Go to Hammer Black Widow Pearl »

Only show reviews for Hammer Black Widow Pearl

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.41Write a Review    Read all 98 reviews

I Love It
 
72% (71 of 98)
I Like It
 
12% (12 of 98)
It's Ok
 
6% (6 of 98)
I Don't Like It
 
2% (2 of 98)
I Hate It
 
7% (7 of 98)

Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 07/26/2007 13:43 ( stars)

83 of 84 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click Layout Image to Enlarge


Hammer has done it again!

Somehow they were able to bring all the things that you wished your original Black Widow did to their new release, the Black Widow Pearl.

We drilled the Pearl the same way we had our favorite Black Widow drilled. The pin is about 5" from our PAP (5 1/8" over, 1/8" up) and the mass bias is kicked about 2" right of the thumb. We did have to put a small balance hole in the ball and we did this 4" right of the center of the grip.

When our Black Widow is getting to be too much ball the Widow Pearl picks up right where it would leave off. It gave a cleaner reaction through the front part of the lane with plenty to offer on the backend. The way our house shot has been this summer we did decide to go ahead and bring it down from its box finish to a 4000 grit Abralon surface. This smoothed the reaction out and made it a little more usable for our tester.

All in all if you want the perfect compliment to your Black Widow the Black Widow Pearl is the ball to get.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: BlackWidow08 09/09/2007 23:29 ( stars)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


 
I have thrown many different bowling balls but, the Hammer Black Widow Pearl has the sickest backend I have seen. It has excellent length which makes it very controllable. It releases within a few feet of the pins and crushes the pocket. My average before this ball was a 150 and it is now a 180. This ball is AMAZING!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: the striker 06/15/2007 20:56 ( stars)

4 of 23 people found this review helpful.


 
If you are going to get a ball with reactive resin on it get the Total Inferno. Now that I got the Hammer Black Widow Pearl and after I bowled with it I got a Total Inferno, best decision to get the Total Inferno.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by the striker


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: jaikens 09/27/2008 19:17 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    120
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Just bought this ball for my husbands birthday and tried it at both our bowling alley the same day. I have 2 review in one here.



Positive Review:



When we got it drilled the first thing the guy said is " You know how many bowlers would love this ball right now just because of its excellent scalling" of course hubby felt all proud that I got him a top of the line ball as the driller told him :-)



First time he threw this ball I was impressed. He is a straight right handed shooter and it handled so well and went straight where he aimed. You can actually feel the power this ball has the second it hits the lane. He is 100% happy with its performance. We will also be purchasing one for myself shortly from bowlingball.com of course.



F.Y.I Review:



We have 2 bowling alley here and both use different type of ball return mechanism. The all metal mechanism was scratching the ball when it was sending it back. They advised the scratches were easily removable when we would buff it. Just thought I would share this info as it may be helpful to some.



Thanks bowlingball.com for your great service, product availability and price.



Joelle (Canada)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: cerobbins 06/12/2007 12:46 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I was lucky enough to throw the Hammer Black Widow Pearl bowling ball with the owner of my local pro shop and if you like the Black Widow you are going to love the pearl. It seems to be more controllable yet turns harder on the backend and always crushes the pocket.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: brian6977 03/17/2008 05:36 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    155
Sport Shot Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Specs: 15lb. 2oz.
Top weight 3 1/2 oz.
style: Tweener
I had this ball drilled with the #1 drilling for this ball with medium track pin above and between the fingers pap is 5 1/2" and a 4" balance hole.
Now to the good stuff the review itself. I absolutely love this ball i also have a AMF 300 Nighthawk and it was a little to hooky for me on lanes i bowl on so i got this for it's length. It has very good length a sharp breakpoint and massive backend reaction. I just bowled with it for the first time last night on my league and i bowled a 127 just trying to figure out where to throw it, but it picked up the second and third game 182 for the second and a 257 the third game for a descent 566 series. I have a good feeling there are some good games to come with this ball. Well i hope this review will help the tweeners of the bowling world to choose this ball. Thanks for reading my review Brian.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brian6977


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: jayism21 09/05/2007 00:40 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I really liked the Hammer Black Widow Pearl bowling ball. It is a big jump up since I'm using it for the first time in a fall league. My average has jumped up 30 pins. I'm a "rookie" bowler this year and this ball has helped my game tremendously! It has hard snap into the pocket, even on a off throw it knocked down 8 pins!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: machnroll16 07/14/2007 13:55 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I got the Hammer Black Widow Pearl ball a week ago and within this past week, I have raised my high from 155 to 205! I used to average around 130 using the house balls, but my dad told me I would do better if I had my own ball. He bought me this ball as a birthday present and I could not be happier. My average is now up to around 170. Once you get in a groove, this thing is unstoppable! Looks awesome as well! Highly recommended!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: supra930 02/18/2009 19:49 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Style    Cranker
 
awesome ball goes exactly where you want it to go.i keep getting better and better every week using this ball!!I recently broke my high game score.i couldnt have done it without this ball!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by supra930


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: BatkidValentine28 08/01/2008 05:29 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    208
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
The black widow pearl is the best ball that i have over thrown, and once again, it is starting to take crap along with the bite because pro shops have nothing better to moan about.

This ball goes long, and bites hard on the backend with a CONTROLLABLE hook off of the dry and doesnt seem to slide in the oil too bad.

another great ball by hammer, just dont get the layout that makes it skid beyond all goodness


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BatkidValentine28


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Black Widow 06/17/2008 13:00 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The black widow pearl is an awesome ball, I am a tweener and get med revs and around 15-16 mph. I have thrown both the black widow pearl and black widow and they both are great balls I dont see why people are complaining about this ball I have found almost no better balls. I have a 210 average and I have been bowling since I was 8 years old I have thrown many bowling balls. The black widow pearl is more reactive than the black widow, but only in the back end. it has almost no mid section but that again depends on the bowlers style, and this ball has an amazing backend the backend on this pearl kills the widow original. I would recomend this ball to a league bowler with atleast a 150+ average and even my friend who is at a 232 average loves this ball it reacts nicely in heavy oil and not to much in medium oi and is sill very controlable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: qbowls3bills 04/04/2008 16:06 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I got a black widow pearl 2 months ago, and wow, it is amazing. the ball has great backend and great length. i am a 150 average bowler and with this ball i have only shot under 200 a few times. I RECCOMEND THIS BALL 2 ANYONE GREAT COMPLIMENT TO THE SOLID

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by qbowls3bills


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Travis77 02/15/2008 00:58 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The Black Widow Pearl was purchased for me as a gift. Tue nights I bowl on a league. The first time I bowled with it on my league, I scored low 600 series, the following week, (which was on my birthday), I scored a 704 series, a 212, 280, and 212. My average is about 183. I am proud to say, that I bowled my first 700 series with the Hammer Black Widow Pearl and my highest league game(280)with that same ball. You can't go wrong buying a Black Widow Pearl, or for that matter, any Hammer bowling ball. Like they say, "Nothing hits like a Hammer". Thank you Hammer and thank you Bowlingball.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: pacmans95 11/21/2007 19:14 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I gotta say this ball is not all it's cracked up to be. I've had it a year now and and I am no better with it. In fact I went back to my old ball that I've had for 30 years, the Columbia 300 I am more stabled with the Columbia 300 and if I mess up with my form the Columbia 300 makes up for it somehow. The Columbia just does it for me. I am going to buy another Columbia 300 but I need a ball that is not very critical on my release but can still have a great hook.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: mrzulu757 08/23/2007 23:04 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I purchased the Black Widow Pearl and had it drilled with a versatile layout which gives me a nice smooth arc. Great for medium oil and gets better when the lanes breaks down. I bowl on a 40' med oil pattern and get a great reaction.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: morpheusone 08/16/2007 23:31 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I haven't bowled in a year. My last league play was over five years ago. Went to the lanes a couple of times recently with my old Rhino Pro. Should have left it on the racks at the bowling alley. Got my Hammer Black Widow Pearl today and WOW!! Went with a 15 pound. First game out of the box was a 207 then a 190 and a 191. Awesome backend so much better than my old Rhino. I felt like my bowling game is back and have a team for a league now. Crushes the pocket. Even on the bad throws still coming up with more pins than expected.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: dls20 02/17/2011 18:29 ( stars)


 
It is the best ball I have ever had.It has the most craziest hook on it.My average jumed up from 138 to the high 150s with it and stayed there.It is helpful in tournaments which i bowl the best in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: theperfectbowler793 01/12/2010 22:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I honestly love this ball very consistent through the mid part of the lane and hits very hard, though sometimes too hard some ringing ten pins and stone 8's but thats bowling. I've had some of my highest games with this ball love it. It's a great compliment to the original black widow

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by theperfectbowler793


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: kjleon1 12/22/2009 07:18 ( stars)


 
Right handed
Stroke style
Average: 190+

I purchased this ball in early 2009 to compliment the original Black Widow. Great for house/league shots, and even better on the Sport shot. I highly recommend this ball for anyone looking to upgrade their game.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: reddogg 09/30/2009 19:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I have my widow pearl drilled pin under and between fingers with mb over 1 1/2in and down from thumb.I have had this ball since it came out and it still is going strong. I usually keep the surface at 2000 dull as it gives me a much more consistant reaction than oob did.It still has a really strong backend.I have had all the widows and this has to be my favorite with the original a close second.With the same drilling and surface i would have to say that the pearl is about 4-5 boards stronger than the original for me.It is still one of my favorites as i have bowled some honor scores with it.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by reddogg


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: mj bowler 76 04/18/2009 21:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/16- 4 3/8 61/64 3/8r 1/8 l
 
ive had this ball for over a year and its a very long and strong ball. i also have the venom and these balls are a nice 1-2 punch. as advertised its the best on medium lanes; it tends to squirt on heavy, but on medium to light look out!!! i even have to slow down a little because it hits too hard leaving single pins. NICE BALL!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mj bowler 76


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: crunkified2009 03/10/2009 17:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I've had this ball for about a year now.. It's an amazing ball on Medium Oiled lanes.. i throw with only two fingers so it fits my style perfectly... The hook on this ball is INCREDIBLE sometimes it's even too much ball for me. But this ball was well worth the money spent.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by crunkified2009


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: jomtch 02/21/2009 07:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    148
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
So far I love this ball. Im a bowler that consistanly hits the pocket, same approach just about 95% of the time. With my previous ball, the pin action was not happening. What shouldve been potential strikes, ended up being splits 4 out of 10 frames. This ball cleaned that up. An under-average bowler (148.0). Within a week of practice and tips from the local bowling alley guru I have increased my average to 194 in league play this week. Still believe I have alot of room for improvement, since im still getting used to optimal speed and ball placement. I will test a few more products that I ordered from ballingball.com and will have another update soon. Mitch Pax Rvr, MD.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: jmjohn 01/23/2009 13:07 ( stars)


 
I used to love it, but now, I don't. After less than two seasons the ball simply quit reacting and driving to the pocket. I have had the ball resurfaced three times and was told by the local pro shop that the ball would never be the same. He was right. It's great out of the box but dies a quick death. If you are looking for more than two years out of ball, this is not the one for you. It's now become a very expensive spare ball. I'm going back to Brunswick, and staying there!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: toxicmatt 01/09/2009 11:15 ( stars)


 
This is my first reactive bowling ball. I was just curving the 11 lb house ball. Now with the 12 lb black widow pearl i cant seem to get it down right. Im usually a 2 finger bowler but when i do it now, it seems to hook way to early. Im not sure what im doing wrong? When i use my thumb i cant get it to curve at all. Someone help!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: ozzydude98 12/19/2008 01:12 ( stars)


 
this ball loses it's hook really quickly, because i bowled 70 games with it, then i started to slowly lose its hook, and now 115 games later it hooks like a plastic ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ozzydude98


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: rjmahon 12/08/2008 01:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This is the best bowling ball by far that I have ever purchased. I used to be about a 180 average bowler that relied mainly on picking up spares with maybe 2-4 strikes a game. I now average a 206 and strikes are plentiful. I hardly leave those pesky 10 pins anymore. The late back end movement on this ball is a beautiful thing to watch. It explodes in the pocket like no ball I\'ve ever seen.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: nc1994 12/05/2008 08:51 ( stars)


 
I love this ball. It's perfect for my strike ball. About a week after I bought this ball I bowled my highest game 253. And i just started about 3 months ago and now my average is 195 this ball has helped alot.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by nc1994


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: epilepticcadaver 12/01/2008 13:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    214
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
This ball has been amazing for me. I average around 200 and have brought it up to 215 since buying this ball. Has great backend and is very forgiving. drives through pins so i leave very few 7 pins. (left handed bowler). great for people who put a little speed on the ball. great ball. will buy another once i wear this one out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by epilepticcadaver


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: big bird 11/28/2008 21:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
i got this ball about 5 months ago and it was kindda a let down. if you hit any carry down with this ball it will not hook. it roles very far down the lane before it reads the lane. i also have left a lot of splits and solid tens with the pearl because of the massive amount of backend. it's ok if the lane conditions are right, but i think i like my track kenetic pearl a lot better

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by big bird


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: theprodigy300 10/29/2008 17:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    199
Sport Shot Average    189
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
favorite ball so far very controllable, gets through the heads with ease sharp back end and great pin reaction. on a fresh ths the ball tends to go too long and on medium dry it hooks too much but on medium oily this is the perfect ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by theprodigy300


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: JC4322 09/12/2008 15:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    201
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I JUST GO MY PEARL DRILLED AND IT IS ALL GOOD. USED IT THE LAST TWO NITES AND BETWEEN THE SIX GAMES I AM AVERAGING 210. NOT TO BAD OUT OF THE BOX WITH LEARN AS YOU GO. THANKS DAVE YOU HOOKED ME UP WITH A WINNER.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JC4322


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: AlphaW0lf 07/30/2008 15:51 ( stars)


 
The black widow pearl was a very good ball to start with, but I did not realize how much oil it soaked up. After reviving it, the power came back. Perfect ball for any house conditions, and a lot of fun to watch people around you go, how did it make that turn?!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AlphaW0lf


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Cowboyup 07/21/2008 23:23 ( stars)


 
OK I JUST GOT MY BLACK WIDOW PEARL DRILLED THE LAYOUT WAS THE PIN WAS 5 1/2 FROM THE PAP NO BALLANCE HOLE NEEDED IT CARRIED DOWN THE LANE AND BROKE INTO THE POCKET WITH POWER TO SPARE THE BACK END WAS EXCELLENT THIS WAS BOWLED ON A PBA CHAMELEON PATTERN. I HOPE TO GET IT ON THE NORMAL HOUSE OIL PATTERN TO SEE WHAT IT WILL DO

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: cory2468 06/29/2008 22:20 ( stars)


 
great ball hooks a ton for a pearl but it still goes long i loved it won three tournimentw with the ball so it's good for tourniment patterns expecialy when the lanes break down a little.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cory2468


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: one day 300 06/15/2008 00:34 ( stars)


 
this the first ball that give me the action needed. the pocket is no longer a problem. i throw in between first and second arrow from the right. and it works like a charm... thanks hammer for the black widow pearl ...avg went from a 114 to a 161 in less than two months after a 14 year lay off...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by one day 300


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Olee 05/16/2008 18:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4" 1/4" up
 
I drilled this thing up just about the same as the picture shown in the first review other than my PAP of 4" up 3/4". This ball flat pounds the pocket. I've thrown this on a modified 42' house shot in heavy oil, and it hits the corner and moves... HARD. I must warn though, this ball, with the layout shown anyways, might be a bit too angular for some bowlers. Other than that, if you like a ball that just flat hits like a truck and eats up the backend, this is it... plain and simple. Oil absorbtion is fantastic and after 40 games remains to be so. Great recovery on a wide miss, but, will drive through the head pin on and inside miss. Very fun ball to roll.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Olee


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: stryker 05/12/2008 00:03 ( stars)


 
i just boughtthe BWP THURSDAY june 8,08 the ball was drilled by the owner of the bowling house.it was drilled as a finger tip with agression.i bowled a 590 set as i was getting used to it. the last time i bowled close to 600 set was beginning with the league of 2007.then in 08 i was lucky to make 480 in a 3 game set. i found a miracle ball a 15lb miracle.i have more control of the ball it does the work i just yell strike!!! AND HAMBONE.kudoes to the HAMMER BWP

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: USAFbowler 05/03/2008 17:07 ( stars)


 
I've had this ball for a little less than a year and I love it! Out of box for me, haven't done anything to it. You can see a few videos of me throwing it on youtube (just look for BWP 1-4). Great reaction, very controllable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: themadness74 03/24/2008 14:58 ( stars)


 
Awesome ball. Iv thrown a straight ball all my life and finally wanted to learn how to throw a hook the proper way.
I did a lot of research before purchasing a ball and I'm glad i went with the black widow pearl. I can now throw a hook ball! Hits the pins very hard as well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by themadness74


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: hammerman92 03/16/2008 23:55 ( stars)


 
This was my first high performance ball and I love it hooks to much when the lanes break down tho but that's it's only down fall. It get great length also but that's because it's a pearl ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerman92


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: 2fingerwonder 03/15/2008 14:43 ( stars)


 
I beleve that the Widow Pearl is the best hammer out there. the ball has the perfect amount of movement on the lane. weather your a tweener or cranker this ball is the easiest ball to adjust to. i have had this ball science christmas 2007 and have thrown a 296 and 25 strikes in a row in a high school tournament. it is by far the best ball i have thrown. ;)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2fingerwonder


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: stwberlin 03/11/2008 16:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I like the very strong hook of the Hammer Black Widow at the backend. Furthermore, this ball hits very impressively. As a result of this hitting power, this ball forgives missing the exact target point. If you touch the front pin, it will be at least a 9 in most cases.
It goes very long and hooks very strong at the end. Therefore, it does not forgive too much speed (tend to leave 1/2/4/10 or 1/2/10). So, if you play a very changeless speed, this ball is nearly perfect.
Of course, this very reactive ball is not made for dry lanes. You can play it with medium or low speed on oily lanes or with higher speeds at medium oil conditions.
I do not recommend it for rookies starting to play a hook (it's too speed sensitive).
I do not recommend it as the only ball in the rack (it's not good for dry lanes).
I recommend it for experienced players playing high revs (very strong backend reaction).
I recommend it for players with a constant speed (hits strong and forgives some deviation from the pocket).


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by stwberlin


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Revs300 03/09/2008 13:00 ( stars)


 
I must say that after being a Hammer fanatic for years, I have been very disappointed lately. In the last two years, I have bought and rilled a raw pain, a red doom, a purple vibe, and this... the almighty BWP. I am sorry to say that this ball has been nothing shy of horrible for me. I hit the ball well, play deep, and this has been one of the most inconsistent skid/flippy balls I have ever owned. By total NV which is almost wore out, is far more consistent and hits with much more carry. I have tried playing with the surface a bit to no avail... Dating back to the Burgundy Hammer is the last Hammer product that I could truly call awesome. I wish they would bring that one back, then I promise a good review for Hammer!
Good Luck


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Revs300


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: ghost_hunter 03/07/2008 23:38 ( stars)


 
Just finished bowling with this ball and it's nothing short of amazing. It holds so much longer than the original Widow, which fits my throw perfectly. So glad I chose this one over the Bite, highly recommended.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: sleepwalker2012 01/20/2008 15:32 ( stars)


 
I just bought the Black Widow Pearl and I bowled with it that same night and I bowled a 224,179,215. I love it very much and I would suggest to a lost of people to get the Black Widow Pearl.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: imacjoe92 01/13/2008 14:03 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Black Widow Pearl is easily the greatest bowling ball I've ever owned. It works great on any oil condition, provided you can adjust your mark. In high oil I start at the 20 board and as the lanes break down I gradually move left. Cranker, stroker it doesn't matter this ball is incredible. Even if you miss your mark this ball has such great hook potential it will come right back in, gutter balls are a thing of the past. If you're looking for loads of back end, this is the ball for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: BowlDemon 01/06/2008 14:38 ( stars)


 
Got this ball a few months ago after buying a regular Black Widow last year.
I wanting a 2nd/3rd game ball that could really cut through. Though I do like this ball I do not think it actually does what it claims. It could be that I usually bowl on wood lanes but this ball hooks VERY hard in the back end. I know its suppose to get down the lane and then make that snap but... the ball hooks so much I can only see myself using it as a first game ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: baseball9145 12/30/2007 00:52 ( stars)


 
That is a bad a@@ ball and I like how it drives really hard through the pocket and I just love how much backend is in the ball great ball to use and I highly recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Sundevil33 12/27/2007 09:23 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball at the beginning of the year and had it drilled for max length and a sharp angle in the backend. It took some time to get used to it but now that I am it is a MONSTER. Clean through the heads, sets up and then releases through the pins. Since I bought the pearl, three others on my league have purchased one. A great ball for what I was looking for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sundevil33


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: CherryShop 12/16/2007 20:44 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    209
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 1/2 up
 
I recently purchased the Hammer Black Widow Pearl and I have to say that this ball comes unglued off the dry and hits like a truck. I will also say if the house you bowl in has limited back end this ball may not be for you. I have to go to a more aggressive oil ball in the one house I bowl in due to limited backend. The widow usually comes out around the middle of the second game when I am looking for more length. I have never left so many pocket splits with a ball before this animal. If your house has lots of backend and you like to watch the ball hook and the pocket explode this is the one you are looking for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by CherryShop


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingfanatic28 11/25/2007 21:50 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I really enjoy this bowling ball. I have used it on medium oiled lanes today and I shot 637. I am a bowler with a 170 average. I also have the Brunswick Fury. I really like the Fury, but sometimes the fury gets too much reaction. Today, this ball was perfect. I would recommend this bowl for light, light-med, medium, and medium-light heavy oiled lane conditions. If you have the Brunswick Fury, this ball is better than the original Widow because the Widow is the same thing as the Fury, with the earliness of the hook, but gets less hook. I recommend the pearlized version of this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingfanatic28


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: strikinlefty 11/18/2007 15:57 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Black Widow Pearl bowling ball is great. I was averaging 206 but now I'm averaging 217. This ball is good in the back end just like my Burgundy Hammer, so I would seriously recommend this ball to everyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by strikinlefty


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: JPD252 11/09/2007 14:04 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Black Widow Pearl has great length and a freakishly strong backend. I need to fine tune mine because the backend is too strong. I also noticed that the ball is very speed sensitive for me. If I lighten up on my ball speed just a little the balls hits high very high. I've also found that my lines don't last long on a house shot. I'm a 200+ average bowler. Since getting this ball I've thrown 4 games between 150-180 and two games 250+. Like I said though speed sensitive and mine needs a counter weight hole.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: wahoob4u 10/23/2007 22:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I got the Hammer Black Widow Pearl on a Wednesday, got it drilled on Friday. Now mind that I am a 170ish average bowler. After four games Friday I left the lanes with a 196 average. So I bowl with it on Tuesday in the leagues. I threw a 635 with a high game of 236 in the first league and 627 with a high game of 255 in the second league. With my old ball it took me a year to get 2 career 600 sets. First night, I get 2 600 sets. This ball is AMAZING!!! Good length and awesome back end. This is the best ball out there by far!!! Thanks Hammer!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wahoob4u


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: scloud 10/23/2007 17:24 ( stars)


 
I loved the Hammer Black Widow Pearl when it came out the box but now it doesn't move. I even took it to the pro shop to be polished back up and it still doesn't' move. My Vibe moves more than the Hammer Black Widow Pearl. This ball only last for three months.
bowlingball.com comment: Try having the oil removed from the ball. There are many products on the market that can accomplish this. You should see the reaction return.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by scloud


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: hammerhead 10/18/2007 17:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I love this ball, I own all of the Hammer balls and this is by far the best. Great carry with a lot of forgiveness. I also love the color. Drilled with the pin just below the ring finger and I find that the ball goes long and doesn't over react on the back end. Also got a great price here at bowlingball.com and received the exact specs requested, all within 2 days of ordering, great customer service, as always. I am a medium speed/medium rev bowler carrying around 188, this ball has given me the chance to get my average up. I have been averaging 202 since I started using the Hammer Black Widow Pearl.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: BUFF1111 10/18/2007 13:27 ( stars)


 
I have a 207 average and have used a wide variety of balls over the last couple seasons until I found my "Power Machine" and fell in love. Needless to say when I found out it was discontinued I was crushed and hesitant on going with a different ball 7 weeks into league. But my pro shop guy suggested the Black Widow Pearl and said it's ability to go long and snap would be what I am used to with a little extra oomph. Holy cow was he right from center dot rolling over 2nd arrow the ball looks like it will not turn over in time..and then wham....it breaks hard into the pocket with a huge punch. As the lanes dried I moved ever so slightly left and it held for me. First night with it was 224, 236, 222. I did have the pin put right under the finger holes for maximum flip, but you can tweak as needed. BUY THIS BALL....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Kingpin10 09/24/2007 23:53 ( stars)


 
Just got my Hammer Black Widow Pearl drilled up today. KILLER!!! The hardest hitting ball I have ever seen. Out of the box shot a 166, 216, & 241. My average currently sits at 157, but I don't see that lasting long! A must have.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Allpro300 09/24/2007 08:51 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
WOW, I think I found my ball, after going to the Tornado Warning and then the Tropical Storm and then to a No Mercy then to an Angular One (279 game) and now to the Hammer Black Widow Pearl, which I have shot like 15 no-tap 300's but no regular 300. This ball is it this is da bomb.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Allpro300


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: jmixx5 09/16/2007 23:47 ( stars)


 
Before I purchased the Hammer Black Widow Pearl bowling ball I asked over 100 people in the 2 different leagues I bowl in and Hammer seemed to be the top choice. My friend has the Black widow and the length and aggressive back end are what I liked. I went with the Black widow Pearl. The back end was way more than I expected because I am just a up and in bowler but after making a few adjustments it was money every time. It is one hell of a ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: jjbowler589 09/08/2007 14:21 ( stars)


 
Great is the only word you can say but if you are dealing with a heavy oil pattern the Hammer Black Widow Pearl may not be a good ball to start with because it's all back end and may skid too far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jjbowler589


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: the perfect game 08/26/2007 11:21 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Black Widow Pearl bowling ball is great. I've always had trouble getting my ball to move on the backend. This ball turns hard on the backend and explodes into the pocket and carries very good as well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Bobgpss 08/21/2007 06:49 ( stars)


 
I love the drive of the Hammer Black Widow Pearl on medium conditions. It goes long and finishes into the pocket great. I've had fewer splits. I've already scored a 298 with it in only 4 weeks. Love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: clintcantshoot800 08/20/2007 15:09 ( stars)


 
Well I do not like this ball near as much as the solid Black Widow. I used it on first night of league and the ball would not move near as much as my solid did. We have a 40 ft of oil shot. I have the pin just to right of ring finger and mass bias one inch from the pin with the cg almost directly in line with the pin and mass bias.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: cylick 08/06/2007 02:52 ( stars)


 
I just bought this ball, and it's probably the best I have in my collection so far. It may be the way the lane is oiled at the alley, this ball has a nice arch as it gets released and then it snaps pretty hard. It offers a good sweep of the pins, and gives you a strike almost every time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: ttn546 07/31/2007 16:20 ( stars)


 
I recently drilled a Black Widow Pearl with a 4 ½ inch pin above my middle finger with the Mass Bias at 75 degrees with no balance hole. I used the ball at box finish. The ball is really clean through the fronts with a nice solid movement in the back. The ball does not provide an erratic turn in the back but a nice heavy rolling turn that hits just as hard as the Black Widow. With the ball being so clean in the front it does tend to squirt on the fresh condition but about five frames in the Widow Pearl provide some serious sting.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ttn546


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: dbt302 07/31/2007 14:48 ( stars)


 
This ball is unreal. It will blow the pins off the deck and gives more pin action on lighter hits than I've seen on any other ball. It is a little speed sensitive and can hook like crazy if too slow. I hit mine with a 2000 Abralon pad to get the shine off. A friend of mine hit his with a 1000 pad but it was too erratic and hit it with a 2000 to get the reaction he wanted. Out of the box I threw a 221-259-236 and then a mid 650 to back it up. It should be a fun winter league with this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: youngbowler 07/11/2007 17:04 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Black Widow Pearl bowling ball looks great. At first I didn't get the movement I wanted with the OOB (Out of Box) finish. I hit it with a 1000 and it gave me a better midlane read and nice strong backend. I also shot 300 with the ball in a regional. Love it,... great ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: ham_chop04 07/03/2007 01:27 ( stars)


 
I love the Hammer Black Widow Pearl bowling ball more than any of my other balls and I get a lot of use. If you want a ball for backend hook then this is your ball. The second day I threw this ball I had a 288. One thing about it, if I don't get it out there I leave a 10 pin sometimes on fresh oil. The ball is better when you get a little carry down, doesn't matter how I hit the pocket it rips the rack. Also best looking ball I have ever seen, thanks Hammer for a great product.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ham_chop04


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: adrielb 06/26/2007 13:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Just got my Hammer Black Widow Pearl drilled and it is by far the best looking ball on the market. The ball is exactly as advertised, it goes long down the lane and has a crazy, ridiculous back-end reaction. Winter leagues beware of those carrying the Hammer Black Widow Pearl!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by adrielb


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: lostlefty 06/26/2007 01:26 ( stars)


 
After using the Black Widow Pearl for 12 games, I'd call this ball "feast or famine". Specifically, when I find the proper match up of speed, release strength and line, it will strike non-stop. But hit it too hard or roll it too slow when there's friction in the midlane, and watch out, it leaves designer splits a plenty. As a result, this can at times be a very frustrating ball because it can switch from strike master to split monster without much warning. Still when it's good, it's oh-so good. (By the way, the black/red color combo is as good looking as the pictures suggest.)
I have this ball laid out with the #2 "All Purpose" drilling that Hammer shows on their website, which for me put the pin right in the middle finger hole and the mass bias marking on my VAL 3" below the PAP. Per Hammer's recommendation, the weight hole is 4" from the center of grip. My PAP is usually 4-5/8 over and 5/8 up, but with this ball I frequently see the weight hole on the PAP very early in the ball's roll, so I suggest sticking with Hammer's recommendations for the weight hole location as this is a very strong core.
My specs - tweener release, mildly speed dominant, and I prefer to play a small belly shot, which works well with this ball on fresh medium oiled lanes, but not so well once the front and mid part of the lane starts to develop some friction.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: dylanhoppe 06/24/2007 19:38 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Hey, the Hammer Black Widow Pearl ball looks cool.
I just got it and I know a kid who got one and bowled a 300 his second game he had it. I was there when it happened. When I get mine drilled I hope I will be happy with it like he is. His high game before that was 221!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Angel2Drew 06/23/2007 12:11 ( stars)


 
I am fairly a new bowler. Been using a hook ball since February. I got the Hammer Black Widow Pearl last night. Many were worried that being a women first off and a new bowler that I would not be able to handle such a powerful ball. All I can say is this ball is awesome. It has a very strong back end and did take me a few throws to get use to, but after finding my mark the ball did the rest. I absolutely love this ball. Ladies don't let this ball intimidate you it is well worth the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: hawkeye4life79 06/23/2007 00:14 ( stars)


 
I drilled up one of these bad boys last Wednesday right when my pro shop got them in. I ended up drilling it pin below middle finger CG kicked about an inch or so, MB a little below and right of the thumb. The Hammer Black Widow Pearl ball even with the pin under drilling is a very long ball with a huge backend movement. I threw this ball on the chameleon pattern and it really seemed to match up well if i kept my speed up. This ball isn't your regular skid flip ball though, most of them are squirmy and hard to control, not this one. 5 out of 5 for this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: drigerv93 06/22/2007 01:31 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Black Widow Pearl ball has the most backend than any ball I've ever owned so I suggest if you are going to buy this ball make sure you have time to practice because this ball is going to be hard to handle and this ball came out on 6/18/07 so every one else that says they used it during their leagues is not true.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by drigerv93


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: sten355 06/20/2007 09:10 ( stars)


 
I got the Hammer Black Widow Pearl bowling ball drilled last night and bowled the first game and then could not use it. Extremely aggressive. It, to me, is way more aggressive than the Black Widow and the Angular One. My buddy also had one drilled and bowled a couple warm up games and then shot his first 300 when the league started.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Bilvis 06/10/2007 22:25 ( stars)


 
How did you get to use it on the summer league since it doesn't come out till June 18th? Just wondering or are you a Hammer tester? Wanting to get one but not yet sure.
bowlingball.com comment. Yes we own and operate 15 pro shops besides multiple website. We have tested this ball and found it to be very aggressive, very.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: larry6319 06/08/2007 18:20 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I bowled with the Hammer Black Widow Pearl in my summer league and rolled a 249, 204, and a 255 for a 708 series. My first 700 series. This is a great ball. I will buy Hammer bowling balls as long as I am bowling. Keep up the good work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Hammer Tester 01/30/2008 08:24 ( stars)

68 of 72 people found this review helpful.


 
This is an issue that needs addressed. It should be brought to the attention of the consumers. Is there a problem at Ebonite. They were on top for the last year and a half, after being at the bottom, I am sure all of the bowlers remember the Deal and the Primal Instinct line, don't recall them, there are plenty of bowlers who do, I am one of them. I spent about $450.00 on those garbage balls and got nothing from Ebonite, not even an I'm sorry. Just left us all hanging.
Is Ebonite having the same problems again?
Read the Black Widow Bites reviews.
I purchased a Black Widow Pearl to replace my old one. This new one is nothing like my old one, it seems to have trouble absorbing the oil like the old one. I am also see small cracks around my fingers after one month. If they are having problems I would think that you should steer clear and go with something like Brunswick.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: precision pro shops ltd 02/01/2008 19:40 ( stars)

35 of 36 people found this review helpful.


 
As a loyal Ebonite pro shop and a big fan, I thought I should post this. My post has been removed from all other forums and review sites, I hope this site keeps it up. I hope that there are no issues with the resins that this company uses. After the Widow dominating the bowling world I have seen 3 of the last 12 Widow balls that I drilled come back due to very odd issues. Cracking that looks unique and something else I cannot quite describe. Look out for their stuff, not too sure about it. I am hopeful that they will correct any problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingball.com staff review by Shawn Ryan 07/26/2007 16:54 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I recently drilled a Black Widow Pearl with a 4 ½ inch pin above my middle finger with the Mass Bias at 75 degrees with no balance hole. I used the ball at box finish. The ball is really clean through the fronts with a nice solid movement in the back. The ball does not provide an erratic turn in the back but a nice heavy rolling turn that hits just as hard as the Black Widow. With the ball being so clean in the front it does tend to squirt on the fresh condition but about five frames in the Widow Pearl provide some serious sting.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com staff review by Shawn Ryan


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: tstr 01/23/2008 20:35 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I used to throw the Black Widow I thought that ball was great, after a year I kept reading reviews about the Pearl so I decided to see what all the hype was about. It was the best $120 I have ever spent. I have been slipping off my game I had a 178 average and it's down to 165. I have bowled 6 games with the pearl and I have thrown back to back 600 series. I am a lefty I stand all the way to the right throw my ball to the left gutter the ball rolls nice and hard then takes a vicious turn and hits the pocket HARD even if I throw off the pocket a little bit sometimes I still get a strike or a 9 out of it. Out of 5 Stars I give this ball a 10!!! Do yourself a favor and go get yourself a Black Widow Pearl.. just don't bowl against me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: DaMachine 10/28/2007 04:05 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I really don't like this ball. It does have a great carry down, and it rolls well, but for me, it has no break point. it just rolls. Overall, it's a good ball to have, but it could be better.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DaMachine


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: mushlock808 01/06/2010 15:53 ( stars)


 
This is a great ball, it preforms really well and it was a great value as most items from bowlingball.com have. Shipping was fast and free which is wonderful! We will buy from here again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mushlock808


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: brack45 07/16/2009 13:12 ( stars)


 
I am writing this review 2 years after this ball came out. But I started bowling 2 years ago and this was the first bowling ball I got. I never threw a hook and didn't know a thing about balls or bowling. But now I understand how great this ball is. I wish I never sold it. Great length and strong backend reaction. The only Hammer I have ever owned but I am looking at the Jigsaw now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brack45


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: Cowboyup77 08/08/2008 21:16 ( stars)


 
ONCE AGAIN HAMMER IS AHEAD OF THE GAME THE BLACK WIDOW PEARL IS A GREAT BALL I HAD MINE DRILLED FOR THE SMOTHE ARC LAYOUT THE PIN IS 4 1/2" FROM THE PAP WITH THE MASS BIAS NEAR THE BALL TRACK. I THROW IT ONE BOARD LEFT OF THE FIRST DOT AND IT SKIDS DOWN AND BREAKS INTO THE POCKET WITH POWER

AND CARRIES ALL THE PINS INTO THE PIT IT ALSO SENDS PINS ACROSS THE ALLEY. ( NOTHING HITS LIKE A HAMMER )


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: steven collings 03/21/2008 19:07 ( stars)


 
Very out raged at Ebonite, had the ball two weeks and it cracked around the finger very badly. No lane damage, NO INSERTS, 1/4 bridge, do not live in a cold or hot area, at least not lately. The small pro shop I deal at would not warranty the ball. I called Ebonite and let message after message after message. They are crap. I emailed bowlingball.com and they assured me that had I purchased it from them there would have been no issues. I did buy the Ultra Zone from them. Great email support. These guys are bowlers, they know their stuff.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: 44jt 03/22/2008 16:26 ( stars)


 
This ball is by far the best ball I have ever thrown. It just smashes the pocket!! my first game with it was 229. but that was in cosmic. Ive had it for about a week and i love it more than anyball Ive ever thrown.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: kelvin 02/26/2008 14:22 ( stars)


 
What the BLEEP is going on. I adore Hammer, something seems to have changed. I just got a Bite and another Black Widow Pearl just two weeks ago. The BWP reacts NOTHING like my original and the Bite is horrid. Are the having a problem? Are they using cheaper materials? What is really going on? There seems to have been a change. I bought an Ultra Zone and a Cell the other a while back and those bowling balls react.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kelvin


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: that1bowler300 02/20/2008 21:10 ( stars)


 
Alright first off, the guy who bought the Total Inferno after buying this ball needs to learn about ball surfaces and coverstocks. Just because a ball is a reactive resin doesn't mean its gonna hook. Just to let you know. So anyway, I bought a Widow Pearl and here's what I got out of it.
What I Got:
I had my Widow drilled with a 4 1/2 inch pin with the pin drilled out in the finger hole. The ball had amazing length on it, but it would never carry more than twice. So what I did was put a 2000 grit abralon finish on it and BAM! Carried anything near the pocket. But the occasional 10 pin stood. So if your Black Widow Pearl doesn't work the way you want it to, play around with the surface a little. You may find it the best ball you'll get.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by that1bowler300


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: hunger hippo 02/15/2008 19:45 ( stars)


 
Something is not quite right with the Black Widow Pearl, I just got my second one because my first one just plan wore out. This one is nothing and I mean nothing like the one I purchased last year. I did buy my ball last year from this site and bought it from another company by mistake this year, the other company also specializes in selling second quality vizaballs. I think I got a second.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hunger hippo


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: reidthewriting 01/18/2008 05:52 ( stars)


 
I had not bowled regularly in about 5 years, but used to average in the low 190s. I was using a Brunswick Zone, the original I believe, and just couldn't get much reaction on the bowl when I resumed this year. I was struggling along and averaging around 175 through the first 5 weeks.
Well, I just received this ball, and all I can say is WOW. I shot 237 the first game finishing with the last 8. It would have been higher, but I can't make a 10 pin yet with it and missed two of them. I didn't have my old ball with me.
The ball is drilled in the standard recommendation and hits very, very hard. I bowled three games and shot 660. EVERY light hit carried. I left one solid 7 and couple solid 10s on pocket hits.
The only negative is as someone that doesn't bowl often, I will still need another ball for 10s and even 6s. I could always flatten out the wrist with the old Zone and was about 98% on 10s, but missed both and chopped a 6 10 because the ball has some finish to it no matter what else I do.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: pequot 11/17/2007 14:54 ( stars)


 
Without a doubt the best ball I have ever used. It carries better than anything in my bowling bag. First night out shot a 788, my high. I have also noticed that it is very easy to keep clean. I would and do recommend the Black Widow Pearl bowling ball by Hammer to all my friends. I recommend elite to my enemies. ;)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: iamabowlingnut 10/20/2007 12:57 ( stars)


 
The Hammer Black Widow Pearl hooks about seven more boards than my Black Widow, even on most conditions. It is about two boards less than my Fury. Could be the layouts. BWP hits hard and carries well, very pleased, buy one today and watch your average go up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by iamabowlingnut


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: qmartfan 09/15/2007 09:58 ( stars)


 
Thanks to bowlingball.com I am now a Hammer loyalist. I could not find the Hammer line in any of the pro shops in our area a few years ago. I could only find them online. Based on bowlingball.com customer reviews I took the plunge. The best educated decision that I have made when it comes to bowling balls. Hits insanely hard and carries like a mad man. I am a now a loyal bowlingball.com customer and a Hammerhead. Thanks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by qmartfan


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: ghjummmin 07/26/2007 16:27 ( stars)


 
By far the best Hammer yet. I can't believe that Hammer did a great job that beat out the Black Widow. Outstanding. I heard that Brian Graham from Hammer deserves a lot of credit. Thanks Brian and thanks bowlingball.com, met my spec request perfectly, shipped quickly, great communication.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Black Widow Pearl Reviewed By: gkrajen 07/18/2007 20:03 ( stars)


 
The most aggressive Hammer that I have thrown. Rolled much earlier than I was thinking, but after some advice from bowlingball.com I tweaked the surface and WOW this ball is a monster, gets down the lane well with very strong back end, better than my Black Widow. I love the Black Widow Pearl. Thanks bowlingball.com for the advice. The advice, hit it with 4000 Abralon in a ball spinner, they were specific about a ball spinner and not a resurfacer, and then Extender Polish. 6+ if they had a rating that high.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 98 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter