Go to Roto Grip Critical Theory »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Critical Theory

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.96Write a Review    Read all 53 reviews

I Love It
 
96% (51 of 53)
I Like It
 
4% (2 of 53)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 53)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 53)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 53)

Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/16/2011 16:57 ( stars)

115 of 118 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge

The Critical Theory expands Roto-Grip's Theory line of performance balls.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP
PSA Layout - 5" x 4" x 4"
Balance Hole - n/a


Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Roto-Grip hypes the new Critical Theory up as the most angular motion in their ball line. With the quality of the balls coming out of their plant a statement like this gets you kind of excited.
I took a really good middle of the road layout for me and figured I would see what this thing could do. I kept the pin and mass bias in a strong but not too strong of a position using a 5" pin to PAP and 4" Mass Bias to PAP placement. We coupled this with a modest 4" pin buffer and we were off. I expected this layout to offer plenty of skid and a good look at the backend when this ball found friction down lane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I will say that I love when ball companies talk their new releases up really big and then they not only meet your expectations but they completely blow them out of the water.

The Critical Theory is possibly my new favorite ball. I think the Roto-Grip guys were tired of the Storm guys telling them they had the strongest motion on the backend and they said we will show you. The new Critical is ridiculous and I ahve personally not seen this kind of ball motion since I threw the original Virtual Gravity and the recent Nano release. The amount of area and angle I had down lane with this ball was absolutely amazing.

From the first shot I threw on the fresh pattern I had all the room I wanted right and no matter what I did this ball came off the break point so sharp it almost looked like it was going to come back at me. This combined with a core that just killed anything in its path and all in all this was a pretty easy ball test for me. The color combination had me a little concerned when I first saw the ball but let me tell you it looked pretty cool going down the lane and turning left. I said the same thing the first time I saw a Virtual Gravity but just like with that ball I loved the way it looked going down the lane.

The Critical Theory is definitely my favorite in this line so far and I think it will expand the line greatly for Roto-Grip. The only thing I think is more exciting then this release is, what could they possibly do next?


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 06/24/2011 09:06 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Mass Bias Position - 4" from PAP
PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Prep - Out of Box (4000 Grit Abralon)

This is the third ball in the Roto Grip Theory line of bowling balls. My first thought when I saw this bowling ball was that the colors were "interesting".

I heard this was going to be more aggressive on the back end than the other Theories. So I was expecting a lot from this bowling ball.

There was something exciting about watching this one roll down the lane. The swirl pattern and colors gave it a fun look, as you could watch it "turn over" and make its turn toward the pocket.

This bowling ball had amazing backend reaction. It just drove hard from the break point to the back of the pin deck, tearing the rack apart on its way. This is definitely my favorite high performance bowling ball from Roto Grip to date.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 12/06/2011 17:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto-Grip Critical Theory is the ball our customers love. We had a Storm/Roto-Grip Matchmaker event and the Critical Theory was the one our customers loved. The Critical Theory gave everyone a strong roll in the front without losing backend. We had to get more in the shop to cover our orders after the Matchmaker event if you have a chance to attend one you will get a lot of info and get to try Storm/Roto-Grip balls before you buy.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/21/2011 12:12 ( stars)


 
The Critical Theory by Roto Grip is new ball in the Crown Line. This ball has a new cover wrapped around their proven Triliptic core that combine to create a strong entry angle to the pocket. The Critical Theory should provide length through the front of the lane and with a .058 differential it will provide a strong angular move off the end of the pattern.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: assassinmaster8894@yahoo.com 01/28/2012 04:22 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
All I can say is wow. I just got my ball in from my order i placed on here earlier this week and got it drilled so it will give me strong back end hook. I don't the the exact layout as he didn't tell me and I forgot to ask. I got a free game after I got this ball drilled and got a 169, missing 4 spares since i just had this ball with me. I bowled 15 games later during the cosmic bowling and only 4, yes 4, of those games were below 175. This ball ate the oil off the lanes so it's a MUST to clean this ball after ever session or it will die really quick. This is my go to ball for league now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by assassinmaster8894@yahoo.com


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: hunter87 08/18/2011 14:25 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Rev Rate: 425
Ball Speed: 17-18
Tilt: 45-65 Degree
Lower end Cranker
Average 215

Dual Angle drilling: 85*3.5*35
PAP: 5 inches over
No balance hole

Desired action:
I wanted a ball that had plenty of backend but with out reading the lane to early. Decided to go with these drill angles because i have a weaker ball that has the same drill and it is the ball reaction that i was looking for but just with a stronger ball.

Ended up with:
The ball is great! Plenty of hook, with alot of backend. If your not a higher rev player i would suggest going with a lower drill angle (which is the first number in the series)or a balance hole in the 3rd or 4th position, that will get the ball rolling a little earlier and make it hook even more, which i didn\'t need because i am a higher rev player. The ball on a fresh house shot looked great. I keep my speed right about 17 to 17.5. At that speed i was playing 18 at the arrows out to 3-5 at the break point. Had no issues with the ten pin. Shot 254 first game with the out of box finish with a re rack in the 2nd frame for warm up and then went 8 in a row, only to leave a stone 9 on the second ball in the tenth. I put a orange slug and orange grips in the ball which gives it a really sharp look with the pin mass bias and the CG all orange in color. The ball is much better than the mutant cell or the Mutant cell pearl even with a little weaker drilling. Also is much stronger than the infinite theory. Was not impressed with the mutant cell pearl but I am very pleased with the Critical Theory. Great Product from Roto Grip and Storm Products


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: grstorm 07/25/2011 21:27 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 15-16mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 x 4 x 3

The Roto Grip Critical Theory is the strongest back end motion ball Roto Grip has in their ball line. I have it drilled pin up with the mass bias an inch away from the thumb to help control the strong motion it has. With the factory finish at 4000 abralon and using it on the kegel highway to hell pattern, I can get the ball clean through the front of the lane so it can have a strong finish on the back end. It reads the mid lane fast on the heavier pattern, but still has the drive after the pattern to put all 10 pins in the pit. I am very impressed with how it reads and how strong it is. I polished it over the 4000 abralon and it is even cleaner through the fronts, does not read the mid lane as fast and has a more angular back end motion which is great on a medium condition or even on a house pattern for the high speed or low rev bowlers.

I have a video on facebook and youtube! If you have any questions about the Critical Theory email me at grichardson7716@aol.com.

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Al Louie's Pinole/Diablo Valley Pro Shop
www.pinolevalleyproshop.com
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: The Gooz 02/17/2013 03:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    207
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 5/8 right 1/8 down
 
Safe drilling, pin down cg kicked out a little. What I thought I was going to get out of this ball was a strong motion from anywhere on the lanes and OH MY! This ball is amazing! The only time the ball didn't hit hard as a brick was on the 47 foot Paris pattern, but it was probably my speed and not the ball.

But as everyone else has said, this ball will get back from pretty much anywhere on the lanes. I try to only use it as my tournament ball, but it works very well on a house shot as well, just remember to stand left of where you normally would and enjoy the motion of this amazing ball!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The Gooz


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: TayHance 11/17/2012 01:08 ( stars)


 
I do not have many balls in my arsenal, but this is my new favorite! It's my top choice on medium oil. It reacts well throwing up the outside and in, but it also works well on the inside line as the lanes break down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: corral149 11/17/2012 00:12 ( stars)


 
This ball is the best ball I ever own. The way it comes off my hand is like no other ball I have thrown. No matter how much oil is out there it still comes back. Cannot complain about the color. GET THIS BALL!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: bowlinitup 11/14/2012 09:45 ( stars)


 
This is a great ball! LOVE the way it rolls off my hand. Nice smooth hook to it. Perfect ball for me!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: love2bowl 11/14/2012 08:48 ( stars)


 
I got this ball about 2 months ago and have fallen in love with it. I feel as though I am able to carry better with this ball than I ever have in the past. Since receiving this ball I have watched my average rise an additional 10+ pins and my strike percentage increase by more than 10%.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: engr2phd 10/30/2012 18:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Okay so I've had this ball since the spring (April 2012). I used it sparingly at a tournament and all summer on a Kegel Sport condition league. I struggled in the league but not because of the ball. As with all new things it takes a while to get familiarized with the tool. But enough pscychobabble.

The ball likes oil and performs best when it sees oil. I have mine drilled pin up in between the ring and middle finger. I don't have my specs else I would note them here, if I can get a picture of the ball layout I'll upload it. Anyway fall league started 11 weeks ago and I've begun working this ball into the rotation. What I like most about it is the way it gets down the lane and through the heads. It is also versatile. As a 'comfort shot' down and in player I can roll this ball up 7 and hold the line with or without the presence of oil, it's a speed adjustment. But as I noted the ball needs to see some oil and pocket shots on dry conditions leave 10 pins. So play the lane for the shot that's available. As this has become my 1st game league ball my 1st game average has jumped 20 pins from around 204 to 224. My problem has been the second and third game adjustments as the oil dissipates (210ish 2nd game and 190 something 3rd game). Again not the ball. If I change my axis tilt I can move left with no loss of hitting power, as I mentioned in fact the ball likes to see some oil.

So what are the numbers, I've been scoring progressively higher with ball, 220s / 230s on THS throughout the summer and start of fall league. I progressed to mid 240 games the past 3-4 weeks. And last night shot my 2nd league and 1st sanctioned 300 with the RGCT. I had a couple big four splits in the next two games so finished the set with 226, 223 for a 749 series. For those who've thrown 300s I'm sure you give credit to lane condition, line selection and your own ability that night but the ball in the bag or more aptly stated being rolled on the lane makes all the difference.

I've given two 5 star ratings on here, one for the Storm Virtual Energy and this one. These two balls are the best of my arsenal and observing the continuing ratings I think that's borne out by others who have them.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by engr2phd


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: rubiksbowler 09/08/2012 18:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    196
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/8" over, 5/8" up
 
This bowling ball is completely amazing! Even with a sanded coverstock, it's still able to cut through the heads with ease and the backend reaction is remarkably strong and VERY angulat, which I find perfect for when I need to get really deep into the lane and my Reign Supreme loses carry. This ball is the strongest ball I've used and easily the most angular! I would recommend this to everyone looking for a bowling ball that's going to make a sharp turn left at the end of a pattern and plow through the pins! But be warned: make sure you're able to loft the gutter VERY well because this thing will tear apart oil patterns! Besides, it's capable from that deep inside anyway!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rubiksbowler


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 07/28/2012 08:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Critical Theory #3 serial#12RCTD19G026 layout: 60x4x70
Drilled this ball to be super smooth for house patterns on wood lanes and HPL that have a lighter volume oil pattern, but still has 43ft. Overall, it started a little earlier then I wanted to, so I put the surface at 4000 and put some polish on by had, and it gave the desired look I was looking for. I wanted something I could play 3rd to 4th arrow and not a ton of backend, and I found it, It did not roll out and it did still hit the pocket at a good angle and not flat. If you want something it a great smoother look to play inside, this BALL and layout are for your arsenal.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: UF Bowling 05/19/2012 12:00 ( stars)


 
The Critical Theory is a powerful strike ball. It has great hook potential and hits the pins hard. But it is also a quite controllable ball, with the ability to easily place it to pick up spares, even 10 pins (for right handed bowlers).
As a strike ball it works well in medium to heavy lane conditions, storing up energy as it goes down the lane, then releasing it inches from the pins. The pin reaction is decent, though not exceptional. It’s also a quite consistent ball, rarely leaves bizarre splits or spares.
Though I would classify the Critical Theory as a strike ball, I personally also enjoy using it as a spare ball. Its consistent curve capacity combined with its easy ability to control, makes for a great spare shooter.
Overall the Critical Theory is a great addition to Roto Grip’s Theory line. I enjoy the ball quite a bit, and it has made a great addition to my arsenal. I would recommend it to other bowlers looking for a powerful and controllable strike ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: UF Bowling 05/19/2012 12:00 ( stars)


 
The Critical Theory is not a ball to be commonly used. If you try to roll it down a lane with medium or light oil, your score will surely suffer. However, if you find yourself in a tournament where no one can get their ball to move, and you throw a Critical Theory straight up the side of the lane, be prepared for victory. This thing finds a way to smash the pocket even on the longest oil patterns.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: stwberlin 05/16/2012 16:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This one is actually my favorite ball for fresh oiled lanes (except on short oil patterns).

On long oil patterns its strong kernel helps you to get the maximum power at break points near to the pin 1. Just bring it into rolling as soon as possible. Spinners will love this ball.

On a typical house pattern this ball is really a monster, because you have a very wide range for the break point when playing it from the inner to the outer side of the lane. There seems to be no way to come out too far - it always returns very strong.

It is very aggresive at the break point and flips awesome. If you prefer a continuous arc, the Mutant Cell is the better choice.

I play it now for several months. It is durable and reliable. You can easily refresh the surface with a 2000 or 4000 Abralon pad. Hence, the price point is justified, if you are a sophisticated player.







Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by stwberlin


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: hornet 04/07/2012 11:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    206
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I got this ball about 1 1/2 months ago. When I started using it, ny avg was 189. I have raised my avg by 11 pins since then, and thats late in the season where its hard to raise your avg. For the past month I have hit 703, 729, 585, and 691. What a ball! It finds the pocket even when I cant! I highly recommend this ball!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hornet


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Mike_Rouse 02/28/2012 17:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
 
I got this puppy drilled and in moments the rack turned into a rave. The ten pin never stood a chance; it was almost unfair. This ball moves beautifully through the heads and takes off on the dry. It's effectively replaced my virtual gravity, which has similar motion but doesn't carry as ridiculously on light pocket hits. Dominick Barrett threw this baby in the 2012 Scorpion championship, and uhhh, yeah, he won. He won big time. This is my new favorite ball. ROTOOOO!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: jacob_t_staggs@live.com 02/09/2012 22:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
 
I personally thought this ball was amazing. I am not a great bowler as you can see from my average. I am 16 years old and have been bowling for a couple of months. Whenever I first began bowling with a house ball I averaged around 120 but once I got this ball I went straight and got it drilled. Next day I bowled with it a few times and my scores went up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: PeterC 02/09/2012 16:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 3/4 up 1/2
 
Bought this ball before Thanksgiving. Wasn't able to use ball till now due to knee surgery. Very impressed with ball. Went with a 4x4x2 drilling for low track bowler. Puts pin above ring finger, no balance hole. Out of box surface. Ball hits hard, nice to look at going down the lane. Good job on the drilling Bowlingball.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: garyhd 02/03/2012 09:56 ( stars)


 
got my critical after christmas, didnt get a wildly aggressive layout (2 inch pin). bowled quite well for a couple weeks then bang i shoot 779 followed by 783 2 days later. now looking forward to another 800 havent done that since 1994. im an old school down and in player the ball is a bit speed sensitive, you can change lines and speed but dont take too much speed off it,bottom line i have 4 balls in my arsenal they all are a bit dofferent yet this ones the first ball out of my bag everynight thanks guys at rotogrip and bowlingball.com garyhd

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: skater92123 12/21/2011 19:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is my first ball from the roto grip line. This ball compared to the virtual gravity really outtakes the virtual. This ball really snaps in the backend. It reads the midlane very good but once it hits the dry it turns and it turns aggresively. The ball in heavy oil is very good too. I was worried about the pearl coverstock but it holds up very well because they sanded it down at the factory. Best ball I have thrown yet out of all my balls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by skater92123


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Nedster 11/22/2011 19:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    182
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I was looking to upgrade from my Nomad Dagger, as I'm becoming a more experienced bowler, and this is exactly what I was looking for. It took me a few weeks to get used to the bigger hook, but now I'm feeling very comfortable with it. Rolls smooth through the oil and breaks hard on the back-end, carrying through the pins.

Since I started using this ball, I've raised my high game from 245 to 268 and high series from 661 to 705. My average has gone from 189 to 196.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Nedster


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: RotoGripKing 11/12/2011 16:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
I am 15 years old and I had some extra money and I was looking for a bowling ball. I was thinking about getting another RotoGrip but I did not know which one to pick. I was talking to my friend and I told him i want a ball that will do good in oil and hooks good. He said your looking for the Critical Theory. I was impressed by the name so i looked this ball up once I got home and saw a few videos and the reviews and information about it and I said to myself this ball is for me. Once I got it I got the first 8 then left the 10 then the 7 on the next then the rest strikes. I have not found a problem with mine for the past 2 months but u have to clean it good to help it out. I bowl at least 5 nights a week and it great get this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripKing


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: AEdwardL9 11/11/2011 19:22 ( stars)


 
I'm a 180 leauge bowler this year, first game after I had this ball drilled I bowled a 254 with 7 strikes in a row. I'm a pretty straight player, ball has great back end. Can't wait to through it next week in league.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Richard Stafford 11/07/2011 00:48 ( stars)


 
I don't know my specs, but I have a relatively High rev rate, and throw about 15-16 mph.

This ball can go long and snap back with authority to get right back to the pocket. It even gives plenty of pin carry, as well as continuation. My first 3 games with the ball were 173, 205, 237 on a used typical house shot. Love this ball and probably my go to ball for most conditions that I may encounter on the lanes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: xaviertuggerson 11/04/2011 20:16 ( stars)


 
Im a high school bowler and with me bowling so poorly due to my lack of versitilty at a youth sports shot tournament in vegas (junior gold) i turned to wes mallott for help. he didnt let me down. this ball is a monster on heavy oil patterns and even on mid level oil patterns. On the house shot i just send it right and watch it come back crashing into the pocket. i kid you not this ball rejuvinated my career and was a good addition to my arsenal. you want the best hooking ball on the market, well your looking at it.

League Average:223
Sport Shot: 187


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by xaviertuggerson


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: BADCOWS@COMCAST.NET 10/28/2011 21:18 ( stars)


 
Great ball! Plenty of back end and it hits hard. Doesn't over-react but still has enough reaction to recover from wide, errant shots. Gets though the oil in the heads cleanly and makes a nice pronounced move on the back end. Seems to get stronger the more I use it. Love Roto-Grip.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Joe A G 10/20/2011 23:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    191
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
1st series with this ball 720 followed up with 650 series thats what I'm talking about!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Joe A G


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Sumarai1 10/15/2011 22:13 ( stars)


 
Critical Theory: What an awesome ball. It's a great ball to compliment the Infinite Theory When you need to create area. Used it for the first night as a pacer in league and shot 712. Not bad for not throwing for 4 weeks. Even the out of bounds shots, the ball finished hard. No roll out here. I would recommend this for all types of bowlers. League average 203; ball speed 15 mph.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Pastor Bill 10/15/2011 18:49 ( stars)


 
great ball...My first time to throw this ball was in my league night. I threw 30 pins over my average...I suspect that in weeks to come I am really going to really get to love this ball...Bill

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Pastor Bill


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: mikelj 10/07/2011 23:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Critical Theory, introduces the first pearl Insight™ coverstock. Designed to maximize dry lane traction, this shell will help increase your entry angle and sharpen your break point. The Critical Theory comes out of the box with a 4000-grit surface increases which is designed to minimizes oil sensitivity, especially at the end of the oil pattern.

I drilled my ball with the pin above the finger and a weight hole below the PAP on the VAL line. This high differential (.058) and low RG (2.49) goes long down the lane with a really nice angular motion to the pocket. I found this ball to really snap off the friction.

I am using this as my ball of choice on the 40 foot pattern. I am able to send the ball out to about 4 and then watch the ball make the corner and face up to the pocket. It seems the harder I throw the ball out to the dry the more it responds back to the pocket. With this extreme angle, I am seeing more 9 pins as the ball continues to drive through the pins.

Mike Johnston
Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: mikelj 10/03/2011 20:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Critical Theory, introduces the first pearl Insight™ coverstock. Designed to maximize dry lane traction, this shell will help increase your entry angle and sharpen your break point. The Critical Theory comes out of the box with a 4000-grit surface increases which is designed to minimizes oil sensitivity, especially at the end of the oil pattern.

I drilled my ball with the pin above the finger and a weight hole below the PAP on the VAL line. This high differential (.058) and low RG (2.49) goes long down the lane with a really nice angular motion to the pocket. I found this ball to really snap off the friction.

I am using this as my ball of choice on the 40 foot pattern. I am able to send the ball out to about 4 and then watch the ball make the corner and face up to the pocket. It seems the harder I throw the ball out to the dry the more it responds back to the pocket. With this extreme angle, I am seeing more 9 pins as the ball continues to drive through the pins.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: jimfish300 09/28/2011 13:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is AWESOME and bowlingball.com drilled it perfectly. The weights they suggested were spot on and fit was perfect.
I took it to of the box and shot 762. Anyone that wants a ball to finish big this ball should be one of the you consider.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jimfish300


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: bautch24 09/26/2011 14:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Drilled 5x3 and thrown on a 41 ft med/heavy house shot. I will say that this ball gave me room to play part of the lane that I rarely can with any oil on the lanes but also if I made adjustments I could play down and in and have it crush the pocket.

Carry was awesome, only left a few ten pins in 5 games and the coloring of the ball also made it very easy to see it transition and flip down lane.

Roto Grip has a winner with the Critical Theory and I look forward to using it on some sport shots in tournaments!

-PB


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: dixiedrummer 09/26/2011 13:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    210
Style    Tweener
 
Drilled this ball up in the skid flip alignment for a tweener. First shot I threw left a pocket 7 10. Then it started leaving ten pins. Once I made the adjustment for that, this ball did nothing but damage the pocket. It runs long and turns sharp. I was able to use this ball for 2 of the 3 games before the oil was just too far gone. I was still striking with it, but it had to go faster and faster and I just wearing out. Great ball RotoGrip. I will be back for more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dixiedrummer


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: John Brodersen 09/25/2011 20:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 1 oz, 3.15 top weight, 3 3/8-inch pin.

The Critical Theory was drilled using the dual angle method. The layout is a 4 ½ inch pin, 50-degree drill angle and a 40-degree VAL angle. An x-hole was not needed. Using Storm’s layout terminology the layout would be 4 ½ by 4 1/8 with a 2 ½ pin buffer. The cover was left OOB which is 4000 abralon.

The first thing you will notice about the Critical (which is a pearl) is that the cover comes dull from the factory. This will allow it to handle heavy and medium-heavy patterns. The Critical had a great mid-lane read, made a medium-strong move down lane with great continuation. Hit and carry were very, very good. The Critical is a little longer and a little stronger down lane that the original Theory.

Keep the Critical on some oil and you’ll be striking often

John Brodersen


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: farcity 09/22/2011 09:16 ( stars)


 
The Roto Grip Critical Theory is a great bowlwing ball with an agressive end hooking action. Had mine drilled 5x4x3 with pin on top. WOW, great ball and super in the oil. Bowlingball.com provided very good service - received my ball in 3 days. Great deal and would recommend this to anyone who needs a very agressive ball. Thanks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Tuned1921 09/21/2011 22:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4
 
If you are contemplating about buying this ball, stop thinking and add it to your arsenal. At first I did not know what to expect because I usually stick to symmetrical cores. Fortunately, this ball's core although it states that it is asymmetrical, it is actually not that far off. Out the box I bowled my first 700 series ever. I just started bowling a bit over a year ago, and lets just say, this ball makes bowling a lot easier and more fun. watch this ball hook and never look back. Even if I am off by a board or two it hits harder than my Hammer Jacked, and it has a great exterior design.

Stop thinking... Start striking more.... Best ball I have ever used so far.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tuned1921


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: kingpinwoods 09/18/2011 20:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4" over and 1/4" up
 
The first chance that I got to throw it was at the TAT. It reads the mid lane so well you'd think you were throwing a solid. It is stronger and more angular off of the spot than the Infinite Theory. It really plays well for me on medium patterns. When I got home and used it on a house shot, it rolled really well on them fresh but as they dried out it got to burning up a little quick. So I took it and applied some polish on it and then it came back to life, and I never lost my reaction. I kept on moving left and it continued to strike. I never moved to far left for me that it didn't recover. The box finish on this ball makes it react on slicker oil patterns where you normally wouldn't think about using a pearl. ONE AWESOME BALL!!


Ricky Woods


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kingpinwoods


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 09/18/2011 16:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
Critical Theroy this ball is crazy.If your looking to open the lane up and having trouble finding that ball to do so,well guess what this ball will do it for you no problem.This ball for me really gives me clean look threw the front part of the lane with that roll threw the middle and awsome backend reaction.Roto grip really did a great job on this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: cmsubowler 09/09/2011 14:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hello all and thanks for reading. Here is the link for the Critical Theory by RotoGrip where you can see my video review:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gTwKcd5P6s

I really have to hand it to RotoGrip for putting yet another ball in the Theory line that I just cannot put down. What a great looking great performing and great hitting bowling ball. Full pearl with some surface and another winning combination. The pearl allows this ball to clear the heads very clean but the surface and core help pick up in the midlane but let me tell you when you allow a ball to store that much energy for the last 15 feet of the lane........ You might find the ball comes back but the pins may not want to.

I will mention for review purposes that this ball was the first one on a fresh oil pattern and it certainly didn't disappoint. I was left of 25 with my feet and throwing from the middle of the lane to the track area an watching it scream on the back part of the lane with ease. There is so much power stored in the ball that you do not need to add much. Great for players of all levels and rev rates.

Comparing to the Infinite Theory you can see how much straighter through the front part of the lane the Infinite will travel on its was to a strong arc motion while the Critical Theory will start further left, travel further right, and move off the break point like reactive compared to Urethane. But wow does this ball HIT HARD!!!! Keep up the Great work and I can't wait to see whats in the future for RG.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: wisz214 09/04/2011 22:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is just fantastic. Tons of backend with a clean read up front for remarkable control. I've owned it for two weeks and have already rolled a 300 and 814 series with it in league play. Another winner from RotoGrip!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wisz214


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: wisz214 09/03/2011 15:02 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I had this ball drilled up for me the day after it came out. Tossed about 20 games (split between 5 houses) with it before league play started and averaged around 235 with it. I then broke a bone in my ankle and didn't bowl so hot the first week of league play. One week and a little less pain later I shoot 268-246-300 for my first 800 series. This ball is a beast! My brother just ordered one and my dad is doin the same next week.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wisz214


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: JVS257 08/31/2011 07:59 ( stars)


 
I posted a video here but that was nothing like what I experienced yesterday, wish I videoed that. WOW!!! What a ball. While I prefer playing somewhat down and in, I split the difference between playing inside and down the track area with what I call my hybrid shot and this ball was absolutely crushing the pins with the loudest strikes I have ever thrown. With the Critical Theory slightly polished then hand wiped with a 4000 pad, it was just amazing, the late revving, hard charging continuous motion that just screamed back from the 5 board area and blew the pins off the deck. Then if I got the ball in the oil a little it would still recover in time to saw the rack apart, sending pins flying across the deck with awe inspiring results. I can't wait to show off when league bowling starts next week.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JVS257


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: senor roto grip 08/24/2011 09:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    213
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 x 11/16
 
Layout: 65 x 5 x 45

X-tra Hole: P-3

Surface: Box (4000 abralon)

Lane Surface: Synthetic

This ball was drillled to use on the B squad (no re-oil) of the Sr Master's and on the PBA Sr Tour 39' pattern. At the Sr Master's, the layout was clean through the heads, picking up an earlier roll in the midlane, with a strong move at the breakpoint. Pin carry was excellent.
On the 39' Senior Pattern #1, I was able to use this ball to play outside on the fresh and then as the shot transitioned, was able to move and play inside. The 4000 abralon box condition does not squirt off oil like some pearl shells have a tendency to do. Carry is very good. For medium to heavy oil the Critical Theory will be your third ball in the Theory arsenal.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senor roto grip


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: timj1205@yahoo.com 08/23/2011 07:52 ( stars)


 
OMG!!! I was expecting a strong ball but not this strong. I waited until I had to bowl my Monday night league before I tried it out because my league house on Monday nights likes to put down quite a bit of oil on the outside of the lanes. After a couple of practice shots, I took it out to about the 2 board...I could not believe how this ball came back....Flush. Oil was all over the ball and it came back like it wasn't nothing. I average 174 in this house, I bowled a 664 right out of the box. Can't wait to try it out in other houses!! Great ball Roto Grip!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by timj1205@yahoo.com


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: rotogrip808 08/07/2011 21:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is a monster! It has very good traction, yet has a tremendous move at the breakpoint. It’s also very continuous through the pin deck. I think this will be a ball many will want to have for their medium house shot to open up with. Fresh conditions can be dicey with pearlized balls but this one seems tailor-made for this. With the 4000 grit finish, this ball has teeth before the breakpoint, but somehow still manages to make a huge move on the back ends. The core definitely makes a defined move here. The core and cover matches up perfectly on this ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: YANKEEMAN 08/04/2011 22:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    219
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" right 1/8" up
 
I DRILLED MY ROTO GRIP CRITICAL THEORY WITH A 5X3 LAYOUT AND A 1" WEIGHT HOLE ON MY PAP 5 1/4 RT AND 1/8 DOWN. IT IS THE STRONGEST THEORY TO DATE AND MAY BE STRONGER THAN ANY CELL. WITH ITS GOOD MID LANE REACTION AND ENERGY SAVING INSIGHT PEARL REACTIVE SHELL YOU CAN DO A LOT OF DAMAGE ON HEAVIER OR LONGER OIL PATTERNS.
I DON'T USE IT DRYER CONDITIONS, YOU CAN SEE THE BIG WEIGHT BLOCK BURNING UP EARLY BUT WHEN THE LANES ARE TIGHT GAME ON. I GET A STRONG ARC ON A TYPICAL HOUSE SHOT BUT THE LONGER OR HEAVIER THE OIL THE LATER AND BETTER THE BACKEND REACTION YOU GET. ALSO THE SHELL HAS SOME WHITE IN IT WHICH MAKES IT VERY EASY TO SEE YOUR ROLL AND REACTION. IT REMINDS ME OF THE VIRTUAL GRAVITY BUT MORE COLORFUL. IT REALLY GRABS THE LANE WHEN IT HITS FRICTION BUT IT GLIDES THROUGH THE OIL VERY SMOOTHLY. SO ON MEDIUM TO HEAVY OIL HAVE A BALL.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by YANKEEMAN


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 08/01/2011 16:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
CRITICAL THEORY #2 – 40 X 4 ½ X 20 OUT OF BOX CONDITION

INTENDED USE: TO BE STRONGER AND EARLIER THEN BANDIT WITH SIMILAR LAY OUT.

TESTED ON THS, AUTOBAHN, AND TURNPIKE.

FOUND A BALL HOOKS EARLIER AND STRONGER THEN ANYTHING I OWN. I WILL SAY I PLAYED DEEPER AND LESS HAND THEN ANYTHING ELSE I EVER OWNED. THIS BALL OUT HOOKS ANYTHING ON THE MARKET WITH THIS LAYOUT. YOU HAVE HEAVY OIL HOUSE PATTERN WITH SUPER SLICK LANE PANELS... THIS IS THE BALL FOR YOU...


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Critical Theory Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 08/01/2011 16:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
CRITICAL THEORY #1 50 X 4 X 55 WITH P2 HOLE BOX CONDITION – 11RCTE25H086

INTENDED USE FOR HEAVY OIL SPORT CONDITIONS WITH DRIER BACK END

TEST BALL ON TURNPIKE, DEAD MAN'S CURVE, AND AUTOBAHN AND A THS

FOUND THE BALL TO ROLL QUITE NICE ALL THE WAY DOWN THE LANE, IT WORKED TO MY ADVANTAGE TO HAVE THIS ONE LAYED OUT THIS WAY AND ANOTHER DRILL WITH A LITTLE MORE BACKEND IN IT. I ENJOYED USING THIS BALL ON SOME FRESH HOUSE SHOT WITH A LITTLE GRITTY LANE PANELS. THE BALL PATH WAS NICE AND CONSISENT AND NEVER SHOWED SIGNS OF ANY OVER/UNDER REACTIONS. ONE THING I WILL SAY IS THAT THIS REACTED MORE LIKE ANY MY CELLS THAN THEN ORGINIAL THEORYS THAT I DRILLED.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Read all 53 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter