Go to Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.62Write a Review    Read all 26 reviews

I Love It
 
81% (21 of 26)
I Like It
 
8% (2 of 26)
It's Ok
 
4% (1 of 26)
I Don't Like It
 
8% (2 of 26)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 26)

Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/12/2010 15:16 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Royal line of balls was never released in the US until now - The Realm offers a new look to an already awesome line-up.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/8"
Mass Bias Position - 3 1/4" from PAP on VAL (verticle axis line)
CG Placement - 3/4" left of center line
Balance Hole - none
Dual Angle Layout - 25 degrees x 4 1/8"x 40 degrees

Surface Preparation - 2000 grit Abralon and Xtra Shine

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
We decided to do a video of the Realm for numerous reasons. One being that this line of balls was never released in the US until we secured the remaining overseas inventory. The Royal line was going to be released early this year in the Roto Grip line but due to the success of the Cell line they decided to
hold off in the US.

Now we are able to bring you a ball that nobody else can get and bowlingball.com is the only source for it.

We also wanted to shoot a video using Pro CG balls to demonstrate some of the unique layouts that may need to be used but also that they still react great and can be very usable on many conditions.

As far as what we were looking for in this layout, not really sure. On my Realm Pro CG I took what would be considered a really odd pro cg layout. When I say that I mean the cg was kicked well left of the pin/mass bias line.
In the past we have had many customers who received a ball like this and said their ball drillers were unsure of what to do with it. I thought lets take one of these and show them what the ball can do.

We are expecting this layout to produce a lot of heavy roll with a good amount of movement. The Realm comes out of the box at 2000 grit Abralon so we also added some Xtra Shine to the cover to help get the ball through the heads a little cleaner. Based on the pin to PAP length and the placement of the mass bias we just wanted to be sure the ball stored enough energy for the backend.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Wow, this ball impressed me on two levels. One the amount of ball reaction I got from this ball was ridiculous. Roto Grip has had great ball motions throughout the Cell line of balls but you can tell that this ball was
intended to be one level up from those. The ball reacted a ton on the THS we tested it on.

The other thing that really impressed me was how good the ball reacted with the Pro CG layout we used on it. We know that cg placement only has static weight meaning but even with the cg left and the mass bias out on my
VAL the ball reacted great.

After a few shots getting a feel for the reaction I saw nothing but hook. The ball cleared the heads pretty clean, I think without the addition of the Xtra Shine it may have rolled a little early on the shot. As the ball transitioned into the middle part of the lane it revved up stronger then any other ball I have tested recently. It held pretty good as it got to the backend where it still had energy to continue through the pins strong.

Overall this is a great addition to the Roto line and I think it compliments the Cell line as well as the other balls currently in their lineup. Keep in mind that you can only get your Realm from bowlingball.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 01/20/2010 11:13 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge
Brian Halstrom Roto Grip Realm Bowling Ball



The Royalâ„¢ line of equipment from Roto Grip sets the standard higher than any other line in bowling.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 4 7/8"
Mass Bias Position - 2 1/4" from PAP
CG to PAP - 6 1/8"
Balance Hole - None

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: With Pro CG bowling balls, you can really use some unique layouts. With this layout I was expecting the ball to start up early and provide a strong arcing motion at the breakpoint. With as aggressive as the Realm is, I was curious to see how the coverstock would come into play on a fresh shot.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: The Realm was an absolute hooking machine on the THS we tested it on. Compared to the other bowlers I was testing this ball with, I left my surface out of the box while they polished their's up. They were able to use their's longer through testing as my balls rougher coverstock was too aggressive. For higher rev rate players, this is a great ball for very oily lanes. For league use, I would recommend smoothing the surface out or adding a little polish.

For the time I was able to throw the Realm, it reacted amazing for me, far better than what I had anticipated. Many people ask why the ball is laid out this way with the CG so far left. The static weight has very little to do with the ball reaction, and if you watch our video review, you will easily see what I am talking about.

On the fresh, I was able to stand around 40 with my feet and get the ball out to around the 8th board. Off the breakpoint, the Realm gave me a strong arc to the pocket. With the out of the box surface, I was seeing this ball use a lot of energy in the front and mid part of the lane. This works best for me when I want a strong, predictable reaction and do not want a skid/snap reaction.

Overall this is another great piece from Roto Grip. Great addition to my arsenal for extremely heavy oil conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 06/30/2010 19:09 ( stars)


 
The Realm pro CG is a overseas release in the Royal line. Roto Grip used the Cyto-X cover. This cover has a high surface texture and coefficient of friction giving it traction on higher volumes of oil. The C.A.M. core provides a medium Rg, high differential, and a mass bias differential of .012 creating a strong and continuous ball motion. This ball is slightly cleaner in the front than say a Mutant Cell but still has that strong ball motion you have come to expect from the Cell line of balls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 03/02/2010 11:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Roto Grip Realm Pro CG is a overseas release with a 219 on the perfect scale and 7 inches of flare potential.We have a 14 lb Realm Pro CG with Switch Grip so that our customers may test out on the lanes before they buy.The Realm Pro CG will give you a strong move in the front and as much back end you need.Out ob the box great for heavy oil and if you need more length polish with Storm Xtra Shine to give you skid in the front and more angle in the back end.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: rickbarthel@cableone.net 02/03/2010 10:02 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
league average 221 tweener Age 56
Had ball drilled for a strong hook layout to use on medium to heavier oil. First two sets with the ball were in the Birmingham Open Association tournament this past weekend were 680 and 790 (245,266,279). The ball performed exatly as I was looking for. It had a strong arc to the pocket with no snap on the back end from and inside line with excellent carrying power even as oil carry down came in to play. I did leave 10 ten pins in the two sets of which 8 were ringing ten pins from the ball hitting so hard.
I recommend this ball to someone who is looking for strong arc hook instead of the snap left turn many balls have now.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: jreel@grandecom.net 05/27/2011 13:55 ( stars)


 
Pretty good ball out the box. Drilling is a little weird with the cg. That said the ball has been very consistent with a very strong push thru the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jreel@grandecom.net


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: joseph.mitchell0283@yahoo.com 01/02/2011 07:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    204
Ball Speed    Extreme
Style    Cranker
 
When I bought this ball and took it to Todd to have it drilled he looked at me like i was crazy. "I have no idea what to do with this"{ he said to me between laughs. We called up the local Rep and got alot of the same. So after some searching we found a layout that "should" work for me. My average ball speed is 18-19 mph and i have major revs on the ball even thought i dont have the cranker delivery i am called a cranker.

The proshop was a buzz and I had about 20 bowlers follow me out to see this ball "flop" down the lane. with ouf of box finish I put the ball on the lane for some warm up before league. The ball make the new taboo next to me look like plastic. Went long and like a teenager driving took a left hand turn at the last second and boom knocked two pins out of the rack above 12 pin strike. This ball works and rolls like nothing I have ever put on a lane I pull this out before my Theory, Reign Supreme, and the Prodigy.

After the lanes start breaking down is when this ball really shines in a 4 game league I move on average 1.5-2 boards with this ball as to the 5-6 I was with the others. Really enjoy this ball and thinking at looking into other Pro-CG balls.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: russkihm@gmail.com 11/19/2010 20:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
 
I began my search for a sanded big hooking bowling ball. I said to myself I get the Invasion, Reign of Fire, or the Realm. I ended buying the Realm because it seemed to hook the most of the 3. I admit I was worried about the ball because in the bowling ball.com video it deflected in every shot but was I wrong. Ball did not deflect at all. Ball was solid right through the head pin. Love the ball. Wish they would keep selling it because when I am older I will need a heavier weight bowling ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by russkihm@gmail.com


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: softball 09/15/2010 10:37 ( stars)


 
Used the ball twice. didn't not work in heavy oil. The second time ball worked well, but was not in heavy oil like I bought it for. I don't blame it on the ball. I blame
Bowling balls.com. The postioning of the pin, CG and mass bias are not right.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: 5linx 07/24/2010 10:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    208
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I have a mutant cell,and the realm pro cg is stronger on the backend than the mutant cell.If you're looking for something that goes through the heads and retains it's energy,then this is ball for you.Buy this one for the price and it's power.You dont need to buy those HIGH PRICE balls that are sometimes duds.Make sure your pro shop knows how to drill it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 5linx


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: jimfish300 07/01/2010 18:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Ball speed Medium
Tweener
This ball was just what I was looking for. Bowlingball.com drilled it for me, the fit was perfect. I had them max it out.The ball hooks hard and sets up in a nice roll. I can't wait to take it out to some tournaments


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jimfish300


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: joe3 06/26/2010 22:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Thank you for the opportunity to speak about the service from bowlingball.com. The bowling ball was delivered in the time stated and all seemed good except I wish that I would have been asked if I was left or right handed. The ball I received cg is more for a right hander than a lefty. I am checking your return policy to try to get another ball with a better mass bias. Besides that,I will continue to order from bowlingball.com. The prices are great and everything was great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: DEANSTUFF 04/05/2010 20:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
BEST BALL I EVER OWNED. I BOUGHT THIS TO GIVE ME A VERY HARD ANGLE INTO THE PINS. EVEN IN HEAVY OIL CONDITIONS I CAN STILL TAKE A WIDE INE AND OBTAIN AND AGGRESSIVE ANGLE CONSISTENTLY INTO THE POCKET.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DEANSTUFF


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: jeffwilham 03/15/2010 12:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    231
Sport Shot Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I bought the Roto Grip REALM Pro-CG ball in January. I was told by my ball driller of 18 years that the ball was junk and that I should not waste the money having it drilled and that I should ship it back. So before I left, I ended up purchasing the Storm Invasion. After 2 weeks of throwing the Invasion, I sold it because it was a super huge piece of junk. I then went to a different pro shop (one in my hometown) and asked him what he thought about the Realm Pro CG. He said he had a different Pro CG ball and that I would love the Realm. After thinking it over for about another week, I decided to have him drill it up for me. BEST DECISION I COULD HAVE MADE. I shot 779 straight out of the box on my Tuesday league and then 725 on the following Thursday. I absolutely LOVE this ball. Big thanks to bowlingball.com!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: grind77 03/12/2010 08:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    213
Sport Shot Average    192
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is greatness! First set out of the box 699. Second set 756! Creates a lot of area and hits like a freight train! Cant wait to see how I do tonight!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: StrikeMan2010 03/11/2010 14:56 ( stars)


 
My average: 180
Age: 19
Bowling since: Dec.2010.

I wrote a review about 3 weeks ago, but since then i have had some accomplishments that i owe solely to this ball. Last night in league i shot a 701 series(213,188,300), Ball carried throughout the night and then carried 12 in a row for the 300, what a blessing. Two weeks ago i shot 685 at my other house i bowl league in. I also bowled in 2 tournaments in the last 2 weeks, in which i shot 4 650 series' and a high game of 243 in one tournament. Then a week later shot another 650 at the ABT and high game of 247, for a third place finish. This ball has really turned heads everywhere i go..Thank you Roto-Grip and bowling ball.com for a perfect ball at a un-beatable price. I am a customer for life.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StrikeMan2010


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 03/03/2010 14:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Bowler Specs:
Ball Speed - 18-19 mph
Rev Rate - 450 rpm
Axis Tilt - med
Axis Rotation - low

Layout:
80 x 4 1/2 x 30
no hole

When laying out this ball we were trying to create a ball reaction that would work well on the 45 foot kegel pattern that we are using on league here. He is currently throwing a Cell Pearl and a Nomad. Both of these balls didn't see the lane early enough so we were trying to get something to read the midlane a little stronger without overreacting off then end of the pattern.

The Realm really fit the bill for what we were looking for. The first night he was able to start in the middle part of the lane shooting 235 the first game. As the pattern began to break down he was able to keep making 2 and 1 moves and continued to keep his breakpoint around the same part of the lane. He ended up shooting 715 for the first night.

I am highly impressed with the Realm. Since this core has not been used in any domestic releases I was really anxious to see how well this ball would roll. It seems to be less heavy rolling than the Mutant which gives it a little more of a angular look. Overall a very good piece of equipment

Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
river@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: excalibur310 03/02/2010 10:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    208
Sport Shot Average    191
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Ok, this is a re review of an earlier one on the Realm. First off I appologize on the spelling errors in the first review, must have been in a hurry that day. The ball has never gotten any better for me, I realize many people on here like it and I am glad for Roto Grip I love their products, but this ball just isnt a good fit for me. The Mutant just gets better and better, and maybe I am unfairly comparing the two, but it didnt meet my expectations. Bowlingball.com has been great to me though, and I in no way blame them. This has to be the best customer service I have ever received on anything bowling related or not. I will definitely order more products from them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by excalibur310


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: brianzink 02/23/2010 17:21 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I shot 260 right outa the box...first game in a house that gives me fits usually.

My driller...E.G. Mock did a great job on this layout.

I came in high a couple times and this ball had unbelievable action bailing me out. This is a great addition to my Virtual Energy. Would recomend for heavy oil lanes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: excalibur310 02/16/2010 17:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    208
Sport Shot Average    191
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Not at a happy with this ball, doesnt make any kind of strong move, early or late. I love my Mutant Cell, but this ball doesnt begin to compare. I needed this ball quickly though and bowlingball.com made sure I got it, when I needed it. Bowlingball.com really do customer service right, not their fault this ball was a dud.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by excalibur310


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: StrikeMan2010 02/14/2010 21:32 ( stars)


 
Drilled a 16lb ball for Length and Backend according to the pro cg drilling guide for expert drillers that came with the ball. My previous ball was a 14lb roto-grip oracle i purchased back in 2005. My average before the realm was 165. My average after 2 weeks of league with my new ball 195. I threw a couple 221 games in league last week, a first for me. Overall i would recommend this ball to any league bowler looking to step up their game. If i could give one tip for throwing this ball is planning on moving 15-20 boards with your feet after the first couple games of league when the backend of the lanes dry up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StrikeMan2010


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: Charlie W 01/23/2010 15:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    236
Sport Shot Average    202
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I got this to use at the Military bowling championship. Last year, the lanes were too slick for my current balls to carry. This year I averaged 234 and finished 7th in singles and 8th in all-events with 684 contestants in the retired devision. This ball only breaks about 2 inches more than my virtual gravity, but it hits way more aggressive and carried a lot better!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Charlie W


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: nixusr 01/21/2010 22:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    194
Sport Shot Average    141
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 3/4 X 1/4
 
I was very surprised when I got my ball due to the extreme location of the cg in relation to the pin. Luckily the pro shop that I just started going to is on point and knew just what to do with it. The ball rolls great and has a smooth arc to the pocket. I'm able to play straight up board 10 with out issue. The ball stores energy down the lane and smashes the pocket! I brought the cover down to 1000 grit just for a bit more movement off the break point. I use the ball during league for the first game and a half until the lanes burn up a bit.

If you get the pro cg version, make sure your pro shop is competent enough to drill it!

NOTE: If you need layout help bowlingball.com staff will always be glad to assist at no charge.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by nixusr


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: shogun348 01/14/2010 14:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    216
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I had the shop drill this beast up with Layout #4 with a low pin and large balance hole. I must say that I did not quite know what to expect with a Pro CG, but this ball did not disappoint. I took it outside and went right up the 5 board. The ball held its line and ripped the rack. The ball was very consistent and had a very predictable roll. Surprisingly I left quite a few solid 9 pins. I will likely update this review when I get a chance to use this ball on my THS in league Friday night.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by shogun348


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: TheUnderDogg 01/04/2010 16:29 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I am 17 years old and have been bowling for 4 years now. I've thrown the Hammer Jigsaw, Black Widow Sting, and Roto Grip Cell. When I got this ball drilled, I couldn't believe how much it out hooked all of those balls! Don't get me wrong, they still hook, but nothing like the Realm. I got mine drilled with the pin 4" from my PAP above my ring finger. I throw the ball about medium speed (15mph) and have a good amount of revs.

I was able to cross the entire lane on a fresh shot in league. The first night out of the box, I shot 726 with it, my 3rd 700 series, and my 2nd highest series overall. I have a feeling I'm going to shoot a lot more scores with this ball!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Realm Pro CG - Overseas Release Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 01/23/2010 12:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I recently got the Roto Grip Realm Pro Cg and drilled one up for a demo. The Realm is very strong probably one of the strongest one i have seen. The Realm cleared the head well pick up a strong mid-lane roll and had a continuous movement on the back-end (it is probably a little to strong for normal league conditions if you don't polish it.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes Proshop
www.deltonalanesproshop.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 26 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter