Go to Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black »

Only show reviews for Dexter Men's SST 8
Only show reviews for Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.52Write a Review    Read all 81 reviews

I Love It
 
77% (62 of 81)
I Like It
 
11% (9 of 81)
It's Ok
 
5% (4 of 81)
I Don't Like It
 
2% (2 of 81)
I Hate It
 
5% (4 of 81)

Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 09/15/2008 14:20 ( stars)

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 
I upgraded from my Dexter SST 5 Comfort's to Dexter's new SST 8's. I have to say that these were the easiest shoes to break in that I've ever owned. Usually, you have to test out your new shoes and after a week or two you've got them broken in. I tried these on the first night of league and combined the S8 slide sole with the H2 Ultra Brakz Heel for my slide foot and they worked perfectly.

I also love the idea that Dexter has created a high performance shoe that is also universal. Now if I want to bowl left handed (I don't think that will happen soon, but who knows) I am ready! All I need to do is reverse the same soles that are included with the shoes and I'm good to go.

If you're in the market for new shoes, I would highly recommend that you consider this product from Dexter. Not only are these some of the most practical shoes ever created,they are comfortable and stylish to boot.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 08/29/2008 16:19 ( stars)

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 
It's been quite a few years since I have gotten some new shoes and thought it was time. I got a pair of Dexter SST 8's and I must say they are very comfortable. I used them on my first night of bowling without breaking them in and I had not issues at all.

I kept the S8 slide sole that was already on the show, but I did change the Heel from the H5 to the H7. I slide quite a bit and didn't like the drag that the thicker heel caused.

All the accessories that these shoes come with are quite nice. Shoe bags, extra soles and heels, shoe cover.

It's weird having shoes that you can take the heel and sole off and move them to the other shoe, turning them into left handed shoes and vice versa.

It's nice as a warehouse because we do not have to stock both left and right hand versions. And the customer doesn't have to worry about getting the wrong ones. What a great idea from Dexter.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 06/02/2010 12:47 ( stars)


 
The latest Dexter performance shoe is the SST 8. The SST 8 upgrades technology for competitive bowlers aiming that want to stay at the top of their game. Along with the interchangeable slide soles Dexter added interchangeable traction soles to give bowlers a choice for their push off foot. The SST 8 can be converted to a left handed or right handed shoe. This shoe is great for any bowler that travels to different centers to bowl because they allow to adjust for any approach condition.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: crunkified2009 03/14/2009 03:11 ( stars)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I just got these shoes about 3 days ago... THEY ARE AMAZING... they have so many different slide levels.. i can go from a stick slide to similar to socks!!! they are PERFECT.... I checked my local pro shop on the price of these shoes... he was gonna try to sell them to me for $215.00!!!! :O wowza so that compelled me to come onto here... where i only spent 147 with accesories!!! saved over 70 dollars!! THANK YOU bowlingball.com

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by crunkified2009


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: Sparksfly 03/16/2009 19:42 ( stars)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


 
I bought these about three months ago and yes they are comfortable and good looking shoes.I do have a problem with the traction sole peeling back from the front of the shoe bottom.I find that to be annoying and it seems the more it happens the less the sole stays in place.I would consider a different pair of SST model shoes.I am disappointed this is an issue.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: funE_man 07/13/2008 23:06 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
Great shoe, super comfortable and took absolutely no time to break in the leather. I love that this shoe is completely customizable allowing me to adjust not just my slide foot heel and toe, but also make adjustments to the plant foot as well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by funE_man


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: jbowling 12/13/2010 16:22 ( stars)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
I liked both pair I had until I snaped both pair in the same spot I emailed dexter with no response I will not buy another pair of them i will have to find another shoe company

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: wink0083 05/19/2009 15:24 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
After deciding that I needed to upgrade my shoes and that I wanted to have changeable soles for all the obvious reasons, I started doing the math on what comes with the different shoes. For changeable soles and heals, you are going to pay at least 65 dollars for a decent pair of shoes. But those shoes aren't going to come with many, if any, accesories. These shoes are not only leather, top of the line quality, comfortable, and good looking, but they also include a quality shoe cover and 9 changeable parts. Unless you already know that the shoes you are buying have the exact sole and heal that you want, at 12.95 a piece for new ones, it just doesn't make sense not to buy the top of the line product. Over 115 dollars worth of parts and the best shoes Dexter makes, what more could you want?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wink0083


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: ericdevin 07/02/2011 01:41 ( stars)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    172
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 x .25
 
Another review mentioned the same thing happening and my distributor rep (I run a pro shop) has told me likewise, so I know I'm not alone. These shoes snapped just behind where the removable sole ends. For a show that has its MSRP set well over $200, I'm really unhappy with this development. Dexter's warranty is only a year and I bought mine last February, only to have my shoes give out just now, RIGHT before Nationals. I already recommend Etonic's products over Dexter's at the entry level, as soon as I've had time to use Etonic's higher-end stuff, I'm sure that will be the same. A complete and utter disappointment. For the money, the shoes should hold up much better. I bowl perhaps 30 games a week, not a huge amount, but I only got 15 months out of them, not even 2000 games.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ericdevin


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: dirty dan 07/10/2009 18:22 ( stars)

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.


 
I purchased a pair of the sst8 and when I received them they had a strong chemical smell in the leather and I complained about it to dexter and they told me that it was normal but I know several people that have them and my pair was the only pair that smelled the way they do I sent them back to dexter and they sent them back and told me sorry it is what it is and live with it I left the shoes outside foe two weeks and they still stink Im not happy and dexter will not do anything about it I will never buy a dexter product again and you should be aware of buying this product . Dan Brainerd Mn

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dirty dan


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: hujunkoh 07/07/2010 13:27 ( stars)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
This Dexter-SST8 was my dream and saved money for a certain period to buy it.
Unfortunetely those sliding soles which were included don't fit for me...
S2 is still slippery on the approach to me. I couldn't stopped at the spot that I expected I slided longer and fell down several times on the league I took it off and gave up the rest of the games.....
I felt so sad... It was my dream...
I couldn't gurantee even S1 would be ok or not to me. So I ordered another sliding soles(buckskin) at other shop and I am waiting for them.
I don't know what I need now...


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hujunkoh


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: bownguyen 04/12/2010 14:55 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    199
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Best Shoes I Have Ever Owned!! About a year ago, after some consideration, I chose to purchase the Brunswick Classics over the Dexter SST 8. It was $30.00 cheaper and I believed they look better. That was a mistake. The Brunswick classics are much lower quality. The velcro started to warp and wouldnt hold on to the sole. The Dexter SST 8 is more comfortable, more stable, and the velcro is incredibly tacky. It is very hard to yank of the soles and heels, which is definately a plus. I would definately recommend the SST 8 to any serious bowler. If you bowl in different houses, you must have these shoes. The soles and heels are much higher quality. They are also very comfortable and do not take long at all to break in. Plus... bowlingball.com has the best prices on anything online.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bownguyen


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: BPistorio 01/25/2010 07:18 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Extreme
Style    Tweener
 
Excellent shoe for someone who bowls in multiple houses. Easy to change the heel/sole compination to adjust to different approaches. My only complaint would be that the rigid sole cracks just behind the velcro for the sloe pad (Where your foot flexs, the shoe does not). Lucky for me these were still under warrranty. Other than that I would buy these again, or wait and see how the SST 9 looks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: franklin 03/28/2009 10:20 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
All I can say is read the other reviews, THESE ARE GREAT SHOES and a must have for any serious bowlers.

The pricing on this site is insane, they must sell these as a lead item. The price is outstanding. My shop sells them for 219.95, come on, what kind of mark up are these guys working on considering there is no service. Bought them here for 129.95 the lowest on the net. Beware of other sites that try and match the price and then try and nail you with a handling fee.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by franklin


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: BowlingJunkie 12/30/2008 14:41 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    226
Sport Shot Average    208
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I purchased the SST7's about 18 months ago and on my first night of bowling the first time I tried on the shoes, I shot 824 - with the tags still on the shoes! I tend to wear out the push off foot toe and I like how both the SST8's and 7's have the extra protection there. I have only used the SST8's in practice a few times but they seem to be very stable on the synthetic surface I practiced on. They were a little stiffer / flatter than the SST7's out of the box and after a few games, they felt fine. I like the idea that you can replace both heels / souls. I wear out the push off foot and there is no way to practically replace that heel on other shoes. I ordered the size I normally wear and they fit like glove. BTW - I left the tags on the SST8s until after my first league set...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BowlingJunkie


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: bila 04/15/2011 08:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
 
So far, a great fit, 2 weeks and 30 games. I got good sizing advice from the chat operator. The shoes feel very stable, helps me out with my feet being kind of numb.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bila


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: ynot0502@yahoo.com 04/14/2011 17:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The shoes are comfortable and I've had no slide issues since switching to them. Still need to experiment with the other slide soles, but am very pleased thus far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: taysys 02/28/2011 10:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    194
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Stroker
 
Great shoes right out of the box. Had a pair of new shoes from another maker that I could not get used to for the higher profile. Got these which were comfortable and slid great right out the box. A good decision.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by taysys


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: Kyle C. 02/27/2011 00:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    208
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I like my sst8, it was kinda stiff when i first got them and had to get used to some soles. But after 2 days of bowling i broke them in and got comfy with the soles and heels i chose to put on and i love them. Any where i bowl where the approach is sticky ill just peel off the sole nd heel and stick on a new one and there you go, i get the slide i need. I highly recommend these shoes for bowlers who bowl in multiple bowling alleys for tournaments, leagues, etc. But the only thing is the strong chemical smell, after while its gonna smell bad when you bowl and you sweat. i suggest airing them out or putting something in there like foot powder to take out the smell. but other than that its a perfect shoe for people with experience.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kyle C.


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: wtshay@comcast.net 02/26/2011 16:30 ( stars)


 
I have always heard every game starts with a good foundation. These shoes deliver! I have always tried to use the best equipment, and these shoes deliver! Comfort and functionality all rolled into one. Way to go Dexter!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wtshay@comcast.net


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: motomech820@comcast.net 02/15/2011 13:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Just got these 2/14/2011 so my impression is based on out of the box. Very comfortable shoe. Initial stiffness of shoe goes away in less than one game. Wider foot platform definitely adds to balance and stability. Nice looking shoe. Would be nice if Dexter had a few more styles to pick from in the SST8 line. The shoe bags, shoe cover, accessory bag and variety of soles and heels only adds to the quality. The only reason for a 4 is that I have not had long term use with this shoe. As time marches on, I will be able to give a more in-depth review. The shoe definately demonstrates value for the dollar. This was my first purchase with Bowlingball.com. My shoes were delayed because of weather. They were very attentive to my need to know my shoe's location and delivery date and stayed on top of it. Because of that, I just ordered a new ball from them. These are good folks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by motomech820@comcast.net


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: Harlem 02/04/2011 05:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    170
Ball Speed    Fast
 
Great shoes. I've wanted these for a long time and because the price I finally got them.Break in was very easy and I only had to switch my slide foot pad to give me the slide I wanted. Great fit and very comfortable. If your thinking about buying them don't just buy them. Well worth the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Harlem


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: dkcook@tx.rr.com 01/26/2011 10:48 ( stars)


 
Great shoes. Used them on league night right out of the box and bowled a little over my 222 average. The additional sole/heel choices will give me the versatility and confidence to bowl on all different approaches. Delivery was prompt and the package is complete. I consider the shoe bags and protective shoe cover as added bonuses.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: edmann08@yahoo.com 01/21/2011 10:33 ( stars)


 
I am really satisfied with my shoes. Thank you for sending it in such a timely manner. I will be using this website a lot in the future, and letting others know how satisfied I was.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: Mayer54 01/20/2011 08:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    204
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I decided to upgrade my shoes after many years. I had the SST4s and liked them so I decided to go with the SST8s. I have probably bowled 30 games or so with them, and am not disappointed at all. There was zero break-in time, the shoes felt great right out of the box. They feel very stable and structurally sound. The only thing is getting used to which slide/heel pad combinations work best, but I like having the added options.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mayer54


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: markqts@juno.com 12/28/2010 10:56 ( stars)


 
Shoes fit great, I thought there would be a little diffeculty trying to get used to them but they were real nice right out of the box. I changed the slide foot to the #10 not a big slider but these give the slide I need to get to the line great shoe would recommend to a friend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: eddiegunz77@yahoo.com 12/21/2010 14:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Got these shoes about a week ago..And probably the best shoe I have bought to this day..The changeable heel and slide is great for any lane condition..especially if you slide with both feet or take full steps..I wore these for very little time and they seem to break in very easily and become comfortable real quick so if you can put up with a little break in time I dont think you will have a problem

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by eddiegunz77@yahoo.com


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: rag03 12/08/2010 17:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
 
Good looking shoe. Found the perfect combination of heels and slides that came with it which made it easy for me to use the shoe right away. I'll keep buying Dexter, have not had a problem yet!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: westtiger 12/02/2010 08:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Style    Tweener
 
i mean what more can i say the word dexter speaks for its self, they have no equal there simple the best bowling shoes in the universe' when im bowling i have to check now and again that i have them on there that comfortable .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by westtiger


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: mattocksb@gmail.com 11/12/2010 21:44 ( stars)


 
I've had many pair of dexter bowling shoes prior to the SST 8's and I'd say these are the best pair I've had. They offer good support and comfortable to wear. That said, they do run a little bigger though...I generally wear size 11.5, but had to get 11's in the SST 8's, so keep that in mind. Good purchase overall.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: jamespatrickkane@comcast.net 11/10/2010 02:53 ( stars)


 
This shoe allows me to replace the traction sole. That's important to me because I previously burnt out the push off sole on the SST4. Disappointing since the slide shoe of my SST'4s is better than new. SST8's will allow me to break in the slide shoe and replace traction soles when they wear down instead of buying brand new shoes. I sense that SST8's raise my feet further off the floor than my SST4's I find that a little awkward. I was disappointed that with the heel choices included the one that works best is a 5 yr old heel from my SST4's.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: mking0314@yahoo.com 11/05/2010 09:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Everything they say about them is true, great feel, the best thing i love is the fact that you can customize them by replacing sole or heel to adjust lane conditions or timing. Great buy!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: blazer6cyl 11/01/2010 11:58 ( stars)


 
great looking shoe,fit was ferfect,arrived on time, plus great price,cannot beat that. really great service!!Before i ordered shoes i have bought two bowlings balls and each time i had no problems,great place to do business!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: JDavidson1976@gmail.com 10/27/2010 07:28 ( stars)


 
Thank you for your prompt service. It's one of the fastest on the web! I'm very impressed. I am enjoying and benefiting from my recent order:
Dexter SST8 shoes.
Extremely well made; and the technology in this shoe is off the charts. I found your site from recommendations from my league:
Beacon Bowl, Naples, Fl.
Thanks again for a truly rewarding experience.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: Jerrrry 10/16/2010 12:02 ( stars)


 
Great shoes with a lot of different slide combinations you should have no problems getting the right slide with these shoes. It was a very easy shoe to break in only took a few frames and was ready to go.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: Walleye521 09/06/2010 21:37 ( stars)


 
Disappointed in the quality of the shoes. The sole pads do not stick to the velcro as well as on an older pair of SSTs that I bought a few years back.

I'm in the process of returning these shoes and hope the velcro is better on the second pair.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: DAZZ 06/22/2010 08:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    176.26
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I love the shoes. I finally have the perfect slide. It took some time to get the perfect combination, but once i found it i bowled 35 pins over my bowling average in league on Friday night.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DAZZ


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: KRF4 05/28/2010 20:45 ( stars)


 
Had to replace my 20 plus year old Dexter shoes and decided to buy top of the line for a change. Shoes fit just like the old ones, and even though they were stiffer than the "house slippers" I had, it only took less than one game to break them in. I started with the sole and heel combo from the factory and it worked great for me.

I would recommend these shoes to anyone as the fit, looks, and extras are great. I have never had shoe bags before.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: capi2lo 03/25/2010 06:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Amazing performance! / Didn't look like a $140 pair of shoes

Only complaint was that it did not look like a $140 shoe. Right out of the box, I looked at it and it looked like it was a little beaten up already. You can see where the sewing of the shoe ends, the rubber parts were rough, and it just didn't look like it was that great for $140. I would want to have my money's worth if I'm going to spend that much.

As for the performance of the shoe... IT'S GREAT!! It just needs a few practice sessions to break them in because it is super duper stiff. At first, you feel like you are walking flat footed. After that, they are incredible. My ball speed is a lot faster and feel more confident at the line.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: kmassig 02/21/2010 22:53 ( stars)


 
These shoes are great. they broke in real quick and are very comfortable. my balance has improved greatly by upgrading to the sst8 from my old etonics with only an interchangeab;e sole.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: camel2343@charter.net 05/08/2009 20:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Awesome shoe. Work great right out of the box. Worth every penny. Dont try to save money by buying a cheaper shoe. The Dexter SST 8 are a great looking shoe that works perfsctly

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: D-STRANG 03/12/2009 11:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
The Dexter SST8 is the first pair of Dexter shoes that I ever boutght. Before I had always bought the DynoRooz by Dynothane. The SST8 was more comfortable right out of the box than my other shoes were after breaking them in for a year.



I found that being able to change out the heels as well as the soles, let me find the perfect combination for my slide. I have to admit that I never thought changing the rubber sole on my push off foot would make a difference, boy was I wrong!



I won't ever buy another shoe that isn't a Dexter!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: juffaloluv 02/19/2009 16:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    223
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/4 up
 
These shoes are defitinaly the most comfortable bowling shoe ever they only took about one game to break them in. The only thing is the sizes do run a little big i recommend ordering a half size smaller than what you normally wear. Other than that they are amazing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by juffaloluv


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: Xcessive_Hook 01/07/2009 13:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right by 1/2 up
 
The SST8's were the first pair of shoes I've bought in a very long time, and I'm so glad I chose this particular pair. They are extremely comfortable and needed no break-in time.



They also look very cool to boot. I have to say the thing I love about them the most are the interchangable soles and heels. As a bowler who does not like to slide at all, I went with the T3/H2 combo. I have never felt more comfortable and stable at the line, which has helped me become more accurate in my shots. Great product!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Xcessive_Hook


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: futurepro07 01/01/2009 19:44 ( stars)


 
These shoes are AMAZING. I\'v never owned a pair of shoes that fit as good as these or are as comfortable. There are many different combinations of of soles & heels but I find that H5 standard & H5 blue heel arent as similar as they seem the blue heel is alot more versatile than the standard. Also the S6 is alot more consisitent on the length of your slide than the S8 is & the S10 doesnt slide as much as it says unless you use the red leather heel.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by futurepro07


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: brack45 05/03/2010 21:22 ( stars)


 
What can I say that hasn't been said already! Most comfortable and the best looking pair of shoes I have owned! They say you get what you pay for and these are the top of the line! I seen a lot of PBA professionals with this shoe and I wondered why? It has to be the versatility and then the comfort. On sticky or slick approaches...this shoe has an answer for it all!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brack45


Dexter Men's SST 8 Reviewed By: SteelWheel 03/04/2010 11:17 ( stars)


 
The fit, The feel, The quality are unmatched by any bowling shoe on the market today! While others have problems with sticking or sliping you quickly change soles or heels and problem solved,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: GrandpaKeggle 05/01/2012 18:24 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    211
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
These SST8's are very adaptive to different environments. I shuffle my first step (right handed 5 step delivery) just enough that I need a sole that will not grab the surface. So I use one of the higher traction soles on that still allows that 1st step to glide into the next step, but still allows me to push off without slipping. Works great for me. On the down side, for such an expensive pair of shoes, they are only as good and long lasting as the weakest link of the shoe -- which is the inner heal. The inside of the uppers, especially around the upper heal, will dry out and crack causing uncomfortable or painful spots. White bowlers tape is my temporary fix. Just sayin' ....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GrandpaKeggle


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: NusbaumDj 02/12/2012 16:35 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I have used Dexter for years. The last two pairs I purchased were sst8. I though they were great till about a year of use when the sole on my push off shoe snapped in two. I bowl 25 to 35 games a week which includes many tournaments. I spend a lot of money for what is supposed to be the best equipment. I will look else where for my shoes and would suggest that do the same. I have written dexter multiple time and have gotten no response. They don't seem to care about ther customer service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: cco107@hotmail.com 02/23/2011 08:04 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
These shoes are great! The #8 Pad works great for me as I don't like to slide all that much, but don't just walk up the approach and plant. The #10 Pad was like being on ice skates to me.

I would suggest wearing them around the house for a few hours before going to bowl in them, they were a little stiff for first few hours.

All in all the best bowling shoe i've ever worn. Bowling Ball.com's service was great, had them in 4 days in PA from CA.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: columbia all day 05/05/2012 19:56 ( stars)


 
Took about 5-6 games to break them in to my liking but once broke in they were easily the best shoes I've owned, really comfortable!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by columbia all day


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: Jack.Vander.Meulen 05/05/2012 11:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    203
 
These shoes are amazing! It took me a few throws to get used to but then you get comfortable with them. The balance is amazing and I love how they are customizable. Great job Dexter!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: zach@epochera.com 03/29/2012 21:50 ( stars)


 
I know it's cliche' of me to say I never write reviews until now, but it's true! These shoes are amazing. I used them on my bowling league night for the first time and no issuss at all. It took me a few frames to find out which heal/sole combinations worked best for me, but once I did, it was like I was a whole new bowler. The feel of them is amazing and the look is awesome, I got a lot of compliments on them also. Other reviewers said they were not true to size, I disagree. If you've ever worn a pair of dexter shoes before, stick to the same size. These shoes will work for you no matter what your skill level is because you can, in a sense customize them to your bowling style. They are very well made, and take no getting used to, in my opinion. I bowl on a league once a week year round, and I can see this pair lasting for a VERY long time. I hope I helped somebody make their decision, because the reviews on here helped me make mine. Thanks bowlingball.com! One more thing, if your concerned about the expensive price, you have to know, your paying for quality and longevity and these definitely fit the bill.
-Zach


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: chris020183@gmail.com 12/26/2011 22:27 ( stars)


 
Decent pair of shoes. Probably not worth the price. I didn't heed the warnings about toe drag, as I didn't even know I had toe drag. After the first 3 months or so, the right sole wouldn't stay velcro'd down. This was extremely distracting, but easily fixed with glue.

If you have any toe drag at all I'd suggest looking for a pair of shoes that doesn't have an interchangeable sole on the non slide shoe.

Wasn't too fond of needing to glue to fix a $150 pair of shoes.

NOTE: This was not the fault of BowlingBall.com. I have had nothing but positive experiences with them.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: mpt69696@att.net 12/13/2011 06:44 ( stars)


 
I love the fit and the looks of my new shoes. The timing of buying them couldn't have worked out any better. I'm a left hand bowler with a 225 average. I broke my left shoulder recently and was able to switch the soles and now I'm learning to bowl right handed and I didn't have to buy new shoes to do it. Thanks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: fsmith@usfood.com 11/15/2011 10:51 ( stars)


 
The best shoe that i have ever worn. Excellent base which helped with my balance. I recenttly lost over 100 pounds and needed to learn how to bowl with my new body. My balance was terrible and i was all over the place with my delivery. The SST8 really help with getting me on the balls of my feet which helped improved my delivery.

Was shooting in the 180s the last couple weeks I have been avg 208.

47yr Righty 190 avg


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: Buddlylee93 10/04/2011 09:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    184
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
I expected a great shoe. I recieved an amazing shoe. I used to wear an old hand-me-down pair of dexters, but they wore out. The Dexter Men's SST 8 didn't take long to break in. I had them two days before the league. I expected my average to drop a little; however, it only improved. Now I'm 'stylin and profilin'. I recommend these shoes to anyone who is an avid bowler like me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: cdgriffin88@gmail.com 09/30/2011 13:58 ( stars)


 
Great shoes. Being left handed, I really like how they're universal. Took a few nights to break them in, other than that, no complaints.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cdgriffin88@gmail.com


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: hungchuynh 09/13/2011 18:53 ( stars)


 
No need to mention the quality, you know how good it is when you choose this model for this price.

I highly recommend to purchase the $4.99 "Sure Fit Plan", it could be half or a full size larger depending on which shoes' brand you're comparing to. In my case, it's a full size larger and I'm very glad to have the "Sure Fit Plan" on this expensive shoes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: bjervone2003@yahoo.com 08/18/2011 21:37 ( stars)


 
Great Shoes and Fast Shipping

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: ruger686 04/30/2011 11:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    192
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Had these shoes for almost a year now and I love them. I actually don't know what I did before I had them. The interchangeable soles allow me to have the same slide no matter what the approach conditions are. And with the Dexter quality, these shoes are worth the money, for sure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ruger686


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: tranericn@gmail.com 04/04/2011 08:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    204
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Stiff at first wear but broke in nicely after a few days. Solidly built and seems (and hoping) that the shoes would last for a very long time. The price can't be beat as all the local shops carry them for quite a few $$ more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: nicolas.xavier08@wanadoo.fr 03/30/2011 14:17 ( stars)


 
Great shoe. Very affordable and comfortable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: kneedragger968@comcast.net 03/28/2011 21:29 ( stars)


 
Everything as advertised with these shoes. Very comfortable. Great deal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: pikemasterd98@aol.com 03/23/2011 15:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
 
The shoes that I recieved are way to stiff. I have worn them around my house now for a week and they are still stiff it is the first pair of dexters I really have not liked.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: skeetr@bellsouth.net 03/16/2011 09:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
 
First night I wore the SST8's they felt alittle stiff but still comfortable. With the variety of interchangable soles and heels there is not a problem with any approach condition. Well worth the investment. Doug S.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by skeetr@bellsouth.net


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: erhsrks@verizon.net 12/22/2010 18:03 ( stars)


 
Just used once so far.Seem to be a good replacement for my SST 6 shoes.They are comfortable and fit well.Look great also.I ordered tmen HALF a SIZE larger than my normal size since they only come in MEDIUM width and I usually buy my shoes in wide or extra wide width.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: Scooter83 12/20/2010 14:02 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I bought SST8s as a gift for my son,this is his 4th pair of Dexter shoes,and most certainly will not be his last..I recieved my order on time and everything was in order.....thanks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: tinkjj@msn.com 12/15/2010 13:22 ( stars)


 
I got these for a Christmas present for my husband. These were shipped very quickly and everything was included in the shipment that was advertised. My husband has been anxious to get new shoes. I know he will be happy with this choice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: Char82 11/10/2010 23:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" x 1/8" up
 
I received these not too long ago and after a few games to break them in I have found a new bowling shoe and I will never go to any other brand or show ever again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Char82


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: storm54321 08/23/2010 00:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    182
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This shoe was amazing when i first tried it on. It is able to easily get used to and is comfortable and lightweight as well. It is sure to fit any bowler's needs because it sure fit mine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: milt 07/04/2010 01:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    51/2
 
I am writing this review to let you know I am very happy with these shoes. I would tell other bowlers to buy them, they are that comfortable.I have foot issues and these shoes really do help my feet feel better.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by milt


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: AugieGK4life 03/14/2010 05:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 3/4 over, 7/8 up
 
This shoe, like many have said, is amazing. changed the front sole on my right foot to get the grip im used to and halfway through my first game using them i was back to my normal slide. Very comfortable shoe, i was using the sst1's before and this is a big upgrade and i found that they give me better balance too. I have only used them in one house right now so no need to change my sliding soles yet, but im sure when the time comes the extra soles will have what im looking for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AugieGK4life


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: NcOhS13 03/04/2010 23:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Very comfortable and easy to break in. I love how you can change soles/heels depending on approach conditions. These are definately top notch shoes. Thanks Dexter and bowlingball.com. Hint- carry something dull like a butter knife or letter opener. It makes changing the soles/heels a breeze without damaging the shoes as the velcro is the strongest ive ever encountered.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by NcOhS13


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 03/03/2010 15:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
The Dexter SST 8's are by far the best shoe I have seen released in some time. The adding of interchangeable soles on both shoes the on the best ideas Dexter has had. From a bowler standpoint it allows you to adjust every aspect of your approach from the slide to the power step. From a pro shop standpoint it allows me to stock one shoe for both left and right-handers which is very convenient. The bowlers I have here that use them say they are the most comfortable and versatile shoes they have ever owned.

Striking Advantage Pro Shop
Titusville FL
river@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: champsprint31@aol.com 01/05/2010 19:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    228
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Great item love the new style thanks.You can use ither slide foot if you like to bowl right and left awsome.great side as you like and adjust to your styl.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: Lee Burton 10/02/2009 00:43 ( stars)


 
I purchased these shoes 4 weeks ago and have found them to provide more support than any other shoe that I've owned. Dexter loaded the SST 8's with all of the features that an advanced bowler would want. I travel alot to bowl, and the versatility of the interchangeable soles is wonderful. You never know what the approach conditions are going to be. The combination of support and interchangeable soles provide stability and consistency during the slide. After bowling two games with SST 8's, I was able to forget about my footwork and concentrate on other aspects of my game.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: Sritzman 08/26/2009 13:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
these are the best shoes ever i used to have a pair of sst5 with only a couple interchangable heels and soles the sst8 are ALOT better and have more options and are more supportive

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: senior bowler 07/27/2010 08:57 ( stars)


 
Great comfortable bowling shoe. But recommend using the Dexter inch to size chart, not the international size conversion chart. The conversion chart was too big for my foot. I had to send back a size 10 for a 9 and a half. The inch to size chart while standing on a hard floor was the correct size for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senior bowler


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: senior bowler 07/27/2010 08:57 ( stars)


 
Great comfortable bowling shoe. But recommend using the Dexter inch to size chart, not the international size conversion chart. The conversion chart was too big for my foot. I had to send back a size 10 for a 9 and a half. The inch to size chart while standing on a hard floor was the correct size for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senior bowler


Dexter Men's SST 8 White/Black Reviewed By: eyenail1 01/10/2010 12:50 ( stars)


 
I would like to let anyone who is looking to purchase a pair of bowling shoes to look at the Dexter SST 8. They are the most comfortable bowling shoe I have ever worn. When I recieved my new sst 8, I made a few practice slides and they were a little sticky so I used the slide chart and changed out the soles. This is my second pair of Dexter shoes in 36 years of bowling.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 81 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter