Go to Storm Marvel »

Only show reviews for Storm Marvel

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.75Write a Review    Read all 32 reviews

I Love It
 
78% (25 of 32)
I Like It
 
19% (6 of 32)
It's Ok
 
3% (1 of 32)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 32)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 32)

Storm Marvel Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/10/2011 09:09 ( stars)

336 of 339 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge

The Master line expands this year with the first release, the Marvel.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 3/8"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" on VAL from center of grip through CG
PSA Layout - 5 3/8" x 3 1/4" with a 5" pin buffer

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

When I heard about the Marvel I was excited immediately. The coverstock from the Virtual Gravity combined with the Centripetal core, just sounds like a winner. I used the same layout as another one of my favorite Master line balls, the Dimension. I also used this layout on the new Victory Road to see these balls side by side.

I had heard the ball had amazing movement in the mid-lane setting up a perfect shape at the breakpoint. This layout should assist that motion and really give us a good look.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I know every review seems good but when you throw these balls they really are that good. Storm constantly puts out equipment that not only does what they say it will do but they work well and compliment each other perfectly.

The Marvel is no exception the this statement. I was absolutely amazed at how good this ball was overall. Just like you came to expect throwing the Virtual Gravity the Marvel's 2000 grit cover handled the heads great. It was strong but did not read the friction too much.

As the ball got down lane it really started the shine. Storm talks a lot about the mid-lane movement this ball makes and how important that is to setting up a good shape on the backend. The Marvel does it all, it read the mid-lane every time just when it needed to and because it constantly got into such a good place in the middle it was always in the right place on the backend and at the pins.

Overall I found it a little stronger then the previous release in this product line, the Prodigy, but it still complimented Storm's line.

With the release of the Marvel and the Victory Road I think Storm has started the new year off right and I am excited to see what is to come from the Bowler's Company.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 01/10/2011 08:22 ( stars)

47 of 51 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
Balance Hole - 3/4" x 1" on PAP
PSA Layout - 4" x 4", 2" pin buffer

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 Grit Abralon)

The Storm Marvel has a very smooth overall roll. It didn't seem "jumpy" at all, which helps me feel more in control. I have always had an affinity to symmetrical cores for this reason.

In the video, I did have a couple of bad shots, but you can see that the ball helped me recover from them very well.

The colors are also pleasing to my eye. I am a fan of blues, and this ball has many shades of blue.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 01/15/2011 14:55 ( stars)

46 of 50 people found this review helpful.


 

The latest ball in the the Master Line is the Marvel which features an all-new Centripetal core. This new core allows a variety of layouts and guarantees consistent and predictable move from break point to pocket. Storm encased the new core in the R2X solid cover and finished it with 2000-grit Abralon thus Allowing the Marvel excellent mid-lane control. This ball is not too strong for high rev players but strong enough weaker release players. The Marvel is going to be a good benchmark ball for a good many bowlers.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 01/12/2011 15:34 ( stars)

46 of 48 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm Marvel is the new release in the High Performance line. Marvel has Symmetric Centripetal core with a 2000 grit finish. R2X Solid Reactive cover the same as Virtual Gravity so the Marvel will give you a strong roll in oil without losing backend reaction. The Marvel will be the ball for those tough lanes that you need help getting through the oil.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 01/17/2011 15:31 ( stars)

41 of 43 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Layout:
40 x 4 1/2 x 60
P2 hole
surface box


This is one of my favorite layouts for a benchmark ball. What really impressed me the most about this release was how smooth the ball responded from oil to dry. Normally on this layout I like to use a P3 or P4 hole but after I threw it without the weight hole I did not want to change the motion at all.

Testing this ball the Kegel Middle Road pattern I was able to play in the track area pretty well due to the smooth motion. I compared this ball to the new Victory Road and to the Roto Grip Theory. This ball fit in between the so well! The Theory was 3 and 2 left of the Marvel and the Victory Road was 3 and 3 right of it. This is going to be a excellent benchmark ball, probably one of the best I have had in a while.

I see this ball working for all players. If you are looking for a ball that will be the first ball out of your bag, the Marvel is definitively a ball to look into.

