Go to Ebonite Evolve »

Only show reviews for Ebonite Evolve

Customer Reviews          Average: 3.8Write a Review    Read all 15 reviews

I Love It
 
47% (7 of 15)
I Like It
 
20% (3 of 15)
It's Ok
 
13% (2 of 15)
I Don't Like It
 
7% (1 of 15)
I Hate It
 
13% (2 of 15)

Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: Competitor9 09/27/2009 13:25 ( stars)

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


 
The Ebonite DE-volve. First I'd like to start a petition for everyone who has purchased this ball to get their money back.

I have my evolve drilled up pin directly in between the fingers with the CG kicked about 1.5" off the thumb. I have that drilling on my NV, NVS, The ONE, The ONE Pearl, The INFINITE ONE. I also have a Track UPrising drilled similarly to all my ebonite balls I simply move the CG position but basically all the same.

I am 23 years old I've been bowling since I was about 6 I have 3 800's and 5 300's and I bowl in three leagues with my lowest average last year being 213 and my highest being 225. I have basically used ebonite balls since the Apex line and I am sad to say this will be the last ebonite ball I purchase. Direct from ebonite's website they say

The all-new Ebonite Evolve is the ultimate in High Performance bowling balls. Designed with the new XL1000 cover that provides great length, and the new Evolve 1.0 core that adds the most dynamic change of direction bowlers will need. EVOLVE your game.

basically they have come up with a cover stock that is 4000 rough that goes very long and has strong backend, however this is far from the truth. Under ideal conditions it may very well do that but week to week in three differant houses this ball is anything but predictable. I get massive over under on identical shots and no change in the cover stock helps. Originally I had problems with the ball "burning up" in the front and not finishing very strong moving around searching for differant lines to the pocket didn't help so I polished up the ball to save some of the energy. That didn't work so I went the other way brought it down to 2000 and left it rough hoping to make it continuous and predictable again no avail bringing it down to 2000 didn't help at all. I used this ball for about 30-36 games and averaged around 200 in all three leagues.

I also bought a PLAYMAKER at the same time to give me a good range ball for a dryer condition and the ball is Phenomenal.

Ebonite get your stuff together you used to make quality equipment now you make trash, I want my money back.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: TiogaCentralSchoolbowler 09/01/2009 12:32 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    204
Sport Shot Average    164
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/4
 
I love this ball! I had a medium hook dual angle drilling put on it. on fresh conditions you need to find some dry to make it jump. But, on medium lane conditions you can move inside and bump out and the ball will make a very smooth, clean looking move to the pocket. I compared it to my NVD. The NVD was an earlier reaction that was semi-smooth. The Evolve glided thru the front part of the lane and you could see it starting to get ready to move, and then it would make a smooth "jump" off the breakpoint and would fit nicely into the pocket crushing the pins and making your ears ring after it destroyed the deck. :) ALL THIS INFO IS BASED ON MY EXPIERENCES AND KNOWLEDGE OF BOWLING. This ball may Not work the same for you!! Make sure you have a reputable pro-shop drill one up for you!!!.....and..... EVOLVE YOUR GAME!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TiogaCentralSchoolbowler


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: shannond 08/25/2009 14:33 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
My Evolve is drilled with a 4 1/2 pin to my PAP. The CG is kicked out with an extra whole. The ball has the factory finish on it - 4000 abralon sanded. The drilling is very aggressive for me as I am more of a down and in player.

I have used the ball on several house patterns and the backend continuation is awesome. No matter if I am playing down and in or able to move into the lane and belly the ball - I get an aggressive drive to the pins on the backend. Some equipment will loose its energy and deflect right after hitting the pins, but that is certainly not the case with the Evolve.

I have also noticed that the Evolve's XL1000 coverstock does just what it was designed to do - reduction in oil absorption. After using the ball for about 12 games I still have the tacky feel to the coverstock. This is usually not the case with other 4000 sanded abralon balls.

My compliments to the R&D Department at Ebonite for a job well done!!

Shannon


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: left2win 07/15/2009 12:08 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
What a winner Ebonite has with this ball! I drilled mine with a 5 inch pin under the fingers and left the surface out of the box. It clears the front with ease and gives me a very strong backend reaction. Can't wait to try it on the longer PBA patterns. I am really impressed with the continuation thru the pins. Keep em coming Ebonite!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by left2win


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: Tinybosephis 09/18/2010 21:21 ( stars)


 
i just got this ball off of a friend... i usually throw anywhere from 10-15 to 5 and back of course. This is a great ball for dry lanes or lanes with carry down. i threw this straight up 5 and it hits sooo hard. This is the first ebonite ball ive owned and will not be the last Great job ebonite!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: sjona2011 03/25/2010 23:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
id like to take back my previous review.
at first, this ball was more than i could have asked for, but after having it for a few months and throwing countless games with it, the ball just loses its force and continuation
overall its still a good ball, just nowhere near as good as the mission


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by sjona2011


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: spiderninja 02/16/2010 16:11 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball about 3 weeks ago and I cannot figure out how anyone can have issues with it?

This ball's factory finish was too much for me, I couldn't get it to finish at all (Drilled Stack Leverage over the fingers {pattern #2 slightly modified}). Took it home, put it on my spinner and sanded it down to 1200 grit with a touch of the Factory Finish polish on it and WOW!!! This ball is the most versital ball I have now. Not only can I tween it, I can play inside (deep) too!

I have been using Ebonite balls for over 10 years now and personally think they are still the best. My Matrix Dominator still rocks the racks like it was new.

The next purchases I need to make will be the NVD (if I can find one still) and the Mission... Have to replace a couple dinosaurs.

I do agree with the recommendations to take this ball down a few thousand grit.





Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: whitehorse 02/04/2010 20:34 ( stars)


 
This ball is made to throw an inside line. I just had one drilled up to go long and be aggressive. I bowled the first game throwing over the second arrow out to the third board and back. It had a midlane break which I wasn't too happy about, result 176 game. Next game move inside, threw over the third arrow out to the 7-8 board and the ball broke later and hit the pocket hard, result 247 and 255. The only bad balls I threw is when I let up on the speed. The lane were fairly oily. I am very happy the way this ball reacted with oil and throwing an inside line.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: sjona2011 11/16/2009 21:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
to start off, im a high school JR. on the bowling team. I just got this ball drilled today (after waiting 2 weeks)

and i was astonished about how fast and smooth this ball is in the back-end compared to my other ball (raw hammer anger)

however, i didnt get much pin action, but that is because as soon as my ball hit, the pins were gone in a heartbeat.

but overall its a great ball that i highly recommend if your going to be bowling on slick lanes


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by sjona2011


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: V Tann 10/28/2009 16:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    159
Style    Stroker
 
I purchased this ball on the advice of the coach I was/am using. I love it. I am a female league bowler and with this Evolve had it drilled to hook, which it does really well, I also use a fingertip grip on it. League was today and with this ball I rolled two games over 190. I have been using this ball for several months now. The weight I use is 14 lbs. The ball is really good on medium to heavy oil lanes, but once they start to dry, it doesn't hook and carry quite as much, so I am purchasing a ball for dry lanes as well. My entrance league average was 126 and now with this ball I am up to 146 on one league and 165 on another. I would recommend it, but if you have a coach you may want to ask his advice first. I am glad I did.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by V Tann


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: jtizzle 08/31/2009 00:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    197
Ball Speed    Fast
 
This ball is very strong... I was recently in Las Vegas for the Teen Master national bowling tournament and This ball was amazing on the Kegel 42 foot pattern... When it hit the pocket it hit hard and carried... On house shots its very very strong and I have to play 4th arrow from the start with it... Over all I'm still impressed...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jtizzle


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: the broncoholic 08/26/2009 13:22 ( stars)


 
When i bought it i had it drilled with pin about two inches under ring finger for early hook and boy does it hook.im a cranker with a 194 ave. and on our house shot this ball was a beast bowled a 647 series first time throwing it.if you want a ball that hooks then this is it and it looks great to love the color.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: HOP OR DIE 07/15/2009 01:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/2 x 1
 
When i get a ball before its release date I always drill it pretty weak to see the full potential of the ball. This one I drilled, I put the pin in my ring which would make it around 4 1/2 and the mass is 1/2 left of my thumb right handed bowler. The ball is very clean in the front of the lane. When it changes direction it picks a strong roll. I used it in a tournament that had the USBC pattern all I can say is I wish I had it when I was out there. To compare Ball it is straighter in the front than the NVD but stronger in the back end.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by HOP OR DIE


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: steady running since 79 09/24/2009 19:52 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I personally cannot thing of a single solitary thing that would make me be more unhappy with this bowling ball.

My pro shop recommended it and I read the info at ebonybowling.com. It was all a bunch of crap.

I currently average 214 and am happy with all of my equipment and that includes ebonite. I thought I would try something new so I tried the Evolve, based on my pro shop. I later realized, after newly moving to the area, that pro mean nothing. This ball hits weakly and is nothing special. I should have listened to the reviews that I read around the internet from reliable websites.

Ebony is in a desperate way and this ball shows it, is this a Deal with a new color and name?

I have had mine warrantied twice, the last time, I DEMANDED to switch to another type of ball.

Steer clear of this ball and you will be glad you did.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Evolve Reviewed By: hopping around 08/29/2009 15:04 ( stars)


 
I have been an Ebonite fan for years and years. I even have added the Columbia and Hammer line to my arsenal, Track - not so much. I plan on staying with Ebonite because they fit my game. I have a lot of revs and primarily bowl on dead dry wooden lanes with burnt heads. I do also bowl on regular synthetics and a normal house shot and still find the ball wanting.

I will tell you that the Evolve has disappointed me. The carry is not good. I am going to have the surface changed, again, to see if I can get the carry I need.

Hopefully Ebonite will come out with something new for the winter. I am sure they will. I love Ebonite but the roll and consistent reaction with the Evolve is missing - I usually go to my other Ebonite ball.

If I were you and were thinking about a new ball, I would wait until the newer releases come out in a month or so from Ebonite, I think that would make you much happier.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 15 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter