Go to Columbia 300 Bedlam »

Only show reviews for Columbia 300 Bedlam

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.85Write a Review    Read all 20 reviews

I Love It
 
95% (19 of 20)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 20)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 20)
I Don't Like It
 
5% (1 of 20)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 20)

Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 10/21/2009 19:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Bedlam is a great ball if you need a ball skids and flips in the back end.We had a columbia demo while bowling in league every one that tried the bedlam purchased one.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager

ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: 12 Frames 08/25/2009 16:45 ( stars)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


 
PAP information - 5 1/8 over and 11/16 up
Pin to Pap distance - 5 1/2
Pin is located about an inch over the finger bridge and slightly over the ring finger.
Mass Bias Position - Strong position about 3 inches to the right of the thumb hole
Balance Hole - Small hole on the PAP to keep it legal
Surface Prep - None - Ball left in out of box condition

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was looking for a ball that I could get deep down the lane, but still react hard off of the dry. I also wanted something that would allow me to move deep inside where I could still swing the ball when the lanes start to break down.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
What did I get?... I got one of the best balls that Columbia 300 has put out in years. Not since the old Reaction Rev ball have I seen a Columbia ball get down the lane and then make one of the hardest moves you will ever see! The Bedlam is NICE! The ball gets down the lane as if the heads don't even exist. The ball seems to be waiting to read the midlane just so it can get to the dry. Once it get there, it releases all of its hard hitting, hooking power.

The Bedlam gives me that strong skid/snap motion that I like. For me, it's like I have a direct line to my breakpoint with a guaranteed reaction off of the spot. Once the Bedlam hits the dry, be prepared for one of the hardest moves you will ever see. The Bedlam is NICE! Real NICE! And it's not just about the backend end with this ball. The ball hits hard, too!

Compared to my Virtual Energy (VE), the Bedlam is longer, but just as angular. The Bedlam is ever so slightly harder off of the spot, but not by much. The Bedlam can not handle as much oil as the VE, but it sure can swing with it. I can play deep inside with the Bedlam where the VE might have burned up before it hits the breakpoint.

The Bedlam is not a heavy oil ball. Plain and simple. Do not buy this ball for heavy oil! The Bedlam comes to life on medium conditions. It gets down the lane with ease and will react hard when it reads dry boards. If this is the reaction that you like, then this is the ball for you. Seriously, you can't get much better than this when it comes to a skid/snap reaction. The Bedlam is NICE!

On dry lanes, the Bedlam will have a tendency to react too hard off of the dry. You will be facing a lot of splits if you choose to try to fight the ball on a dry lane. I personally would not think of using this ball on a burnt up lane. The cover it too strong for a dry lane. The ball needs some head oil to be in play.

In closing, the Bedlam has to be one of Columbia's best balls ever. It is very angular off of the spot and it hits pretty hard. I think that it is a good looking ball with great shelf appeal. And, I can see folks buying one based on looks alone. To be honest, my ball has certainly turned a few heads whenever I use it. A ball that looks good going down the lane and has a seriously strong backend. Who wouldn't want one?... Go get yours today! It's NICE! Real NICE!

Peace!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 12 Frames


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: Paul836 08/16/2009 03:07 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 x 3/8 up
 
As a Columbia 300 staff member in the Midwest, I've had the chance to test the Bedlam for several weeks. I drilled the Bedlam 5x4, which placed the pin about an inch above my ring finger and the MB about 1 ½ inches right of my thumb. A fairly strong drilling, designed to add length through the fronts and accentuate the back-end motion even more. I’m a medium-speed player with a higher axis tilt, so I struggle a bit with deep inside-line trajectories. I can’t tell you enough how excited I was to have this ball added to my arsenal!

For starters, there’s no questioning the backend reaction of this ball. It is more angular from the point it changes direction than any previous ball in the C300 lineup. By creating an increased entry angle into the pocket, I’ve noticed an increased percentage in carry from light-swisher hits. For my initial testing I left the ball out-of-box which is 2000 abralon sanded plus Powerhouse Factory Finish. The Bedlam responds very impressively as advertised.

My additional testing of the Bedlam involved two distinct surface changes. My first change was to take the cover up to 4000 and then re-polished it with the same Powerhouse Factory Finish. It’s amazing what just a small surface change can do to ball reaction shape. What I got was an even more impressive backend motion but it was accompanied by a bit more of an over/under reaction at the breakpoint. Perhaps with a weaker drilling, this surface preparation would excel but in this particular case I did not prefer it. My second change was to restore the 2000 abralon finish but this time I left the Factory Finish off. FANTASTIC! Suddenly I had ball motion which was boards earlier in the midlane with a strong arc off the spot. Pin carry was enhanced on both light and half-pocket hits as the pins seemed to be kept lower on the deck as compared to the skid-snap reaction with polish. This surface also adds to the Bedlam’s versatility, as I’ve had continued success on both THS and sport conditions with this cover combination.

Thanks to Columbia for another fantastic 2009 release!

Paul Bober
C300 Amateur Staff
Morton Grove, IL



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Paul836


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: The_Cheese 07/29/2009 13:01 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    235
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4" Right, 3/4" Up
 
Dual Angle Layout: 50/40/5\' Pin-to-PAP
The reaction of the Columbia Bedlam is amazing. Definitely close to the longest Columbia 300 (new era) that I\'ve thrown but THE strongest pure backend reaction of any of the Columbia products I have had the privelege of throwing. On house shots, with my high rev-rate I am able to put on a show because of where I can get this ball back from. The new Full Tilt 4.0 coverstock with the 4000 abralon polished finish out-of-box clears the heads with absolute ease and the impressive new asymetrical weight block system eats up friction on the backend.
On intermediate length and longer sport patterns I was initially skeptical about ability of the Bedlam to create a strong motion becuase of the polished finish, but the asymetrical core takes care of that. Even with my higher ball speed (18-20 m.p.h.) I was able to open up patterns with some ease. Working in a pro shop for the last several bowling seasons I have seen companies attempting to get away from the long and strong skid-flip ball reactions, but Columbia has brought that beloved reaction back to the bowlers and at a mid-range price point as well. Great looks, great price, and the latest and greatest technology from one of the best brands of all time.
Pick one up at your pro shop in August and make sure to utilize the asymetrical weight block system with the dual-angle layout method. Columbia enthusiests can easily find a place for this in your bag between the Full Swing and Freeze, and who honestly can say that they couldn\'t use a ball with more length and strength? I also coach collegiately and will be getting this ball in the hands of my players ASAP. Good luck and enjoy bowling fans. There is no season better than this one to renew your interest in bowling or further your skill with the innovations of Columbia 300.
--------------------
Columbia 300 Regional/Amateur Staff
Mike Marks Pro Shop
Wyoming, MI
(616)245-7503


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The_Cheese


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: CrossAX2 12/22/2009 14:06 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    187
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/4 right and 3/4 up
 
I just got it yesterday, and I must say, it\'s a really aggressive ball. I actually had a tough decision to make when I was buying this ball. My proshop guy suggested this and the 715A by Track. I told him that the reaction I was looking for was something that would go long and snap hard, but he told me that it might be bad for the longer conditions I played on. The decision maker though was the 2000 grit under the polish on the Bedlam. I was able to put the stacked skid/flip layout for high track suggested by C300 and I must say, down and in, wheeling the ball to the dry, or even just playing in the middle of the oil, this ball just kept turning and turning back to the pocket on 42ft of oil, even with carry down. I\'m really an all Hammer user but since I got this, but I might think twice next time. Can\'t wait for the Total Bedlam! This ball is totally worth the money! Oh and for the guys that said this ball doesn\'t hook, I can only see 1 reason as to why it won\'t: too much speed. This ball is made to go really long to achieve that strong backend. Medium speed bowlers like myself would benefit from this kind of ball especially when the conditions get drier.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by CrossAX2


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: Fodom101 11/24/2009 12:25 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
This ball hits the pins hard. Once it hits the break point this ball literally makes a 90 degree turn to the right. It is a great addition to anyone's arsenal. I recommend it to anyone!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Fodom101


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: ChopperDave 09/03/2009 13:14 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I very recently purchased the Columbia Bedlam from the local pro shop guy, who recommended it to round out my arsenal. My other two balls are the Hammer Raw Anger and Black Widow Bite set up for dry and medium oil respectively, and I was strongly leaning towards another Hammer ball. I'm glad to say that from time to time I am wise enough to listen to advice. Oh, I'm a rightie carrying a 176 (I have been on a little slump lately) and have been using a conventional swing. That is all changing.

I didn't exactly catch the location of the pin, but the thumb-hole is right on the mass bias. From the first throw, it looked good, but was reacting sort of like my Widow, with a strong, solid hook. Then he showed me how to throw it while remaining firmly behind the ball and coming through it with a good flip.

Have you ever thrown a ball and watched it move hard and wonder who had inadvertently thrown a ball on your lane because there was NO WAY you can throw a ball that looks that pretty? The Bedlam likes to live out around the 3-5 board, and then comes screaming back into the pocket. It gives about a 10-15 board area on our local house pattern. On occasion (pretty regularly) I have screwed up and chunked it to the 1 or 2 board and have had other guys amazed to watch it walk the rail and absolutely destroy the pins. There is another nice trait to this ball: it lives in center oil too and it will swim around the 10-15 and once it hits the back end it tucks nicely into the pocket. It is very forgiving and has already given me strikes I honestly should not have gotten.

I read a previous review that warned against this ball being used on heavy oil. I respectfully disagree. Unless you have an ultra-shallow back end, I think that the only condition that would defeat this ball would be a bone-dry lane. As long as I can find a little oil, I throw it because it hits harder than anything I own. I can't say enough good things about it, and again have to credit our pro shop manager for recommending it to me and coaching me on my throw. And thank you, Columbia, because with the beginning of this next league, my average is going up!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: Fodom101 07/22/2009 17:14 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is perfect for any lane condition you throw at it. I sold my Virtual Energy and picked up this ball. I threw it and it works beautifully. Scatters pins and deals a lot of damage to them. Pick one up today!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Fodom101


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: South Paw 11/14/2009 01:26 ( stars)


 
I am left handed, averageing 217. This ball's reaction reminds me of the Columbia pirana c pearl I had many years ago. When Columbia described the reaction as skid flip, they ment it! The Bedlam will get through the heads with out burning up energy and have a radical cange of direction in the backend with devasteing power through the pins. First night in leage with this ball I shot 672. The series could have been better but I was too stuborn to change balls in the 3rd game(246-247-179). The Bedlam became too hot of the break point when the lanes broke down with the strong drilling I have in this ball. I will be getting another Bedlam and drilling it a little more tame for when the lanes break down. This ball has allowed me to move way inside on the lanes and play deep without concerns of the ball makeing it back to the pocket(16 board at arrows- 5 board at 38-40 feet down lane). If you want a ball that will get down the lane with a strong flip in the backend, THIS IS THE BALL FOR YOU!! Way to go Columbia!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: mounder 11/06/2009 09:22 ( stars)


 
Just bought the ball 11/05/2009. Pretty basic bowler with an average that varies from the mid 180's to mid 190's. First night out ball worked great, except for consecutive ill-timed splits due to my mis-throwing the ball, I would have had a nice 650 series. I had to trust the ball, and it did come back nice near the pins and I got a lot more action than I normally get. Seems like I can control it a little more than my Momentum Swing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: sarcasticbowlingdude 11/03/2009 23:25 ( stars)


 
I'm a new bowler. Only been bowling a little over a year and this was the first ball I purchased. At first I had difficulties controlling the ball. After a while this ball has revolutionized my game. My average has shot up 40 pins!!! A really great ball!!! I can throw this ball right at the ten pin and it'll come back and nail the pocket with power. I highly recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by sarcasticbowlingdude


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: wana b pro 11/02/2009 16:14 ( stars)


 
i just bought the bedlam for a tournement and i have to be the 1st in our house to get to throw it. when i got it drilled i got it drilled for length (our lanes break quick) but when i first threw it i was like holy crap because the reaction was unbelievable. it travels 45-50 feet and seems like it goes sideways but i also turn it alot more than most people but i would recomend it for any1 it unbelievable

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: 2ndyearbowler 09/24/2009 21:19 ( stars)


 
Well this ball is just outstanding. I had it drilled similar to my full swing, so it cleared the front easy and had a good strong roll on the backend. But i had the layout done so it would be weaker than the swing so id be able to match it up to medium-dry lanes. this ball is great, it easily clears the front and makes a good strong controllable move to the pocket off of the friction. I highly recommend this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2ndyearbowler


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: phoenix316 09/24/2009 10:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Ok, I am a once a week bowler in what appears to be a slightly competetive league (3-4 200+ avg. bowlers per team). I just got back after a 2 year hiatous from bowling and i started throwing my Action that had been sitting idle in my bag that entire time. Our house has just been fitted with new synthetic lanes so i had no idea what to expect. First week back, having not thrown a ball in 2 years, i threw a small 191 first game but finished decently with a 656 triple. I did however find that i was lacking a bit in the backend in games 2 and 3. So i spoke to the local pro shop and he suggested the Bedlam. 2 weeks later i had it drilled on game day but it was not ready for practice. 4 frames into the first game, after leaving 4 solid 10 pins, i took our my bedlam, and mayham insued. same shot as before, i left ZERO 10 pins :-) It crushed the pins and threw them everywhere, making messengers out of every pin. There was nothing left, i was so impressed. finished with a solid 233, then 204, and finally a 221. Not so bad for the first night. Once i get used to it i am sure i will rustle some feathers. Thanks Columbia for making another great ball for me!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: HARDCORE 09/17/2009 21:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
 
Thanks to Kurt's Pro Shop in Bayonne New Jersey!! 9/16/09. Drill this ball for me; then league Play!! Out of the box 1st Game shoot 258 2nd Game 290 3rd Game 248 For a Series of 796 Smelling 800 Series by 4 Pins. Now HARDCORE is on Target!! This Ball From Columbia 300 BEDLAM is the ball, you will love it. Very clean down the lane and amazing backend Highly Recommend (=


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: JameyP 09/01/2009 19:59 ( stars)


 
This is the best bowling ball that i have ever used. It hits the pocket harder than any other ball i have ever seen. This ball makes all the other bowling balls ever created look like crap. I love my Bedlam!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: michellesterner 08/21/2009 00:26 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a staffer and as i loved the Full Swing, I have the same feelings about the Bedlam. This ball has extreme backend. It is a great compliment to the Columbia 300 line. I am thrilled that it rounds out our arsenal and am looking forward to using it in tournament play.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by michellesterner


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: BuddiesProShopcom - Tim 08/12/2009 00:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 right, 1/4 up
 
Drilled my Bedlam staff ball with a dual angle layout of 45 x 40 with the pin 5 1/2" from my PAP. I absolutely loved the Full Swing and was eager to see what kind of compliment this ball would be to it.

When I am using a Full Swing and it just isn't reading the lane the way I want by not quite turning the corner enough, I go right to the Bedlam without even moving my feet and start striking again. The Bedlam is long, and has the strongest response to friction that I've ever thrown.

On a fresh pattern, I found the Bedlam to be about 5 boards less overall hook than a Full Swing, and longer through the midlane and stronger in the backend than a Perfect Rival.

With the release of the Bedlam, I can carry the four new Columbia 300 releases to a tournament or sweeper and know that I can conquer any condition.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BuddiesProShopcom - Tim


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: pin-slayer 07/27/2009 21:09 ( stars)


 
This ball is a perfect compliment to the Full Swing. Very clean down the lane and amazing backend. 4000 with polish works very well on a light oil or broken down pattern or you can hit this ball with 1000 and polish and it works great on heavier oil. I think with the proper surface preperation this will be a good ball for virtually every bowler. Hits like a truck regardless of surface.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pin-slayer


Columbia 300 Bedlam Reviewed By: HenryInTouch 12/13/2009 17:11 ( stars)

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


 
I got the Columbia Bedlam ball based on what I had read in the reviews. I was GREATLY DISAPPOINTED. The ball performed okay, but when I threw my friends Rogue Cell or C-System I could immediately tell that this ball just didn't have the aggressive backend I was looking for. I had it drilled just like Columbia recommended and it just doesn't hook. Five of my scratch bowler friends have tried it and they get the same thing. I must say I was a little upset with bowlingball.com because that is where I read the reviews. After doing a little research I found the same reviews at a few other less popular sites that deal with reviews. It appears that most of the reviews are by Columbia staffers. Don't get me wrong that is very cool and very important if they are honest. I should have been suspect of all the fives. Enough said. For you money I would recommend the ball that I purchased next from bowlingball.com and that is the Lane 1 Red Death, OUCH that ball kicks ass. Thanks, sorry for the little bit of rant, but money down the tube sucks in this economy. Thanks for listening I hope this helped.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 20 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter