Go to Brunswick Massive Damage »

Only show reviews for Brunswick Massive Damage

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.9Write a Review    Read all 10 reviews

I Love It
 
90% (9 of 10)
I Like It
 
10% (1 of 10)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 10)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 10)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 10)

Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 07/15/2011 10:24 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge
Total destruction is on the pin deck's horizon when you throw the Massive Damage.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Grit Siaair; Rought Buff)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Since the new Massive Damage incorporates the Activator coverstock with a lower RG core I decided to keep the layout simple again and see what this ball can do. Brunswick says this ball should rev quickly in the mid-lane providing a strong continuous backend motion.

This 5" x 5" layout should provide me with enough skid int he heads and allow the core to rev up for me with that strong motion on the backend.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I really like this ball. The pearl cover allowed me to play in a really good part of the lane and the low rg core revved up nicely for me with a really good motion off the breakpoint.

The Massive Damage is meant for medium oil lane conditions and I think it will match up to that perfectly. If you watch the ball motion off my hand in the video you will see that this ball is plenty strong while maintaining that classic ball motion we expect from pearlized reactive balls.

Once the ball started to transition in the middle part of the lane there was no stopping it. The amount of power at the pins was incredible to me. Every shot I threw I felt like there was no way I could leave anything standing.

Right now with the line up from high end down that Brunswick has will allow any bowler the chance to tackle any condition.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 07/15/2011 08:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge
Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
Layout - 4" x 4"
Balance Hole - N/A

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff)

The Brunswick Massive Damage does what it says, inflicts massive damage on the pins. This bowling ball starts its move to the pocket a little earlier than the Brunswick C (System) ulti-max making it a great addition to your arsenal.

I like having different options when trying to reach the pocket. This look was a little straighter for me, but with a ton of action. It got into its roll and just kept on trucking through the pin deck.

Brunswick is on a winning streak with their newest equipment. Check them all out for the upcoming season. Brunswick C (System) ulti-max, Brunswick Lethal Revolver, and the Brunswick Massive Damage.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/22/2011 10:23 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The latest addition to the Advanced Performance category for Brunswick is the Massive Damage. The Massive Damage uses Activator plus cover on a low Rg/ high differential core to provide a ball motion that has a strong mid-lane with a controllable back end. This ball is well suited for medium oil volumes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: Roldan 05/10/2012 22:20 ( stars)


 
This is a great ball for the price. Don't let the hook ratings fool you. This ball hooks alot. I drilled it for length and back end with no weight hole and it still has an incredible back end. It forced me to move further inside even though I had it drilled to be less agrressive than my old ball. It says it works best on medium oil, but it can handle any fresh house pattern out there with no problem. As the lane breaks down, the hook gets better and better. This is a real benchmark piece and can handle a large variety of conditions unless the lane is flooded with oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roldan


Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: trbrsorg6069 11/16/2011 08:28 ( stars)


 
LoveIt. Has Great reaction to lane and delivers Superior Pin action.
In just 12 games it`s taken me from a 139 average to a 181 average.
Would recommend to any Average once a week League Bowler.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: laserboypa 10/13/2011 23:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: Approx 4.5"
Ball Weight: 16 lbs

DRILL PATTERN
Dual Angle Layout: 65 Deg x 5" x 50 Deg
X Hole (if there is one): P3 Position

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker
Ball Speed: 16.50 mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track

SURFACE PREP
Grit: Box - 500 & Rough Buff
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished

LANE CONDITION
Length: Multiple
Volume: Multiple
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Multiple

BALL REACTION (out of 10)
Length: 6
Back End: 8
Overall Hook: 7
Midlane Read: 8
Breakpoint Shape: 8

COMMENTS
Likes: The arcing motion of the ball and the way it rolls off the spot
Dislikes: None so far

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
http://s980.photobucket.com/albums/ae283/laserboypa/Current%20Bowling%20Balls/?action=view¤t=IMG_3194.jpg

The one word to describe the Massive Damage is control. The smooth overall motion of this ball is a similar reaction to the Revolver line, and the Activator Plus coverstock is controllable. This ball revs up in the midlane earlier than the Damage because of the lower RG core. This ball works good on fresh shots where you need to get the ball into a roll instead of a skid / snap reaction or where the lanes are playing over / under. It would be a good benchmark ball for sport or house lane conditions with medium oil. When it reaches the friction, it doesn't stop and continues through the pins. I have yet had a over-reaction with this ball on multiple lane conditions.

Brandon Hinderer
Brunswick Advisory Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: baer300 09/05/2011 20:48 ( stars)


 
I drilled my first Massive with my favorite layout... 70x5x40 no hole. With this ball being similar to the Anaconda I wanted to see more length than I got out of the Anacondas.

This ball for me has been cleaner through the fronts and more angular than the Anaconda. So far I am very impressed by this ball. Of the new releases this was the one I wasn't sure of for me. After using this ball it will be used alot. I get a good clean read through the fronts with a reaction that is dependable. I know what the ball is going to do and where it will. The Massive will serve as my benchmark ball to see what the pattern is doing.

I drilled my 2nd Massive with a 30x6x70 with a P3 hole. I drilled this one to be smoother on the back. I wanted this for another benchmark option when bowling on higher friction surfaces.

The long pin on this ball allows the ball to be clean through the fronts but not come off the pattern to hard. When bowling on higher friction surfaces I can use this ball to see where and what I should be throwing. The Massive is suprisingly stronger than I thought it would be. It goes through the pins well

Adam Baer
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: jackandanne@frontiernet.net 08/26/2011 14:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 

Does just what I wanted. Goes long and finishes strong.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jackandanne@frontiernet.net


Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: pooterboof@yahoo.com 08/07/2011 17:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/8 over, 3/16 up
 
Ball: Brunswick Massive Damage

Layout:

Pin 5” from PAP, above ring finger
CG on midline, ¾” to right of grip center
No XH

Initial Surface Preparation:

Box finish

Purpose:

It was a sad day for me when the Anaconda was discontinued. The Anaconda was my bench piece, as it gave me both a nice predictable read from front to back, and enough power through the pins to where I could usually stay with it on most medium conditions. For me, the Damage is too pushy through the midlane to be used as a read ball, while the Karma Solid and Karma Pearl are not strong enough overall for me to use as benchmark balls.

Observations:

I wanted to do a side-by-side comparison of the Massive with the Anaconda, so I chose one with a 3 ½” pin-to-CG distance, so that I could drill it with the pin 5” from my PAP, above the fingers.

After drilling, I took the Massive Damage and Anaconda out for a spin at a center with Pro Anvilanes, on a house condition with some play on it. I warmed up with the Anaconda, and I was getting a nice look at the pocket. The Anaconda read the midlanes well, and went into its usual moderate arc down lane. I then switched to the Massive, and while I was able to use the same starting position and the same target, the Massive was noticeably cleaner through the front part of the lane, and had more of a continuous arc down lane, with a stronger back end overall.

I liked the reaction of the Massive enough to put it in the bag as my bench piece. The Massive has done a very good job with the house conditions that I’ve seen. Like the Anaconda, it handles the fresher conditions very well, although it does have a sharper move at the break. The Massive really begins to excel when the condition blends and breaks down, as the added strength at the break gives me better recovery from inside lines. The Anaconda had a bit of an inside limitation for me, but I’m finding that I can continue to use the Massive as I move left during transition.

I’ve also thrown the Massive Damage on a few Kegel patterns. On the freshly oiled flatter patterns, the Massive wasn’t quite as easy to control as the Anaconda was, as it wanted to push a few feet further down the lane and make a more pronounced turn when it came off of the end of the pattern. However, as the condition broke down, the reaction of the Massive became much more favorable, as I could move left and feed the ball to the track area, and have confidence in its ability to recover enough to carry the corners.

Conclusions:

I must say that I’ve been pleased with the reaction of the Massive Damage. It has the good midlane read of the Anaconda, but a downlane reaction more like that of the Damage. The overall reaction of the Massive reminds me quite a bit of the Rattler, although with a more defined change of direction. The stronger break makes the Massive Damage more useful to me on deeper conditions than its mid-priced predecessors.

NOTE: The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pooterboof@yahoo.com


Brunswick Massive Damage Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 07/23/2011 18:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4x 3/4 up
 
The Massive Damage is the newest release to add to a long list of balls that deliver impressive value. This is the most resent ball to give you that traditional breakpoint pearl read at a more affordable price. This ball most closely reminds me of the Rattler and Inferno balls because it has a sure midlane read and great carry. I can see myself using it on the house shot here most of the time and trying to square up in situations where the midlane has started to breakdown a bit. It should be a nice fit up underneath something like a loaded revolver. This ball is stronger on the backend than the Anaconda it replaces and makes an earlier move than the Damage. If your looking for a smooth arcing pearl for moderate lane conditions it might be time to do some Massive Damage!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Read all 10 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter