Go to Storm Reign of Fire »

Only show reviews for Storm Reign of Fire

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.56Write a Review    Read all 54 reviews

I Love It
 
72% (39 of 54)
I Like It
 
20% (11 of 54)
It's Ok
 
2% (1 of 54)
I Don't Like It
 
2% (1 of 54)
I Hate It
 
4% (2 of 54)

Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 12/28/2009 15:56 ( stars)

25 of 26 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Let loose the Reign of Fire and watch the pins fly!

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 4 3/4"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
Balance Hole - None

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: I expected the Reign of Fire to be slightly more aggressive than the Reign providing it had a solid coverstock. I expected this ball to provide moderate length with a strong move in the backend.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: It was definitely stronger than I had anticipated! This layout did provide the motion I was looking for. It revved up pretty quick and gave me one of the strongest looks at the breakpoint. The power provided at the pins was just as strong, if not stronger, than any high performance ball I've thrown in some time.

Storm's Thunder Line has consistently produced some of the best all around balls on the market. The Reign of Fire is no exception. If you're looking for a lot of power at a knockout price, the Reign of Fire is your best bang for the buck.

For higher rev players, medium to dry shots, or lower speed players I would recommend adding polish to the surface to provide additional length. For oily conditions, I would recommend using the out-of-box finish. Another knockout ball from Storm you're going to want to add to your arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 01/13/2010 16:55 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
This review is on the Storm Reign of Fire!

The Storm Thunder Line has been the most successful bowling ball line in recent history, and the legacy is being continued by first the Reign and now the Reign of Fire. I was lucky enough to throw one of these fireballs before they are released to the public, and I cannot wait until all of you get to throw this ball! The Reign of Fire is very similar to my favorite Storm ball of all-time, the T-Road Solid. The T-Road Solid was the 2007 Ball of the Year, and the ROF could very well earn that same title for 2010! This ball is even stronger than the TRS, thanks in part to the new C.A.M. Core, but with a very similar reaction shape. Don't be fooled by the price of this ball, you are getting High Performance ball reaction at a mid-performance price. This ball will hook with the best of them on heavy oil, and with polish will get down the lane and make an even stronger move on the backend. This is a must have for every bowler! Thanks again Storm for another GREAT product! As always, Bowl Up a Storm!

Dustin Seymour
Bellair Lanes Pro Shop Manager
Daytona Beach, FL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 05/07/2010 12:22 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm's latest entry into the Thunder Line is the Reign of Fire. This a mid priced solid reactive that uses the R2S coverstock which is one of Storm's best and one of the most versatile on the market. The C.A.M. core helps deliver a strong mid lane roll even in heavier oil.

This ball has been one my shop's top seller since its release because of the ball's performance on the lanes and its mid price point. It is hard to find a ball on the market at the same price that will deliver like the Reign of Fire.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 01/05/2010 19:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
We tested the NEW Storm Reign of Fire Try before you buy.This Reign gives you a stronger move in the front with control in the backend.If you want a ball for medium-heavy oil Storm has another weapon for you.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager

ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Xcessive_Hook 05/03/2010 14:47 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right by 1/2 up
 
Layout: 60* 5" 65*
Surface: 2000 dull

Just varying slightly from my Reign, I wanted a slightly quicker transition phase with a sooner roll. I raised the surface on it to provide more seperation between that and my true high end equipment.

Usually, it takes me a few sets to find the perfect surface to suit when I need a certain ball. Not the case with the ROF. It offers me a touch more length and a smoother backend that I can go to when my next strongest ball, the Virtual Energy, proves to be too much.

259-235-260 fresh out of the box. I can see the Reign of Fire being able to cover multiple conditions from multiple angle. A definite keeper.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Xcessive_Hook


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Glooboo 03/22/2010 20:22 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
When I first got this ball, I was like, oh my gosh, is this the ball for me or will this be a horrible ball? When i first tried it, IT WAS AMAZING! it back the hook all the way from the outside board all the way in. One of my first games were a 189 while I usually average about 150-160. When i use this ball next, I know what i have to change to get my 600 series and a new high game. If you want a ball that will hook and has good drive, This is the ball for you. Make sure you know what drilling layout works best for you though.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: bklynguy1 06/26/2010 15:20 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    204
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
I used to throw 15 lbs, but my speed was to fast, so it went beyond the break point. So I went up to 16lbs and got this ball. For a mid price ball this is an amazing ball.
Love this ball.
have the pin over the fingers.
no weight hole.
and had it sanded to 1500.
What I got was reduced speed, the ball hooks. I had to move 5 boards left from my normal starting position. Great ball for mid to oily lanes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bklynguy1


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: bjperkins7 03/01/2010 22:23 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    219
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
drilled this ball 4x4 what i wanted was a hook ball for oil tried it shined and dull hate it does make turns at all and carry is horrible i have a scorchen inferno drilled weaker 4x2 and it out hooks this ball by 6 boards on the approch very dissapointed

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Pin Master 101 02/24/2010 21:26 ( stars)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Worst Ball I have ever had. It was great when I bought it now it has no hook and my my kenitc peral hooks more then the Regin of Fire does on heavy oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: rotogripbowler1994 05/22/2012 13:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    187
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
favorite ball of all time, i told the guy that drills my stuff to do whatever to it. he drilled the pin out where the ring finger is and the cg is straight below it. this ball goes long, snaps, and blows the pocket up. i recently just got a second one but i'm not sure what i'm going to do with it this one yet, i'm thinking the same thing just a different cover stock.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rotogripbowler1994


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: drew_g2052@yahoo.com 08/01/2011 23:36 ( stars)


 
All I have to say is that I have had the ball a little over a month now, and shot two 299s in a week. It's a great bowling ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Matthew315 05/19/2011 11:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This ball is tremendous! I am a junior in high school, my sophomore year I averaged about a 176. Then I got this ball. Let me tell you the difference was amazing! My averaged jumped to a 200 even. This ball hits hard and doesn't give pins a chance. I absolutely love this ball and I'm so glad I purchased it. If you are considering this ball, I would agree 100%.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Matthew315


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:37 ( stars)


 
At the beginning of the year, I had no idea what bowling balls to get, so the first recommendation was the Reign of Fire. The consistency of the hook of my Reign of Fire is such that it is my lead off ball. I am able to read the lanes well from it's reactions and can thus decide what ball changes or movements I should then make. The more gradual hook is one that I use on shorter patterns. With my high speed, the ball hooks just enough to give me a good pocket angel and thus, nice pin action. Overall, I have been very happy with my Right of Fire.

Ashley Coudron
UF Bowling


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:37 ( stars)


 
I love my Reign of Fire! I throw at a medium speed and although I do not have a lot of revs my reign of Fire would still get great reaction on the lane. This is usually the first ball out of my bag because it is able to be reactive with heavy and medium oil. Although I usually can’t use this ball on house conditions it is great at for first blocks of tournaments because of its aggressiveness, its earlier midlane read, and great back end power.

Adrianna Villela
UF Bowling


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:36 ( stars)


 
I purchased the Reign of Fire with a 3-4 inch pin and got it drilled mid pin and both 14 pounds. The Reign of Fire has enormous bite on heavy conditions, tearing out a line very quickly and showing great usefulness on heavier conditions. The back-end is sharp and controllable, and the mid-lane is very easy to spot and control. The ball sacrifices no hitting power when it arrives at the pin-deck, and it has a great look and great hitting power.

Matt Gender
UF Bowling


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:36 ( stars)


 
I am a medium speed, medium rev, left handed bowler who tends to play the 10 board and out. My Reign of Fire has a 2.5” pin and is drilled with the neutral pin, an inch or so above the fingers. I also polished my RoF before I drilled it. You’re probably asking, why not buy a Reign? I do not like Cinnamon so I decided to buy the solid RoF and polish it.

Due to where I like to play the lane, I need a ball with good length that won’t burn up in the heads and midlane. The RoF worked very well in this respect. I got considerable length with plenty of backend movement. I could not use this ball on higher volume or longer patterns, but it works very well on shorter patterns and house patterns where stronger balls, like the Virtual Energy, were simply too much.

While I got a fairly consistent reaction most of the time, there were instances where the RoF seemed to die at the breakpoint. This ball reacts very quickly to friction but sometimes would skid past that point because of its lack of midlane reaction. Although, other bowlers I know who have this ball (factory surface) say they get a surprising amount of midlane from a ball they bought for a skid/flip reaction. Overall this is a good ball.

Nick Rich
UF Bowling


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:35 ( stars)


 
My Reign of Fire has a 4 inch pin and is drilled (for a lefty) with the pin above and slightly to the left of my ring finger and the CG out to the left. I had it drilled for heavy oil and so the ball will usually read early and then have a smooth turn off break point. I find that for a stroker like me, I get a better reaction from this ball when I play more straight up as opposed to playing more of a swing shot.

Mike Moskowitz
UF Bowling


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: MPH 03/12/2011 12:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    191
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
When I first got the ball, I loved it. Strong hook, good carry, overall a very good ball. However, after 60 - 70 games, it's get up and go, got up and went. The hook was almost totally gone.

I have always taken care of the ball. It just died an early death. I've taken it to two pro shops to have them work their magic. After soaking, resurfacing, even baking, and more resurfacing. I got about a 25% improvement, but it's still nothing like it was.

I've owned the ball for a month and a half, and I'm very disappointed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: cuebe23@aol.com 03/11/2011 08:42 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Hello to all bowlers, I am very pleased with the ball, he's very good grip and he hits well into the pins, the ball is highly recommended for players with medium speed (24 Km / h) (15 mp / h)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: reymatb@hotmail.com 03/02/2011 17:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    160
 
Good ball. I wish i would have got the 15. I just get more action with a 15 instead of a 16. The ball also arived when they said it would.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Keith R 02/20/2011 19:55 ( stars)


 
Ok...first off i have never thrown a hook or curve type ball. I have always rolled a straight 16 pounder with power..throwing in the 20mph range. Highest average i have ever had is about a 150. I decided i wanted to learn to throw that hook so my girlfriend and i went up and seen a guy at a proshop that she knows to get some new balls. Mine was well over 15 years old (an old Ebonite Tempest) and needed replacing. He watched me roll a few frames with my old ball and suggested the Reign of Fire. So i got the ROF and she got the Anarchy a week before it was even released to the market. He drilled it gave me some pointers on how to hold and throw this. I had been rolling a straight ball for just shy of 30 years. Immediately my games started improving. My league average sits at 171 and climbs a little bit each week. I have thrown two of my highest games ever with a 254 and a 253. I have also had my highest ever series with a 696. I have nothing bad to say about this ball. I have nothing else to compare it too hook ball wise but when i am throwing like this what else can i say..Took the kids bowling to open bowl and we know lane conditions suck at those times and i still rolled a 237..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: ma24le 02/08/2011 03:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    162
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is my 5th Storm ball and probably my favorite. Reacts better than I could ever imagine. And the price was great. I was afraid of a ball with this much reaction but my fears quickly faded after a few rolls with this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: MP LANCERS FAN 02/04/2011 19:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Sport Shot Average    194
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
this ball is great. i love this ball. i bowl in 2 leagues and this is the firstball out of my bag r=every time. the only thing i dont like is thatit CAN NOT bowl on dry lanes

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: jake4182 01/22/2011 22:42 ( stars)


 
I GOT THIS BALL FOR LONGER PATTERNS 42 TO 45 FEET. DRILLED FOR EARLY ROLL WITH A WEIGHT HOLE. COVERSTOCK DOWN TO 100 GRIT ABRALON SANDED. WHAT I GOT WAS A BALL THAT DID WAS ABOUT 2 OR 3 BOARDS MORE THAN MY FURIOUS DRILLED STACKED WITH AN OUT OF BOX FINISH. NOT TO SAY I HAVEN'T HAD ANY SUCCESS WITH THE BALL BUT NOT WHAT I EXPECTED. BUT IT IS NOTHING SPECIAL PERSONALLY I WOULD SAVE THE MONEY AND PURCHASE A FURIOUS OR 2FURIOUS AND SAVE THE MONEY.
AVERAGE 190'S
CONDITION 35 FT USBC BLUE PATTERN & 43 FT HOUSE PATTERN
STYLE TWEENER
BALL SPEED 16 MPH
RIGHT HANDED


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: browncow7 10/05/2010 23:19 ( stars)


 
This ball is great for heavy oil for the most part, but the other day at practice I found myself using it right up the gutter and striking more than normal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by browncow7


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: rltjr 08/31/2010 01:52 ( stars)


 
I just bought this ball and the 2furious within the past week. Got this ball drilled with the pin offset to the right of the ring finger and down about ½ an inch with an added balance hole due to the strong coverstock of the ball. I have a Storm Reign and I love it to death! I had to make a couple adjustments after my first throw. Brooklyn for my first strike, moved 5 boards left and threw this ball out to the 3-5 boards and had some beautiful pocket shots. I wish I had this ball when I was doing the pro shot league over the summer for the first time ever. My Reign works wonders for me but it didn't give me the hooking potential I needed for the US Open pattern. Reign of Fire is definately a ball you'd want in your aresenal if you have experience under your belt. For the posters that hated it you should clean your ball so you can get all that oil out that it's soaked up or find a pro shop that will drill it better suited for how you throw. I find no reason why this ball would have any low ratings because this ball rocks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rltjr


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Bowler109 08/13/2010 10:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
The Storm Reign of Fire is my second bowling ball;I decided to upgrade from my scout reactive and man does this ball hook. I played on freshly oiled lanes and it hooked in to the pocket with no problem. I even surprised my friend who had just bought the Brunswick Wild Thing. This ball needs no help its just fine oob.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Bowler109


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: mattyg3535 08/10/2010 13:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    199
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is STRONG. The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is because it needs a bit more oil than the typical house shot supplies. Being that this is not listed on Storm's scale as being a Super Heavy Oil ball, it is deceiving. I have tried it on some "sport shots" and I was able to play them as if they were league shots. Same problem arises though, you need a ton of oil to keep the ball from burning up. Those with lower revs and straighter lines would love this ball on THS.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mattyg3535


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 08/09/2010 18:47 ( stars)


 
I recently drilled this ball and was very impressed with it from the very first ball I threw.I was able to use this ball this weekend in a tournament and it really worked well on the heavy oil.I"am a down and in bowler and this ball gave me everything I was looking for.In fact it even gave me a 300 game and I also won the tournament.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Sir-bowls-a-lot 06/30/2010 06:37 ( stars)


 
I can't say enough good things about this ball. I usually average about 205 in league, but ever since march when I got this ball I have been averaging about 226. Tonight I shot my second ever 300 game (In League) and my first ever 800 series! The ball is extremely aggressive and finishes strong. I am currently bowling on wood lanes and so the original finish of the ball was a bit too dull and reacted too strongly. To correct this, I sanded the ball from the 1000 grit finish to a 2000 grit, and then put a moderate polish on it. For the money I can't think of a better ball. Absolutely love it!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: novakcj1980 06/08/2010 10:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    198
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
I just drilled up my Reign of Fire about 4 weeks ago. Went with a 2 3/4 Pin. Pin is kicked to the 1 O'clock Position with the CG at the 3 O'Clock.

Ball is a little milder than my Reign that I have. I use it on my 38 Foot House Shot League on Tuesday Nights. What I see from the ball is that it checks up on the mids earlier than the Reign. Ball once it hits the Mid Lane will go into the roll and hits right into the pocket. My Reign since it has a Pearl Coverstock goes long with a massive backend. I love the Reign of Fire. Storm really did good when they came out with the balls with the C.A.M. Weight Block in them.

I can usually play the ball from the 2nd Arrow all the way in. But when the lanes dry out the ball has to much movement on the backends.

I suggest this ball to anyone looking for a good mid priced Storm Ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by novakcj1980


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: splitzer 05/24/2010 22:44 ( stars)


 
I am a senior 74 years old. I use nothing but Storm equiptment. This ball is amazing. Nothing I have used comes close to what this ball has done for my game. I have had more 200+ games with this ball than any other. I have thought seriously about buying another before they quit making it.
Rod


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: rjm 05/22/2010 05:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
PAP    4.25
 
love it, hooks ten boards more then my nvd with the same drilling pattern. wish i had this one when i was at the usbc in reno.greatpower on the turn.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rjm


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: FatherNSon 05/08/2010 17:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    155
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Stroker
 
I've had this ball for about a month now. I couldn't have asked for anything more. This ball hits the pocket like a ton of bricks. I LOVE THIS BALL!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Housequake 05/05/2010 18:00 ( stars)


 
This Ball! This Ball! This Ball! Storm has re-invented the wheel, made it stronger, smoother, and badder! I was bowling in league last Thursday, I could not find my rear-end. Started out with the Virtual Gravity, it was all over the place. Switch to the Cell Pearl, could not find a happy median. I finish my set with a 603 series. All the time I had the ROF in the bag, did not use it. Went to throw a couple of game after league. The first ball I pulled out of the bag was the ROF. First game I shot 300, I called myself a dumba**! Did not shoot anything under 250. This morning went to the bowling alley, first game 300! Tried to use the Reign the next game, it was too much backend in the dry, and would not come up in the wet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Housequake


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: slap 04/22/2010 21:00 ( stars)


 
First nite 717 not too bad for me. Avg. 208 so this may help.Very smooth at break point. Hits hard and carry was great. I'll let you know more after a few more sets.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: supercooper08 04/21/2010 00:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    186
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The storm reign of fire is the finest ball I have ever owned. Switched from the hammer black widow pearl to this ball and it is amazing. Has just as much hook as the widow but is much more controllabe.It's going to be hard for storm to come out with a ball better than this one for the price!If your looking for high performance with a good mix of control this is your ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: jealvino 04/09/2010 23:04 ( stars)


 
I PURCHASED ROF(RAIN OF FIRE) IN LATE FEBRUARY THIS BALL IS FANTASTIC IT'S EVERYTHING IT SAID IT WOULD BE IN MEDIUM TO HEAVY OIL.IT HAS A GOOD BREAK AT THE END. SINCE THEN I HAD GAMES OF 266,269,255,289,WHICH INCLUDED 10 STRIKES 1N A ROW AND FINALLY A 300 GAME, WHICH IS MY SECOND IN MY LIFE TIME (10 YEARS LATER)AFTER SIX WEEKS WITH THE ROF. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BALL TO ANYONE,ESPECIALLY AT THE PRICE OF $114.99. THE MORE I WORK WITH THIS BALL, THE BETTER IT GETS. IT STILL SMELLS LIKE GUAVE TANGERINE!
JOHN E ALVINO


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: RICK_storm_bowling 03/27/2010 14:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    198
Sport Shot Average    194
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is awsome i shot my first 300 with it and im only 15,i recomend this ball to any one. I have three all with diferent layouts. When i first got this ball i improved my average by 20 pins, i love this ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RICK_storm_bowling


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: meatyone 03/19/2010 00:38 ( stars)


 
What a great ball i got for such a little price.The ROF out hooks my virtual gravity by 2 boards!! This ball is as good as any high performance ball that I have tried in the past year(mutant cell,jigsaw,invasion,full swing). Save some money and get a reign of fire. Storm sure has got its stuff together in the past few years and this ball is another winner! You can't go wrong with this ball! It hooks!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: BLUELOU4 03/15/2010 10:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I needed a ball that would roll long through the heads and middle oil but still have a lot of stored energy when it flipped on the back end. Wow this ball was just what I needed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BLUELOU4


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: cg 03/14/2010 20:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    212
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Wonderful ball!! This is ball is easy to control. I bought it about a month ago and it has increased my average. I love it. If you buy this ball you will not regret it!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cg


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: AugieGK4life 03/14/2010 05:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 3/4 over, 7/8 up
 
Ball Speed: 17-18mph
Rev Rate: 375-400
Layout: Pin above bridge of fingers and 5 3/8in from PAP, cg stacked under fingers and 5 3/8 from PAP

What I Wanted: i have a tropical storm with the same layout and i like the smooth, and easy to play motion it gave me so i figured this being a stronger ball that it would simply be used for heavier oil with the same line.

What I Got: Pretty much what i was expecting except alot more hook. For the price of the ball, this is top of the line stuff. the R2S coverstock EATS oil, and when it gets to the backend u always see a strong motion. I got a chance to shoot on a motified Shark pattern today and was throwing from 17board out to the 10, and it hooked in very strong. since this was the first time i have bowled on a sport shot i was expecting my ball to slide and not have a whole lot of hook cause of the length of the pattern but this ball does a good job. of corse, when i missed right 2 boards annd hit oil, it slid like any other ball would haha

normally when you want to play an inside line with heavy oil you might get the ball drilled with the pin under the fingers for that mid-lane read, but with this coverstock there is really no need for that just because of the fact that it already is able to grab the lane. that being said im glad i chose to keep the pin above the fingers to give me as much hitting power as i can get. once you find a line with this ball it becomes easy to string strikes, and it has very good carry the majority of the time. it also compliments my tropical storm very well, break down the oil some with my RoF then when im moving too deep in the lane just break out the tropical storm and restart to the right

I believe this is an amazing ball for only $115, easily able to compete, and more controlable, than most top of the line balls


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AugieGK4life


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 02/22/2010 14:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
The Reign of Fire has quickly become my #1 seller in the shop. You are not going to find another ball in this price range with the performance that it delivers. This review is based of a customer that I drilled one of these for.

Bowler
Speed - 16-17mph
Rev rate - 300-350
Axis Tilt - Med
Side Rotation - High

Layout
55x5x35 (no hole)
box surface

When laying this ball out we were trying to fit a ball in between his Reign and Virtual Gravity and would allow him to move left and open the lane up a little more.

I was highly impressed with overall strength of the Reign of Fire. It definitely read earlier than the Reign and was a lot smoother that the Virtual Gravity. It was much stronger in the midlane than I expected but this actually helped him, he was able to get the ball farther right and it still recovered. Overall it did exactly what we were looking for.

The Reign of Fire is turning out to be one of the most versatile balls I have drilled. It matches a lot of different styles, it seems to really excel for speed dominate players.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: rallan 02/21/2010 20:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I have thrown the ROF about 7 games now shot 728 right out of the box!! went from 1000 grit to 2000 grit. well i throw the ball about 19 mph and crank it with the revs. I ball is drilled strong but i the hook over all isnt has great as my paradigm i have.(which is my favorite ball). But the ball hits like a train and good carry. im glad i picked one of these up. thanks storm

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: JRizz 02/18/2010 22:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    191
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Kept the ball with its 4000 Abralon (oob) finish... this ball is a beast. It covers a lot of ground and wants to turn hard once it hits the dry boards. You'll definitely need some oil to have any control over it. Chased the shot left all night ending with a 675 set (191 league average), 235, 210, 230. I had a few frames in the middle game where I had trouble adjusting to the transition with a couple shots in a row going straight through the nose. I considered switching to my Hy-road but stayed with my RoF (since it was my new toy) and eventually found it again. With the backend this thing generates there was no problem with the corner pins when I was forced to move deeper as the night progressed. I would highly recommend this to someone looking for a lot of ball at a value price. Hope this helps.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: k. sto 02/17/2010 20:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Just fairly started bowling. Less than a year now, will hit just about a year this summer. Started with a tropical storm and I am pretty brand loyal. I have a stacked drill to it similar to my Tropical Storm.

Still trying to learn the ball, being that it is totally different from my TS. I like how it hits the pins, no slow down as I saw with the TS. It carries it's weight into the pocket, when ever I can hit it. The highest I scored as of now is 205. I cant roll it as fast as i can my TS but, that may be because of the layout. Slow it down and it hits without hesitation.

My next step is the Invasion or the VG but, only after I master this ball. I don't foresee it taking longer than a week. I like that it will hook with less effort, so just line up right.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by k. sto


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: theautoguy 02/17/2010 13:03 ( stars)


 
I am a 220 average bowler with medium speed 15-16 mph. I have been very pleased and happy using my Virtual Gravity, but wanted something that had a little more of a backend. When reading these reviews from others, you have to take into consideration that lane conditions all over the country vary. My particular lane condition is a medium oil, a little heavier in the middle and dry outside. The reaction I had on the box finish of 1000 Abralon was phenominal. The only problem I had was the Reign of Fire hit too strong. For three games I left 4 solid 10 pins, 3 stone 9 pins and 1 stone 8 pin. I took the ball to a 4000 Abralon finish and it made a huge difference based on our house shot. The ball was much more controllable as it went longer thru the heads, but still had a very agressive backend. I am very pleased with the Reign of Fire. It has added a new element to my arsonal that I didn't have.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: bowl dude 02/15/2010 14:47 ( stars)


 
Well i have used this ball 6 games now, i have a huge hook and i crank the ball, it is too much for me. But when this ball hits the pocket pins explode. I am going to use it tonight i put a high gloss finish on it so i hope it comes in real nice. This is a very nice ball made by storm, i carry a 205 avg first time i used it i shot a 165, it was real aggressive but after finding my shot which was 6 boards to the left i was on came back with a 269 then a 225.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Aznsensation 02/14/2010 13:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
15.3 Lbs
3.5" Pin
Pin 1/2" under bridge
Cg Kicked 55 degrees
Left at 1000 grit

This layout gave me early roll with a controlable backend.
Great on THS fresh oil. Allowed me to play down and in. This has become my feel ball when i start to strugle with my other equipment. Threw 725 out of the box and havent thrown under 700 with it yet. This ball is a great addition to your arsenal and can make a great bench mark ball. Storm has been on a roll another great ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Aznsensation


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Reggie C 05/31/2010 23:24 ( stars)


 
I don't know a lot of bowling terms to use but I can tell you that the reign of fire is a great ball to use when the oil conditions are medium to heavy. I don't bowl with a lot of revs but I will say that the reign of fire hits the pocket hard. I just bowled with it for the second time today and i bowled a 246. I would recommend it to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: whitetiger24 02/18/2010 23:49 ( stars)


 
that bowling ball is very good hook ball and good pocket pins i bowled 676 series last friday nite 2/12/10 and very solid ball better than reign polish ball so when i saw my friend got 800 series ,he used new release storm reign of fire that why i bought new storm reign of fire and help me bowled better ball smile

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Big Vic 02/13/2010 16:10 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball because the house I bowl at most changed to synthetic lanes and the conditioner used can make a real squirrely shot. I received the ball 2-8-10 had it drilled 2-9-10 and took it for my 2 leagues I bowl Tuesday evenings. I also had the ball drilled with a little negitive meaning pin above middle finger and CG under my palm.I also had it polished up to 2000 from 1000 boxed. This is a first for me. I really loved the fact the ball could'nt just make a undesired left hand turn any time it wanted to. I'd have to say I like what it does to help my stay with the shot longer. All I can say is best Storm ball for me since my Lighting Storm. Thrown 4 games for 834 not bad out of the box fresh, on our Rocky the Squirrel pattern.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Big Vic


Storm Reign of Fire Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 01/08/2010 15:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I can't wait till the Storm Reign of Fire is release i got to throw this ball at a demo. The Reign of Fire allow me to play in deep on the lane with out loosing and hitting power. I would suggest this ball to anyone looking for a mid priced ball for medium to heavy lane conditions.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 54 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter