Go to Hammer Black Widow Bite »

Only show reviews for Hammer Black Widow Bite

Customer Reviews          Average: 3.56Write a Review    Read all 87 reviews

I Love It
 
49% (43 of 87)
I Like It
 
10% (9 of 87)
It's Ok
 
8% (7 of 87)
I Don't Like It
 
11% (10 of 87)
I Hate It
 
21% (18 of 87)

Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/18/2008 10:54 ( stars)

226 of 227 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge



The Black Widow Bite expands the Black Widow series by offering a stronger hook motion with more aggressive backend.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Mass Bias Position - 45 degrees
CG Placement - 1" right and about 1 1/4" up from grip center
Balance Hole - none

Surface Preparation - Box Finish

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This is our bench mark layout. We use this on most balls for testing purposes and from our past experience we have found it to work well on our Black Widow test balls in the past. We figured based on all we knew of this ball this layout would offer us a pretty clean reaction through the front with an aggressive move through the mid lane and back part of the lane.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
We are a little unsure of this ball at this time. We may update this review later based on more testing.

We really did not see the ball motion we expected to see out of this ball right out of the gate. The first few shots we threw were a little odd. The ball seemed to react well but as we threw more shots we saw a huge decrease in reaction. It seemed to start to "float" more and more on the back part of the lane. It was a weird ball reaction because it looked like it was going to read the friction ok and then when it got there it just seemed to stop.

When other balls were thrown against this they looked really good compared to the Bite. From what we heard before drilling the ball we knew that with less oil to ball would burn up early and lose reaction overall. We may re-test this ball with some polish on the shell and see what happens. Knowing what we know about the ball, that is has the same proven core as the original Black Widow and a stronger cover that Hammer has used previously we know this ball should be fine. I guess this ball test proves that sometimes things do not go as planned and slight adjustments have to be made from time to time to get the desired ball reaction.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: sctty2htty1982 02/01/2008 13:03 ( stars)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


 
The Black Widow Bites had a defect and the company would take them back cause there was a manufacturing defect and that's why they were cracking. The ones they sell now are fine and if they do keep cracking they will be warrantied by Ebonite.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by sctty2htty1982


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Sundevil33 01/13/2008 00:08 ( stars)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


 
Let me be one of the first to say that this ball is one of the best I've thrown to date. I currently have a Black Widow Pearl, a Hammer No Mercy, a Hammer Doom, Hammer Pain, Ebonite Infinite One, Brunswick Fuze Igniter, and Brunswick International Bionic Zone and have like them all, but none of them have hit like the Black Widow Bite. I guess the pro-shop that I got my ball from must have been from a different batch in that there have been a lot of these balls going out the door and none returning, for blemishes, cracks or unhappy customers. This ball is clean through the heads and reacts, reacts, reacts on the backend. I carry a 200 average and before we burned up the oil I had a 232 and 234 opening. I left only 2 10 pins which was a concern for me. I am impressed with this ball thus far and would recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sundevil33


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: MR. 300 01/22/2008 11:14 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
I don't know what all the commotion is about the Bite being a bad ball. This ball is absolutely awesome. This ball tears up the pins with some great backend reaction, and the hook is phenomenal. I had the ball drilled in strong position, high track and it seems to be doing the trick. All you have to do is cleans the ball after each use. I would highly recommend this ball that really wants to pump up their game.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: bhlewis2 01/09/2008 09:21 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I want to be the first to say, "I am impressed." I've been bowling for 12 months 192 league average. Medium revs with med-high speed and track within 1.5" of thumb and fingers.
I rolled the BW Bite for 10 games now and love the reaction. Box finish (4000 dull) drilled with pin above ring finger and mass bias in the strong position near VAL for maximum skid/flip...and boy does it ever. I own a Fury and a Smokin' Inferno and the backend flip is super HARD. Reaction on friction is even better than the Fury for me but not much better.
This ball hits hard and is much more than I expected. This is my first Hammer purchase and I'm big fan so far!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bhlewis2


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: BatkidValentine28 07/28/2008 03:50 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    208
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
Okay, now this ball has taken alot of crap. This is honestly one of the best balls that i have ever thrown.

How can someone not like this ball??

Granted, it does not hook as much now as it did before, but the Bite still hits and cuts through oil like a monster.

This is a GREAT ball by hammer, and I have not had and "smuges" or "burnt spots" on this ball.

Ridiculous. Also, there is no cracking of the ball either. Heck, this is like the only ball I have thrown over 100 games with and there are no niks/scratches.

Dont listen to all the bull-reviews about this ball, its great and better than most out there. This ball deserves to be reviewed fairly.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BatkidValentine28


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: 1honeybear 03/06/2008 13:27 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
This is the ball for all of those down and in lefties. I have been bowling for forty years and finally I have found the right ball. The pro shop shined it up the first time I used it and it had a very unpredictable roll. The next time I used it I put it back to it's original finish with a scotch brite pad and alchol. Now it is very predictable and it has almost paid for itself. Second and third time out was a 704 and 712 series. Can't wait to get back on the lanes. If you throw the ball around 16 m.p.h. and down and in this is the ball for you. A must have!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: dodgerams01 03/02/2008 21:35 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball in nothing like my black widow pearl it has more hook and back end for those who say this ball stinks are you for sure you got it drilled right? Are you throwing it right? the only reason why i am stating my opinion is b/c this ball has so much potential and there is alot of people that does not realize it.
Thanks bowlingball.com this product is great And alot cheaper than my local pro shops.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: jsonian 02/23/2008 14:35 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    175
Sport Shot Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I am a beginning bowler. I bought this ball after the local pro shop owner recommended it because I was not get behind the ball enough. I have bowled my first 650 series ever with this ball. The back end on this is phenominal. I don't have any trouble controlling the ball when I make simple mistakes like missing a mark or being off by one or even two boards. I would recommend this ball to anyone who is looking to improve their game. Incidently I have raised my average about 5 pins in about 3 weeks. For me that's not bad. I went from a 160 to a 165 average in only 3 weeks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jsonian


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Elguapo 02/20/2008 14:14 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I don't know if there was a bad batch of balls or what but I love my BW Bite. I had it drilled 4" from pap with and aggressive layout. The 4000 grit was too smooth for my revs so I took it down to 1000 grit abralon and that did the trick. The ball is strong and fluid in it's movements. It hits like a wrecking ball and destroys everything. It's not jumpy but controlled and smooth. It seems to rev up and never let go. It hits with great energy and power. I feel bad for those that had bad balls but the one I got is great am now a Hammer fan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: bussboy55 03/11/2010 09:10 ( stars)


 
First of all I am a high school student and i carry a 185 average using only this ball. I had to completely change my style to get this ball to hook but i eventually figured it out. I would not recommend this ball unless you are an extreme cranker.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: h23vtec 04/26/2009 00:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
i really hate to say that i dont like a ball but it seemed no matter what i did to this ball, it just wouldnt do what i wanted it to. out of the box it simply didnt have the hook i was looking for. it would start out like it was going to take of across the lane and then just die out. ive never had more akward splits than with this ball. i got it sanded down to a 500 finish and it did improve the performance but the ball just wasnt for me. ended up just trading it in to get it out of my bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by h23vtec


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Toungehappy76 04/22/2009 01:44 ( stars)


 
I dont get how people cant love this ball...

LAST YEARS AVG. BEFORE BALL: 165
LAST YEARS AVG. AFTER BALL: 185


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: wtaylor3 03/11/2009 11:47 ( stars)


 
MY NEW TEN PIN BALL!! BOY OL BOY DOES THIS MAKE ME MAD!!! I HAVE ONLY BEEN BOWLING FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS NOW. I PUT A LOT OF REVS ON THE BALL. A LOT. I BOUGHT THIS BALL ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO GOT THE PIN DRILLED HIGH FOR A LOT OF BACKEND ACTION. WELL IT WORKED AND WORK WELL FOR ABOUT 6 GAMES. THE 3RD WEEK OF LEAGUE I WOULD GET MY BALL BACK FROM THE BALL RETURN AND I NOTICED THAT THE OIL WOULD JUST SMEAR. SO I CLEANED IT. I KEEP IT CLEAN. THREW IT ONE TIME. OIL SMEARING AGAIN. TOOK IT AND HAD IT PROFESSIONALLY CLEANED. THREW IT A FEW TIMES SAME THING. NONE THE LESS THE BALL ABSORBS OIL AND IT STAYS IN THE BALL. IT NO LONGER HOOKS. I HAVE ABOUT 10 GAMES TOTAL ON IT. I JUST DONT THROW IT ANYMORE. EXCEPT AT 1O PINS!! SAD TO SAY THAT THE BITE, ONE OF THE BEST HOOKING BALLS AROUND JUST SLIDES DOWN THE LANE!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: c_gmach24 02/21/2009 14:00 ( stars)


 
I am a lefty and I'm not so sure there isn't as much of a back-end as expected

But still a very good ball. I would recommend this ball for just about anybody out there.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by c_gmach24


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: lesnar15 02/05/2009 09:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    199.5
Ball Speed    Medium
 
I got the hammer black widow bite a couple months ago, 2 weeks after i got the ball a big chunk of the coverstock got taken off, my pro shop had to fill it. the reaction i got from this ball was not what i expected it to be, it was not snapping in the backend like i wanted it to, i have a black widow pearl wich is much stronger in the back and overall. Now i keep my equipment clean but after a few months of using the bite i cant get much of a reaction at all,this also happened to a friend, the ball just dies out even after later taking the box finish from 4000 down to a 1000 abralon it still wouldnt hit in the back and i have it drilled to snap at the back. overall this ball sucks, I think i am going to go to something stronger like the virtual gravity

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by lesnar15


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: JustHereForBowling 01/27/2009 16:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
REV RATE: 350-380.

Very strong ball, picks up a good roll in the midlane, and a very controlable and predictable movement, turns the corner and then POW! Phenominal ball and one of my personal faves, already gotten a second one!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JustHereForBowling


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: ovndn 01/20/2009 13:07 ( stars)


 
I got to say that this ball does what it says "BITE" It reads the mids and bites in the backend. I own two of these. Shot my first 300 game in March 08 at the National Bowling Stadium at a Tournament. My arsenal is all Hammer. The Bite, Venom, Anger, and clear spider. All layouts were done with the dual angle layout. I run the 11th Lane Pro Shop at the Back Alley in Bishop, CA. I have sold several of these balls, and numerous Venoms. 40% of our league bowlers are using Hammer Products. I would recommend to all.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: djcomardo 01/12/2009 19:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    184
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I will have to say at first I hated this ball. I was not getting the hook and aggressive back end that was advertised with this ball. I had heard a lot of people say the same thing. 2 people in my league actually just sold it after a week. I however was determined to use this ball. The lanes were I bowl are new and very well maintained. HEAVY OIL! I have now had this ball for a few weeks and as advertised it has an extreme back end. I think I just had to learn to throw this ball. It took a lot to learn how to control and find a new set up spot for throwing. Ball speed is critical when throwing this ball. I am now very consistant after throwing 30 - 40 games with this ball. I am averaging an increase in about 20 - 30 more pins per game. So I am very happy with it. Hang in there and learn how this ball works! Hopefully you will be as peased as I am. Hope this helps.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by djcomardo


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: hammeraffiliates 12/24/2008 13:44 ( stars)


 
The Black Widow Bite is great for heavy to medium oil. I bowl on wood lanes with heavy oil; I needed a ball that would react on the heavy oil conditions and this ball did just that. I also own a Black Widow Pearl, the pearl is also a great ball it tends to slide/skid on fresh oil. Which the bite doesn't skid at all. I have never seen a ball react with such strong and continous back end as the Bite did. I do have to say the Bite is a little to strong for light oil conditions although the layout needs to be considered. I am using the Rico layout.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: hammerbowler319 12/08/2008 08:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    188
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
This is the best ball I ever purchased. The backend is great on PBA conditions like the shark and chameleon. I got the strong layout and it hits like 5 trucks. I shot a 289 with this ball the first day i got it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerbowler319


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Hedo 12/02/2008 17:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
Ball seems to have died after around 40 to 50 games. I can throw the ball perfect and one time it will hook and kill all the pins and the next time it will just not do what it's told. The ball sucks up the oil. Even after wiping the oil from the ball i can still see the oil rings from where the oil was. I bought this ball because it was supposed to work better and hook more in medium to heavy oil patterns. Well it doesn't and i wish i still had the Storm Rapid Fire i gave to my brother. I ordered a new Brunswick Maxxx Zone to replace this crappy ball. I know people with black widows and black widow pearls that don't have an issue. Seems the dud in the widow family is the bite and i wish i had done more research before wasting my money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: excalibur 11/30/2008 01:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    196
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
I bought this ball approximately six weeks ago and it hits like a mack truck carries light hits heavy hits and everything in between when the lanes start drying out it is a little to much ball but while there is decent oil it is awesome I do not understand the bad reviews on this ball, since I have had this ball I have been averaging over 200 coming in with a 172 average now up to 194. I absolutely love this ball and highly recommend it, maybe there were issues early on but they are clearly worked out now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: nick4400 11/07/2008 14:40 ( stars)


 
I purchased this ball because the employee at the pro shop said it was one of the best balls for heavy oil and he was right. I have read all of the bad reviews and want to let everyone know they are wrong. I understand that a few bad balls my have shipped out and cracked, but thats life. Not every ball is perfect every time. If you know how to bowl then you will see this is a great ball. It cuts through oil like a knife and hits the pocket hard. After only using it for 3 games I bowled 75 pins above average, with ease.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: English Rob 11/06/2008 08:43 ( stars)


 
I'm bowling out of the UK. I was a good junior but gave up. So ten years later I've started again. The "Bite" was not what I was expecting, I thought with my style I'd struggle to keep it on the lane but I don't, it goes super long with an OK snap, I've had it drilled to complement my revving capability which as a Cranker is good anyway but I wanted more from the Bite.



First couple of games out the box, when I could use it... You do need oil and lots of it to get the best reaction from it were.... 244 277 256 191 264 175 172 280 most of these games were all on separate days and how how much you really need the oil there. On the larger 200's the lanes were flooded the ball cames back almost dripping. The bite needs the oil to store the energy otherwise it just burns out! I hope this helps?


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: solisphotography 10/28/2008 18:07 ( stars)


 
I Just bought this ball and i love it! It is an awesome ball. The Hammer Black Widow ball provided length and aggressive backend reaction for a wide variety of bowling styles. Bowlers can expect to see excellent all-purpose ball motion with more entry angle to the pocket and improved hitting power. Since the Black Widow Bite features a High Mass Bias core, the balls provide excellent drilling versatility by placing the pin and mass bias in different configurations. When drilling a High Mass Bias ball, the placement of the Mass Bias will have a significant impact on changing the breakpoint shape and overall ball motion.

Tuning Ball Motion:

The coverstocks used on the Hammer Black Widow Bite will provide good length and strong backend reaction. However, it is important to keep in mind that all bowlers have different needs. The Black Widow coverstock can easily be sanded to a rougher grit for stronger hook motion in oil or polished for more length, more aggressive breakpoint and less total hook. Please consult your pro shop operator for additional assistance in tuning ball motion. I had my pro shop use the Black Widow Drilling Instructions.



(With High Track)

Drilling #1 - Skid/Flip Layout

Ball Motion: Length with sharp breakpoint and aggressive backend

Lane Condition: Medium to Heavy Oil

Flare Potential: Medium

Pin Placement: Place pin at 5 1/2" from the positive axis point (PAP)

Mass Bias: Place mass bias in the strong position

Balance Hole: If needed, place balance hole at 4" from the center of span on a line through the center of gravity.

I’ve just started playing and my average was 140 in my league.

with this new ball I bowled in 3 games 190 average.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by solisphotography


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: jayjay 10/17/2008 16:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
When i first bought this ball i bowled in a wood house that was usually med-heavy to heavy oil and did not like this ball at all because it did not hav little to any backend. I have th ball drilled for as much hook as possible without a weight. now i bowl in a synthetic house and now the ball is working great. So really I think that without lanes that have a pretty dry backend this ball wont do anything. But overall i've come to like this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jayjay


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: fitts98ss 10/16/2008 21:46 ( stars)


 
This ball worked great for the first 150-200 games, smoth motion and good drive. But after that the ball had gotten saturized by oil and was never the same. even after backing the ball to get the oil out of it is didnt roll the same again.........

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by fitts98ss


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Dru24 09/22/2008 19:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    195
Sport Shot Average    168
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
So I bought my BW Bite A couple weeks after it was released. I have all the balls in the widow line including the new venom and 2 pearls, and my bite has the biggest turn out of them all, i am a lefty with a ton of revs and a 15-16 mph ball speed rating, and usually throw 30 to 5 on the left side. I love this ball on med-med heavy oil patterns, have never had a problem with it rolling out. I have 700s with all my widows and my bite is the highest at 794 could of had an 8 but opened in the tenth. I recomend this ball to anyone who needs a strong reactive ball. I've have been reading the past reviews and checked my ball over again and again for the "odd spot" and cant find it. I love my Bite and thinking of buying another one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dru24


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: FSUbowler2008 07/24/2008 19:27 ( stars)


 
I drilled this ball the week it came out; I was looking for something that would be clean threw the heads with a strong backend reaction. The ball has a 3-4 pin and I drilled the ball with the Pin over the ring finger, and kept the ball at box finish (4000 grit). I average anywhere between 210-220 currently in 3 different houses (one wood and two synthetic) and bowled for four years in 6 different houses regularly during high school and now bowl tournaments at least twice a month Collegiately, all on Sport Shot conditions. I’d consider myself a stroker with a bit more axis tilt than a down and in player, over the years I’ve learned to get on the ball a bit more but still not a cranker. Personally, the ball is very conducive to strong backends, the ball gets threw the heads just fine on most conditions but it’s really sensitive as to how much carry down is present. Overall it did just about what I was looking for, certainly a ball you’ve got to keep clean and hit with 4000 abralon every 6-9 games but with the cover stocks used today, it’s almost standard across the board with regards to cleaning and maintaining your equipment.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by FSUbowler2008


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: SE&C 07/16/2008 17:02 ( stars)


 
I'm very dissapointed in this ball. It started off rolling really well then seemed to go flat. The ball doesnt hook at all now just arcs to the pocket. I've had the ball dulled

no change, polished no change. I talked to HAMMER and they gave me some suggestions on what to do. The ball has a 1 year warranty. I hope I can return this ball


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: cory2468 06/29/2008 22:16 ( stars)


 
balls ok it hooked a ton once i got it but after a month or soo it lost noticable hook and dont try to play with the cover stock or you will ruin the ball and it wont ever be the same so overall if u need a ball for a tourniment pattern that has hevy oil and u need a ball go ahead and get it just dont expect it to last long

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cory2468


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: rydog12 06/27/2008 17:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
 
this ball is is by far the best ball i have thrown. it gives me a ton of room. i can pull or push the ball five boards and it hits like a truck. the first game i shot was 256. i love this ball, and for the price, i would reccomend this ball to any one who thinks that they can handle the bite

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rydog12


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: widow 06/07/2008 21:03 ( stars)


 
love the ball have all that came out i cant put my bite down works real good best ball i bought cant wait to try new one in july ,2008 that coming out .it hooks good my husband loves how bite works for me he even getting one i have two of everyone and will not give them up .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Stringer Bell 06/06/2008 08:01 ( stars)


 
I bought a Black Widow Bite about 3 months ago, and I have to say that I'm very DISGUSTED with this ball. I own a TOXIC and a ANGER HAMMER and I was very pleased with both of those balls, so I thought what the heck, the BITE has to be better than both of them. MAN I WAS DEAD WRONG. I got the BITE drilled with the pin above the bridge for a stronger back end reaction. This is ball is so erratic that I don't know what I'm getting out of it. If there's no oil in the front part of the lane, this ball will burn out towards the end with MINIMAL back end reaction. Out the gate it was ok, but now everytime I bowl with this ball, I get more FRUSTRATED with it. I feel like HAMMER CHEATED me on this ball, and b/c of that I'll have a hard time trusting another one of their products.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: hammer4ver 05/21/2008 20:21 ( stars)


 
This ball won't stop hooking!!!!!!! This ball has a total of 7 boards more hook than my Black Widow solid (slightly polished). About me- I'm a youth bowler tweener that throws roughly 14.5 mph and average right at 200. First time out of the box the ball caried anything and everything. I shot 745 the first 3 games (245, 242, and 258). The next game I followed up with a 225 (missed a stupid 10 by a finger nail!!!!!!!) Officially this is the best hooking ball that I own. The ball is definately predictable even when throwing a 35-5 and in again which is what I was doing toward the 10th frame of the 4th game. This ball on a freshly oiled heavy blend of 39 ft. hooked like no tomorrow. I can't wait to throw this on the sport and pba leagues I'm doing this year, I'm STOKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've had this ball for right at a year and three months now. To all the poeple who say this ball has a decrease in performance after 100 games is crazy. I'm a youth bowler tweener who is hammer addicted and averages right at 200. Well this ball is nothing short of amazing. I can play this ball 20-3 on a medium-heavy to medium condition. This ball is the perfect compliment to the Black Widow Bite which I just recently bought. Right after the Bite overkils, this ball picks up about 6-7 boards from where it left off. I loved this ball at box finish but I added a dab of polish with the addition of the Bite. GREAT BALL, it's a must in your arsenal. Caries everything and has the traditional Hammer Hold through the middle, you seriously get about 4 boards forgiveness on the inside, and about 2 outside. If I could I'd give this ball higher than a 5!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammer4ver


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Bealz 05/02/2008 13:43 ( stars)


 
Got this ball drilled up a few weeks ago and wasn't sure about it. First couple games just couldn't get it to move. Bowled with it the last two nights for leagues and this thing has gotten broken in and flat out hooks. This ball is very forgiving, and hits the pocket hard every time. I have it drilled pin out with stacked leverage and it is a monster off the oil. They call it bite for a reason!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Bealz


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Klapp300 05/02/2008 13:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    172
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I LOVE THIS BALL. Had a 241, 231, 300 for a 772 series. Had it roughed a little bit for heavier oil and this thing goes nuts. The unfortunate part was the ball cracked and have since gotten a replacement. Now just need to get it drilled and get back on track. Also have a Pearl and that thing is great for when this ball is too much.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Klapp300


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: ed3180 04/18/2008 22:35 ( stars)


 
1st- i did an impulse buy on this ball w/o reading the reviews until after i bowled w/it in league play right out of the box--i have an original black widow and a widow pearl and i had not been too happy w/ the pearl because it did not explode the pins like my original- i am not an expert but i could tell that the appearance of this ball was similar to my original so i took a chance--i am a 193 avg bowler on a house shot but i went 233-193-223 w/ 2 missed single pin spares in the 2nd so for the 1st run w/ this ball i am pleased plus this ball exploded the pins like my original which i am most pleased about--after reading through these reviews and lookin at most of the created dates i am curious to know if ebonite had a bad run of these ball as a lot of the more recent reviews seem to be more positive--also i have eyeballed this ball closely and i see no imperfections in the cover as has been mentioned. this review was after only 3 games bowled but this week i have 2 league nites and the nc state tourney this coming weekend so i reserve the right to change my rating of this produc but my initial impression is a big smile on my face

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: ddown88 03/22/2008 18:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I really like this ball. I shot my first career 300 with this ball and use it during 1st game of set before lane transition. I am not seeing the quality issues as others are. I have all Black Widow balls. I like the original the best, the bite second, and the pearl third. Great for new oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: hammerman92 03/17/2008 00:22 ( stars)


 
This has got to be the worst ball I have ever bowled I would rather throw a spare ball then the Bite. It does not hook and is over priced and does not carry. Absorbs too much oil for a ball that does not hook and the ball is very unpredictable and somewhat controllable but does not have good control. Love the other Black Widows but not this one very bad ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerman92


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Str8UpHAMR 03/14/2008 09:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    217
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
This is without a doubt the greatest ball I've ever thrown. It's the first ball out of my bag on ANY condition and I am able to play the same line on ANY shot; house shot or PBA shot. I got it in late January and must have bowled at least 100 games with it and it is STILL amazing. I got the pin drilled under my ring finger (R-handed). Before the Bite I was around 200 even on a house. Since then:
220 on house
210 on PBA
205 on modified house shot
I've hit it with 4000 grit abralon twice and it really helps the hit power!!
A friend accidentally hit it with 1000 once and it sucked!!
I guess you can say it bites =)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Str8UpHAMR


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Bob Schoneman 03/12/2008 13:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    204
Sport Shot Average    194
 
Layout: Pin over my fingers on the gripline, mb 2" right of my thumb, weight hole on my axis to take side weight back to 3/4 ounce.
My stats: Rev rate of 280-320, ball speed 17mph, PAP 4 1/2 over 1/2 up.
I tried this ball with the box finish and it used up its energy too soon for me. I hit it with Polish (Black Magic on top of the factory 4000 finish) and WOW. The Bite was clean through the front then has a strong, but controllable change of direction at the break point and a powerful roll through the pins. The carry is incredible!! I won the first scratch tournament I bowled with this new weapon. Great Ball Hammer!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: jb300 03/09/2008 11:45 ( stars)


 
This is the best ball I bowled with in the last three years. My first two series out of the box have been 747 (195-265-287) and 716 (248-234-234) with a total of two open frames (both splits in the 747 set). The ball has proven to be strong, consistent and readable. I love the midlane reaction and the hitting power is terrific. While some report initial concerns, it is not the first time that this has happened and the ball turned out to be a great piece. The BWB is the bomb!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: hairbowl 03/09/2008 00:13 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball a little over 4 weeks ago, and from the start it worked awesome for me... the first week i bowled a 694, then a 734, 718, and then a 790. Since I got this ball i have carried almost a 245 average, i highly recomend this ball to anyone.... i love it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: (: .) 03/04/2008 02:24 ( stars)


 
As for the ball reaction, the Bite is nothing special. For me it needed some surface tweaking, but there was the problem. I needed a bit more surface so I took the ball down to 2000 grit using Abralon pads very lightly. That wasn't quite enough so I took it down one more step to 1000 grit. Now, to my astonishment, I have no serial number on the ball. It was embedded so shallow in the ball that after only two light sandings the serial number was wiped out and the spider is almost off, also. I've had an original Fury from the time it first came out and sand it after I bowl every time I use it to get the surface I want and haven't even marred any of the label. As has been stated in other posts, this company needs to get its "STUFF" together before it's too late. I really liked other Hammer products, but this is the last one I will buy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by (: .)


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: cenastyle 02/26/2008 00:28 ( stars)


 
First off, I am 30 years old and haven't bowled in a league since I was 17. Back then, I used a Columbia U Dot (remember those?) and carried a 205 average. I have bowled 3-4 times a year since then (I can pick up a house ball and throw 200-220 consistently). I recently decided to get back into league play and decided I needed to buy a ball. I did a lot of research and went to my local pro shop. After watching me bowl a game to find out what kind of bowler I am, the Black Widow Bite was recommended to me. I had it drilled pretty strong and bowled 3 games right after picking it up. I must say, I am pretty disappointed. I cannot get this ball to hook (which, is what it is supposed to do, right?). I tried moving right...I tried moving left...I tried slowing my swing down...I tried speeding my swing up...I tried over-cranking the ball...I tried polishing it up...I tried dulling it down...nothing worked. I don't know if I just had some terrible lane conditions or what, but, bowling 30-40 pins a game under what I could do with a house ball doesn't seem like a good investment of $200. I am going to give it another try in my Thursday night league. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: StormBowler12 02/25/2008 09:40 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The Hammer Black Widow Bite was the first ball I ever bought from Hammer and I assure you it will be the last.
The first throw out of the box was a strike and it would be the last strike until the eighth frame. The ball is way to inconsistent and you will never get the same reaction out of it.
The slogan is right, it takes a bite out of the pocket, but it can't finish the whole thing.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormBowler12


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: PinKiller1022 02/24/2008 14:09 ( stars)


 
Bought the Black Widow Bite even know some of the reviews I have read have been awful and im here to tell you this is the baddest ball on the market. Out of the box had it drilled with the pin placed above my fingers and the CG kicked out a little bit and all I have to say is WOW. I shot 211, 255, 233 for a 699 first league night out. Ball works good in heavy oil but I found out even when the lanes start to break down and dry out with minor adjustments I was still able to play a good line to the pocket. This ball hits like a truck. The carry and the recovery is amazing. I hope you read this review and buy this ball if you are looking for consistency, pin carry and just a hard hitting great ball. I havent put it down since I had it drilled. Way to go Hammer

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Bigpapa 02/15/2008 01:44 ( stars)


 
This ball is amazing. I just bought mine today, I tested it out to see what I could do with it and was amazed that I was consistently rolling around 50+ Pins above my average. I am not anywhere near pro with an average of 134, with this ball I was more consistent than ever before rolling 180's 190's. If you are looking for a new ball look no further this is it. Drilling that i went with was the more smooth approach and it is all of that smooth and reliable on what it is going to do. I did find that it likes to be thrown harder and as soon as it is past the oil it bites into the lane hitting the sweet spot.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: xrayben 02/14/2008 22:29 ( stars)


 
The reason all online ball prices have gone up is manufacturer mandates. They interpret that Supreme Court gave mfg's the right to set a minimum retail price. Manufacturers have told all online suppliers to raise their prices so that local pro shops will not go out of business trying to compete with cheap ball prices. I got this information first hand from a pro shop owner. Allegedly one of Ebonite's vice president told a group of pro shop owners at a ball sneak peak seminar, that they would be regulating online prices to keep local pro shops competitive. Start watching as all new releases start to cost as much as at your local bowling center. The Black widow Bite is a decent ball as long as there is some oil on the heads although, it still checks up a little early for my taste.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: WoopJr 02/10/2008 20:28 ( stars)


 
Just got the ball drilled on Friday, tried it today on fresh oil. Was currently using a Super Beast averaging 203. Shot 780 with it first time out. Started with the first 9 the first game and the first 6 the last game. It came roaring back from the outside. Don't understand the problems people are having but I think it is a fantastic upgrade.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Maveice 02/08/2008 07:41 ( stars)


 
It is funny to see some of the reveiws on here about this ball. I am 26, a cranker, and carrys a 210 average in league. I was looking for something top end in my bag and that is exactly what I got with this ball. Purchased the ball on 1/19/08 at The Bowler's Shop in Anderson, IN. Threw about 6 practice games that day on toast synthetic condition. I coundn't keep the ball on the right side. There was no burnout issue on the front. On the 20th, I threw 4 games on a fresh 40ft gaurdian shot. Ball would not recover from the outside like I expected. I figured that the ball was revving out, so I took a little hand out of the ball and moved right. Ball made a beutiful move to the hole. During league on that Tuesday, I opened up with a 298 (4-9 in the fill) and shot 738. This ball is made to move. If you are having troubles with it, kill the drill a little or take a bit of hand out. You will love the results.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: jaydt1939 02/07/2008 21:07 ( stars)


 
About me: I'm 69 and carry a 210-215 ave. When I first got the Bite, I couldn't keep it on the lane. I became a bit discouraged with it. But I gave it some time and it turned into killer ball. I'm having a lot of fun playing inside and let it come roaring back. I haven't found an oily condition that this ball won't hook on. Hang on and have fun.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Dan Z 02/07/2008 21:00 ( stars)


 
Right out of the box this ball hooked on even the heaviest oil patterns. My only problem with it was that on drier lanes it actually hooks a little less-had to slow it down. Overall very versatile ball, impressive angle, and surprisingly controllable. If thrown right, great on of course strikes and even most spares, just get another ball for that ten-pin.
First HAMMER purchase, and I am not disappointed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dan Z


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: bradford82 02/04/2008 19:17 ( stars)


 
I had heard that the ball was a monster, compared to my Cell it's pretty tame. But the more I throw it the more I like it. I drilled it up as strong as I could (pin 90 degrees about 1 1/2 out from my finger and cg at about 5 o'clock from the pin. from my finger and it still goes fairly deep surprisingly but when it comes back its a monster. The flare is HUGE on it, 7+ inches easy, it actually flares so much it goes over my balance hole now and again. It has a nice strong arc and it snaps a bit right at the end.
I don't think i would have liked it if i hadn't drilled it up so strong.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bradford82


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: TJC EHT 01/28/2008 13:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    193
Sport Shot Average    188
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
PAP    high
 
Most aggressive ball I've ever thrown hits hard as I could ever want, if you don't like it after 50 games buy a hook again kit and it will hook like it's brand new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TJC EHT


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Trav 01/25/2008 18:57 ( stars)


 
I would highly recommend this ball. This ball does what its says its bites hard on the backend. Just bought 2 weeks ago. Little more practice with this ball and I know I'm going to score big.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Trav


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: umusttap 01/17/2008 23:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I am shocked that people have had bad experiences with this ball. I got mine tonight and had it drilled by an average hole puncher. I drilled it the pin above the ring finger. I average about a 170-185 depending on the house. Anyway, my first two games tonight with it was a 209 and a 213. Not great I know but this ball rocks. League play is on a 43 oil pattern and this ball hooked crazy out of the box. I thought I lost it and bang snapped right back and it hits like a mack truck. I hope I cleared some minor mishaps up and you find it useful!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by umusttap


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: teninthepit 01/15/2008 02:02 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a Saturday morning youth bowler and I carry an average of 212 in my league. I got a Black Widow Bite to go long and show some stuff on the backend. Well it didn't, went 50 feet before it reacted. I throw the ball pretty hard and have a high rev rate and should have stayed with my Twisted and my original Black Widow. I could have used the money but blew it on a piece of junk, sold it to a friend for $50.00 and he isn't doesn't like it either.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by teninthepit


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: 01/14/2008 17:14 ( stars)


 
I am a youth bowler and I average a 190 on league. On my birthday I got a 15 pound Black Widow bite and got it drilled to go long and snap hard WOW; I could not believe how much it hooked. I throw the ball pretty hard and have a high rev rate. I have never seen a ball hook more. The bite is definitely for heavy oil. This ball does every Hammer said it would. I have finally found what I was looking for in a brand.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: bfranklin 01/04/2008 23:27 ( stars)


 
So far this year I have owned a No Mercy Beat'N, a RXS 300, an NVS, and the Bite is by far the best ball I have seen thrown this year. This ball will hook circles around the other Black Widow bowling balls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: tellitright 01/14/2008 19:55 ( stars)

114 of 125 people found this review helpful.


 
I am very disappointed in this ball and even more disappointed in our industry. I have posted my problems with the Bite on at least four other websites only to see them taken down within hours or days. I hope this is not the same for this website. This must be a small closed industry. I am posting here and waiting to see if it stays up. If it does I will post further. For now let me say that this ball is not what it claims to be, I love my other Black Widows but I guess I spoke out against the wrong person?, ball? who knows. Shame on you Ebonite. BowlingBall.com please have the honor to keep this post up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tellitright


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: stevej 01/13/2008 13:01 ( stars)

69 of 72 people found this review helpful.


 
About me profile. I carry a 202 average, age 56, stroker, bowling for 35 years.
This ball is terrible, it does not carries well regardless of the conditions. I swear that I throw one ball and see the most awesome reaction that I have ever seen, next shot goes 55 feet. When I wipe the ball off it helps but the oil rings stay on the ball, I believe the ball may have trouble with oil absorption. Not sure ask around first maybe there was a bad batch. I certainly would not recommend. Mine has not cracking issues however there is a small spot on the back of the ball that looks funny, like it was placed against a heater could be a coverstock curing issue, any I do not know, ask Ebonite.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by stevej


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Former Hammer Fan 02/15/2008 20:34 ( stars)

54 of 57 people found this review helpful.


 
Extremely disappointed. There is not too much to say, it is a let down in:
Reaction (very weak)
Performance (rolls early)
Carry (what carry)
Most of all quality (mine too, read the reviews)
Thanks bowlingball.com for posting this review, in advance, I just know you will allow the truth out. I posted to other review sites and they delete them, why because they all own retail sites and they are not in the bowling business like bowlingball.com. They own a lot of pro shops and have done a lot for our industry. I personally know of at least 22 portable lanes that they have donated to our troops overseas.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: slamminsammy 01/10/2008 13:19 ( stars)

33 of 34 people found this review helpful.


 
It's OK, definitely not like the Black Widow. I guess everyone gets lazy and tries to ride a wave which is just not right. The Black Widow Bite is just another ball, nothing special, it will do, but I could have saved a lot of money and you should too. Buy the Twisted Fury or the first Black Widow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by slamminsammy


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: hammerdown 01/07/2008 20:09 ( stars)

26 of 29 people found this review helpful.


 
I love Hammer but not this ball. I threw a dozen shots and the ball cracked, really never have seen anything like it, not near the holes and not lane damage. Went into the shop to see if I could get another one and two of the three we pulled out were odd looking, they looked like melted rubber in spots. I would steer clear of this one and go with the Black Widow.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerdown


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: bowling analysis 03/03/2008 08:02 ( stars)

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


 
It really seems to be a crap shoot on what you get lately with Ebonite, by the way they own Hammer. They also own Columbia and Track. I don't have much I really feel like talking about concerning my Hammer Black Widow Bite, it's bad, really bad. Does not roll well at all and I cannot seem to do anything to the surface to make a difference. I bowl regionals and know quite a few of the guys that work in the bowling industry, if anyone every found out who I was it could be bad for me but someone needs to sing this song. I do know that since Brian Graham left Ebonite there has not been much good coming out of Hopkinsville. Brian was a great communicator and a great bowler and he knew how to come out with a good ball and market it. I understand that his boss, who runs things there, is a person named Bob Reid. This guy doesn't even bowl and comes from the fishing lure business (I could be wrong about that, I have met him at trade shows and all I remember is that he talks none stop about himself and it is not bowling). I understand that Bob is the person who also has tried the price fixing scheme on bowling balls. Or should I say on bowling balls that are selling well. Reid came out with a fixed price list, meaning that if you were a bigger pro shop and bought 48 you got the same price as the guy who doesn't even stock the ball and buys one whenever he has it sold. By the way, he really sticks to his word. If the ball is not selling like he would like then it comes off the fixed price list. Nothing like a man without his word meaning anything. I can see how marketing can help but WOW he doesn't even bowl, you gotta love this game to go anywhere with it, in the long run those in this sport who don't love it will leave or abuse it. Sorry I got off there, bottom line my Bite is bad, why take a chance that you may get a good one, what is this some kind of raffle, maybe you'll win, maybe you won't. DON'T BUY EBONITE. BYW, I have posted this exact same review at four different places I hope it shows up here, the voice of the bowler is being muffled at other sites.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowling analysis


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: dancinginthesun 01/09/2008 20:42 ( stars)

22 of 23 people found this review helpful.


 
I already returned my Black Widow Bite because of a crack and asked for a Twisted Fury instead. WOW the Twisted is awesome, the Bite did just that for me it bites and not in a hooking way. Did not like the roll. I still like Hammer but I like my Black Widow. Save your money on the Bite.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Juiceman 02/02/2008 20:41 ( stars)

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.


 
REALLY wish I would have come to bowlingball.com first before I went to my pro shop. From now on I will buy here as well. Great information, love the Perfect scale, that just makes great sense. Anyway, bought the Bite, the bridge cracked, yeah my pro shop replaced it, but Ebonite would not do anything about the drilling, I had 2 games on it, the drilling cost me $50.00 for both balls. So I got the Twisted Fury, which I like the reaction better anyway. SAVE YOUR MONEY.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: bowlingball.com staff review by Shawn Ryan 01/22/2008 08:44 ( stars)

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


 
Hammer Bowling’s Black Widow Bite is a Black Widow on steroids. The only thing that has changed on this ball compared to the original Black Widow is the coverstock and oh boy what a change it is. Compared to the Black Widow, the Bite needs a lot more oil. If you have a lot of hand and are bowling in a house with a lot of friction, you will have to play way inside in order to keep this ball from burning up in the front and make little to no movement in the back. For those that do not really get a lot on the ball, this ball will work for you anywhere. My Bite is drilled with the pin above the bridge, cg kicked and the MB 3 inches to the left of my thumb (I’m left handed) with a weight hole. While using this ball on the typical house shot in the track, it tended to be way over under for me, if I got it outside too quick it burned up and if I missed in, it would u-turn in the back. In order for this ball to do what it is intended to do I had to move inside with it and open up the lane. Once I got inside, I had the world, I could miss out and it’d make it back and if I missed in, I had the more push than I could imagine. Once I got to the right part of the lane I couldn’t put it down. Over all, this ball is stronger than what it is made out to be since it is similar looking to its predecessor. Make no mistake if this ball is drilled to strong, if the center you bowl at tends to hook up front or a combo of both, this ball will not make the turn it is suppose to because it is burning up not because it doesn’t hook.

Shawn Ryan
2005 Jr. Team USA Member
Manager
Striking Advantage Pro Shop
River Lanes
Titusville Florida


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com staff review by Shawn Ryan


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: steelydan 01/07/2008 20:17 ( stars)

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


 
I came across this review and had to chime in. I ordered one and it came cracked. They quickly sent another and it had what looked like a spot on the ball that had been hit with a hot iron, melted. Got a third one, should have stuck with my original Black Widow because this ball does just what it says it bites. Very disappointed with the reaction and there definitely seems to be some problems with production.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: lucretius 01/29/2008 14:54 ( stars)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


 
I am really upset giving it a one because it is nothing special. If you own the Black Widow it may hook a few boards more but just another ball because it was time to release the ball. I bought one even though the price went up. My last Hammer, Brunswick make room for the return of a former fan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: barak obama 04/14/2008 16:16 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I really hate this ball. I should have listened to all the reviews but I listened to my pro shop guy instead. Needless to say after a few plug and re-drills he agreed to replace the Bite with a Ultra Zone. Now that is a winner. My average is up and I am quite happen. Sorry I didn't listen to you bowlingball.com reviewers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: hammeringdown 01/20/2008 12:23 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I am an avid Hammer dude, I have about 12 Hammer bowling balls. I presently carry a 227 in four leagues. I haven't seen the problem that I have read about in the other reviews but I will say that it is not like the Black Widow, one of my favs, the Bite carries well, I did have to play around quite a bit with the coverstock. Could not roll it OOB(out of the box) too jumpy. It's good but definitely not a 5.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: darlingbaby 01/08/2008 20:36 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Just OK, a real let down after the other Black Widows. If you already have one of those two I would not recommend this ball, buy the Brunswick Twisted, that ball is awesome or buy the Black Widow. BYW, mine has an odd looking spot on it as well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: gadgetball 01/23/2011 14:43 ( stars)


 
I had this ball drilled pin under ring finger 4x4 with balance hole (not a fan of balance holes but had to make it legal). My PAP is 5 over, 1 up. Pin is 3.5" and in line with CG and MB. 4000grit. This is my new favorite layout and now most hookingest ball in my arsenal. I play best on a THS by playing around 30 and swinging out to about 10 +/-. Ive had great success with the Virtual Gravity (4.25" pin, mass bias kicked out a bit, drilled 40/4.5/40 no balance hole). I originally had the BWB drilled 80/3.5/70 pin up and was a huge fail. Plugged it and redrilled 4x4. I tell you what people - its all about how the ball is drilled! Its just a matter of finding what drill pattern works best for your individual style. The trial and error can get quite expensive, but once you find it, you can pretty much use that pattern on any ball in the future. Averaged 236 over 6 games last week in league play with this ball in 2 seperate houses.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gadgetball


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: gadgetball 04/20/2010 16:23 ( stars)


 
PAP - 5 over 1 up
DRILL - 4x4 pin under
AVERAGE - 208
STYLE - Tweener
BALL SPEED - Medium (15mph)

I originally had this ball drilled 80/3&3/8/70 pin up. Didnt care for it so put it away. 2 years later I decided to have it redrilled. My driller surprised me and went with a 4x4 drilling pin under. Never had a pin-under drill before, and WOW this ball is more aggressive and carries as well as my first and most favorite ball ever Virtual Gravity (40/4.5/40 pin up 4" pin). This drill pattern made the ball cut thru heavy oil with ease laying down at 30 swinging out to 10 or 8 with a beautiful break back into the pocket with plenty of energy. I was absolutely amazed. Totally unexpected. This is now the most aggressive ball in my arsenal. That night I used it in league and played all 3 games with it. Went 251, 226, 236!
Its all about how the ball is drilled for your style of play.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gadgetball


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Snoogy Christ 05/30/2008 21:27 ( stars)


 
First of I would like to say that you should definitley not buy this ball. This is for sure the worst bowling ball I have ever owned. I own all the balck widows and more and all of them have not had such a sudden decrease in ball reaction. When I first got the ball it was great. Probably the best ball I had ever thrown. Then about 40 games after I got it, It started dying. The wierd thing is that every time I go bowling, the first couple of shots are amazing. But then Ill start to notice a decrease in reaction. And trust me, ive done about everything to try to bring it back to when I first got the ball but nothing has worked. And I have cleaned it after every use. So I would say that if you are considering buying this ball, DONT. Its not worth it. Go with the black widow solid or pearl, but not this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: katy-db 05/29/2008 16:40 ( stars)


 
This ball is amazing. The only con I've noticed is that the coverstock scratches very easily. Despite everyone's negative review, I wanted to try it myself (I do not own either of the previous black widows). This past fall, I threw only 2 700s with previous equipment. I have 5 700s in 3 weeks using this ball (including a 299). It has great length and carry-down. Off the friction, it grips hard and rips through the pindeck. Maybe it's just my release, but I get A LOT of pin-action out of this ball. I'm using it out-of-box with no resurface, it doesn't need it yet (I'm going on my 4th week with it) Great buy, cheers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by katy-db


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: smooooothie 03/01/2008 14:22 ( stars)


 
COME ON, I didn't give it a one simply because they always will come out with something worst. Very disappointing. It is less reactive than both of my other Widows. Compared to my Ultra Zone, that's another story, the Ultra ate it up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: bigtimebowler316 02/27/2008 17:29 ( stars)


 
All I have to say is this ball is not what I thought it would be. The Black Widow Bite can hook sure but it is uncontrollable I could not find a line to the pocket. Every time I moved, the ball would do something else, my ball didn't crack but I know about 5 guys that said that theirs did, all I have to say is BIG disappointment.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bigtimebowler316


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: truth comes out 02/26/2008 06:00 ( stars)


 
To cenastyle who used to have a U Dot and got dupped into a Bite. You asked for advice, do what I did. I ask for my money back and got another ball. Your ball has a full warranty on it and there are bowlers who have had some big issues with this ball. Ebonite should warranty this ball without giving you further problems. The ball really does Bite, the entire Ebonite line is a little weak.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: revman 02/21/2008 10:05 ( stars)


 
Damn, I should have listened to the public and all the reviews rather than my FORMER ball driller dude who had too many Black Widow Bites in stock. Very disappointed in the reaction and it looks like it is cracking around the fingers. My ball driller dude says that he can plug it. Thanks for nothing. Went online and bought two new balls. Got the Ultra Zone and the Cell. Went to a new pro shop and a least my game is back and improving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: hammer slammer 02/19/2008 02:11 ( stars)


 
I throw everything and anything Hammer. HEY HAMMER what happened. This is not your usual stuff. Heard the guy that heads up Hammer, who is a great bowler, left the company and that the guy that calls the shots doesn't even bowl. In fact on forums and other reviews sites, not as good as this site though, they say the guy was in the fishing lure business. Good time for Brunswick and Storm to get the ball rolling, sorry could not resist the pun. Save your money or buy the Black Widow, I will say the Ultra Zone looks good, don't have it but threw my friends. If you got to have a Bite, SAVE YOUR MONEY for the next one, they can't release two balls in a row like this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: Millers Pro Shop 02/16/2008 21:01 ( stars)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
Just first let me say the Fury is a great ball. Saw the deal bowlingball.com had and bought two cases for my back yard shop. BYW, thanks to Keith Spear for teaching me everything that I know that is worth knowing about ball drilling and lay outs. Mike is still grateful for all the coaching help and helping him get on TV. Dana says "Hi" and thanks for all your help. Best bowling website out there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Bite Reviewed By: sam houston 02/11/2008 04:13 ( stars)


 
I have read the reviews and am a little suspicious of the people who claim they don't understand. Why would so many people have trouble with the coverstock and then there are people who don't understand. My suspicion is that they are Ebonite staffers or employees. I have one and the bridge cracked. I don't care but that is unusual for newer balls. The roll is good, but considering all the hype I like the Black Widow better and find that my Twisted Fury rolls stronger.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 87 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter