Go to Brunswick Wild Card »

Only show reviews for Brunswick Wild Card

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.81Write a Review    Read all 21 reviews

I Love It
 
86% (18 of 21)
I Like It
 
10% (2 of 21)
It's Ok
 
5% (1 of 21)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 21)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 21)

Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 11/04/2009 10:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The new Wild Card offers another great look to Brunswick's High Performance line up.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - 4 1/2" from PAP
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 Siaair Micro Pad)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
If you have read my review of the Diamondback you know that I drilled both of these balls identical. My intention was to see how they matched up together. This layout is a fairly basic layout and allows me to see a lot of what the ball can do. It also happens to be a very popular layout for most league
bowlers so i thought this would be a good idea.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I would have to say this is my favorite of the three "Wild" balls in the High Performance line from Brunswick. I think the core/cover combo finally matched up well for me. I still saw that classic Brunswick ball motion signature but it seemed to match up well for me this time.

In the heads the ball was surprisingly smooth and did not seem to over react to friction in first part of the lane. The 2000 grit cover provided enough roll to get the ball through the heavier volumes of oil in the middle part of the lane without skidding too far through it.

In the body of the lane the ball really started to make it move. This is the part of the lane where Brunswick typically shows most of their reaction. The Wild Card was the same way but instead of really getting up and setting for the backend the ball increased friction and made a smoother motion into the back part of the lane.

I still saw plenty of continuation on the back and the ball had plenty of energy going through the pins. I do not know if I said in the Diamondback review but I actually found these two balls to be very close. If you are a hard core Brunswick person and you decide to try both of these balls, I would vary the layouts or play with surfaces to see a larger gap in ball motions between the two of them.

All in all another solid release from Brunswick and the Wild Card really fits into the line up well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 01/23/2010 11:07 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The Wild Card utilizes ConneXion coverstock known for its unbelievable traction response from foul line to head pin. For a ball with a solid coverstock the Wild Card gets easily through the heads, staying on line to target on medium and heavy oil conditions, but the coverstock really comes to life when the ball reaches the end of the oil pattern and moves aggressively to the pocket. The Paragon core was designed with two things in mind. First, lowering the RG to create a faster revving core that provides a strong mid-lane traction. And second, raise the RG differential to increase the track flare and generate more overall hook with standard layouts.

I drilled my Wild Card 70x5x40 and took the finish to 4000 with Siaair Micro Pads. I was looking for the Wild Card create length with a smoother motion in the back part of the lane. This ball is incredible on our 39ft THS being that it clears the front while maintaining a smooth predictable move at the end of the pattern. It also worked great from a deeper angle because it never lost its continuation through the pins. Every once in awhile you get that ball you know is going to be great before you even get on the lane and this is one of those balls. I rarely include personal accomplishments in my reviews, but during the first 10 games with the Wild Card I averaged 250, had a 300, couple of 279's and a low game of 220. The Wild Card is one ball that would definitely be a great addition to anybody's arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 11/13/2009 18:45 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Wild Card is the new release from Brunswick on the perfect scale 206 with matte finish.The Wild series gives you allot of options for league or tournament play.Wild Card gives you more back end with control in the front.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond#bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: inches987 05/26/2011 16:16 ( stars)


 
It has great hook potential it hooks late but I wouldn't buy this ball because we going bowling every tuesday and May 24, 2011 was the second week I used it and it chipped I was so upset after one use it chipped

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by inches987


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: BlueStreak98 03/01/2011 09:14 ( stars)


 
i bought the Brunswick Wild Card for my father for his birthday. He's a league bowler and he said that he really like this ball. It works well for his game.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: tfsabre 02/16/2011 02:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    176
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Bought this ball for my father who is 75 and averages 160. He has been usuing old balls of mine and they were not drilled for him so now he has a ball that is drilled for him and the past two weeks his average has jumped to almost 175. Very nice ball, has a very controllable hook and is a very nice ball for oily conditions.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tfsabre


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: gsher3942003@yahoo.com 02/03/2011 18:26 ( stars)


 
I wanted to have the ball drilled with pin under for early roll, but the 4" pin and my narrow span made that impossible. Still, with a little tweaking the shop was able to give me an earlier reaction to the lane, which is exactly what I was looking for. I rolled a 627 the first time out, which was very satisfying for a 64 year-old with a 186 average. I had a few more 4 and 7 pins than usual, but only one 10 pin all night. As long as I didn't flip or twist my wrist on the release the ball rolled strong into the pocket. An easy release and roll generated great carry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gsher3942003@yahoo.com


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: gsher3942003@yahoo.com 02/03/2011 18:25 ( stars)


 
I wanted to have the ball drilled with pin under for early roll, but the 4" pin and my narrow span made that impossible. Still, with a little tweaking the shop was able to give me an earlier reaction to the lane, which is exactly what I was looking for. I rolled a 627 the first time out, which was very satisfying for a 64 year-old with a 186 average. I had a few more 4 and 7 pins than usual, but only one 10 pin all night. As long as I didn't flip or twist my wrist on the release the ball rolled strong into the pocket. An easy release and roll generated great carry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gsher3942003@yahoo.com


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: j191491@yahoo.com 12/14/2010 10:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    133
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Very good on oily conditions. Even when the lane conditions change it still crushes the pocket with just a slight variation in speed. Just started to learn how to throw a hook, highly recommended for any one that needs more back end break.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: edf55 11/09/2010 17:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5
 
another good ball by brunswick gave it 5 stars it compliments my python very nicely. Ball drilled with a stacked leverage layout pin down an outside ring finger. In the heavier patterns it makes a strong continuous move carries very well. In a med pattern I can move inside use more side roll performs great no complaints here

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by edf55


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 04/28/2010 17:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
Bowler Specs.
PAP 3 3/4\" over 1\" up
Axis Tilt - Very high
Axis Rot - low-med
speed - 15-16 mph
rev rate - 275-325

Layout:
30x4x60
p4 weight hole

The bowler I drilled is for is a med. rev spinner. We were looking for something for him to use for a 45 ft kegel pattern since his Absolute Inferno and Vapor Zone was too weak. I had read great things about the Wild Card so we decided to give it a try.

The Wild Card was very surprising. It ended up being more ball than I expected. It was definitely strong enough to handle the 45 foot pattern for him, but the surprising part was how well it retained energy as the night went on. Most Brunswick stuff I have drilled have a tendency to start losing energy quick, this was not the case in the Wild Card. He shot 650 his first night on a 192 average moving only about 3 to 5 boards throughout the night. Needless to say he was extremely pleased. Great release by Brunswick.

Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
river@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: South Region PBA Bruns Staff 03/15/2010 12:30 ( stars)


 
If you don’t have a wild card in your bag, your arsenal is not complete. The wild card is the ultimate bench mark ball. The ball comes at a 2000 micro pad finish and is easy altered for desired reaction. This ball gives you nice easy to read ball movements and hits hard. A must have for anyone who does not have a wild card.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by South Region PBA Bruns Staff


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: migaloti 02/18/2010 19:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    169
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8 X 1 up
 
I am a high speed bowler with a low to medium rev-rate. I find that most of my balls go too long out of the box, so I'm forever sanding them. So, I chose the new Wild Card because it was designed with a faster revving core for improved mid-lane traction, and a higher RG differential for better track flare and earlier hook. I decided to try Brunswick again after researching the new releases from them. It is refreshingly clear that the big B is once again attempting to advance their respectability and once lofty market share by producing state-of-the-art balls. These new line of balls have amazing coverstocks that seem to grip through the soupiest lane oil. My experience with the Wild Card confirmed this. In fact, I found that (for my style of bowling anyway), it hooks too much on medium oil but is just right for the heavier oils. By allowing me to gain an earlier roll, I find I have a lot of power at the backend, where I need it the most. This results in a lot of carry. I am very happy with this ball and I think you will like it too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by migaloti


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: KrisJ 02/04/2010 22:05 ( stars)


 
Great ball for medium-oily to heavy oil pattern. It really helps me get the ball to the pocket if there is a decent amount of oil on the lane. It is my go to ball for many of the tournaments I enter because of the tough oil conditions they out out there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: Dave Dean 01/27/2010 23:19 ( stars)


 
Bowling hand: Right
Style:cranker
Speed: 16-17mph
League Average: 210


This season I have been battling some tendinitis in my wrist, fingers and forearm. My favorite ball up to this point was the ultimate inferno. To help alleviate some of the pain I have started to throw 15lb equipment. My first purchase was the twisted fury destruction. The lanes this season have been slick so I wanted a ball to replace my ultimate, so I purchased the wild card. Drilled it last night, pin down layout as the house I bowl in overreacts when the ball hits the dry boards.

Let me start by saying wow, what a ball! First game 255 out of the gate. Second game 203, had some carry isssues on the right lane. Third game, first 300... for a 758.

Thank you Brunswick, for a great ball!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 01/11/2010 23:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4x 3/4 up
 
Ball Review: Wild Card
Date: 11/04/09

Bowler Information:

Initial ball Speed: 16.5 - 17 mph
Tilt: 10 Degrees
Axis Rotation: 30 Degrees
Rev Rate: 300-340 RPMs

Coverstock - Connexion Solid
RG min - 2.469”
Differential - .045”

Drill Specs:
Pin to PAP - 5”
Degree From VAL: 70"
Vertical Pin Orientation: Down
Drill Angle - 65"


Surface:

OOB 2000 Siaair Micropad

The Wild Card is a new generation of benchmark ball from Brunswick. With this new release they have taken the Connexion coverstock in the solid form and placed it on the Paragon Core. This ball gives the bowler a midlane read with more response than Brunswick fans and bowlers in general have seen from Brunswick in the past on the backend. With the slower response layout I choose I was looking for a smoother rolling piece to read lanes with and keep me in play when the pattern is wet dry and I can't get to the pocked with other balls. This ball gave me a predictable read in the midlane with plenty of hook and pin action that is definitely better than smoother rolling balls that Brunswick has had in the past. Connexion coverstock definitely has improved continuation at the pins when compared with Powerkoil 18 or Activator coverstock. I got everything I asked for and more with the Wild Card. In spite of its large hook potential, I could see this ball being the go to ball across a variety of lane conditions as it is already become the first ball out of the bag for me in a short time. When you need a ball to conquer the lanes pull out the ace in the hole...the Wild Card.
--------------------
Chris Garrett
Upstate Pro Shop
Greenville, SC - 1-866-490-9980
Upstateproshop@charter.net

PBA Member
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff

The views expressed here are soely those of the writer and not necessarily those of the Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: MichaelRomano 01/05/2010 11:16 ( stars)


 
Drilled a Wild Card after trying some at a Demo Day. Of course every ball looked good and struck at the Demo Day. I thought to myself well the newer stuff looked pretty good, but still its Brunswick and will probably roll like old Brunswick outside of today.

Well the ball rolls nothing but phenomenal and gives Brunswick something I have not seen from them almost ever. I am actually confident I can throw this ball anywhere on the lane and have it get the desired reaction needed.

If you are skeptical about Brunswick I highly recommend trying the Wild Card. Its a wonderful ball I am glad to now have in my bag. Do not prejudge this company based on past results. You will be missing out.

Drilled pin above the bridge with a small hole on the axis. I like to throw it harder for some reason and have a medium rev rate to it.

Michael Romano


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: eeyore14 01/04/2010 21:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I have the Wild Card for about a week I had it drilled very aggressive for my leagues and also the tournaments I bowl all usually have crazy amounts of oil. I have 6 games on this ball and nothing below 211. It carries great and hooks so much more than I was expecting it was crazy. I had my normal sunday night scratch league and I threw a few balls in practice and immediatly had too move way left by the 3rd frame i was standing lined up with the left guttter throwing between 4-7, and it was coming straight back lookin great

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by eeyore14


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: baer300 12/20/2009 14:48 ( stars)


 
I have finally thrown this enough to post a review. I drilled mine 75x6x30. I wanted a stronger ball drilled weaker, more for THS. I polished it some and it is great. The WC is about 2 stronger than my Wild Thing drilled 65x5x35. I like this ball alot. It is smoother than the WT and C System but does hook a little more. Also carries very well. Very predictable(trademark Brunswick). I have just drilled another one as well. I drilled it 70x1 1/2x40. Hit it with 4000 then polish. I needed this ball for the one center I bowl at. Needed to stay closer to the track longer and it fits the bill great. Haven't thrown it much but will post more later. If you are looking for a ball that hooks and controls the breakpoint, look no farther than the Wild Card.
Ok, I have thrown my 70x 1 1/2x40 enough now to post a review. This one center I bowl at really breaks down. I am a high rev player and even when it is only me playing in, they still break down alot. So I drilled this ball to stay farther right longer. This way when this ball doesnt work I can change balls and go deep.
Now, with this layout and surface prep(4000 then polish) the ball clears the front with a trace of oil. Reads the midlane well and then a smooth roll off the spot. No flip or strong turn at all just a roll.
I have found that the Wild Card takes surface changes very well and responds to them well also. Polishing will add more downlane motion and more surface will smooth it out.
Between the two I have they are the first balls out of my bag right now. It should be the first ball out of your bag too!!!

Adam Baer
Bruswick Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: Brunschick11 01/19/2010 17:58 ( stars)


 
I have had my Wildcard(s) for about a week now and have had the opportunity to throw them quite a bit. Both are drilled differently - one with my favorite drilling pin in the palm, cg kicked out with a hole and the other has the pin way above the fingers with no weight hole. Both have box fnishes on them as well.

The pin in the palm WC picks up an early rolls but still has a continuous motion down the lane. My pin up WC gets down the lane pretty long with more of an angular motion in the back. They compliment each other really well so it's easy for me to go back and forth between the two.

Both are a GREAT addition to any arsensal that is lacking this type of equipment.
--------------------
Stefanie Nation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brunschick11


Brunswick Wild Card Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 11/24/2009 16:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
The Brunswick Wild Card is a perfect addition to the Wild Series of balls. The Wild Card lower the RG to create a faster revving core that will provide improved mid-lane traction. And second, raise the RG differential to increase the track flare potential which will generate more overall hook with standard layouts.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes ProShop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 21 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter