Go to Storm Furious »

Only show reviews for Storm Furious

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.81Write a Review    Read all 27 reviews

I Love It
 
85% (23 of 27)
I Like It
 
11% (3 of 27)
It's Ok
 
4% (1 of 27)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 27)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 27)

Storm Furious Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 06/04/2009 19:20 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
One of our pba members got his furious today drilled pin above ring finger cg kicked out 1/2 inch from center of grip.The Storm Furious has strong roll in the front and does not stop.Storm has another great mid price ball.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Furious Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 05/17/2010 12:29 ( stars)


 
One of storm's recent Hot Line releases is the Furious.The Furious will feature the R2S coverstock. This second generation of Reactor coverstock has amplified the hook potential and by combining this cover with the successful Turbine core has made this Performance Series a big bang for the buck.

The ball clears the front of the lane very easy. The motion in the mid-lane and backend made for a very controllable reaction. For its price point this ball seems to handle higher volumes of oil with no problem. Storm put together another great mid price ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Storm Furious Reviewed By: TURBO URETHANE 02/15/2010 13:32 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
style cranker
speed high
area on the lane 10 and right
This ball is....INCREDIBLE!!
If you want a ball with midlane hook and continuation this is it. The furious hits like a big rig and launches one hopping scouts all over. If you are just getting into resin or adding to your arsenal GET THIS BALL you will not be disappointed!!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TURBO URETHANE


Storm Furious Reviewed By: Lighting Storm user 02/20/2011 21:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    199
Sport Shot Average    174
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3-3/8
 
I got this ball in Dec. 09 and started using it in 2010.
The first time i threw it on the oil in league i was astonished by the power it carries to the pins and how it holds its line all the way to the mid-lane adding a big backend reaction to the pins.
after about a month and a half of using it i shot my first 600 series with it.
then as the months went on i got 6 more 600 series.
this ball does great for low rev. players when your lookin for a ball that'll burn up the oil to create a line for your ball to carry to the pins.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Lighting Storm user


Storm Furious Reviewed By: jamesb831 11/16/2010 15:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
A great ball from Storm at a great price. Absolutely love this ball. I used it in my league last week and what a game changer for me. The ball handled the lane amazingly, and hit the pocket like a tank. Even when I threw it wide (first arrow on the right, border line gutter) the ball had enough recovery to get back to the pocket. I used this ball with the out of box finish, no polish or surface change. I have found my new ball for my Saturday night league.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: mattyg3535 08/10/2010 16:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    199
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is a sleeper. It is a lot stronger than they let on! Coverstock adjustments and/or polish will allow this ball to reach it's full potential. It is a strong continuious ball. You know the motion it will move everytime you throw it. The only thing is to get it to release it's energy far enough down the lane. Each bowler and each bowling center is different. Let you local proshop determine the right layout and surface for the situation you will be using this ball and you will be very happy. Smells awesome too!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mattyg3535


Storm Furious Reviewed By: herbertturner 05/13/2010 14:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    Unknown
 
Now lets get this straight, bowling ball was purchased by John H Turner, Dave Hansen Pro Shop was where I had it drilled and fitted, I ship directly to this pro shop as I see no reason to ship to my address, then carry it to the pro shop, This pro shop has all of my request for the fitting and has it ready when I come in. This bowling ball releases and curves as expected, I plan to have it polished so as to carry down the lane further before it hooks, I have not used it enough to really rate it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by herbertturner


Storm Furious Reviewed By: masimmons 05/03/2010 10:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    170
Sport Shot Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
i drilled my furious with the pin in front of my first bowling fingers becuase im left handed and also i hand alot of revs. on the ball....it is designed to give me length down the lane and also arch still powerful on the backends but its not snappy........... so i love it!!!!!!!!!! plus it smells good.....lol

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: lconec 03/31/2010 23:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I have been bowling since I was 10 years old, and since the age 13 I have averaged around 160. I have always liked the game, but I have not been in a league for more than 20 years. Recently my family bought me a Storm Furious as a birthday present. I am now absolutely addicted to the game. Right out of the box this ball finds the pocket almost every throw. I am getting more strikes in a game than I ever have (6-8), and am averaging around 200. My high series so far (now in a league) is 662. Love this ball!! I am going to buy a few and stockpile them for the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by lconec


Storm Furious Reviewed By: josephc2k 02/01/2010 08:22 ( stars)


 


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: sparky741@comcast.net 01/26/2010 22:52 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball on a recommendation from my local pro shop and let me say I am glad I took his advice! This ball does everything for me that I was unable to achieve with my old ball. It has great back end, it just seems to leap right into the pocket every throw. I roll once a week and carry about a 195-200 average. Two out of the past three weeks, I have shot over 700. I wish I had picked up this ball sooner!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: Mike Yakich 01/13/2010 23:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    172
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Excellent ball. When drilled properly for you the ball has great action. I've only bowled for a few years carrying a 168 average. Out of the box my first series was a 593. We'll see how that holds up the rest of the season. Thanks for the great service and fast shipping.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: millatti1287 01/08/2010 02:42 ( stars)


 
Absolutely the best ball for the money. In my first 30 games I have bowled 3 300's and a 817 series. This ball is perfect for medium oil with a little length. Great backend with this cover. And the ladies love the grape smell. Just so you know.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by millatti1287


Storm Furious Reviewed By: mustang99black 01/06/2010 21:36 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I bought this ball in 14 poinds for my wife. She was using a 12 pound ball and was getting very little pin action. Average is around 140. Throws a backup ball, and this ball hooks a ton. She throws the ball about two-three boards from the left gutter and this ball hooks all the way back to the 1-2 pocket. (sometimes it even hooks past it) Ball keeps pins low on the deck and gets great pin reaction. She has bowled several games over 200 with this bowling ball.

In all you can't beat this ball for the price of it. A must have in you bag.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mustang99black


Storm Furious Reviewed By: RyanCooperWPU 10/26/2009 17:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
 
This ball is great to start with on heavy oil patterns, the ball is good and it comes in the pocket pretty strong. i would definitely suggest it's in your bags.
--------------------
Ryan Cooper
WPU Bowling Team
Storm Sponsored


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RyanCooperWPU


Storm Furious Reviewed By: ttyler7996 08/02/2009 16:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
just got my furious a couple days ago and i think it is the best ball i have tried i like it i am taking one ball out of my bag and putting this one in

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ttyler7996


Storm Furious Reviewed By: ttyler7996 07/30/2009 20:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I LOVE IT i just got it today and i like the reaction from the ball and i got at least 12 strikes i recommend this ball i am a right handed bowler and averge about 150

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ttyler7996


Storm Furious Reviewed By: sappos 06/10/2009 12:06 ( stars)


 
This is my first review, so be kind!

I average 212 and have used the Hammer Widow line for the last 2 years. I was disappointed with the life span of the balls and so took a chance on the Storm Fast and Furious.
WHAT A GREAT DECISION!!!
I wanted something that would hook through heavy oil, which my Widow Bite was supposed to do and failed. I don't get a lot of hand in the ball so I need all the help I can get!
I had the Furious drilled just below the ring finger and the Fast just above. Here are my findings:
Furious over 2nd arrow had to move 7 boards left of Widow bite.
Fast over 2nd arrow only moved 1 board left of Widow pearl, but hit alot stronger into the pocket.
The layout of the pins were in the same regions on both sets of balls.
I have finally got want I want from a 3 ball setup for a great price, thank you Storm!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: tommygn-st 06/15/2009 12:43 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


 
I will be comparing the Furious to the Street Rod solid because it is it's replacement. The Furious looks like the Special Agent, while sharing the same cover. It has a grape sent with a 2000 box finish.

The SRS has the pin half in and half above my ring finger. The cg is kicked to strong position (halfway between ball track and VAL). The Furious shares the same drill angle, only with the pin below my ring, and a shorter pin to cg (2" pin out compared to a 3.5" pin). Both have the box finish of 2000 abralon, and both have a 3/4 balance hole on val (SRS on PAP, Furious 1" below PAP). Using my favorite release, I was able to get the SRS to the pocket playing 15 to 5 on a fresh house shot. The reaction was very close to my Fast (please see review of the fast compared to the Street Rod Pearl) even with the strong surface prep and drilling. The over all roll was about the same I only needed to move in one board. When rolling the Furious off this line, it hooked early and quit, yielding a seven ten split. Once I used the Furious for a few more frames, and got some oil on the cover, the Furious started to wake up and over hook. Obviously not the right ball to use on this line. After moving in 2 and 1, the Furious started to roll even better. It now had more oil up front, to get it to the breakpoint, and was coming off the spot very aggressively. The SRS would not read the fronts as well, and would dart and dive on me.
I then changed my release to increase the spin through the fronts, and moved another 2 and 1 right. The SRS would skid flip back to the pocket, with inconsistent carry. The Furious just rolled great with 10 back on every shot. now that I was in the most oil in the heads, the Furious was at home. It had a very hard "kick" at the breakpoint, with a great command of the front part of the lane. This is an unbelievable amount of hook at this price point. The Furious will handle more oil than the SRS, and will get through carrydown much easier.

The last thing I would like to mention about both the Fast and the Furious, is that they do not over or under read the fronts the way the reactor cover did on the Street Rods. The Street Rods where great for less thick oil , as well as less volumes of oil, but the Fast and the Furious will have more pattern coverage, and allow you to play in the same zone longer, because they are more predictable through the front part of the lane.
--------------------
Tommy Gollick
Storm Regional/Pro Shop staff
Red Crown Pro Shop Harrisburg, PA
stormbowling.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tommygn-st


Storm Furious Reviewed By: actsbowler21-st 06/16/2009 12:43 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
To be fair, I first used these balls at Colonial Lanes in Orlando, FL where I subbed in a Thursday night league. Colonial is a wood surface center where I have been having some trouble finding good reactions after the lanes break down. Also, the fresh house shot there can be rather tricky as they tend to play like they have not been oiled in days with a ton of friction just past the 15 ft mark.

FURIOUS: First let me say, I am big fan of the Grape fragrance. I wish I could just stock pile Furious and Rapid Fire balls in my office area at home so I could have that scent around there. Jokingly saying, the Furious has three features of two of my favorite bowling balls. A similar color scheme to that of the Special Agent, the same fragrance as the Rapid Fire, and the R2S Solid Reactive cover. This ball has to be good right?!?!? Darn Right it is!

LAYOUT: I used a 4 ¼ inch pin to PAP x 3 3/4 inch CG to PAP with no hole. I left the surface as is at 2000 abralon. Very close to the layout on my Special Agent.

REVIEW: Like I described the fresh shot of Colonial Lanes above, there’s a lot of friction up front. So I wanted to test the teeth on the FURIOUS. What I saw was very surprising. The ball cleared the front of the lane very clean. Much cleaner than my Rapid Fire or Special Agent when comparing the same cover stocks. The motion in the middle and back end was very even for me. Where my Special Agent has been wanting to give up on me and hit flat, the Furious charged hard for me through the pin deck. I really had to hit up on the ball to get over reaction out of it, which meant I had to go way outside of how I normally release the ball. So I don’t have to worry about that LOL..

--------------------
Justin Buford
Orlando, FL

2009 Storm Bowling Staff Member
Rich Gibson''s Pro Shop at Boardwalk Bowl Orlando, FL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: ididarod 06/18/2009 12:46 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a 72 year older that has bowled since the late 1950's, I have seen many changes. This ball was not advised for me since I bowl in the afternoon and like most bowling centers that are wondering why they are losing bowlers, they don't oil. If our USBC had any balls they would make sure that ALL sanctioned leagues received some oil. Anyway I got the ball and had to polish it up with the Track polish that I bought here. It really got the ball down the lane and gave me the reaction I was looking for. I had to hit it with 4000 abralon pad.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 05/18/2009 13:43 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I recently got to watch some guys from bowlingball.com shoot a video on the Storm Furious here last week and was very impressed with the reaction they got with it. It looks to be a great compliment to the Storm Fast. It will read the lane a little earlier and give you more mid lane hook in oilier conditions.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes ProShop
www.deltonalanesproshop.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Storm Furious Reviewed By: rboegh 03/17/2010 16:32 ( stars)


 
Stroker, 200 Avg (poor spare shooter), 18 MPH ball speed.

Purchased the Furious about month ago on recommendation from shop. I had not used it but for a few games in practice. Saw a smooth motion without a lot of over under, but did not put it into action. Last week I started set on THS with Ebonite Mission, was getting over under and leaving corner pins, shot 193 to start. Second game left swishing 7-10 in first and figured I had nothing to loose. Switch to Furious and ran off 19 in a row before leaving stone 9 in 9th of final game; 279, 268 in first action with ball. I will definately not be afraid to move to it in the future. Very nice ball that sets in the pocket hard!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rboegh


Storm Furious Reviewed By: Sayreville18 10/03/2009 01:25 ( stars)


 
I like this ball a lot and it has a very controlled reaction. But it still provides a very strong backend reaction. It reads the midlane great, but doesn't lack in the backend. I recommend it for medium lanes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sayreville18


Storm Furious Reviewed By: denny crane 07/12/2009 13:50 ( stars)


 
The Storm Furious is one hell of a ball at this price. It gets down the lane and stores its energy until it hits the back end. Revs like a maniac from the break point. I love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: Aeroup39 06/27/2009 00:06 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I dont know what anyone else was expecting from this ball, but what i got was not what i expected. Im an 18 year old collegiate bowler and i was looking for something to round out my lineup going to junior gold in a few weeks. I have about a 360 rev rate with between 17 and 19 mph speed and as soon as i got this ball i had a feeling it was gonna be to much. I put it pin above the ring finger with cg kicked out a little and no xtra hole. if you really get on this ball at the bottom it rolls really early and hooks way to much. the only thing that ive really been able to throw this on was the shark on my wensday night pba league. this ball is great for the really tight slick shots but besides that all its gonna do is sit in the bag

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Furious Reviewed By: stormN3rik-st 06/12/2009 12:44 ( stars)


 
With the Special Agent being one of my favorite balls behind the original agent, I was so excited to throw a street rod with a special agent cover. Please welcome, The Furious!!! I layed mine out exactly like my favorite special agent with a 4 3/4 by 4 with the pin above my bridge and a hole on my axis. My axis is 4 3/4, 1 up. This ball is extremely clean and very continuous in the mid lane. The lane condition I bowled on was a house shot and on Viper. Great compliment to the fast which is a lil longer and angular then the furious. The perfect 1-2 combo especially if you arent looking to spend an arm and a leg on new equipment which these balls will retail around the $140+ range. Storm has done it again with 2 more winners Bowl Up a Storm!
--------------------
Erik Ramos
PBA Storm Regional Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by stormN3rik-st


Read all 27 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter