Go to Ebonite NVD »

Only show reviews for Ebonite NVD

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.65Write a Review    Read all 46 reviews

I Love It
 
80% (37 of 46)
I Like It
 
13% (6 of 46)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 46)
I Don't Like It
 
4% (2 of 46)
I Hate It
 
2% (1 of 46)

Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 08/29/2008 14:41 ( stars)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge



I drilled up the Ebonite NVD for our first night of league.
Last season I ended the year at a 181 average.

I put the pin just under my ring finger and the Mass Bias 3 inches right of the center line.

I was highly impressed with the overall roll of this ball. It was very smooth, yet had a very strong hook. I threw a really bad shot and opened in the 10th frame and I still ended the game with a 232.

I averaged 207 for the night which is way up from my 181 last season. I am very pleased with this bowling ball's reaction.

Read more at Bowling First Night of League on JohnCongdon.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 09/14/2008 11:12 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
we have a ebonite nvd with switch grip drilledat 4 1/2 span so that our customers can rollthe ball before they purchase we drilled pinover ring finger mass bias 45 degrre. our firstcustomer that rolled it purchased the ebonite nvdall of us in the shop agree nvd is the strongestebonte ball we have rolled if you need a ball forheavy oil and rolls hard in the back ends thisis the ball for you.


micheal seymour ormond pro shop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 09/09/2008 14:08 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
A very strong early revving ball that handles the higher volume patterns. Even though it strats to read the lane earlier than the other NV balls it still continues to drive through the pocket. Anyone in need of a heavy oil ball should try this one out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: bowlingfanatic28 08/24/2008 18:58 ( stars)

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I had the NVS and definitely disliked it. I wanted to give the NVD a chance at Demo Day. The NVD is very similar to the NVS. It didn't hit hard in the pocket at all. It seemed a bit weak at the backend even though it is stronger than NVS was. I wouldn't recommend this ball for people who disliked the NVS.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingfanatic28


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Ldawn318 08/13/2008 22:49 ( stars)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" over and 3/4" up
 
I just bought this ball today and it is sick. It is actually to much ball for any house shot almost unless you can stroke the ball, but if your a power player, you should not throw this ball on house shots. It would be better on sport shots. But overall i love the ball so far, even though I only bowled one game with it, I don't want it to all burn up before all of my big tournaments. I will hopefully be uploading some videos of me bowling with it on Youtube. Just search LD Dawn bowling and I would have a video up as soon as I find my charger for the camera.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ldawn318


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: AsianBowler15 01/02/2009 15:16 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    141
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is ok but when you drill it for dry lanes it will hook to much or it won't hook at all but if you get it drilled the right way in will hit the pins hard. This is a good ball and should be rolled for people for all skill levels.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AsianBowler15


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: h23vtec 04/28/2009 05:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
absolutely love this ball. bought one new off ebay cheap, got it drilled strong and threw my first 2 games today.

233 and 234 out of the box. i was playing lines i never even thought i could play. very comparable to my sauce but seems to have MORE HOOK. its amazing. hits like a truck too.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by h23vtec


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: troym72 03/19/2009 16:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    227
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I currently have 12 balls in my aresenal covering almost every manufacturer out there. The NVD was the first Ebonit Ball I have ever owned. The ball was by far my best performing ball for the first 60 games. The first 3 weeks I had the ball I bowled six 270+ games. Right now, the NVD is sitting my garage. After about 60 games the ball just stopped working. It still hooks, don't get me wrong, but its not the same ball I purchased AT ALL.

My pro shop operator told me it has abosorbed too much oil and I need to let him "Hook again" the ball for a small fee of $30. Okay, I'm not a big fan of having to spend $30 every 60 games to keep a ball working. I clean my equipment every time I bowl and apparently this ball still soaked up enough oil to kill the backend reaction in under 100 games?

I have a Twisted Fury Pearl with probably 200 games on it which has never changed characteristics since day 1.

If you don't mind buying a new NVD every 60 games or spending the money to use Ebonite's "Hook again" every time the ball gets sluggish, this ball is for you. For me, I prefer a ball that is going to last longer.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by troym72


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: lilmomo 03/10/2009 20:10 ( stars)


 
I GOT ONE OF THE NVD;S AND I LOVE THIS BALL FOR BOWLING 9 GAMES WITH IT MY AVG WENT UP 15 PINS SO IF YOU WONT A GOOD BALL GET ONE IN SEE FOR YOUR SELF

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: shawnboy07 02/13/2009 23:21 ( stars)


 
I purchased this ball because I needed something for heavier oil conditions. I usually throw an Ebonite The One, and average a 145 with it. I purchased this ball, and rolled a few games with it.

Game 1--216

Game 2--224

Game 3--219

This ball has an amazing back end to it. This ball is great for people who throw faster, and have a medium rev rate. This ball does all the work for you. I have never missed the pocket with this ball. It is a very forgiving ball for how reactive it is. For heavier oiled lanes, you have to throw a little slower than on medium lanes...obviously. I don't know what else to say really. I mean this ball is definitely better than the One. Just buy it....trust me.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: racenhotrods 02/12/2009 20:02 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    201
Ball Speed    Fast
 
One word can describe this ball. WOW!!! I cannot believe the amount of hook this ball has.. Hooks like 7 or 8 boards more than my Hammer Sauce.. And about 20 or 30 more boards than my Columbia Resurgence. THe NVD can only be used on heavy oilor freshly oiled patterns. ANything else its nearly impossible to throw.. A++ Ebonite!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by racenhotrods


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Mr.Ebonite 12/31/2008 16:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    207
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Good averall ball. Strong roll. Great backend. But when all beomes dry and this is the only ball you have, kiss all scores good bye. With my high revs and medium to fast speeds i cant harldy rely on the ball everytime. I do like it and when im on about 42 feet of oil she comes rolling out, otherwise stays in the bag. My dad now throws her the most of the time. he cant stand hardly he wants to sell it, dont think that gonna happen. I have a tournamnet coming up on about 42 ft of oil, i will be rolling her then!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mr.Ebonite


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: futurepro07 12/30/2008 17:00 ( stars)


 
When I first got it drilled it was drilled aggressive but still didn't hook as much as my black widow that was sanded 500 so I got it sanded 500 twice and it really hooks great especially for me since I have a really low rev rate and speed of about 16 m/h

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by futurepro07


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: pbapro 12/14/2008 18:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    235
Sport Shot Average    188
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
PAP    5
 
i got the nvd this week and loving the ball evertime i use it from the pro james roberts jr,i have the ball drilled like tommy jones way execpt on the left side of the ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pbapro


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Bhamm 11/20/2008 16:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    231
Sport Shot Average    194
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I average 220 on a fresh house shot, higher speed 18-19, med rev. rate. This ball works great in the oil, but be careful as they start to break down. There is no warning when you need to make the minor move with the feet as the oil starts to go away. With most balls you can tell when you start to go high, and you can begin to adjust. But this ball all of the sudden goes on the nose, and you have to play catch up. Over all is a good ball, but I have had more splits in the last month with this ball than any others I own. This one will be going on ebay.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: theprodigy300 11/15/2008 16:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    199
Sport Shot Average    189
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
just bought this ball about an hour ago and bowled about six games with it. my first three scores were pretty low as i was getting used to throwing my first non perilized ball. but once i figured it out my last three games were 204 220 206 which are pretty good scores for me since i average 185. it hooks a little early for me because of my slow ball speed so i think ill polish it up and see if i can get it to go longer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by theprodigy300


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: webejr04 11/01/2008 23:01 ( stars)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    202
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
here is more that just my 2 cents on this one its a must read...dont waste money on this piece of garbage ball....Ebonite made a mistake producing this ball what a waste of time i mean seriously i cant believe that they would tweak the core again after what had happened with the dibocole of the nvs...Ebonite also changed the coverstock for this one and reads the lane just as similar to the nvs that i have ever seen they are basically the same ball with a different surface and color how dumb. I also cant believe that they would consider bringing this ball out considering the notion that they were producing the striking motion which is another peace of garbage(that one looks like it came out of a 1970's garbage can....so to sum this up I vote the "NVD" as 2008's worst ball of the year.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by webejr04


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: killa 10/19/2008 14:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    195
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
i got this ball at a auction. i have 3 other complete nv's and i loved all them. i have been wanting to get a nvd and then i got one and i got it drilled when i did a thing at my biowling alley where we got to bowl with teh pros. i love throwning this ball it looks great going down the lane and it has a ton of backend. over all i love this ball and i think then have hit it out of the park this time

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by killa


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: hric7301 08/20/2008 21:24 ( stars)


 
I bowled the highest game i ever bowled first night i threw this ball which was 265. The ball will come back no matter where you throw it which i guess means its forgiving. Hits the pocket hard and dosent slow down before it gets there. I have to say it is a fantastic ball and i am glad i bought it. You should get one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hric7301


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: gimle 10/12/2008 11:39 ( stars)

51 of 51 people found this review helpful.


 
I bought 2 NVD's, first one has a 2 inch pin, this one I drilled it with pin below my bridge, MB 2 inches away fron thumb. Left in box surface. Did not like it, low flare but strong cover. Because I had another one ordered with a 3.0" pin, I redrilled the first one and move the pin to the right, below the ring finger, much better reaction for oilier conditions, used it once on more oil and work just great. The second NVD, with a 3.0 pin, drilled it with pin over ring finger. At first could not use it in my house, they change they oil pattern. But lately they change it again and has more oil. Still cover is to strong for the condition, so I hit it with Abralon 2000 and then polished it. Too smooth on the lane, didn't like it, went to the proshop again and give it a 4000 Abralon. Ladies and gentlemen, this ball is unreal. Has a strong backend but it doesn't overreact. It just turns to the pocket with power. Carry is great, I have my inserts color yellow, so when I am not release it correctly I know it, ten pins show up. So I correct my hand position and problem solved. Some friends had already told me that they will get one. There are some very good balls in the market, but this one has to be in the top five, this one is as strong and versatile as you can get.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gimle


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Shawn Ryan 09/09/2008 12:47 ( stars)

45 of 45 people found this review helpful.


 
The NVD is the most hooking ball in the NV line. The NVD is about 5 or 6 feet sooner than the Complete NV and more overall hook. It is smoother rolling than the Complete NV so it makes a great compliment to use on the fresh oil conditions when the Complete NV goes a little too long. The only downside to this ball is that it needs a lot of oil, so when the oil starts to disappear it needs to go back in the bag. If you are looking for a ball to use on fresh oil this is the ball to have.



Shawn Ryan

2005 Jr. Team USA Member

Manager

Striking Advantage Pro Shop

River Lanes

Titusville, Florida



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: hellaof 08/22/2008 01:41 ( stars)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


 
All I can say is WOW!! I don't know what the drill is because I bought this ball of Ebay. The pin is @ 1 o'clock. I think it is drilled for med-higher speed with sharp breakpoint according to the drills on morichbowling.com. I have thrown them all over the years. I currently throw Ebonite and Roto Grip. I bought this ball for 25.00 and luckily I don't have to plug and drill it. I started out throwing 10-5 and moved a little left and threw 20-8 and this is without a doubt the smoothest rolling ball I have ever thrown. The guys I bowl who I have bowled with for years even commented about how smooth the ball rolled. I bowled on synthetic lanes tonight. I started out with 190 and then went 234 and 258 for a 682. The last game was a fast 8 and 7 pin. If all Ebonite products are like this then they are doing something special there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: comstockgg66 10/17/2008 09:38 ( stars)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


 
Initially, for me this ball was great. I have a fair amount of hand and I get pretty good roll. I drilled it 4x4. First game out of the box I shot 279 with the ball. I went on a 7 day tear with games of 263, 278 on Monday, 296 (please, don't even ask) on Tuesday, and rounded out the week with 290 on Saturday. Needless to say, I cleared a little bit of pocket change that week. I cleaned and polished the ball after league after league that Saturday and it's been downhill from there. I still shot good score, posting a lot of 240's and 250's, but that something extra the ball had intially wass gone. This ball sent messengers like no other piece I'd ever thrown. Now I get the occasional flat 10 on a shot that would have carried before I touched the surface. It's kind of the reason I'm not big on proactives and all other balls with mica, PET flakes, or some other type of additive. It seems once you alter the surface, even just polishing, you get a different ball. Overall, this ball is a great addition to your arsenal, and if you like what you've got out the box use Track polish to keep it like that.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 09/25/2008 14:06 ( stars)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
Just drilled Ebonite NVD for a customer. This ball really hooks a ton ( even for this bowler who throws a fullroller). The Ebonite NVD read the mid lane very well and gave him strong backend. I would recommend this ball to anyone who looking for a ball for medium to heavy oil lane conditions.



Lenny Biondi jr



Deltona Lanes ProShop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Fat3Cat 08/09/2008 16:26 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
I've been waiting all summer long for this ball to come out. Once I got mine drilled and threw it a few times, the ball lived up to the hype. I roll around the 2nd arrow, pretty firm with it and not too much wrist action so I need a ball that's going to work for me. I find that this ball rolls the best on the medium oil conditions. I'm still trying to learn how to bowl on the tighter lane conditions. I love the power I get when it hits the pocket though, no deflection at all! Just what you'd expect from a high performance Ebonite ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: TotalObiOne 08/11/2008 06:22 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Ebonite sure has a winner here. I have the Total NV, a Gamebreaker, and a Playmaker in my arsenal. This ball is my heavy oil ball while my Playmaker rolls good on just about everything. The NVD gives me a consistent reaction that really hits the pins hard. Off the breakpoint it is much stronger than I had expected, but you will not be disappointed with the power. Tommy Jones should win like 5 events this year with this ball, it wont even be fair!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: rowell88 10/27/2008 02:45 ( stars)


 
Just bought NVD last nyt to replace my CNV and never seen a ball hit with this much power and cover as many boards great choice....... This ball hooks well and backend action is AWESOME!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rowell88


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: yellowfever 10/26/2008 12:05 ( stars)


 
I would give this ball 6 stars if I could very hard hitting. I only buy a ball every other year so I took my time, tested a few and did my research. After a demo day I was convinced this was the ball for me. Smooth roll and a control hook has allowed me to add 11 pins to my average. And that is after being at 208 for 6 years straight.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: stamosliving 10/17/2008 11:33 ( stars)


 
I bought the NVD cause i need something for oilerr lanes this ball is very good on oily lanes it makes a nice move to the pocket not very big but just enough i like that this ball hits very hard and at the same time when i have a light hit i get increadable pic action and awesome
bowler stats
lefty
tweener
250-300rpm
years bowling 9
ave about 200
ball speed between 16-18mph

ball stats
cg centerd between fingers
pin about 2 inches down from ring finger
no weight hole
16lbs
drilled for dryer lanes

i think this ball is a good ball for most bowlers because it gives u some room for error which is good this ball also does not work well on oil it does not drive very hard and i tended to leave 5 and 9s when i cam in contact with heavy oil over all i give this ball an 5


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: stephen fennel 10/17/2008 01:37 ( stars)


 
On this ball, the pin is out 3 1/2in. and it is drilled stacked leverage, with the pin at 2 o'clock, and a balance hole 6in from PAP. My ball speed is 17-19 mph, with more than average revs(14-17). I was throwing this ball on a freshly double-oiled, christmas tree house shot, oiled 10 to 10. I was standing on 24, thowing 13 to 10-9. The ball would go about 40-45ft, and then make a left turn to the pocket. When I tugged it into the oil, the ball slid a little, but still gripped the lane when it needed to, to hit pocket. I then pulled out the Black Widow Bite to compare, and found that I had to move 2 boards right to get it to the pocket. My Ebonite NVD is drilled stronger than the Bite, but I was still surprised to see what it could do.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: nuffsader 10/16/2008 19:36 ( stars)


 
Drilled my NVD 15# Label shift 1 o'clock safety drill. Very readable. Skid/roll/hook. Good power, it carried the corners very well for the house I was in. Slight overreaction if it swung into the dry too soon. Wasn't quite as big of hooker as I was expecting but that is a plus. It liked medium oil very well. I would put it away when the oil lightened up but if it's medium or even toward heavy, this ball will handle it with good power. A very good ball to get a read of the lanes with.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: yummy_mummy 10/15/2008 11:22 ( stars)


 
had this ball for a few months now, and it still is first out of the bag. the ball has a 3" pin and 2.75oz top weight. put the pin 2.75" from pap and cg basiclly on grip line. left the cover in out of box condition. the ball got into an early roll and made a smooth hard arc to the pin deck. like every other ebonite ball i have thrown it had a hard hit on the pins. was able to play deep with this ball and get it to hit. i'm sorry i did not get another before they discontinued it, so if you need a ball that flat out hooks get this one

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: new+visions 10/15/2008 04:20 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball from vbowlingball.com's web page, based on their reviews and the compare it option, I really like that. I used it on a very dry crappy wood lane house and it was doing u turns on me. So i polished it up and still it hooked way too much. I put away the ball for a while and started to bowl league on a synthetic medium oiled house shot. With the ball polished it works miracles on this shot. This ball is also very versatile. A variety of shots can be conqured by just adjusting the coverstock.
Would fit in to anyones arsenal. Ebonite creates balls that have quality and power.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: tmanrunning 10/01/2008 11:54 ( stars)


 
start off this ball is just amazing i have three but im only going to get into the one i like the most

first off im med speed medium rev in the higher range of revs

i drilled this ball pin inch over middle finger

cg just below and to the right of my ring finger mass bias in strong position

this ball rolls so nice it goes 45 feet and i kno it will turn

due to the pin being n such an odd position i cant really use it in carrydown situations but thats ok cause thats not what i wanted it foe i wanted a good benchmark ball to open up fresh patterns with and thats what i got
i would reccomend this ball to anyone

and i also would like to mention i have seen no sign of ball death but i also clean it after every set and every so often i take the surface to 500 and use clean and dull then bring it back up to factory then polish it

you will not regret getting this ball if u treat it right cause it will treat u right


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tmanrunning


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: stamford winner 10/09/2008 11:53 ( stars)


 
I think this ball is stronger on the back end than any ball I have ever drilled. I track pretty high because I spin the ball a little which causes me to get everything pretty far down the lane. Sometimes I go passed the break point. Not anymore. This ball really gets up on the back end. I took the cover up to 2000 and did not add any polish, I found this to be more efective for me. I have only used the ball for one league session so I will post more after I experiment with it some more. But all signs point to another great ball from Roto Grip.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: j man pro shops 10/10/2008 11:52 ( stars)


 
Had this ball for a little while now, and finally feel I can give the ball some justice.

The Cell pearl is flat out the strongest pearl I have ever thrown. Decided to drill it 4x4 with a 2 1/2 buffer.

The read is phenominal, great through the heads, strong off the dry.

For me, I need plenty of carrydown to keep this beast from crossing the pocket.

Hope this helps!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Mikelj2 10/11/2008 11:49 ( stars)


 
This is another winner at Roto Grip. The Cell Pearl has the same strong back end, strong move to the pocket and hitting power as the Cell. This version with the pearl cover goes through the heads cleanly and and goes a bit further down the lane. Once it encounters friction, it makes a distinctive move to the pocket that does not quit. The ball continues strong through the pin deck.

The Cell Pearl can benefit from some head oil as you send it into the dry. This is a versatile ball and I've used it on both longer 41 foot patterns and the shorter 36 foot house shots.

For a low rev player this ball can really open up the lanes and give you the look you are wanting.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: prince phillip 10/12/2008 11:48 ( stars)


 
SO I BOUGHT THIS BALL LIKE 2 MO AGO AND NEVER HAD IT PUNCHED UP SO WHEN I DID I HAD THE PIN ON THE RIGHT OF THE INDEX AND CG KICKED OUT 1/4 THIS BALL IS EVERYTHING I WANTED IT TO DO GO LONG AND SNAP LIKE A BANSHEE, THIS BALL IS AWESOME ANYBODY WHO NEED A BALL WITH GREAT BACKEND CHECK OUT ANY LANE#1 BALL YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED AND IT IS WORTH EVERY PENNY

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: gimme some loving man 09/30/2008 18:47 ( stars)


 
This is my ball of the year. Got the ball in September and used it all year. Had it rejuvenated once to get some of the oil out about 2/3 through the season. Drilled with the max drilling from the bowlingball.com drill sheet. All I can say is awesome kept a 220 average and shot 2 300's 2 -299 and 3 sets over 780. Ball carries well light, trips 4's high and when it hits flush devastation. Very player friendly. Highly recommend this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: xyzdegreedude 10/04/2008 08:44 ( stars)


 
This could be the 2008 ball of the year.

Just drilled one up last week; got it 2nd hand from a friend and drilled it fairly aggressive for first shift oil. This is now the #1 ball for my arsenal. The NVD hits just as hard as anything, if not harder, than the Venom yet somehow is able to keep the pins low and carry phenomenally! I bowl at a house with REALLY soft backends that is known for poor carry and weak hits and this ball cuts through the rack with no problem.

In terms of the overall hook/motion, the ball has a very even and predictable roll and break point (like all my Ebonite and Brunswick stuff). Like my Labryinth the ball gets excellent push through the heads and picks up a very heavy roll but unlike the Labryinth the break point is just a little sharper. By that I mean it doesn't hook sharply at the break point but the core turns over very sharply, which is probably what gives it that punch at the back.

This ball is great for oil but when the heads start to go I was able to lower my tilt (i.e. throw more of a spinner, lowering my track) and keep it online with no problem. This is yet another very versatile ball that can handle a wide range of conditions. I like this ball so much that it has officially replaced my Labryinth.

To sum up:
- Excellent push thru the heads for a rolling ball
- Ball turns over HARD at the break point but doesn't hook sharply. It's overall path to the pocket is predictable and fairly even.
- Ball doesn't limit what angle you can play to the pocket
- This is a ball that should last a while, meaning you won't have to put it in the bag after one game from the oil drying up. For a rolling ball it handles fairly light oil well.
- Guys with a lot of hand might want to stay away from this one. It rolls so hard (rolls not hooks) that it might be too much ball for you power guys.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: stellarbowler 10/10/2008 11:37 ( stars)


 
I got this ball drilled a few months ago, and lemme tell you, this thing can perform. i got it drilled pin under ring finger and it goes nice and smooth down the lane. first night i had this, i shot 297(choked on the last shot) and that was my new high game. hit the pocket light? no problem! this thing hits like a truck. in oil, this ball hits at its best. if you have medium to low revs, on a burnt out shot, you could just move to the fourth arrow and still hold pocket with good carry. there was never a shot out there yet that this ball couldnt handle. i have yet to use it on a sports shot, and cant wait to. i would highly recommend this ball to anyone who is looking to upgrade their ball performance and/or equipment.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by stellarbowler


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: ollie in free 10/03/2008 11:35 ( stars)


 
I tried this ball for the first time and you'll definitely need oil for this ball. It gets down the lane fairly easy with a strong midlane and big backend, which is a welcome reaction if your looking for a heavy oil ball. Kegel had just did a demo with one of their new lane machines, so there was a fresh shot available with plenty of oil. If you bowl on oil look no further than the NVD!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: frankie steps 09/12/2008 11:35 ( stars)


 
Just lay-ed out 2 of these and I am very pleased with the results of this ball. Put a 5" pin out with a 80 degree MB and I thought it would lay off just a little but this ball just keeps on turning, it even gets through the mid-lane when they are burned up a little. This core combo is going to take Ebonite places as they really match each other great, the ball has great recovery from any angle on the lane but doesn't burn up so much energy it leaves flat pins.

If your looking for a great hooking ball that refuses to quit and can deal with it hooking this one is for you.

I'm impressed and I thought they had exceeded themselves last year.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: ObiRonOne 08/16/2008 12:04 ( stars)


 
Just got done watching my friend throw this in a tournament. Wow, this thing has some horsepower. They bowled on a heavy oil pattern and this ball looked really strong. The thing I liked the most about it was the way it came back from out of nowhere. I'm placing my order right now for one. I don't have as much hand as my friend, but at least I'll be able to get the ball to move more than my old Columbia Messenger.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Nyguen2208 08/04/2008 10:49 ( stars)


 
I just want to thank Ebonite for continuing to make the best balls on Earth. I've had the most success with the NV line, and the NVD is no different. I used this ball in a tournament last week and ended up leading the field by 150 for 6 games. In the stepladder final, I shoot 259 to win over my opponent who shot 183. This ball is truely great. I used it every game and made small adjustments. Very strong backend reaction. Just get it to the pocket and it'll bring home the money for you.

Sung Nyguen


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite NVD Reviewed By: Left1Standin 08/10/2008 16:35 ( stars)


 
Just punched this ball out the same time I drilled an Up-Rising. I found that this ball really turns off the corner and allows me to open up the lanes a ton. I'm one of the few lefties that likes to hook the ball. I can get in between the 3rd and 4th arrow and wheel on this ball. I throw it around 17mph with a rev rate around 450. I find that this ball works best for me on heavy oiled synthetic lane conditions.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Left1Standin


Read all 46 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter