Go to Motiv Raptor P7 »

Only show reviews for Motiv Raptor P7

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.72Write a Review    Read all 25 reviews

I Love It
 
88% (22 of 25)
I Like It
 
4% (1 of 25)
It's Ok
 
4% (1 of 25)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 25)
I Hate It
 
4% (1 of 25)

Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 07/19/2011 12:28 ( stars)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
The Raptor P7 with Formula-7 reactive cover is a new high performance ball from Motive. This ball has a strong low RG asymmetric core (2.46) with a high differential (.060) used to generate a strong ball motion on high oil volume patterns. The Raptor P7 has a smooth 4000 abralon finish so that it will not lose too much energy in the front part of the lane and have strong continuation through the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: fruler49 10/22/2011 12:01 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The ball rolls OK. But for the price compared to other balls it is not worth the money. Sorry to be the only guy that is going to give this ball a one 1. I am not a jerk or unreasonable person but really! Am I the only person that is not Motiv staff that bought this ball. I feel like an idiot.

FYI. The Nano that I got hooks about 8 more boards than this did on its best day. Just trying to help, don't want you to find out for yourself.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: seth.bayles@gmail.com 08/16/2011 14:04 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
BEST BALL I'VE EVER THROWN. HANDS DOWN.

Drilled this ball last week (60 x 70 @ 4.5 P3 hole 2k Abralon, 15lbs, I'm med-high revs with high speed). Bottom line: it's absolutely a tank. Ball gets through the heads clean, storing it's energy for the back with a pretty strong track flare. Bottom line, the thing hit's like a tank. I also have the Primal but, because of what I believe is a poor drill, the ball tends to roll out on me extremely fast unless I really project it. Anyway, the Raptor is by far the best ball I've ever thrown and is surprisingly versatile. Bowling on a pretty dry tight shot last night with scores way down, I was standing 22 and throwing 13-14 and the ball had zero trouble getting back (only left 2 10 pins all in 4 games which is huge for me because my ball tends to break late and hit behind the headpin, leaving boatloads of 10's.) Shot 947 which is good for me. When the lanes started to break down, I moved deeper another board or two and the ball was consistent the entire time. Bottom line, this ball rocks and Motiv really hit a home-run here.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: Mappa 07/24/2011 03:15 ( stars)

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    237
Sport Shot Average    212
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/4 over 1" down
 
Let me say flat out… the MOTIV Raptor is the strongest ball that I have ever thrown. This ball just loves the oil… but I’ve also used this monster on a medium house pattern, and was delightfully surprised. I am able to play at least an arrow left of where I normally play, yet the ball is still controllable. When I use my Raptor, people take notice. It definitely has that “awe” factor… or should I say “oohs and aahs!”

I punched up my Raptor using one of the conservative layouts (Pin 5” to PAP, Pin 5 1/2” to MB). I’m sure those adventurous types can get even more hook by using a stronger layout. The differential on this monster’s asymmetrical core is maxed out! (0.60)

The Raptor is an even arcing, heavy rolling ball that drives though the deck like no other. I’m looking forward to pulling this piece out the next time I venture on the Scorpion or Shark. I am sure the controllable power this ball demonstrates will be ideal on long, heavy sport patterns.

--Kevin Gallagher—
PBA Member
MOTIV Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mappa


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: plutonomies 07/16/2012 10:52 ( stars)


 
This was my first ball from Motiv, and boy it didn't disappoint!.. The houses I bowl out of typically cater to high rev bowlers such as myself, meaning higher volumes of oil are needed.. I struggled to create a shot with the usual equipment, TRACK, ROTOGRIP, STORM.. And as a lefty there's no one helping me to break down the lane.. A buddy of mine recommended the Raptor, and after watching some videos I agreed.. This ball is amazing!.. The pin carry is tremendous, it's ability to handle higher volumes of oil is unmatched, and soundtrack it creates is fist class!.. This ball gets 90% of the reps league night.. Watch my video.. I'm the lefty!..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by plutonomies


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: zman 11/10/2011 10:37 ( stars)


 
MOTIV RAPTOR
High Performance
- COLOR: Black/Purple
- INNER CORE: Predator
- COVERSTOCK: Formula-7 Reactive
- FINISH: 4000 Wet Sand
- FLARE: 7\"+
- RG: 16#-2.46 15#-2.46 14#-2.48 13#-2.52 12#-2.59
- RG DIFFERENTIAL: 16#-.060 15#- .060 14#-.060 13#-.051 12#.037
- RECOMMENDED LANE CONDITION: Heavy Oil
- A few tiny pit holes in the cover stock of the ball are normal
- DESCRIPTION: The Raptor P7 certainly soars beyond expectation. It is an amazing high performance ball featuring the new Predator asymmetric core and new Formula-7 Reactive coverstock. The reaction produced is astounding. It is long, very strong, and has incredible continuation. Get MOTIVated!

Likes:If you want strength this is the ball for you....No MOTIV joins the ranks of demolition in the heavy oil patterns. Ive been searching for a ball that fits my game in the oil and now I have that MONSTER in the Raptor. With the early read and conservation of energy this ball allows me to get through the heavy oil and still make the turn when needed. The bonus is that this baby still retains the energy needed to smash the pocket. This is by far the stronget ball in my bag and first out when im bowling some of the heavier oil patterns on the PBA circuit. If your A game is in or you are looking for something for those oily patterns you have to have a Raptor! With this ball complimenting my Sigma Tour and new Primal Impulse I have everything I need !
Get MOTIV-ated and GET THIS BALL! You wont be dissapointed!

Dislikes: None...just know this ball is for OIL!!!!!!! you can modify the shell to extend the lenght but this is definitely an OIL killer!!!!!!!

Rick Zakrajsek
Motiv Staff




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by zman


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: goaway65 11/01/2011 15:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I would first like to say I am not a staff member and this ball was not drilled to my exact specs. The basic drilling layout has the pin above my ring finger (RH) and CG 2-3in below stacked. Overall I have enjoyed throwing this bowling ball. Its a tad longer than id like it to be in heavy oil however on average house volume this ball is rediculous. I can say I get great carry from this ball wether it be flush strikes or light hits/mix. One of my problems with my style is being able to open up the lane in heavy oil, i have to play straighter. The raptor has allowed me to move deeper inside and still store power for the backend, where as my RG Theory which was drilled similiar would lose energy when trying to play deeper. Is it over hyped by staff members, to be honest I dont think so. For me this is a very versitile ball and be sure you have it drilled to fit your game, i got lucky with this ball working for me without getting it re-drilled. Id love to see this ball with just a bit more agressive layout but who throws on heavy oil every week anymore? Would I buy this ball brand new again? Yes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by goaway65


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: emciver79 10/21/2011 22:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    000
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 over 1/4 up
 
Need something in your arsenal that reads the lanes early and continues to drive towards the pocket? The Motiv Raptor P7 does just this. This is a very strong asymmetrical Predator core, rated at a 2.46 RG. You will get the early movement that you need on the patterns with the most oil. It has a flare potential of 7”+!

I drilled this ball in a relatively strong position with the pin at 3 3/8 from my PAP, stacked CG and a hole between my PAP and my thumb. I took the cover down to a 2000 wet sand. I am a higher speed/higher rev type player. This layout/ball combination gets me through the heads very clean, hits the mark, grabs, and never stops rolling towards the pocket. It works on a wet THS and gives me a lot more room when playing on PBA patterns such as Scorpion and Chameleon. I feel like off of my hand, it is trying to grab the lane, and it never stops rolling. I can play straight up or move my feet in and cover more boards.

This is defiantly a ball that will always be in my bag. I use the Motiv Sigma Tour as my benchmark ball, and then either go to my Raptor when I need a stronger reaction, or move to my QZ2 Backdraft or QZ2 Pearl if I need more length. The Raptor definitely fills the need for that strong ball in your bag for those medium to heavy oil lanes.


Eric McIver
MOTIV Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by emciver79


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: Bronson 10/19/2011 10:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    226
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
The Motiv Raptor is an excellent choice for medium to heavy oil lane conditions. This ball hooks while easily getting through the front of the lane. When the ball hits the breakpoint it has a strong backend reaction with continuation of hook through the pins. I can always count on this ball to give me the reaction that I need when the lanes are oily or have carry down. I even threw this ball on dry lanes during a rock and bowl and was able to cleanly get the ball down the lane while playing 20 out to 5 and watch it pound the pins.

What I like most about this ball is its versatility. You can leave the cover in its box finish, 4000 wet sand, or you can dull the cover to get that extra bite through the oil. Either way the pin carry is superb. I have used this ball on various conditions from a medium oil pattern at 33 foot and a heavy oil pattern at 45 foot and on both wood and synthetic surfaces. The Raptor is very predictable so I can quickly get a good read on the lanes to choose the best line.

I am right handed and throw the ball at 17mph. The ball is drilled 85x50x4 with no hole and was left at the factory finish of 4000. I use the Motiv Power Gel Scuff to keep the ball clean and ready to react at all times. If you want a ball with more reaction then this would be a great choice. Thank you Motiv for another excellent ball to add to my arsenal.

Bronson Schalizki
“Motiv Staff Member”


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Bronson


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: ron0726 10/08/2011 19:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
About me: 18-18.5 MPH, High Rev Rate, 210 avg.

Just went to a bowling ball expo at Secoma Lanes near Seattle. I went there looking for a ball for dry lanes, but everyone was raving about the Raptor. Although it is not what I need for my arsenal, I gave it a try. The lanes were drying out a bit, so I threw the Raptor inside 3rd arrow to about 10. The ball has a strong move back to the pocket...but even on the dry lanes, the ball wasn't jumpy. The carry was absolutely amazing. On a same entry that my other balls would come in flat, the Raptor just powered through and carried everything. The next ball in my arsenal will be a Raptor...that dry lane ball will just have to wait. Unfortunately they didn't have a Recon to try out. And considering I only buy one ball per year, I'll just hope they bring the Recon out to the expo next year.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: big_moose 09/01/2011 23:23 ( stars)


 
This ball is dynamite on heavily oiled lanes, real smooth breaking point, medium-oil is another story.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by big_moose


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: MotivMike 08/28/2011 22:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/4, and 3/8 up
 
The Bowler:
Left handed
Ball speed = 17
Rev Rate = 400
PAP = 5 ¾, 3/8 up

The Ball: Motiv Raptor P7
Ball Specs = 15# RG = 2.46 Diff = .060 Mass Bias = .015
Layout Ball #1 = 45x4.5x30
Layout Ball #2 = 65x6x70
Axis Migration with layout = ball #1 = 8 inches, ball #2 = 5 inches
Surface = both 4000 polished

The Raptor P7 is by far the strongest and most continuous bowling ball I’ve ever used. The Purple and black cover with the green and white Neo-Mark graphics really make this ball stand out on the ball return, and the performance make it stand out on the lane. This ball doesn’t disappoint, and lives up to the hype. I’ve found that the cover doesn’t absorb oil as fast as the Cruel C51 covers or other brands strong cover stocks as well. That means the ball will not only clear the heads better but will help prolong the performance of the ball over the long hall.

Ball #1 with the 45x4.5x30 starts to read the several feet earlier then Ball #2 and is the better suited ball for longer patterns. I found Ball #1 to shine on 42 foot patterns and longer. Ball #1 even gave me more miss room to the outside then I have ever had, and out hooks my TR2 with a similar layout by more than five boards (with the TR2 being at 800 grit). It has a strong even roll in the midlane with non-stop continuation on the backend. This ball flares from my grip on the initial track to 2 inches from the other side of my grip, this ball doesn’t quit!

Ball #2 with the 65x6x70 has more length and a skid flip type reaction on a medium heavy pattern. When the shot starts to burn up it will start to read the midlane and have a smoother reaction but still retain the strong continuation and fast revving roll into the pins. Ball #2 is better suited for medium heavy patters, or longer patterns after Ball #1 starts to hook beyond what adjustments will allow. Keep in mind that even with the weaker layout the cover is still strong and in some cases a weaker shell is required for the burn. I’ve had plenty of success with Ball #2 on typical house shots and found the carry to be amazing.

Michael Mambourg
Motiv Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MotivMike


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: Dustin Markowitz 08/25/2011 15:02 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    232
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Ball: 15.3Lbs Raptor
The Layout: Pin placement 2 O’Clock, 1/4 Side-1/2 Finger
The Pattern: 39 FT House, 41 FT Tournament
The Positive: Strong mid-lane read, great continuation and adaptable for strong oil.
The Negative: Tends to be overaggressive on dry lanes.

The Review: This was the first ball I had the opportunity to test while using Motiv and it is still by far my favorite of the group. As a medium-high speed player with Med revs, I was originally skeptical of how this ball would react out of the box due to it’s coverstock. In the past many of the rough asymmetrical balls that I have thrown ended up being very aggressive early on but then pittered out on the back end. This ball, however, blew that conception out of the water. This ball had amazing continuation down lane and never got to the point where I was leaving excessive flat corners because of no energy.

The first condition I threw the Raptor on was the 41 FT “Tournament” pattern currently designed by the Riverside Lanes in Laughlin, Nevada. Typically the prefer the “Southern California Wall” using heavy oil towards the middle while keeping the outside dry. This ball read the transition beautifully finding a happy medium coming from the dry and continuing on with the oil. My first five games out of the box with this ball resulted in a 251 average and a very happy smile on my face. This was my go to ball early and still is on the pattern.

The second condition I had a chance to try was the 39 FT “house” pattern which is immensely geared towards seniors who have less rotation on their equipment. I must admit that while the ball performed adequately, I was forced to truly pipe the ball down the lane in order to keep the ball on the right side of the head pin. I would definitely say this is a ball to keep away from the dry and stick with medium-heavy oil patterns.

All-in-all I feel that the Raptor is a great ball to keep in the bag as the arsenal choice for heavy oil and definitely one of, if not the best ball, Motiv currently offers.

Dustin Markowitz
MOTIV Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dustin Markowitz


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: MOTIVmags 08/23/2011 10:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 Over x 1/8 Down
 
Raptor P7

This was one of my initial MOTIV pieces drilled as a MOTIV Staffer. This ball is by far the strongest ball I have thrown from the foul line to the pins. It DOESN’T hook early and DOESN’T have a smooth arc like most pieces designed for heavy oil. This piece picks up VERY strong midlane and has a VERY continuous motion on the backend. This ball is versatile for all types of styles and can open up the lane even heavier flatter patterns.

My first session with the Raptor was on a typical house shot with a synthetic surface and this ball struck for days. Even though I was on a typical house pattern, it somehow, made it look even easier. It also allowed me to play a house pattern even further in than I normally would and still blended the pattern. This ball can cover as many boards (or more) as a skid/flip ball, except the ball is much more controllable.

Being one of my initial MOTIV pieces, I also noticed the cover factor. With a higher ball speed and moderate rev rate, I tend to throw pieces with surface. Before drilling exclusively MOTIV, a ball that started with a 1000 grit surface, looked more like it had a 4000 grit surface after a game or two. After throwing the Raptor 6 plus games on a fresh condition I noticed the ball did NOT get shinier, it was very consistent with the out of box surface.

If you are looking for a ball to transition to after the Raptor, look for my review on the Sigma Tour!

If you haven’t drilled a MOTIV piece, make this your first. You will not be disappointed!

Mike Magolan
MOTIV Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MOTIVmags


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: BobDaBowler 08/20/2011 16:02 ( stars)


 
Ball Specs:

Surface: OOB 4000 Wet Sand
Layout- 50 x 4 5/8" x 40 w/no hole, Pin Up
Review:

I recently drilled up my first Raptor P7 by Motiv. My first impression, THIS BALL HOOKS A TON! I've thrown the Raptor on a 40ft typical house pattern and the 2010 Asian Games 45ft pattern. This ball did not fail to impress on both patterns. The raptor reads the front part of the lane fairly clean and makes real strong read in the midlane and is super continuous in the backend. Once the ball starts to hook it does not stop and rolls through the pin deck with tremendous hitting power. I would highly recommend this ball to anyone looking for a ball for heavy oil. However, I feel that with different drilling and surface preparations this ball can become very versatile. I'm definitely going to order me a couple more. Get yours today! Get MOTIVated!!!!

Bobby Middleton Jr
MOTIV Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BobDaBowler


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: Brian Hatcher 08/12/2011 16:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    210
 
The hype on this ball has been incredible, so I couldn't wait to get my hands on one and see for myself what the fuss was about. So far, every new ball I've drilled by MOTIV has impressed me more than the ball prior. The Raptor is definitely no exception.

I did a 4 1/2" tall pin with the mass bias fairly strong and no hole. For those of you who like the dual-angle method, it's about a 50/4 1/2"/45. I tested it on a 41' high volume version of this years USBC pattern. They started SLICK! I warmed up using most of my core group of bowling balls just to see how the Raptor compared with what I already had. Out of the box, I was afraid it didn't have quite enough surface on it, but I went with it just to see.

The first thing I noticed was that even being 4000 grit out of the box, the Raptor was still 5 boards stronger than anything I had in my bag. It easily, and I mean EASILY got back to the pocket from parts of the lane that I was convinced were unplayable. Even with the high volome of oil, and the ball's surface at 4000, it still read the mid-lane and made a strong and defined direction change with a very continuous motion down-lane as well.

Once I burned a hole in the track, I decided to jump left and see how much the Raptor really had. It was impressive! The fresh head oil farther inside helped it clear the front even better, and retain even more energy for the back part of the lane. The little trough I had burned into the pattern all of a sudden became a very big target to throw at. The Raptor was definitely not afraid of moving left and going around the pattern. In fact, it did it REALLY well.

The last thing I wanted to see was whether it would maintain its continuous backend motion if I added some surface. I took a 1000 grit abralon to it. It hooked about two feet sooner, and two or three boards more overall, so I stepped left just a little more. The Raptor still had a very defined motion down-lane and didn't seem to lose any of its continuation or its explosive hitting power.

Brian Hatcher
PBA Regional Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Hatcher


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: TRIP4 08/10/2011 08:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8 1/4 up
 
Drilled my Raptor with a 60x30@4.5 in. pin from PAP, with low weight hole. Used this ball a couple of times on longer patterns with moderate to heavy volumes, and find this to be the best ball I've ever thrown on these types of conditions. Being a tweener, I've struggled on the fresh on heavier volumes. But the Raptor reads the front of the pattern without burning up, and revs hard off the breakpoint, which gives me the confidence to give up the pocket. Even as the lanes transitioned and the heads broke down, I found the Raptor versatile enough to move deeper on the lane without sacrificing backend reaction. A definite winner by MOTIV, and a definite for anyone looking for a ball on heavier and longer oil patterns.
Nick Miseno
MOTIV staff member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TRIP4


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: Superdave 08/09/2011 14:27 ( stars)


 
The new MOTIV Raptor P7 is the latest and greatest heavy oil ball to hit the industry. Encased in the Formula-7 reactive coverstock and leaving the box at 4000 wet sanded, this ball is just the bully needed to beat up the lanes!! I drilled this ball with a 45x4.25x55 w/P2 hole. What that does for me is it places the pin 3/8” below my ring finger and kicks the mass bias 2” right of my thumb. The layout provides me an earlier roll on the lane with a strong and continuous backend motion through the pin deck. When I took the ball out to practice on the PBA Shark pattern, I found the ball/layout gave me the read I was anticipating without sacrificing back end aggression. This layout also provided me with area on the pattern without giving up the head pin. As the pattern transitioned the ball did not have a tendency to read earlier or die out as some heavy oil equipment does. A few lateral adjustments left maintaining the same shape on the lane and the ball continued to be just as strong as it was on the fresh. This ball is a fantastic addition to any bowler’s heavy oil arsenal.

David Schroeder
MOTIV Staff
Turbo Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Superdave


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: hfkwill 08/08/2011 11:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right, 1/2 up
 
The Raptor is the newest addition to MOTIV’s High Performance line. It features the new Predator asymmetrical core, wrapped around the Formula 7 cover. The intent of this ball is for heavy oil lane conditions, having an out of box surface at 4000 without polish. This ball will benefit those bowlers without much “hand” or those who are speed dominant, due to the easy revving core and strong shell

I drilled my Raptor 40 x 4.5” x 60, drilling out the pin in the ring finger and with a weight hole down at P3 on the gradient line. The ball provides an earlier roll reading the mid-lane, and a strong arc to the pocket. For me, it is quite strong, and predictable making it an ideal ball for tournaments. It is hard for me to “over throw” this ball due to its aggressiveness. Taking the surface up to 2000 and adding some polish gives me a great look when there is a little more friction.

Compared to other bowling balls in the MOTIV line, it is 4/2 stronger than my Cruel C51; however, it allows me to create more angle to the pocket than the Cruel if needed. Where the Sigma Tour and the QZ2’s are ideal as the lanes break down and allow me to open up the lane more, the Raptor is ideal for the fresh, and more volumes of oil.

William Welch
10 Back Pro Shops
MOTIV Staff Member .. Get MOTIVated


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hfkwill


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: hfkwill 08/08/2011 11:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right, 1/2 up
 
The Raptor is the newest addition to MOTIV’s High Performance line. It features the new Predator asymmetrical core, wrapped around the Formula 7 cover. The intent of this ball is for heavy oil lane conditions, having an out of box surface at 4000 without polish. This ball will benefit those bowlers without much “hand” or those who are speed dominant, due to the easy revving core and strong shell

I drilled my Raptor 40 x 4.5” x 60, drilling out the pin in the ring finger and with a weight hole down at P3 on the gradient line. The ball provides an earlier roll reading the mid-lane, and a strong arc to the pocket. For me, it is quite strong, and predictable making it an ideal ball for tournaments. It is hard for me to “over throw” this ball due to its aggressiveness. Taking the surface up to 2000 and adding some polish gives me a great look when there is a little more friction.

Compared to other bowling balls in the MOTIV line, it is 4/2 stronger than my Cruel C51; however, it allows me to create more angle to the pocket than the Cruel if needed. Where the Sigma Tour and the QZ2’s are ideal as the lanes break down and allow me to open up the lane more, the Raptor is ideal for the fresh, and more volumes of oil.

William Welch
10 Back Pro Shops
MOTIV Staff Member .. Get MOTIVated


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hfkwill


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: dugbark 08/01/2011 22:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 over 1/4 up
 
Bowler Stats-Ball Speed 17 MPH Rev Rate-App 300 Axis of Rotation-30 to 60 degrees Axis Tilt 20 degrees Right Handed

The Motive Raptor P7 is designed for heavy or long oil patterns. The ball performs as advertised. It pushes through the heads with ease as on fresh shots with high volume of oil in the heads, revs up in the midlanes and make a very strong move to the pocket. The change in direction is not as sharp as the Cruel LE but because it starts up earlier, the Raptor covers a couple of additional boards compared to the LE. I have successfully used the Raptor playing up the boards on the far outside, as well as playing inside and swinging the ball to the dry. I also used it on a 44 foot sport shot and was able to open the lane up more then those I was bowling with. Once the volume of oil in the heads starts to lessen, the ball will start to read too early. The Raptors Assymetrical Core provides a unique look on the lane that should easily allow a bowler to know when it's time to put this one up and ball down. Being colorblind any markings on the ball that make it easy to pick up the transition from slide to roll helps me, and this one helps me a lot. As long as there is sufficient oil in the heads and the mids, the Raptor is an excellent choice.

The Raptor, as with all of the recent Motiv releases, does not seem to have a surface preference as it reacted well on all surfaces.

If you use this ball as designed on longer or heavier oil patterns, it is a very effective ball.

The Raptor gives Motiv a piece of equipment for Motiv believers who needed a ball to cover a lot of boards without the skid snap reaction. I'm very colorblind but I've heard from multiple bowlers that the ball is very pleasing to the eye and will give it good shelf appeal.

Dug Barker
Motiv Staff
Bellarmine University Asst Coach
BTM Youth Writer
Ken-Bowl Lanes Youth Director
Positive Coaching Alliance Double Goal Coach


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dugbark


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: Motiv Girl 08/01/2011 13:07 ( stars)


 
Write Review HereMOTIV:Raptor P7

My Information:Right handed
Ball speed-15 mph average,Rev rate-280 average
Axis rotation-45 degrees,Axis tilt-15 degrees

Ball specs:
Weight-15lbs 2oz.,pin-4 3/4",Top weight-3.0 oz.
Surface prep of ball-4000 wet sand with 2 steps of MOTIV
Power Gel Polish
Drill pattern used-55x45@4 1/2",P2 hole,1 1/2" deep,with 1' bi
Type of lane surface Pro Anvilane 3 years old
Raptor P7 Information-
Core-Predator,Asymmetric
Coverstock-Formula 7 Reactive/Solid
Ball Surface-4000 wet sand
Color-Purple/Black with with green and white logos
15 lb.ball -RG-2.46,Diff-.060,Int.Diff-.015,
Manufacturer Intent-Heavy oil
This new MOTIV release is intended for heavy oil,and it doesn't disappoint.
The new core and coverstock combo gives MOTIV a new look on
the lanes not yet seen in a MOTIV ball.

The Raptor P7 will help bowlers who may be a little rev challenged.The
strong and quick reaction to the dry at the end of the pattern is perfect
for this type of style.Crankers will also love the look of this ball on heavy oil
when they need to be left of the tweeners and strokers.

The Raptor P7 clears the heads easier than you would think from a ball
this strong.It stores the energy for midlane and the backend.This is where
the ball starts to shine.The amount of friction in the mids doesn't take anything away from the backend reaction.The strength at the breakpoint
is very heavy and continuous almost skid flip.A ball with this much
backend is rare.The recovery on the backends is the Raptors greatest
strength.Even as the oil carried down to the back of the pattern,the Raptor
just keep motoring toward the pocket.There was never any quit.
Going around the pattern is a lot easier when you are confident
that the ball you are using is going to make it around the corner,and not
quit on you.The ball continuation through the pocket is outstanding,and the
pin carry is fantastic.

Very few balls,if any,will cover this amount of area and not quit on you.The
Raptor P7 makes heavy oil patterns look easy.
If you have not owned a MOTIV ball before,this is the one to own.

Side note:Over the last seven weeks on my Tuesday doubles league,I
have shot 680/697/740/837 with a 290 & 300 the last two games with
the last 23 in a row. And a 707/735/714.

MOTIV GIRL
Angela Wilt MOTIC Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Motiv Girl


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: bowlers design pro shop 07/21/2011 14:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    222
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 3/4 1" up
 
I have enough games on this ball to give an accurate assessment of this ball. I was able to use it on a THS and the 2009/2010 PBA Viper, which is a really tough pattern. I was able to play outside and inside with good carry, on this high volume pattern. I have kept the cover at OOB, I see no reason so far to change it, I may change it on my second drilling, by adding some polish.

The layout I chose was 60X3X35 with a P3 weight hole.

When MOTIV said they were putting a ball on the market to compete with the high end equipment that would be the longest ball to date I got really excited. Everything MOTIV makes is first quality and hits with major authority. The new RAPTOR is amazing, really amazing, if you have any of another companies high end balls, you MUST try the RAPTOR. Motiv has lived up to alll the hype on this one, I get a clean move off the breakpoint, nothing snappy or jumpy, the ball goes long/strong and when it makes it's move, it goes and goes right threw the pin deck with that amazing MOTIV sound. This ball is fun!

If you did not pre-order, ask your pro shop when this ball will be in, you will be happy you drilled one of these.

David
Bowlers Design Pro Shop
PBA Member
Member MOTIV staff, www.motivbowling.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlers design pro shop


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: Xman879 07/20/2011 16:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    239
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
The MOTIV Raptor P7 is a BEAST!!!!!!!
This new ball has the new predator core and formula 7 coverstock. This ball is Heavy-Duty on the heavier oil patterns. The smooth coverstock allows the ball to float through the heads and store its energy until it smacks the pins with the angular movement on the backend. I am a medium rev rate player and I drilled my Raptor on the negative side (5½”) away from my PAP because it is just that much ball. This is my favorite lay-out and I already have heads turning on the lanes wondering what I am throwing. The first time I bowled with the ball (OOB surface) in a Hoinke Classic qualifier, I bowled a 4 game total of 1017(258,246,268,245) to win it all. See you in Cincinnati, OH this season……
If you’re looking for that one ball this season that can finally cut through the grease without burning up all its energy in the front/mid part of the lanes…Look no further and give this MOTIV Raptor a try.

Cory “The X-Man”
MOTIV Staff
USBC Certified Coach


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Xman879


Motiv Raptor P7 Reviewed By: tedpritts 07/12/2011 17:25 ( stars)


 
The length of this ball is amazing. I say that because this in one of the most aggressive balls I have ever thrown. For the size of the weight block the amount of energy this balls stores is very impressive. It destroys the pins. I am a very high rev rate player and have never been able to throw this type of ball consistently, not anymore, the MOTIV Raptor P7 allows me to play the part of the lane in heavy oil that I like to play. I recommend the Raptor P7 to anyone. My layout is the pin above the ring finger, CG 1/2 inch to the right of the center of my span and the Mass Bios 3/4 of an inch to he right of my thumb. PAP is 5 inches and 1/4 up form the center of my span to the right. If you are looking for a ball that gives you that couple of extra boards or continuation through that heavy oil pattern, look no further!!!! The MOTIV Raptor P7 is the choice for you......

Ted Pritts
Staff Player
Dallas Texas


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 25 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter