Go to Roto Grip Shooting Star »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Shooting Star

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.83Write a Review    Read all 30 reviews

I Love It
 
87% (26 of 30)
I Like It
 
10% (3 of 30)
It's Ok
 
3% (1 of 30)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 30)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 30)

Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/31/2011 12:39 ( stars)


 
The Shooting Star is the latest addition to the Shield line. The medium RG/ medium differential core combined with Ultimate Vision solid cover will increase mid lane roll and earlier break point. The Shooting Star will a more rounded and smoother ball motion.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 10/27/2011 17:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Shooting Star is another great ball in the Shield line. The smooth roll in the front with a continuous move in the backend. Shooting Star has a matte finish and with the Neutron core a great combo.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: YANKEEMAN 10/17/2011 20:42 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    219
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" right 1/8" up
 
I drilled my shooting star 5x5 with the pin over my bridge and the cg under the bridge 12:00 o'clock. I had the same layout on my dark star which I used when the heads burned up. The dark star was a little squirty on fresh oil, the shooting star is far from squirty. It is great for slightly heavy oil conditions, its got some bite and flip. The shooting star flips very similar to the dark star but is better equipped for heavier oil.
I was pleasantly surprised with the amount of recovery the shooting star gave me, when I missed wide on a THS, this ball would come back. It also is continuous on the back end, it finishes strong.
At a recent demo, the majority of the bowlers that threw the shooting star would come back from the line and say "WOW". This is a very strong solid, reactive shell wrapped around a medium RG weight block that revs up very nicely. The ball polishes very easily and you can adjust the reaction to suit your needs with Reacta Shine or Storm 2.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by YANKEEMAN


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: SpookLemur 03/10/2012 03:06 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/2
 
I have started to notice that many of the reviews around here where by the reps of the very companies that produced the ball. I saw one particular Brunswick rep give 5 stars for every ball. Now, I am fairly sure he didn't "love" every ball. So, I wanted to be a tad more critical of all of my equipment.

This ball came highly recommended by my pro shop. At the time I ordered it I had yet to have anything other than hand me downs, thus I had not had experience enough to have an opinion.

We took a look at my swing, and my PAP, and decided to go with a controlled layout.

With my pin above my ring finger, and my medium speed(16mph), medium rev rate(350) I feel I have a pretty good "middle of the road" style to help you decide what this ball might do for you.

I tend to shoot hard from the outside. It has to get fairly dry for me to move to the inside.

Out of the box this ball had a very even reaction. Shooting at the 15 from 20 it reads the lane fairly early on the mid-lane, and has a smooth arc to the pocket. Very good benchmark ball, with an even, smooth backend, and smoother through the heads.

I would have liked to see a stronger move on the backend. As this ball has a hard time with carry when you move to far into the inside. Floating the middle left 10 pin after 10 pin. Players with a higher rev rate may not find this to be as problematic, but strokers/slower tweeners should take note

The out of the box surface also makes broken down lanes a nightmare. The ball dose have a smooth motion.... right into the 2 and 4 pin... Moving inside, as I mentioned before, can be a bit unforgiving with pin carry if you are a lower rev bowler.

Playing with the surface I did like the options this ball opened up. Going to an extreme of 320 smooth matte finish did not diminish length as much as I though. On my Monday heavy oil league the exit point was early enough to allow for good recovery on the less forgiving pattern.

Polishing up this ball is not something I would recommend if you are looking for versatility. Polished at 2000grit this ball hit quite a few 6 pins in the face. On lighter oil, or broken down patterns this ball polished tends to lack the backend punch I was looking for. A stronger layout with this surface may have had better results, but the ball just didn't want to roll with this set up.

Overall this ball seems to cover a lot of bases, but a Jack of all trades is a master of none. Though, I will say that if I was only allowed 1 ball I would most likely pick this one.

In the end this ball is perfect for a seasoned bowler looking for a ball to read the lane in any condition. this is also a PERFECT ball for a first hooking ball. This ball give a new bowler on a budget the ability to see what they like, and dislike about a ball. and will lead to a very informed decision on their next purchase of something more expensive.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by SpookLemur


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: senioropinion 01/20/2012 12:52 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball is really outstanding for the price point. Just drilled it a few days ago, and am amazed at how much strength it has on a typical house shot. When I release it correctly it strikes just about every time. It does need medium (or higher) oil volume to work correctly if your ball speed is below 15mph.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senioropinion


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: cmsubowler 12/12/2011 09:28 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hello all and thanks for reading YouTube video for this review is here :
http://www.youtube.com/user/CompetitiveEdgeBowl?feature=watch#p/a/u/0/_rnBTw5Yzj4

Well now here we are yet again with another Roto Grip success story. This is a phenomenal ball at an incredible pricepoint. If you are looking for a ball that hooks and handles a fairly high volume of oil then you have come to the right place. This ball for me is great on Shark and Scorpion when the value of a good cover with a slightly less strength of core of at a premium. This ball is great for transitions on heavy oil and will blend out the toughest of carry down. The obvious choice for review against the Shooting Star is the Rising Star. As you can see the Rising star gets down the lane much easier and still maintains a great downlane motion just not as much as the Shooting Star. I drilled up with a slightly weaker drilling so I can use it on more than just some of the longer patterns. My favorite layout would definately be too much with the box surface with the pin being down. This ball has gotten a permanent spot in the bag for Synthetic lanes and longer patterns. Great Job guys. Roto Grip whats next....... oh yeah....... stay tuned.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: senor roto grip 09/27/2011 09:20 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    213
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 x 11/16
 
I drilled the Shooting Star using Drill Pattern E (2" pin from pap) from the reaction drill chart. I wanted a ball to use on fresh and slightly broken down wet/dry conditions. This layout, combined with the Shooting Star's medium rg/medium differential Neutron core delivered the reaction I was looking for.
Using the ball on a fresh house condition with medium to heavy oil volume, I was able to play the outside line to the pocket as produced by the layout. The Shooting Star lived up to the design intent of increasing midlane roll with an earlier breakpoint. Ball motion through the pins was continuous and strong.
On a house condition after the youth league, I was able to still play outside off the wet dry by moving my feet left and playing a 10 to 5 line. The Shooting Star came off the dry and produced a strong arc to the pocket. This gave a good pin mix with little deflection off the pins.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senor roto grip


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: senioropinion 03/24/2013 01:11 ( stars)


 
This is a follow up to my 1/20/12 review. After about 250 games the ball is oil soaked and nothing will bring it back to its original out of the box reaction. However do not throw the ball away. Turns out this is a great ball when the T.H.S. breaks down and the back ends start jumping. I now have 2 of these and I am buying another. The ball never really dies,the breakpoint shape just changes to a smooth arc. If the lanes change to dirt even oil soaked this ball is to strong for a stroker like me. In my opinion, for a stroker or a lower rev rate tweener this the absolute best ball ever made at its price point.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senioropinion


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: byron_d_miller@yahoo.com 06/24/2012 20:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
 
After having this ball for some time now, I can say that I love it. The ball breaks well and blasts through the pins! Works best on well oiled lanes. The coverstock is a too grippy for drier or broken down lanes. I even had to polish it out just a bit to get more travel before breaking. I regularly bowl over 200 now. If you bowl on Med-heavy oiled lanes, this is your ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by byron_d_miller@yahoo.com


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: Project460 05/16/2012 21:14 ( stars)


 
I have only used the shooting star in 2 games so far, but I love it. The hook is so precise and clean. I can see this being a very consistent ball. After not bowling for quite some time, the first game I threw with this ball was 189. I was afraid this ball would not have enough hook for me, but i am very happy with my decision.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Project460


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: monarchbowler 02/19/2012 19:59 ( stars)


 
I won this bowling ball from a raffle at a recent bowling tournament and have imediatly fallen in love with it after only a couple of weeks. wthin a week i bowled my 5th highest game ever at a 266. this ball transitions very well with the lanes and i am able to use it deep into practice, league and tournaments.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: Kenney 01/29/2012 12:34 ( stars)


 
Just Got this ball drilled up this week. I wanted to try a smaller ball. Used 4x4x2 lay out. This ball is awesome! This is the best ball for the money. I'm only a high 190's average bowler. Shot a 677 first night in league. This will be my bench mark ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenney


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: mikelj 12/30/2011 15:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
My Shooting Star was drilled (20?X 3 1/2 X75?). This ball is a great value at the price point. I love the way this ball for medium and light oil patterns. This ball makes a nice transition off the oil and has a controlled motion to the pocket. This makes adjusting as the pattern breaks down a breeze. I can just move left to follow the oil line or move right and play further out by the ditch to get around the carry down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: Steelers6 12/18/2011 11:54 ( stars)


 
The ball has more hook than I thought for a midpriced solid. On Roto Grip's reaction drill chart I used a 4" Pin from the PAP. I have only bowled 6 games with it and sometimes with the strong layout it's hard to control the hook motion. I think I will put some polish on it and see what kind of reaction I get. Over all the ball is great for the price range and the colors are cool with the the blend of dark and medium purple hues. The serice at bowlingball.com was great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Steelers6


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: Steelers6 12/18/2011 11:52 ( stars)


 
The ball has more hook than I thought for a midpriced solid. On Roto Grip's reaction drill chart I used a 4" Pin from the PAP. I have only bowled 6 games with it and sometimes with the strong layout it's hard to control the hook motion. I think I will put some polish on it and see what kind of reaction I get. Over all the ball is great for the price range and the colors are cool with the the blend of dark and medium purple hues. The serice at bowlingball.com was great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Steelers6


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: d.wrice12@yahoo.com 12/16/2011 15:07 ( stars)


 
this is a nice ball, coming straight out of the box i bowled a 650 series. i got it drilled with a more back end action to be a good combinaion with my mutant cell. when this ball is working it comes into the pocket nicely and has nice pin action. the only thing i realized is that you have to thro this ball out and less than 15mph to hook nicely into the pocket or down a straighter line path and 16mph or more because if not it will hook past the ocket. overall this ball gives me more to work with on different lane conditions and im glad i bought it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: flaub@metalsusa.com 12/15/2011 10:06 ( stars)


 
i am still getting used to the ball reaction. so far so good.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by flaub@metalsusa.com


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: soulbringer9@gmail.com 12/11/2011 00:40 ( stars)


 
I drilled my shooting star with 4" to the PAP. I have to say though as an amateur this ball is tricky to use. I think I have it finally under control after a month or two bowling with it. I noticed as I get to know the ball my scores are getting higher. my last game I bowled with this ball was 145, 188, and 118. I use also the Rising Star to compliment this ball. I might however get the Defiant to replace the Rising star when it comes out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by soulbringer9@gmail.com


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: Precisionrotoguy 12/10/2011 15:42 ( stars)


 
Roto Grip Shooting Star
Pin Under Bridge, CG swung positive, medium width/depth hole down.

I have a Rising Star drilled identically that I wanted to try to compliment with something that
blanded the spot just a little better and maybe hook a touch more and this piece with the same
layout did so beautifully. It provides relatively good reaction strength considering the price
point along with controllable ball motion, good continuation and great hit (always a concern with
"weaker" weight blocks). I love this ball. It also is a good looking ball as well, nice appeal on
the shelf and visually appealing as it rolls down the lane. Another EXCELLENT release from Roto Grip.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Precisionrotoguy


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: MrPBA07 12/07/2011 15:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
I got this ball last thursday. 11-30-2011 and i got it drilled 4x4x2. this past monday 12-5-2011 i rolled my first 300 and shot 783, i have not shot under 660 since i had the ball. its by far the best ball i have ever had. GO ROTO GRIP!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: bikerjames 12/06/2011 10:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Used this ball for the first time last night. 236-238-215. This ball hooks more than any ball I have owned and my bowling buddies were commenting all night about its reaction on the lanes. Once the lanes changed in the third game it took me a few frames to adjust but once I figured it out I finished with 5 in a row, otherwise I would have shot a 700. I was amazed at the consistancy of the ball and I had great carry all night as well. Highly recommended.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: mspatty 12/05/2011 17:35 ( stars)


 
I am very pleased with my new shooting star. My average is 145. I bowled a 201 my first game after my new ball was drilled. It held my line very well. My ball speed is on the slow side. Very pleased indeed.
Pat Traylor


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: TheBourneID@hotmail.com 12/05/2011 09:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Another winner from Roto Grip. Gets through the fronts really nice (wit a little shine), and has a nice move on the back end. Hits like a truck! I've only thrown one game with it, but seems to be pretty forgiving as long you don't let up on your speed.

**Left-hander, med revs, drilled pin in ring finger, CG slightly kicked out.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TheBourneID@hotmail.com


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: L.Hoffman 11/15/2011 16:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 


Who makes better $100 plus balls than Roto Grip.. The Shooting Star keeps the line going. My 3 inch pin is below the fingers with the CG out . As a LH Senior Stroker & on league conditions I can go 12-14 out to 5-8 with a very smooth arc to the pocket. Staying behind the ball a little more gets the ball a little further down the lane before the break & takes away a lot of the 7 pins for me. The Solid Reactive cover makes the Star react like a high-end ball. The Folks like the color too.....Larry Hoffman, RG Adisory Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by L.Hoffman


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: dcjannis@soonet.ca 11/09/2011 07:12 ( stars)


 
Great ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: excalibur310 11/08/2011 18:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    208
Sport Shot Average    191
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
My new favorite ball, drilled pin under. I first threw this at a demo day, and purchased one on the spot. Incredibly strong ball for this price point, or any price point. Heavy, hard arcing ball that isnt snappy, carry is tremendous, and can be polished for the drier conditions. Have bowled some great games with this ball in last two weeks, highly recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by excalibur310


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 10/27/2011 16:30 ( stars)


 
Roto Grip Shooting Star Looks like a real winner.Haven,t had a chance to drill one yet but from the video on bowling ball .com it looks really great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: AJensen 10/18/2011 21:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    235
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 over
 
Roto Grip you have done it again!The Shooting Star is unbelievable! What a great addition to the rising star. The solid is out of this world and will blow your mind as you see the reaction of this ball.I drilled mine with no hole and the pin is above my ring and cg is kicked out just a little. Wow does it ever pop towards the pocket hard. If you're looking for something stronger to add to your bag this is it! I can't wait to throw this one some more. This addition to the Roto Grip line will give you the edge you need to beat your compitition!

Andrew Jensen
Storm and Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AJensen


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: John Brodersen 09/26/2011 21:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 1 oz, 2.97 top weight, and 3.5-inch pin.

The Shooting Star was drilled with a 4.5-inch pin, 50-degree drill angle and a 70-degree VAL angle. This layout did require an extra hole and was placed in the P2 position. Using Storm drilling terminology the layout is 4.5 by 3 with a 4 1/8 inch pin buffer. The cover stock was left OOB.

I was really surprised by how much friction the OOB cover created. The Shooting Star started up much sooner that I thought it would but did not roll out. The amount of overall hook was a little less than the Outlaw. Hit and carry were very good. Track flare was in the four inch range, tight but not over lapping. I will probably be changing the cover with Storm’s Step 2 finish.

An OOB Shooting Star will handle heavy-medium to light-heavy patterns with ease. There is a lot of hook potential in this entry level piece.



John Brodersen


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Shooting Star Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 11/08/2011 19:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
Drilled one last week for a customer. He loved his Rising Star but wanted a ball with a little less back-end movement. So i drilled him a Shooting Star. This ball is much smoother on the back-end but stronger in the mid-lane.

Lenny Biondi JR
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 30 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter