Only show reviews for Storm Crossroad

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.75Write a Review    Read all 28 reviews

I Love It
 
86% (24 of 28)
I Like It
 
11% (3 of 28)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 28)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 28)
I Hate It
 
4% (1 of 28)

Storm Crossroad Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 03/05/2012 09:25 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

Put your favorite layout on the new Crossroad and in your next tournament you'll be the first to cross the finish line!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/4"
PSA Layout - 5 1/4" x 4" x 4 1/2"
Balance Hole - On VAL from center of grip through cg

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
With the new Crossroad being a combination of the Hy-Road and Victory Road we were super excited to throw this ball.

I used a simple layout that I use on most of my test balls. This layout allows me to get max length from the ball with a strong angular motion off the break point. It really allows me to open up the right side and see what a ball can really do on a typical house shot.

I expected to see just that from the Crossroad, plenty of skid with a really angular move down lane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This performance level is possibly the best that Storm has. These balls are super consistent and react awesome. The Crossroad was no exception to this for me.

Off my hand the polished R2S Hybrid cover cleared the heads with ease storing up a ton of energy to use down lane. I never saw this ball read the lane early throughout our testing. As the ball cleared the fronts and started to set up for the back end it just over powered any oil it came across and motored towards the pocket.

As you can see in the video I had the entire right side of the lane with this ball. Even when I got the ball a little too deep downlane, it recovered
and carried everything. The backend motion was truly awesome and I guess if I had to sum it up I would agree with Storm and say it was all the best
characteristics of the Victory Road and Hy-Road rolled into one.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Crossroad Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 02/07/2012 18:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm Crossroad is here and the wait was worth it. Crossroad will give you skid through the front and a strong move in the backend. The cover is versatile with a little surface change and you will get more roll in the front. The scent on the Crossroad is Carmel and yes does that smell great.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager

ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Crossroad Reviewed By: 21 02/22/2012 15:06 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Avg 161 League Bowler. I bought this ball hoping it was as good as advertised. IT IS, 1st night hit back to back games of 249 & 234. Great ball, very forgiving if its off the pocket a little and really hits the pins hard. Also great service from Bowlingball.com. First time I have used them will be using them again, very pleased

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Crossroad Reviewed By: clint.v@live.com 02/21/2012 15:04 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5X4X4
 
I just got my Crossroads drilled and went right onto the lane. This ball has great skid , no matter how much hand you put on it, has a very strong backend and hits like a freight train! Very contrlable ball, you can make it do what you need it to do when you need it to do it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by clint.v@live.com


Storm Crossroad Reviewed By: docbash 02/18/2012 08:38 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Stroker
 
I bought this ball to fit in my arsenal between my fairly aggressive pearl (Brunswick Wicked Siege) and my long and strong pearl for dry lanes (Storm 2Fast). It fits the bill perfectly. When the 2Fast is not reading the midlane early enough, the CrossRoad is perfect. I can throw it on a house shot occasionally, but I don't feel comfortable doing so just yet.

If you're looking for a hybrid to fill this kind of gap in your arsenal, this is a strong choice. It will glide through the heads easily and hit like a ton of bricks. But if you're working with a small arsenal or bowling exclusively on house shots, you probably can find a more versatile ball. Then again, I've yet to alter the surface, so if you're comfortable making those adjustments, you might be able to use it for a lot more.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by docbash


Storm Crossroad Reviewed By: mr straight ball 01/26/2012 10:40 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    227
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5x.25 up
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 2 ¾”
Starting Top Weight: 3.01oz
Ball Weight: 16.1

DRILL PATTERN
45°
5” Pin to PAP (under bridge)
Weight hole: 4” straight across

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: High per C.A.T.S
Ball Speed: 18
PAP/Track: 5” across ½” down

SURFACE PREP
OOB

BALL REACTION
From the drill press to league I went! Having owned two Victory Road’s, the Crossroad has big shoes to fill. The first thing to know about this ball is that it is never scared to recover and the other difference from its purple pearl brother is that it provided a more distinct read in the midlane. The midlane read I did have to adjust too as I needed to move my feet slightly left to create the right angle to project the nugget.

So what is there to like about this ball you ask? The midlane read gave me a CONSISTENT & PREDICTABLE read on the 43’ house shot that was down on the lane. I also had an enlarged pocket as I repeatedly tripped the 4-pin on slightly high shots. The 9-pin was teasing me, this is normal but I watched quite a few of them get slapped like a pimp with powder on his hand.

Compare it to the Hy-Road JB …
For me, the core is the difference, no different than the T-Road versus Victory Road. I’m not going to sell you that one ball is better than the other. The Crossroad seems to store up the energy a smidgeon more which allows a power player to really feel free to just send it!!!

I’m looking forward to using this ball on a multitude of Kegel patterns to really put the Crossroad through the ringer. And it was nice smelling caramel on my hand during bowling!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mr straight ball


Storm Crossroad Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/24/2013 12:30 ( stars)


 
This ball has an enormous margin of error. You can miss left, miss right, hit your target and this ball is almost always going to make it to the pocket. It has the carry to boot, too. The Crossroad rolls phenomenally. Another must have for the arsenal.

Eric Gross


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Crossroad Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/24/2013 12:30 ( stars)


 
I bought a Storm Crossroad that I’ve been using for a year. I’m more of a stroker player and the ball reacts moderately well for playing a straighter line. And for players with higher revs it plays a good inside line and hits really hard. On heavier oil it reacts more slowly especially with a lower rev rate.

Mitch Irvin


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Crossroad Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/24/2013 12:29 ( stars)


 
This ball is a very versatile ball that can cover many spots in your arsenal. I bought this ball as my first transition ball, one that I can ball down to when I need something to go a little longer, and it fits this role very well. It also can perform well on fresh, medium oil patterns and has been a great attribute for my game on sport conditions. As a low rev/medium speed player, I can use
the Crossroad for a long time throughout the course of a tournament while moving left instead of balling down. This ball is a hybrid which provides a great combination between length and backend reaction. The Crossroad is a great ball that any bowler could find a place for in their arsenal.

Julie Wright


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Read all 28 reviews

Storm Crossroad Bowling Balls 4.75 out of 5 based on 28 ratings. 28 user reviews.