Only show reviews for Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.75Write a Review    Read all 32 reviews

I Love It
 
75% (24 of 32)
I Like It
 
25% (8 of 32)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 32)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 32)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 32)

Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/22/2012 07:46 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

Get a clear cut lead on your competition with the Roto Grip Defiant Edge bowling ball!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 6"
PSA Layout - 6" x 4 1/8" x 3"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Defiant Edge is Roto Grips answer to a pearlized Defiant. The ball motion was going to be pretty straight forward in that we expected to see really good length with a strong angular movement down lane. I used a further pin to PAP to create a little more skid and kept the mass in a strong position to create a angular move off the point.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Everyone will really like this ball. It has been a while since we have seen a pearlized High Performance ball from Roto Grip. The last really good one I can remember was the Mutant Cell Pearl and this reminds me of that but better.

It takes all the aspects of the Defiant and allowed me to move further right and get more skid snap, opening up the backends and getting through the pins really strong. Even on the fresh oil the Defiant Edge offered a really strong look and great pin carry.

Roto Grip has a great line-up coming this season led, in my opinion by the Defiant Edge.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 06/18/2012 15:15 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 7 1/8"
PSA Layout - 7 1/8 x 4 3/8 x 3"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

I absolutely loved the Defiant. I was expecting the Defiant Edge to be the perfect compliment for when the Defiant starts to read too early. I was hoping to see a strong backend reaction with the amazing carry the Paragon core is known for.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

I saw exactly what I expected to see. When a company like Roto Grip gets into a groove, it's easy to predict what a ball will do because everything they make is great. They know what works and their design team is the best in the business. This will be a great compliment to the Defiant.

With the layout I chose I saw a bit too much length for my liking. When I drill another one, I will be sure to use a stronger layout. This isn't due to anything other than me choosing too weak of a layout. I also think that changing the surface to 4000 matte like the Critical Theory would be amazing on this ball. All in all, the Edge is going to be another big hit for Roto Grip. Learn from my mistake and drill the ball with a layout that plays to the strengths of the ball. Drill it strong and watch it fly!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 07/28/2012 07:58 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Defiant Edge #1 serial#12REGE30J051 layout: 50x4x35
Ball was drilled to be used on house patterns that use HPL and SPL and be a benchmark ball to replace my Infinite Theory. Tested on 2 house patterns with HPL and SPL surfaces, and also on Autobahn and Winding Road on the HPL surface.
Found that on the house pattern, I had to look about 2-3 inches further down the lane, but was still able to play the same lines to the pocket. Did also notice on the sport patterns, I needed to look much further down lane so it would not over react. The overall performance was stronger than the Infinite I have with the same layout and sharper angle into the pocket then any hybrid pearl and reactive pearl I ever had.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Reviewed By: TEK95 01/14/2013 12:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Sport Shot Average    170
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I love this ball. The Defiant Edge is perfect for medium and heavy oil conditions. I needed a ball that was good in those conditions. I have an Ebonite THE ONE and an Ebonite Mission X, and don;t get me wrong I like those balls too. But they just weren't getting the job done on some oil conditions when I went to big tournaments. Now that I have this ball it has helped me tremendously and I will buy more Roto Grip products in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/27/2012 18:21 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Defiant Edge, there was no doubt I was going to like this ball. I drilled three Defiants and still use them to this day and this is the best Defiant edge that I have drilled out of 2. This one is drilled 60 x 4 x 40 which keeps the pin up and helps push the ball downlane while still maintaining a good midlane roll. With the pearlized cover there was no question that the reaction would be angular and that is the truth. This ball can be used box surface or I would recommend no more than a 4000 abralon surface. Even a little scuffed the ball easily gets through the heads and travels to the midlane where it wants to roll heavy and turn the corner hard. The video is actually difficult to see but compared to a regular Defiant, the Defiant edge gets down the lane about 2 feet further and then turns the corner hard. From the vantage point I had you could tell with no problem but either way you see it, the pins had no chance with the hitting power that this core and ball create. Great piece RG. The King Stays on top once again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Reviewed By: TreeMarie55 11/17/2012 00:54 ( stars)


 
I love the Defiant Edge. I use it for almost every sport shot I have competed on since getting the ball. I really like how smoothly the ball goes down the lane and hooks into the pocket. It is my go to ball for just about anything and I feel completely comfortable and confident when I use it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Reviewed By: yngwie55 11/17/2012 00:45 ( stars)


 
Good action on the back end. Works well on longer patterns. Rolls well off my hand. Pretty good ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Reviewed By: Logieebear 11/16/2012 23:56 ( stars)


 
Great ball, great work

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Reviewed By: ElizabethK 11/16/2012 19:02 ( stars)


 
This bowling ball seems to work on just aboiut any oil pattern that you can put down.
I love this ball. I have thrown it on sport conditions with low volume oil and sport conditions with quite high volumes of oil.
It seems to work on both extremes the great backend it has does tend to get snappy when the oil begins to break down.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 32 reviews

Roto Grip Defiant Edge 16 Only Bowling Balls 4.75 out of 5 based on 32 ratings. 32 user reviews.