Jimmy Martin
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
River@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: cmsubowler 02/21/2011 13:43 ( stars)

39 of 39 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 

Hello all, thanks for reading and as always, please feel free to ask questions and comment back. Today we are reviewing the new Storm Marvel. A great addition to the Storm family re-introducing the Virtual Gravity Coverstock on the same proven core that was a part of the engine for the Prodigy. What does this mean for you????? The power of the Virtual Gravity in a no quit early rolling continuous symmetrical core. This review is based on the video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oblg5iCDjpc

The layout we used was 55 x 4.25 x 45 which is also the layout we have in the Prodigy shown in the video as well. As you can see from the video the Marvel starts out with a great mid-lane roll in the heaviest oiled part of the lane. If you plan on a tighter line this ball reads the end of the pattern easily without skidding through the breakpoint. As you push the ball further outside you can see the ball is much smoother around the corner but its tendency to continue through the breakpoint and through the pins is second to none. This ball is 4 to 6 boards stronger down lane than the Prodigy. The Prodigy gets through the front part of the lane much straighter and also maintains a strong backend arc. My overall move (feet and target) is 5 and 2 to the left when taking out the Marvel allowing me to open up the lane pattern.

Even though the video is show on a THS, the best Sport Patterns for this ball for me is the Chameleon, Scorpion and Viper. This ball allows me to maintain my ball speed on those patterns and not have to tweak speeds too much. I prefer throwing the ball harder and this ball allows me to do so. A great addition to my arsenal and it will be for you as well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: oldschoollefty 02/13/2011 15:13 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    238
Sport Shot Average    207
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 left 3/4 up
 
Storm Marvel review, TOC Edition:

This was my first Marvel, drilled off the truck in Las Vegas. I was also looking at a control drilling, something good on the fresh, so I decided on a dual angle layout, 55X45 with a 5 inch pin. This layout put the pin just above the ring finger, CG a half inch left of grip center and no weight hole. Box finish was unchanged.

In the practice session, I was able to pipe the ball up the 3/4 board with a very smooth midlane move and a heavy roll on the backend. Despite the relatively steep entry angle, this ball did a great job of taking out the corner pins, probably due to the fact the ball had transitioned so completely and was rolling so strongly at the pocket. Of course, being the flat pattern this was, there was little if any hold so grabbing the ball even a board or two meant going through the face and a good chance of leaving something with a 4-6 in it. Obviously, with a ball this strong, staying firm with every shot was a must.

Once the tournament began, I was surprised at how long I was able to stay with this ball. There were relatively few left handers in the Champions Round which probably had something to do with that. A slow migration to the right was sufficient until I got into the right handers laydown area and then a weaker ball was needed (2 Furious, Reign Supreme, Hy-Road). Surprisingly, when I got to the one game rolloff, that pair was tighter and I was able to go back to what has turned into my new benchmark ball, the Marvel. Corey Husted was pretty much unstoppable but I threw a respectable 215 with the Marvel and had a good look the whole game.

Bottom line, the Marvel is going to be a terrific heavy/long oil ball for league and tournament bowlers alike. The low RG core makes for a smooth early midlane transition and the R2X solid cover will help keep some speed dominant players from throwing the ball through the breakpoint. I haven't tinkered with the box finish yet (haven't needed to), but it looks to be easily tuneable for different surfaces and patterns. This ball would partner well with the Prodigy with the same weight block and pearl cover which helps get more push down the lane with a similar hook shape. By the way, I've had a chance to use this on a couple of house conditions with strong results too. Thank you again Storm!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: GudaG 01/29/2012 23:49 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    171
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
If this ball did not smell like chemical grape soda I would give it 5 stars. After bowling with my Black Widow Hammer for the last 2&1/2 years trying to get it to hook more, thinking it was me, changing my grip, and getting it re-drilled, I finally bought this Marvel. First time out I shot forty pins over my average without any extra effort. It gave me strikes that I rarely got with my Hammer and was easy to make adjustments right through the transition of the lanes. Using the Widow for spares and getting over 200 now seems easy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GudaG


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: UF Bowling 05/19/2012 12:03 ( stars)


 
I purchased the Marvel so that I would have an aggressive ball that hooks early. It appealed to me because I thought it would have smooth roll at the break point, something that I’ve been looking for in a bowling ball. The ball still seems to save more energy than I wanted on the backend. I’ve also noticed that it doesn’t seem to have much drive through the pins and I have to be very accurate with the ball, even on a house shot. Still a good ball but I would not suggest the drilling pattern that I have.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Townserp 12/19/2011 07:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    213
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
When Roto-Grip quit making the "Cell", I tried several different balls trying to find one with the same general specs. The Storm "Marvel" was precisely that ball. I am considered a stroker, but can play to tweener if needed. The Marvel is one hard hitting ball while at the same time keeps the pin action low to help carry corner pins. Works extremely well on medium oil patterns with a smooth arc for manageable control. I can not tell you the exact drilling pattern used on the ball, but I can say I've thrown several 700 series already this season. And to be on the safe side, I purchased 2 more for a rainy day. Try it, you'll love it too!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Townserp


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: unsteady 11/23/2011 10:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    204
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
works well on fresh oiled lanes

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 10/25/2011 17:26 ( stars)


 
The Storm Marvel wow what a ball.I recently drilled one for my self and was really amazed how great this ball is.You see i really don't bowl well with a dull ball.They usually roll out and hit like mush but not this one.This ball got down the lane pretty well made the turn and continued right threw the the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Evanbowler300 09/26/2011 17:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    206
Sport Shot Average    179
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 X 3/4
 
The Storm Marvel is good on medium, medium-heavy, and heavy oil conditions.

I LOVE IT! Because...
- I can play angular with it or straight if I choose
- gets great backend
- can get a high rev rate with the help of turbo 2-N-1 Grips.
- like it with 2000 Grit Abralon.
- Aggressive when I'm looking for it to be on heavy oil ;)
- When I throw it right its good
- Gets away with mistakes frequently
- A good ball and hoping to get the pearlized version along with it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Evanbowler300


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Evanbowler300 07/28/2011 10:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    206
Sport Shot Average    179
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 X 3/4
 
I like this ball for heavy oil, I'm a bowler with 290-340 revs and ball speed around 15-16 mph. Me and my dad agree that i had some of the best looking strikes, with unbelieveable pin action, it creates so much energy that i took out the 7 pin with messangers with ease, it hits like a truck. I can also get away with some mistakes which makes a ball good. this does that. Im not bowling quite my average, because im still figuring out how it hooks and where to stand

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Evanbowler300


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Evanbowler300 07/28/2011 10:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    206
Sport Shot Average    179
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 X 3/4
 
Im a Left-handed bowler with about 280-340 revs and my ball speed is around 15-16 mph,
The Storm Marvel is a great ball for medium-heavy lane conditions, i used it on a shark, and it hits like a truck! Its strong in the mid-lane and is very violent in the back. I like the pin above my holes and a little to the left of my holes, the pin-pap is about 3" and has good continuous motion in hooking. for me i play around 2nd & 3rd arrow with it on a house shot or just 2nd arrow. I have at 2000G abralon, and i will also try it polished i only have 10 games and i see it as my wet-lane ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Evanbowler300


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Jqwerty 07/14/2011 20:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I got the Marvel a few months back but only drilled it recently. I decided on Layout 2 (from Storm which is also layout #2 on bowlingball.com) with the MC2 on my VAL. I chose this so I could get an earlier read with a continuous backend motion.

First of all, I was expecting this ball to hook a lot, similar to my C-System 3.5 when it was brand new. Although this ball has a higher perfect scale rating, so far the ball has not hooked as much as I expected. When I slowed my ball speed down I was able to get a decent amount of hook out of the ball with the motion I wanted, and when I threw it at normal speed and moved outside I was able to get a strong reaction, but this was neither what I expected nor what I wanted from this ball/layout combination.

I got the ball and drilled it mainly for longer oil patterns, so I will try it out some more. It doesn't seem to be a bad ball, but usually the ball looks and reacts the best for me right out of the box, so to be disappointed by the reaction this early may not be a good sign.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: caseyccg 04/12/2011 21:41 ( stars)


 
Location: Enterprise Park Lanes

Pattern: Modified House Pattern
Oil to 38 feet, buff to 43
Approx. Ratio 6:1

Surface: Brunswick Pro Anvilane

Bowler Stats: PAP 4 5/8 straight across
375-400 RPM
16 MPH

Layouts: Dual Angle Layout 50, 5 ½, 35 (pin above and between
fingers, MB out from thumb 1 inch, hole on the axis)

The Marvel is an early rolling, smooth, strong ball from Storm. I bowled on a very flat house pattern and the Marvel got to the breakpoint with ease and made a very predictable move. Compared to the Prodigy the Marvel rolls considerably sooner and creates more roll off the breakpoint. I was able to play 15 to 8 with a very predictable and continuous motion at the breakpoint. Where the Prodigy has a tendency to go past the breakpoint and come in behind the headpin, the Marvel will blend out. The Marvel cover is very strong and should handle a large to medium volume of oil. On some medium or broken down patterns the Marvel might roll too strong in the front part of the lane and will lose energy in the back. On longer patterns, flatter patterns, or high volume patterns, the Marvel will be a great match for a strong and predictable motion.

Casey Murphy
Storm Staffer


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:45 ( stars)


 

I purchased this ball to use out of the bag for heavier oil. I’m a
left-handed bowler throwing 14 pounds at about 13 mph and was drilled
pin up. I've consistently designated it's use to go long with smooth
arc on the back end and is used almost always as my morning ball. This
ball goes pretty cleanly midlane, with swift back end reaction. I've
never used a ball that has been able to easily be switched from my
comfort zone (2nd arrow) to farther outside if the situation called for
it, always coming back. By far one of the best investments in Storm
equipment I have made.

Melanie Gonzalez
UF Bowling


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:44 ( stars)


 
With only a 2Fast and 2Furious, I was a sinking ship drowning on the heavier oil patterns. I was called the after-lunch specialist at tournaments since I was great on drier patterns once the oil had broken down, while everyone else was struggling to get their balls to push down the lane. But before lunch with a heavy, fresh layer of oil, my balls were the equivalent of spare balls. So I got a Marvel to change that, which it certainly did.

All the way to the midlane, the Marvel would react a bit like my 2Furious, moving a smidge, showing it's chomping at the bit to carry to the pocket in the back end. But on the heavier patterns, my 2Furious just wouldn't be able to reach the pocket. The Marvel fits this heavy-oil niche perfectly, snapping to the pocket beautifully. Often I throw a little too far right of my mark. If I were throwing my 2Furious, it would be a goner. But somehow, the Marvel manages to find enough energy to make it back to the pocket, surprising me every time. My pro shop actually told me that I'm “not allowed” to use it on lighter oil patterns because of the hook potential it keeps stored up. Thanks to the Marvel (combined with the 2Furious), I can compete on any oil pattern.

Josh Longerbeam
UF Bowling


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:43 ( stars)


 
The Marvel is the first upper level ball that I have ever purchased. It was absolutely the best decision and choice of ball that I could have made. Taking 2 years off, getting back into bowling is difficult. With the addition of the Marvel to my collection, I have been able to improve to a level higher than I was before my time off. I have been able to experiment with hand positions, target lines, and use of the ball for a strike/spare. The Marvel is a wonderful ball for any bowler looking to improve their game to a more constant level. As I am still learning how the ball works and reacts, I can’t exactly pinpoint where my game has improved, but I can tell that I am becoming more consistent by learning the read the ball on the lanes. I would definitely recommend the Marvel if anyone asked, and am beyond grateful to Storm for the opportunity to purchase and use the equipment that I have gotten.

Tera Demkowicz
UF Bowling


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 04/05/2011 02:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
Prodogy was a great succes plus a great ball for bolwers all over.Marvel for me gives me a greater performance in those medium and longer house patters and sport patterns.Marvel for me give me a complet controle type look threw the intire lane with pretty desent backend reaction.Any body who drilled the prodogy will definitly have to drill the marvel.Great colours and smells great to.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: shop_a_holic_kerri@yahoo.com 03/29/2011 18:02 ( stars)


 
Awesome ball... Hits like a tank crushes them! Great reaction on the lane good for heavier oil conditions


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by shop_a_holic_kerri@yahoo.com


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: tq14tq@yahoo.com 03/21/2011 11:18 ( stars)


 
My first new ball in 6 years so I stayed with the brand I trust - Storm...this ball lives up to all of its fantastic reviews. I bowl in a weekly men's league and had this ball drilled the afternoon of our evening league. The thumb was a little snug but the tech that drilled the ball said to try it first before making the thumbhole larger...well, the ball did stick on my thumb and I had a 158 my first game. After having the hole widened just a bit, I bowled a 208 and 209 my last two games. This ball is made for going long then diving into the pins...once you determine ball speed and placement, the ball does all the rest! Excellent ball - highly recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tq14tq@yahoo.com


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Mr.Strike 03/20/2011 19:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Absolutely love this ball! Its great has a smooth continuous motion and it reads the midlane well. It also has great pin carry, I think i've thrown more messengers with it than any other ball. If you dont have one i highly recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mr.Strike


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Trudell 03/02/2011 18:40 ( stars)


 
Storm Marvel Review by staff member Billy Trudell.

The Marvel is Storms newest master line release using the 2.48 RG, 0.050 differential Centripetal core found originally in the Prodigy. Wrapped around the Centripetal core is the same successful coverstock that was found on the original Virtual Gravity, the R2X solid. Storms overall intent of this ball was to give the driller a very user friendly design, which maintained reaction and consistency into the pocket at a variety of layout options in heavier volumes of oil. This in turn is great for all bowlers. The centripetal revs up strong nice and early and mixed with the R2X coverstock delivers a strong midlane read and a smooth controllable ball reaction at the break point.
The bowling ball that I received came with a 4 inch pin to cg. The ball also had 3.38 ounces of top weight as well. The lay out I decided to go with was a 5x4 lay out. The pin sits about an inch above my ring finger and the CG is sitting about an inch and a half or so from my mid line. I weighed the ball and realized I was going to need a hole. There was about 1.5 ounces of side weight. So after drilling I went and threw it on a fresh house shot. I have not drilled the weight hole yet how ever. After a few shots and seeing how the ball was reacting and knowing I needed the hole I came to the decision to use a hole on my axis point. The hole size I went with was an inch wide. I found after the hole my Marvel handled the mid lane strong and gave me a strong controlled breakpoint that constantly got to pocket and hit the pins back, the ball didn’t deflect pins all through the air.
Overall the marvel is a perfect ball for all types of bowlers who are looking for a ball that can handle medium to heavy volumes of oil.

My specs-
Hand- right
Rev rate- 300
speed- 16mph
PAP 5 ¼ right by ½ inch up.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Trudell


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: aznscionfury@aol.com 01/28/2011 18:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    204
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Great ball! The feel and look down the lanes is phenomenal. I would recommend this ball to my friends that bowl. Changing from Brunswick over to Storm and Roto Grip. I would say to anyone else that is thinking about Storm products this ball is one I would recommend to have in your arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 02/01/2011 13:52 ( stars)

28 of 28 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I drilled a Storm Marvel for a customer who was looking for a ball the would give him more hook in the mid-lane. Drilled with the pin 4 1/2 from pap with with a 3" buffer. The reaction that he got was clean thru the head strong roll in the mid-lane with a continuous back end motion.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: kkiteering 03/03/2011 20:47 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I haven't had a ball read the heads and midlanes like this since the Hammer back in the old days did on short oil. Baby I am back. Using the layout that Mike J recommended from bowlingball.com I came out gunning and shot a 5 year high 778. Love the ball and it rolls great. Thanks all. I will be back.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kkiteering


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: mike111 01/22/2011 23:31 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I just got it tonight and I only have three games on it, but it seems like a winner. It starts up earlier than the Prodigy, but has great drive and continuation on the back end. Not surprisingly, it's shape down the lane looks similar to a virtual gravity. It's strong, but not the least bit jumpy. In a limited sample it seems to carry well. I got strikes when I deserved them and a few that I didn't. Mine was drilled 5 1/2 by 3 with a hole in the PAP. It smells like bubble yum (if I were buying on smell the victory road wins that competition). I look forward to rolling it again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mike111


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: ccrobinson1488@comcast.net 03/25/2011 15:15 ( stars)


 
Out of the three ball that I purchased last week this by far is my favorite. The Marvel is a great ball. I previously owned the Prodigy a great ball as well but when it came to playing inside I found myself leaving weak 10 pins. With the Marvel I had no problem at all. I had it drilled pin down to give it a early and smooth but strong backend reaction. So I got the chance to throw it in league. The Marvel gave me a similar reaction as my Prodigy but stronger. As I moved inside the ball remained the same. Even missing my mark the ball was still able to recover and make its move. I was able to get a lot more pin carry with the Marvel compared to my Prodigy. This is a great ball from storm and suggest that you get one as well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ccrobinson1488@comcast.net


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: 001-st311 02/05/2011 08:54 ( stars)


 
For me the Marvel is a stronger version of the Prodigy. They both have the same core but the Marvel has the old Virtual Gravity cover which makes the Marvel much stronger. It has a smooth look down lane but has a strong finish at the end. It gets through the heads well with the 2000 abralon surface and reads the mid lane pretty fast but still has a continuous motion on the backend. It is a good ball for the fresh for league or a tournament. It reminds me of the Virtual Gravity but smoother because of the core dynamic. I bowled in Dublin for the Earl Anthony PBA tour stop and use the Marvel on certain pairs when I needed a smoother look down lane. It’s a MARVELOUS ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Marvel Reviewed By: stst-league 01/05/2011 18:47 ( stars)


 
The storm marvel is a great addition to the storm line. This ball ball will be excellent on medium-heavy house patterns/ sport shots. The drilling I chose is the same layout I have on my invasion. The invasion is about 3-5 boards stronger throughout the lane. But this ball definitly is a step above the prodigy. From my great experiences with storm this ball rolls very similar to the original dimension. This ball reads the pattern early but very smooth an continuous throughout the lane. I only have a few games on the ball on a fresh house pattern 42 ft. I was able to use this ball for about 2 games until the oil got carried down and the ball started giving me over under. I will add onto this review as I roll the ball on some pba patterns and also different house shots and surface changes.

Drilling: 4 1/2 x 3 3/4 x 3 x-hole located in p2


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 32 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter