Go to Brunswick Revolver »

Only show reviews for Brunswick Revolver

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.8Write a Review    Read all 40 reviews

I Love It
 
82% (33 of 40)
I Like It
 
15% (6 of 40)
It's Ok
 
2% (1 of 40)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 40)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 40)

Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/25/2010 08:39 ( stars)

128 of 128 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


It's time to shoot the lights out with the Brunswick Revolver!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2" under ring finger
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - lower right quadrant of grip
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" from center of grip through cg on VAL

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 grit Micro Pad)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I used one of my favorite layouts on this ball to see what it could do. My first impression of the Revolver was that it was going to hook. It has that dull strong look to it out of the box and I thought this layout would let me see how well the ball would handle.

This layout should provide a stronger roll in the early part of the lane with a continuous movement on the backend.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I ended up with a bunch of hook from start to finish. The Revolver started up plenty early with its 4000 grit Micro Pad finish. As it got to the middle part of the lane you could see it really roll up and set as it transitioned to the backend. I think the ball would ahve finished a little harder with some small tweaks to the cover but overall I saw a very strong ball motion and a ball motion that we have come to love from Brunswick.

As balls go in this performance category from Brunswick this is my favorite so far. I think the Revolver along with the other releases Brunswick has coming this season will offer all bowlers a very complete line up of bowling balls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 06/25/2010 11:58 ( stars)

54 of 54 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 
Pin to PAP - 4 1/8"
CG Placement - about 1" right of center line
Dual Angle Layout - 60° x 4 1/8" x 65°
Surface Preparation - Out of Box

Brunswick has had a couple of great releases lately, and the Revolver is one of them. The Revolver bowling ball looks like a great compliment to the C-System 4.5 and the Anaconda as it fits right in the middle.

It rolls great from start to finish and the darker color allows me to see the bowling ball reaction all the way down the lane. As the lanes start to break down from the C-System, I see a great transition ball in the Brunswick Revolver.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 06/14/2010 19:39 ( stars)

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


 
Brunswick's new high performance ball is the Revolver. This ball uses Connexion Grip coverstock an improved version of the original Connexion coverstock. Connexion Grip is a new formula that increase the ball's footprint size which allows for improved mid-lane and back-end traction. This ball is sanded to a 4000 Siaair micro pad finish which creates good length and a strong continuous move down lane. The Revolver uses a new core called the Jack core that is designed as a low RG symmetric core with a high differential. The low RG enhances the mid-lane roll and the high differential will increase track flare giving the ball more opportunity to grip the back-end.

I was looking for the Revolver to be first ball out of my bag so that I could control very clean backends such as the pattern used at the USBC national tournament. I drilled this ball with a 35x5x70 dual angle layout to help create a smoother move off of the pattern. The Revolver is perfect for fresh medium to long patterns as it allowed me to keep my angles tighter and control the fresh backend. I was really surprised that as the pattern wore down I was still able to throw this ball because it maintained great continuation to the pocket. It is a great high performance ball that will fit into the stronger part of anybody's arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/04/2010 16:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Drilled the Brunswick Revolver for sport shots and for nights that I need more roll in the front.Used 35x4x40 so it would give me a strong roll in oil and it does that and more.Brunswick has another great ball for heavy oil and for that tough lane condition.If you need more info e-mail the shop.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 07/13/2010 17:34 ( stars)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Brunswick Revolver is a new release and wow has Brunswick covered all of our needs.With the new ConneXion Grip an improved version of ConneXion coverstock will give you strong mid-lane and flip when it hits the backend.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: baer300 06/27/2010 16:20 ( stars)

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


 
My Revolver is drilled 65x5x30. This allows the ball to save some energy for down lane with my rev rate.
I am seeing this ball being a great ball when you need that pearl to through the fronts but need the tractions in the midlane of a solid cover. This ball will cover that. The Revolver is clean through the front and makes a strong continuous motion downlane.
Adam Baer
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: leftyl 07/20/2010 18:59 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    208
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8 over 5/8 up
 
Ball Specs:
15lb. 4oz.
3.25 top weight
3" pin

Drilling Specs: 45 X 4 1/4" X 65. This places the pin just under my ring finger with the CG approx. 2 1/2" left of grip center. P3 weight hole 45 degrees from grip center.


I've been delaying my review on this ball simply because I have not had the opportunity to use it in the proper environment. This ball needs plenty of oil in the heads to really shine. What I get out of it on the local house shot in the Summer months is strong/early revs and a smooth backend reaction. It has been a bit speed and release sensitive on this condition as well. There is just not enough oil to bring this super strong ball to life.
However, in medium heavy to heavy oil..... fantastic. Best look is going straighter up the boards. The increased traction in oil gets this ball firmly planted to the lane surface quickly and the move at the break point is very strong and continuous. I feel this ball will be best suited to high rev players on sport conditions and lower rev players will enjoy this ball on house conditions.
I am going to drill another Revolver with a longer pin to PAP distance to control the track flare a bit. Will post follow up after some use.

--------------------
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


www.BowlerX.com

Lee Sandt
PBA Member
Brunswick Pro Shop Staff Member
Turbo Grips Staff Member
Kegel Certified Pro Shop Operator
USBC Certified Instructor


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by leftyl


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: troy_300 07/15/2010 09:27 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


 
Revolver- Wow! What a ball, if you are looking for a ball that reacts strong on
medium oily to oily patterns this is the right ball. Brunswick really hit a
homerun with this ball. Brunswick improved the Connextion coverstock to produce
a ball with a new coverstock called ConneXion Grip. What this does is allows
the ball the grip the lane giving great midlane and backend traction. Bowlers
will be allowed to open up the lane and increase their angles using this ball.
Throwing this ball I was surprised at the length I got, but most impressively is
the backend continuous back end reaction. This is a very agressive ball, that
allows me to open up the lane. The strong backend reaction allows me the
predicatability or motion and allows me to read the lane effectively. If you
want a ball that hooks, with stong continous backend reaction on an oily pattern
this ball is for you.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by troy_300


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Ed Rondot 07/01/2010 17:05 ( stars)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    194
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4-5/8 x 1/4 down
 
>I drilled the Revolver 5x5x1-1/2 no weight hole.
Initial tests bowled on THS 40 foot medium volume.
First shots reveal exactly how strong the Connexion Grip coverstock is.
A five board jump left of my strike line for the Anaconda found enough oil to tame down the Revolver's hook.
I then moved onto a 42 foot THS higher volume and the Revolver truly found its Happy Place!
While many of my balls struggled to pick up and turn the corner the Revolver cut through the pattern with ease.
I have found the Revolver to be very successful when I need to jump into the higher volumes of center oil after the the track has started to burn.
Where many of my more tame pieces failed to conquer the build up at the pattern's end of travel the Revolver performed with Honors!
Thank you Brunswick!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ed Rondot


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 06/20/2010 18:10 ( stars)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4x 3/4 up
 
Ball Review: Revolver
Date: 06/20/10

Bowler Information:

Initial ball Speed: 16.5 - 17 mph
Tilt: 12 Degrees
Axis Rotation: 35 Degrees
Rev Rate: 300-350 RPMs

Coverstock - ConneXion Grip
RG min - 2.504”
Differential - .054”
Core Type: Symmetrical

Drill Specs:
Pin to PAP - 5”
Degree From VAL: 35"
Vertical Pin Orientation: UP
Drill Angle - 65"


Surface:
4000 Micro Pad

The Revolver is Brunswick's newest high performance series ball and is a fantastic complement to the rest of the line. The Revolver has a new stronger version of the connexion coverstock that provides a controllable, hard arcing reaction. This ball fits in just between my Wild Card and Wild Thing's and provides me with a very useable reaction. I feel like this ball will allow me to play most any oilier medium volume and will smooth out that dreaded wet/dry reaction. This ball will allow you to throw the ball further right at the breakpoint than you can with the Wild Card, while giving you an earlier rolling reaction than the other two previous wild series balls. I feel this ball will be expo beneficial to those speed dominant bowlers looking for a ball to use on moderate flat patterns and house shots. If you are even the slightest bit speed dominant, be sure to pick up one of these, you may never want to put it down.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: TrackMill07 06/24/2010 14:50 ( stars)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 over 1/2 up
 
Bowler: Adam Miller, Right Handed
Style: Speed = Revs; Tweener
PAP: 5 1/8 over 1/2 up
Layout: 70* x 5 1/8" x 45* (Pin above the bridge, CG 1/2 inch right of CoG)
I really like this ball. The comparison to the Wild Card is perfect. This ball has just as much mid lane traction as the Wild Card, but a lot better recovery and hitting power in the back end. I like the ability to miss a little right and still have the ball get back to the pocket with enough left to carry all ten pins. Missing right with the Wild Card often meant a weak ten pin. This has particularly been good on fresh conditions, where the oil is thicker, and the ratio from middle to gutter is lower. The PBA Experience bowlers would really enjoy this ball for patterns like Shark and Scorpion.
This ball is a perfect replacement for any fresh condition ball the average tournament bowler might have. As I said before, the mid lane traction, combined with the additional recovery and angularity in the back end, really make this ball a gem. And on league or house conditions, I think that bowlers will really enjoy the back end that this ball gives without all the over under of an asymmetric ball. Yet another amazing release from Brunswick. Stay ahead of transition and ahead of the competition with the Revolver!!!!
The opinions expressed are solely that of the writer and not of Brunswick Bowling and Billiards Corporation.
Adam Miller
Brunswick Pro Shop Staff Member
Denver, CO
put your review here


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TrackMill07


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: loopy262004@yahoo.com 06/04/2012 17:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
As as start off bowler, I began with a Slingshot(grey) and this was my second ball as my more pro buddy gave it to me when he was dissatisfied with the way that the ball had a lack of hook for him. I been bowling with that ball for 3 yrs now and I like that way that the ball waits til it gets down the lane and as it starts its backend motion is also starts its break to the pocket. I see a smooth transition from the start point where I release to the point where the backend motion starts much futher down the lane.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by loopy262004@yahoo.com


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: xplayer 11/19/2011 21:05 ( stars)


 
great ball for a medium skilled bowler

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: mrsilverman 11/15/2011 16:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Didn't love the matte finish, but ball is fine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mrsilverman


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: rcschott@gmail.com 04/06/2011 13:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    212
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/2 over, 0 up/dn
 
Mostly I roll Storm but was looking for a symmetric core ball designed for more oil than my Reign or Reign Supreme, and I just don't like the looks of the Reign of Fire so I had to pass on that one.

Had one of these punched out last week and picked it up on league night. Eric from the pro shop asked me if I was going to try it out that night, I said I hadn't planned to but... what the heck I'll throw it a couple times in practice to see what it does.

Well my first toss with this ball was a strike and it didn't seem to want to stop so I went with it.

First game I had a solid 8 in the third frame, solid 8 in the second ball of the tenth, all others were strikes for a 268. Second game was a 257... unfortunately at this point our pinsetters broke down, we were moved to another pair with no practice shots... I had some bad breaks but ended up with a 193 game (close to my average) and a solid 718 series for the night (my second-best this year!).

My impressions... everyone was asking me "what ball is that?", I guess it's not well known at my local bowling alley. Feedback on the way the ball looks both on the ball return and rolling was good. I had this drilled pin-up, it stores energy nicely but makes a nice move in the back end. I'm looking forward to getting it out on heavier-volume patterns to see what it will do. Overall I'd recommend this ball to bowlers like me who gravitate to symmetric core balls but need something for higher volume/longer patterns.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rcschott@gmail.com


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: hehe300 03/15/2011 14:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    5"
 
It read the lane very well especially on oily condition. My house have 41ft pattern and this ball still have strong mid-lane and produce a strong backend motion. My layout is pin down the bridge and cg kick out right (55x5 1/2x65).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: rct123 02/14/2011 08:43 ( stars)


 
My wife picked out this ball..she liked the color and the stats. it arrived and we had it drilled the next day at the proshop. She's enjoying it and has improved her score. she's still learning lane placement.this ball goes where you put it ..has a great hook in the back pins

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rct123


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: nnc21showcar 12/30/2010 09:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 7/8
 
I purchased a 15lb. ball and had it drilled for mid lane and hook. I am a left handed bowler and I love this ball.The ball tracks great and will hit the pocket over and over again. Would recommend this ball to anyone looking for a new ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by nnc21showcar


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: nnc21showcar 12/30/2010 09:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 7/8
 
This was a 12lb. ball for my wife. She bowled with it the first time last night after having it drilled for length with back end and she loved it. The ball has great crushing power when it hits the pins. Would recomened this ball to anyone looking for a new ball. The price was a great deal too!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by nnc21showcar


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: BLUELOU4 11/18/2010 09:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Bought this ball for my son\'s birthday.
He is becoming a great bowler and needs a ball that has a more aggresive style then what he is curreantly using.
I think this ball will work great for him.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BLUELOU4


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: gnatsj@att.net 11/03/2010 09:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    168
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Bought the Revolver on line because it saved me $50 over buying at a pro shop. Bowlingball.com is great at saving money for it's customers. Next time I am going to have Bowlingball.com drill my ball instead of a pro shop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gnatsj@att.net


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: pengo the bowler 10/18/2010 13:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    197
Sport Shot Average    172
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
i won this ball in a raffle for 5 bucks i drilled it because i was terible in the tournement i won it in my mutant was dying so i throw it 1 game and bowled my best game of the day i got 6th out of like 40

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pengo the bowler


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: laserboypa 10/09/2010 16:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Right Handed, Cranker style, I usually play between 3rd and 4th arrows, 16 mph speed
Box Surface - 500 grit Micropad, then 4000 grit Micropad,
My PAP is 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up Dual Angle Drilling Layout - 65 Deg x 5" x 50 Deg which puts the pin above my fingers and no weight hole

I wanted a ball that would be a little stronger for heavier oil conditions but not have a lot of backend. What I got was a ball that is smooth in heavier oil and doesn't overreact when reaching the friction. This ball clears the heads, gets through the midlane nicely, and finishes strong. It needs heavier oil because it was hooking too much after 2 games on a THS. This would be a good ball when you need something that has traction in heavier oil conditions. This is another strong ball in the Pro Performance line and compliments the Wild Card. Keep up the good work Brunswick!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Dandy67 08/26/2010 23:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    167
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Good first game ball. reads well reacts nice, drilled it up to roll a little early, nice strong arc to the pocket. Carries very well, crushes the pocket no corner worries.Mine seems to read too early when the lanes start to break down in the 2nd game. I follow it up with the Anaconda, great pair to have in the bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dandy67


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: 500qun 08/23/2010 21:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
 
I love my Brunswick Maxxx and wanted a more aggressive ball for the oily lanes I encounter outside of my home bowling center. I have not mastered the full potential of the Revolver but I am fully satisfied with its performance. I am right handed and throw a back-up ball in the high 12 to low 14 m.p.h. from the left side of the lane. I really like the way the Revolver carries through the pins. I have been very impressed with Brunswick products. Thank you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Dwight Albrecht 07/27/2010 22:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/8X1/4"
 
What a Ball, clean through the fronts for a oil ball, comes off the dry spot with a strong but smooth change of direction, keeps the pins low and strikes are a thing to watch with this ball, Brunswick Truly have something very special with this ball.
put your review here


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dwight Albrecht


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Craig Mueller 07/20/2010 14:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 3/8 up
 
I kept this ball at the 4000 box and layed it out 4 1/2 x 45 pin down 10:30
layout which has the pin just right of the ring finger and below with cg kicked
right. This ball allowed me to play a bit deeper than my wild card (same layouts
on both) and i could open up the lane going away easier. The breakpoint was a
very continuous hard arcing motion with no quit on the backend...i believe this
will be one of the top selling balls in this pricepoint for the 2010/2011
season!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Craig Mueller


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 07/17/2010 10:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
With Brunswick new release the Revolver, they have created a strong midlane ball for a moderate price. The new Jack core is a very high flaring core that increases friction and helps eliminate the ball slipping downlane. This is a great ball for speed dominate and matched players for moderately heavy patterns. Another great release by Brunswick.

Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
River@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Russ Wilson 07/15/2010 16:52 ( stars)


 
I drilled this ball with a 5" pin to PAP and 65 degree val angle. This ball
is very controllable and is designed for medium to heavy oil. Of the new
releases, this is my favorite due to the ability to not have to worry about
the ball reading the lane. For the way it reads the lane, it is surprising
how much energy it saves for the back end. This ball really drives thru the
pins. If you are looking for a medium to heavy oil ball that will control
the lane and provide great carry, this ball is an excellent choice. The
logo and color scheme is one of the best I have seen on the market as well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Russ Wilson


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Dick Dube 06/25/2010 14:20 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Had this ball drilled 40x4x40 which places the Pin southwest of my ring finger (lefthander).
Ball is quite smooth down the lane and picks up in the midlane.
Threw it last night on the THS 40ft shot and the reaction was what I was looking for.
Appears to be a little less than the Wild Card so fits nicely in the ball grouping.
I also used it after league night and was still able to play as it maintained continuation to the pocket playing a little deeper.
Definitely a keeper.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dick Dube


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: masonbrantley@yahoo.com 06/24/2010 13:30 ( stars)


 
Good for the medium to shorter length patterns. I find that it allows me to play a little straighter when the lanes breakdown. Its not as strong as I thought it would be when I played in with it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by masonbrantley@yahoo.com


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: frike300 06/18/2010 13:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 over
 
The revolver is a very good bench mark ball. Laid out 50X5X45, this ball is a little earlier than the Wild Card was for me with about the same response. As the lane dried up, if I were to continue throwing, I would have to hit it with some factory finish, as it burnt up quite a bit, but for me that happens with most of the benchmarks. This will be a great first ball out of the bag especially on sport and PBA patterns.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by frike300


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: RSalas 07/05/2010 10:30 ( stars)

26 of 26 people found this review helpful.


 
Ball: Brunswick Revolver

Layout:

Pin 5 ½” from PAP, above fingers
CG on midline, ¾” to right of grip center
No XH

Initial Surface Preparation:

Box finish

Purpose:

For a while now, I’ve had a need for a ball for oilier mediums and longer patterns that would allow me to play a more direct trajectory from inside the oil line. Specifically, I was looking to find something that would start up the way the Siege does for me, but with a more even path from front to back. I tried to fit an Ultimate Inferno into this spot a while back, but it gave me too strong of a back end reaction, and when I moved left to compensate, it wanted to push too far down the lane.

Why this ball?

The Revolver is intended to have better traction in the midlane than the Wild Thing and Wild Card, with a response to friction that is faster but medium overall, and a more continuous back end reaction.

Observations:

I got a Revolver with a 3 ½” pin, so I went with a layout with the pin 5 ½” from PAP above the fingers. I did this to try to cut the track flare down, so that I could let the surface preparation dictate more of the reaction.

The first time I threw the Revolver, it was on a condition with clean back ends, and I was surprised at just how quickly it read the lane and how strongly it reacted off of the friction. I moved more into the oil to compensate, but I still had to give away the pocket because of the strong back end reaction, and while I could get the Revolver back, it didn’t give me the best of carry angles. I thus put the Revolver down for a while, and threw the Anaconda and C-(System) v4.5 until the oil started to push, and these balls began to labor down lane. I then took the Revolver back out of the bag, and I began to see the reaction that I had hoped for, as it was picking up a roll in the midlane and going into a more even arc in back. With the push helping to true up the reaction in back, I was able to square up more, and even when I did miss to the outside, the Revolver rolled up and stopped at the pocket.

I’ve also thrown the Revolver on conditions that were more blended from side to side and front to back, and on these conditions, I’ve found the Revolver to have a more even ball path than the Wild Card. The Revolver does read the oil sooner than the Wild Card, but still has a good arc in back, and has the same presence through the pin deck as the Wild Ride and Wild Thing had for me. However, when the front part of the lane started to go, I began to see the same over-early, under-late reaction that I experienced on the stronger back ends; at that point, switching to the Wild Card gave me the extra help I needed in front to get back to the pocket consistently.

Conclusions:

So far, for me, the Revolver has given me the look that I’ve been seeking, as it seems to excel when I have front-to-back oil and have to play more direct. The Revolver does seem to prefer straighter lines, for when I have to go away from the pocket with it, the carry becomes slightly tricky.

When I throw the Revolver, I see elements of the reactions of both the Total Inferno and Scorchin’ Inferno. Like the Total, the Revolver is adept at blending out the lane, but it is much stronger at the pins than the Total was. The Revolver also has that combination of midlane read and continuation that I had with the Scorchin’, but for me, the Revolver handles the push down lane much better.

The Revolver gives me a good second option for oilier conditions, specifically as a complement to the Siege. The Siege will be cleaner through the midlane and stronger at the break, and thus this would be the ball of choice for fresher conditions where I have the luxury of giving away the pocket. The Revolver would be a better option for me when I need to get the ball into a roll sooner with a more predictable trajectory.

NOTE: The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RSalas


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Geoffrey "Young" 06/18/2010 23:25 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


 
Revolver is a fantastic new addition. I rate this ball a 5!!This ball is great when used in oil. I have been able to use this ball on the shark pattern and wow this ball really rolls well. The revolver I drilled to be smooth and continuos. This ball on the shark pattern really hooked a lot. It got through the heads and continued to roll smooth. As the pattern broke down I was able to continue to use this ball moving left and it still making it back to the pocket and crushing the pins. This ball is a mist have because it really reads the lane well when there is a lot of oil on the lanes and you are still able to use it when moving further left into more oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: stillbowlingafteralltheseyears 09/25/2010 15:17 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a senior bowl, age 61. Still average 218. I have had 34 years of 200+. I do not say this to boast, simply to let you know who is reviewing. I have thrown many balls over my life and have been impressed with quite a few. I remember the first time I threw a bleeder Yellow Dot, the LT-48, the Angle and on and on. I am excited to give this ball a 5. It matches my game tremendously. It works well on a wide variety of conditions including heavy oil. My carry has gone through the roof. Had it drilled very simply. My PAP is 4 1/2 and I put the pin 5" and over the fingers. Love this ball. Also great serious and help from the guys at bowlingball.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by stillbowlingafteralltheseyears


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Steve "Lickliter" 06/21/2010 11:04 ( stars)

1 of 37 people found this review helpful.


 
5= this ball was what i was looking for on heavy oil. finished strong and carried great


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: MHSIndianBowler 03/07/2011 22:25 ( stars)


 
I first bought this ball for christmas, when i first pulled it out i wasnt impressed with the 4000 micro pad finish so i put it away for a month or so. Then i decided i would try working with it at first i sanded it down to 2000 but that still wasnt enough so i made a big move and sanded it down to 600... it was like i struck gold. The first tournament i was gonig to use it at was regionals for high school, during the practice time i shot a 300 with it, then followed with a 627 series. It only got better as we moved on I went to wichita to practice on the lanes we would be at for state and shot a 670, then followed the practice with a 682 and got 12th place at state. I would recomend this ball for anyone wanting a quicker responding ball. This is gonig to be the first ball i pull out of my bag at any tournament.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MHSIndianBowler


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: BowlinMan 08/28/2010 20:09 ( stars)

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.


 
I threw this ball and loved it. The only reason I didnt give it a 5 was for the simple fact of its not a sport shot ball, unless its dry. Tom smallwood was there when I was testing it and i was throwing it right up the boards no hook. I like it if I had it for my house shot high school meets. It is very predictable and hits very hard like it enough to get it for h.s!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BowlinMan


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 07/17/2010 12:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
The Brunswick Revolver is a good ball heavy oiled lanes. The Revolver will be strong revving in the mid-lane and have strong motion on the back-end. So if you looking for a ball for heavy oil then you should get the Revolver.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Brunswick Revolver Reviewed By: Thomas "Patterson" 06/17/2010 23:19 ( stars)


 
The Revolver is unbelievible. This new High performance ball, is the most versatile hooking pearl I've ever thrown. I couldnt believe the amount of arc on the backend of this dull bowling ball... I'm very excited about this ball, and would recommend it to anyone who constantly bowls on Medium to Heavy oil.... Hit em Hard

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Thomas "Patterson"


Read all 40 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter