Only show reviews for Storm Virtual Gravity NANO
Only show reviews for Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pro CG

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.73Write a Review    Read all 128 reviews

I Love It
 
86% (110 of 128)
I Like It
 
9% (12 of 128)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 128)
I Don't Like It
 
1% (1 of 128)
I Hate It
 
4% (5 of 128)

Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 02/02/2011 10:07 ( stars)

1264 of 1267 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge
Storm took one of the most successful balls ever and made it more AGGRESSIVE!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP
Balance Hole - n/a
PSA Layout - 5 1/2" x 4" x 4 1/2"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Well obviously just by looking at this ball you think Virtual Gravity and of course that ball was a beast.
My original test ball was drilled using a layout I love but overall not many people use something like that. With the Virtual Gravity Nano I decided to use a more conventional layout and a layout we have seen a lot lately on some other test balls.

This layout on a more aggressive Virtual Gravity should create an amazing amount of mid-lane roll with a absolute ridiculous amount of motion on the back end. I am really excited to throw this ball and see what it does.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I got the Nano really close to my original Virtual Gravity. I do see the slight increase in overall ball motion and overall hook. I already stated that the two drillings on my original VG and the new Nano are completely different with that being said I think this shows just how versatile of a combination Storm has created and I completely agree with the release of this ball from them.

The Nano was awesome, off my hand I felt like there was nowhere on the lane I could not get this ball back from. As you can see if you watch our video review on the ball my ball motion was long, strong and angular. The Nano never quit and the amount of hook I had in my hands was amazing. For most of you that threw a Virtual Gravity you will love the new look the Nano offers, not saying the original was not strong but the change is noticeable. If you never threw the original you are in for a treat because this ball will not let you down.

As the night progressed I was able to move in and find some more oil and I could throw this ball as long as I wanted to. This was a feature I loved about
the original Virtual Gravity. I remember bowling league and everyone else had to go to weaker balls and they lost a little something and I just went deeper
and threw the VG all night. This ball showed me similar features and I think would allow the same if I wanted.

Don't miss the new release coming early March, it will blow you away.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 02/02/2011 15:05 ( stars)

238 of 243 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge
Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP
Balance Hole - n/a
PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 grit Abralon)

The Storm Virtual Gravity Nano is the big brother of the original Virtual Gravity. We drilled the Nano almost identically to the original Virtual Gravity.

The Nano is a beast through the pins. It went just a touch longer and was definitely stronger overall than the Virtual Gravity. Storm has been hitting the mark consistently with their bowling equipment lately.

Our videos were shot on a Typical House Shot and I was thrilled with the reaction on it. I could see this ball holding up very well in tournament conditions, giving you a strong and consistent reaction.

Storm took one of the most successful balls ever and made it more AGGRESSIVE!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 03/06/2011 10:26 ( stars)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The new Storm release Virtual Gravity Nano will be the ball everyone is talking about. Our shop had a Storm seminar last week and we had a hard time getting the demo back. The NANO has all that you will ever need in a Asymmetric ball with 4000 abralon finish. The first time you roll the Nano you will notice the strong roll in the front no matter how heavy the oil. Nano also will not stop in the backend if you are bowling on a medium pattern apply Storm Reacta Shine to give you length and a strong move in the backend.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 03/05/2011 11:07 ( stars)

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


 
One of Storm's best balls just got better. The newest addition to Storm’s Premier line is the Virtual Gravity Nano. This ball uses a medium low RG with a high differential core. The new cover stock called NRG (Nano Reactive Genesis) was designed to create more texture which generates more surface contact to the lane the end result is more hook. If the Virtual Gravity Nano follows in the footsteps of the original Virtual Gravity it is sure to be a great ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Reviewed By: cdjone0 03/09/2011 23:04 ( stars)

165 of 165 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    189
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
BLUF: This ball has now become my benchmark ball based on ease to control and better pin carry. I have absolutely no buyer's remorse with this purchase.

Specs: 15.2lbs; 3.0oz top weight. The finish was left unaltered (out of box) and it was drilled with the pin (2.5-3) just above my ring finger for a little length and a moderate backend reaction. No balance hole required.

Reasons for satisfaction: I have bowled 35 games with it since last week -- between leagues and practice games. My average during this span is now 208, an increase of 19. I consider myself an average bowler -- league average 189 on a house pattern. For my bowling style, I need equipment that is not only moderately aggressive, but also very versatile. I am not a power bowler nor have an extreme hook; so control & consistency are very important to me. I need to make frequent adjustments during the league nights based on the oil pattern -- average ball speed is 15-16 mph. My original benchmark balls were the Virtual Energy or Invasion depending on the lane conditions. The Virtual Gravity Nano has given me more confidence because my ball reaction/pin carry/backend continuation so far has been superior to the Virtual Energy or Invasion. I feel the Nano has the best combination of attributes that I previously like between the Virtual Energy and Invasion. My misses are even better -- resulting in more strike and less multiple pin spares. I have been required to make less adjustment with the Nano during this span. The results are very noticeable and now predictable. Time will tell if this trend will be enduring.

Based on its performance, I am very satisfied and would definitely recommend the Nano to friends, family members, or any fellow bowler without any reservations. The Nano has been a great compliment to the rest of my arsenal. Kudos to Storm – great product! Only minor detraction -- it does smell like an industrial hand cleaner (orange-mint scent). I can live with it though.

Also, I have been very happy so far with the bowlingball.com’s customer service – quick, efficient, and no complaints. Thank you.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Reviewed By: rotomike 04/07/2011 09:52 ( stars)

113 of 113 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Sport Shot Average    202
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5.5
 
Trying to stay away from an overtly technical reviews here goes...

HOLY COW!!! I felt a bit like I was cheating a bit. It is significantly stronger from breakpoint through the pins than I have seen in a while.

For example: Wednesday night league- our pair had a two hour kids party during the early afternoon. The house re-ran the heads then a teachers league bowled… Lots and lots of plastic balls dragging oil down the lane.

I usually use a label drilled Nomad Dagger or Rising Star in this house and I have high average in the league. During practice and the first game I fought through a good bit of carry down and my Dagger struggled to consistently make it through all of the oil that had been deposited downlane earlier in the day. Seventh frame I pull out the Nano...

WHAMMO!!! I had a ball reaction! The Nano reacted like there was no carry down at all. I had to move 5 and 3 in and threw the last four to shoot 201. The next game I started with the front 8 for 265. I started the next game split -spare 10 bagger! The pin carry was phenomenal. I was having fun watching the pins bounce around.

The specs are: pin at 4 3/4\\\" to PAP above the ring finger and mass bias is next to the thumb hole. Weight hole is at P3.

I just returned from the USBC Open Championships and the hottest ball at the tournament was clearly the Virtual Gravity Nano.

Enough about me, here is what the Nano can do for you:

The Nano will allow you to free up your swing. If you want to go deep go ahead the Nano will make it back. There is a traction additive in the cover that gives you much better performance on oily lane conditions. The Virtual Gravity was one of the first balls that gave bowlers a stronger down lane move on oily lanes. The Nano is even stronger.

If you are rev challenged the Nano will give you a strong move down lane even on regular conditions.

The coverstock can be easily manipulated. It take a polish as well as sanding and the performance will not suffer.

One final note: using the Nano I threw one of the craziest messengers : The headpin went to the side board and came back across the lane flying in it\\\'s original vertical orientation and killed the corner pin. This ball is crazy good!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rotomike


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Reviewed By: dilligas 04/25/2011 18:27 ( stars)

38 of 38 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    226
Sport Shot Average    172
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball was gift from my wife and i think she may have created a monster! I already own a Virtual Gravity but this NANO should've came with handcuffs and shackles because its deady and dangerous on the lanes, provided there's oil on them. I went to practice after getting mine drilled and bowled 4 games (ball was out-of-box) and shot 232,286,217,and 201. I struck out in the 10th for a 232, then threw 10 more the next game (Veripapa 300) and let up on it like an idiot and left the 4-7 for a 286. Don't ever let up on the speed with an aggressive ball...it defeats the purpose! Anyway I consistantly hit the pocket playing different boards from 13 to 25 and my only miss was a 10 pin in the 10th frame of the 4th game. That's the longest I've ever gone without a miss. Still shouldn't miss the 10 but the messenger didn't get it for me. This ball needs oil and lots of it. Make sure you roll it and don't throw it. This ball will do the work for you. I see the difference from my VG because the Nano has a very sharp hooking motion and the VG was smoother. You can polished the Nano and go a little straighter if you wanted to and not miss a beat. This ball should not be legal. It might be possessed. I don't care as long it goes after those pins with attitude and aggression. Storm, you did it again...and again!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dilligas


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Reviewed By: caseyccg 04/12/2011 21:34 ( stars)

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


 
Location: Enterprise Park Lanes

Pattern: Modified House Pattern
Oil to 38 feet, buff to 43
Approx. Ratio 6:1

Surface: Brunswick Pro Anvilane

Bowler Stats: PAP 4 5/8 straight across
375-400 RPM
16 MPH

Layouts: VGN 1 - Dual Angle Layout 50, 4 ¾, 70 (pin below and
between fingers, cg out, weight hole)
VGN 2 – Dual Angle Layout 45, 5 ½, 35 (pin above and
between fingers, MB out from thumb 1 inch, no hole)


The Virtual Gravity Nano lives up to the hype. The cover creates an amazing amount of fiction in oil and delivers a strong angular backend. I bowled on a very flat pattern and the VGN made it look like a traditional house pattern. With other balls I was struggling to the get the ball to fully transition off the long oil pattern. I was leaving 10s and 7s because the ball wasn’t creating enough angle into the pocket. The VGN took care of that problem by rev’ing up in the mid lane effortlessly and creating a strong angle to the pins. The ball transitioned every time and the pin carry was unbelievable. The low pin layout created at very strong mid lane reaction with a smooth, continuous backend. I was able to play 17 to 10 with a predictable line to the pocket. The high pin version got a little cleaner through the heads, while still catching a mid lane read with a more angular backend. I played 18 to 7 with the ball making a stronger move on the back. The Virtual Gravity Nano is a must own and is the go to ball for any high volume or longer patterns.

Casey Murphy
Storm Staffer


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pro CG Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 03/07/2012 18:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm Virtual Nano Pro CG if you want a ball the is one of the strongest balls on the market. The Pro CG is a great option there are a lot of options on drilling when you receive your Pro CG in the box there are drilling instructions for your ball driller and yourself. If you have any questions about the layout you can e-mail our shop.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Read all 128 reviews

Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pro CG Bowling Balls 4.73 out of 5 based on 128 ratings. 128 user reviews.