Only show reviews for Storm Fringe

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.59Write a Review    Read all 22 reviews

I Love It
 
64% (14 of 22)
I Like It
 
32% (7 of 22)
It's Ok
 
5% (1 of 22)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 22)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 22)

Storm Fringe Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 03/29/2012 11:20 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

Throw the ball farther out than you've ever done before, to the fringe, and watch it come back!


Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5" x 3 7/8" x 4 1/8"
Balance Hole - On VAL from center of grip through cg

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Fringe is a follow up release in Storm's Hot line to best selling Frantic.
The Fringe features a pearlized cover with the same core as the Frantic. This change in cover material should produce a longer motion downlane with a more angular move off the break point as opposed to the hybrid cover on the Frantic.

We used the same layout as our original Frantic test ball. We expect to really see this ball shine as the pearl reactive cover will give us plenty of skid with a aggressive and angular move down lane.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Exactly as expected. The Fringe will offer a great compliment ball reaction to people who already have a Frantic but want to see more movement downlane.

The Fringe sailed through the heads with ease and gave me a noticeable difference in length before it started to read the friction down lane. The
pearl reactive cover did exactly as Storm intended and allowed the Fringe to literally open up the back end coming back off the break point from a variety
of angles.

All in all the Hot line from Storm is proving to be a force to be reckoned with this season and the Fringe should definitely be on your list to try out.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Fringe Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 06/01/2012 16:15 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm Fringe is another release that we need to get for the summer. The cover is R2S Pearl Reactive so it will give you length with strong roll in the backend. The test we did this ball would make a flip in the back that never rolled out you will have fun with the Fringe look out pins.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Fringe Reviewed By: grstorm 06/10/2012 21:53 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2
I drilled the Fringe to be pretty strong down lane for a mid to low performance ball. It’s a ball when your frantic or your road line balls are hooking too much then you can go to the fringe to give you more length but still have a strong back end. It is a great ball for the newbie bowlers that wants something strong but not spend a whole lot of money. I use the Fringe when it’s a basic house shot and the back ends are clean or if it is the viper and cheetah patterns. With the drilling pattern I have on it I am surprised on how fast it revs up and response down lane. I always carry more mid to low performance balls because they are strong for its kind on a day to day basis for bowling. Great ball! A must to put in the bag!

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
The Bowler’s Advantage


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Storm Fringe Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 09/10/2012 20:03 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm Fringe

PAP : 4 ½ & ½ up
Rev Rate: 400-425 rpm
Ball Weight: 15lbs
Right Handed

The Storm Fringe is a ball I honestly believe people are going to love or hate. I believe this ball is very condition specific, but when it’s on, it’s on! The response time on this ball is very, very quick. If you are looking for a ball to change direction hard, this is definitely it! Even if you take the shine off, this ball still wants to grab friction and go sideways.

I drilled a 4 ½ x 4 with a weight hole two inches underneath my axis and this ball continues like a train off the spot! I’ve found the most success with this ball when the lanes have broken down and there is some oil down lane to slow it down. If you are feeling like there is a lot of friction in the front part of the lane and you need a ball to push through it, this is the one.

I can see players having success with this ball on Chameleon, Scorpion, Shark, and any pattern longer than 39 feet. Anything shorter than that, this ball might hook too much and become uncontrollable. If you are looking to fill a gap for a shorter pattern, try a Manic.

Go drill one! You won’t be disappointed!
Check out Stormbowling.com for more information!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Storm Fringe Reviewed By: Archie57model 06/19/2012 09:41 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    199
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
When I purchased this ball I was looking for something to help raise the percentage of pocket hit carries. This ball seems to fill that bill. I have only rolled about ten games so far but I can tell you, the ten and seven melts into the pit.

I can push the envelope to the outside or play in the heavy stuff and still carry.

You will love this ball!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Archie57model


Storm Fringe Reviewed By: TamerBowling 05/19/2012 10:50 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The biggest standout with this ball is the ridiculous amount of backend reaction. This Fringe uses the same core as the Frantic and Manic. However, with the pearl cover, this ball easily adds 2-3 feet in length and a very angular backend motion. For some this will be the reason they love it. For me, I like to see a bit more controlled reaction.
You will want to take a look at drilling carefully and decide what you want this ball to do and what you will be bowling on. I had it drilled pin up 75x5.5x40 and it did exactly what I expected. It was longish but very aggressive at the breakpoint. I've tested a pin down as well and it tames down the reaction considerably so this ball will be versatile.
If you're looking for a ball you can just send wide and watch it come back, this is definitely a strong option. If you already have crisp backends, look out for this one. I had easily over 7 degrees of entry angle.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TamerBowling


Storm Fringe Reviewed By: jnj4ever 05/14/2012 16:14 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a 130 average bowler. Bowled a 156 first time out. Love it, love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Fringe Reviewed By: mcdpr56@gmail.com 02/21/2013 15:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
A decent ball that has its own mind very unpredictable for me atleast. They are not lying when they say it has back end though and that is what makes it so unstable sometimes its there and sometimes its not! 2 handed player here so its not about revs

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mcdpr56@gmail.com


Storm Fringe Reviewed By: The Gooz 02/17/2013 03:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    207
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 5/8 right 1/8 down
 
Drilled pin up with the cg straight down from the pin. A pretty standard drilling giving me plenty of length down lane and a nice left turn.

I LOVE THIS BALL, there is a reason it is called the fringe, you can get the ball all the way out to the 1-2 board and it will hold then snap. This is a very good house shot ball, I haven't had it on any sport shots yet, but I'm hoping that it will be my main ball for shorter patterns and lighter oil.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The Gooz


Read all 22 reviews

Storm Fringe Bowling Balls 4.59 out of 5 based on 22 ratings. 22 user reviews.