Go to Roto Grip Nomad Dagger »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Nomad Dagger

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.91Write a Review    Read all 32 reviews

I Love It
 
91% (29 of 32)
I Like It
 
9% (3 of 32)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 32)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 32)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 32)

Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 12/02/2010 15:02 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4.25"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
Balance Hole - On PAP
Dual Angle Layout - 30° x 4.25" x 50°

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit polished)

I was impressed while shooting our video for the Roto Grip Dagger. It's pearlized coversock gets it downlane with a ton of energy for the backend.

However, I then took it to league with me. I started the night with the Roto Grip Theory . I figured I would transition to the Dagger as the lanes broke down. I mean, it's a quote-unquote lower performance bowling ball than the Threory, right? Holy cow, this bowling ball hooks almost as much as the Theory. Ok, It doesn't cover quite as many boards, but the motion is ALL backend.

If you're looking for a great performance at a great price, take a look at the Nomad Dagger. I was more impressed the second time I tried it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/23/2010 17:12 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Nomad Dagger is the new release in the Sword line.The Dagger has Hybrid Reactive coverstock with the Rotary Core.We drilled one today for a customer that is 72 but he rolls like he is 40 and why I bring this up is wow does this ball gives you roll in the front and a strong flip in the backend.Our customer loves the Roto line and the Nomad Dagger gave him what he was missing skid with great backend.When it is posted take a look at our Staff guy Jimmy Martin ROLL THE DAGGER.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 11/27/2010 12:49 ( stars)


 
The new ball in the Sword line is the Nomad Dagger. This ball has a 188.7 perfect scale rating and is in the advanced performance category on this site. The Nomad Dagger uses the new Ultra Vision Hybrid cover on the already proven Rotary core. This ball will generate length down the lane and have a strong recovery at the break point. The Nomad Dagger was developed to work well on medium volume patterns or any condition that you need the ball to get down the lane before it moves to the pocket. The overall ball motion is clean through the front, mid lane revs, and a strong move at the break point. If you are looking for a ball that will give you a strong mid lane and even stronger recovery at the break point than you should consider the Nomad Dagger.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: samuel0405 09/18/2012 17:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Roto Grip and Storm are the best

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by samuel0405


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: mike.ruth.lowe@gmail.com 07/12/2011 13:26 ( stars)


 
Very impressed by this ball. Has only been used on the Chameleon pattern by a low speed, low tilt stroker. Energy retention and pin action is amazing. I feel this ball with it's hybrid cover and strong symmetrical core can be utilized by many bowlers if the layout and cover preparation are matched to their game. Highly recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mike.ruth.lowe@gmail.com


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: Zdiver101@hotmail.com 03/18/2011 20:06 ( stars)


 
I like the ball, has more hook than the one I was using, so there are adjustments to,be made ,but I like the action. Recommended.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Zdiver101@hotmail.com


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: mstrbowler20@sbcglobal.net 02/04/2011 19:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4-1/2 over 1/8 up
 
I needed something that would get through broken down, hooking heads and still recover. This ball is what I've been looking for. Drilled it with a pin to pap of 5-1/2".

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: reddogg 01/29/2011 01:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I had my dagger layed out with a 4 1/2 x 4 which put the pin under my ring finger with the cg kicked out to the right. I knew i was gonna like this ball because the nomad solid has been one of my favorites since it came out. I bowled in a tournament last weekend, pulled out the dagger and ended up shooting a 299 the first game ending with a 759 set and taking second place. Then 3 days later my first game in league the dagger came through and carried all 12 strikes for a 300 game.I love the consistancy and the versitlity of this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by reddogg


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: bigcall 01/12/2011 15:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    199
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I figured it was about time to upgrade from the 80's with my AMF Angle and original Hammer as my arsenal.
I had not bowled in a league since 1991, but used to carry a 192 average back in the day, so I was certainly very rusty as I looked to get back in the groove. I'm not sure if it was the new lane surfaces, oil patterns, my skills or the worn out urethane but I really struggled to get the ball to react as I wanted to hit the pocket consistently. As many do I suppose, my conclusion was it must be the ball - right?
To that end, I spent a lot of time looking for a good ball to re-enter the sport after my extended hiatus of ~19 years. The Dagger seemed to be the one, nothing too strong but not a lightweight either. I finally bit the bullet and picked one up last week.
Had it drilled up as close as possible to my veteran layout as possible and shot a 627 out of the gate with each game getting progressively better.
I would categorize myself as a cranker given my roots of learning to bowl with plastic, but I've mellowed over the years (plus I'm not sure my wrist could take it any more). I would say the shot I had with the new Dagger was more of a tweener, but it reacted stronger than my cranking the Angle ever could. Laid it down at 15 out to 5 and watched it roar back in after going long. Wow! I'm now excited about bowling again and my son is starting to share the enthusiam as he learns more about the game also.

Two thumbs up from me!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bigcall


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: moshock 01/11/2011 18:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I bought this ball to replace my Hammer Blade that i have had for over 10 years. I bowl in a league on a weekly bases, and also bowl in several tournaments throughout the year. My ball speed is around 16 and i usually aim between the 2 and 3 arrow depending on the lane conditions. I'm getting up there in years and I was worried about the new balls breaking to much for me. I researched many balls on the market, and chose the Dagger because it seemed similar to what i was use to. I've bowled with it a few time and I think I'm really going to love it. It rolls down the lane smooth, and when it hits the break point it make a strong controlled move to the pocket. Even when the lane started to break down, I only had to move a few boards left. I encourage anyone to buy this ball, and bowlingball.com made it easy. I've bought several things from this site and have not been disapointed yet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 12/24/2010 01:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
Y throw anything else when you can throw a dagger.The new midline release the nomad dagger is a great ball between the other 2 nomads in the line up,same core but just hybrid coverstock.With the new hybired coverstock this ball cleans the fronts and the midlane so clean the any other ball and down lane real strong motion not like skid flip more like skit but super stong arc.Drilled mine 5x5 and i love this ball i liove the solid and pearl but this fits great in my bag,one of my go to balls now for sure.So for you people out there who have the first 2 nomads,you must add this one to that line of balls in your bag. This is a ball you would want to throw.And to let you know this ball daggers right threw those pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: L.Hoffman 12/20/2010 12:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Same drilling as my Theory for this LH Senior Storker...3 inch pin.. W/pin above and one inch left of ring finger....The Ultra Hybred Cover goes long with a back end flip similar to the original Nomad, but a little stronger......I Had the box condition taken down to 1,000 with scotch brite using clean & dull & hook it for use on Sport condition league...I could go long out side 1st arrow and get a great reaction out of the Rotary Weight Flip for the Nomad carry....Try this surface for a Mid-Priced Ball on Mid- Heavy oil conditions...Larry Hoffman, RG Advisory Staff

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by L.Hoffman


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: cmsubowler 12/19/2010 23:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Welcome back for the Nomad Dagger review. Thank you to all for your feedback and Thank You Roto Grip for another hit.

Please view the video here ..... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hawkyBbYIqM

Those of you who view the video thank you but please allow me to mention, I was not throwing the ball particularly well on this day as I was recovering from the flu at the time. You almost wouldn't know it though because this ball is great. Using one of my favorite drilling patterns 60 x 4.5 x 65 this ball makes it easy to succeed. I compared this ball with the original Nomad Pearl(a personal favorite of mine). The hybrid solid/pearl coverstock used for the Dagger allowed me to open the lane up just that little bit more which is needed on some heavier oil conditions. This ball matches up best when the pearl is too long and the solid is too smooth around the corner to create enough entry angle. While the hybrids are supposed to give the best of both worlds and sometimes fall short, this one is definately a success. I usually change surfaces quite a bit prior to a review but with this ball I really didn't have to. Medium to high gloss were the only changes I made as I had no reason to try it dull. This is truly a benchmark ball which I can use on drier conditions moving further in or heavier oil conditions moving further outside towards the drier boards. Excellent ball on sport shots to help smooth out the back part of the lanes. This rotary core is awesome and this will be a great ball for a long time.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: kingpinwoods 12/19/2010 15:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4" over and 1/4" up
 
WOW!!!! enough said. When I first heard of the release of this ball, I really got excited. I've watched several of my friends throwing the Hy-Road and I really liked the reaction of it. I got mine and bowled on a 39' house shot. I started with the ball factory finish and was playing up the gutter with medium speed. The ball just floated through the fronts with a STRONG ANGULAR backend movement. As the outside started drying out, I just kept on moving left and the ball never started hooking early and the movement down lane was strong. This ball was kicking ten pins to the middle from every angle I tried. So then I took a used 4000 abralon and hand sanded it. That made all of the difference in the world. Still clean through the fronts, strong in the mid-lane and smooth but continuous on the backend!! I then bowled on the Cheetah pattern and it really looked good on it. It never read too early and the movement down lane was predictable and consistent. This ball is a must, a great benchmark ball.
Thanks to Hank and everyone at Roto Grip for producing the best balls in bowling!!!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kingpinwoods


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: coldspyder300@yahoo.com 12/15/2010 15:24 ( stars)


 
I GOT THE BALL LAST WEEK.I DRILLED IT WITH CG KICKED TO THE LEFT WITH PIN IN RING FINGER.IM THROWING IT WITH LOTS OF REV AND AROUND 18.5 SPEED.TYPICAL HOUSE SHOT. FIRST GAME I WAS 15 AND 6 BOARD AND IT WAS POUNDING THE POCKET. I MOVED TO 20 AND 6 AND STILL POUNDING IT. THEN I MOVED TO 30 AND 6 AND IT WAS STILL CARRYING. WOW I LOVE THIS BALL. SHOT 765 FIRST 3 GAMES OF LEAGUE AND NO PRACTICE WITH IT. THIS BALL KILLS THE PINS.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: Mr Scary 12/15/2010 14:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
PAP    4 3/4 X 5/8 up
 
50 Deg. Drill Angle, 4” pin to PAP, 70 Deg. Angle to VAL, Hit the ball with 2000 to knock off the shine a bit.

This ball is a great fill in between the Dark Star and the Mutant Cell Pearl. Being a hybrid makes it very playable on almost any condition. With this drilling it starts up earlier and makes the sport conditions play somewhat easier. I enjoy throwing this ball brings back memories of the Silver Streak line. Check out the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GCHLrM9nk7g&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mr Scary


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: clashbowler09 12/13/2010 15:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This ball is a great complement to the original Nomad. Out of box, this ball was clean through the front part of the lane, saving its energy for the back end. It had a strong arc that hit the pocket hard. I’ve had the most success with this ball during transition and/or breakdown during league. It gave me the best read as far as predictability during the drastic changes the lanes were making. I would recommend this ball for anyone who needs a GO TO ball during transitions.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by clashbowler09


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: BUCKO THE BOWLER 12/13/2010 00:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    not set
 
This ball is exactly of what you think it is. It is a combination of the Nomad Solid and Pearl put together. The great mid lane reaction of the Nomad Solid with the hard snap and continuation through the pocket of the Nomad Pearl is what this ball is. If the Pearl snapped at the back end and went to long for you and the Solid read the lane to early and didn’t have enough snap on the back end, than this ball is great for you. It works well on wood and synthetic lanes. In my opinion, it is a great ball.

My specs: 5-1/2 x 3-1/2 with 2 inch buffer and dual angle 40x5-1/2x30 – the pin is above the fingers in the middle


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BUCKO THE BOWLER


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: AJensen 12/12/2010 18:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    235
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 over
 
I driled my Nomad Dagger the same as my Nomad and Nomad Pearl. With a 5x3 drill patern. This 5x3 drill has the pin under ring and the cg kicked out with a hole down low.
In doing so it has given me a great arsenal. The Nomad Dagger gets through the heads very clean giving it plenty of energy to stab through the heart of the one three pocket. I have had messengers but this Nomad Dagger puts a new meaning to punishment.
I can play up and in our move way in and curve it.
The Nomad Dagger completes the arsenal of Nomad's. With the three Nomads in your bag, you'll be unstopable!

Andrew Jensen (AJ)
Roto Grip Staffer
rotogrip.com
rotogear.com
kelleysproshop.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AJensen


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: MSUHoss300 12/07/2010 12:21 ( stars)


 
This is honestly the best ball I have drilled in my 3 years with Roto Grip. I drilled a really low pin under my middle finger, big shift with a hole down. This ball is unbelievable, it clears the front of the lane easier then any ball in our line. The problem I've had is the balls that I get to clear the front of the lane either blow through the mid-lane or over hook down lane. This ball is exactly what i have been looking for for 3 years. It makes a strong controllable move down that gives me the consistency I need week in week out. Everyone needs a Nomad Dagger!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MSUHoss300


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: RonCase823 12/07/2010 11:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    241
Sport Shot Average    217
 
Nomad Dagger Ball Review - Ron Case (RotoGrip Staff)

My Axis is 5 5/8 right, ¼ up, my speed is average and I would consider myself with higher revs but more up the back. So not a cranker but not really straight either.

Drilled using the dual angle 45° x 4 ½ x 40°. Extra hole in possite thumb quadrant to get to legal.

This ball is very strong when it hits the dry. It holds its energy until it hits dry then look out, it has a very sharp break and continues to go all the way through the pins. The ball goes through the front and mid lane very easily then once off the pattern you can see it make its move.

On flatter patterns be careful not to miss in, but on most patterns it will give you plenty of room to let it go out.

Great ball for those who need help getting around the corner of those deep inside shots like myself.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RonCase823


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: senor roto grip 12/07/2010 07:59 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    213
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 x 11/16
 
I drilled this ball with the pin and cg stacked under my ring finger with no extra hole. The pin on this ball was approx 3" which put the Cg just above my thumb. To compensate for the additional thumb weight this created, I drilled the fingers deeper to get the thumb weight to zero.
I used this layout to give me a skid/flip reaction for use on shorter oil patterns and on house shots as they break down. My Theory is drilled in a similar manner. Recently in league, my Theory was too strong for the fresh oil, so I used the dagger for the 3 games. The polished, hybrid cover, provided the extra length I needed yet still gave me a strong, controlled move off the break point. Like all medium to strong reactive balls, getting the Dagger onto the friction too early caused an earlier move off the break.
The Nomad line, with surface alterations as needed, will provide the bowler a nice 3 ball arsenal to work with on medium to short patterns.

SenorRotoGrip


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senor roto grip


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: 210bowler 12/04/2010 00:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
All i can say is wow. i just rolled this ball for the first time during league and wow. out of the box exactly like i was told it would do. i am highly highly impressed i used to throw a mutant cell as my primary ball but the dagger has surpassed my expectations. by the third game i only had to move a couple boards to the left and the dagger still slammed the pocket hard. the dagger had amazing lenght and snaps hard at the breakpoint. great ball a must have for anyone roto grip is truly king of them all

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 210bowler


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: Rockteschel 11/30/2010 07:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 right
 
Dagger: 5x3x2 with a 29/32 weight hole on the PAP.

The Dagger for me is very clean through the heads and has strong movement toward the pocket. I was able to play a shot from 3rd arrow out to about 5 board at the breakpoint on our house shot on wood lanes. At the house with synthetic lanes I needed to keep the breakpoint in at around 8 board. The Dagger is a nice compliment to the nomad solid and pearl as it fits nicely between the two balls. For me it has a sharper breakpoint than the solid but not quite as much as the pearl. It makes a nice addition to my arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Rockteschel


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: B LeClair 11/28/2010 20:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    234
Sport Shot Average    217
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 and 1/4 up
 
ROTO/STORM puts their most versatile cover (HYBRID) on Roto's most successful weight block. Outstandind hitting power from a smooth continous arc ball motion. You are giving money away with out the Dagger in your arsenal. Not to mention the whole Nomad line. Awesome for all styles. TWO THUMBS UP!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by B LeClair


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: mikelj 11/28/2010 08:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The Nomad Dagger is a great addition to the Nomad family. The Dagger has a hybrid cover stock. This cover stock change allows the Dagger to be cleaner and longer through the fronts with a more angular move off the friction down lane than the Nomad solid. For me, this is the best of the Sword line.

This ball cleared the heads great. In the mid-lane the ball revved up nicely and made a solid, smooth move to the pocket. The Nomad Dagger reminds me a lot of my Mystic.

My ball is drilled with the pin just below the ring finger. This layout on a house pattern allowed me to play inside and swing the ball out to about 7-8 and watch it flip and drive back to the pocket. I could also play down the ditch with a little more speed and watch the ball take a dramatic late turn with devastating results.
I can’t wait to try this on the Cheetah 35 foot oil pattern.

Mike Johnston
Roto Grip Staff
USBC Certified Coach


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 11/23/2010 17:45 ( stars)


 
If you liked the Roto Grip Nomad solid and pearl I"am sure you will like this one.The Nomad Dagger has the Ultra Vision Hybrid cover stock witch allows the ball to get threw the heads real clean and is very angular on the back end.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 11/17/2010 23:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Nomad Dagger review #1

My specs: left hander, 230 plus average 3 & 5/8th and 1/16th up, 17+ plus ball speed ,bowl in several leagues in 2 counties and bowl in about every tournament locally and state and nationwide.

Layout recommendation from Mike Sinek: 60x5x65, pin to the right and lower side of middle finger, box condition and no additional weight or P-hole. Simply incredible hooking power in the back end of the lane. Stronger then a Rogue Cell overall and fits very nicely into the Nomad line, but I think a much cleaner reaction then a Nomad Pearl, which for me tends to be long and snappy. Roll an 809 series in after only practicing 4 games, did take it up to step it thru the pads to 4000AB to clean up the coverstock a little more and even look cleaner and stronger after 20 games.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 11/02/2010 14:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Layout
50 x 3 1/2 x 30
P1 hole
box surface

This layout is my benchmark symmetrical layout. I have used this on a Nomad Solid and a Riot that I have had success with. I tested this ball on the 39 foot Middle Road pattern by Kegel.

Initially I noticed how much more angular this ball is than my Nomad Solid and Riot with the same layout. On the fresh I was able to play a little straighter due to the fact that I was able to get the ball to clear the fronts so easily. Starting around 13 at the arrows I was able to get ball to 7 at the the end of the pattern where the Dagger then made an extremely strong angular move. After bowling for about 20 minutes the ball started seeing the friction too early, my moves ended up being bigger than I would normally make. 5 and 3's seemed to be the best move to make due to the fact if I opened my angles to the friction I created the ball just went immediately left. I then compared this ball to the new Theory, on the fresh I was about 5 boards farther right at the arrows but was able to use the same exit point at the end of the pattern. The biggest difference was that I didn't have to move as fast with the Dagger, I could stay in one place for a longer period of time with out the ball seeing the friction too early. Comparing it to the Nomad solid I was just slightly right of it, but the entry angle was much sharper.

The Nomad Dagger is a great addition to already great Sword Line. If fits in between the Nomad Solid and Nomad Pearl nicely. This ball is a great choice for me when the lanes are transitioning and carry down is present.

Jimmy Martin
Roto Grip Staff
Striking Advantage Pro SHop
Titusville FL
river@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: John Brodersen 11/01/2010 16:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 2 oz, 2.96 top weight, 2 ¾ inch pin.

The Nomad Dagger was drilled identical to a Nomad solid that I love the reaction of. Using the dual angle method the layout is a 4 ¾ inch pin, 50-degree drill angle and a 70-degree VAL angle. An x-hole was needed and drilled at the intersection of the VAL line and a line drawn from the grip center through the CG to the VAL line. This would be approximately a P 2.5 hole. Using Storm’s layout terminology the layout would be 4 ¾ by 4 by 4 ¼ . The cover was left OOB.

The Nomad Dagger is a great compliment to the Nomad solid. The two balls are identical except that the Dagger has a hybrid cover stock. This cover stock change allows the Dagger to be cleaner and longer through the fronts with a more angular move off the friction down lane than the Nomad solid.

The Nomad Dagger adds another distinct ball motion to the Roto Grip Sword line. If you haven’t thrown a Nomad it’s definitely time to try one.

John Brodersen


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: tonybowler1 12/08/2010 22:05 ( stars)


 
The Nomad Dagger can get through the heads with the best of them. The ball plays good from any part of the lane. The ball has a very nice mid-lane roll and continuous move on the back ends. Out of the box condition it handles the oil better than the solid. This ball can be played straight enough to up the ditch and deep enough from any arrow. This Nomad Dagger will make a good bench mark ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tonybowler1


Roto Grip Nomad Dagger Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 11/23/2010 19:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
The Roto Grip Nomad Dagger is a great follow up to the Nomad series it feature a hybrid cover-stock which will allow the ball to clear the heads, pick up a good roll in the mid-lane and give a powerful movement on the back-end. So if you are looking for a ball with a lot of back end then the Roto Grip Nomad Dagger is for you.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 32 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter