Go to Storm Reign »

Only show reviews for Storm Reign

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.8Write a Review    Read all 60 reviews

I Love It
 
85% (51 of 60)
I Like It
 
10% (6 of 60)
It's Ok
 
5% (3 of 60)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 60)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 60)

Storm Reign Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/07/2009 11:28 ( stars)

36 of 37 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Storm's Reign continues their amazing Thunder line.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 3/4" under ring finger
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - right of center line and below mid line
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" hole on VAL from center of grip through cg

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I have a Dimension drilled almost identical to this but with a slightly weaker pin position. I figured since this was one performance line down from that ball I would get the pin in a little stronger position. Plus, I had heard that this ball rolled really good but was a smoother reacting ball. This layout tends to give the ball a little more kick from the back part of the mid-lane down for me.

This line of balls has always been a really good performer for Storm. Most of you that have seen or heard of the Hy-Road know how good that ball is in the price and performance category it's in so this ball had a lot to live up to for me.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
All I can say is that when you're hot you're hot. Storm is doing everything right, and they just keep making great pieces of equipment.

I forget who told me this ball rolled smooth and did not react much but they obviously did not throw it enough. This ball is a powerhouse, it rolls great. I was amazed at how far down the lane the Reign got before it started
to read friction. As you will see from my ball test video, the lanes were hooking a little more then normal but the Reign handled that with no problem.

I got this ball back from any point on the lane and it had so much energy stored up that it carried from pretty much anywhere as well. As Storm has been known to do, they kept the Thunder line very strong this season. This ball will find its way down plenty of lanes this up coming season and I think bowlers of all skill levels will find it just as good as I did.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 09/08/2009 08:48 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 


Click layout image to enlarge.

Sotrm continues the Thunder Line of bowling balls with the Storm Reign.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over) - 3 1/8"
Dual angle layout - 45deg - 3 1/8" - 30deg
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" on PAP

Some will call me a Storm fanboy, but they have made some awesome equipment lately.

Watch our video and determine for yourself. This ball has a very smooth roll through the oil and grabs hard in the back. I can't wait for the official release of the ball so that I can use it in league.

I am lucky enough to get to throw a miriad of equipment, and Storm has consistently been on top recently, just continuing their Reign.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 09/09/2009 07:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Storm's Reign continues their amazing Thunder line.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 4 1/2" under ring finger
Mass Bias Position - n/a
CG Placement - right of center line and below mid line
Balance Hole - 1" x 2" hole on VAL from center of grip through cg
Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I have a few different bowling balls laid out the same way and this is one of my favorite ball layouts. On pearlized equipment, this layout creates a faster revving midlane reaction with great recovery in the backend.

Storm's midline performance balls have been leading the industry as of late and the Reign looks to be no exception. If you're looking for the absolute best performance for the price, Storm's Thunder line is the way to go.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Just another home run for Storm. The symmetric Cam core paired with the Rs2 Pearl Reactive coverstock are amazing together. The combination of this layout with the ball's characteristics allowed me to move left on the approach and really hook the lane.

I used this ball for a few games in league and the only time I had trouble carrying was when the ball drove too hard off the back end and stoned a few 9 pins (I've said it before, leaving a stone 9 pin here and there is not particularly a bad thing... better than flat 10's).

I'm going to make a call on this ball now. This is the ball people are going to be talking about this season. For the tournament bowlers out there, you're going to want a few of these in your bag, along with the Hy-Road. These compliment each other very well and are versatile enough to dominate a majority of lane conditions.

If you're looking to improve your game and get more reaction, you're not going to find a better ball than the Storm Reign for the price.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 09/15/2009 17:16 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I wish i could give the Reign more stars does every one remember the Fired Up.Storm Reign is more ball than the fired up it will give you a earlier roll in the midlane with a strong turn in the back end.STORM are doing open house again this year if you have time sign up for the demo.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 05/10/2010 12:35 ( stars)


 
Storm's newest entry into the Thunder Line is the Reign. This a mid priced pearl reactive that uses the R2S coverstock the second generation of Storm''s popular Reactor™ shell, features a special additive which increases traction in oil. This combination provides agressive midlane revs and an angular backend reaction. The cover is enhanced by the C.A.M. core that has unique contours along the weight block with the strategically placed weighted mass blocks deliver optimum mid-lane roll.

This definitely is a ball that has one of the strongest moves to the pocket I have seen recently out of mid priced lines. My customers have have had nothing but great things to say about this ball. It is an easy recommendation to anybody looking for a ball with an aggressive backend move.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Reign Reviewed By: JimB 08/07/2009 20:06 ( stars)

6 of 46 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    159
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Same BS from all these pro shops about every ball that comes out..

" the ball looked awesome it cleared the heads with ease, pick up a good roll in the mid lane and made a good move on the back end"

Same marketing speech spewed over and over. Absolutely useless.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JimB


Storm Reign Reviewed By: hagakure 07/13/2010 20:02 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I'm pretty much a noob at high-end bowling, so I'm writing for the other noobs out there who are considering this ball. First, about me: I'm a tweener with a ball speed around 14-15 mph. I've only played in one league and averaged 156 with my Ebonite Tornado, which has a urethane cover and not much hook potential. I got that as my first ball because I wasn't sure how to play a hook and wanted to make sure I had a ball that wouldn't get away from me. That first ball took my games up from about a 118 average with house balls to the above 156, including a high game of 208, my first ever game over 200. Then my local alley changed their oil pattern from light-medium to medium-heavy and my game went to crap. My poor Tornado couldn't get any traction, just spun like a station wagon stuck in a muddy ditch. So, I went in search of a more aggresive ball to defeat the new oil pattern and settled on this Storm. The day I got it, I raced to my lanes and the driller had taken an unscheduled day off. I bowled a game with the ball undrilled (first time I've ever done that) and had 5 strikes with no darn holes in the ball. I knew right away I was impressed with the cover: where my Tornado would come back all shiny with stripes of oil on it, this Reign keeps coming back bone dry and feeling tacky. It's like it just soaks the oil up or something. And man does it grip the lane. Suddenly I had my hook back! I got it drilled last night and bowled four games with it, each better than the one before it, finishing with a 154, which was not bad considering I was not only learning the ball but it was my first time bowling with a fingertip layout. I went with the standard recommended pin placement and top weight, and had it drilled Layout 2 (just to be conservative) with no balance hole -- figured I'll drill one later if I need to. I frankly hate to ruin the beautiful appearance of this red hot ball. Even for a rookie at finger tip bowling, this ball has some serious backend but it is not hard to control the length. I was able to make adjustments just by throwing a little harder or by starting it a little more aggressively right. You can go ahead and hang it out over the right gutter, it WILL come back! I found myself missing left (hitting the left pocket actually) most of the time, because I am still learning the line to get this hook into the right spot, but it powered through the pins and still gave me good results. It doesn't leave splits, I noticed. With the right-to-left action this ball has when it hits, it's not going to leave any pins standing to the left of the headpin. Mostly I ended up with 10, 9/10, 6/10 and 5/10 when I didn't strike. I'm using that Tornado as a spare ball now, and I need to get used to switching balls a lot during a game, otherwise I'm sure I would have picked up more spares. One thing it showed me was the serious difference between the Tornado and the Reign in terms of the hook and also the cover. They feel different (Tornado slick, Reign tacky) and certainly take a different path to the pins! I recommend this ball highly. Folks like me who are new to higher-end gear and trying to hook the ball will find this ball easy to hook but not uncontrollable. I imagine more skilled people will also be happy with this ball's grip and backend. If you care about looks, it's a great looking ball, too! (I'm just not sure why they made it smell like cinnamon!)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hagakure


Storm Reign Reviewed By: AfterHourz 12/23/2009 22:48 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    155
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is my first performance ball that I have purchased, before I was using a Hammer-Faball that was older than me. I didnt intend on buying the Reign when I walked into my local pro-shop, actually I had no intention on buying a storm ball at all, rather the brunswick siege. However the owner did not have any on hand and I wasnt leaving without a ball. This was a week prior to the official release of the Reign and I knew that because I am a regular visitor to Bowlingball.com. I asked the owner a few question about the ball, and so on impulse I made the purchase.

Although I did not walk out with the ball I had originally wanted, I now feel It was a good thing.The Reign was much more different then my old urethane ball, instead of the nice easy smooth angle throughout the lane, the Reign stayed outside until the backend and i did not expect it to make it back but it did with quite some attitude. This ball was heavier and it took some time to get the feel of the ball I have recently been bowling steady 180+ games and for having no coaching and under a year of experience bowling I find to be a great game. I would definately recommend this ball to anyone looking for a ball that I am comfortable using on any lane condition, versus many balls that will go too far left on dry lanes or not make it back to the pocket on a fresh oiled lane. Plus the hot cinnamon fragrance is more intimidating than orange mint now isnt it?


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: mattyg3535 08/10/2010 16:04 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    199
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
To be honest with you, I had this ball drilled to be angular. At the time I didn't have the axis rotation to achieve what the ball could do. I thought just because you drill a ball to do something, that it would. I was wrong. Angular balls need a little TLC. I gave the ball to another bowler who wanted it and I was jealous how well it snapped in the back for her (Yes HER), and not me. It made me learn more about side turn and how to use it. Now I prefer angular,pearl balls to continuous, dull ones. You live you learn! I love the Reign of Fire so I bet If I had it all to do over, I would LOVE the Reign?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mattyg3535


Storm Reign Reviewed By: bklynguy1 06/26/2010 15:32 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    204
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
I used to throw 15 lbs, but my speed was to fast, so it went beyond the break point. So I went up to 16lbs and got this ball. For a mid price ball this is an amazing ball.
Love this ball.
had it drilled like in layout 2 but had the pin over the fingers.
With a weight hole.
What I got was reduced speed, the ball hooks in the backend and hits like a Truck. I had to move 5 to 7 boards left from my normal starting position. Great ball for when the lanes start to change. Good compliment with the Storm Reign of Fire. Two great balls to have :)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bklynguy1


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Lonni3 05/12/2010 09:51 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I was expecting alot when I got this ball,it didn't let me down. After getting it drilled I threw my highest game and first clean game this year only a 196 but the ball worked great .This is a good ball especially for the price but do not expect too much on dry lanes,hooks too early and no carry through the pins but it is designed for oil,so use it for what it is intended and you'll love it.I was very pleased with BowlingBall.com,received my ball 3 days after ordering and no hidden fees,exactly as advertised.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: reddogg 12/09/2009 17:26 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I have to say that the reign is a very fun ball to throw.It gets down the lane with ease and has a big backend and makes it back from just about anywhere.I had mine drilled pin above and between the fingers with cg kicked out slightly to the right.It really mixes up the pins and keeps them low for great carry.Im currently using mine with 4000 abralon and no polish on a medium house shot.I really like the way this ball rolls through the pin deck.Again its a fun ball to throw.I hope they come out with a solid reign soon because i will definetly be buying it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by reddogg


Storm Reign Reviewed By: davkarsports 10/09/2009 09:51 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I own a Black Widow Pearl, and this ball can be similar in reaction, so I had it drilled with Layout #1 to be a little weaker on the midlane. This ball is very versatile. For me, it goes longer than my BWP and still packs a pretty big punch at the pindeck. It was a great choice for me! Works well on tournament shots where the heads have burned out, and late night league shots. For others, it can be a stronger ball for more "normal" conditions. Like I said, it is very versatile.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Storm Reign Reviewed By: tpurchasejr 10/17/2012 23:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
To start, I originally wasnt planning on this ball. I originally bought the Track Up-Rising x-out. i had it for 2 weeks and it just up and broke. so i went the the pro shop and showed it to them and they said well what kind of ball would you like to rpelace it with. all i said is one like it or it has a similar hook to it. so they suggested the reign. went and got one out of the back room and showed me the specs on it. it looked interesting. so i bought it. no big deal. got it drilled and started league with it. the first night was kind of like lets see how far until it grabs and just cuts left. about 42 feet it just took off. impressed as i was, i adjusted to hit the pocket. the first game i bowled with it was a 295. i got the drill layout 2 no balance hole. but i throw it at about 14 mph and about 300 revs. i just strictly been using this ball other than to get right side spares, i have found that the way i throw it, it is almost impossible to get right side stuff (especially 10 pins) i have routinely been hitting high 600's to mid 700's every night that i bowl with it. very impressed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: 2 hands carry more 10/15/2012 23:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
got the reign 7 month ago as my first bowling ball and after few weeks i was able to control this ball in many lane patterns. hits like a train, great backend reaction, i would recommend this ball to any bowler looking for a great pin reaction. it gets hard to control when oil pattern break down, maybe the reason is my high rev rate.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2 hands carry more


Storm Reign Reviewed By: figsout 08/12/2011 09:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    232
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Reign is very strong out of the box for a factory polish finish ball. On a THS and the pin under the ring finger, I play a down and in 2nd arrow shot and the Reign has a nice smooth arc with just enough bite at the end to carry corners. Watch your speed early in the night so corners aren't a problem if you're a little fast. I have found the Reign is quick to react to lane breakdown so you may find yourself playing a deeper inside line sooner than you might with other balls. It has great carry on a deep inside line so a quick line change is not a huge concern if you have a nice series brewing.

Its very versatile whether you're an inside or outside player and once you find the right line, its deadly. A great value for the $$. So much that this year I dropped to 15lb equipment and it was the only ball I re-purchased from my 16lb arsenal


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2011 10:14 ( stars)


 
As a compliment to my Reign of Fire, it was suggested that I get a Reign, which at first I could not control. As a high speed, low rev bowler, I wasn't used to getting very much reaction from my equipment. What reaction I did get was always gradual. The snap of this ball took some time for me personally to get used to. Once I was able to get a feel for the reaction pattern, this quickly became my "go-to" ball. Though I sometimes still struggle "finding it" with my Reign, once I do, it's pure bliss. The angle at which it enters the pocket is such that, even if I'm off a bit, pins will FLY! By far, this is my favorite ball of any that I have owned. It is one that I will definitely keep in my arsenal!

Ashley Coudron


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Reign Reviewed By: camerond 06/07/2011 06:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The bowlingball.com service is exceptional. I ordered the ball with drilling on a Monday and received it that Wednesday. I couldn't have purchased a better ball for this years pattern at nationals. I just wish I could have converted more spares. I chose layout #2 and it setup nicely to play down and in and finish strong. This was important since I went down in weight from 15lbs to 14lbs. The Storm Reign also worked well with carrydown.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by camerond


Storm Reign Reviewed By: notimefam@hotmail.com 04/25/2011 11:21 ( stars)


 
We bought this bowling ball for our 15 year son's birthday and he was at the alley the next day bowling like he's bowled with it for a while. It didn't throw his swing off at all in fact, he was able to actually fix something -- not sure why there was a difference between this ball and his last one other than weight -- different brand too. This company was great to work with -- I was able to go online and see the status of my order which was very quick. I think I ordered on one day and the ball shipped on the next and I had it within 4 days via ground shipping. The ball was packaged nice for shipping and was exactly what we wanted. Thank you. I will be purchasing from this company again. The prices can't be beat. Our alley told me to order from them because they couldn't get me the deal this company could.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: TOMMY.HOOLEY@GMAIL.COM 04/08/2011 11:35 ( stars)


 
Great ball. bowled my highest scoring game of 228 last week.. like it a lot.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:32 ( stars)


 
My Reign has a 3 inch pin and is drilled (for a lefty) with the pin above my ring finger and the CG out to the left. I had this ball drilled very similar to my Reign of Fire so that after an oil pattern has broken down, I can switch to the Reign and play a similar line to what I was playing with the Reign of Fire. As I expected, the ball goes long and then has a sharp turn toward the pocket on the backend.

Mike Moskowitz
UF Bowling


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Reign Reviewed By: UF Bowling 04/07/2011 22:31 ( stars)


 
The Reign is the backbone of STORM’s Thunder line. Combining the proven technology of the R2S coverstock with the new C.A.M. (continuous axis migration) core has made this ball popular among pros and amateurs alike. In fact, the Reign has been so successful that its weight block has been integrated into its most recent relatives, the Reign of Fire (R2S Solid with 1000-grit Abralon) and Reign Supreme (R2S Hybrid with 1500-grit polish).

The Thunder line has been known to provide its bowlers with the best bang for their buck and the Reign is no exception. With an aggressive layout, the Reign can easily withstand some of the heaviest oil patterns, providing an excellent mid-lane read and smooth recovery on the back end. The “flip” action at the breakpoint isn’t as sharp as say, the 2Fast, but rather is a more controllable motion that can really tell the bowler what’s going on down the lane. Like the 2Fast, this ball is probably not suited for short or dry patterns, but this is certainly outweighed by its performance on long and heavy conditions.

Usually, I pull out this ball when my Prodigy doesn’t give me enough back-end reaction to carry. The pearl surface of the Reign lets the ball hold onto energy longer, which makes the back-end stronger.

Angie Kahn
UF Bowling Program


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Reign Reviewed By: rcschott@gmail.com 03/31/2011 02:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    212
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/2 over, 0 up/dn
 
I got one of these just a few weeks before Storm discontinued them. What a great ball. I had it drilled to go long and snap hard, I know the emphasis these days is all about midlane and continuation but I find skid/flip works best for me. I already had my lifetime high series in league with it (757). I find the ball is fairly versatile, I can play it straighter up the boards on heavier volume house shots, if the lanes are burned up I can take a giant step left and swing it from inside-out.

What I was looking for is a similar reaction to my old Track Sensor Xcel but with a bit stronger cover to play higher volumes of oil. I got that but the Reign is much stronger in the back end and hits harder. I liked it so much I had a Reign Supreme drilled up with the same layout but more surface for when the lanes are a little too oily for the Reign (which I keep polished). If you're thinking about getting a Reign I'd suggest you go ahead and get one before they're all gone!

About me, I consider myself a stroker, I'm rolling the ball on average just under 17mph these days, rev rate around 280 rpm.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rcschott@gmail.com


Storm Reign Reviewed By: cms0762@yahoo.com 03/30/2011 21:50 ( stars)


 
This is the second reign I have bought. Its is great ball. I bought this one bc storm is discontinuing the ball and I wanted to get one to keep for a rainy day.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: cybrguy621@hotmail.com 01/03/2011 19:54 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
It's a great ball for what I wanted. I have very aggressive bowling equipment and I wanted something that would not do a lot. It has a good roll-down and a good back-end. I normally only use Lane #1 equipment, but they didn't make anything that I wanted for the lane condition I am bowling on. If you want a ball that is simple, this is your ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cybrguy621@hotmail.com


Storm Reign Reviewed By: stormbowler93 12/24/2010 02:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    219
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    1/2 down 5 over
 
This may be my favorite ball from the thunder line so far. The ball does have a weak mid lane read but seems to get down the lane great and react well on all conditions except for short oil (cheetah). This ball has done well for me on fresh and very broken down conditions. It is a great ball right now i have my highest sanctioned series throwing this ball 775. I think the bottom line is if your looking for a skid flippy ball this is the one you want. it is an all around great ball that works well and lots of different conditions

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: bovi9@comcast.net 12/16/2010 17:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    174
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I've just been back to bowling for three months after 25 years away. My old ball was poorly drilled and the fit was terrible. I know this now because I went to one of bowlingball.com's reccomended pro shops to get this one done right. I was impressed right out of the box with the appearance - it's just plain an attractive ball. I'm still not too sure about the cinnamon scent, seems a bit gimmicy for a good product. I didn't get a chance to practice before my first league appearance with the Reign, but I rolled a 499 series. That's a 30+ increase from my existing average! My accuracy was so much better and the ball just works without my having to do all the work. Very predictable for the first time out. My team-mates think I've made a very smart move! So do I. Sure, the drilling is really, really important, but the technology that went into this ball ammazes me. The price was great and the service in getting my order to me was outstanding. Jeez, I'm beginning to think I can be a real bowler!

Bob Adams


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bovi9@comcast.net


Storm Reign Reviewed By: beau_wofford@yahoo.com 11/22/2010 13:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
well ive used this ball a couple series now, and i gotta say i wasnt impressed. i was blown away!

i went with the exact same layout as tony because him and i throw the ball very similar, so i thought id give his layout a try. the videos are no lie, i get the exact same reaction. the lanes i bowl on overall are pretty darn heavy with oil, and this ball fires back off the breakpoint. it makes the hardest and strongest move ive ever had. and the other reviews are exactly right, this ball keeps the pins low giving you plenty of carry. i can also play so many different lines with this ball. i can kill my hand a little and play nice and tight, still keeping that strong move on the backend, or i can play way inside and hook the crap outta this ball with it never losing energy going into the pocket. this is my favorite ball ive thrown period, and ive thrown a good amount. i could not recommend a better ball for anyones bowling style. a ball like this, you can drill it for many different styles of bowling and youll be set. to me this is the perfect ball. it goes long, exactly what everyone says they want. but it also makes a complete left turn with a ton of energy off the breakpoint. what more could you want?! do your game a favor and get this ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by beau_wofford@yahoo.com


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Grack 09/13/2010 12:29 ( stars)


 
This ball is everything I hoped it to be.....aggressive but controllable. The pro shop found my pap then used drilling guide #3 that came with the ball. Bowlingball.com is a very good site to do business with....free shipping AND you can google a discount code to save even more!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: rltjr 08/31/2010 02:06 ( stars)


 
Before this ball I owned a Lane 1 Liberator. Urethane coverstock it worked for me pretty good, I was pleased with it but how I longed for a ball with alot more hooking potential. I did some research and I found this ball here. I've owned this ball for 1½ years and I've rolled some really good series, a 712 series being a personal best for me in a sanctioned league. I have my pin setup under my ring finger about an inch down. No balance hole needed because I made this my skid flip ball. I still enjoy this ball tremendously. It's a great mid-performance ball to have in your arsenal. Find a pro shop that will take time to work with you and figure out how it should be drilled to fit you and you will have one promising ball in your bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rltjr


Storm Reign Reviewed By: bowlbabybowl 08/03/2010 14:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    201
Sport Shot Average    193
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I needed a medium grade ball that would get me through the heads, and flip like my Invasion. Thank you storm. This is a great ball to transition from medium to dry for a bowler who has a lot of hand, and ball speed first game out the box 239. It is an older ball but if your looking for a good league ball buy this ball ASAP!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Housequake 08/01/2010 18:43 ( stars)


 
I got this ball when it first came out, did not throw it in my leagues. It was too much in the dry and not strong enough in the wet. This summer when bowlers are looking at low-end balls to get through the heads in this hot Texas weather I pulled out the Reign. It is an ideal ball when the lanes are hot like in Texas. The heads go quickly when the temparture is 100 degrees outside. I watched bowlers struggle with the Reign of Fire, The Mutant, Invasion, Virtual Gravity, and Brunwick 3.5. This balls are good in the winter time when the lanes are cold but do not carry when the heads are gone. Get a Reign and you want be dissappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Housequake


Storm Reign Reviewed By: cnodtvedt 07/22/2010 04:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
For the last two years I had been playing with a plastic ball that was a gift from my parents. I had a few good games with it, but my average always stood around 140 to 150. The first night I bowled with the Reign my average went up 30 pins. Can't wait to see what this ball has in store for the future.

Can't go wrong with the Storm Reign.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cnodtvedt


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Sir Smytecelot 06/30/2010 15:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
 
The Storm Reign is the answer I was looking for. I have some other Storm balls and was facing the problem of some balls rolling out and losing their energy at the pins. It was affecting my strike totals. Some of the oil patterns had been pushed to the heads and other balls just could not finish through. Well the Reign lives up to the hype. It has a late end double move that has a sound all its own when it hits the pins. I rolled a 698 in a PBA Experience League and never looked back. If your looking for a ball with finishing power or dont think your getting enough pin action on certain days of your house pattern this is the ball for you. Just dont go past the pocket be careful this ball has a double move and can go past the pocket easily.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sir Smytecelot


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Xcessive_Hook 05/03/2010 14:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right by 1/2 up
 
Layout: 65* 5 1/4" 65*
Surface: OOB

The Storm/Roto line has thoroughly impressed me since switching over to them about 6 months ago, and the Reign does not disappoint. I honestly thought the expected reaction on the Reign was exaggerated until I got my hands on it.

This ball allowed me to play a bit further right(25) and play a little closer to the gutter breakpoint wise(5) than I'm accustomed to at our house. Even with the low oil, it glides cleanly through the heads and mids. As soon as it exits the pattern, there is no word to describe or a degree number I can use to explain the angular backend it makes.

So, with that said it's definitely pretty to watch. However, I've noticed on a number of occasions quickly how prone it is to stoning 9s. It is a bit too angular for my tastes but will change the surface to 4000 dull to smooth it out some. Regardless, has a room in my bag.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Xcessive_Hook


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Mamas 04/25/2010 12:16 ( stars)


 
I've just drilled this ball and i must say, i was really amazed of the hook and backend of this ball. I am new at bowling and my ball revs are low but the hook is still too much. This ball is great and recommend it to everyone

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: gtr33rob 04/01/2010 07:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
 
My game was very weak prior to getting this ball. Since then the Storm Reign has allowed me to break into the 200+ range. It responds to my throuwing style with even and expected reaction down the lane. Because of this I have ordered the Storm Virtual Energy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gtr33rob


Storm Reign Reviewed By: RICK_storm_bowling 03/27/2010 14:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    198
Sport Shot Average    194
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I have had this ball for three weeks and I got my third 300 with it. If you get this ball u will be pleased with the results. I shot an 789 series with the reign i am going to keep this ball forever!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RICK_storm_bowling


Storm Reign Reviewed By: undershepherd 03/22/2010 21:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I am a right-hander, stroker with low revs, been bowling for 40 years, average 210 onTHS league. I had used the Roto-Grip Cell Pearl for the past year, and could not get it to do what it was supposed to do, go long and snap hard. Ended up selling it and buying the Storm Reign. Had it drilled pattern #3. Had 670 tonight, with 266 the last game. This ball does exactly what it is supposed to. It goes long and snaps hard. My only complaint is that I left several ten pins standing tonight, but otherwise, it rolls very well and is an excellent ball to have.
I also have a Storm Virtual Gravity and a Roto-Grip RSX. The Storm Reign fits in between the two.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Chas878 03/16/2010 18:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    216
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/2
 
I drilled this ball up about a month ago, along with 3 other balls. I really hadnt given it a chance until last week, just before I went to Wichita, to bowl the Southwest. First game out the bag I ran the front 9, left a ten pin. S I decided to put it in the bags to take to the tourney. I bowled 12 games up there and 11 of them was with the Reign. I avg. 229 for the 12 games, with the high game being 258. This ball stores up energy unbelievably well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Chas878


Storm Reign Reviewed By: trevset 03/16/2010 11:32 ( stars)


 
I absolutely love this bowling ball. This bowling ball is perfect if you play on medium oil. The back end hook on this ball is intense, the first time I threw it I thought it was going straight for the 10 pin, but this ball surprised me and made an aggressive hook directly into the 1-3-pocket. I love this ball and I would highly recommend it to anyone. If you were thinking about getting this ball just do it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by trevset


Storm Reign Reviewed By: younggrumpy 03/14/2010 00:27 ( stars)


 
This ball has way too much back end and I love it! Got this bad boy drilled pin up, cg is my palm with a weight hole. Very very good pearl ball that hooks out the house. Great job Storm!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by younggrumpy


Storm Reign Reviewed By: renojones 03/12/2010 22:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    202
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is the second ball that I have ever bought, the first was the old blue AMF Hawk(not Ti, Fire or Night, just Hawk) and that was 8-9 years ago. I had the pro shop drill it to go long and break hard, don't know my pap yet, but I do know how to get it. I'm just saving that for later once I've really developed a consistent delivery, it's been about 8-9 years since I've really bowled regularly.

First let me say that the ball will not make the bowler in my opinion, if you suck the ball will not make you awesome. Having said that, when I am on the Reign is my best friend. Just goofing around on a seriously oily lane and rocked 9 strikes in a row and left a split in the 10th. Now when I'm off the Reign doesn't exactly find it's way to the pocket, but for the generic set up that I asked for, it breaks and will knock a few pins around just not as many as I would like.

Another review may follow once I develop that consistent delivery, but for now I definitely think I got what I paid for, performance on a budget. Highly recommend if you're just getting back or first diving into the "technology" of bowling. Plus these guys make it easy to buy from, fast free delivery and the price you see is the price you'll pay.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Drumking06 02/27/2010 18:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Ive gotta say that I had high expectations for this bowl. I have bowled in a league, or any for that matter in the Last 5 years. When I was an avid league bowler I was averaging around 165. Today was my second trip to the bowling alley with this ball, to put it bluntly, it performed. I wasnt sure how to have the ball drilled since it had been so long since i bowled, so i went with storms drilling layout 3 because i have bad wrist and dont have a lot of revs on my ball. I spent the day figuring out what this ball is capable of and man, it hits the pins hard and quick. I shot my best ever series with this ball, a 687, with my highest game ever of 279. So if you have some experience under your belt and looking for a whole lot of ball at a great price, get the storm reign and see what it can do for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Huntmh 02/20/2010 07:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    186
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I am 190 average bowler and with this ball so far I have shot 599, 620, 647, 672. I bought this ball to use on medium to dry lanes, and it works perfectly it has good length and a nice roll at the end.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: doublrs 02/17/2010 20:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
 
I have the Hyroad (drilled more aggressive @ 2000 abralon), a Seige, Ultrazone. I wanted a higher RG ball that would get down the lane a little further and really kick it on the backend. The hyroad is close but it a more continous roll with my drill.

The Reign for me I drilled pin up and between the fingers 5" from pap with no hole and left at box finish. I roll on synthetic lanes with medium oil in league. 602 series first night out (160 ave). I have more 200 games in the past three weeks with my Reign that I have had all season with my other equipment.

With my drilling the ball goes long and really turns the corner...I have a ton of error room with this ball...Just get it out to the right and it will come back and keeps the pins low. Outstanding ball, favorite in my bag for league right now!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by doublrs


Storm Reign Reviewed By: 1ofaDffrntKind 02/03/2010 10:16 ( stars)


 
So what do you say?? It's just simply a great ball!! I'm fairly new to the Storm line, but I have to say... after buying this and the Virtual Energy, I'll be a Storm guy forever!! This ball rolls great and can recover from anywhere. I've thrown it at different houses on different patterns, different lines and different releases... and got the same results, great pin action and carry!! This ball is a LOT of fun to throw. The Reign and V.E. are my first new balls since taking a 13 year break from bowling, and in 2 leagues I'm averaging 200+, which I struggled to do prior to the break!! Strom - you've made a believer out of me...and anyone who bowls against me!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: bobwaas 01/14/2010 19:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Okay, I did not roll a 300 game right out of the box, nor did I roll a 850 series. But what I did get was a great bowling ball. I have a Virtual Gravity and Virtual Energy that are drilled pretty aggressively, so my pro suggested that we not be so aggressive with my new Reign! I am amazed at the amount of backend move this ball has. It was very hard for me to miss right the ball just seemed to find its way to the pocket. I carry a 177 average throw the ball 15 - 16 mph and have a rev rate of about 350 and have only been bowling for a year now after a 37 year layoff. All I know is that this ball really gets the job done for me and I am looking forward to figuring out where it fits in my arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bobwaas


Storm Reign Reviewed By: cco2coug@gmail.com 01/11/2010 20:08 ( stars)


 
I drilled the ball to go long down the lane. Storm pattern # 4 that comes with the ball. This is a good ball and drill for dry lanes. The ball also hits very hard.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: coolbowler 01/06/2010 13:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
 
like the ball very well it a great ball. got it gor a friend and he loves it. bowled 645 first night bowled with itinleague thx agin rick i recommend the ball to anyone.and buy from you guys are great to buy from fast shipping and eastytrancactions thx rick

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by coolbowler


Storm Reign Reviewed By: BOWL24.7 12/29/2009 22:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
this ball rolls excellent in the front and midlane and recovers nice in the back and snaps harder than any other ball i have. Great Buy! Way to go Storm! i absolutly love this ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BOWL24.7


Storm Reign Reviewed By: bowling_aj 12/21/2009 11:47 ( stars)


 
Because of the strength of this ball that the stats give it, I decided to tame it down a bit so I wouldn't have to leave it in the bag unless I saw a larger quantity of oil. Layed it out on a 6 x 4.5 (pin x MB) so I would have a little more length than turn, the ball rolls well.

-very clean through the heads
-controllable transition just past the mid-lane oil
-strong reaction through the back end

I must say, I like seeing this ball roll up 10 or with a little bump out to 5. But wen the lanes dry up, I can move 25 boards left and let her rip! A great choice for someone looking for a ball that is going to read the mid-lane and still have energy to blow the rack away.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: KRStateChamps 12/08/2009 21:13 ( stars)


 
This ball is amazing to say the least! Im a 2 handed bowler with fast speed (19mph) and this ball works great for me. This ball reads the midlane and will not stop hooking on the backend. I have probably left more 9 pins than 10 pins with this ball. I recommend this ball to anyone with a decent amount of turn on the ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: tigerwoodsgolf345@hotmail.com 10/21/2009 10:13 ( stars)


 
Let me just say you will save a lot of money buying from bowlingball.com The shipping is free and fast. I did not buy my ball from here, but if I buy another one i will buy it from here. My first strom product, I will buy more from storm. Let me say this ball is a big backend ball. I don\'t have the ball drilled the strongest either and dont throw many revs, but get a very nice hook on the ball. The videos are not a lie, this ball does just what is show. I don\'t throw it out quite as far but almost. Bowl up a storm!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tigerwoodsgolf345@hotmail.com


Storm Reign Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 09/15/2009 11:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
During a Matchmaker/Open House at my shop this past week, I was able to test one of the Reigns. What a exceptional ball this is. It fits between the Furious and Fast quite nicely. The Reign provides a very smooth midlane motion for a pearl and is quite strong. Everyone that tried it loved it, from stroker to tweener to cranker everyone could find a look with with it.

For me the Reign gave a similar reaction that I used to get out of the Fired Up and even looks a lot like it. I am really looking forward to this release, it fills the ball line with the Fast and the Furious and will be a huge seller I am sure.

Once again a great release by Storm!

River Lanes Pro Shop
Titusville FL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Storm Reign Reviewed By: StormBowler13 08/25/2009 23:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This ball is a good compliment to the Storm Hy-Road. I had this drilled with the pin above the ring finger with the CG kicked out just about 45 degrees. This ball went through the head with ease and got about 5-6 more feet than the Hy-Road. Also this ball is more angular than the Hy-Road. I would compare the angle on the back to the T-Road Pearl, but slightly more. The ball kept the pins very low on the deck and almost looks as if it just puches them off. I used it on the US Open 40ft flat pattern and it reacted well when it hit the dry. I will be having another drilled shortly to roll a little earlier. Over all yet another very good ball from Storm.

StormBowler13
BowlingBoards.com Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormBowler13


Storm Reign Reviewed By: honda92924 08/15/2009 21:30 ( stars)

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    232
Sport Shot Average    199
Ball Speed    Fast
PAP    4 3/8
 
to start with there shouldnt be no one leave a reveiew unless u can avg over 200 so lay off the marketers an the proshop guys. Now i have seen the an agree the ball gets though the head really nice and has a nice reaction out of the dry. Hits like a tank



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Reign Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 08/04/2009 20:03 ( stars)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
Can't wait until the Storm Reign is release in early September. I got to see a guy on storm staff throw it over the weekend the ball looked awesome it cleared the heads with ease, pick up a good roll in the mid lane and made a good move on the back end.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes PRoShop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Storm Reign Reviewed By: teubzz 02/15/2010 12:05 ( stars)


 
I got just what I wanted with the Reign. A little more length down the lane with a strong backend reaction. It is a nice complement to the Hyroad and Shift that are in my bag. Storm has done it again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by teubzz


Storm Reign Reviewed By: bowlingball.com staff reviews by Dustin Seymour 09/09/2009 20:45 ( stars)


 
This review is on the Storm Reign!

There's no denying that I'm a Storm guy. I have been since I started in this game about 15 years ago. My favorite line has always been the thunder line, even back to the Black Thunder and up through the T-Roads and Hy-Road. The symmetrical Thunder core really fit my game. Well, I haven't been as excited about a release, as I have been about the Reign, in a long time. I knew that they would take the best features of the Thunder core and update it for today's conditions. They did exactly that. The new CAM core matched with the amazing R2S Pearl Reactive cover is a match made in heaven. Never have I thrown a ball that gets through the heads better and turn left harder on the backend than the Reign. And just like every other Storm ball, the hit and carry is amazing. The price is right, the performance is top notch, and in my opinion this will be the next big hit in the bowling world. I'm proud to say I've been on the Storm bandwagon for a long time now, and even if you haven't there's still time to jump on! I don't know how the guys from Utah keep churning out ball after unbelievable ball, but I hope it keeps happening! They sure make scoring on the lanes a lot easier than it could be! Thanks for another great release, and as always... Bowl Up a Storm!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com staff reviews by Dustin Seymour


Read all 60 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter