Go to Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only »

Only show reviews for Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.77Write a Review    Read all 13 reviews

I Love It
 
77% (10 of 13)
I Like It
 
23% (3 of 13)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 13)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 13)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 13)

Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 03/25/2011 08:18 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge
At first there was bad karma and good karma, but now there's GREAT Karma!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/8"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
Dual Angle Layout - 60* x 5 1/8" x 40*
Balance Hole - n/a


Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 grit Siaair Micropad;Rough Buff;High Gloss)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Well how do describe what you are looking for from one of the greatest balls of all time? The Karma is the rebirth of the original Danger Zone! The Danger Zone was one of the best balls ever made and really changed the standard for ball reaction across the entire world.

I am very excited to throw the Karma solid since I absolutely loved the Danger Zone back in the day. We kept the layouts really simple on this and the Karma Pearl. Pin above ring finger and cg kicked out just a little from the center of grip.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
The Karma delivered on all levels for me. After throwing a few shots with the ball I realized that I did not clearly remember the ball motion of the Danger Zone just that it was good and I liked it. There have been so many between the original release and the release of the Karma that I could only say this was a solid ball motion.

The reactive cover handled the lanes perfect with just enough movement in the midlane and a strong not over aggressive motion off the breakpoint. The Karma showed me tons of versatility allowing me to move around on the lane and get a good motion from multiple parts of the lane. Compared to some of the other balls we have thrown in this performance level and price point the Karma will blow them out of the water.

Brunswick has picked a winner to replace the Avalanche series and using the Danger Zone was a great call. Bowlers of all skill levels will agree the Karma is a great way to bring back the Danger Zone.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 03/26/2011 16:46 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge
Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
Dual Angle Layout - 40* x 4" x 40*
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 grit Siaair Micropad;Rough Buff;High Gloss)

I know that the Brunswick Karma is a version of the original Danger Zone. However, I was not a bowler during the time of the Danger Zone, so I was not able to compare it to that ball. I know this is a value performance bowling ball, meaning you are getting a great ball for the money you are spending.

The price point of this ball and the amount of hook I received from it were amazing. The bowling ball blew the rack out, which doesn't always happen for me. The length and continuation out of the Karma is fantastic. Watch the video to see the reaction for me. I was highly impressed with it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 04/05/2011 12:26 ( stars)


 
One of Brunswick’s latest affordable performance ball is the Karma Solid. This ball uses a medium high RG and a medium differential light bulb shape weight block very similar to one of Brunswick's best ball of all time the Danger Zone. The Karma cover is the Powrkoil 18 which has been a proven winner for over a decade. If you are looking for a ball to handle the medium to light oil volumes this is the ball for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 03/24/2011 14:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Brunswick Danger Zone no Karma wow this is what all of us Brunswick bowlers have been waiting for. Karma Solid is a Performance ball that you have to get for your arsenal. Drilled my Karma 40x4x35 the ball reaction was smooth in the front with a strong move in the backend. If you have rolled a Danger Zone you will love the Karma this is my new bench mark ball first out of the bag.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: jzb610 06/22/2011 22:48 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    130
 
I'm still a beginning bowler, but in the last few weeks I have made great headway in learning the sport. I purchased the Karma Solid as my first bowling ball, graduating from lowly house balls. I had it drilled today by former PBA pro Jimmy Thompson, who recently opened a new pro shop at my local alley. He did a fantastic job fitting me to the fingertip-style grip and set the ball up for a strong late reaction/hook. Hooking the ball thankfully came naturally to me, and the transition to the fingertip grip was seamless. After two very mediocre games due to poor mechanics alone, I fixed my issues and bowled my highest game ever. I was so caught up in bowling well that I went ahead and bowled a fourth game and topped my new high score by another 5 pins, due in no small part to this ball and Jimmy's craftsmanship. I found the ball to be very predictable and consistent, and with exactly the length with strong late reaction that Jimmy said he set it up for. From what I've seen, this ball is very versatile and can be set up for myriad other reactions if you so choose. If you are a novice/intermediate bowler like myself and are looking for a quality, inexpensive reactive ball, I highly recommend the Karma Solid. I'm sure this ball would be even more effective in the hands of skilled bowlers as well. No buyers remorse from me!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: roadshog@yahoo.com 04/09/2013 18:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    176
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
First let me say I. haven't bowled in many years. I decided to take bowling back up because it's fun and I always enjoyed it.

Being away from it for so long I had no idea what to look for in a ball, (my last ball was a Black Beauty). So I guessed as to what I would need by how I bowl.

Very forgiving ball as I am rusty and it has allowed me to maitain a resepctable average. The backend could be a little more aggressive, or maybe I need to improve my release. I'll know which after a few more weeks in this league.

As for the ball itself I really like it. It performs consistantly.

As for Bowlingball.com good service and you get what you pay for. Will be doing more business with this company in the future.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by roadshog@yahoo.com


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: patelpriyansh@gmail.com 01/31/2012 16:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    130
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
This ball is the perfect ball for house conditions, it has the best grip and back end on the normal house conditions! I LOVE IT!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by patelpriyansh@gmail.com


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: patelpriyansh@gmail.com 01/31/2012 16:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    130
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
This ball is the perfect ball for house conditions, it has the best grip and back end on the normal house conditions! I LOVE IT!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by patelpriyansh@gmail.com


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: kegler6665 12/05/2011 07:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    183
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Stroker
 
The ball was exactly as advertized. My local driller asked pertinent questions as to how it will be used, type of bowler, skid/snap to identify how to drill it.

Ball worked perfectly.


However, it did take 12 days for the ball to be shipped from California to my Florida home, less that 50 miles from Bowlingball.com\'s home.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: asclifton 08/27/2011 07:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I needed a product registered ball to replace my Solid LevRG and the Karma Solid is a good fit. The OOB finish will not work in my home house, but putting 4K on the ball has worked like a charm. The Karma is now my benchmark pin up solid. I am considering a second Karma with a pin up/left for a smoother reaction. Very good ball, well worth the money. Don't be afraid to play with the surface.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: laserboypa 07/02/2011 09:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
BALL SPECS

Pin Length: approx 4"
Starting Top Weight: 3.1 oz
Ball Weight: 16 lbs

DRILL PATTERN

Modified Rico with pin shifed 1" up on grip center line

BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: High aka cranker
Ball Speed: 16.50 mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track

SURFACE PREP
Grit: Box - 500 & Rough Buff
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polish

LANE CONDITION

Length: Multiple
Volume: Multiple
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS and Kegel Challenge Patterns

BALL REACTION (out of 10)

Length: 7
Back End: 8
Overall Hook: 7
Midlane Read: 6
Breakpoint Shape: 7

COMMENTS

Likes: With the Rico drilling, this ball is smooth
Dislikes: None Yet

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

From what I have heard, this is the Danger Zone with new colors which I never had the original. This is my first ball with the Rico drilling, and I am pleased with the results so far. This ball has a very smooth overall arcing motion and doesn't jump off the spot when using it on the Kegel patterns. The ball clears the heads and has a smooth transition at the breakpoint. Another great performing ball in the affordable performance Series!

Brunswick Advisory Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 05/04/2011 13:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Bowler Specs:
Rev Rate: 275
Ball Speed: 18-19 mph
Axis Tilt: 7 degrees (low)
Axis Rotation: 60 degrees (high)

Layout:
30 x 3 1/2 x 40 (p2 hole)

This customer was looking for a ball that would be a good step down from his Alpha Max (30 x 4 x 30). Being as speed dominate as he is I have to look for balls with stronger covers to get ball to see the mids the right way. The Danger Zone has always been a favorite of mine from Brunswick and the Powerkoil 17 cover is pretty strong so We figured this would be a good fit.

Out of the box this ball was pretty clean through the fronts with a fairly strong mid lane move. At this point in time we had not punched a hole in it just to see how the ball reacted before we did. Being as speed dominate as he is we decided to knock the surface down to 1000 with no polish. This made a huge difference in the mid lane motion of the Karma. He was able to move slightly left but now he had a extra 2 to 3 boards miss right. In comparison to his Alpha Max, the Karma was about 6 and 3 right with his feet and more controllable. We then added a P2 hole just to make the ball legal. We did not want to alter this reaction at all!

I see the Karma series working well for many types of players. Rev/Speed matched players are going to match up the best. This is definitely a great compliment to the C-System series.

Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
River@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Brunswick Karma Black/Blue Solid 13 Only Reviewed By: BrunsChad 04/20/2011 15:15 ( stars)


 
The Danger Zone returns in the form of the Karma Solid! This ball delivers for the pricepoint, period! And for those of you who are in need of backend from the Brunswick, "ask and you shall receive"!

I drilled the ball with a 5 1/4in pin to PAP placing it above my bridge with a decent kick of the CG, putting it 4 in from my PAP. This drilling gave me great length and allowed me to open up the lane perfectly, or play direct with some speed. As with many lower end balls, they do not drive through the pins very well. With the Karma Solid, that is NOT the case, this ball continues with a very sharp motion in the backend and drives through the pins with a force not seen before at the Affordable Performance price line! If you loved the Danger Zone or need some backend out of the Brunswick line, get yourself a Karma and turn you game around!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 13 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter