Go to Storm Street Rod »

Only show reviews for Storm Street Rod

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.8Write a Review    Read all 15 reviews

I Love It
 
80% (12 of 15)
I Like It
 
20% (3 of 15)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 15)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 15)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 15)

Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: Brian Halstrom 05/06/2008 15:45 ( stars)

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2" x 1/2" Up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge



The Street Rod is Storm's latest edition to their Hot line of equipment. Other balls in this line include the new Street Rod Pearl, Jolt Pearl, Thunderstruck Pearl, and Jolt. The Street Rod features a Solid Reactor coverstock with a Turbine weight block.

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 1/2" up) - 4 1/2"
CG Placement - 1/2" right of grip center
Balance Hole - None

Surface Preparation - Left at Box Finish (2000 Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Layout: Not knowing what this ball would do, I went with of my favorite layouts. This layout usually gives me a consistent reaction on all types of lane conditions. This is the first ball I've tested in Storm's Hot Series.

What I Ended Up With In This Ball Layout: Out of the box, this ball reminded me of another ball that was amazing, the Ebonite V2 Sanded. The ball motion was very similar to the V2, and just as predictable. I had an unbelievable read with this ball the first night I tried it in league.

The first night of league with this ball I posted games of 237, 205 (missed the move in, so I kept leaving corners), and 279. I stayed with this ball all night and it allowed me to play the same part of the lane all three games. Even though the second game didn't score very high, it still reached the pocket every shot. After I made a slight move in and adjusted my angle, I had no carry issues whatsoever.

This ball gives me a reaction that I needed in my arsenal. Compared with the Cell, Ultra Zone, and Twisted Fury, this ball gives me a good idea whether I need to be throwing something more aggressive or less aggressive. Even though you can hook the whole lane with this ball, there are too many other high performance balls out there that will out hook this one with less effort (Like the Gravity Shift). If you are looking for a strong, predictable, and consistent reaction that you are going to be able to control and still throw the pins around, than I definitely recommend this ball. A must for any bowler, whether it's tournaments or league play. This ball has become the new Benchmark ball in my bag.

For more length and angle with the same versatility, try the Street Rod Pearl.

UPDATE

I just wanted to add that I've continued to throw this ball in league and I posted my first 300 game of the season. This ball just keeps impressing me. If you haven't thrown a Storm ball recently, you don't know what you're missing out on. I'm saying that because I haven't thrown a Storm ball recently, so I didn't know what I was missing out on. I'm certain that you're going to see a few more Storm reviews out of me in the coming months!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brian Halstrom


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 08/13/2009 16:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Storm Street Rod is 181.6 on the perfect scale which adds up to a great ball for oil.We drilled one for a bowler that needs help when the lanes are wet.Drilled pin 3 1/2 from his pap the cg one inch from mid line this gave him a strong roll in the oil.If you have questions or help with the drilling e-mail me.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 08/10/2009 10:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The Street Rod is a advanced performance ball with a 181.6 on yhe perfect scale.The price for this ball is just what we need you get a strong ball for oil at mid performance price.This will not last long at this price so hurry and get your Street Rod.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: gmetteejr 04/07/2010 07:45 ( stars)


 
Ball was purchased as entry level reactive for an eleven year old boy. Inexpensive price and consistant reaction are what we like most about this ball. Nothing dramatic, perfect for a beginner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gmetteejr


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: Iraqvet 03/01/2010 15:30 ( stars)


 
I am pretty happy with this ball..I have only got to bowl with it for a few nights,but it does as advertised..I am fairly new at bowling,and wanted to learn to throw hooks..It WILL!!!..It dosnt take a whole lot either..I was worried about 11 pounds being to light..It actually worked out good though..I just didnt feel comfortable with trying to through a heavier ball with fingertip grips..As for how it is drilled,I have no clue of the specifics..The lady at the alley watched me bowl,took some measurements, drilled it,and it worked out good..I think its a good ball at a good price..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: gilzelaya 01/06/2010 13:27 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    192
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This bowling ball is great, I have good reaction and finishes very strong. Every one is asking me where I
got it and what kind of a ball is it. it is a Storm
Street Road.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gilzelaya


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: Altamonte pro shop 08/06/2009 15:25 ( stars)


 
IF you are looking for a bowling ball that you can use on medium oil to oily lanes the storm street rod would be a good choice for you.This ball will gives you a consist reaction and the price on it is very reasonable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Altamonte pro shop


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: unotko 02/24/2009 23:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Storms Street Rod Solid is a great compliment to anyone’s bag who wants an aggressive yet controllable ball motion. If you don’t look at the picture provided I will explain the drilling. (3 ½” X 3 ½”) The pin is above the finger and the cg is angle into my grip-line at approximately 15 degrees. Depending on what patterns I face this is my heavy surface ball (500, 1000 grit abralon). This ball is strong throughout the lane but with the drilling is hard and controllable on the back ends. Even with the strong surface and ball it gets through the heads very clean with a nice arcing but strong motion. I would strongly approve this ball if you are looking for a dependable ball on medium to heavy oil. At a very affordable price!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by unotko


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: C-Kel 02/06/2009 23:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Driled: Pin under Ring



I was looking for a ball that could be a good medium oil benchmark ball. OOB was a little too strong in the mids at 2000 for me so threw some polish and it worked wonders. Very controllable no real snap off dry unless there is a lot of oil on lanes. Ball is very versatile, can use on anything except extremes. Really recommend this ball at the price point.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by C-Kel


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: thetrickster04 06/30/2008 21:25 ( stars)


 
i love this ball.. it got my avg up by 15 pins., it always hit in pocket and it hits so hard!! thnx for this ball storm. i avg around 215 with this for the last 3 weeks in my bowling league. i'm a more confident bowling player with this ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by thetrickster04


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: Tim_Centrim 05/25/2008 09:11 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


 
I bought this ball on the recommendation of a friend who only throws Storm. I was looking for an all-around ball that I could play many different lane conditions with and still give me a lot of hitting power. After throwing this ball the last night of league, I was disappointed that I did not get one of these sooner! Amazing read off the break point and carry that I had been lacking had suddenly appeared. What a difference a change of balls, and companies make. I've been throwing Ebonite and they worked great at first, but then lost some pop soon after. I'm hoping that these don't do the same, but so far so good! I think I'm going to try the Street Rod Pearl next to give me more length.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 08/05/2009 19:55 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
If you are looking for a good ball for a medium to heavy condition at a great price then you need the Storm Street Rod.

I drilled one for a customer with a 4 X 4 layout and it was just a monster on the lanes. He was able to move in and swing it about 10 boards (playing 17 to about 8) had a good strong roll in the mid lane and a strong continuous movement on the back end.

Lenny Biondi Jr.
Deltona Lanes ProShop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 10/31/2008 13:08 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
I recently drilled one for a customer. He is a beginner bowler and it is his first finger tip ball. I drilled it with a basic layout pin at 1:30 and cg in middle of grip.

The reaction that he got was clean thru the head good midlane read and an arcing motion on the backend. I find out that this drilling is a very forgiving for new bowler.

I would recommend this ball to anyone looking for a great ball at good price.

Lenny Biondi Jr
Deltona Lanes ProShop


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: SkyHype 06/18/2008 11:38 ( stars)


 
Wow! This ball rolls wayyy better than my old balls, and hits a lot better too! I went from a 173 average to a 191 in the few weeks I've thrown it, and shot my highest game of 278!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Street Rod Reviewed By: Bourne2bowl 06/24/2008 09:37 ( stars)


 
This ball does exactly what I thought it would. Gives me a great look all the way down the lane. Seems to be more predictable than some other balls I have, and hits harder too!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 15 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter