Only show reviews for Storm IQ

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.54Write a Review    Read all 13 reviews

I Love It
 
69% (9 of 13)
I Like It
 
23% (3 of 13)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 13)
I Don't Like It
 
8% (1 of 13)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 13)

Storm IQ Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/22/2012 07:14 ( stars)

189 of 192 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

Make the smart choice... go with the Storm IQ bowling ball if you want the highest scores!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/8"
PSA Layout - 5 1/8" x 6" x 2 3/4"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (3000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
With Storm's release of the IQ and IQ Tour at the same time we wanted to see the actual difference in the ball motions without the layout being a factor.

I kept the layout very simple placing the pin 5 1/8" from my PAP just above my ring finger and using a smoother placement for the cg keeping the ball from over reacting and really letting me see the way the ball rolls.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I really enjoyed this ball motion from Storm. The Master line has been dominated by the Marvel series for the last couple of seasons and those were always great ball releases. Saying that, I think the release of the IQ series will fit the bowlers as whole more. I see this ball motion as the motion that everyone wants to see. It is plenty strong enough to combat heavier oil conditions but it remains smooth throughout the lane so that you can see where the ball is reading the pattern or not reading the pattern.

With the IQ I had about 4-5 boards room to miss and the ball just read the friction perfectly and adjusted to the miss. When I got it right a little early it checked up sooner but stayed controllable down lane and blew the pins out. When I would tug it just a bit you would see it skid a little further but just come screaming back down lane as as strong as anything we have thrown recently.

I think the two ball introduction in this series is a perfect call from Storm and that bowlers of all skill levels will enjoy the motion this series will offer.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 06/18/2012 15:02 ( stars)

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 6 1/4"
PSA Layout - 6 1/4 x 6 1/4 x 3 1/8"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (3000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

Knowing that this ball features the amazing Centripetal Core from the Marvel series, a great reaction shape was going to be a given. After reading about the new PFT coverstock, I was expecting a stronger version of the Marvel.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

This ball is exactly what I was expecting and hoping for! In my opinion, this is the ball Storm intended to make with the Marvel. It is much more versatile than the original Marvel as I got a bit more length and a really even rolling reaction, which I love. This ball really HOOKS! If the Premier line bowling balls like the Nano Solid or Vivid have a bit too much angle for you, but you still need something for heavy oil, the IQ will be one of your favorites.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 07/17/2012 17:43 ( stars)

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm IQ is the new release in the Master High Performance line. The ball is a great ball for heavy oil patterns with the matte finish the roll is strong in the front. Centripetal Core and Progressive Friction Technology shell you will love the smooth roll and strong backend.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm IQ Reviewed By: SWidmer 06/28/2012 16:10 ( stars)

18 of 21 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    207
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 7/8 over 3/8 up
 
Lane Conditions: Heavy Oil
Typical Conditions: Variety of Shots
Type of Lane: All Synthetic
Weight of bowling ball: 15
Surface of bowling ball: Factory/Box
What grit was the surface of the ball? 3000
Likes: Smooth/strong backend reaction and ability to cut through heavy oil.
Dislikes: None so far.

My IQ layout: 75 x 4 1/2 x 35
My PAP: 5 7/8\" over, 1/8\" up

The new Storm IQ combines the new PFT™ (Progressive Friction Technology) coverstock and dynamic Centripetal™ core with tremendous results.

I have had the chance to throw the IQ on a fresh 40\' heavy oil house pattern, Kegel\'s Broadway (37\' Challenge Series) pattern and the PBA\'s 37\' Viper pattern. The IQ handled the oil very well on all three patterns and produced excellent entry angle leaving very few flat tens in the process, something we all fear when throwing a strong solid.

Something that has been very noticeable about the IQ\'s brand new cover technology is it\'s durability. There hasn\'t been any self shining going on so far and I\'ve bowled about 15 games with it on heavy oil.

I see the IQ and IQ Tour being a great 1-2 combination in anyone\'s bag. The IQ Tour when a sharper reaction is needed off the spot and the IQ when you need an earlier read and smoother backend reaction. When both balls were fresh out of the box the IQ out hooked the IQ Tour by 4-5 boards which is right in line with Storm\'s comparison chart.

Storm is continuing it\'s domination of the 2012 PBA season with Pete Weber claiming his 47th PBA Regional title on June 24th. Weber used the brand new IQ.
http://www.stormbowling.com/news/2012/06/3751

Find out more information about the Storm IQ here:
http://www.stormbowling.com/products/balls/iq


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by SWidmer


Storm IQ Reviewed By: christo_rice@yahoo.com 07/19/2012 15:10 ( stars)

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    219
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
What I wanted out of this ball:
I wanted something that would arch more than snap, which is what i was seeing in the videos and drilling layouts. I wanted it to hook more then the Frantic but less than my Virtual Gravity.

What I ended up with:
When i first threw the ball i was just so amazed with how smooth and how easy of a roll this ball has. It is exactly what i wanted and more, every pocket exploded and put all ten in the pit.

I only left a single pin on a pocket shot maybe 6 times in a league outing. I ended up shooting 668, decent but could have been better. I would strongly suggest this ball to anyone that wants a ball that will give you room and a smooth roll. If you throw it out, it comes right back to the pocket, if you get it in a little, it slides and then smashes. I think that the IQ will deffinately raise my scores. Thank you storm for another great ball!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by christo_rice@yahoo.com


Storm IQ Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/27/2012 17:49 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hello all and thanks for reading.
The IQ is the epitome of midlane strength. The core has been proven over and over again in balls in the Marvel series and the Prodigy but with this upgraded coverstock it is now at the next level. Layout used 55 x 5 x 50 (roughly). I wanted to use this ball on the medium patterns and on a high friction lane surface. Combined with the midlane strength I got just that. This ball rolls heavy in the midlane and maintains energy with a smooth arc into the pins. Ball is best on fresh or if the lanes transistion with oil carry down for me. Speed dominant players or high speed high rev guys who are looking for more breakpoint control down lane. As you can see the ball picks up in the midlane and makes a very smooth arc into the pocket. I have used this ball on cheetah and chameleon patterns with much success with a lightly polished surface because it allows me to predict the breakpoint easily over and over and over again.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm IQ Reviewed By: Tony Reynaud 10/01/2012 00:50 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    239
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1 5/8 up
 
Lane Conditions: Many
Typical Conditions: Variety of Shots: House, Sport Shots
Type of Lane: All Synthetic
Weight of bowling ball: 15
Surface of bowling ball: Factory/Box
What grit was the surface of the ball? 3000
Likes: Starts up early and still hits pins hard
Dislikes: None so far


My layout: 65 x 4 1/4" x 35
My PAP: 4 3/4" over 1 5/8 up



Are you are looking for a bowling ball that needs to start up early? Then pull the new IQ from Storm out of your bowling bag. This ball is armed with Storm’s new Progressive Friction Technology that starts cutting through heavy oil as soon as it hits the lane. Even though the ball rolls early it still has plenty of energy left in the back part of the lane to slam the pins into the pit.

Much like its sister ball the IQ Tour, the ball is very predictable going down the lane. The difference is the IQ starts its move earlier then the IQ Tour which glides through the fronts a bit easier. Since the IQ goes into an early roll it is a great ball for bowlers who like to start in the heavy oil. The IQ lives up to its name. You will be very smart to have one of these in your bag!




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tony Reynaud


Storm IQ Reviewed By: caseyccg 09/18/2012 17:38 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm IQ Ball Review
by Storm Staffer Casey Murphy

Right Handed
Rev Rate: 375-400 Rpm
Ball Speed: 16 mph
PAP: 4 5/8 straight across

Location: Sunshine Lanes
Lane Pattern: Typical House Shot
Layout: 70, 5 1/2, 40

Strong and smooth is the first thing that came to mind when I threw the IQ. The new coverstock creates a lot of friction in the oil but somehow retains energy when it hits friction. Typically stronger equipment tends to labor and lose steam once it encounters dry boards on the lanes. The low RG and high diff core compliments the cover perfectly and generates a smooth strong backend. Compared to the Marvel and Marvel Pearl, the IQ picks up in the fronts as much, if not more than the Marvel and matches the Marvel Pearl in backend reaction.

The Storm IQ is the new standard for symmetrical high performance in the bowling industry.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm IQ Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/24/2013 12:33 ( stars)


 
I bought the IQ to replace my VG Nano as my high-end solid. My Nano had a tendency to run out of energy and hit flat in the pocket, but the IQ does not have the same problem for me. The IQ reads the midlane well and creates a smooth entry into the pocket while retaining enough energy to carry. The IQ is now my go-to ball for fresh oil/longer patterns.

Julie Wright


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Read all 13 reviews

Storm IQ Bowling Balls 4.54 out of 5 based on 13 ratings. 13 user reviews.