Go to Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only »

Only show reviews for Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.79Write a Review    Read all 47 reviews

I Love It
 
85% (40 of 47)
I Like It
 
13% (6 of 47)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 47)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 47)
I Hate It
 
2% (1 of 47)

Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/05/2011 09:47 ( stars)

1603 of 1613 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Get everything you got the from Nano in a pearlized cover!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4"
PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2 1/2"
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" on PAP

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
First of all I would like to say that this was possibly the most anticipated release of the year for me. I completely love the Virtual Gravity line
including the Virtual Gravity Nano released earlier this year. But in my opinion that ball pearlized has to be one of the best balls ever seen by
the bowling industry. Even though I am not currently bowling league I was excited to drill this ball and throw it. That does not happen very often, now on to the review.

As every bowler in the world knows by now the VG Nano was arguably one of the best balls made by Storm. But if you are a higher rev player you would appreciate seeing it in a pearlized cover so that with all that power we can move a little further right and really open up the lane. Well Storm has answered our prayers and we expect the Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl to do just that. Pack all that power into a pearlized package and let us play further right.

Since we all like to see the ball hook we kept the layout stronger then normal for a Storm ball and expect to see plenty of down lane movement out of this ball.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Exactly what I wanted and exactly what I think Storm needed. The Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl speaks for itself on the lanes.

The ability to move right with a ball that strong is a deadly combination on today's oil patterns. It is not often that you can take such a strong piece
of equipment, drill it very strong and play in the highest scoring area of the lane possible for multiple games.

The Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl does all of the above and looks absolutely wonderful doing it.

My review on this ball is a waste of time if you have already watched the video. There is nothing I can say that would tell you something you can not see for yourself by watching our video review.

The Nano Pearl is strong - check
The Nano Pearl is amazing - check
The Nano Pearl will blow away the competition - check
The Nano Pearl is the next ball you should buy - check


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/28/2011 12:44 ( stars)


 
The Latest ball in Storm’s Premier Line is the Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl. The Nano Pearl uses a medium Rg/ high differential core wrapped up by NRG cover stock that uses mica to create a cleaner ball motion through the front of the lane but still allowing more surface contact resulting in a strong back end hook. This ball plays well on medium to higher oil volumes. The Nano Pearl should be another good ball in a very successful line.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 10/12/2011 14:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl is a new release from Storm. We received our supply and the wait is over for the new strike machine.
Drilled one last night for a customer that needs more hook in the backend. Layout was 4x4x2 this give him all the hook he will ever need in the backend. Nano Pearl will be the next ball for all bowlers no matter how you roll the ball the Storm Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl is the ball you have to have.

Ormmond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: FlyingRev 10/16/2011 17:54 ( stars)

114 of 784 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    223
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Right-Handed Player

League Average: 236

Ball is drilled with pin about 1 inch above ring finger. My PBA Professional drilled it this way to go a tad longer and still give me a good backend. I have only been bowling for about 18 months but buy a couple of new balls each month.

After throwing it for 1 game in practice here are my impressions:

I prefer to play more "down and in", and this ball is more than acceptable for players like me. Average ball speed is 18 mph and throwing down the 3 board the Nano Pearl would read the midlane very well and as it hits the dry it did not jump or over-react but flowed quite nicely into the pocket. frames 3-12 were strikes and ball hits quite hard.

My only negative about the high-end STORM balls is they are generally 40 to 60 game balls before needing to be cleaned. After about that many games the ball loses quite a bit. This is probably not new information to those who have played STORM'S high-end stuff. But before that time, I plan to enjoy the ball!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by FlyingRev


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: STRMBWLRJK 10/26/2011 15:24 ( stars)

34 of 34 people found this review helpful.


 
The Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl is amazing! I drilled mine with a 50 X 4 X 45 degree dual angle layout. I drilled an extra hole with a 63/64” drill bit 2-1/2” deep an inch down my VAL. I have used this ball in multiple situations already and I have not been disappointed yet! The NRG coverstock on this ball, even as a pearl, handles heavier oil with no problem. While I would still generally start with my VG Nano on a fresh pattern, the Nano Pearl fits perfectly under the Nano and gives me room for error as I break down longer patterns. On medium sport patterns or house patterns, the Nano Pearl is a good ball to start with. I am able to play more direct with mine and get a strong, smooth mid-lane roll when the patterns are fresh. As they break down, I can start moving further inside while opening the lane up with the same ball just by rotating my hand around the ball more. On short patterns, the Nano Pearl also gives me a strong mid-lane roll, but it tends to roll-out more. I like this reaction because it is more predictable and controllable on short patterns. The Nano Pearl has quickly become one of my favorite balls! I am pretty confident in what reaction I am going to get from it in just about any situation. Try one out today! You won’t be disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by STRMBWLRJK


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: TenJaye 10/11/2011 18:12 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 2.5"
Starting Top Weight: 2.74oz.
Ball Weight: 15lbs 4oz.

DRILL PATTERN
Dual Angle: 70/ 4.5 / 70
X Hole (if there is one): None

SURFACE PREP
Straigh out of the Box

LANE CONDITION
Length: 40 ft.
Volume: Medium-Heavy
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl Review

What a better way to compliment what was already an amazing ball than to release a pearlized version! The Nano was an incredible ball for me, so I was very excited when I heard that Storm was releasing a Pearl version. In the short time that I have had this ball, it is already making its way into my all-time favourites list.

Being a medium-rev tweener player, I do not go out on the lanes thinking that I can overpower them with revs or high speed. That being said, I need a ball that gives me a lot of control yet can be aggressive enough when I need it. The one thing that often concerns me with pearlized balls is that sometimes they are too long or too snappy in the backend. The NANO PEARL gives the perfect combination of getting down the lane and reading the backend smoothly without being jumpy.

The thing I love most about the NANO PEARL is its versatility and the many ways I can use it on the lanes. On a fresh condition, I am able to go a little straighter but it still gives me a strong finish, and once the lanes start to open up I am able to stay with it, move in and let it fly. The NANO PEARL also provides a pretty seamless transition in the event that you need something really aggressive to start with.

LIKES – EVERYTHING
DISLIKES – I only have two right now! :p

Storm Amateur Staff Member
T.J. Calara – Calgary, Alberta Canada.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TenJaye


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: AJensen 10/18/2011 20:35 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    235
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 over
 
Just what we were all waiting for! The Pearl Nano is everything I was hoping it would be and more. With both the original Nano and now the Pearl, I'm not sure how the compitition stands a chance. When you have both the origanal and the Pearl Virtual Gravity Nano you will be a step ahead of of your compitition.I drilled mine with the pin above the ring and the cg kicked out a lttle bit leaving the MB to the right of the thumb. I have a amall hole in the P2. This ball rolls great through the front heads and packs a punch threw the pocket just like the original Nano. I will be adding this one to my bag. OMG! This ball is Awesome!

Andrew Jensen
Storm and Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AJensen


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 12/10/2011 23:33 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3 inches
Ball Weight: 15lbs

DRILL PATTERN
Pin to PAP: 4 1/2
CG to PAP: 3
X Hole (if there is one): no hole

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 375
Ball Speed: 16.5
PAP/Track: 4 up 1 1/4

SURFACE PREP
Grit: Factory
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished

LANE CONDITION
Length: 41
Volume: 25.30
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Kegel Turnpike

BALL REACTION
Length: 8
Back End: 9
Overall Hook: 9
Midlane Read: 8
Breakpoint Shape: 9

COMMENTS
Likes:
I like how the Nano Pearl clears the fronts for a strong Asymmetrical ball. Reads the midlane very well and has a strong continuous backend motion. This is a great compliment to the original Nano.
On the Turnpike Pattern I was able to play next to track and just chase it in, without sacrificing carry.
This is a very strong pearl from Storm. The Pearl would be a great fit for all styles of bowlers. For the heavy handed players who had a harder time getting the ball through the fronts with the original Nano the pearl is just what you need. If you feel like the pearl is going a little too far, I've hit it with a 2000 abralon by hand and that did the trick. The ball read just a about a foot early and still had great continuation through the pins and gave me more room at the breakpoint.

Dislikes: None


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Precisionrotoguy 12/10/2011 15:38 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl
Pin over ring, CG towards palm, MB by thumb, no X hole.

Well, if you're looking for a lot of back end with a really strong read off of friction, this is the ball for
you. This ball is at it's best when in the hands of the rotationally challenged in a situation where they
need to create "big boy" angle. Visually this ball is stunning and I love the new scent! It was the best selling
high performance ball in our shops the month it came out and is getting solid reviews from those in the center
in which I spend most of my time. Another HIT from Storm!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Precisionrotoguy


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Randy69 02/04/2014 18:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I have had this ball for almost a year now and it's still a great ball. Last league night 252-267-256. Let me know before they quit making it, I want another one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Randy69


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: KB4 12/27/2013 12:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I am a high school bowler. I have a Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl and a Storm Paradigm. This year has been my best season so far because of the Virtual gravity nano pearl. I throw it almost all the time now. The hook is great and I have a lot of area to work with using this ball that I didn't have with my paradigm. I would recommend this ball for someone that throws the ball as a stroked or tweener style, not sure if I would recommend it for a cranker as I haven't seen how it reacts when cranking it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: imagine686868@yahoo.com 11/07/2013 00:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Well new to bowling but have had 2 300's in the last 6 months! April 14,2013, IQ pearl,,, then 3 weeks ago with the Virtual Gravity nano pearl.

I was able to keep the same line all night in a 10 person league, it just cleared the heads all night long, and took a nice angle into the pocket!

At 65 years old, I am a happy camper!! Just stared bowling 3 years ago. It went like this, 300, 216 loss some carry for some reason good pocket hits I thought, then 264, started the third game with 8 strikes, thought I was going to have another 300!

LOL, had a 780 series,,, almost a 800 too! Great ball, might just get another one! The one I used for this 300 had been plugged twice. I have my own spinner, and did resurface it to original out of box finish.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by imagine686868@yahoo.com


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: imagine686868@yahoo.com 10/23/2013 22:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Just started bowling sanctioned league two years ago, and in the last 6 months I have had 2 300 games! Both storm balls, this time with the Virtual Gravity Nanno Pearl!! What can I say other then the pearl finish gets me through the heads, and saves a lot of energy for that great dive into the pocket! 10/21/13, 2nd 300 and 780 series at 65!! 1st game was the 300, then 216, had carry problems, then final game 8 strikes in a role, then spared out for a 264! Almost got that 800!! Foot Note, my ball was plugged, and still works like a champ!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by imagine686868@yahoo.com


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: kyleaz03 10/17/2013 00:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    211
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 5/8" over by 3/4" up
 
Picked up a used Nano Pearl that was originally drilled with the 5x4x3 layout, pin drilled out in the ring finger. So I was stuck using that layout, plugging the thumb and re-drilling it for my hand. I average 210, with a 15 mph ball speed, medium track and a medium high rev rate, took the ball's surface to 1000, no polish, and added a small balance hole; this ball hits like a truck and played well on a 38ft ths around the 8-10 boards, using the 8 board for my target at the dots 6 ft out in the first game, 9 in the 2nd and 3rd game, stood on 22 at the start, finished the night standing on 24. Shot 232, 182 241 first night using it, only 3 opens all splits after breakdown, would have shot higher in the 2nd game had I moved left 2 with the feet and 1 with the eyes sooner. It's a great ball! Might use it as my first out of bag from now on, other gear in the bag are the Aura and Nexxxus, and I have a First Blood, Meanstreak, and Nexxus in the trunk of the car incase the 3 I bring in don't match up with the lanes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kyleaz03


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Randy69 04/15/2013 14:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Ball travels through the first part of lane and really has great snap at the backend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Randy69


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingamtuer123 02/17/2013 23:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
First I would like to say that this ball is better than I thought it would be. I had it drilled 4x4x2 pin above bridge and I must say that this ball saves monsterous amounts of energy on extremely fresh heavy oiled lanes and it's all on the backend. Honestly, who doesn't want a ball like that? Crankers will especially love this ball because it allows you to open up the lane and this ball has like twelve boards of miss room. Miss inside, the ball holds and heavy flushes the rack. Miss outside, and the ball makes a right angle into the pocket. I would recommend this ball to anyone who is either a power player or someone who likes opening up lanes that are fresh. BTW, the orange chocolate scent is legit and I sniff my nano everytime before i throw it to calm me down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingamtuer123


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: UF Bowling 05/22/2012 11:41 ( stars)


 
The Nano Pearl is one of the strongest hitting bowling balls I have ever thrown. I was thoroughly impressed with the amount of power that the ball transmits through the pins. My Nano Pearl has a 4 inch pin and is drilled with the CG slightly kicked out. The ball glides through the deteriorating heads with ease while still making a strong motion on the backend. In addition, it is a great option to start a tournament. I have had success with the ball on all pattern ranges from 37-42 feet. However, because of the size of the core and the strength of the Nano shell, the ball for me is best suited for patterns over 39 feet. The Nano pearl is a great fit between my virtual gravity and my reign supreme. I would recommend it to any bowler looking for the strong movement of a Virtual Gravity or VG Nano with even greater pin action and power in the pins.

Thanks, to STORM

Kevin Buynak


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: UF Bowling 05/19/2012 11:27 ( stars)


 
For a pearlized ball, this ball hooks! Mine is drilled just slightly right of neutral (pin and CG placement), and the ball snaps off the backend with more total reaction than anything else I currently carry. It also stores energy much better than most solid-coverstock bowling balls currently in production for me, leading to better carry on the longer oil patterns. As a player with a low axis rotation, solid bowling balls tend to burn-up for me creating carry issues, but this ball quickly became my go-to ball on longer length patterns, and the amount that it hooks truly surprised me. I rarely find a need for a solid bowling ball anymore. It still hooks plenty, and it stores energy significantly better. I can move as deep as I would like with this ball as the lanes open up, and I know that this ball with continue to recover and hit the pins with enough velocity to carry the corners. My experiences with this ball support it as being rated one of the best bowling balls of 2011.
Jeff Horowitz


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Ben300 03/26/2012 11:50 ( stars)


 
Ive had this ball for almost 5 months now and I absolutly LOVE IT! I average 221 right now and have been shooting 279's 280's & 290's for awhile now with the NANO PEARL. Feb 26th 2012 I shot my highest triple ever 280,269,277=826 Kept the same line all three games and just couldnt miss. Also just yesterday shot 300 with it. 214,300,267=781 Everyone should buy this ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: bones02215 03/04/2012 00:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    212
Sport Shot Average    176
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is a very powerful bowling ball. At first I was not too comfortable throwing this ball but after 6 or 7 game i started hitting the spot and swinging pins everywhere. I promise you once you see the type of pinaction u get with this ball all you can say is WOW. This ball is very controllable and read the mid lane very smooth. Love it and would recommend

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bones02215


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Drock79 03/01/2012 20:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    196
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I like the Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl, I think I would like it a lot more if my ball was drilled for it to hook hard, but I'm not gonna complain. When it hits the pocket, it hits it hard! I'm usually around the 13-15 mph tweener, so the other balls that I throw usually end up hitting the pocket light, but with this ball, when it hits. It hits!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Drock79


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Stormin-G 02/29/2012 17:54 ( stars)


 
I cant tell you all my specs but what i do know is i am a high track, medium to high rev, and about 14-15 mph player. I asked my driller to drill this for a strong backend. This ball delivers!!! Seriously. And it gets through the heads sooo clean. I was throwing this ball on a Fresh house shot basically aiming for the gutter so i can hit the pocket. I moved all the way left to the lane next to me and still got the ball to recover. What im trying to say is this ball recovers well. If you want backend, this ball should be at the top of your list.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: pastordixon 02/05/2012 11:07 ( stars)


 
I was looking for a ball that could be the second ball out of my bag. The Pro Shop let me demo a few and I came across this amazing ball. I average 176, but shot 660!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pastordixon


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: davkarsports 01/19/2012 10:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Bought this ball in hopes of getting a strong backend reaction on heavier oil patterns. Unfortunately, I have not found this to be the case.

With the typical factory polished finish, this ball finishes somewhat flat and doesn't make the strong backend move I was looking for. However, I have found it to be a good looking ball on house shots, facing up to the pocket well.

However, when I remove the factory polish and roll the ball at 2000 Abralon, I have been able to use this ball on heavier tournament patterns.

Overall, I like the ball and it has it's place in my arsenal...but I find the Anarchy to be a stronger pearlized ball than the VG Nano Pearl.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Another10pin 01/18/2012 00:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I threw this ball on the sunset strip pattern. This thing reads the lane and it make a smoother turn on the backend then i expected but it crushes the pins. This ball is not over aggressive it goes long smooth backend. was throwing it 20-10 on the sunset strip and scored amazing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Another10pin


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: eagleguy07 01/17/2012 16:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
At first i hated the ball. I took it up to 4000 with a hight polish. First set was 805. The ball was much longer and better through the heads with the 4000 polish. I did buy a extra one just incase the first one cracks.

Stats

revs arounf 330.
speed 16.
PAP 5 over 1/4 up.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by eagleguy07


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: r0me0_fm@yahoo.com 01/16/2012 18:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
 
I wrote previous review on this ball last year but I wasn't clear with the performance.

When I received the bowling ball I didn't have the inserts to use them since they ran out and had to ship it seperately.

For me pearlized bowling ball is the best bowling ball for a one handed thumbless style bowling. It gives me that length that I need besides the drilling pattern was Pin placement above the 2 fingers to roll straight. So it helped me control the hook of the ball with Thumbless style.

I enjoyed this bowling ball because it had a good low RG and it helped me skid the ball through the backend of the lane with slow to medium speed. I muscled the ball sometimes to increase speed and it still didn't over hook too much.

So if your looking for a controlled ball especially for light to medium oil this ball works well. Thumbless style for me helped me play light oil to heavy oil with this bowling ball.

And I'd like to thank bowlingball.com for doing a great job on helping me perfect my thumbless style one handed with this bowling ball drilled just right for my specifications.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by r0me0_fm@yahoo.com


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: slicertk@aol.com 01/03/2012 15:27 ( stars)


 
Excellent response to a order placed Christmas week.Received order on time many thanks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: pcalco511 12/29/2011 17:25 ( stars)

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball sucks plain and simlpe. Stick to the Virtual Gravity NANO if your thinking of buying.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: cloud016@gmail.com 12/28/2011 13:01 ( stars)


 
I had trouble adjusting on my first day with the ball. But the next day I was getting nothing but strikes and have already broken my all time high and averaging well above what I use to. The ball reacts exactly how I want it to. I would recommend for anyone wanting to step up their game.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: cmsubowler 12/12/2011 09:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hello everyone and thanks for reading...... you can find my youtube video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ou-kDpt7hp8&feature=channel_video_title

You can't go to a league night nowadays without running into a number of bowlers throwing the Nano. I have seen many people using them of all facets of the game but I always saw them go away after a game or so but now they don't have to. The introduction of the Nano Pearl was inevitable and everyone (including myself) looked forward to it. With this sought after introduction bowlers no longer have to sacrifice the hitting power they are used to while throwing the Nano. This ball clears the heads with ease and still picks up a great midlane roll, just like its predecessor. However, the backend reaction is much stronger and a much sharper. Some bowlers did not like the additional length the Pearl gives them forcing them to move further right than comfortable with and for them I would urge you to lightly scuff the surface with a 4000 abralon pad. The pearl coverstock will still allow you to get through the heads cleanly and will also allow this ball to handle any possibility of carry down. HITTING POWER!!!!!! AND AMAZING ANGLE !!!!!! What more could you want out of a ball. Keep up the great work Storm.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: do_ur_homework 12/06/2011 12:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I love this ball. Even though I am a recreational bowler without much experience, I've noticed that this ball has more than enough finish to take out the 5 five pin and produce thunderous strikes without applying any power to the swing. All I have to do is get it to the pocket.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by do_ur_homework


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: NBattistone 12/01/2011 23:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    179
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
As a relatively newcomer to the sport, I have been experimenting with a lot of balls recently in order to find something that really compliments my technique.
Over the past year, I have developed an affection towards the Storm line, and have always expected great things from their products. At first, I had done a lot of research into the original Virtual Gravity Nano. A few guys in my leagues roll them, and the reviews couldn't be better. My only concern, however, was that the performance of that ball might tend to be too aggressive as the lanes breakdown, and a ball that could carry on both fresh and worn conditions was something I was most interested in. Enter the Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl.

When I heard of this balls release, I couldn't wait to get my hands on one. Once I got it on the lanes, my anticipation turned to excitement! This ball was everything that I had expected and more!

Being a pearl coverstock, I knew that the ball would go longer and snap harder than the traditional finish...especially on fresh conditions. What I witnessed was in fact a beautiful combination of both a hard back end snap, and a slight gradual arch as it broke towards the pocket midway down the lane.

I am by no means a cranker. In fact, I feel that I get slightly less revs on the ball than even your average bowler, however, this ball gave me the performance I was looking for!
Furthermore, as the lanes continued to break down, I was still able to keep great control of the ball, without having to move too far to the left.

In my opinion, this is a tremendously versatile ball, that gives you just the right amount of aggressiveness, with all of the control on almost any condition!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by NBattistone


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: r0me0_fm@yahoo.com 11/29/2011 15:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
 
I purchased this bowlingball recently and I loved it... I just wished Bowlingball.com would've given me my request of polishing the ball 4000 instead of leaving it out of the box 1500.

For my lefthand it's perfect because I'm a one handed thumbless bowler, two handers might need something more aggresive then this though since considering two hander thumbless bowlers get extra speed with a two hander then a one hander thumbless bowler.

From previous ball pearl bowling ball helped me with medium to dry lane condition and this bowling ball certainly meets the requirement specification I'm looking for.

Typically my style of bowling both for lefthand thumbless or righthand finger tip grip, I usually use one bowling ball per hand for multi oil-lane condition. Not only it challenge myself to play different lines in the pocket and spare/split conversion.

I'm what I call a self-proclaimed ambidextrious bowler... I practice with 2 games one left and one right. And for my lefthand this Storm Virtual Nano Pearl helps me play different lines in the pocket... from deep angle to middle angle to outside angle. My thumbless one hander style is not the typical thumbless ball style pattern were people throw thumbless for strike and w/ thumb for spare. As Parker Bohn III would say "Control your hook" Which means for a thumbless ball which means I've asked BowlingBall.com not to give me a thumb hole for my Storm Virtual Nano Pearl. I've only asked finger insert holes with no thumb or extra holes.

The way I throw the ball it has different angles of track flare on the surface of bowling ball for me to play different angles in the pocket... And I practiced and used Storm Virtual Nano Pearl both in practice in different house and a bowling league in different house or different alleys...

And this bowling ball performed impressively.. I've learned to "Control my Hook" as PBA national titlist Parker Bohn III have mentioned by controlling thumbless one hander style by shooting strikes and spares/splits with no thumb hole... I use lots of mathematics in my style of thumbless one hand bowling. Different certain degree's of angles from 1 degree's to 45 degrees to 90 degrees to negative 35 degrees for backup thumbless bowling...

I like Storm Virtual Nano Pearl because it skids and it doesn't grip the lane too much as long as you give it little angle of revs on the ball to hook it little but to give it more flare I'd use higher degree of angle to create a bigger hook. Which this bowling ball helps me "Control my Hook" Like what Parker Bohn III said...

I hope this info. would help especially if your considering or have similar style like myself bowling thumbless one hander... but it might be good for two hander thumbless bowlers... If people are looking for a controlled hook bowling ball I'd suggest pearlized bowling ball... I've never tried the hybrid though the solid/pearlized reactive bowling balls... but if there like the helix I'd say if you want more grip I'd say hybrid ball is your man... or rather your ball... hehe...


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by r0me0_fm@yahoo.com


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: matt.uller@gmail.com 11/22/2011 20:10 ( stars)


 
As someone who tends to be a rev dominant bowler, I get goosebumps when I see pearlized equipment that gives length AND control. That is essentially what I was hoping to see in this particular release from Storm...and after throwing it for about a month...I can assure you that Storm has a monster on its hands.

I purchased this particular ball with a 3.5\" pin, and 3oz of top weight, and drilled it with the pin just under the fingers, slightly kicked out to the right, with the cg and mass balanced pointed slightly towards the palm instead of being stacked. I typically use a lot of \"pin up\" drillings due to my rev rate...but I wanted to try something a bit more aggressive to round out my arsenal.

The performance of this ball is eye opening...even with the out of box finish. I\'ve used it on a variety of sport shot style oil patterns, and it\'s versatility is quite high...just as long as there is medium to low volumes of oil. It is NOT designed for high volumes of oil, and that is the only condition I\'m not able to use the ball in.

The ball has effortless length when there is oil, and it has a strong and predictable move off of friction that is more of a strong arc instead of the typical skid/flip strong left turn. What has amazed me the most is the way the ball carries. Light hits, high hits...as long as you have enough angle, you get incredible carry.

I haven\'t had a ball that is this strong with this type of control since the Rotogrip Cell Pearl. While the Cell Pearl was made for the heavy to medium oil conditions, this one is the perfect compliment for the medium to light oil conditions. A worthwhile addition to anyone\'s arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by matt.uller@gmail.com


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: gummabear 11/02/2011 13:15 ( stars)


 
Very pleased with the ball and the customer service. Holds up very well. Keep the ball clean and it will be good to you, just like any bowling ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gummabear


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: kongRuNnEr 11/01/2011 08:14 ( stars)


 
This ball is exactly what I have been looking for. A BALL THAT WILL CARRY. Works very well on almost any condition and really carrys very well. My average has gone up 12 pins and I am consistently hooking the ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: grstorm 11/10/2011 17:53 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 6 x 4 ¼ x 3 ¾

The Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl I have drilled has the pin above my middle finger and PSA (preferred spin axis) is about 1 inch away from my thumb so I can have more control of the ball for the down lane motion. Usually when I drilled up a strong pearlized ball I drill it to its potential, but with this one I wanted to have more control overall and use it for a typical night of league and it does the job! You can drill it for control or strong and still have a strong finish down lane and the pins will be in the pit! If you are looking for a ball to compliment you nano solid or replace you anarchy this is the ball to get. Great back end motion and really clean through the heads. First night with it on a typical house shot pattern on my league night I average 230 with it and used it for 2 ¾ games which is really good for an asymmetrical ball for me. Normally it is going to be 1 to 1 ½ games if I’m lucky for a ball like this. Great ball! The Virtual Gravity series has done it AGAIN! BOWL UP A STORM!

I have a video on youtube and a picture of my ball and the layout on facebook. If you have any questions about the Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl email me at grichardson7716@aol.com.

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
The Bowler’s Advantage
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Dmoney13 11/06/2011 13:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 5/8" right and 3/4" up
 
I drilled my Nano Pearl with a 5"pin and a 5.5"MB with the pin just above my middle finger. This is my favorite layout for any bowling ball, and especially for Asymetrical Bowling Balls. I have about 390 revs and throw the ball around 17 MPH.
The Nano pearl is incredibly clean through the heads and most of the midlane. It is a very strong ball off the back of the pattern, with no shortage of power into and through the pins. Because of it's amazing power off the end of the pattern, I do have a little bit of an over/under reaction on the fresh oil. This is very common for pearlized balls, and this one makes up for it with how clean it is through burnt heads and pushed down midlanes. Starting the night with the Nano Solid, and then following up with the nano pearl is one of the best 1,2 punches ever created!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dmoney13


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: davkarsports 11/03/2011 13:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I had the Virtual Gravity Nano and was not completely satisfied with it compared to the original. In my opinion, it didn't have the versatility and was often difficult for me to find a pattern - even high volume patterns - that I was pleased with the reaction.

This is NOT the case with the Nano Pearl. This ball has got some juice!!! It does not grab the heads like the regular Nano, but it is still strong driving through the heads. The recovery in the backend is also better than the regular Nano. Most importantly, the Nano Pearl drives through the pins with relentless power.

I like that it is the first pearlized ball that I have been able to be effective with BOTH dull and polished. In fact, I prefer to keep this ball at 2000 abralon dull. (I do recommend completely removing the NIB factory polish before use - even if you put polish right back on it).

This ball will be my "first out" at most tournaments that will give me a good read. I can't see this ball NOT working for any bowler - particularly on tournament patterns.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: virgalwilliams@gmail.com 11/03/2011 09:06 ( stars)


 
Regular league bowler avg 192
I already own 2 Nanos, one polished and the other factory. I have had great success with this ball especially the polished one. Since I am a bowling ball junkie I also had to have this ball and compare it to the other 2. All balls are drilled the same 4x4x2 and have virtually the same pin placement. What I noticed was the polished nano and the pearl nano were very similar in ball motion. However the pearl is actually about 1 or 2 boards stronger, with a cleaner look through the heads. This ball really saves up some energy and hits the pins hard. I shot a 268, 11 strikes with one open frame, and a 249 fresh out of the box with this ball. The nano is my all time favorite ball, and the pearl, looks to be as good or maybe even a little better. Can't wait until league night!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: gbuttel@gmail.com 10/29/2011 13:38 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    170
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Not being a long time or experienced bowler I have these observations. The VG Pearl flares about 4 boards for me in the backend. Experienced rev/crankers will get more I'm sure. The one thing that stood out for me is the power the ball saves up. It crashes into the pins causing many more strikes. I love the ball. I had it drilled with bowlingball.com and compared to the pro shops in my area they are a level above. Their knowledge of correct placement of holes impressed me. I sent a ball to them UPS which got there in 3 days, the ball was on it's way back to me at the end of that day and I received it in a few days. All shipping charges are paid by BowlingBall.com. It's the way to go if you don't have a proven knowledgable pro in your area and you have an extra ball to send them. Charge is reasonable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 10/25/2011 13:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Storm Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl is a new release from Storm. The NANO PEARL will give you all the length and power you will ever need for todays varied lane conditions. the ball is very clean through the heads, with a strong finish.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: pbaramos 10/25/2011 13:04 ( stars)


 
This is the ball I have been waiting for. The Nano Prl gives me that nice clean look through the front part of the lane, but allows me to go left to right even with not having an extremely high rev rate. This ball corners like no other asymetrical cored ball I have ever thrown and is a must have in your bag. The original Nano is really good on heavier oiled conditions, but when the front part of the lane starts to burn up, it tends to pick up a hair too soon and gives you a wet/dry type of reaction. Thats when the Nano Prl comes into play..... Get Ready To Bowl Up A Storm!!!!!!

Erik Ramos
Storm Pro Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pbaramos


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: johnnyamp20022000@yahoo.com 10/25/2011 07:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    226
Sport Shot Average    211
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4.5-5.5
 
wow this the ball that work perfectly for me..i still love the the first nano,,but this pearl nano is just work better and go little longer and more snap at back end...i bowl first 3 games on the league with out throw any practicing ,,got 279.225,269,,i love it..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 10/19/2011 15:16 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The Storm Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl looks like it should be another great bowling ball from Storm.I haven't yet had a chance to throw it yet but from the bowling reviews it looks like it should be a great bowling ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Storm Virtual Gravity NANO Pearl 16 Only Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 10/18/2011 19:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
This ball is awesome drilled several of them for customer. They all love it. It is a great to ball it really has a lot of movement on the backend. And is perfect for any style of bowler.

Lenny Biondi JR
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 47 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter