Go to Brunswick Diamondback »

Only show reviews for Brunswick Diamondback

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.72Write a Review    Read all 25 reviews

I Love It
 
80% (20 of 25)
I Like It
 
16% (4 of 25)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 25)
I Don't Like It
 
4% (1 of 25)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 25)

Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 11/03/2009 10:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Diamondback is the first ball with Activator Solid cover available in the Advanced Performance price point.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - 4 1/2" from PAP
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 Siaair Micro Pad)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This was a pretty simple decision for me. We were doing two ball tests at the same time. One for the Diamondback and another for Brunswick's other new release the Wild Card. I figured we would see how these two matched up to each other and drilled them both the same way. The 4 1/2" x 4 1/2" layout
usually gives me a pretty good idea of the strength of the ball while keeping the reaction to a usable amount for the ball test.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This is a really good core/cover combination for Brunswick. The Rocket Core gives the ball plenty of roll and strength getting down the lane with a really nice backend motion. While the Activator Solid cover makes this ball read the friction just right and keeps a nice continuous motion all the way through the pins.

The Diamondback was a classic type of Brunswick ball for me. I saw a really nice strong roll off my hand with a stronger transition into the middle part of the lane. On the backend the ball maintained enough energy to continue
off the break point and carry nicely through the pins.

With the cover left at the 2000 grit out of box finish it did start to read a little early as the lanes broke down. Nothing a little Rough Buff or Factory Finish could not correct depending on the conditions you will be using it on.

Overall another very solid release for Brunswick in their Advanced Performance category. This may be a tough one to beat at this price point.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 01/11/2010 17:22 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 
This review is on the Brunswick Diamondback!

This ball is what I would consider to be the perfect benchmark ball. A benchmark ball is the ball that you will pull out of your bag first, and the ball that will make adjustments and ball changes the easiest. Usually, you want a ball with a solid coverstock. Check. Second, you want a ball with a very even and controllable reaction. Check. Third, you want something that reacts best on Medium to Heavy oil. Check. Having a solid coverstock with an even reaction makes it easy to tell if you need to switch to a ball with more length or if you need something with more surface to start up sooner. This is paramount in making adjustments to improve your scores as the night goes on. So if you need a "benchmark" ball, don't look past the Diamondback!

Dustin Seymour
Bellair Lanes Pro Shop Manager
Daytona Beach, FL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 04/20/2010 19:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Brunswick Diamondback is a Advanced Performance(6)ball this ball rolls great in medium-heavy oil.We have drilled Diamondbacks for PBA Sport leagues for the strong roll in the front with out losing flip in the backend.The Diamondback is the ball for UCBC Nationals.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 01/23/2010 11:12 ( stars)


 
Brunswick's latest addition to their Advanced Performance line is the Diamondback. The original Activator coverstock used on the Diamondback is a formula that provides proven downlane recovery, longevity of ball reaction and unprecedented durability. This ball uses the Brunswick Rocket core, providing a low RG core that when combined with the original Activator coverstock produces a ball reaction that is clean through the front with an aggressive move at the breakpoint.

I drilled my Diamondback 60x5 1/2x65 to create a smooth continuous ball motion that will even out over/under that sometimes develops in THS and some of the shorter PBA patterns. I tested the Diamondback on a THS of 39 feet. The ball performed amazing because it gave me great control in the mid lane without over hooking down lane. Even though I drilled this ball for control but it still had tremendous continuation through the pins and awesome pin carry. I give this ball a strong recommendation for anybody looking tame down over/under lane conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/30/2009 17:21 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Brunswick Diamondback is a advanced performance with a 189 on the perfect scale.If you have always wanted to try Brunswick this is the one to roll it has a matte finish for medium -heavy lane conditions.When you get yours make sure you have a ball driller with knowledge of your game so that he gives you the perfect drilling for you.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: BrunswickFTW 08/18/2012 00:03 ( stars)


 
I am a beginning bowler. The Brunswick Diamondback is the first ball I got.(apart from the Brunswick Rhino) The difference was instantaneous. My difference in my average in two sessions was 20. Personally, some cons for me were that as a beginner, there wasn't enough movement for oily or synthetic lanes. I would recommend this ball to any bowler jumping into the game.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BrunswickFTW


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: captzap 05/17/2010 11:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I purchased the Diamondback from Striking Advantage Pro Shop in River Lanes (Titusville, Fl.) They are a Bowlingball.com affiliate. Jimmy Martin drilled the ball with a dual angle layout that put the pin centered below the bridge. This makes a very controllable ball for me on fresh THS. Friday night I shot 823 my first ever 800 series, 279, 246, 298. I only had to make a small 2 board move in the 2nd game to get back to the strikes. I highly recommend the Diamondback and the excellent work of Jimmy at Striking Advantage.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 05/06/2010 14:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
The Brunswick Diamondback is one great piece of equipment. It is extremely controllable and does not react too quick off the dry boards. It seems to match up for all types of games but seems to work better for tweeners. The Diamondback serves as a good benchmark ball due to the fact that Brunswick has equipment on either side of it. Also it is priced really well so how can you go wrong.

Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
river@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: mustangtoby 04/09/2010 06:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    145
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
A begginer bowler, had only thrown straight ball before I purchased this one. My average was 136. The day I got this ball and had it drilled, I started picking up the hook right off the bat! My first game was a 135, and over the course of 6 games I worked my way up from there to a high of 181! I know I'm only gonna get better and better from here on out, and love this ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: South Region PBA Bruns Staff 03/15/2010 12:31 ( stars)


 
A lot of people have been waiting for a ball like this!! The diamondback!!!! With the 2000 micro pad finish this ball is nothing short of amazing!! This ball picks up earlier than the wild card and does not lose any hitting power on medium to heavy oiled lanes!! With the activator solid coverstock and price.. how could you go wrong.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by South Region PBA Bruns Staff


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: jls 03/15/2010 08:44 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
just learning to use the ball.So far,itseems to be a pretty reactive ball at the far end of the lane.It definatly isn\'t a dry or lite oiled lane ball,haven\'t tried it on a mid to oily one yet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: WVKev1960 03/12/2010 06:08 ( stars)


 
Fantastic ball!! Great ball for med. to heavy oil conditions. Rolls great and hits the pocket like a tank. I'm a 208 avg. bowler and the 2 games I bowled was a 225 and 257. Highly recommend this ball 5 stars all the way.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: devildog819 02/24/2010 03:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/4 over, 3/16 up
 
Ball Name - Diamondback

Bowler Specs

Right Handed
Tweener
15 MPH
4000 Siaair Surface

Description - The Diamondback replaces and upgrades the Copperhead. By adding Activator coverstock along with the proven Rocket core, this combination will provide a stronger, earlier rolling addition to this line.

Drilling - I drilled this ball 4 x 2 with a small weight hole on the axis.

Reaction - FOR ME, this is the earliest rolling ball that I have in my bag. This ball rolls earlier than my Siege and C System 3.5. Even when smoothed out, I just cant keep it on the lane. I will be using this ball only while playing on longer patterns or on heavy carrydown.

Overall - If you want a very early rolling ball, you would be wise to take a long look at the Diamondback. I will drill another one weaker with the pin over the fingers to take advantage of the stronger coverstock in the near future.

Thanks to Billy O, new product rep Brian Bever, and all the good folks at Brunswick.
--------------------
Roger Harley, Jr
IBPSIA Certified
USBC Certified Coach
Brunswick Advisory Staff

***The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Bowling & Billards Corporation***


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by devildog819


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: bobdrake 01/26/2010 20:30 ( stars)


 
i expected a very aggressive ball and i was very disappointed in the ball. I have owned all the infero's and expected it to be at least that aggressive and it wasn't

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 01/11/2010 23:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4x 3/4 up
 
Ball Review: Diamondback
Date: 11/04/09

Bowler Information:

Initial ball Speed: 16.5 - 17 mph
Tilt: 10 Degrees
Axis Rotation: 30 Degrees
Rev Rate: 300-350 RPMs

Coverstock - Activator Solid
RG min - 2.496”
Differential - .043”

Drill Specs:
Pin to PAP - 4.5”
Degree From VAL: 25"
Vertical Pin Orientation: UP
Drill Angle - 65"


Surface:

4000 Siaair Micropad

The Diamondback is a new reaction shape for Brunswick in the Advance Performance line. If you are looking for a reactive solid with plenty of hook at the breakpoint, look no further! This ball takes a solid read of the midlane and then explodes into the pocket with an amount of angularity I have never seen in a Solid Symmetrical Ball from the great folks at Big B. Activator Solid is known as a smooth continuous reading solid formula, however, when pared with the Rocket Core it seems to become quite a bit more angular. Don't get me wrong, it's no C System 2.5 or Wild Thing as far as response time goes, but it is definitely more angular than past Brunswick solid releases in the Advanced Performance line. In fact, the ball had too much recovery in its out of box 2000 Siaair Micropad finish for our 40 food moderate to heavy volume house pattern, so I decided to take it down to 4000 so I wouldn't have to play so far in the middle of the lane. When compared to my similarly drilled 2000 grit Rattler, the Diamondback is 3 and 1 stronger with more angularity at the 4000 grit finish. From a pro shop operators perspective, it also compares very capably with other manufacturer's solid balls that tend to have faster response times than that of Brunswick and seems to possibly have more hook. In summary, this ball continues to improve on proven technology by providing a little bit of that new Brunswick angularity. If your looking for top tier performance at an affordable price look no further...The Diamondback is all of that and more!
--------------------
Chris Garrett
Upstate Pro Shop
Greenville, SC - 1-866-490-9980
Upstateproshop@charter.net

PBA Member
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff

The views expressed here are soely those of the writer not necessarily those of the Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: renel 01/10/2010 01:35 ( stars)


 
I was very pleased with the prompt delivery and the look of my new bowling Diamond back ball, I am hoping after I get it drilled I can bowl good with it. The hand rosin bags are very good as well, and I really like my free Star Wars bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: fitdocsr 01/08/2010 00:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8 x 1/8
 
Bowler Info:
375 RPM
16.5 MPH at the pins
PAP 4 5/8 x 1/8 ?

Ball: Diamond Back

Layout: 35� x 4 � x 30� x-hole is Gradient Line P3

Initial Surface Preparation: 2,000 Siaair Micro Pad

Lane surfaces tested on: HPL 9000 and Pro-anvilane

Observations: Super fast rev rate, clean through the front, firm breakpoint.

Conclusions: This quickly became the first ball out of my bag. Very good for reading lanes and has enough hook to handle oily lanes without over reacting to the dry boards. I found this ball to be a great compliment to the python. The python is longer and sharper while the diamond back is earlier and a little smoother. I love how Brunswick has made all theses new balls compliment other ones in the same line. You can create an arsenal that covers almost every condition without having the same reaction like you get in some brands.

As with any ball, proper matching of the bowler, ball, layout and coverstock are crucial to success. Make sure you find a well educated pro shop technician to drill your next ball and your scores will increase immediately.
*The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Bowling & Billiards Corporation

Gregg Helms
USBC Silver Certified Coach
Brunswick Pro Shop Staff
Striking Results Pro Shop
"A Fitting Place for Bowlers"
Raleigh, Cary & Erwin, NC


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by fitdocsr


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: johnny10 01/04/2010 09:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    221
Sport Shot Average    212
Ball Speed    Extreme
Style    Cranker
PAP    3 1/4
 
This balls is crazy!!!! I orderd this ball not knowing what brunswick was all about but watched vidoes of the ball and it looked very similar to my line. I set my ball up with a very strong layout. and when o took it to the lanes for the first time i was impressed. This ball i was able to throw alot harder then i ever could and just watch it TARE the pocket to shredds. This is the hardest hirtting ball i have ever seen . this was my very first brunswick ball , and i am convinced this is a must have,.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by johnny10


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: troy_300 01/02/2010 10:23 ( stars)


 
The Diamondback is a versitile ball with quite a few options for the bowler. At its original 2000 surface it provides the right traction for medium to oil conditions and with its continued ball motion provides a strong hitting ball. The Diamondback also works well with polish, if you have a Rattler in your aresenal probably don't need to do this, but works well if your house tends to play a little drier.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by troy_300


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: baer300 12/20/2009 14:46 ( stars)


 
Okay, what we have here is another great ball. The Rocket core joined by the Activator cover creates some of the trademark Brunswick ball motion. Strong in the mids and very predictable. The ball gets through the fronts well and reads the midalne well and rolls strongly into the pins. I drilled mine with a 65x5x40. I rolled 300 with it the first week out. I love this ball motion it provides. The cover takes surface changes well. I have found the best to be 4000. Another winner by Brunswick!!!!

Adam Baer
Brunswick Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: Cripper 11/17/2009 10:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    224
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/4" over x 3/4" up
 
Layout - RICO

Surface Preparation - 2000 abralon w/shine

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Well I have never had a ball with the RICO layout in it so I had no idea what to expect. I just knew I wanted a ball to read the lane and hit hard. I talked with Scott at Twisterz Pro Shop and he suggested trying the Diamondback with the RICO...so I went that route.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Man alive does this ball hit like a truck. I had the OOBF on it at a few houses and it was too much for me. I have a lot of revs and I can throw high 17's if I want but I really didn't want to change my game just for one ball. So I hit it with a fresh 2000 and put some Brunswick polish on it and it does exactly what I want it to do at my current speed. It goes down lane further, still reads the lane like a RICO layout should and with the polish it stores up even more energy to hit hard. Practiced on a fresh pair at a local alley and shot 716 with the new surface.

Now for me the Diamondback is a great ball choice for heavier oil lanes, even with the polish, or for the first game or 2 on a typical house shot. Once the lanes broke down I couldn't strike as easily with this ball. I left a lot of single pins, mostly 10's, on what I thought were solid hits.

I am very pleased with the ball and layout I decided to put in this ball. RICO layout isn't for everybody but if you ever wanted to try it in a ball I would recommend the Diamondback.

Special thanks to Scott Wohlwned at Twisterz Pro Shop.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cripper


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: Cripper 11/17/2009 10:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    224
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/4" over x 3/4" up
 
Layout - RICO

Surface Preparation - 2000 abralon w/shine

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Well I have never had a ball with the RICO layout in it so I had no idea what to expect. I just knew I wanted a ball to read the lane and hit hard. I talked with Scott at Twisterz Pro Shop and he suggested trying the Diamondback with the RICO...so I went that route.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Man alive does this ball hit like a truck. I had the OOBF on it at a few houses and it was too much for me. I have a lot of revs and I can throw high 17's if I want but I really didn't want to change my game just for one ball. So I hit it with a fresh 2000 and put some Brunswick polish on it and it does exactly what I want it to do at my current speed. It goes down lane further, still reads the lane like a RICO layout should and with the polish it stores up even more energy to hit hard. Practiced on a fresh pair at a local alley and shot 716 with the new surface.

Now for me the Diamondback is a great ball choice for heavier oil lanes, even with the polish, or for the first game or 2 on a typical house shot. Once the lanes broke down I couldn't strike as easily with this ball. I left a lot of single pins, mostly 10's, on what I thought were solid hits.

I am very pleased with the ball and layout I decided to put in this ball. RICO layout isn't for everybody but if you ever wanted to try it in a ball I would recommend the Diamondback.

Special thanks to Scott Wohlwned at Twisterz Pro Shop.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cripper


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: 423dcampbell 11/24/2010 10:44 ( stars)


 
got it to give as a gift. it was the perfect ball for this bowler. I love bowlingball.com best prices and the fastest shipping, keep up the great work! thanks alot!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 423dcampbell


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: Brunschick11 01/19/2010 17:56 ( stars)


 
This ball is a MUST have for anyone out there that is in need of a bowling ball that can get through a heavier volume of oil and not lose energy down lane.

My Diamondback (out of the box finish), has a 2" pin which is drilled under the bridge of my fingers with the cg kicked out and a hole beside the thumb. It compliments my Maxx zone very well and I can go between the two when necessary. The Maxx zone is still a favorite of mine, but knowing I now have a ball I can go too when that one is not hitting so well is a bonus.

This ball has a very smooth motion for me and is very predictable down lane. I trust it to pick up an earlier roll and still continue through the pins without losing any energy. A MUST addition to your arsenal.
--------------------
Stefanie Nation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brunschick11


Brunswick Diamondback Reviewed By: Kearns01 01/08/2010 08:07 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball for my husband for Christmas, he needed a ball that he could use that had a good curve on it and that would work on different lane condtions. Since getting the ball drilled he has a lot of luck with it. It curves nicely on all different lane condtions

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kearns01


Read all 25 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter