Only show reviews for Lane #1 Droid

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.5Write a Review    Read all 10 reviews

I Love It
 
80% (8 of 10)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 10)
It's Ok
 
10% (1 of 10)
I Don't Like It
 
10% (1 of 10)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 10)

Lane #1 Droid Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/23/2012 12:24 ( stars)

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

Short-Circuit the pins with the DROID, from Lane #1.


Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 45* x 5" x 65*
Balance Hole - 7/8" x 2" on PAP

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I have to admit when I first saw the Droid I was a little worried that it was going to check at my toes and go dead straight. It looks so strong out of the box, even though it is only 2000 grit Abralon, it just feels and looks like it is going to move as soon as it hits the lane.

After speaking to Lane #1 about the ball we decided to lay this ball out the same way I have my last few Lane #1 balls to get a good comparison. This layout keeps the pin and mass bias in a stronger position but allows me to place a weight hole on my PAP to smooth out the ball motion through the front part of the lane. Sine Lane #1 tends to focus on the higher performance balls this layout works well for me.

It allows me to see just how strong the ball is down lane and helps me read the ball off the break point instead of seeing any early motion.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I really liked this ball. As far as Lane #1 goes for the last 5 releases I would say that the Droid has been my favorite. I like everything about this
ball from the way it rolled to the way it hit the pins and how cool it looked going down the lane.

Even on the fresh pattern the Droid handled the heads easily. Making a very strong consistent roll and transitioning into the middle part of the lane very well. From this point on the Droid really started to shine for me. It go into the backends so clean that it made a strong but very controllable move towards the pocket. I kept trying to find a spot that I could not get this ball back from and I really couldn't until I got in so far that the oil just sent the ball too far downlane before it read the friction.

Overall I think this ball is deceiving by its looks and needs to be considered with other high end ball purchases this year. The Droid for me was right up there with many of our recent high performance ball tests. Lane #1 fans will love the new look and reaction of the Droid.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Droid Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 02/01/2012 16:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Lane #1 Droid first of all what a cool name. The has a very strong roll in the front with a move in the back that does not quit. Droid has Cyborg Diamond Core that will give you midlane without losing backend.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Lane #1 Droid Reviewed By: Mike@Bowlingball.com 01/23/2012 16:39 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" Right -1/8" Up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 6"
Balance Hole - N/A
Dual Angle Layout - 80* x 6" x 40*

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2k Sanded)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I decided to go with a layout I have had success with before on higher performance, matte finish, asymmetric balls. This layout allows me to get the most out of the versatility of a ball. This really allows me to play a wide variety of angles from straight up the boards to swinging the ball. It is perfect for house conditions because all I need to do is change my hand position to generate a completely different reaction.

What I expected from the ball was to be versatile. The Diamond series of cores have worked well for Lane #1. One thing I have noticed about them is they give the benefit of Asymmetric performance, but maintain the consistency of symmetric. This is a must for a benchmark type ball.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
The ball was perfect and did exactly what was expected of it. As you can tell by the various angles played, it allowed me to go as straight as I want to moving inside and swinging the ball out. This ball lost nothing in hitting power from any angle. The matte finish gives it great predictability down lane without hooking too much in friction. This ball is perfect for over under types of conditions. It has been the perfect addition to my arsenal for the quick transitioning house shots I bowl on.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mike@Bowlingball.com


Lane #1 Droid Reviewed By: ty.ford@cox.net 01/11/2012 15:28 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I have mine drilled 4.25x4.5x4, the exact same drilling I have on both my Pearl Panther and Pink Panther. In my hand, this ball is similar in strength to the Pearl Panther, but stronger overall than my Pink Panther. It clears the heads well for a sanded solid, makes a strong read in the midlane, then makes a very strong yet controllable move on the backend. I have only left a handful of corner pins in the 20 or so games I've thrown with it, and I bowl in a house notorious for corner leaves. Overall I am extremely impressed with how smooth this ball is, yet it still makes a good hard move on the backend. I usually open the night with the Droid and when the front of the lane starts to burn up, I switch to the Pearl Panther. They make a great 1-2 punch. This ball will also fit directly below the Maxxx Curve or Buzzbomb Carnage. It's a great addition to the Lane #1 lineup.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Droid Reviewed By: LEWGREEN 08/27/2012 15:07 ( stars)


 
I got the Droid as a birthday gift. It was recommended to my wife by a local pro/instructor who said it is the right design for the way he’s seen me throw in our league. I have used a 14 lb. Gyro Urethane ball for years without having to worry about quantity of oil on the lanes or on the ball, or dirt or nicks on the ball. Using this same ball for both strikes and spares, without caring for the ball’s surface, I’ve improved my average from 160 to 170 over the last year. I take a 3 step approach standing with my left toe positioned well behind the center marker and I raise the ball waist high in front of me and then arc it back about waist high and swing it forward putting it down with lots of lift near the rightmost dot. The ball usually heads almost straight towards the 1-3 pocket and curves into it as it hits. My speed averages between 15 and 17+ mph.
I was advised to have the 14 lb. Droid fitted and drilled by a certain shop pro identical to my Gyro. Since then, I’ve bowled 14 games over 5 days in 2 weeks and had the following experiences.
At first, I thought that I might have to adjust my approach and throw to accommodate the expected “hard backend arc” as had been shown in the videos. But soon I realized that to have any success I had to do everything as I had been doing with the Gyro. The only difference I am able to detect is that maybe as the ball is about to hit the pin(s) it curves into them a little more than before. Thus, I must conclude that for me, there is very little difference and effect using the Droid versus the Gyro. The biggest difference is when going for a 10-pin spare, I have to throw a little faster and aim just in front of the pin to avoid just missing it just to the left.
As to the service provided by Bowlingball.com, it was good in that they have been responsive, but my initial experience was that when the ball/gift came 7 days after ordering it, it was the Pearl Droid instead of the Droid. So I had to wait another whole week to get what I’d ordered. A Return no-cost shipping label was included for UPS.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Droid Reviewed By: loopy262004@yahoo.com 06/25/2012 03:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I just got the ball and thrown it only 3 times but I can already notice a difference in this ball compared to my other high end ball. The hook I am getting of the back end of this ball is much more then the are balls that I have. I am very pleased with the fact that I dont even have to do half the work with this ball that I have to do with the other ones that I have

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by loopy262004@yahoo.com


Lane #1 Droid Reviewed By: lbvdave 02/23/2012 09:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    209
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Fast
 
Have only used the ball for one night so far, but I can tell I'm going to love this ball.
The whole league struggled with the lanes this night as they were flooded with oil. This ball cut right through the oil like it wasn't even there and carried excellent. My other ball wouldn't even move in the oil. Towards the end of the night, I started experimenting with some shots once we had won all the games and I had such a large area to play with on the lanes.
It felt comfortable right from the first shot and reacted like I have been using it for awhile.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Droid Reviewed By: hammerhead2 02/23/2012 08:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Droid Is Not A Heavy Oil Ball For Me,Going Back To Hammer

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerhead2


Lane #1 Droid Reviewed By: rudolphwsmith@hotmail.com 02/13/2012 18:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
 
I am very satisfied with the Lane #1 Droid bowling ball. I am not a pro bowler and have recently gotten back into bowling. This ball is a great ball for Medium light to Medium heavy oil conditions. This bowling ball hammers the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 10 reviews

Lane #1 Droid Bowling Balls 4.50 out of 5 based on 10 ratings. 10 user reviews.