Go to Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho »

Only show reviews for Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.63Write a Review    Read all 24 reviews

I Love It
 
75% (18 of 24)
I Like It
 
21% (5 of 24)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 24)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 24)
I Hate It
 
4% (1 of 24)

Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 10/09/2008 11:33 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
drilled psycho for a customer that wanteda ball that would give him more controlen the lanes broke down we drilled pin above middle finger he has med track placedcg just right of center of grip this gavemore control in the midlane with a smoothmovement through the backends he shot 725the first night he used it

mike seymour ormond bowl pro shop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: Etonix 06/20/2008 03:07 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Hammer really is going to hit big with this ball!!! Another winner from the raw hammer line. I have mine drilled almost identical to the one in the hammmer video (the second one) and i just love. Will be getting one to drill pin up for a smoother reaction.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Etonix


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: h23vtec 04/26/2009 00:45 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
good ball. it is a very great mid performance ball. i liked it a lot but if your going to spend the money on a new ball the sauce series will hit harder and hook harder. this is a great ball for light to medium oiled lanes. if you cant control your hook on dry lanes or want to spend a little less $$$ this is the ball for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by h23vtec


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: webejr04 10/28/2008 22:59 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    202
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball has flat out ridiculous carry I love it. My friend bought one a month ago and has not shot below 750 since he got it. To put it in a nutshell its the Toxic on Steroids!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by webejr04


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: impdcdt 07/20/2008 01:38 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball is AMAZING!!! I bowled w/ it for the first time last tuesday. I had my third 800 series (802) and my fourth 300 game. (250, 252, 300). I only left one ten pin the whole day. I have never seen a bowling ball that drives through the pins shot after shot. The best bowling ball I have ever thrown. Great ball for a wonderful price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by impdcdt


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: putthehammerdown! 06/20/2008 11:49 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Hammer has really struck a goldmine here! This ball is a perfect balance of core and coverstock! I would recommend this to anyone and everyone. I think everyone who needs a quality ball for a reasonable price should get this ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: willis21 05/06/2010 15:14 ( stars)


 
I've had the Psycho about a month and I would definitely recommend it. It has a very good reaction without being too angular. I had it drilled 4 inches pin to pap and it has a good blend of length and hook.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: srobinson300 01/22/2010 17:54 ( stars)


 
Hammer really put out a great bowling ball here, I had been bowling for 4 years before I got this ball, using the Ultimate Inferal and the Resurgance previously, I got this ball in October shortly after it came out, and instantly fell in love with it, at the end of the 09 season I had a 173 average, and a 220 in another leagueI subbed in shortly after getting the Pyscho Hammer. The 09/10 SEason I currently have a 213 average after 17 weeks and have had my first 4 700 series, a 300, a 298, 279, and several other 260+ games all Using the Pyshco Hammer. The ball reacts great on all different kinds of oil conditions, from dry to medium to heavy and hits with a lot of power. This is definitely one of the best balls I have thrown.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: Matt K. 01/13/2010 23:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 X 1
 
I got this ball after my school baker season started. I love it. When it hits the pocket, the pins go flying and rarely leaves the 10 pin. It moves really good in medium oil. When it's heavy, I just move 5 to the right. This is a perfect ball for an advanced bowler.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Matt K.


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: READY4YA 11/06/2009 12:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    197
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
If you don't have one get one...finally a 700 series..also a 290 game at a tournament this year...ball is great and used all 3 games...just keeps rolling and rolling and rolling..i think i have to get another just to have when this one gets worn....drive the competition crazy....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by READY4YA


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: xxbwlngproxx 06/08/2009 10:53 ( stars)


 
I've had this ball for about a month now, and i have already raised my average from a mid 180s, with my old ball, to a 210! I don't know how anyone could not love this ball. the reaction is near perfect, because in this last month I have also shot three 700s. I love this ball, and I would definitely recommend this it to anyone interested in buying a new ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: mr 300 04/07/2009 20:38 ( stars)


 
holy shit thats all that need to be said about the ball there is non better for the price awsome on any lane condition ive shot meny high games with this ball from high 750's plus to 300's its a must have i use mine alot and clean it only with white vinegar just an all out awsome ball love it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mr 300


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: Wolfnason 02/24/2009 09:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5-1/8th
 
This ball has a lot more potential then what I was expecting! The ball has a 4-1/2" pin with 3oz top, I drilled it to go long and strong (drill pattern #1, medium track). I ended up with 7/8oz finger and 3/8oz side so I wasn't expecting this ball to make any sudden huge moves at the back end, I was way wrong, this ball made an agressive hard move consistantly towards the pocket even when I missed my marked. It always found its way back to the pocket, whether I threw it inside or out, I did leave quite a few ten pins, but that was not the ball, it was me getting it out to far and coming in behind the head pin. This was also with the out of the box finish. I shot 652 first set and 674 the second.



All in all I would highly recommend this ball to anyone that is in the market for a clean consistant ball movement on a typical house pattern. As the norm goes, Hammer has another hard hitting winner!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Wolfnason


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: zach.attack 12/07/2008 12:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    201
Sport Shot Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 1/4 over 6 1/2
 
the psycho is the best raw hammer made. It has a strong back end reaction. the psycho isn't very good at 10 pins. that means you also need a plastic ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by zach.attack


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: nucci225 11/17/2008 09:19 ( stars)


 
This ball is great. Just got back into bowling after being out of it for a few years. Bought this ball for something easy to control but with alot of pop. Had it drill straight up and the ball really works the back half of the alley. I would tell anyone to get add this ball to their bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: JoeVickrey 10/17/2008 19:04 ( stars)


 
Just the Psycho to fill a hole when the lanes start getting too wet dry. Used a negative static weight layout, similar to a 6X5 layout with CG negative and pin above the ring finger. Expected length with agressive roll at the back end due to the large barrell shaped weight block. Reaction was stronger than anticipated, but the energy retained was well above what I had expected. The ball rolls very straight in heads and mid lane with a very strong arcing move at the finish. The pin carry is very good as the ball keeps the pins low on the deck and not jumping over the corners. Pleased with result of the ball overall and would recommend to other players with a hole in the middle of their aresenal!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: Laddie 09/14/2008 19:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    163
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Picked up this ball today and had it drilled below the pin for length. It was the first ball I have thrown with a finger tip drill so my first game wasn't that great, but by the second game, along with some coaching by the guys in the pro shop I bowled a 188, which is my second highest score and I usually average around 150-155. Was hitting the pocket more consistently and going brooklyn alot less. Definitly a great addition to any arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: bowlingfanatic28 08/24/2008 21:41 ( stars)

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This weekend I did a demo day. I am a 200 average junior bowler and I am a tweener. I tried out around 10 different bowling balls and I must say that this is the only ball I wouldn't consider. I never got any reaction out of this ball. I didn't expect to like this ball, but I am very disappointed with what I found.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingfanatic28


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: Cmb41592 07/12/2008 01:40 ( stars)


 
i love this ball. i had it drilled up to use in a tournament in vegas and it is going to work great. i used it on the cheetah pba shot and it worked good on the oil. the cheetah and usbc short oil shot r the same length and it worked great for me on the cheetah so i'm hoping the same for the short oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cmb41592


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: Matt Fortney 10/19/2008 12:07 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
My PAP: 5 1/4" over by 3/4" up. 15-15.5 mph. Above average revs. I'd say I'm somewhere in between tweener and cranker.

Drilling: Pin 4 3/4" from PAP, above my ring finger.

THS: With the OOB 4000 Abralon + Polish, The Psycho really tears it up on THS. It has great midlane read with a strong arcing backend motion. The ball is definitely NOT a skid-flippy ball, but the move isn't weak either. The new Assault core is definitely a winner in my book. Provides excellent hit that I've come to expect from Hammer, and it really whips pins around. As far as total amount of hook is concerned, I was actually surpised at how strong it is.

So far I've taken the cover down all the way to 1000 grit abralon. The basic reaction is what you'd expect, the lower the grit gets, the earlier the ball rolls, and more overall. So far I've had the most success with the OOB surface. Without polish the ball tends to start too early for even THS after the first game or so.

The only condition that I really can't use this ball on is really light oil, or a shot with burnt up heads. The ball is simply too much for either of the two.

Overall this thing is a real winner. Seems to be pretty forgiving to both speed and hand action mistakes. Anyone looking for a great medium oil ball with all the hit and carry of a high performance ball at a mid-price point the Psycho is for you. And as a bonus it looks sweet too!

Matt


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Matt Fortney


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: bowlingball.com staff review by Shawn Ryan 07/22/2008 11:50 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Pin length from axis point is 5 1/4 inches and above fingers. If you were a fan of the Doom you will absolutely love this ball. The Psycho is not as jerky as the Doom was on the backend which could sometimes get you into trouble with the Doom. The Psycho provides a smoother more predictable backend reaction than the Doom. The Psycho is a great ball for league play or later in the block tournaments.

Shawn Ryan
2005 Jr. Team USA Member
Manager
Striking Advantage Pro Shop
River Lanes
Titusville, Florida


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com staff review by Shawn Ryan


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: wheels07 02/09/2010 11:37 ( stars)


 
I am a left handed bowler with a current 202 average. I had the ball drilledto go long and hook sharp on the backend and I will admit the first game was ugly, but after that the ball hits like a tank and you can hit high and it seems to take out some splits. After using the ball for 15 games I am averaging 215 with it on medium oiled lanes. I have to say it's been a great buy for me and I am sold on Hammer products!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: ReckingBallRebel24 07/17/2009 21:23 ( stars)


 
I like the psycho does what it is advertised to do. Great on house patterns and shorter PBA patterns. I can play lots of angles with this ball it has the great backend you can expect to see from a hammer ball. The only problem i had was a durability issue it cracked after 2 months but hey may have just been my luck. In conclusion if you want something that'll give you bang for your buck pick it up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ReckingBallRebel24


Hammer Raw Hammer Psycho Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 09/16/2008 14:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I recently driiled a Psycho for a customer. The layout i used a 4 1/2" pin above fingers and kicked out the cg slightly to the right about 3/4" with a small weight hole.

Ending weight was 1/2oz pos. side and 1/4oz finger.



My first impression was that it was very clean through the heads with a smooth and continuous backend reaction.



If you seek a ball with decent backend reaction. Then look no further than the RAW HAMMER PSYCHO!



Lenny Biondi Jr

Deltona Lanes ProShop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 24 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter