Only show reviews for Brunswick Slingshot Silver/Black
Only show reviews for Brunswick Slingshot Red/Silver

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.75Write a Review    Read all 118 reviews

I Love It
 
80% (94 of 118)
I Like It
 
18% (21 of 118)
It's Ok
 
2% (2 of 118)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 118)
I Hate It
 
1% (1 of 118)

Brunswick Slingshot Silver/Black Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 04/23/2010 09:43 ( stars)

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 
The Brunswick Slingshot is a great bowling ball at an even better price. This bowling ball is shiny which helps the bowling ball go long before hitting the breakpoint and making its turn to the pocket.

The Brunswick Slingshot seems to be versatile for many lane conditions. Because it goes longer, as the lanes start to break down, I don't have to work so hard to get the ball down the lane. I can just switch to the Brunswick Slingshot and continur.

I have enjoyed using this bowling ball very much.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Slingshot Silver/Black Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 05/13/2010 12:59 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Brunswick's latest release into the entry performance line is the Slingshot which is the first ball in its class to use a Two-piece shaped dynamic core. The Core allows multiple drilling options and stronger hitting power than traditional three-piece pancake weight block. The Slingshot's New core wrapped with proven PowrKoil 17 coverstock offers bowlers the hitting power of a high-performance ball at a low price. New color technology has allowed Brunswick to offer this ball in wide array of pearlized vibrant colors to match bowlers different styles.

Since the slingshot's release it has been the most requested entry performance ball. I am truly amazed at how good this ball performs for new bowlers as well as accomplished players. Slingshot versatility allows newer bowlers to upgrade from plastic or someone looking for a ball to roll better on drier or shorter lane patterns. Because of its mild reactive coverstock it creates length while maintaining medium response to friction on dry to medium-dry lane conditions. The slingshot introduction has once again shown why Brunswick is the number one name in bowling.




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick Slingshot Silver/Black Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 03/26/2010 17:20 ( stars)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Wow Brunswick has a great ball for short patterns and the ball looks great. The Slingshot features the popular Brunswick PowrKoil 17 Reactive coverstock. PowrKoil 17 is a mild reactive coverstock that will create length with a medium response to friction on dry to medium-dry lane conditions. The Slingshot is available in a variety of bright pearlized colors to match any bowler’s style.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Slingshot Silver/Black Reviewed By: e658 09/07/2010 04:03 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
New to bowling about 6 months ago, this was my choice as my first ball after learning the basics of the game, mainly because of the price, and the positive reviews already posted. Got it drilled at my local pro shop and hit the lanes, finding very quickly that I had made the right choice as a starting ball. Using a drilling layout suggested by my pro shop for a bowler just starting to work out the quirks of getting a ball to curve, I found that my Slingshot was able to provide a nice, consistent, gradual curve into the pocket with decent pin action. The ball is not particularly aggressive in the back end, but like I said, it's very consistent, making it perfect for the beginner bowler.

On fresh lanes, this ball skids like crazy if you keep it at factory finish, since it's polished finish doesn't allow for much "grab" on the lane, but after a few games and the lanes get a little drier, the ball really starts to shine. Personally, I kept the factory finish and now take it out of the bag for when the lanes dry out a bit.

Long story short, if you're new to bowling and are looking for a good, solid ball that will let you work on your consistency (which is arguably one of the most important aspects to improving your game), work out your newly found hook, and get you into league-bowling condition, pick this ball up! At this price, you can't go wrong. This ball will always hold a sort of sentimental value as "my first bowling ball"...but going from struggling to break 100 to now bowling in a league and averaging in the 160's only adds to my positive regard :)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by e658


Brunswick Slingshot Silver/Black Reviewed By: leelee 03/26/2010 11:43 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    208
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Shot 258 out of the box with it yesterday on a league shot. It really hits the pins with a loud wack! I throw around 16mph and play over the 10 board. It struck when I missed right by 3 boards and left by 2 boards. It did leave 2 solid 4 pins when I threw 4 boards too many to the left on an inside shot. The ball's core is said to be like the Danger Zone with coverstock priced $50 more (Annihilation). It is great for a house shot ball for $95 out the door with drilling, how can you not take a chance a ball that hits like a Mack truck and does not make a left turn Clyde when it hits the break point. It even carrys the ten on a weak shot too. First time reviewer, long time bowler, this is really the ticket for those who want to score without paying $200 for a ball that only works for heavy oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Slingshot Silver/Black Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 04/07/2010 13:18 ( stars)

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Brunswick has release a excellent line of entry level bowling balls called the Slingshot. These are great balls for the person looking to upgrade from plastic or someone looking for a ball to play drier or shorter lane patterns. The Slingshot uses a new 2-piece core and the Powerkoil 17 cover, one of their most popular coverstocks. This combination creates more power than any other 2 or 3 piece ball on the market. The Slingshot is stronger than the Power Grooves but still has enough energy to get through the pins very effectively. The ball comes in 5 different colors that are very appealing to the eye. Great release by Brunswick.

Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
river@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Brunswick Slingshot Silver/Black Reviewed By: Ricoman 04/13/2010 09:02 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
This is an excellent ball for senior bowlers or just anyone with a slower speed who wants to keep a controlled line to the pocket. The ball is definately made for medium oil or dryer lane conditions without the loss of backend strength to the pocket. A good ball for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Slingshot Silver/Black Reviewed By: DBOWLING 08/20/2010 11:11 ( stars)

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    180
 
I ordered two of diff color for my twins.

Comment: I choose HATE it because this is the 2nd bad experience with Brunswick & Mexico made.

Proshop told me the pin is not placed correctly. The ball
looks illegal right now, of course Ed Williamson Pro shop will not let it happen. I did not want to go thru the fuss of exchanging cause I have twin boys who are difficult to deal with. One is bowling with a new ball and the other one
sit and watch!

The previous ball was a 14 lb Brunswick Twiste Fury which
crack along the fingure tip. Also something funny about the
pin when Ed drilled it. He warned me at that time about product from Mexico already! Two yrs ago, I believe.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Slingshot Red/Silver Reviewed By: weyandk@live.com 10/25/2012 15:34 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I purchased the Brunswick Slingshot as my first step into the world of performance bowling balls. I've been bowling for a long time, and after a 3-4 year hiatus I decided to get back into the swing of things (pun slightly intended). Based on a lot of time spent researching bowling ball mechanics, reactions, opinions, etc. (this site is an AMAZING source of knowledge) and my bowling style, the Slingshot seemed like the perfect first step towards evolving my game. I couldn't be happier with that decision.

I wish I knew the specifics about my drilling (since it was my first fingertip ball there wasn't a lot of history to go off of), but I'm told it was a fairly neutral drilling. Right away I noticed the control I had with this ball down the lane that I never had with my previous plastic ball. The Slingshot seems to be at its best on Light-Dry lanes, and has just enough reaction on the back-end to hit the pocket with a lot of power, but without the angular reaction higher performance balls generate. I'm not skilled enough to convince the ball to have a wide hook, but honestly this ball just doesn't seem designed for that. I have a straighter shot that really only needs to move about 5 boards to have success, and The Slingshot does that quite well.

The Slingshot has a very consistent roll and reaction, which is one of the most important aspects I considered when purchasing a ball. I find myself needing very minor adjustments between fresh league night oil and when the lanes are broken down to their worst. The Slingshot has performed exactly how I hoped on every lane condition I've bowled on so far.

I can't reccomend The Brunswick Slingshot enough. At its price point, The Slingshot is an incredible buy for the bowler looking to indulge in the world of performance bowling balls, or even for the accomplished bowler that could use a solid, consistent ball on lighter patterns.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 118 reviews

Brunswick Slingshot Red/Orange Bowling Balls 4.75 out of 5 based on 118 ratings. 118 user reviews.