Go to Storm Frantic »

Only show reviews for Storm Frantic

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.9Write a Review    Read all 60 reviews

I Love It
 
93% (56 of 60)
I Like It
 
5% (3 of 60)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 60)
I Don't Like It
 
2% (1 of 60)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 60)

Storm Frantic Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/05/2011 10:02 ( stars)

205 of 207 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge
You'll never see the pins fly off the deck as fast as you will with the Storm Frantic.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5" x 3 3/4" x 4 1/4"
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" P2

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
So I admit to being a little ignorant on this release. I did not pay any attention to it since I was so excited about the Nano Pearl. I told our tech guy in the office to lay it out and we would see what happens. All I knew is the ball was loud and I thought it looked kind of cool and would look awesome going down the lane.

As you can tell by the layout we went with something fairly simple and this layout usually provides me with a really clean look through the front and an aggressive motion off the break point. Given this ball has a shinier surface I expect to see plenty of movement down lane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Ok, once I threw this ball one time I realized I had something special here. I went back to check on the tech specs and realized that this was basically a Hy-Road with a weaker core like in the 2Fast and 2Furious. Anyone who has thrown these balls will now that's a great combo.

Besides the fact that this ball is crazy loud looking and really grabs your attention going down the lane. The ball motion is unbelievable. Imagine if you will a Hy-Road that goes longer and on the right condition actually comes off the point stronger and more angular, that is the Frantic.

After my test I had to make sure that I was not hypnotized by the colors and that the ball really did roll as good as I thought. As soon as I saw the footage for our video I knew it was true. A R2S Hybrid coverstock (Hy-Road) with the N.O.S core (2Fast/2Furious) is possible the best combination you can imagine for a Hot Line ball that will let you do whatever you want to with it.

You have to get one of these and see what I mean.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/31/2011 12:33 ( stars)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm's Frantic is a new ball in the Hot line. The NOS core is covered by the R2S hybrid coverstock. The combination between core and cover creates a long and strong ball motion on medium oil volumes. The Frantic's ball motion and its bright orange and green color combo will definitely make this ball a standout on the lanes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 10/25/2011 15:33 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm new release is a Frantic and the name is perfect. The ball has a smooth roll through the front and a Frantic move in the backend. The perfect scale from bowlingball.com is 189.5 with the hybrid cover you will love your new Frantic.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Harold2 02/26/2013 21:00 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I watched videos and read several reviews before deciding to purchase the Storm Frantic Bowling Balls, yes two. One for myself and one for one of my sons as a 2011 Christmas present. My 20 year old son and I were on the same team both throwing the bright colored Frantic, both 16 lbs. out of the box. There wasn't anyone in our league that had purchased one, yet. It quickly caught the attention of many bowlers looking to improve their game. The back end power and pin carry was impressive. My average was at 198 hallway through the season. By the end of the 2011-2012 season I finished at a respectable 207. My son's average was around 183 at the start of the 2012-2013 season. Then, October 2012, during our Wednesday night league, I watched my son bowl a 300 game with his Frantic. Thanks for the memory Storm. His average is at 191 and still climbing. Needless to say, there are now other Frantic owners in our area.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: donpep 06/13/2013 15:22 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Just got back into bowling from 1997. My old bowling balls were 1975 vintage, e.g. Yellow Dot Columbia 300 and Johnny Petraglia LT-48. Both were 16 pounds and not much hook on the new lanes.
I bought this ball expecting it to hook and it sure does. Hooks at the back end as expected. It seemed like I would miss my mark right and would still come back into the pocket.
The ball is a 14 pound ball but reacts very well in kicking the 5 pin out and mixing them up on the side walls. Only problem I have right now is the 10 pin. Almost impossible to pick up using my traditional hook.
All in all, it is a great experience I longed to see. Fun again even at a much lower level of expertise. Today shot 170 and 160 with the new ball. Looking forward to the weekend to bowl again.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by donpep


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: 4drewsdad 08/28/2012 13:37 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Three words.....BEST BALL EVER!!!!!! This ball is soooo amazing and has soooo much backend end I can't believe the price!!! took 4 years off from bowling come back bought this ball and averaged 218.9 Bought a Nano at the same time didn't throw it again after I got in a groove with the frantic. I think I will buy another ;)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 4drewsdad


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: 300maybe 04/10/2012 21:58 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
I recently bought this ball becuase I had the 503C and it was a great ball while it wasn't trashed after a month or two. So I got a Frantic with the layout 4x4x2 if I remember correctly? But anyways this is the strongest ball I have owned, Im 14,ive only been bowling for a year and a half, my rev rate is moderate I would say about a 320-350. I was recently standing anywhere from the 15th through the 20th board, if I was lucky and the lanes were burnt I could stand at 25 at the most with my completely wasted 503, but now I stand around 30th to the 25th.I usually bowl on a THS, but with this new PBA experience I will be throwing it on different patterns such as the Viper and Shark. I will also be in another sports shot league, but this league will have patterns like the Bejing.I believe this ball hits the pins like a mac truck it will run through the pins faster and harder than anyother ball on the market today. And if you still havn't thrown the Frantic then you need to buy your own TODAY!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: assassinmaster8894@yahoo.com 02/17/2012 02:05 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I didn't order my ball from Bowlingball.com BUT I will say that this ball hits like a ton a bricks, no joke. I found it hard to get lucky strikes with this ball if it went through the nose and I had some unusual pin carry but that's probably my fault for not being lined up right since this is a lot different from my Critical Theory.

I will start off my saying that my layout is 4 x 4 x 2 which is a high flaring, strong entry angle layout. I also left quite a few 10 pins but again it might be my own fault. This ball though is a really nice ball for when the lanes break down. I used my Critical Theory for a couple games to get the lane broke down so I could start using my Frantic. When this ball hit the pocket for me it destroyed the rack. I had more messengers all night with this ball than I have had with the Critical Theory so I believe that says something about the cover combo with the core.

Storm does have another winner here though and I will recommend this to anyone who is looking for a new ball. It also has a very pleasant Orange Lime scent. 5/5


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by assassinmaster8894@yahoo.com


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Leonard313 03/23/2014 21:47 ( stars)


 
This was my first ball.

Drilling Layout: "Label Leverage" layout with the pin approximately 3 3/8" from PAP. CG near the center of the grip.

Weight: 15lbs

Statistics:
Starting Average: 121
Ending Average: 147

Positives: This ball works very well for what it's designed to do; medium to low oil. In those conditions, this ball had a great, natural arc to the pocket. Very controllable.

Negatives: When the oil gets to a medium to higher level, the ball simply doesn't have the ability to come back to the pocket. For that same reason, I had a hard time playing inside with this ball.

Was between a 3 and a 4 on this one but decided on a 4 because it actually performed well for what it was designed to do.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: 2handedrev 11/13/2013 20:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is amazing. I was looking for a ball that i could move right with as the lanes brokedown. This ball does it for me with ease. It reads fairly early and has an aggressive reaction but finishes through the pins clean. I love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: mswitz88 09/04/2013 09:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    202
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 right X 5/8 up
 
I felt so-so about this ball in OOB finish. It hit like a truck and would carry ridiculously well. However, it was very jumpy off the breakpoint and became unpredictable midway through a set. It would have over/under reactions from shot to shot and was very dependent on how much hand I put on the ball each shot. I tried a flare reducing weight hole but it took away everything I liked about the ball making it dull and flat to the pocket. I plugged that and changed the surface to 4000 abralon (no polish) and now it is my new favorite ball in my bag! It tamed the over-reactions I was seeing in OOB finish but left the hitting power intact. It was like a completely different ball! Had all kinds of miss room inside and outside. This ball is my go-to for typical house shots now. LOVE IT!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2013 08:29 ( stars)


 
I was not very pleased with this ball as it reacted too late on the lanes and glided into the pocket with my "stroker" release. I was expecting it to read the lanes and snap more ,but it has more of a long arc to its path. I only use this ball when the pattern is very dry. Overall it is a ball that gets the job done but only in certain situations.

Eric Abenojar


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2013 08:27 ( stars)


 
For coming back into bowling after several years as a beginner, the Frantic served as a good ball. My style was that of a straight thrower at first and transitioned to a stroker, and the Frantic’s reactivity helped with this transition. I find the Frantic to be useful during lighter oil patterns where it can hit the pocket dead on by playing up straight on the right. With my style though I cannot throw it too deep, and stick usually to the 10 board. Consistency is a bit of an issue for me however with this ball. Overall it’s a ball I can turn to late in the game to keep up the pace.

Eric Salaices


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2013 08:26 ( stars)


 
Frantic

My bowling style is using a good amount of revs and throwing the ball at about 16.5 miles per hour. This year, I bought a 16 lbs Storm Frantic. The ball is very strong for me because of the amount of revs I put onto the ball. Because of this, at the start of a tournament, this is a really good ball for me. As the day goes on, starts reacting a lot earlier and I have to switch from a four step to a three step approach. However, the ball is still controllable when it gets to the point of being aggressive, I just don't see it as quite as consistent for me.

Byran Shaw


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: collincurrent 04/28/2013 21:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-3/16 Right x 3/8 Up
 
I really only bought my Frantic to see how it would compare to my Crossroad.

I drilled it the exact same way as my Crossroad, and then tried it out.

Honestly, I didn't see much difference. I do know that this ball has a weaker core than the Crossroad, but it is still a hybrid coverstock. I just saw a small amount of less hook. I do have a relatively slow ball speed and a medium rev rate, so this ball didn't really strike me that much. I think it was geared more towards people with a medium ball speed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by collincurrent


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Tom Kozak 04/09/2013 13:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    213
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Bought this ball a month ago and can not believe how hard it hits and how well it carries. My last 3 series have been 638, 692 and a 736. Had 16 strikes in a row last night and tugged my next shot and left a big split. This ball does all the work for you, all you have to do is put it to the right and let the ball destroy the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tom Kozak


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: DMC 03/04/2013 21:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    208
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
This Ball is Great it should have a much higher hook rating. Bowled multiple 279's with it. I would recomend it to anyone

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DMC


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: greenday4537@yahoo.com 01/22/2013 22:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    206
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 x 5/8
 
At the time when I bought my Frantic, I was bowling with an old Nitro that was a urethane ball. Wow did this make a huge difference. My scores consistently improved.

Ball clearly works the best on medium oil. Medium-heavy, still works. When the lanes dry up, it just hooks way too much. When the lanes are heavy oil, it doesn't hook much at all. But if you need a medium oil ball, the Frantic gets down the lane and snaps into the pocket like a monster. Crushes the pins.

Like any other reactive cover ball, just make sure to keep it cleaned. Take care of your ball and it'll take care of you.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by greenday4537@yahoo.com


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: 2 hands carry more 01/10/2013 20:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
what a ball!!! already shoot 4 out of my 7 high games with it!! taking it to the collegiate tournament this week, gonna be 1st ball out of my bag!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2 hands carry more


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: mrloudon 01/10/2013 16:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    188
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
188 average
average 14.5-15 mph
tweener


I own a 2 fast that I have drilled
Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/8"
PSA Layout - 5 1/8" x 6" x 2 3/4" pin up

to go super long with a lot of back end. I used it when oil carried down but it was just too aggressive leaving a lot of stone 9 pin's. So I decided to get a frantic drilled to get a smoother reaction.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5" x 3 3/4" x 4 1/4" pin down

Wow was I amazed... my team in league first commented after two shots that I've never sent messengers like I was right then. My first night with the ball I decided to use it to start (everyone wants to use their new equipment) to begin instead of going to it when the oil breaks down (I usually start with my prodigy) and I didn't have to move one time all night and never changed balls. Shot my highest series ever, 214, 243, 216 for a 673. And being that green and orange are my favorite colors, I don't see myself throwing any other ball for a while unless it's my polar ice for spares. Get this ball, you will love it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: 2 hands carry more 01/06/2013 20:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
when i got my tropical breeze i thought that no other ball will make me put the breeze aside and use that ball, until i get the frantic, second day with it, it became my go-to ball! i just love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2 hands carry more


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: frog917 12/27/2012 22:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
shoot 600I know I can do better just need to remember to keep speed on the ball for best preformance.would tell others to buy if thinking about it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: doowooptony@yahoo.com 10/21/2012 14:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    167
Sport Shot Average    175
 
their is nothing quite like it.It seeme to find the pocket all by itself.I am a leftie. I used to make the seven pin 5 out of 10 times, now standing on board 33 I almost never miss. I expect my 175 average to go up by at least 10 pins with this ball. It is truly the best ball I have ever owned. Way to go, STORM.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: jamsmall@hotmail.com 10/07/2012 22:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    193
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Bought two of the storm Frantic balls one for the wife and one for myself abouth 3 weeks back. Price, reviews and videos where the determining factors. The wife is a 146 avg bowler out of box she bowls a 203,196,179 and has brought up her avg to a 158 and still rising.I drilled her ball pin down 5"x3.5" x 4" as she does not have tons of rotation and wanted a glide to pocket feel. For me I dwell around 201 house average and a 199 tournament avg and wanted a layout that would carry through the oil and snap at the first sign of dry. I drilled the pin up 5"x4"x3" and at first it was two much for me. out of box 186, 246,186, I have learned from the mistakes and today 12 games in on the ball tossed a 300 and a 772 series. If you got oil this ball will slip and slide right through it and when it hits the dry get ready for some massive snap.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jamsmall@hotmail.com


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: wccs23 06/07/2012 01:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    170
Sport Shot Average    140
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2
 
I bowled my first 600 series with this ball. It is a very forgiving ball even i miss my target by 5 boards. It seems to always find its way back to the pocket.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wccs23


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: bootwo2000 05/22/2012 09:27 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I bought this ball due to its popularity and good reviews, boy was this a waste of money. The first one i got cracked from my middle finger away from the Pin all the way around the ball after about 6 games. Got the ball replaced and the second one did the same thing after 10 games. My good friend also bought one and the areas around his finger holes are chipping and cracking. Coverstock for this ball is soft as a bowling ball can be. The ball while staying in tact is a good one. I just feel 20 more dollars would buy you a ball that would not require you to replace it every month.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bootwo2000


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: mkayler 05/10/2012 19:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    185
Sport Shot Average    167
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
First off I am not a long time bowler, but man I added this to my collection with my Hammer Vibe and man what a difference. This ball has very strong entry angle and drives through like a hurricane.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: cruzen 04/26/2012 01:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Has good distance on medium heads to dry backends....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: joshuatmartin 04/22/2012 14:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I have never had a ball so strong on the back end. It rolls smoothly down the lane and just takes off at the end. A powerful drive to the pocket, it hits harder than anything I've ever thrown. Great ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Bowlin4Beer 03/23/2012 10:23 ( stars)


 
I'm a 170 average but the first night out with the Frantic I bowled a 204, 220, 245!! That's out the gate!!! I'm fairly new to bowling and thought it was time to retire my 20 year old hand-me-down ball. Man, am I glad I did. For my style of bowling, the Storm Frantic seems to build energy, hook late/hard, and smash the pocket like a freight train. I find myself moving to the oil by three boards each game and by the last was having to get the bowl out further and harder to hit the pocket. Love this ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: joetocool 03/17/2012 07:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
the best ball i have ever owned has a lot of back end with very little speed

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by joetocool


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: hit300 03/08/2012 08:55 ( stars)


 
let know a fav yesterday frantic storm game 300 thank you

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Redikulaus 03/02/2012 11:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is a great overall ball, regardless of the low price point and the outrageous color.
I carry about a 215 average and generally take a set or two to get accustomed to a new ball. First set out of the box was 268,268,237 and I was amazed. This ball hits the pins so hard.
This ball hooks just as hard and hits just as hard as some of the higher end Storm balls I have owned, such as the Invasion and Marvel.
The only downside I have noticed is that the ball is so popular you have to make sure you pick up your own equipment. In a 5 player league there were 4 Frantics on my set last night.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: gsher3942003@yahoo.com 03/01/2012 20:00 ( stars)


 
I bought the Frantic to complement my Invasion when lanes burn up a little around the middle of the second game. It really has the length with my full-roller style to handle slightly drier conditions. A young high rev bowler in our league with a 227 average finds it suits his style very well when his pro performance ball gets too strong. I also found, for my hand-under delivery style, that it has a strong late angle in fresh oil as well. I started with the Frantic on fresh oil on league night, and found a simple move two boards to the right resulted in a strong finish to the pocket with good carry. I only have one series to go by, but games were 216, 175, 204 for 595. I'm 65 with league average of 182 with the Invasion. I think maybe the Frantic will be my go-to ball from the beginning. I'll know more with a larger sample size, but right now I'm excited about the prospects of getting that league average up a few pins before the season ends.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gsher3942003@yahoo.com


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: toole man 02/27/2012 19:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
I absolutely love this ball, I'm a two handed bowler and this ball sits in the oil if you pull, and is also very forgiving if you miss outside as well! I'd recommend to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by toole man


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Kyle Z. 02/17/2012 15:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    169
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I was blown away with this ball! Storm has done it again! I started bowling in league about a year and a half ago at the age of 20. I was using a "rednecked" Hawg bowling ball. The reason I call it "redneck" is the fact that I was throwing a left handed ball with my right hand because I am right handed. The ball had been handed down to me from a friend. After wanting to become more competitve, I decided to get a new ball, one that I could make my own. I had some people recommend the Frantic and boy were they correct! I got it within 4 days and got it drilled that same day with a basic drill layout. I went to the lanes and threw a 657 series that very same night! My average is around a 170, so this ball was leaps and bounds better that my last one! It works well with my release and the backend movement on this thing is amazing! I throw from 5 to 7 boards to the left of the far left dot and put the ball down on the last dot to the left at the foul line. I have yet to have it not somehow find the pocket for me and I have been using it for about 3 weeks now. I would recommend both this ball and this website to everyone who wants to make themselves more competitive in bowling! The reviews were a great help and I look forward to more Storm products coming out in the future!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: acer887 02/11/2012 02:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Got this ball thinking I would have to use it once the lanes started breaking down around the end of the second game first week I had the ball during practice the lanes seemed dryer than usual so went to this right off the bat was hesitant at first but once it got outside into some dry around the 5 board or so picked up its roll perfectly snapped back right toward the pocket and carried everything it didn't seem fair seeing everyone else get stone 10 or 8 pins first full series with the ball for a 560 best ball I've picked up in a long time

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: davkarsports 02/07/2012 09:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I bought this ball with the intent of having something versatile for both league and short-mid tournament patters. Ball was drilled with my favorite layout with the pin above ring finger.

I absolutely LOVE this ball! This ball easily gets through the heads with the polished coverstock, but then makes an abrupt left hand turn at the point of friction and absolutely rips the rack. Ball shows great recovery skills to the outside - and so far I have been able to use it in any part of the lane.

I am really excited about this ball and the potential I see in it for tournament play. If this ball is not in your arsenal, you're making a big mistake!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: CHALLAZA 02/02/2012 19:17 ( stars)


 
first practice game out of box 199. league bowled 169 (3 splits in first 4 frames)-232-258. smooth break point and solid finish thru the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: mike.bride@yahoo.com 01/29/2012 16:16 ( stars)


 
league bowler and tournaments
200+ avg
bowl 3 nights a week

the pro drilled it up right

It took a few games to figure out how to throw the new ball once i did this ball carried everything close to the pocket


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: GaryMatten@comcast.net 01/04/2012 02:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    193
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Don't let the "Perfect Scale Rating" under 200 or the "Mid-range" terminology fool you. This ball can be drilled to hook, it hits hard, and carries really well on the 3 different house condition shots I've used it on. I've used it since December 19th and I've had 3 series over 750. In early December 2011, the state high score for Colorado (899) was shot using this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GaryMatten@comcast.net


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Rocket13 12/28/2011 09:59 ( stars)


 
I just got the Frantic drilled up and my pro shop guy put a fresh THS down for me to see if we needed to tweak anything. All I can say is wow! I actually bought this ball thinking it might work well when the oil is breaking down but that is not the case. I started feet 25 target 12 at the arrows break point 5 and the ball made a hard turn left off the break point missing the head pin completely! I moved in to 30 15 at the arrows and came in just a hair high one more board left with my feet and pay dirt strung 7 in a row. I am a stroker med revs, med ball speed. I dont know a lot about layouts mine is drilled pin to the right about 2 " and even with with the bottom of my finger holes. I also own the HY-Road and if you love that ball you will definitely love this one. The Frantic plays just a little bit longer then my Hy-Road but hits with the same fierce power. Don't let the medium oil rating fool you the oil I played on was more med heavy and the Frantic didn't flinch.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Pinhead2011 12/16/2011 14:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I am a league bowler with a 180 average. I intended to get the Frantic to use after my Reign of Fire would start to overreact on the lanes...But, the Frantic is now the first and only ball I bring out of my bag!!! The ball hooks like crazy once it finds some dry boards, and the carry is amazing...Once I found a good look with the ball, it was magical. And I continue using the ball through the night, just having to make a few small adjustments....Amazing ball!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: coletheslawslaw@yahoo.com 12/15/2011 13:37 ( stars)


 
this ball i love it. it hits very hard in the pocket and i love how it rolls. it a great ball to have for dryer lane condition

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by coletheslawslaw@yahoo.com


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: BigDaddyJ 12/15/2011 11:39 ( stars)


 
First off this ball is just wicked! My proshop guy talked me into trying the rico drilling on it, didn't know what to expect. What I got was totally amazing! The ball just absolutly demolishes the pocket. Just like all the midline balls storm puts out, it kills the competition. I can promise anyone will love this ball, and will the hybrid coverstock you get the best of both worlds.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: brockdgranger@hotmail.com 12/15/2011 08:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball Excedes all expectations for its price point. Clean through the Heads ,midlane read and a srong predictable angular back end motion. This is the only ball I might own two of.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: BGottry@Live.com 12/13/2011 22:44 ( stars)


 
The Frantic is a great ball. I drilled mine pin over the fingers 4in from the PAP and the Mas Bias 4in also from the PAP. It rolls very smooth with a nice sharp angle on the back end. For the price its one of the best buys out there. So go get one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: cmsubowler 12/12/2011 09:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hello everyone and thanks for reading. YouTube video for this review is here:
http://www.youtube.com/user/CompetitiveEdgeBowl?feature=watch#p/a/u/2/D49cl-N2Fpc

Great reaction. Great Hitting Power. Clean through the heads. Good Midlane and strong arcing backend reaction. I used a slightly different layout on this ball for me so i could use this as more of a benchmark ball. Surprisingly enough I have been able to use this ball on a number of different conditions. Viper, Chameleon, Scorpion are the main three this ball gets used on but I have scuffed it up and used it on longer patterns like Shark too. The ball I decided to review against was the Heat Indigo Violet because I felt it was a close comparison for my arsenal. The Hybrid cover allows the Frantic to go down a little longer and still maintain ease of use on heavier volumes and get down the lane on the lighter ones. You can see the arc phase is a little earlier and longer than the Heat Solid and the ball continues through the pins and just doesn't want to give up. Great Benchmark for any player and this one is staying in the bag for a long while to come.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: wcowenjr@aol.com 12/12/2011 09:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I was having trouble with my wrist and decided to drop down a pound to help it heal. I picked the Frantic as I wanted to try one of the new Storm balls. Boy, I didn't expect so much power from a lighter ball. This thing hits like a ton. I'm back to my 215 avg and my wrist is getting better. I'll probably stay with the Frantic even after it heals. Great job Storm.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 12/10/2011 23:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
The Frantic has the same cover as the popular Hy-road (R2S Hybird coverstock) with the N.O.S. core which was used in the 2 Fast and 2 Furious.
Very bright colors in Orange/Green which has great shelf appeal. The Frantic is cleaner through the fronts more angular off the spot than the Hy-road.
Be careful not to drill this ball too strong as the Frantic loves friction and can go sideways off the spot.
But if your looking for a ball for when the lanes get a little broken down, and need to open
the lane up the Frantic is that ball. Storm Sales Rep Doen Moos suggested for me to drill it pin down with a 4 inch pin to create some flare and control the backend motion.
This is exactly what this drilling gave me. As I shot 801 series in league where the pair was more on the hooking side that night, and I just kept chasing it in with great carry.
I compare this ball to being a stronger version of the popular T-Road Pearl.

Dislikes : The Frantic doesn't handle a large amount of oil very well, except maybe for the heavy handed players.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Precisionrotoguy 12/10/2011 15:40 ( stars)


 
Storm Frantic
Pin and CG stacked next to ring finger, medium width/depth hole just below midline.

First off, I LOVE the color of this ball. Some don't, but personally I LOVE orange and neon green. It
smells great too. Now on to the thing that REALLY matters- performance. I was shocked by just how
smooth and controllable this ball was. Usually the shinier Storm stuff is so strong off the spot that
I find a lot of conditions that I have to revert back to surface or a Roto Grip ball, but this ball
totally breaks that mold. Clean through the front, strong roll in the midlane, excellent continuation
and enough hit to get the job done (I have issues getting really poppy balls to carry the 10, but no matter
how this ball seems to get to the 1-3, the pins seem to fall, UNREAL). It was versatile enough to
knock 2 other balls out of my regular rotation of equipment, so it's a space saver for me too! Gotta
love it!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Precisionrotoguy


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: nyy817 12/09/2011 02:39 ( stars)


 
I purchased the Virtual Gravity Nano a few months ago and recently it just wasnt performing the way i would have liked, so I have always wanted the Feantic ever since I saw it on bowlingball.com. I purchased the Frantic and got it drilled for league night. the first thing i noticed is that this ball rolls very smooth and has a wicked sharp backend hook. When the Frantic makes contact with the pocket it definetley hits HARD. I was either going to buy the DV8 hellraiser or the Frantic, I made a very wise choice, you should have no doubts about purchasng this ball, its really awesome!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 12/01/2011 19:52 ( stars)


 
Wow this ball does what it said it does.This ball is clean threw the heads reads the mid and slaps the pins around like there no tomorrow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 11/17/2011 12:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Storm's Frantic is a new ball in the Hot line. The NOS core is covered by the R2S hybrid coverstock. Anyone who liked the Hy-road, will love the Frantic, a little less angle than the Hy-road, but hits just as hard.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Mr.Perfict 11/15/2011 08:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    202
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I purchased the ball on 11/14/2011 drilled it and used it in the league. First game 210 second 213 and amazing 259 first time using it right out of the box outstanding ball. I was undecided which ball to buy the nano pearl or the frantic I think i made a good choice. great ball..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Dmoney13 11/06/2011 13:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 5/8" right and 3/4" up
 
The Frantic is a combination of the coverstock from the Hy-Road and the Core from the 2Fast/2Furious line. The Hy-Road was the most versatile coverstock I have ever used, and my favorite ball of all time! I have been looking forward to this ball since the first word I heard about it.
I drilled my Frantic with a 5" pin and a 4.5" MB. The pin is just above my middle finger. This layout is the same that I put on my first Hy-Road. I did this, not only because it is a very reliable layout for me, but also to be able to get a good comparison between the Frantic and the Hy-Road.
The Frantic is exactly what I was hoping for! It has a good mid-lane read, and a heavy roll in it's hook phase. It is similiar to the Hy-Road, but a slightly stronger mid-lane roll, and more of a drive in the hook phase than a sharp backend. The Hy-Road is more angular than the Frantic, but I feel like the two are equally as strong in their own way.
I bowled with the Frantic in league for the first time last night. It read the fresh oil so easily, and has such a smooth reaction, it was like shooting fish in a barrel. Due to two bad spare shots, I only shot a 216 game one. Game 2 I leave a ten pin and pick it up, adjusted and came in high to leave a 4 pin and picked it up. Then I adjusted and went 9 strikes in a row and then crush a ten for a 278. I changed balls two frames into game 3 because the oil moved down and I needed a slightly stronger ball. Needless to say, I am in love with the Frantic. The Hy-Road is the only ball I have ever owned two of, but the Frantic may be on that list soon.
I recommend this ball for low to medium oil. It is strong enough to bowl on a lot of sport patterns, and is perfect for almost all house shots. It could easily sell in the Thunder line, but in the Hot line it is a bargain that you can't turn down!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dmoney13


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: grstorm 10/28/2011 01:49 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 ½ x 5 x 5

The Frantic is a great ball for when the lanes start to dry up. If you have a Hyroad or even a Roto Grip Nomad Dagger which is another hybrid the Frantic will be a great transition ball after your Hyroad or Dagger starts to hook too soon. With the awesome color scheme it looks cool going down lane and everyone ask me during league “what kind of ball is that?!?...that is a cool color looking ball!” You cannot miss this ball on the lanes. I am a big fan of the mid to low performance hybrid balls and anyone else who is a hybrid fan you for sure need the Frantic in your bag!

I have a video on youtube and a picture of my ball and the layout on facebook. If you have any questions about the Frantic email me at grichardson7716@aol.com.

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
The Bowler’s Advantage
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: STRMBWLRJK 10/26/2011 15:24 ( stars)


 
I drilled my Frantic with a 65 X 4-1/2 X 40 degree dual angle layout. I used a 7/8” drill bit to drill an extra hole and inch below my axis point, 2-1/2” deep. Building off of the success of the R2S Hybrid Reactive coverstock used on the Hy-Road, the Frantic comes with the same cover on top of the N.O.S. core that was used in the 2Fast and 2Furious. The Frantic compliments my Hy-Road very well. It is the perfect step down when my Hy-Road becomes stronger than what I need. The hybrid cover also helps the Frantic read the mid-lane sooner than a pearl cover, which makes the backend reaction smooth and predictable. The Frantic still goes a little longer down the lane than my Hy-Road before starting to make its move, and creates more angle at the break point. Also, I am able to go to my Frantic from my VG Nano Pearl and Marvel Pearl without there being a huge gap in between each ball in terms of reaction, if necessary. Overall, I am very impressed with the Frantic. For any bowler needing a strong, predictable reaction at an affordable price, the Frantic is definitely the way to go!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by STRMBWLRJK


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: AJensen 10/18/2011 19:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    235
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 over
 
This Frantic is one of the best rolling balls ever. With the color and reaction people see with this ball. Heads have been turning to see what it is and how will it work for them.
It works great! This one should be in your bag!
Can you say honor scores?

The core and cover combo is awesome. It's nice to know I will be able to have this ball with me in future tournaments. League has been turning around since throwing it. Averaging 665+ each week so far. Loving it!

Way to go STORM!

Andrew Jensen
Storm and Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AJensen


Storm Frantic Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 10/28/2011 12:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
Storm did it again with another great ball " the Frantic". I love the R2S Hybrid cover. It is the perfect ball to got to when the lanes start to dry up a little. This ball is very predictable. If you love the HY-Road then you will love the Frantic.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 60 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter