Go to AMF 300 Mega Friction »

Only show reviews for AMF 300 Mega Friction

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.61Write a Review    Read all 18 reviews

I Love It
 
83% (15 of 18)
I Like It
 
6% (1 of 18)
It's Ok
 
6% (1 of 18)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 18)
I Hate It
 
6% (1 of 18)

AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: agostoh 03/17/2009 06:32 ( stars)

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


 
1st 300; Perfect Game. Sunday 03-15-09 at about 12pm at Habetler Bowl, NFL League Team Raiders, Chicago Illinois.
I'll admit the credit goes to the ball. As the description says, "it flat-out hooks, nothing more needs to be said." This ball is a monster. She's beautiful. I don't deserve her.
My stats: 2nd time in a league, decent bowler, 156avg, number of 200s, need serious work on picking up spares, especially being a right hander picking up the tenth pin, highest 248 (till the 300).
Second ball I ever purchased, first was an Ebonite Tornado. Almost went with the Ebonite Pearl One over this one. But this one's description sold me. Funny thing is I only got one game of practice with her, that morning. 2nd game using her was in league play, and we were horrible. We still needed to workout what was the best lane for me and her. After that... best bowling day ever. All I had to do was stay discipline with my hand/release and put her out there, she took care of the rest.
My friends were amazed and laughing throughtout the games. By the end people were coming up to me and asking me if that was a new ball, and what was her name (make & model). I couldn't stop raving about her. If the best ball out there is a model than mine is a supermodel.
Good luck and good bowling everyone.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: palford123183 05/07/2009 10:19 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Ball is exactly as advertised. I am a stroker with about a 15 MPH ball speed and this ball opened up the middle of the lane for me. It has great midlane recovery as it allows me to miss outside by a good 5 boards and still recover with enough oomph to kick out the corners. You do need to have a grasp of when to put the ball away though when the lanes start drying out as the angle can become too wide. I shot the first two games in my leagues last night with this ball and went 229, 248. 229 would have been higher but I was just getting a feel for the ball reaction. I would consider this ball a toned down version of the Virtual Gravity, which is exactly what I was looking for. Great ball by AMF/Global 900.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by palford123183


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: shogun348 03/20/2010 00:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    216
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I am a tweener and I have a ball speed of 15.5 mph with a lot of revs. I have used this ball for two league outings and I am highly impressed. My first night I shot a 682 series (could've been better, but 2 unbelieveable splits on solid hits in last game). The second night out I shot a 745 series (217, 250 and 278). They say this ball is a toned down version of the Virtual Gravity. Well, I have the VG and this ball hits just as hard and it has a strong continuation once it hits the breakpoint. When the ball hits the rack the pins stay low on the deck and the pin action is incredible. I never bowl with anything other than Storm and Roto Grip products. A friend of mine bought this ball, had it drilled up, but never used it. I bought it from him and all I had to do was change the span for my thumb. What a ball and it has found a place in my bag alongside the Virtual Gravity and Virtual Energy. The fourth ball in my arsenal is the Roto Grip Realm. If you buy this ball, you will not be disappointed. It hits like a truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by shogun348


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: mikeyk 03/01/2010 15:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I always loved the description of this ball and the WARNING label itself on the ball. I wanted to throw it real badly. One day i came across a deal of 4 of these bad boys for 260. Who would pass that up? I sold the other 3 to my friends and we all just love them. I needed a ball for heavier oil because i had bought a sauce for that and it just wasnt getting the job done at all. This ball moves right through it. Amazing. That stupid realist guy who said he hates it didnt even criticize the ball at all, only AMF. He probably doesnt even own one of these because you will not be disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikeyk


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: bnacki 10/21/2009 20:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Stroker
 
Left Handed -- Medium Speed -- Avg. 218 --Had the ball drilled with Max-Power ... Rolls nice then suddenly goes into this awesome roll like you have never seen before.. and when it hits, the pins stay low and mix well ... looks like a winner of a ball, so far extremely pleased!!! I was reluctant to purchase since it was AMF but it appears they are making a comeback in the right direction. Give the guy who engineered this ball a raise in pay cause he did his home work... The maker is Global900 and made in America ..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bnacki


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: cobrabubbles 07/18/2009 16:03 ( stars)


 
i was really excited when i ordered this ball... thinking it would hook a whole lot. when i recieved it i got it drilled... the next day i bowled with it and was highly disappointed.. it doesnt hook like it says it does. it rarely hooks good..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: Hit77 05/30/2009 18:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    186
Sport Shot Average    177
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 3/5
 
i have been throwing mid-range bowling balls all my life as i can see by the way this thing hooks

The hook on this thing literally is amazing even playing on a 42 foot house shot that i might usually hit a 570 on, on MAY 29 the AMF Mega Friction came out of the box in its box finish and i end up shooting 212,244,225 for my first series with this ball. Never have a i bought a ball and actually shot a great series like a 681 right out of box.. i throw the ball about 17mph crank style, and this ball just opens the entire lane .

I even threw a few shots 3rd game that i never practice on the extreme outside (5 board and 2mph harder than i normally shoot) of the lane and it still had enough forward roll and the AMAZING HOOK OF COURSE to Destroy the pins

over the last 3 months i'm starting to finally get some decent equipment and this along with the Original Cell i think finally give me some ball consistency as my average has been a 196 over these last 3 months

Get yourself a MEGA FRICTION you wont regret it


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: Chin Q 04/15/2009 21:54 ( stars)


 
Im a 120 pound 15 year old. That ball is absoultely perfect. Nice backend and perfect for heavy oil. Shot a 225, 248, 233 with a grand total of 706. I'm a heavy cranker and this ball fits me perfect(even though not much cranking is even needed).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: theprodigy300 04/12/2009 21:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    199
Sport Shot Average    189
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
this is a great ball like nothing ive seen in heavy oil realist has no idea what hes talking about 900 global is making the amf balls now and since they did amf has had great balls in the codes and now the mega friction this ball is a winner from amf/900 global

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by theprodigy300


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: pbf750 04/10/2009 00:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    201
Sport Shot Average    189
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I LOVE THIS BALL. I WAS STRUGGLING WITH MY GAME AND EVEN GETTING A 600 SERIES. SINCE I GOT THIS BALL I HAVE AVERAGE AT LEAST A 650 SERIES. I JUST BOWLED MY FIRST 280 GAME AND ENDED UP WITH A 697 SERIES. THIS BALL IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BY ME. I ALREADY GOT TWO OF MY TEAMMATES TO GET THIS BALL. THIS BALL IS SICK.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: snowball2k9 03/29/2009 00:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    197
Sport Shot Average    177
Ball Speed    Extreme
Style    Cranker
 
Wow...just wow... I am a definite cranker throwing around 400-500 revs at 19-20 mph, i get this ball on a fresh pattern and im playing wall to wall. The pins never know whats coming at them. First series i threw with it was a 640 then a 635 which are both slightly above average. But if your playing a sport shot or are just a stroker/tweener that needs a ball that can hook, this is the ball you want to buy, no exceptions.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: adrielb 02/27/2009 22:49 ( stars)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
WOW! I just got my Mega Friction drilled up, and I cant wait to unleash it. I am a tweener with medium ball speed. If you are looking for a ball that drives thru heavy oil, and make a smooth effortless drive to the pocket, this is the ball for you. I am usually a down and in bowling, but the Mega Friction allows me to play well inside. It is atleast 8 boards stronger than my Twisted Fury and 5 boards stronger that my Widow Pearl. If you see a Mega Friction on your lane, Beware and prepare yourself for a long night!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by adrielb


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: t11rex 02/26/2009 21:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    202
Sport Shot Average    201
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Seems to be a good ball for the money. This ball reacts well in heavy oil. When compared to my Hammer Sauce it seems to be more aggressive with a smoother angle into the pocket. Definetly a good ball for heavy oil. Will be using this ball at Nationals this year.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by t11rex


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: Kalineskorner 02/21/2009 14:41 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Just threw this ball today and its great. It dominates the oil and flips over nicely. I set the at 4 3/4 to give it a nice balance to turn over but not overeact. Think of this ball like the leverage but with more control and better carry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: BUCKFU 01/15/2010 10:43 ( stars)


 
First off, this is my first review so here it goes. I am a tweener with 15-16 on ball speed. 21-23 on spares.At first I was a bit disappointed in the ball but soon fell in love with it.It took a few throws to find the right target line. Once I found it the ball did the rest. It has a good turn at 37 ft. and keeps on digging. As was said in another review, you need to know when to put this ball away when the lanes start drying out. I found out the hard way. It will be my starting ball from now on but not the finishing ball. Overall a great ball from AMF, Thanks bowlingball.com

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BUCKFU


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 08/31/2009 19:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I recently drilled the AMF 300 Mega Friction ball for a customer who said he want a ball that would hook. Drilled with a 4 x 4 layout. Left it box finish. He went out and threw the ball on a fresh house shot. He was able to play 22 to 10 and the ball had a continuous hook that would not stop. As it say on the ball "Warning This Ball Hooks" is definitely true.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes Proshop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: jcist 07/02/2009 21:57 ( stars)


 
first off, let me tell you, you wont be disappointed with this ball. It very easy to control your hook. This ball has alot of potential and i absolutely love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


AMF 300 Mega Friction Reviewed By: realist_78 04/11/2009 15:07 ( stars)

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


 
As my user name that I chose says I am a realist. First the ball is nothing great at all. For those of you that don't know AMF doesn't make bowling balls never did, never will. AMF obviously can't even run a business, have you been inside an AMF run bowling center lately, OMG, I don't even want to try and explain, it is something though that all bowlers should witness. Watching our sport go down the tubes. BTW, there stock has gone from what $20 a share to .000001 a share, great job.

Why so much about the company, I will tell you why. I have to believe that a company that is having so many problems may have problems warranting your bowling ball if it needs it. Hammer went bankrupt twice and stuff thousands of loyal fans. AMF is much worse off, especially in this economy, than Hammer ever was.

BUYER BEWARE, plus it is not that good of a bowling ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 18 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter