole lane and you know what this ball is going to do as soon as you set it down. Those of us with higher rev rates might require sanding the surface up to 3000 or so to get the ball a little further downlane. I haven’t touched the surface on either of these yet because I want to first see how they react on short sport patterns, as is. Even on Scorpion, I could throw both of these up 9-10 and have a predictable look to the pocket. No doubt, this is a look that only urethane can provide.

Final thoughts:
The Karma Urethane is ideal for short sport patterns and scooting closer to the friction on house shots. Bowlers with high rev rates and/or slower speeds will find this to be more truthful and that a ball like this can really create predictability and confidence on the lane. There’s nothing like the feeling of knowing exactly what to expect out of a ball and how consistent that ball is going to react time and time again. If you need a smooth ball for the lower end of your arsenal (and possibly to double as a spare ball), the Karma Urethane is the ball for you.

Thanks for reading. Good luck and good bowling!

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brunswick802


Read all 8 reviews

Brunswick Karma Urethane Bowling Balls 4.75 out of 5 based on 8 ratings. 8 user reviews.