Go to Roto Grip Rising Star »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Rising Star

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.86Write a Review    Read all 36 reviews

I Love It
 
92% (33 of 36)
I Like It
 
6% (2 of 36)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 36)
I Don't Like It
 
3% (1 of 36)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 36)

Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 02/16/2011 16:40 ( stars)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Rising Star is the new release in the Shield line. The perfect scale rate is 174 with a Flare Potential of 3-4 inches. The Rising Star is everything you liked in the Dark Star smooth in the front but when it rolls in the backend get ready for a strong move with more drive into the pins.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 02/21/2011 19:51 ( stars)


 
The Rising Star is a new addition to the ever popular Shield Line. The Ultimate Vision Hybrid cover is wrapped around a new Neutron core. This medium RG medium differential ball gets through the front with ease, reads the mid lane well, and has smooth powerful move to the pocket. The hybrid cover allows this ball to be less sensitive to oil down lane while still creating a strong ball motion for this performance category. The Rising Star is one of the more aggressive balls that you will find at a lower price point.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: rolltide1980 08/02/2011 11:24 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    207
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This ball lived up to my high expectations and actually surpassed them. So this is an entry level ball??? Really?? I bought this ball solely for a late night league that starts up in a few weeks because its a second shift league so the lanes are already fairly broken down. After months of research for a good medium-sized dry ball it was between the Storm Tropical Heat and the Rising Star and I tentatively decided on the Rising Star and I can honestly say I feel like I made a great decision. After having it drilled up,pin slightly up and out over ring finger,I decide to roll a couple games with it. I first started out with my go-to ball,Storm Hyroad,and right away I can tell the lanes have a good bit of oil on them because its breaking a tad later than normal.After the fourth frame I decide to throw the Rising Star with very low expectations due to the oil pattern. Well to my surprise I proceed to fire off 5 strikes in a row and finish with a respectable 254 despite the less than favorable lane conditions.
I can only imagine how amazing this ball is on drier conditions because it had PLENTY of backend on fairly heavy oil. It was covering just as many boards as my Hyroad just with more of an arc and not as snappy. It didn't go as long as my Hyroad but was certainly smoother thru the heads. This ball hits very hard and I certainly had my share of messengers. I wasn't expecting to see this strong of a reaction from a ball I was told was an entry level hybrid coverstock. Looks like my polished Thunder Road Solid has just been replaced in my bag!! Can't beat the price either!! It was right at $130 drilled so I have money left over to put towards a new Storm bag. All in all I am extremely pleased with the purchase and can't wait to try it on more optimal conditions. I HIGHLY recommend this ball to anyone of any skill level.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 02/11/2011 13:46 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Layout:
50x5x50
no hole
box surface

I had a feeling this was going to be a interesting release. I am a big fan of the Riot and the Dark Star mainly due to the Ultimate Vision cover. With the new Neutron core I didn't know what to expect from this ball other than the numbers indicated it would be stronger than the Dark Star.

The Rising Star turned out to be a really nice surprise. The best way I could describe this would be a similar controlled motion to the Dark Star but stronger than the Riot. This is one of the best ball motions I have seen in a long time for my type of game. I tested this ball on the Kegel Middle Road pattern, it gave me many different ways to play the lane. Playing around 14 to 7 was by far my best look, it clears the fronts nicely and really picks up the midlanes. One of the qualities I liked best was that I didn't have to move as fast as I do with some of my other equipment.

I then tried this ball in league the same night, our league shot is the Kegel Stone Street pattern. I started playing around 13 at the arrows with a breakpoint of 5 and I pretty much stayed there the whole night. I made a 3 and 1 move in the last game and that was it, shooting games of 259, 265, 256. Once again the smooth motion and the ability to stay in the same location was absolutely amazing!

This is a great all around ball. It is definitely a different ball motion than anything else in the Roto line. Rev dominate and matched players will find this to be a GREAT benchmark ball. Speed dominate players also would find a great use for this especially if the surface is changed. Great job to the guys in Utah!

Jimmy Martin
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
river@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: buckymdk 10/20/2012 10:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
My bowling pro drilled this ball for the way I bowl.
I throw a fast ball with backend action. Other bowlers have said it has a wicked backend. I love the way it hits the pocket. The lanes where I bowl never seem too oily. .


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by buckymdk


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: crankershots 10/07/2012 19:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
just go this ball a week ago. after searching for week on witch ball to get. very versatile and hooks more like a storm frantic. I have not bowled in 6 years only bowling for 5 months 6years ago with a 210 avg. i started playing again anf shot 214 with this ball all ready. roto grip and storm top two co. in bowling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: ALambertCole 09/03/2012 22:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    133
Sport Shot Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This being my first purchased ball (I used loaner ball from my coach) I was looking for a ball with a little more performance. I wasn't sure what I would get, but I love it. Easily improved my average from about 150, to 180/190. Thank you

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: joelsylvester94@yahoo.com 08/19/2012 23:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I was sugested to get this ball due to my high ball speed and low rev rate. I now lovw this ball. It has a nice smooth but yet explosive back end reaction. This is now my go to ball when i am in a pickle. The ball reads the medium to light oil very nice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by joelsylvester94@yahoo.com


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 07/28/2012 08:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Rising Star #5 serial#12RISB7L005 layout: 60x5x70
I drilled to be used on shorter patterns and for house patterns on wood and guardian. I found that this layout and ball selection was great on Boardwalk and Broadway. Was able to play up the gutter and in the dirt and the ball did not hook up earlier like I expected it to. I applied some polish and hit it on the ball spinner and gain a little additional length that I was more comfortable with. If you are looking for that ball that helps you on shorter patterns or on wood lanes, this STAR can be the one for you.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: rovah18@aol.com 06/06/2012 10:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    171
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Hello everyone. I recently purchased the Rising Star from bowlingball.com and had it drilled at my local pro shop. Let me say first that I am a senior that is looking for a not so agressive ball that I can handle in the 13lb weight range. I am disabled after multiple operations on my back but still enjoy bowling whenever I can. I am using the Rising Star as my lead-off ball and am very pleased. The ball allows me to bowl at a slower speed and still not deter from the strike line. It also allows me a great spare ball for the nasty 10 pin shot. I highly recommend this ball and will most likely buy another one in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rovah18@aol.com


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: rotogripbowler1994 05/22/2012 12:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    187
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
the rising star is one of my favorite to balls I've thrown. i through it on WTBA Paris pattern right when i got the ball. it got down the lane amazing. it read the lanes nice and its very predictable. The next day i went to practice and had 289 with it. the ball destroys the pocket. and for its prefect scale. it hooks a lot more then it should. i haven't compared it to the rest of the equipment, but with my guess i'd say it hooks more then my mutant cell pearl. if you ever want a ball that gets down the lane nice. i strongly suggest you buy this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rotogripbowler1994


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: steven1 05/15/2012 15:32 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Sport Shot Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Went with this ball based on the average reviews, but for me this ball just wont work. I guess I should have researched the types of core in the lighter balls cause the 12 has about as much hook potential as a house ball. Ended up going back to my older morich

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: lbaldassano@verizon.net 03/18/2012 18:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Sport Shot Average    202
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 over 1/2 up
 
its a great ball for when the lanes start to transition

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by lbaldassano@verizon.net


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: happybowling 03/09/2012 21:49 ( stars)


 
I HAVE USE THE BALL 6 GAMES AND MY LOWEST SCORE IS A 194 AND I HOPE THAT IT CONTIUES TO GO UP EVEN HIGHER. MY HIGH GAME WAS A 249

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: Lhwoolard@hotmail.com 03/05/2012 14:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
 
Drilled the ball with a 4 inch pin and set mb on the strong position. Just like they suggest in the drilling instructions that was in the box.
Ball reacts very well on medium oil...was flaring more than the advertised amount. hooks as good as any ball I have used on a house oil league pattern. I liked it so well that I bought two more balls and put them away. I will use them when this one wears down....However my bowling buddy tried it and like it so well he bought it from me. I had to drill one of the extra ones. It will hang up in the oil if you roll it too fast...Nice and easy does it with this ball in the 15 pound weight and you can roll it all day long with ease. Has great pin carry also. Rolled a 723 the fourth time out with ball. That gave me a lot more confidence the ball will serve me well in league action. It picks up spares easily as well. Good luck if you buy one.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Lhwoolard@hotmail.com


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: senioropinion 02/15/2012 23:01 ( stars)


 
Have thrown about 18 games with this ball, and for the money it will be hard to beat. I drilled it to read medium late with a strong backend and that is what it does. If you just let this ball roll and do not help it, it recovers every time on a T.H.P. If you are a power player I think this is to much ball for the shorter oil patterns, unless you drill it to go very long. GREAT BALL!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senioropinion


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: moody488 01/09/2012 22:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    183
Ball Speed    Fast
 
Ball performs beautifully on most conditions. The only thing I don't like about the ball is that I don't have two of them. It's predictable and easy to manage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by moody488


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: ChallengerRT 01/04/2012 20:11 ( stars)


 
The ball rolls up into pocket very well and hits hard.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 12/01/2011 19:45 ( stars)


 
I recently drilled the rising star and was really surprised.This ball was clean threw the heads and had plenty of pop on the back-end.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 12/01/2011 19:45 ( stars)


 
I recently drilled the rising star and was really surprised.This ball was clean threw the heads and had plenty of pop on the back-end.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: VTBowler96 11/25/2011 11:09 ( stars)


 
I bought this bowling ball when it first came out and I am a roto grip bowler but I've had so much bowling balls that are so strong so I needed a bowling ball with more length and would create less friction and have a nice, smooth backend. This bowling ball has done it for me, in my arsenal I have Mutant Cell, Shooting Star, Rising Star. After my line has dried up I switch to the Rising Star and play the same line but not only does it go long it has an extreme backend that no other ball has done for me yet. So not only am I not going to leave a lot of ten pins because of the ball losing so much power on the shot, I'm going to have an easier time with my shot because it can hold down the lane. Overall, I love this bowling ball and I think anyone who reads this should at least buy it and try it out, you're guaranteed a good bowling ball!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: moosehawk 08/01/2011 17:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    223
Sport Shot Average    191
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I absolutely love this ball. It gives me a more angular approach to the pocket when bowling on medium to light oil.

It goes long and then hits hard. I stacked the pin and did not need
a balance hole. This ball gives me a smooth controlled shot and allows me to move in to the 10 board and chase the oil.

Great ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: fraziermf@yahoo.com 06/26/2011 19:48 ( stars)


 
I bought it for my husband who has been wanting a high performance ball that hooks..He has been very satisfied with his new ball and his scores have improved tremedously.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: Cripper 05/08/2011 16:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    224
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/4" over x 3/4" up
 
This ball is one of the strongest balls in my arsenal. I have it drilled 45 x 4 (3/4)" x 70 with a hole on the cg line. This puts the pin between the bridge and ring finger. First time I used this ball I shot 715 on a slicker house condition. Ball picks up and just goes. I liked the 1500/shine it came with but taking it to 2000/shine was the best thing I could have done to that ball. It goes just a little further before it picks up and when it goes left...it goes left. For being a "cheaper" ball I find myself using this ball more than my Dagger...Reign Supreme...my Energy and even my Gravities. I'm going to drill another one with a 40 x 5.5" x 45 in the coming weeks. If the pin down one destroys racks I can't wait to see what a negative layout would do.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cripper


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: rotomike 04/07/2011 09:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Sport Shot Average    202
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5.5
 
The new benchmark!

It is very nice when a new ball comes out and immediately fits right into your arsenal. The Rising Star is that ball for me.

Roto Grip has consistently has the highest performing entry level balls on the market and this one is goes far beyond its predecessors in performance and versatility.

I drilled my Rising Star with the pin 4" from my pap. I used a mild drill angle and have a small balance hole on the val at the midline of my grip.

The hybrid cover and strong differential has allowed me to use the Rising Star on both house and PBAX conditions. The cover can be easily adjusted to handle heavier volumes. If you were watching the PBA telecast last weekend you saw Steve Jaros advance throwing the Rising Star.

The Rising Star is clean through the front with a great read down lane.

Here is the best part! Drill a Rising Star strong and it will perform as well as it's more expensive brethren.

In my arsenal it is a great ball that compliments my Nomad Dagger. I use the Dagger on heavier patterns but when the fronts break down and my Dagger reads too early; the Rising Star is the perfect next option.

On my THS league the Rising Star has now become the first ball out of my bag.

The Rising Star gives me high performance at a discount price.

A ton of bang for the buck!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rotomike


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 04/05/2011 01:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
This ball is a great addtative to to are lower end ball line up for roto grip.when i got this ball and opened the box first thing i said was wow great colour choice.After throwing this ball seems to give myself good lenght also a bit of midlane read not to much just enought to read the lane,plus really great backend moion.Ive used this ball on multiple lane conditions and have to say ball rolls and works great on all conditions.One of my favorite go to ball in the bag for me,could be for you to.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: cmsubowler 04/01/2011 01:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hello all and thanks for reading. The video that goes along with this review can be found on youtube following this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0p5yisL6F2c&feature=related

We used a different layout than ever before with this ball and I am very glad that I did. By the number it is 35 x 5.25 x 65. Our goal was to allow this ball to pick up more in the midlane while still maintaining a controlled continuous backend reaction. Result..... SUCCESS. This ball picks up in the midlane much easier than previously drilled balls in the RG Shield line such as the Dark Star. Now, don't get me wrong, every ball has its place but the Rising Star is unique. The new core and Hybrid cover mixed in with a very versatile drilling patter has allowed me to use this ball on every lane pattern except for the Shark. As you can see in the video, the ball easily reads drier boards outside the track area and continues through the pins. Slightly lighter pocket hits allow the 6 pin to snap off the sidewall and kick out 10 pins with authority. Great addition with a great new core. Enjoy this one guys. Should be a great ball in the bag but don't underestimate the hook potential and hitting power.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: kingpinwoods 03/30/2011 22:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4" over and 1/4" up
 
Roto Grip Rising Star

Where to begin? WOW!!! I took this ball along with the Riot and Dark Star and bowled on a 39' house shot. The Riot was great as always with a smooth strong arc to the pocket. The Dark Star was long and angular to the pocket. The Rising Star was AWESOME!!!! It gave me the best of everything. Super clean through the fronts and a snapping backend movement. I also threw this ball on Kegel's Route 66 pattern after I had broken the pattern down with my Infinite Theory and the ball didn't miss a beat. It gave me the length on the beat up pattern and still gave me strong continuous backend movement. I never ran out of room left. This ball just kept on clearing the fronts and recovering from almost every angle. This line of equipment would give any league bowler a BARGAIN FOR HIS BUCK!!!! GREAT JOB EVERYONE AT ROTO GRIP AND STORM. Best rolling, looking and striking balls on the planet!!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kingpinwoods


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: John Brodersen 03/14/2011 14:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 2 oz, 2.78 top weight, and a 3-inch pin.

The Rising Star was drilled with a 4.75-inch pin distance, a 60-degree drill angle and a 30-degree VAL angle. This put the pin above and to the right of the ring finger with the CG bumped to the right about 1.5 inches of the grip centerline. Using Storm’s layout methodology the layout is 4.75 X 4.75 X 2. An extra hole was drilled at the P2.5 location. The cover stock was left OOB.

I initially threw the Rising Star against the Dark Star for comparison sake. The condition was a broken down 42 foot sports pattern. The Rising Star surprised me on the first couple of shots with how strong the mid-lane read was. After an adjustment left (to get lined up) the Rising Star was very clean thru the heads, picked up a little later in the mids and provided a very strong predictable arc on the back end. Hitting power and carry was very good. My next outing was on the house pattern. The Rising Star was a little over/under on the fresh but once the pattern blended a little it played very easy. The Rising Star provided tremendous recovery and hit. The track flare was in the four-inch range. The Rising Star reads earlier than the Dark Star, has a little stronger move on the back end and a little more overall hook.

With the new Neutron core (lower RG, larger DIFF) and the hybrid cover stock the Rising Star provides another very good and slightly different ball motion for medium to medium-light oil patterns. The Rising Star is a great fit under the Nomads and another great “bang-for-the-buck” ball from Roto Grip.

John Brodersen


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: steven.meadows@delta.com 03/03/2011 22:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Fast
 
this ball is awesome. 726 series out of the box. I was able to throw this ball all three games, with minor adjustments to the left as lanes broke down. this ball was long with a strong backend. i bought this ball for when the lanes were dry, but very consistent on fresh oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: maverick_102685@yahoo.com 03/02/2011 08:19 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball can be wicked aggressive but if you can learn to control it, then it will be perfect. started off getting only strikes and splits but it gets better with practice. good pin action too

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: bperez 02/25/2011 17:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    161
 
I need to change to lighter bowling balls, so Lenny at Deltona AMF recommended Roto Grip's Rising Star for my first fourteen pound ball. Lenny drilled it, adjusted the pitch in one of the fingers and this ball fits my hand like a glove. It is sweet! Very smooth motion. I'll be looking into other Roto Grip bowling balls as I slowly replace my fifteen pounders. I am extremely happy with this bowling ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: senor roto grip 02/21/2011 13:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    213
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 x 11/16
 
The Rising Star matches the neutron core with the Ultimate Vision Hybrid coverstock found on the Rogue Cell. The cover is sanded to 1500 and machined polished. The medium Rg core (2.55) and med-low differential (.042) make the Rising Star a ball that can be used on a variety of medium to lightly oiled conditions.

I drilled mine with, box finish, pin above the fingers on my gripline, approximately 5" from my pap, Cg out, no hole. This layout allows me to get the ball down lane with a smooth arc finish at the pins. On a PBA experience, 40' Master's pattern, this ball really hooked off the friction on the newer AMF HPL surface. However, in the same house on a 42' house shot that had been bowled on by junior bowler's earlier, the Rising Star was excellent. The ball got down lane smoothly and reacted with a nice arc off the friction. Ball drive through the pins was excellent. I did see a little squirt if I got the ball into the oil rather than off the oil line and into the friction down lane.

An excellent mid priced ball for middle average bowlers and for advanced bowlers looking to fill in their arsenal with a medium rg, medium-low differential ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senor roto grip


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 02/16/2011 17:52 ( stars)


 
The Roto Grip Rising Star is a good choice for medium to lighter lane conditions.With the hybrid cover stock makes it a pretty makes it a great bench mark ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: tjinxsr21 02/23/2011 20:20 ( stars)


 
When I saw the release of this ball I immediately wanted to compare it to my Dark Star.

The Rising Star Is amazing right out of the box. A very smooth and predictable ball that just like the Dark Star is very clean through the front and mid lane with a strong continuous motion to the pocket. Much stronger on the back end than the Dark Star but still finishes well.

I agree that this is a great bench mark ball for many different styles of bowlers ans it comes with a great price tag!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tjinxsr21


Roto Grip Rising Star Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 02/23/2011 16:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I have recently drilled a couple of the Roto Grip Rising Star for customers and what a great ball this is . It clears the heads with easy, strong revving in the mid-lane and has a very strong movement on the back-end. I like the fact that this ball is great for any type of bowler.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 36 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter