Go to Storm Gravity Shift X Comp »

Only show reviews for Storm Gravity Shift

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.93Write a Review    Read all 30 reviews

I Love It
 
93% (28 of 30)
I Like It
 
7% (2 of 30)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 30)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 30)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 30)

Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 03/03/2008 12:05 ( stars)

175 of 175 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


The Gravity Shift offers the strongest ball reaction in the Shift series to date.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 5/8"
Mass Bias Position - 3" right of thumb
CG Placement - center of grip
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Box Finish (1500 grit polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This layout was intended to give me much needed skid through the heads and mid lane with a very angular motion on the back part of the lane. I have used this layout before on Storm Dual Density cores and it tends to roll very strong for me. The Cover/Core combo on the Gravity Shift looked perfect to try this layout again.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Exactly what I wanted. I do not know that this is really the best ball for me int he first game when the shot is fresh, but when they start to break down and I need to get in and know I can clear the heads smoothly and have the ball make a left from wherever I want this is it.

The ball motion is awesome, the first few times I threw it I was worried. Because of the darker coloring of this pearl cover, the ball looked like it was skating down the lane never to return from the right side. After I got more comfortable with this motion I knew it would come back from any part of the lane I wanted.

The last two weeks I have not thrown this ball until the start of the second game but from there on out I used nothing but the Gravity Shift. It compliments the Attitude Shift better then anything else I have thrown since I drilled my Attitude.

If you are looking for something for medium/medium-heavy oil lanes or something to get through the front and middle part of the lane and have
plenty of energy left for the backend the Storm Gravity Shift should be in your bag.

Bowl Up A Storm!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: jp9506 02/20/2008 11:26 ( stars)

24 of 24 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    208
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 11/16 x 1 1/4 Up
 
As a PBA member, I was fortunate to get a hold of one of these before their release date. Simply put, this ball flat out carries. The new core keeps the pins extremely low.
Here is what I experienced with this ball:
First off, I am a med-high rev, med speed player. My pap is 5 11/16 by 1 1/8 up with an axis-tilt of only 6 degrees.
What I was going for:
Since my main goal was to layout this ball for the PTQ in Columbus, OH (Viper), I put a 60 deg / 4.5" / 40 deg layout on it with a crater on the PAP to bring it to zero side weight. We wanted something a little more angular than the majority of my equipment (most of my stuff has a 90 deg drilling angle) with a stronger response to friction.
What I got:
Out of the box, this ball was extremely aggressive at the break point. I shot 248 with it my first game, which I only mention because I was setting the ball down around 26, rolling over 17 at the arrows, and banking off the 2 board at nearly 50 feet down the lane. The most impressive part was that even using that extreme line, I still had room to miss outside. After some consideration, I decided that Storm's 1500 polish was not the surface I wanted to use in Ohio. I sanded the ball with a 2000 Abralon pad and left it matte. The overall hook was similar maybe 1-2 boards more. However, the ball made its move slightly earlier and was much more controllable. For a normal house shot this is probably the ideal surface. I have since brought the ball up to 4000 Abralon to get some more of the angularity back. Also since we will be on wood lanes, with 30 min of practice, I think that 2000 will be too much surface.
Overall, this is by far the best release in the Shift Line at a time when Storm really needs a successful high end ball with the Shift and Attitude (mostly the Attitude) being flops.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: JayGord 04/09/2008 11:48 ( stars)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
GET THIS BALL!! I recieved my Gravity shift 4/7/08 and took it right to the pro shop to get drilled. My team had league play on 4/8/08 and I was running late from work to the lanes. I didn't get there in time to bowl in first 2 games but I was able to bowl the 3rd. We bowl a 5 vs 5 team league and needless to say by the third game the oil was pretty dried out. I came in cold with, warmups, no practice throws, nothing. Just did my stretches while they were bowling (i'm anchor so i got some time before my turn)and got up and bowled. The first 3 frames were rough, split all three and was thinking to myself, not sure if i like this ball. Frame 4&5 spared and frame 6 is when i finally had got zoned in and comfortable. 4 bagger striking in 6-7-8-9, spare strike in 10th. Well needless to say this ball is great. Finished with a 193 my first time using it with no practice. Took a game that look like it was going to be trash to a fairl decent game. Would highly recommend it to any bowler from novice to pro. After games were over me and my team stayed a few and threw more. I couldn't miss, even if i missed my mark 2-4 boards left or right. It would still manage to find the pocket and strike. I let some teammates throw it they were very impressed too and this was a ball drilled for my hand and style not thiers. So 5 stars from me and 5 from my 4 teammates for 25 stars. GO buy this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: blang4515 05/07/2008 21:09 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I recently purchased the Gravity shift at a Storm demo show in Chattanooga TN., and have since rolled my highest score ever(266). Never owning a pearl bowling ball, I did not know what to expect. I am a stroker(196 avg.), and own several other storm balls. None of them can compare to the "aggression" the Gravity brings to the lanes. To bowl with this ball, I had to quickly learned to move more inside, and use more hand. The Storm representative watched me bowl, and drilled my ball 3 x 5? The pin is a little out, and above the ring finger. The CG is a little further out and below, with a small weight hole out from that and up some(I hope this makes sense). The reason I wanted to give this review, is to let stroker bowlers know that this ball has to have hand, or you won't be able to control it. If your ready to take a step up, go for it! I did, and I can honestly see my avg. soaring 10-15 pins this summer, if not more. Great job Storm.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: jsmark 11/15/2008 13:52 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Had this drilled about a month ago. The late reaction on this ball is great. It reads the lane nicely. I rolled one game with it to just get the feel because this is really my first long ball. Not to bad. Rolled it the next week and shot 731, then another low 700 the following week. She doesn't overreact unless I really help her turn. A great ball all around ball. Will make a left turn late when the lanes are wet and not react heavily when they dry up. Thanks again to Storm .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: DCFrat 04/13/2008 18:21 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    196
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I'm a 42 year old bowler who until about 3 years ago just bought a ball I thought looked cool. I had a Ebonite Tornado and raised my avg to 194 so this year I did some research. I read the reviews on this ball (at the time there were only 3!) and thought yeah right like I am going to throw a 300 with this ball! I bought it 4 weeks ago and on Monday 4/7/08 I shot a 299! My highest game ever and every single shot was clean and in the pocket! This ball has given me loads of confidence. It is forgiving but you still have to do some of the work! Tempted to buy another one as a backup and have it drilled slightly different for alternate lane conditions! It finished so nice for me and several bowlers on my league are asking where to get one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: 27timma@gmail.com 02/13/2013 08:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The gravity shift is now a 5 year old ball, i received it months ago from my team's coach. I am a 15 year old bowler and i bowl on my high school team as anchor with a 80% fill and we just won our conference championship. I used this ball and it didn't let me down! The ball carries like no other and it takes 'em all down! Again i say its an old ball, i still choose it over most of the new balls! Thank you storm! I shot my highest game with this ball which was a 241 and my couch got a 300 with it, we both agree its an outstanding ball. All i wish was that i could have had it earlier!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 27timma@gmail.com


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: wyoming14 04/28/2009 16:44 ( stars)


 
My Gravity Shift is drilled 4 ½” x 4”. PAP is 5 1/4" x 1/4" up. This provides me with a late, yet strong motion. It is one of the best at getting through the fronts and mid lane no matter what the condition. I have thrown it on fresh patterns and some that have had 30 games on them. Works best on short to medium fresh patterns. This ball seems to have a way to the pocket on some tough patterns. I left it in box finish and it rolls great. I have also polished it, which delays the hook but keeps the ball from over hooking. Very forgiving, very powerful, enough said.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wyoming14


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: copley321 03/20/2009 10:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
 
Profile:
Age - 53
Average - 201
Style - Tweener/Stroker
Ball Speed - medium
Hand - Right

When my El Nino Gold incurred lane damage 6 weeks ago my bowling went into a funk. The ball lost 5 - 7 boards of hook and constantly left 10 pins and pocket 7-10's. I had the ball dulled, polished, and even replaced the grips with no sustainable success. When I saw others rolling high scores with the virtual gravity and gravity shift I knew it was time to retire my 9 year old ball.

In studying the layouts, ball reactions and recommendations of both the Virtual Gravity and the Gravity Shift I was a little perplexed that bowlingball.com rated the hook potential of the Virtual Gravity higher than the Gravity Shift, while the Storm website shows that the hook patterns on the lanes for my style indicate that the Virtual Gravity being rolled down the 2nd arrow, while the Gravity Shift shows my style playing 3rd arrow and swinging it out to the 5 board. Doesn't that imply that the Gravity shift (with a slightly lower hook rating) hooks more since it recommends that a bowler starting farther left?
Nonetheless, I chose the Gravity shift based on the words of another bowler, mirrored in some of the reviews on this site. "This ball carries the corners!".

I asked Chris at Perfect Fit Pro shop which layout he recommended to better carry the corners and chose layout #2 (which has the pin to the right and slightly above the ring finger and the mass bias to the right of the thumb).

I play 2nd arrow 98% of the time, occasionally 1st arrow, and rarely play 3rd arrow.
Remembering the lane hook patterns on Storm's website I started by playing 3rd arrow..... Wow! 288 the first game right out of the box!!

Second game I played 2nd arrow.... 202 with a couple of shots right through the head pin. I had to throw it hard without much lift to avoid splits and didn't seem to carry the corners as well.
Third day I had the ball I'm still moving back and forth between 2nd and 3rd arrow to see which line has the most consistent results. The final game of our league I go back to 3rd arrow and shoot 299 (tried to be too careful on the 12th shot).

Granted I've had the ball for less than a week, but how can you argue with results like 288, 245, 257, 242, 236 and 299??

I also use Morich balls, which are drilled for a more continuous arc, so the Gravity Shift is a great complement to what I have and is the first one out of my bag.

Ahh, the memories of my El Nino....
Oooh, the potential of the Gravity Shift ......


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: rcquaint 03/15/2009 20:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
 
This ball is great. I got it at the begining of the year and it has not let me down. My highest ave. prior to this year was 219. This year I am ave. 231 on one league and 226 on another. Great reaction with great carry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rcquaint


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: toole man 02/12/2009 09:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
all i have to say about this ball is WOW! i drilled this ball to hook late and it really does! right out of the box, i shot 738! my best series by over 100 pins. it hits like a truck, and pins fly everywhere! Congratulations Storm, on another winner

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by toole man


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: Collin Howe 01/31/2009 22:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This ball is a great ball, but only when the conditions match up to the layout. IT WILL NOT CARRY IF IT DOESN'T MATCH UP TO THE CONDITIONS!!!!! please do not use as a go to ball, I tried, it does not work. But, you must realize that this ball can score big if used properly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Collin Howe


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: ilikebowling 01/02/2009 22:47 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball = amazing. First storm ball I ever got, and won't be the last. First game shot a 277, not quite sure what the series was though. I look forward to more high games with this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: ravensark 03/24/2008 18:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    217
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is by far the best ball in the game today. It has more backend than any ball I have ever thrown. The carry on this ball is fantastic. The core keeps the pins low. Guaranteed to make any player bowl better. I have only had this ball for two days and I have already shot 300 with it....Not too many ten pins with this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ravensark


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: coolromeo10 03/03/2008 22:56 ( stars)


 
This ball is flat out amazing. I am a med-high rev player with a med ball speed and I normally bowl on a 40 foot med- heavy oil house shot, and I tell you what this ball can hook and not only that but it has a very strong arc motion and it hits the pins like a freight train and carries the corner pins with no problem, in 7 games I've only left 2 solid ten pins. It also gives you so much error room it's almost unbelievable, to the left and to the right. I've only bowled 7 games with this ball and it is already my favorite ball ever, and I have many bowling balls. I would recommend this ball to anyone, and always remember, bowl up a STORM!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by coolromeo10


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: yahtn 02/19/2008 23:24 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Decent Ball. I play primarily on heavy oil house conditions. This ball holds it's line very well when playing the inside line, but had some trouble with it staying outside if you went beyond the 10th board. My only real complaint with this ball is the relative lack of pin action. I have been using a Brunswick Strike Zone, and there is a noticeable difference in pin action. I used to be able to get away with light hits, but no more. I left more 7 and 8 pins in my first 3 games than I usually have in a month.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: Former Hammer User 03/13/2008 01:48 ( stars)

53 of 53 people found this review helpful.


 
Got the ball from bowlingball.com because of their recommendations. Bowlingball.com has great email support, they spent a ton of time with me recommending balls and layouts, much more than my local prima dona pro shop jerk. Yeah, I don't get along with him, not many do. Anyway they recommended this and a gutsy layout, LOVE it, did such a great job that I ordered three more different bowling balls. I really did not want to go with Storm due to some bad past experiences with some of the now important people but they convinced me to go with the ball and think of myself. Glad I listened to them, great ball. They always gave a great plug for someone name Steve at Storm, wouldn't give last name, but I am one happy customer and am now a Storm customer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: AvgJoe37 03/19/2008 08:23 ( stars)

41 of 41 people found this review helpful.


 
I don't usually write reviews, but I felt I would be doing this ball injustice if I did not. I usually throw Hammer and Ebonite equipment, but I decided to try out a new company and give Storm a chance. Wow, I didn't know what I was missing. After throwing this ball for about a month now, it's just gotten better and better. I also had a Black Widow Bite which was nice, but it cracked in half on me! I'm glad I bought it through bowlingball.com though, they took care of the problem and treated me like I was the only customer on Earth. Back to this ball - I've never thrown a ball that gives me this kind of ball motion. I am 37 years old and I can't remember a ball that was so forgiving when I missed my target. If you are looking for a ball to improve your game, I would highly recommend you trying this out. If you haven't tried Storm before like me, then I think you are missing out on some good products. I think I'm going to try an Attitude Shift next.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: when will it happen 04/01/2008 09:59 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball puts Storm back in the lime light. They had been hiding. This ball is unbelievable. Very impressed, drilled it stacked leverage and have found that I can use this on just about any condition. Thanks, great ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: bigtimebowler316 02/27/2008 17:23 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball is terrific I have the other 2 Shifts and this ball is the best of the bunch. The gravity shift flat out hooks the ball gives you some error room so you don't have to throw the ball perfect every time. I have thrown the Black Widow Bite and the Complete NV and the ball hooks just as much and is more controlling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bigtimebowler316


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 05/28/2008 17:57 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
Got my Gravity shift about 3 months ago. What can i say i just love this ball. It is the 1st ball out of my ball. Had it drill with 4.5 x 3 (pap is 4 1/2 over and 1/2 up). This ball gets threw the heads very well great mid lane read an a lot of back end. I able to use this ball on a variety of lane conditions. I would recommend this ball to anybody no matter what style you have.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: optimus 03/22/2008 21:20 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I bought this ball based on the bowlingball.com reviews. I am glad I did. Not much of a bowler, I currently average 181, but thanks to Storm, bowlingball.com, and, OH yes, lots of practice I really believe that I will be averaging 10 pins higher this summer and pushing deuce this coming season. Very pleased with the smooth rolling ball and the carry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: younger brothers 04/12/2009 09:01 ( stars)


 
I got this ball last Monday and had it drilled that afternoon. I went out and practiced three games and shot 801, I thought WOW that's great but I wish I would have saved that for the league tonight. In league I some how managed to up it a few pins. I shot 808 with two stone 8 pins. I am more than happy with this baby, it hits like a truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by younger brothers


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: peter agrippa 03/25/2008 22:37 ( stars)


 
The Gravity Shift is currently the only high performance ball that I own. I have a Black Widow and an Ultra Zone. After doing some research I thought I would give it a go. This ball is really clean through the front and midlanes and has a nice smooth arc on the backend. It has the same look as my Widow but works better on fresh oil. Overall, highly recommend, very satisfied.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: average joe 03/23/2008 16:23 ( stars)


 
I was surfing bowlingball.com checking out all their cool articles and this ball caught my eye. After reading the reviews and emailing bowlingball.com 4 times with questions, all of which were answered almost immediately, very impressive. I decided to take the plunge. Glad I did, a great ball with a great carry. Thanks Storm and BowlingBall.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: storminNorman 03/11/2008 11:19 ( stars)


 
Absolutely outstanding, this is the most reactive ball that Storm has put out in years. This ball is a winner and really kicks on the backend. Along with my Cell I have an arsenal that has raised my average 21 pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by storminNorman


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: KarisMomBowls 03/27/2008 10:23 ( stars)


 
This is my first new ball since the old Danger Zone. My daughter and I found it sitting in the garage last month and we decided I needed a new bowling ball. Talking with the knowledgeable staff at bowlingball.com, they recommended a few choices that they thought I might like. I went ahead and choose the Gravity Shift because of their recommendations, and my husband agreed to buy it for me :-) I must say that I am really pleased with how this ball rolls. It seems like I carry better throwing this ball when compared to my old Zone. Thank you for all your help bowlingball.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: handyman tim 03/26/2008 17:14 ( stars)


 
A very pleased customer. The service was outstanding. The ball is much more than I was expecting. I usually have trouble going into the second and third games when I have to move a little deeper, I start to lose my carry, not with this ball. I have bowled 34 pins over my average since I got this ball drilled.
Also, thanks bowlingball.com for your Pro Shop Locator, I took the ball to my local pro shop and when he found out I got it off the internet suddenly the ball became a second and he said he could not drill it because it had too much top weight. I became a bit suspicious so I went hope and found an internet friendly pro shop in my area on bowlingball.com. I took it to them, surprise, nothing was wrong at all. They drilled it and got themselves a new customer, I love the fit and the reaction.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: jenny c 03/11/2008 01:44 ( stars)


 
Outstanding ball, great carry, great read to the ball. Love it, love it, love it. One of the best investments I have made this season, average is already up by 12 pins since I got the ball at Christmas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Gravity Shift Reviewed By: stormbowler758 02/23/2008 22:50 ( stars)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
The Storm Gravity Shift is the best ball I have ever thrown, the first game out of the box was a 300 and then the next two games were 268 and a 277 for a 845 series. I am 15 years old and I am going to buy 20 of these so they will last me. The best ball ever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by stormbowler758


Read all 30 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter