Go to Storm Victory Road »

Only show reviews for Storm Victory Road

Customer Reviews          Average: 5Write a Review    Read all 36 reviews

I Love It
 
100% (36 of 36)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 36)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 36)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 36)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 36)

Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/10/2011 08:56 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Storm's Victory Road gives the Thunder Line a new look.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 5/16"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" on VAL from center of grip through CG
PSA Layout - 5 5/16" x 3 5/16" with a 4 7/8" pin buffer

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
We were going to be testing both of the new Storm releases together. I thought it would be best to use the same layout on both so we could see the same type of roll out of both balls but let the balls shine on their own with their specific characteristics.

This layout has worked well for me on Storm balls in the past. One of my favorite Storm ball of all time, the Dimension, was drilled identical to this and I still use that ball as my go to ball to this day. This layout allows for plenty of skid while maintaining a good roll through the mid-lane and popping off the breakpoint.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I ended up with my favorite Thunder line ball ever.

I think a combination of the ball/layout and pattern all came together perfectly. From the first shot I threw loosening up I had an amazing ball motion with this ball.

It handled the front part of the lane perfectly, even as the night went on and there was more friction up front it got through it easily. I saw a good transition in the middle part of the lane without the ball really over reading any friction.

Once it got the the break point it meant business. Every shot no matter where I was at on the lane came back. I don't care how far left I was or how far right the ball was at the break point it came back. I have not seen this kind of energy on the backend this consistently in a long time. All night I never had one come up light, it just kept going left.

As you will see from our video I tried playing in a variety of parts of the lane and every time it did what it was supposed to. With mid-performance balls reacting stronger and stronger and getting closer to high performance balls the Victory Road sets a new standard for everyone including Storm to live up to.




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 01/10/2011 08:33 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 3 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
Balance Hole - 3/4" x 1" on PAP
PSA Layout - 3 1/2" x 4 5/8", 2 7/8" pin buffer

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polish)

Wow, the Storm Victory Road is an amazing bowling ball. The length and hook on the backend were fantastic. This bowling ball pounded the pocket and exploded the rack.

It was snappy on the backend, but not "jumpy". It had a predictable backend snap.

The pearlized coverstock gives the ball length, while the 1500 grit polish helped give it backend.

Use this bowling ball to travel down Victory Road.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 01/15/2011 15:11 ( stars)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
The Victory Road is the newest addition to Storm's Thunder Line. The re-engineered Inverted Fe 3 core allows for a variety of layouts. The R2s pearl cover is a great match for this core and its ability to handle a wide variety of lane conditions. You will notice how easy this ball travels down lane before its strong back-end move. If you were a Hy-road fan this is a ball for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 01/12/2011 15:26 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
We just got our Victory Roads in our shop and they will go fast.The Victory Road has the inverted Fe3 core technology with R2S pearl cover.
That will give you a smooth roll in the front and a strong flip in the backend.But you will be able to drill the Victory Road with your favorite drill pattern to match up to your game.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Another10pin 10/12/2011 18:15 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 

I took the ball right out of the box and the ball hooked like a beast in the backend actually too much!!!. So i took the ball to 2000 and i shot a game to see the difference and i had all strikes except 2 shots. If the Ball is too jumpy for you in the backend bring it down to 2000 and you will love this ball. I have the marvel also and it complements it really good. Overall good ball


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Another10pin


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: alltenback 06/20/2011 11:23 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    212
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/8
 
Well the Search is over. I been looking for a replacement ball to my Storm Special agent for at least 2 years now. I have tried many different bowling balls but they didn't live up to the oldie but goodie. Til the Victory Road by Storm.

I actually sent my Special agent to Bowlingball.com to have them match the specs and the thumb hole. I ordered a custom thumb hole mold and WOW am I impressed. The special agent and the Victory road have the same exact feel to them. The ball rolls off my hand like butter.

Sending my ball out was a piece of cake. Bowlingball.com sent me the ups.com label, I printed it out, slapped it on the box with the ball in it. And a few days later I got a call and email from Dustin in the drilling department. Dustin gave me a few suggestions on how to have the ball drilled and i took them. They drilled it up 4x4x2 and I found out my PAP is 5 3/8.

The customer Service Dustin and everyone else at bowlingball.com was awesome and I really appreciated it so much. That I bought a Storm VG Nano a few days later. I should get the Nano today.

Anyways if you want to see how the ball react there is a youtube.com clip on this page under the video tab. Mine is the video right below the bowlingball.com video. It has all my specs, speed, etc. Check out. It is a great ball and even Better Service at Bowlingball.com

Thanks
Brent Dolan
www.alltenback.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by alltenback


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Tom Kozak 01/19/2011 11:53 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    213
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I just got my Victory Road last night and had it drilled for league. I used the same layout I had on my favorite Storm ball....the T-Road Pearl. This ball is FANTASTIC, I threw it a few times in warm up and was ready for league. Started the night with a 6 pack and threw the best ball of the night and left a 4-9 split, This ball will take a little more getting used to. I am a 212 average bowler and shot a 633 series, The more I moved the more this ball turned left. Carry was better than the T-Road Pearl and I am very happy with the ball. I will buy all of my balls from bowlingball.com. This site is a GREAT way to get your bowling balls at a price that leaves cash in your wallet. Thank you for your service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tom Kozak


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: kittanun 03/05/2013 10:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    201
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I'm really impressed to what storm victory road gives to my game. The ball has a really nice pattern going down lane with a strong backend . The pin reaction was AWESOME, getting pin carries with this ball is as easy as pie.
Ps Loving the ball's fragrance !


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: tnorris9@msn.com 12/09/2012 08:58 ( stars)


 
1 of the most versatile balls in storms line

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: UF Bowling 05/19/2012 11:40 ( stars)


 
I'm extremely pleased with how this ball worked for me this year. It rolls well and has a smooth hook that is very easy to control even for bowlers who don't have high revs. The ball cuts through medium oil patterns with relative ease and is now an essential asset to my current bowling equipment. I would highly recommend this ball to any bowler wishing to improve their game.

Steve Calabrese


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: DJC 04/19/2012 16:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I needed a ball in my arsenal that could give me a sharper angle to the pocket so I asked my pro shop guru for a recommedation. He recommended the Victory Road (purchased pre-Crossroad) and this ball did not disappoint. I found the best ball reaction after the fresh oil has broken down or during the transition period (usually after first game of league play)and when there is oil "carrydown" this ball will snap predictably at the backend of the lane. It is the most reliable pearl ball that I have ever thrown.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DJC


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: lilb300 03/07/2012 14:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    201
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I love this ball. It is very versatile and rolls great from start to finish. I use it all the time on medium oil, and can even shine it up some to use it on a bit dryer lanes. It is a must have in any arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by lilb300


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Drock79 03/01/2012 20:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    196
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I love this ball! It hits hard to the pocket and it's really really really forgiving. There are plenty of times where I over thrown the ball and it always comes back into the pocket. It's like it knows where to go! I'll never get rid of this ball. A ball certainly must have in your arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Drock79


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: dsoutherngent1@gmail.com 02/05/2012 03:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I drilled my victory road with the pin and cg stacked about 1.5" off center line, pretty aggressive lay out. It gives me a very predictable reaction every time; good length, and a very strong angle into the pocket. This is an excellent ball for medium oil. Add in moderate carry down, and I can still find a way to the pocket and kick out corner pins. As an added bonus, the ball has, hands down, the best scent Storm has ever put into a ball. Makes you think of breakfast just standing on the approach with the ball in the neighborhood of your nose.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dsoutherngent1@gmail.com


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: albuquerquedan 01/03/2012 12:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    196
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Review by two-finger (no-thumb) bowler.

First, a little about me:
No-thumb bowler, high rev rate, low axis tilt (up the back release), quick speed, and average around 190-195 during league play. I bowl on typical house conditions, with medium/medium heavy oil in a THS pattern.

I had this ball drilled with the pin above the ring finger for length and back-end. I opted out of drilling a thumb hole.

This is by far the best ball I've ever thrown for my style - long, with a snappy and massive back-end. My first day with the ball, I averaged 235 over 8 games (my first night at league wasn't as good, but still managed to bowl in the low 600s after missing too many stupid spares).

The ball simply murders pins when it hits. As compared to my Mutant Cell Pearl and New Breed Pearl, this is by far the most angular. Even the Mutant Cell can't hold a candle to the way this ball reacts (I have to make a 5 board move to the right with the Mutant Cell, and a 7 board move with the New Breed). In addition, the way this thing hits cannot be compared. Again, even the Mutant Cell doesn't knock the pins around like this ball.

The best line I've found with the ball is laying it down around the 30, over the 17, break-point at 10 (which occurs pretty late down the lane), and into the pocket. Strangely, although this is a high percentage strike shot, I've managed to leave a surprising number of 4-pins. Also, if I miss to the inside, it's all over, and I'll invariably leave pins on the right. Missing to the outside isn't as bad, but with my high speed, the ball sometimes won't come back enough for the pocket, but it will come back more than you'd think it will due to its super-grippy nature on the dry.

In sum, this is as good as a ball gets in my opinion. However, if you like an early read on the lanes with a nice continuous arc into the pocket, this is not your ball. If, however, you're like me and like an angular and strong back-end, the Victory Road simply cannot be beat. Thanks, Storm, for a great ball!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Esteban 10/11/2011 05:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    175
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Bonjour;

Je joue au bowling depuis 2 ans avec une average a 175.Je joue avec la Vctory Road depuis 2 mois et j aime cette boule qui roule très bien et réagit bien même sur des pistes huilées.

Avis aux amatteurs.

Sportivement


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Esteban


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: StormOwns15 08/31/2011 02:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
this is an awesome ball! but be carefull not to get it drilled to strong cause dang that thing will hook.. dont get me wrong i love the ball but be carefull drilling it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormOwns15


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2011 10:17 ( stars)


 
I have a Victory Road. This ball is fairly new to me, and I love it. If I could describe this bowling ball in one word, it would be perfect. This bowling ball is great on oil, and great on dry lanes. This is the bowling ball that I would call my “comfort zone.” I like to be able to use one ball for different lanes, and this ball is great for that. I also really enjoy the smell!!

Kaitlyn Hanshaw


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: ggodzilla55@verizon.net 06/10/2011 00:01 ( stars)


 
I am a 150 avg. bowler i love the way my ball hooks...it fit my style!.....G.Evans, maryland

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: caseyccg 04/12/2011 21:43 ( stars)


 
Location: Enterprise Park Lanes

Pattern: Modified House Pattern
Oil to 38 feet, buff to 43
Approx. Ratio 6:1

Surface: Brunswick Pro Anvilane

Bowler Stats: PAP 4 5/8 straight across
375-400 RPM
16 MPH

Layouts: Victory Road 1 - Dual Angle Layout 50, 4 ¾, 70 (pin
below and between fingers, cg out, weight hole)
Victory Road 2 – Dual Angle Layout 45, 5 ½, 35 (pin
above and between fingers, MB out from thumb 1 inch,
no hole)

The Victory Road is the longest and most angular ball Storm has produced since the TRoad Pearl. On a modified house pattern the Victory Road easily cleared the front part of the lane and made a dramatic angular motion at the breakpoint. On the fresh shot, the Victory Road stored too much energy and was hard to control. Once I broke the shot down a little with some other stronger equipment the VR was the best option. The Victory Road barely registers burnt heads and maintains it strength through the carry down to produce a very violent reaction at pocket. Pin carry rarely suffers with this ball even on the roughest surfaces. The Victory Road excels on bad surfaces and torn up patterns. It would be a great fit to create angle on a tough pattern once the track is broken down. The Victory Road is a must have for those who need a ball to create angle on low volumes and broken down patterns.

Casey Murphy
Storm Staffer


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: rotomike 04/07/2011 09:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Sport Shot Average    202
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5.5
 
Mmmmmm... Syrup

There were a couple of things that caught my attention with the Storm Victory Road. Before I even threw the ball I was attracted to the color ...a great shade of purple. Secondly was the scent. The warm maple syrup scent immediately became one of my favorites since storm started scenting balls.

Then I took it out on the lanes... I drilled it pin 5 1/2" to my pap above the fingers cg in palm no weight hole.

The Victory Road is exceptionally clean through the fronts and true to the description in the printed material it was ABRUPT! in the backend. I found I could use it the best when the heads had broken down on drier lanes conditions and I was forced deep. Feed it to the spot and watch it wheel home!

As a big fan of the whole Thunder series the Victory Road did not disappoint. For players with weaker hands this ball will give you the recovery you are looking for. For boomers the Victory Road is the perfect get to the left gutter and go to town ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rotomike


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 04/05/2011 02:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
The Victory Road is the newest addition to Storm's Thunder Line. The new design Fe 3 core allows for a variety of layouts. The R2s pearl cover is a great match for this core and its ability to handle a wide variety of lane conditions for all types of bowlers.This balls allows me to created great lenght threw those burnt out heads but retains so much energy down lane for a strong motion down lane.this ball reminds me of a stronger t-road pearl so dont wait drill one today and see what im talking about.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: shop_a_holic_kerri@yahoo.com 03/29/2011 18:03 ( stars)


 
My favorite storm ball to date! Very versatile good on dry to med conditions... Great pin reaction every time!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by shop_a_holic_kerri@yahoo.com


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: JarheadBowler 03/24/2011 20:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I really do like the way this ball rolls. I didn't bowl league this year due to an illness, but I did sub. I subbed the last 2 weeks and didn't do very well. I was looking for a new ball because my Son & I are going to bowl a 2 man summer league. I ordered a Victory Road at Danville Bowlarama(Danville, KY). Zac drilled it up for me. I went and paced for my Son for his Youth League pre-bowl. The lanes were a little toasted. So I didn't get a very good feel for the ball. I was asked to sub the next evening. I read these reviews about folks rolling a real high series right out of the box with new balls. My usual comment is "Whatever!". Well I rolled a 697 with my Victory Road. I have a 196 average, which is down about 10 pins from last years league. Probably because I'm just subbing from time to time. Long story short- GREAT BALL!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JarheadBowler


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Stormbowler123 03/19/2011 08:34 ( stars)


 
This is the ball i have been looking for. since i started league ive been averaging 240 on the nose for 18 games and shot 770 for three games last week in my tournament. Ive never had a ball as strong and consistant as this ball. i got a 12 o' clock stack on it and i rolls amazing. STORM IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! marvel is another great ball along with the invasion.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Trudell 03/02/2011 19:32 ( stars)


 
Storm Victory Road review by staffer Billy Trudell

Storms newest thunder line release is the Victory Road. The intent of the victory road was to offer bowlers and versatile bowling ball that has a strong move down lane. With the continued success of the Hyroad ball which had the FE-2 weight block which offered an RG of 2.57 and a differential of 0.046, they decided to use that weight block as the base for what weight block they were going to put in the victory road. After inverting the FE-2, they created the FE-3 core which lowered the RG of the ball to 2.56 allowing the ball to rev up slightly earlier than the Hyroad but have a much higher differential of 0.052 which helps create a strong continuous down lane motion off the spot. The weight block was wrapped in the highly successful R2S pearl coverstock found on popular balls such as the Fast, 2Fast, and T road pearl. The surface was then finished with a 1500 grit polished preparation.
With all of these components bowlers are supposed to expect a high performance ball that is clean through the front without too much skid because the ball will read and rev up strong in the mid lane and give a strong back end reaction without sacrificing any control of the pocket or burning up due to energy conservation through the front part of the lane. A traditional pearl bowling ball tends to have the skid flip reaction that on fresher patterns can be hard to control. The victory road is a very controllable reacting pearl bowling ball.
My victory road came with a 3.5 inch pin to CG. My intent for this ball was to go with a reliable bowling ball that can get down the lane and around the corner when I have to play a very deep inside line. I usually find that I have to move extremely deep and play over the gutter in some cases on longer oil patterns or flatter oil patterns when they break down. Patterns such as Deadmans curve, and the pba shark get a lot of play in the middle part of the lane. Usually on the fresh I can use pretty strong bowling balls and carry fairly well. Now as the pattern breaks down I tend to have trouble creating angle in the back and carrying ten pins due to my low axis tilt. The victory road was answer to my problems. This year the US open was a 42 foot flat oil pattern. I had my problems on the fresh but the burn was a whole other animal. Deep inside angles were best with a ball the got around the corner. My victory road gave me my best block by playing over the gutter cap out to about 13 at the break point and the ball got back around the corner strong and usually carried great with very little corner pins when it hit the pocket.
The lay out that I used was a 4inch pin with the cg swung until I had about ¾ ounce of side weight. My intent was to have the ball flare up strong in the mid lane and then have a strong motion off the break point. I then threw a ¾ inch hole 2 inches below my PAP on my VAL. The pins location is right next to my ring finger as well. I was able to throw it on lanes that were already broken down because they were left over from the previous night and had not been oiled yet. The lane surface is AMF hpl. First few shots I threw the ball read pretty early and hooked a lot down lane and I missed the pocket left. So after moving in to 30 with my feet tarting 18 at the arrows out to 8 at the break point I saw the reaction I was hoping for. The ball found the head oil it wanted reved up strong just past the arrows got to the break point and had a hard arcing turn in the back that crushed the rack every time. I left a few solid nines due to playing such an open angle. I decided to move a few boards in more with both feet and target to kind of tighten up the angle and found that I still had the pocket with exceptional carry and entry angle. No matter how deep I went even over the gutter the ball still created great angle and carried well. A little while later the mechanic came by and oiled the lane with the fresh 41 foot house shot. Here with the out of box finish the ball reacted really great still how ever I figured right now would be a good time to try hand scuffing the ball with a used 2000 pad. The results I got were that the ball was able to pick up a little sooner than it was before and it seemed to bite a little harder at the break point as well with no signs of roll out. Seems to me that this ball is going to be very friendly to surface adjustments which is always a plus for me.

My Specs
Hand-right
Rev rate-300
Speed- 16mph
PAP- 5 ¼ inch right by ½ inch up.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Trudell


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: cmsubowler 02/21/2011 18:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hello all and thanks for reading. Hope you find this review helpful. We are reviewing the Victory Road with a drill pattern of 70 x 4 x 40 and comparing it to the Reign Supreme with the same layout and surface. You can see the video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jbb4o9113fw

What you will notice in the video listed above is a much longer skid prior to making a down lane move. This ball holds onto a lot of energy and releases it all at once producing some fairly extreme angles. For purposes of the video we left the surface the same and worked with it but I have had extremely good luck taking the surface down with a 4000 abralon pad to help smooth out the transition at the break point. Compared to the Reign Supreme, it is 2 to 3 boards stronger downlane and at least 1 to 2 feet later down lane as well. This produces a very extreme angle to the pocket increasing carry percentage on the lighter hits. The line is similiar as you will see from the video but the motion is much more abrupt. Some very good hitting power and great entry angles make this ball a great replacement for the Hy Road. What the Hy Road may have lacked in entry angle, you certainly gain that with this ball. Excellent addition at a steal of a price.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: mmax5959@gmail.com 02/15/2011 11:02 ( stars)


 
This ball is fantastic, I average 188 in league. the first 5 games out of the box were all over 200, when this ball finds the pocket it explodes on the pins. The pearl coverstock provides great carry with amazing backend, its perfect for medium oil conditions. As a side note the ball smells amazing which always puts me in a calm mood whenever i smell it. Just as a reminder this ball is good for MEDIUM oil conditions, if its dry it will hit high everytime. That's why my sixth game with it was only a 188, the lanes dried out. Overall i would recommend this ball to any bowler that wants a ball with great carry and a sharp backend reaction. You will not be dissapointed

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: rainman0227 02/15/2011 06:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    206
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
I have mine drilled for length with a lot of back-end. It clears the mid-lane and still reads well enough to be extremely consistant. It hits like a truck and is a very impressive ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rainman0227


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: imljsdad@yahoo.com 02/04/2011 14:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Very nice product from Storm. I have been bowling Storm for a couple years now, and I have not been disappointed yet. I had the pin drilled just above my ring finger and the reaction I recieved was just what I was looking for. Gets thru the heads smoothly, nice roll thru the mid lane, and has a nice smooth arching break to the pocket...nothing jerking(which I was not wanting). All and All another great ball from Storm which will cause me to keep buying Storm products with my next purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: j.matheson@msn.com 01/31/2011 08:59 ( stars)


 
I had it stacked leverage and it still glides threw the heads! This ball hooks in the back end(I have to keep my speed up).I am an old school bowler and like the semetrical core balls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 01/14/2011 15:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Bowler Specs:
Speed: 19-20 mph
Rev Rate: 500
Tilt: 18 degrees
Rotation: 40 Degrees

Layout:
80 x 5 x 50
no hole

With this ball I was looking for something to use when the lanes break down. This is one of my favorite layouts for this situation, it allows me to keep the ball on line longer without a a huge skid/flip motion.

This ball fills a big gap in my equipment however it is definitely stronger than I thought it was going to be. The ball motion reminds me of a smoother version of the Reign due to the fact that it reads the midlanes better creating a more controlled motion. The Victory Road is a great compliment to my Anarchy and Theory. With a stronger layout this could also be used a benchmark ball for rev dominate players. rev/speed matched players will find this useful when the lanes transition. Speed dominate players will need some friction or a surface change due to the extremely clean cover.

Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
River@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 01/12/2011 16:38 ( stars)


 
I was recently bowling in league and i notice a good friend of mine [who is on the storm staff] was bowling with this ball.I was really surprised how well this ball rolled .It read the lanes really well and was very predicable at the break point.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: kkennett 05/03/2011 22:57 ( stars)


 
Drilled it last week, Decided to put a Rico drill on it. After talking with reps from storm felt it was a good drill.

Wht I got was a very aggressive midlane ball that hits very hard! After throwing 241 and 233 had to put it away was hooking early. First game in a league ending sweeper shot 300 with it..

Great ball!!

Only thing I really dont like about it is the smell..



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kkennett


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: ccrobinson1488@comcast.net 03/25/2011 14:54 ( stars)


 
Just got the VIctory road along with a few other of Storm new release balls and got them drilled Mar 18th. Got a chance to throw them league this past tuesday and all i can say is WOW!!!! The Victory Road gave me a different look than what i was using in my old arsenal. The VR had really good lenght red the midlane well and once it saw friction it hit like a truck. I especially like the pearlized coverstock it allows for the ball push a little further before making itsmove which is a good thing bowling at BA on clopper. Overall I am very pleased with the ball. This is one of those ball you gotta have trust me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ccrobinson1488@comcast.net


Storm Victory Road Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 01/17/2011 16:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I drilled the Storm Victory Road for a customer who was looking for a ball that would give her good length and good back end. So i suggested that she the Victory Road. I use a 4 X 4 layout. It gave her the reaction that she was looking for. It cleared the heads with easy, read the mid-lane and gave her a strong movement on the back-end.

Lenny Biondi JR
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 36 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter