Go to Hammer Taboo »

Only show reviews for Hammer Taboo

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.18Write a Review    Read all 22 reviews

I Love It
 
59% (13 of 22)
I Like It
 
14% (3 of 22)
It's Ok
 
14% (3 of 22)
I Don't Like It
 
14% (3 of 22)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 22)

Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: WJH127 01/15/2011 11:22 ( stars)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Style    Tweener
 
Awesome Ball!! I was shocked...I raised my scores over 30 pins every game...its like it has a magnet to the head pin!!! No matter if i was off a couple boards even,It still hit the pocket and destroyed the pins!! Unbelievale! I love it and cant wait to use it every week!!!!
HIGHLY Recomended!!!!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by WJH127


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: cji8385 12/21/2010 00:07 ( stars)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    201
Sport Shot Average    193
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I like the Taboo. I have mine laid out for a typical house shot. I altered the cover stock to 1000 dull. This ball rolls real smooth down the lane and it replaced two balls in my bowling bag. The reason it got a 4 out of 5 is because Hammer could have done better, the ball remindes me of the black widow. The new cover stock coloring was in the right direction for something new. Hammer should sell a few of these because of bowlers buying balls just for looks. Well at least I like this ball alot better than the Black Widow Nasty. If Hammer was thinking they should of named this ball the Black Widow Nasty instead of the Taboo and Named the Black Widow Nasty the Taboo. Well lets wait and see what Hammer comes out with next.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cji8385


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: b hammer time opp 12/21/2010 19:49 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball is great in oil! I was throwing the pure physics and was having trouble getting ball back to hole in oil..(I do throw a pretty fast ball) but was just struggling in oily conditions. I got this ball and moved 5 n 4 left and ball still was driving. The ball just dont stop hooking!! LOVE THIS BALL...its well worth the money!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: donspo 03/19/2011 10:40 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Right Handed
Advanced Experience
Average 205
Tweener


I thought I would write this review since most of what I read is "this is the best ball EVER"!! A couple of my friends bought this ball and I jumped on the wagon. I was looking for a ball with a lot more hook to play on lanes with heavy oil right after dressing. I was looking at the Infinite Theory, the Virtual Gravity Nano, and the Tabu. With the advertising you would believe you can't keep the ball on the right side of the rack. This is not the case. I had the ball drilled skid / flip (pin over the ring finger) and found the ball at 2000 surface out of the box did not hook as much as some of my older balls. The ball went longer and it was hard to maintain the back end flip at my higher speeds (above 16 mph). If I maintain the ball speed a bit slower (around 15 mph) the ball performs fairly well and gets better continous motion (I start at about 28 board and throw to 10). Taking the ball more down the middle line isn't a bad shot since the late flip drives a good angle through the pocket with good carry. I should have looked a little closer at the drilling patterns to consider a stronger layout and may still take if back for a plug re-drill. The pattern out of the box is for Hammer asymmetric cores, so it's not Tabu specific. I hope this is a more unbiased position and not meant to indicate the ball isn't nice, just pay attention to your rev rate, speed, and lane play when considering this ball. This is the first Hammer I've ever owned. I think they're a good product.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: Mike13 01/24/2011 23:06 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    202
Sport Shot Average    186
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Just picked this ball up and I love it. I really liked the widow stuff and this really is a widow. I was able to pick it up for a great deal at my pro-shop (sorry). The coverstock and core the two main factors in ball reaction (besides the bowlers) and this is an awesome one. This ball needs oil, and I had play really deep on a ths on wood lanes. I also played with it on a longer shot on synthetic lanes and had no trouble. Love this new converstock, always loved the widow. Not sure why the price is what it is, but like I said I got mine drilled with inserts for not much more than you see this ball advertised for here and elsewhere.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mike13


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: stingcorner8 12/25/2010 00:44 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
First of all, this ball is the best ball in my arsenal now. My grandma got me this ball for Christmas because I am going to Las Vegas to bowl in the Las Vegas Main Event. Hammer Taboo has the sharpest back end snap out of all my balls! I am part of the Junior Bowler's Tour and usually in large tournaments like this one, they usually do not tell you what oil pattern they put out for that tournament. So last Wednesday, my coach put out an oil pattern for us to practice on before the Vegas Tournament (Which was the Shark oil pattern). Shark... is not my best pattern (o.k. it's my worst) only because I am a stroker and play closer to the 1st to 2nd arrow. But somehow this ball was consistently in the pocket! I stood on the third dot (15th board) and shot in between 2nd and 3rd arrow and just when you think it is just going to slide right by the head pin, it creates the sharpest back end snap you have ever seen! For my 8 game series: 231, 220, 215, 232, 243, 211, 189, and 249! This ball works phenomenally on any of the 5 animal named PBA oil patterns and your typical house shot. I would definitely recommend this ball to anyone that has a pulse! Besides, if you don't believe I would recommend this ball, just watch me win the Las Vegas Main Event with it!



About The Bowler:
bowls: left handed
league average: 201
style: smooth stroker
age: 15
name: Adam Seligman


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by stingcorner8


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: chaoticbaits 12/15/2011 14:20 ( stars)


 
I bought the first Taboo when it came out and when i saw a free ball deal with the new taboo I jumped at it although I haven't got the spare ball yet (3rd week since I sent it in) .The new taboo came in and I had it drilled with pin 5 1/2" from the positive axis point with Mass Bias in the strong position and no balance hole. after 3-4 games of getting dialed in and finding that this ball loves heavy fresh oil I was scoring 220-240 (typically avg 169). I also love how you can really open up the lane I start my series laying down around the 20 board aiming for the 10 pin and it crashes the pocket hard. Rolled my first ever 300 game two weeks after I got it and just qualified for AMF pins over average tournament 257,212,255 by 217 pins over average!
Highly recommend!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: freefleet61@yahoo.com 11/17/2011 12:02 ( stars)


 
I was told that this ball would trun hard and charge the pocket. I also was told this ball is the best Hammer has to offer for a lefty full roller. It has lived up to every thing the manufactor stated. i have rolled above my average in two different leagues. I really like this ball and would recomend it to any full roller.

Tom C.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: rcschott@gmail.com 08/20/2011 12:02 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    212
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/2 over, 0 up/dn
 
I love the Taboo. It's not a ball I can use all the time, it definitely needs some oil (ok, lots) but when I can use it, it carries better than anything else I own. Couple weeks ago I had my best-ever night with it, 299/803. I used it for every single shot that night... didn't need my plastic ball because I didn't leave any ten pins... at all. It's a good ball people, but you do have to throw it well for it to work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rcschott@gmail.com


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: jamoXDlemon 05/03/2011 23:28 ( stars)


 
After bowling a tournament with my Raw Hammer Burn, I realized that I needed a ball that would react like my burn in many ways, but much stronger. This ball did just that. I bowled my first 3 300's within a week of getting it. No one has the right to rate this ball under 5.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: FVP455 04/09/2011 16:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!!!! I have been a loyal Hammer owner and can't tell you how disappointing this ball is. I drilled this ball pin under left it box cover to handle heavier oil patters. This ball went straight as a lawn dart! Changed cover then the ball worked ok but only on medium to dryer patterns. My HAMMER PLAGUE is twice the ball. Having the ball re drilled. I hope to be able to change my opinion but as for now its a stinker.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by FVP455


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: BadassTommyV 03/08/2011 03:38 ( stars)


 
Anyone who would compare this to the Black Widow is a hack and a moron.

The Balck widow never had the kind of back end reaction this ball has. If there is a stronger ball on the market, show it to me because it sure isn't available in pro shops.

Storm has nothing this viscious.

When thrown properly, as a lefty, this balls has virtually eliminated my 7 pin taps. The last 5 weeks of league play I have left a total of 2, 7 pins.

This is the baddest ass ball available today, Bar none.

And what about this doofus saying his balls is laid out for a house shot? Good grief, what the hell does layout have to do with a typical house shot. Any layout will blow up a house shot.

Some of these responses are idiotic.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BadassTommyV


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: FSUbowlerjb 02/22/2011 10:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    224
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 x 1/4 up
 
Ball weight: 16lbs.
Pin to cg distance: 5 1/4 in
Layout: 4x4 with 2" pin buffer
Surface: 2000 (oob)
Desired reaction: I was looking for something a little more versatile than the Jigsaw Corner and more backend than my Plague. I wanted the Taboo to be strong throughout the lane and for collegiate sport patterns.
Reaction: This ball is strong. I received the exact reaction I was looking for and then some. The cover is very versatile and handles surface changes extremely well, just as Hammer preaches. I was able to use this ball on a 39ft. heavy volume (34mls) flat pattern and the ball had endless energy and backend. The ball consistently read the breakpoint and was explosive at the pins. I never had to worry about this ball making the corner. Also was able to use it on 46 feet and it just helped me to open the lane up and continued to show how strong the ball truly is.
Overall the Taboo is another great addition to Hammer's product line. I did not have a chance to throw the original black widow but I am positive that it was not this strong. The Taboo is a great ball and well worth the price for it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by FSUbowlerjb


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: 2ndyearbowler 02/15/2011 22:32 ( stars)


 
I've been bowling for 5 years now and this is my first year at Saginaw Valley for bowling, seeing as we're sponsored by hammer and this ball seems to be the one to get, i just had to try it. I got a 2-3" taboo with a stacked leverage. pin drilled under my ring finger and the mass bias kicked out. I love this ball, until i got this the plague was my strongest piece. The taboo allows me to start 7 deeper with my feet and 4 left at the arrows. It rolls nice and evenly with good mid lane. I don't know if this ball would be great on a US open, but i think it'll be fine on chameleon and scorpion.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2ndyearbowler


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: ecwkid1278@yahoo.com 01/18/2011 18:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
first off this ball is amazing. When i bought i thought great another black widow sting but well it isnt and it is far more consistant becouse i found the widow really speed sensitive but with this new grand theft coverstock it has a real controllable roll and ball motion.So overall i highly recomend that you buy this ball.finally Hammer bowling make anotherone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ecwkid1278@yahoo.com


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: jboyajian 01/11/2011 07:06 ( stars)


 
I just drilled up my Taboo to find out what all the hype was about. It is basically a souped up version of the Black Widow Solid. It reacts much better and gets to the back end a lot cleaner. Great ball for many of the high oil sports shots!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: Bezell846 12/28/2010 14:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    211
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
all i have to say is thank you hammer. This ball is so smooth through the front of the lane but as soon as it hits the break point and makes its move it just keeps on driving...this ball hits really well and carry is amazing. i highly recommend this ball to anyone and all styles!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: Pba !&&justcause 11/22/2010 21:33 ( stars)

73 of 80 people found this review helpful.


 
I spent the entire week in Vegas watching these guys bowl. I may have even participated. I am most disappointed in the way this ball is being "spun" to the consumer. Is it a good ball, I would think so. Did Eugene McCune set a all-time record with this ball, nope. I never saw him throw this ball except for spares. He was offered a payoff to use the ball on TV. That is OK because that is business. But if you seen any BS about this ball being part of a record it is a lie. The Hammer Black Widow core was great, but how many years ago was that. Ebonite and Hammer can't come up with anything new. Resurface your old Hammer Black Widow and you will not be far off from this. What will be far off is the new Elite type price point. LOL. Save your money and do your home work before you buy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: HHcus74 12/17/2010 13:20 ( stars)

26 of 27 people found this review helpful.


 
I bought one of these used from a friend. That's right used. He threw it 10 games, said he didn't need another Black Widow in his bag. I was hesitant to buy it because I can really find any non-jaded information out there.

The ball rolls good for me and I don't have any complains. Of course I did move from a 1990's ball and I think anything would have done that for me.

Bottom line it's good but at that price no way is it the best bargain in the store. Not even close. Don't know why this ball was so expensive makes no sense when you can save an easy $20-$35 and get just about any other manufacturers ball.

I liked the roll so I give it a 4. If I added the full retail price, which I did not pay, I would give it a 3 or 2.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: henrickS 01/25/2011 21:41 ( stars)


 
Even though I like the ball I give it a 3 because of price. I paid 150.00 for my Black Widow and 210.00 for this ball. They roll exactly the same which is good but to buy old technology with nothing really new added at this price was I thought a bit greedy, especially considering the economy. It will be my last Hammer purchase. Plus bowlingball.com drills all my stuff and I had to have my local shop drill it. After waiting for an hour, he showed up late, he missed the span and had to plug the thumb.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: stenchworks 01/13/2011 14:16 ( stars)


 
I will get right to the heart of my review. I like the ball. But then again just about any ball will react pretty good on most house shots. The fact that this is pretty much a black widow at a new HIGHER price point pisses me off. In these economy times honesty to your loyal brand is important. I am done with Hammer. Goodbye Hammer. Love my Storm stuff so I am moving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Reviewed By: tennewill 12/28/2010 19:47 ( stars)


 
The balls roll well and I bowled my normal score but I think this somehow got into the wrong price point. I wish I would have done more research. This ball is good but for the money I could have upgraded to something with a little more hook.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 22 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter