Go to Lane #1 Massacre Red Death »

Only show reviews for Lane #1 Massacre Red Death

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.79Write a Review    Read all 19 reviews

I Love It
 
95% (18 of 19)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 19)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 19)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 19)
I Hate It
 
5% (1 of 19)

Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/22/2009 09:56 ( stars)

120 of 120 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Massacre Red Death isn't like the original Chainsaw Massacre, it's much worse - on the pins!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/2" above ring finger
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - 1 1/8" right of center of grip
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 Grit)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was looking for a true test of a Lane #1 ball. This would be the first Lane #1 ball we have tested here at bowlingball.com. For me personally this was also the first Lane #1 ball I have ever thrown. I always heard they hooked quite a bit and typically did not need strong layout to help increase hooking potential.

I went with a very safe and somewhat basic layout. By getting the pin 5 1/2" from my PAP and placing it up I was thinking I would help increase skid leaving myself plenty of energy to see what the ball could do on the back end of the lane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Lane #1 did not come up short on their first ball test with us. The Red Death Massacre delivered on every level. This ball is not for the faint of heart or those that bowl primarily on drier conditions. But if you want a ball that creates friction and does not seem to stop then this is perfect for you.

From the beginning of the test I was finding myself going deeper and deeper on the lane and not finding a spot where I could not get the ball back to the pocket. The one thing that really stuck out to me was that for a very strong rolling, higher hooking ball it did not seem to read the friction too early or roll out on me. If I tried to play right up the drier part of the pattern of course it would roll early and fade out but when I was in the oil the ball rolled strong and never jumped off the friction early.

Overall I am impressed with both the coverstock and core combo on this ball. Look for more great Lane #1 balls and ball tests from us in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 09/24/2009 15:44 ( stars)

39 of 39 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge
Brian Halstrom Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Bowling Ball


Be prepared to slaughter your competition with Lane #1's all new Massacre Red Death.


Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
CG to PAP - 4 3/4"
Balance Hole - None

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish (2000-grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: This is the first Lane #1 ball I've gotten to test, so I was pretty excited to see what it could do. I decided to use a neutral drilling on this ball to get a feel for what it could do. With the pin and CG stacked on the center line, I usually get a medium reaction with decent overall hook.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: This ball by far exceeded my expectations in terms of reaction and control! This ball picked up a roll early in the heads giving me a predictable movement down lane. One thing different that I got from this ball compared to others I've thrown like this is the amount of reaction is has on the backend. Generally when the ball reads the heads as well as this does, you'll get a nice arc to the pocket. With the Massacre Red Death, this ball picked up a roll and still snapped hard off the breakpoint.

I started out using the Massacre Red Death on a freshly oiled house condition. Normally I would stand around 22-25 and play in between the 2-3 arrow. Left at box surface, this was a little strong for me. I started standing on 30 and targeted in between the 3rd and 4th arrow. If I was going to miss, I needed to miss right down the lane. The ball had no problem making up room if I missed right. If I missed left, I could expect a 4 pin or a few stone 9's.

There did not seem to be a limit on how far left you could move with this ball. I tried a few shots standing on 45 and looping the whole lane. No need to keep the speed down as the ball had plenty in getting back to the pocket no matter how far right I threw it.

Overall, I would say this is a great ball for medium to heavy oiled conditions. The surface tears through oil and gives a great reaction on the backend. With the energy stored down lane, you're not going to see much deflection. I would recommend a little polish if you plan on using this on medium to light oil shots.

For more reviews, visit my site at www.BrianHalstrom.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 10/07/2009 19:02 ( stars)

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 
Heeeeeeere’s Johnny!

The pin’s worst nightmare is here! The Lane #1 Massacre Red Death builds on the Lane #1 ChainSaw Massacre’s domination, and takes in to a whole 'nother level! This is one of the biggest hooking balls I have ever thrown! If you're looking for something for heavy oil conditions, you cannot go wrong with this ball. Lane #1 has always been known for making good equipment, but I think this is their best release to date. If you've never given this innovative company a try, now's the time! If you don't believe me then check out bowlingball.com's video of this beast and see for yourself!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 09/28/2009 09:09 ( stars)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 
John Congdon - Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Layout
Pin to PAP (4 1/2" Over 0" up) - 5 1/2"
Dual Angle Layout - 55 deg x 5 1/2" x 25 deg

Surface - Out of Box (OOB)

What I was looking for:

I wasn't really looking for anything specific, as this was my first time throwing a Lane #1 bowling ball. With this layout was expecting a long skid / flip reaction.

What I ended up with in the ball layout:

I have now used this ball in two different occasions. The ball plain hooks like a monster. It definitely needs some oil (or coverstock adjustments) to get down the lane, but when you can get the ball down the lane, it's great. When there was a lighter volume of oil, I found myself struggling trying to get the ball far enough down the lane to let it do its damage. I believe this is due to my slower ball speed, so I need the extra help of the oil to get it that far.

Overall I really liked the Lane #1 Massacre Red Death. This ball is amazingly aggressive and strong.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 09/30/2009 20:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
We have try before you buy in our shop the Red Death is drilled with Turbo Switch Grip.Five bowlers rolled the Massacre Red Death 14 lbs and love the reaction.Drilled pin over ring finger with cg kicked out two inches this layout gave our bowlers more roll in the heads and a strong move in the back ends.If you want a ball for oil this is the ball if you have any questions about this Red Death please e-mail me at.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager

ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: cliff_mcclure2002@yahoo.com 04/05/2011 07:12 ( stars)


 
Drilled this Lane 1 beauty with the pin under ring finfer , cd kicked out 45 and weight hole on the VAL . Lite polish. Clears the heads nicely while reving up and makesa its move strong and solid . Hit your mark and assault some pins . I reccomenf this ball for any average league bowler who has trouble with over under and carry down .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cliff_mcclure2002@yahoo.com


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: straker 03/09/2011 06:05 ( stars)


 
This ball kicks major A** on the lanes, if the lanes are dry I suggest getting some secret sauce polish from lane#1 official website it will allow the ball to have more skid and snap in the backend, and if the lanes are super oily I tend to slow my ball down a lil bit and move right but it will cut threw the oil with ease, I throw a 2 handed cranker so I get a ton of revs so controlling a hooking ball in dry lanes can be painful but with the secret sauce it handles the dry lanes nicely, only problem i've had with this ball has been my poor judgement of lanes breaking down but we've all had bad games nobody or ball is perfect, I love this ball and highly recommened it to anyone looking to score high and I average 200, and 203 in 2 leagues using the red death, goodluck and high scoring :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: Thunderbot23 01/15/2011 21:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    192
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This ball is amazing on what it can do, I had to get it drilled twice, but the second time it was drilled I shot my very first 700 series (204, 255, 246). All in all this ball is amazing it catches exactly how I wanted it too on oily lanes and how much power it has once it does.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: jsapudar07@yahoo.com 12/14/2010 15:28 ( stars)


 
Just bowled my high series and game yesterday with my new lane #1 red death massacre (248 game, 687 series). I'm a 180 average bowler that hasn't bowled in league for the last five years due to college. I started bowling in september and noticed that the ball I was throwing was not very aggressive, I couldn't ever play a 15 board shot because my ball wouldn't come up in the pocket. With the red death massacre, my opportunities are endless. I find myself standing on the dot to the left of the middle dot and throwing out to the 10 board then adjust from there based on the lane conditions (usually end up throwing more towards the 13-15 board by the 3rd game). This ball drives through the pocket and rarely leaves 10 pins when you don't expect it. I've been throwing probably double the amount of strikes than I would normally throw and am expecting to average 200 by the end of the year. Thanks Lane #1 & bowlingball.com!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: MrCoachMitchell 11/07/2010 13:20 ( stars)


 
This ball is amazing. I own about 12- Lane #1 bowling balls and this one is by far my favorite.

My style is Tweener/Stroker. I grew up bowling on wood lanes where ball speed was important. Now with synthetic lanes and the massive amount of oil put out at the centers around here I have trouble carrying consistently unless I keep my speed down and try to hook the ball more (which throws off my timing).

This ball is a dream come true for me. I can stand center dot and roll it fast right over 2nd arrow and CARRY the 10pin!!!! It's great, a better ball than the super carbide bomb (my previous favorite).

If I miss a little bit right and hit the 8 board its strong enough to rip back and strike. If I miss left and hit about the 12 board it floats on the flood in the middle and somehow carries the 10pin.

Overall this ball hits like a Dodge Ram truck. The strikes are really loud. Louder than I've ever thrown. When I know I have to have a strike I go to this ball. It's only cost me one game and that was because of a stone 8pin. I highly reccomend it to anyone who plays the lanes straighter, has high ball speed, or bowls on a ton of oil!

Name: David Mitchell

Style: Tweener/Stroker

Average: 205


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MrCoachMitchell


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: sherry1354 10/01/2010 14:21 ( stars)


 
The Lane #1 Massacre Red Death bowling ball has been great so far. My average has gone up about 10 pins since using it. Furthermore, it does everything that it advertise that it could. I'm able to hit the pocket more consistantly and able to hook on the oily lanes that it was designed for. Therefore, I'm very happy with this product and would recommend the ball to anynoe wishing to raise their average.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by sherry1354


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: Tink Tink 10/26/2009 22:23 ( stars)


 
I love this ball,it is very explosive in the back in..It has one mean hook..If you want a ball that hooks and holds to the lane this the ball for you..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: ebonite fan forever 10/09/2009 00:09 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
This is my first Lane #1 ball and it will definitely not be my last. This ball is absolutely outstanding. I have needed a ball that will carry the corner pins well when the lanes are oily or when there is a lot of carry down. THIS IS THE BALL WITHOUT A DOUBT WOW. This ball eats oil for lunch and pins for dinner. I have seen my average go up on oily conditions by 22 pins. LOVE IT.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: mozilla22 03/05/2010 18:50 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I've had this ball for 3 months now and have never been so disappointed in a piece of equipment. It doesn't finish or carry, therefore I haven't scored. Pocket hits almost always result in a corner pin. My average is in danger of falling below 190 after being at 205 when my purchase was made. I've changed the finish of the coverstock and I've even had it redrilled once. Nothing has worked, and I'm now well on my way to having my worst season in 10 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 09/26/2009 12:08 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I got to throw the Lane #1 Massacre Red Death. This ball hooks a ton and could get back from anywhere on the lane. I will be getting one when they are release on Oct 1. and i will be reviewing it again.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: Souleman 12/13/2009 04:12 ( stars)


 
Wow.....Im Glad I read the Reveiws, and took a chance on this Ball. I have thrown Hammers exclusivley until Now. But those Days are Gone. This Ball Breaks threw the Oil on all conditions...even Handles Great when it Dries Up with Slight Adjustments...This Is Now My First Ball Out of the Bag...and usually Stays Out all Night....Great Ball...Buy It...You wont Be disappointed...Now I just gotta Get rid of all these Old Hammers!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Souleman


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: shaunharrod 12/03/2009 01:49 ( stars)


 
quite literaly the best ball i have ever thrown demolishes the pocket at 13 lb hits harder than any 16 lb ball i have ever owned. I have mine set up with pin over ring finger at 9:00 oclock and mass biais at max out with out of box finish wich makes the ball go extreamly long with a continous and smooth hook that demolishes the pins. Only problem i have had is ive now had 2 of these balls and they both cracked at the ring finger at the first of the 12th game hoping it is just a factory defect but still the best ball i have ever thrown.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: hubris run 11/26/2009 15:52 ( stars)


 
I drilled my Red Death 4 x 4. It is extremely aggressive on oil and so far has worked well on every type of pba pattern that I bowl on. I love this ball. have not had a ball that rolls and revs up like this in ages. it carries great

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Lane #1 Massacre Red Death Reviewed By: stealth fighter 10/29/2009 10:50 ( stars)


 
This is one hell of a bowling ball. The Red Death by Lane 1 rips the pins off and across the deck like nothing I have seen before. I always had trouble getting that little extra pop on the back end. Not now. This ball is awesome.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 19 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter