Only show reviews for Storm Manic

Customer Reviews          Average: 5Write a Review    Read all 16 reviews

I Love It
 
100% (16 of 16)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 16)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 16)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 16)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 16)

Storm Manic Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 03/29/2012 11:10 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

With the Storm Manic you can expect enhanced midlane reaction without losing the desired entry angle that Storm is known for!


Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5" x 3 7/8" x 4 1/4"
Balance Hole - On VAL from center of grip through cg

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I used my typical layout on the new Manic as well as the Fringe. This should give us a good comparision to each other and to the very popular Frantic from Storm's Hot line.

This layout allows good clearance in the heads with a strong mid-lane and backend motion. With shiny balls I tend to see a very angular motion off
the breakpoint and with something like the Manic with a little surface I expect to see a really strong move int he middle part of the lane with a smoother move off the point.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I think the new Manic offers a really good look to the Hot line from Storm. If we use the Frantic as a baseline the Manic offers an earlier motion as expected with its 4000 grit abralon finish with a very smooth and strong motion down lane.

Off my hand the Manic offered a stronger roll then previous balls in this line with a really strong move in middle part of the lane. The best part in my opinion was how smooth the transition was from the midlane where it really did its work into the backends as it made its move to the pins. As I threw the ball more and more I become more confident in the ball motion. My only mistakes were not getting it projected far enough right and it read the friction in the mids and checked up on the head pin. As long as I kept my angles right the ball was perfect everytime.

All in all I think Storm has added a really nice dimension to the line and between the Manic, Frantic and the Fringe you could cover a wide variety of conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Manic Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 06/01/2012 16:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
We have another new weapon from Storm Manic. The R2S Solid Reactive gives you a smooth roll in the front with a controlled move in the backend. Manic will be the ball for the tough lanes that need more midlane so that it will set up for the backend.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Manic Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 09/10/2012 19:44 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm Manic
PAP : 4 ½ & ½ up
Rev Rate: 400-425 rpm
Ball Weight: 15lbs
Right Handed

This is a ball I have grown to love. I have had a lot of success with this ball on shorter/medium length patterns. My favorite drilling on this ball is pretty simple, 4 ½ x 4. I didn’t touch the surface on it out of the box and probably have 100 games on it. I have cleaned it a few times with some Storm Reacta Clean and that’s it.

For me, this ball is relatively clean, but smooth off the end of most patterns. If your house pattern has the tendency to get wet/dry, this ball will be great! It’s just clean enough through the front part of the lane and still continues through the oil without changing direction super hard. I can definitely see a lot of people using this ball on Cheetah, Viper, and Chameleon. Anything shorter than 39’ this ball is going to strike a LOT!

I have seen a lot of low rev players use this ball with success as well. We have drilled a bunch of these for customers who didn’t want to spend a lot on a really good ball and have been more than impressed with it. The colors are attractive and Storm made a quality addition to the lineup this year!

Go drill one! You won’t be disappointed!
Check out Stormbowling.com for more information!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Storm Manic Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/24/2013 12:33 ( stars)


 
The Manic is a good predictable ball for light oil conditions. I had mine drilled straight up and pin under. Because of this and the dull surface the ball is best on fresh oil conditions. Once the lanes break down and the heads are gone, the ball will tend to react too early making a switch to a polished ball necessary. Overall, this is a very good ball when matched up with the right lane conditions.

Michael Moskowitz


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Manic Reviewed By: INeedABacker 03/19/2013 12:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Bought this ball on its release date and right out the box I threw an 802. Just recently using the Manic I shot 877. Very consistant midlane reaction from the ball. Good on heavy to medium oiled lanes but still viable on lighter oiled lanes too. Great pin carry. Definately would recommend the Manic.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by INeedABacker


Storm Manic Reviewed By: LaBraealumni 11/27/2012 21:25 ( stars)


 
Great ball was able to have a controllable hook with consistent backend the pin was set just outside the ring finger and I was bowling on dry lanes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Manic Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/27/2012 15:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Thanks for reading.
Manic is a natural follow up to the much successful Fringe. First off I drilled this with a variation of my favorite layout 70 x 4 3/4 x 65. With no extra hole and the solid coverstock this certainly allows the ball to retain energy downlane and release into the pins. As you can see in the video, the ball picks up in the midlane easily and makes its move toward the pocket in a smooth and continuous motion. This video was taken on the Shark pattern and I am not afraid to admit that I was missing my target right on a few of the shots that were recorded but this ball had no problem making it back to the pocket. I have found this ball is great in a house with Anvilane Pro surface or with very clean backend to help smooth out the backend. Even with a very scuffed surface the Manic retains energy downlane and through the pins.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm Manic Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 10/07/2012 01:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
The manic is the smoothest ball in this line up. Mine is drilled pin below my ring finger about 4 inches from my axis. I use this ball when there is a lot of back end and need something that isn't too snappy. Great for controlling backend. I would use this ball on fresh oil, something I usually start with.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Storm Manic Reviewed By: caseyccg 09/18/2012 17:38 ( stars)


 
Storm Manic Ball Review
by Storm Staffer Casey Murphy

Right Handed
Rev Rate: 375-400 Rpm
Ball Speed: 16 mph
PAP: 4 5/8 straight across

Location: Sunshine Lanes
Lane Pattern: Typical House Shot
Layout: 40, 5 1/4, 60 with a P1 weight hole

I was excited by the release of the Storm Manic. It’s an update to the Storm 2 Furious and looked to be a smoother version of one of my favorite Storm balls, the Frantic. I put a stable layout on the ball to take advantage of the predictable coverstock.

I was very pleased with the result. The Manic picked up a roll no problem but conserved energy through the midlane. When it hit friction the Manic changed directions in a strong but controlled motion. On a heavy to medium volume of oil I saw a little more overall hook than the Frantic with a more defined arching motion.

If you love the Frantic but need a little more teeth for less friction, the Storm Manic is the clear choice


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Read all 16 reviews

Storm Manic Bowling Balls 5.00 out of 5 based on 16 ratings. 16 user reviews.