Go to Storm Hy-Road X-Comp »

Only show reviews for Storm Hy-Road

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.84Write a Review    Read all 62 reviews

I Love It
 
85% (53 of 62)
I Like It
 
13% (8 of 62)
It's Ok
 
2% (1 of 62)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 62)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 62)

Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 11/28/2008 13:56 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Hy-Road offers another great ball reaction option to Storm's ball line.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - just right of center line
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The only real thought I had while I was laying this ball out was to have something to compliment my Virtual Gravity. I have been using my Virtual so much lately that I really did not need something else for league but I thought it would be nice to have something under my Virtual just in case.

I used a pretty simple stacked drilling, I put the pin 4 1/2" from my PAP with the cg right below it. This drilling tends to be a really controlled but strong reaction layout. That sounded good since the only things I knew besides all the technical stuff was that Norm Duke made it look really good a few weeks earlier on TV.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Another great ball from the guys at Storm. I think they have had the most good balls in row if you combine Roto-Grip and Storm. This ball was perfect! It rolled super strong in the front part of the lane without giving up any energy for the rest of the lane. I threw this ball with a few of our other testers that drilled one and they all reacted different but they were all good. I have to say that I like my look a little better then the other guys but I will be drilling on up with one of their layouts.

Overall this was just a good ball reaction. If you remember back in the day when anything with a "Z" on the ball from Brunswick rolled good, this had that type of reaction. Just a good, clean, strong (maybe I should think of more adjectives for this ball) ball motion from start to finish.

If you do not have a Storm ball of some kind in your bag right now, you need to get one. You will happy you did.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 11/14/2008 08:41 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 


I drilled the Storm Hy-Road with the pin 3 3/8″ from my Positive Axis Point, which puts the pin to the right on my ring finger. I put a 1″x2″ weight hole 6″ from my center line straight through the CG.

This was my first mid-performance bowling ball in a long time and I was excited to try it out. Even though we shot a video at TalkBowling about bowling ball performance, it's still mentally hard to get over the name "Mid Performance".

This ball should prove that point very well. We tested the ball on a fresh typical house shot before our Thursday night league. I was able to control this ball better than most High Performance Bowling Balls. It still got down the lane with a strong backend reaction.

This ball is a GREAT companion to the Storm Virtual Gravity. Start your night out with the Virtual Gravity and as the lane condition changes and the Virtual Gravity starts to hook too much, change to the Storm Hy-Road and finish your night strong.




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 11/15/2008 11:43 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge



The HY-ROADâ„¢ is the latest release in the Thunderâ„¢ Series of balls. HY-ROADâ„¢ is the perfect complement to the 2007 solid ball of the year; the T-ROADâ„¢ Solid.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 4 1/2"
Mass Bias Position - N/A
CG Placement - 2 1/2" Right of grip center
Balance Hole - 1" x 1 1/2" balance hole 5 1/2" from the center of grip through CG

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish (1500 Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: The ball reaction I was looking for in the Storm Hy-Road ball was clean through the heads and aggressive in the back end. Something that would allow me to not have to work as hard to get down the lane, but still turnover nice on the back.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: Well Storm just put out another winner here. They say this ball is supposed to compliment the T-Road Solid, and I say that they may have just one-up'd it.This ball performs exceptionally well on those medium oil patterns. When compared to my Storm Virtual Gravity, this ball clears the heads easier and makes a great reaction in the backend. I threw this ball for the first time last night, and I am very impressed with the movement and readability.

I tried this ball on a typical house shot, medium oil. This worked best for me when I stood on 25, threw the ball in between the 3rd and 4th arrows, and got the ball to around 8-10 at the breakpoint. It seemed pretty effortless to get the ball through the heads, but once it reached the breakpoint, it made a move that was strong and predictable.

The one thing I loved about the Storm Hy-Road was the ability it gave me to play different parts of the lane. I moved 5 boards right to stand on 20 and play a little straighter. It still allowed me to get through the heads easily while maintaining enough energy down lane. After finding out that I could play straighter with this ball, I moved left about 15 boards to stand at 35. This is where I usually like to throw my Virtual Gravity. Once again, this ball impressed me by turning the corner effortlessly and exploding at the pins, sending messengers everywhere.

Overall, this is a great piece to have in your bag. Whether you're a cranker and a down and in player, this ball simply performs on all levels.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: tonohand 06/30/2010 21:42 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    232
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Extreme
Style    Cranker
PAP    5"
 
This is the most angular ball i have ever thrown. my first game with it i shot 250 with a missed ten pin (not my fault stepped in water OOPS!) Anyway this ball is a perfct ball in between the virtual gravity and the furious (read my reviews) You need this ball GET ONE!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tonohand


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: tagjlm16 02/24/2009 23:40 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I love this ball. The Hy-road gets down the lane and hooks in the back end. I use this ball after the track opens up a little bit and gets to the pocket when my stronger balls cannot.

My Hy-road is laid out 4x3 with the pin under my middle finger and a 7/8 inch x-hole on my VAL below my PAP.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tagjlm16


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: kykartracer 02/03/2009 03:57 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Right-Handed

Medium Ball Speed

Cranker

Pin to PAP: 5"

CG Placement: Right on the center line

Balance Hole - None

Surface Preperation: 1500 Grit Polished (Box Finish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout: I was looking for a ball to go longer and be weaker than my Gravity Shift, Virtual Gravity and Dimension as these are all fairly strong balls. I also wanted something that would move more than my Spit Fire or NVS. Besides that, all I knew is I wanted it to go long and make a strong move on the backend. The pin ended up being slightly over the bridge, but more over the middle finger.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout: This ball does exactly what I had hoped for it to do. For the first time in as long as I can remember I threw the same ball the entire night during league. I picked up my Hy-Road this morning and threw it tonight. It is very clean through the heads and doesn't overread the midlane, which is a problem I have been having with the other stuff I own. Once it finds dry on the backend it makes a smooth, but VERY strong move to the pocket.

Unlike the solid balls I have been throwing, this ball takes a lot less effort to get it through the midlane without wanting to break as soon as it gets there. The advantage over the pearl balls I have thrown is that it will recover if you get it out too far, where the pearl balls just sit out there. The only downside I can see is that our bowling alley tends to push oil around the lanes, rather than drying up and you have to move a little right on the floor and play a little straighter to compensate or this ball will sit outside too long and not break on the end. It still makes a lot better move on the backend than any of my pearl stuff ever thought of making though.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kykartracer


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: ravensark 11/02/2008 22:59 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    217
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
As one of the first to get the pleasure of throwing the all new Hy-Road from Storm I am pleased to tell you hat Storm has taken mid lane recovery and shot forgiveness to an entirely new level. This ball allows you to play straighter if the lanes call for it or to get in and wheel with the big boys. If you liked the T-Road and T-Road Pearl then you will love the Hy-Road. If you are looking for your first ball or just a new ball to add to the arsinal, there is no reason to drill anything but Storm's first hybrib ball... The Hy-Road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ravensark


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: kyleaz03 07/05/2014 19:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    211
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 5/8" over by 3/4" up
 
My Hy-Road has 2.76 oz of top weight and a 3.5" pin. I drilled it 45X4"x35, and removed an oz of side weight with a P2 hole. This ball is amazing, it's no wonder Storm has continued making it for 5 years. The layout I went with is similar to the midlane layout I used for my Hyper Cell, which is 40x3.5"x35, but surprisingly the Hy-Road covers more boards and gives me a better look on the sport shots I've used it on, 2014 USBC Nationals doubles/singles, PBA Chameleon, and on the 38' house shot at my center. If I had known this ball was going to be this strong I would have bought it a long time ago, I'm considering buying another and drilling it 65x4"x45 for a control type layout. Even though I drilled it for a strong mid-lane read and continuous backend it is still very predictable. Before spending $140+ on a top tier ball, consider getting a Hy-Road instead.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kyleaz03


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Kick Butkus 04/06/2014 23:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I am a former athlete that decided to try a new sport now that my boys have headed off to college. I studied up on bowling and all the right equipment. It was recommended that I start with a low end ball but I am glad I didn’t do that now. If you are trying to learn the game and the proper form, you need a ball that is designed to react to the correct release with a fingertip grip. It took me one evening of bowling to learn the proper form and once I did, the Hy-Road went to work. After the second night of bowling, I am already able to go over 200 (213 high score) with this ball and that is without having a spare ball yet to do a good job picking up my spares. This is a quality ball but just not very flashy looking. They are not joking about being scented. The smell fills my car or the room I leave it in. I think I would like to move soon to a more aggressive turning ball but for now, I am going to add the fingertip gripped Team Storm spare ball and see how well I can push my average up with the Hy-Road. If you are serious about learning the game as it should be played, this a good ball to start with. I am thinking my next ball will be the IQ™ Tour Fusion unless you guys have another recommendation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kick Butkus


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: jmweaver78 12/23/2013 19:14 ( stars)


 
I know this ball came out in 2008, but it is still my go to ball, especially with freshly oiled lanes. The hook is very predictable and it packs a lot of power. I have rolled my only 300 game with this ball, and will have it, or a replacement in my bag for as long as Storm offers this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jmweaver78


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: 1JMIZ 11/28/2013 21:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    190
 
Excellent timing. super fast delivery. Great ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 1JMIZ


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: meandcaryn@yahoo.com 07/27/2013 22:08 ( stars)


 
I just bought another Storm Hy-Road. I already have two which are drilled a little different. The last one I bought is my favorite go to ball. It reads the mid lane perfectly and hits with power. I absolutely love it...so much so that I bought a third Hy-Road to keep undrilled for the future. I am left handed and have had most of the other lefties I know get one after they see how mine rolls.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2013 08:23 ( stars)


 
Hyroad

The Hyroad is a very strong ball, very angular, and it is dependent upon the condition as to if it will be too angular or not. It will probably become another great benchmark ball. I drilled it pin-down and I have had overall success with the ball. It’s one of Storm's classics and everybody should get one before they discontinue making it!

Matt Gender


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: pbowler200 03/26/2013 22:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    156
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 5/8 Right I/4 up
 
:)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: 2 hands carry more 03/20/2013 15:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
what a ball! no wonder it have been in the market longer than any other ball!!! it is realy angular without sacrificing consistency, almost no over/under with it and what got me most is how continuous this ball is!!!NEVER give up hooking!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2 hands carry more


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: chicagovigilante 02/19/2013 06:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    140
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
I'm a relatively new bowler, and after about 6 months of bowling weekly I decided that I needed to work on developing a better hook if I was ever going to step up to the next level and start bowling in a league. I knew that I needed a reactive resin ball that was up to the task and I had heard great things about Storm balls from friends who had them. After doing some research I chose the Hy-Road and purchased it from bowlingball.com (best price out there!)

This ball is great for a stroker like myself because it's consistent and predictable. For me, it exhibits a wide, sweeping hook that starts from about 1/2 way down the lane on a typical house shot oil pattern. When I hit my target boards this ball always moves cleanly into the 1-3 pocket (of course, my accuracy still needs plenty of improvement). The cover absorbs oil quite well and never slips in my hand even though I don't use finger inserts.

Because of the predictability of this ball, I would certainly recommend it to any beginning or intermediate bowlers who are just developing some hook and want to make the most out of their revs.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: felipeng@yahoo.com 05/24/2012 10:27 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
 
good deal, very fast shipping

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by felipeng@yahoo.com


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: andrelo22 02/26/2012 23:41 ( stars)


 
Pin to PAP (4 3/32" over, 1 7/16" up) - 4"
CG kicked out right, 45 degrees from Pin/PAP
Surface Prep: OOB

This ball is a beast! First time thrown in league (practiced a few games on it before), shot 277-279-256 for 812! Rolls so smooth, yet still has great backend. Hits like a truck.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by andrelo22


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Rotoguy300 08/18/2011 17:23 ( stars)


 
Layout- Pin under ring, cg shifted positive, medium width/depth hole down by the thumb.

Lets face it, I am a staff member who never had drilled one, so I just had to. I was pleased with the way the ball rolled- it actually cornered more than I had anticipated considering the Hybrid cover and reputation this ball has for being smooth and controllable. All that really means to me is that I’m more apt to use this ball from the track in and not from the track out when playing the lanes. I love the way the ball looks and smells (I like the fruity scents better than the aromatherapy scents for sure), it just feels….. Familiar. That’s a good thing for bowling, because it makes you more comfortable and relaxed. I was stoked to see that this ball is going to remain in the line this year- it is still prolly my best selling mid-range ball.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Rotoguy300


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2011 10:16 ( stars)


 
I'm a left -handed 12-14 mph bowler with low-med revs. When I first got the Hy-Road I used it for everything as it was for the most part the only reactive ball I had at the time. Recently, I purchased a Marvel and an Anarchy to use as my morning equipment, made to go on
oilier lanes and more reaction on the back-end, respectively. I decided to get my Hy-Road resurfaced and redrilled at the same time and have found the perfect place for it in my equipment.

I call my Hy-Road my "everything ball". It is and will always be my favorite. With it's hybrid coverstock it's versatile on many different conditions and easily controllable. I can make it go long or hook early. This is the ball I go to when the lanes are starting to break down and I can't get a good feel for adjustments. This is your go-to ball for just about anything and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for something predictable and an easy fit into anyone's arsenal.

Melanie Gonzalez


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: pooky 02/24/2011 06:00 ( stars)


 
What is not to like about this ball or bowlingball.com.The shipping was fast,they met my specs and the price was right.First night with the ball I shot 250,279 and 254 for a 783 series.Terrific ball and a great company.Nothing else can be said about this company.I will gladly be back to make another purchase.

Hugh Kingsley


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: saberhockey14@yahoo.com 02/07/2011 13:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    180
Sport Shot Average    170
Ball Speed    Fast
 
great ball. I love the reaction i get out of it. i am a beginner and i bowled a 214, 2 weeks after getting it. When i am normally bowling a 130 with the house balls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: jim_emanuelson_jr@yahoo.com 02/01/2011 10:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    190
Style    Stroker
 
This has been a good mid-range ball for me. It does not hook too much on dry conditions but it finishes well on every condition that I have seen with it. It's a good backup to my Anarchy, which I use when there is more oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: galenkeas@hotmail.com 01/31/2011 05:06 ( stars)


 
customer really like it although i think his drill of 4x4 with a one inch buffer will not be good for him. as you know the customer is always right. another customer loves his at that drill because he is a high speed hi rev. player.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by galenkeas@hotmail.com


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Mr.Strike 12/18/2010 12:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is amazing! Got it drilled last night came out and threw a 600 series. This ball hit like a train, and if i missed my spot, it came back and crushed the pocket! Absolutely love this ball, and im looking forward to throwing it more. If you dont have one I would pick one up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mr.Strike


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: cfo_peru@yahoo.com 10/27/2010 01:52 ( stars)


 
Upgrade from a Tropical Storm. Very nice ball with a good reaction. Only used once so far but cant wait. Got alot of nice comments about the back end finish

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: badgerroller 09/29/2010 13:04 ( stars)


 
I have been throwing Hammers for years and I was very interested in this hybrid cover stock that Storm offered in
the Hy-road. Since I have been bowling less over these past few years I also lost some consistency. I noticed that my
game had changed as I have been throwing down and in more.
Years ago I played more inside and scored well. I was looking to get back inside and throw similar to how I had
years ago and this ball allowed me to do that. I love how
consistent I have been and how the ball don't over react.
Needless to say, my avg. is up again @ 218.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: moonwalker8701 08/11/2010 10:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Sport Shot Average    172
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 3/4" over 1" up
 
League average: 198
Sport average: 160
Style: Tweener
Ball Speed: Medium
Axis: Low Track

Right handed. My ball is drilled with the pin located on my middle finger. The CG is located a few inches below and to the right of my ring finger. I believe this puts the MB in the "strong position".

On fresh conditions, this ball tends to go very long with a late snap at the end. I would recommend using this ball towards the end of your session after the fronts have dried up a little bit. This ball can overreact at times. Best results are throwing between the 8th and 14th boards, depending on the lane condition.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by moonwalker8701


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: mattyg3535 08/10/2010 15:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    199
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I would give this ball 6 stars if I could. I have owned 18 bowling balls in 2 years of bowling. Yes, I know that is crazy, what can I say? Anyway. Here is the story. I was looking for a ball I could use for league when my Mutant Cell Pearl was too much. I was watching the PBA Six Flags Manufacture's Challenge thing. I noticed with all the great new equipment that Storm and Roto Grip has, that the majority of the players were using the Hy-Road. Lefties, strokers, crankers and tweeners, it was the ball that they all used. I looked at Storm's website to see what it does compared to the other releases and it looks relatively tame. Got it drilled, pin under cg kicked out a little less than 45 (almost Rico but not). Holly Angularity Batman! Not what I expected at all. I have used the ball on dry, THS, 37', 35' and Viper, and it crushes on all of it. People see my ball make the turn and ask me if it is legal (it is!). What an amazing ball! It was to be discontinued but the Storm staff made a stink and it was kept on. I suggest you get one in your bag ASAP!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mattyg3535


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: DEANSTUFF 04/05/2010 20:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
BOUGHT THIS AS MY THIRD STRIKE BALL FOR DRIER CONDITIONS. PAIRED WITH A ROTO GRIP REALM, AND A STORM DIMENSION, I CAN HANDLE ANY LANE CONDITIONS. THIS BALL STORE ENERGY ON THE FRONT END WITH A GOOD MOVE AT THE END. nOT AS MUCH AS THE REALM OR DIMENSION, WHICH IS WHAT MAKES IT WORK.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DEANSTUFF


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Aznsensation 02/14/2010 14:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
15.4 lbs
pin over middle finger
Cg 1/2" left of center line
Left at 1500 polished

This ball is a great mid priced ball. Extremely versatile cover stock. With this negative pin layout i got really good length and a strong backend. Since its a negative pin layout this ball sometimes will roll out and leave a week 7 or pocket 7-10 but other then that I'm extremely pleased with this ball. Definitely a great bench mark or go to ball. Took this down to 2000 grit polished and got a little smoother back end reaction. You will Definitely get your bang for your buck with this ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Aznsensation


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: wozzer14120 01/17/2010 18:37 ( stars)


 
Wow! this ball is really great. i got this ball 2 days ago and already shot 298 with it. this ball is really smooth and breaks really hard. for me this ball out hooks my virutal gravity. I am now a big storm fan! i love this ball!!



Must have one of these in your bag


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wozzer14120


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: PrfectThru12 10/22/2009 12:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I wasn't looking for any reaction in particular when I got this ball. What I ended up with, is a bench mark ball. This is the first ball out of my bag everywhere. This ball gives me excellent length and controlled agression off the spot. The typical league shot has no chance! It manages friction very well! If you haven't got it, go get it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PrfectThru12


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: dmurph07 10/14/2009 17:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Stroker
 
This is my starter ball on pro patterns and it never ffails to disappoint. Being a low rev bowler, I have this ball drilled agressive and it always provide a solid finishing backend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: JarheadBowler 06/23/2009 20:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Great ball. I bowled a couple of warm up games with it before bowling league tonight. Rolled a 242&224. If you'll check my bio I'm a 180 bowler, but am returning from a 12-15 year layoff from bowling. I have potential just no consistency right now. Anyway, this ball is King at my local house. I don't know any bowler that averages 200 or better that doesn't have this ball in their bag. It rolls great, hooks great and KILLS the pins when it hits. I was looking at some higher priced balls, but went with the Hy Road due to its popularity. All 4 guys on our lane tonight in our 2 man league rolled a Hy Road at sometime tonight. Most of the folks I know who have a Hy Road mention buying 1 or 2 more and putting them up. Great, Great ball. Ride the Storm!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JarheadBowler


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: brdieglf3 04/26/2009 23:21 ( stars)


 
I am right handed, 190 average, tweener to cranker depending on lane conditions.

I drilled the Hy Road to compliment my Rogue Cell. I will say this, I have a 5 1/2 pin on this ball. used the same layout as I did with my rogue 4 1/2 out from PAP. 1/2 up. This ball gives me great energy down the lane. I thought it would be a great ball after the oil started to move and dry up some. I can use this ball from anywhere on the lane, in heavy oil all the way down to light/medium oil. It gets through the heads and reads the lanes and makes a wicked turn towards the pocket. I can controll the break a little better with this ball as it is more predictable. When it hits the pocket wheather it is light, heavy or dead solid the pins will run from it. I left the factory polish on it and threw a 698 with it out of the box. High game of 249, that would have been a 279 if I didn't leave a 10 pin standing in the first frame of the 10th frame and miss the spare. All in all this ball will do just about anything you want it to. Storm thanks alot I Love This Ball!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brdieglf3


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Dadof32009 04/25/2009 15:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5" over 1/4" up
 
Just got this ball the other day and have bowled about 12 games with it. High game so far is a 279 and a 784 series. 246, 259, 279. Between games 2 and 3 I had 16 strikes in a row and thew 23 out 21 strikes! Upset that I blew the 300 but that was my fault. Ball is drilled with the pin and CG stacked about 5" from PAP with the pin above the ring finger and a weight hole 5" from center of grip through CG. I have played all around with it and the hook is strong but very controllable. No wonder these guys love this ball on the PBA tour that are on Storm staff. I highly recommend this ball to anyone looking for an all around ball. Can't wait to try on some PBA patterns next month when that league starts.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: doublrs 04/01/2009 09:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
 
2.75" Pin to CG
Drilled for strong arc

This has to be the best ball I have thrown in a very long time. On league night on the fresh oil no matter where I stood the ball would always come back to the pocket and had a beautiful, controllable ball reaction. The ball is much stronger than I anticipated and had to keep moving left as the night went on but was able to use it all three games (barely). Everyone should have one of these.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by doublrs


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 03/19/2009 11:53 ( stars)


 
I recently drilled a Hy-Road for myself and boy was I impressed.I already have a virtual gravity and I was looking for a ball to complement it and the Hy-Road did just that. This ball goes longer and has a great movement on the back end that is very controllable and hit really hard..I would rate this ball as I REALLY LOVE it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Power Players Only 03/12/2009 00:28 ( stars)


 
This ball hooks, I can play any part of the lane and still strike. Out of the box, I shot an 846 series, back to back 300s and a 246, I love this ball and see great scores in league and an increase in average.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Power Players Only


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: StormBowler13 03/03/2009 17:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This ball was under rated in my mind when storm released it. Enough credit isnt given to the way this ball reads the lanes and has a VERY strong turn on the back ends. I have mine drilled with pin over ring finger with CG kicked out about 3.5-4 inches from center and it has no problem making the turn even through carry down. Over all a good ball but at the same time can be kind of speed tempermental.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormBowler13


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: TSynowicki 02/24/2009 23:49 ( stars)


 
This ball is wonderful. I usually throw it from medium to heavy oil conditions; it gets down the lane very well with a very strong backend. It is the first ball out of my bag, and can always tell if I need to switch to something stronger or weaker. The ball is laid with a 4" x 3", with a box finish.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TSynowicki


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Mav_Senior87 02/24/2009 23:37 ( stars)


 
4" x 3"

Talk about hooking off the spot. This ball is definitely one of my favorites. My Hy-Road recovers in the mid-lane better than any ball in my back while still retaining a strong back-end reaction. In league play it generates a strong reaction and creates room by itself. Creating angle is the name of the game with the Hy-Road. Typically you won’t find this ball being played directly as it has a heavy reaction.

When it comes to carry this ball hits so hard that if you’re on target you don’t have to worry about the corners. This ball is definitely good in medium to heavy oil conditions.

I suggest this ball for players who have issues getting their equipment to read the lane consistently while still being powerful.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mav_Senior87


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: unotko 02/24/2009 23:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Storms Hy-Road is by far my favorite Storm product! This ball is drilled with the pin over the middle finger with an approximate swing of 30 degrees to the right of the grip line. (5” X 4”) The continuous and very strong motion of the ball makes it the best in my bag! The surfaces I use on this ball are unique to any others in my bag. I start off with a 2000 abralon pad to get a great even surface, and then after the surface is applied I polish over the surface. The addition of the polish over the rough 2000 abralon surface makes this ball stronger within the oil and through the pocket. This ball is so strong off of the dry it’s scary! Makes the ball look like it’s through the pins before the pins are in the pit! Sometimes it can get you into trouble with the unpredictable move if you are on a sport or other than house shot. I would like to pick up another maybe even two more because this ball is so good! Not to mention its one of Storms lower priced balls which is great for any bowler!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by unotko


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: NjrMav88 02/24/2009 23:24 ( stars)


 
I have two Hy-Roads with contrasting layouts. The weaker layout (4 1/2" x 4) has more shine, and gets through the heads better but is still strong and smooth in backend motion. I usually use this ball later in tournaments, or if the conditions are shorter or lighter. The more aggressive layout (4 1/2" x 3 1/2, pin down, 7/8" X-hole 2" below PAP on VAL) gets into a roll sooner, and has a much better reaction on the fresh. I can also get in very deep and play the hold if it is there in later stages of tournaments. The ball carries and rolls amazing. I wouldn't leave home without it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Maverickbowler 02/24/2009 23:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    206
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/2" x 4
 
My Storm Hy-Road has a layout of 4 1/2" x 4. My Hy-Road has exceptional roll and length. I have found that I can use this ball on most lane conditions, especially on shorter lane as well as medium volume lane conditions. It’s the first ball out of my bag and I know based on it’s reaction if I should throw something more aggressive like my Storm Dimension or something less reactive like my Storm Rapid Fire or T-Road Pearl. But all in all this is my favorite Storm release and most recommend ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Maverickbowler


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: wyoming14 02/24/2009 16:01 ( stars)


 
My Hy-Road is drilled 4 1/2" x 4" and no weight hole. Has box finish on it. With this layout, the ball has a very strong backend and gets through the fronts with ease. It revs up fast and hard once it hits the friction and its very continuous through the pins. This ball layout is extremely versatile and is able to play virtually any part of the lane. I have only thrown this ball on synthetic surface so far and it reacts very well. I have thrown it on various oil patterns from short to long, including the PBA Cheetah pattern. Always has a smooth and controllable backend even when the oil is broken down. It is very durable and shows no signs of dying out! It is a go to ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wyoming14


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Bryan M 02/19/2009 11:06 ( stars)


 
im a lefty .This is my first storm bowling ball and i love it the way this ball turns into the pocket is awsome and just scatters the pins off the deck . since using this ball i have went from a 200 avg to a 210 and is still improving my game so far no 300 but i have had two 298 games and one 297 and my highest series of 788 if you dont have one get one

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: markthemole 02/13/2009 07:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    176
Sport Shot Average    171
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The first series I rolled this ball I was bowling on a very long wedge pattern, none of the inside lines were working to well and were giving me inconsistant movement into the pocket. Then I moved outside to the dry and found that with my hand behind the ball I could get a very predictable move to the pocket which gave me a 618 series which may not sound too impressive but there is only one series higher than that in the history of the junior league that I got it in. On other oil patterns i have found that i can bowl it on a much deeper line than i can bowl any other ball I own as it has such an angular backend move. It may be the best ball I have ever purchased.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by markthemole


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: FSUbowlerjb 02/11/2009 14:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    224
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 x 1/4 up
 
storm has another winner. this ball is something different. the back end motion on this ball is nothing but strong and continuous. went 4 1/4 from my PAP putting the pin right under my ring finger and a little to the right. cg is 4 in from the mass bias. i throw the ball about 17 mph with about 450 revs. this ball was great swinging it or playing up the boards. tried it out on highway to hell fresh. this ball was a good 4 boards or more stronger than my rapid fire. ball motion was continuous and hit like a mack truck! only had to worry about the 9 pin standing. later tried it on a 41 ft flat pattern. ball was again strong playing either 16 to 9 or 26 to 14. very smooth and strong. didn't die. cant wait to test it out for real.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by FSUbowlerjb


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: milktrey 02/08/2009 15:34 ( stars)


 
This ball hits like a truck! You hit the pocket... they will fall. This ball has better carry then any ther ball our there and that is why like 75% of all the pros on tv this year have thrown this ball at least once. At the same time i got this ball i also got a cell pearl. if i hit the pocket the same with both balls, the hyroad takes em out, and the cell pearl will leave a 10 or 7 or a split. the cell pearl does not carry well and hooks a little less then this. if you could get one bll of them all... go with the hyroad!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by milktrey


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: HiggyJr 01/24/2009 11:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4
 
HY-ROAD Must have ball. Drilled pin below the bridge, which is 5 inches from my pap with cg 4 inches from the pap. No extra hole. This ball compliments the T-Road and T-Road pearl wonderfully. Used on most house shots and PBA Chameleon and Scorpion Patterns. I noticed on a typical house pattern when carry sets in the ball doesn’t continue through the back ends as well and I either ball up to the Rapid Fire pearl on Gravity with 2000 abralon and tend to get a better reaction. But the HY-Road is a great priced ball for those who are looking fro a great overall ball and a cover that can be easily adjusted for surfaces. Tournament bowlers will love to plug this ball in for when they are in between too much or not enough hook

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by HiggyJr


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: webejr04 01/17/2009 22:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    202
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Dont let the other reviews fool you this ball hits really hard and smells good too. The one thing id have to say is anyone that is comparing this ball to the t-road pearl or even the solid is an idiot. This ball has much more superior midlane control the other are more angular. So if you want a ball thats better than the Psycho get this one you wont be disappointed

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by webejr04


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: ehsgolf69@yahoo.com 01/10/2009 11:07 ( stars)


 
I\\\'ve had this ball a couple of months. Not sire if I like it. I\\\'m a very versitale bowler. I can bowl striaght up five or four arrow to the ditch. The stroker line seem to be a great ball. With tons of backend. When throwing it straight it gets confused. I\\\'ve shot a 286,289,and 300 playing straight with but the next ball after my 300 I left a 5 7 10 for the first time ever. If the shot is right I will destroy the lanes. But MUST bring other balls along like the ebonite playmaker. Thanks Clarks Pro Shop

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ehsgolf69@yahoo.com


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Spider Ball Bowler 01/07/2009 19:58 ( stars)


 
Got this ball at a bargain price here at BB.com. I am a lefty, stroker, with medium revs, and about the same speed. I am a high tracker.

I had it drilled with the pin below my ring, with the cg kicked to the left, with a small hole, below my axis. I figured this would be a skid/flip type ball, so I wanted to smooth it out with the drilling.

After a few league sessions and tournament games, I really liked what I saw, but decided to knock off the polish, because I never was too sure of what the ball was going to do. In the oob surface it was pretty smooth, with easy length and a good back end turn, I just match up better with smoother surfaces.

I took this ball to 4000 grit abralon, and finally found a replacement for my old reliable Black Widow Solid. At 4000, the ball still gets down the lane with ease, and is even more smooth on the back end.

Obviously it hits well just as any other new bowling ball does, and probably reacts the same as most new pieces on a standard house shot. I subbed in a league for the first time at a new house that has synthetics and about a 40' shot. It was basically a longer version of the THS I'm used to, but with less friction on the outside boards.

I started with the Black Widow, and lined up playing straight up 8-10. The Widow reacted well, but I circled one shot and got it out to 5 and it had no chance to recover.

I decided to switch to the Hy-Road at 4000 in the 10th frame of the 1st game. The ball reacted the same as the BW, but had a little harder finish, getting higher in the pocket. I used this ball the rest of the night and also found that when I circled a couple shots during the rest of the night, and it got outside, it had more recovery than my BW. I ended up shooting 495 the final two games using nothing but my Hy-Road for the first time at 4000 grit. I was on 279 pace the 3rd game, but a tricky little 7 pin popped his head up, first ball in the 10th, which cost me about $300. 213 BW, 237, 258-708.

It's hard to compare the two because my BW is 2 1/2 years old with 500+ games on it, but it has been my go to piece ever since I got it.

Good ball, great price. This could be the ball of the year.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Spider Ball Bowler


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Thos 12/31/2008 06:14 ( stars)


 
I just purchased my first Storm Bowling Ball (Hy-Road). I have used Ebonite equiptment exclusively for the past 10 years or so... I average 210 to 220, and have been bowling for around 40 years. I just dropped from 16 to 15 pound equiptment. A friend who is on staff with Storm from central Kentucky recommended this ball. I use various releases and lines, from swinging the ball from 25 to 12, to playing deep inside or down and in from 7 to 3.... I have found that on heavy oil what works best for me is swinging the ball from 15 to 7 with a up from the side release really works best with this ball. It skids through the heads real nice and turns sharply at the break point. This ball really keeps the pins low for a better pin carry percentag. Coming up from behind the ball in heavy oil I have to slow the ball speed down, but the results are the same, lots of pin movement... On medium oil I find that coming up from behind the ball really works best for me, the ball has a very controllable movement through the heads and at the break point. The movement is very predictable in all cases. I really like this ball and recommend it to players who leave a lot of corner pins.... I\\\'ve always heard that storm makes a good ball, I just wasn\\\'t ready to make the switch until now... I give this ball 4 stars...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: spartyguy12 12/20/2008 17:38 ( stars)


 
this ball is absoluty amazing. i have only missed the pocket a few times with an aggressive drilling pattern. i have shot my high series of 714 with this ball. it is a beast.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by spartyguy12


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Kumar 04/09/2009 18:04 ( stars)


 
Great ball, it's got the power of a train. When it hits the pins it annihilates them, it is like a truck running over a snail. This ball never dies and when on dry lanes all you have to do is move over and keep throwing. I highly recommend on getting this ball, it is one of the best balls I have ever had!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: pinshreader 01/09/2009 13:00 ( stars)


 
I am 220 average bowler and have threw alot of equiptment over the years, have had alot of over under with the last few balls i\\\'ve owned which is twisted fury destruction, ultra zone, and secret agent, so i decided to go with the hy-road and WOW!!!!! this ball moves very well in the back end and and the control on this ball is very predictable. ive bowled 12 games with this and not one ten pin left, i love this ball so much i shot 833 out of the box with it and my lowest series is 718, thank you storm for another great thunder series ball dont ever stop making that weight block it\\\'s one of the best ever

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 12/02/2008 16:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I recently drilled one for a customer who was looking for a ball that would go longer than his Cell. So I suggested that he get the Storm Hy-Road.

I drilled it with the cg 1/2" off of the center of grip put the pin 2 1/2" from his pap. No extra hole. Ending weights were 1/2oz positive side and 1/2oz of finger.

The reaction that he got was very clean thru the head, picked up a good mid-lane roll and gave him a smooth controllable backend motion.



Lenny Biondi Jr

Deltona Lanes ProShop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: stormlefty8371 10/29/2008 21:09 ( stars)


 
My thursday league I bowl in is a scratch league and the oil pattern we bowl on is the 2007 USBC pattern.
The layout I put on the HY-ROAD was a 4X4 pattern with a height hole 1" short of the PAP. With box finish
I am left-handed and have a lot of hand and ball speed.
Thursday night I was able to use the HY-ROAD all night I started playing straight up 5, and as the night went on I was albe to keep the same breakpoint but just keep moving my feet board by board in.
The reaction I got was extremely nice! The ball was very clean through the heads and with a smooth move through the mid-lane, and a nice strong arc through the back-end.
One thing in particular I did like about this ball is when it hits, it keeps the pins low.
The HY-ROAD is a very clean reacting ball, and has a smooth roll.
It does excatly what STORM says it does. Has the reaction of a T-ROAD pearl (clean in the front part of the lane) and a T-ROAD solid (strong arc on the back-ends).


Storm Staffer
A-Z Pro Shop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Hy-Road Reviewed By: Nevellekirby1 11/08/2008 21:08 ( stars)


 
Drill specs
70 degree with 50 degree MB
5 inch pin over the middle finger
Slight gloss over surface with 4000 abralon

This bowling ball has a very clean move through the front part of the lane, and as everyone that watched the World Championship, it has a nice move off the spot that would allow a person to not worry about the over-reaction from the dry.

I have thrown this ball on Anvilane, Guardian, and decent wood surface and have gotten the same clean reaction through the heads. On Anvilane, I had to square up a bit, but when this ball got to the dry, it made the move and drove so smooth through the pins. On Guardian and Wood, I had to go more left to right with moves in as the night went on, but the moves wasnt hops arrows, it was basic 2 and 2 moves, with the occasions angle of the shoulders to open up the lane.

One of the encouraging things about this ball, and Im not sure if it has to do with the Hy-brid cover, from which I wasnt a fan of in the Secret Agent (despite having my highest set ever with it, 877), is the way that the ball keeps the pin low to the floor. The mix that this ball gets is very nice, especially for higher rev players, from which I wouldnt consider myself one of. Despite that, it still hits very nice.

Bowlers on regular house conditions will like this ball, because it wont over-read the dry, and depending on the rev rate with need to make adjustments accordingly to match-up. Tournament players will love the easy move this ball makes through the front part of the lane, which is essential on most tournament patterns.

Any other questions, I can be reached at nevelle.kirby@glcbowling.com

Nevelle Kirby
GLC Bowling
Storm Test Staffer


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 62 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter