Go to Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Pro Pin »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Epic Odyssey
Only show reviews for Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Pro Pin

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.6Write a Review    Read all 10 reviews

I Love It
 
70% (7 of 10)
I Like It
 
20% (2 of 10)
It's Ok
 
10% (1 of 10)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 10)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 10)

Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Reviewed By: Duster 04/04/2007 09:41 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I have had the Roto-Grip Epic Odyssey bowling ball just over two weeks now, I average around 200 in leagues and 190 in the Amateur Bowlers Tour. First night I threw it I shot a 730. Two days later I shot my first 300 game. I love the backend reaction of the ball and the pin action generated by the sheer power this ball hits with. I even dropped down to 14 pounds for this ball, and it looks like a 16 pounder smashing a hole through the pocket.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Reviewed By: rotobeliever 03/10/2007 07:48 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Drilled the Roto-Grip Epic Odyssey bowling ball last night before league. Outside looks good. The way the ball takes over the lane is a beautiful site. I average between 207 to 210 in league at 2 different houses and 195 in the Amateur Bowlers Tour, Denver division. Out of the box I shoot 194 opening the first 5 frames. Slowed the ball down to about 15.5 mph throwing over the 20 to the 10 and was amazed to see the ball come up with such force. After making a small adjustment I go off the sheet. Next 2 games 227,219. To bowl average or more with a ball you just drilled is great. If you are able to adjust your speed your game will go to the next level. I will take this ball any day over the Brunswick Inferno line and the new Fury any day. Love the way the ball snaps. Its like the ball has a purpose and that's to carry with a lot of backend. A must for a Roto-Grip believer. You won't need the battle or the epic after you get one of these. Love it 100%.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rotobeliever


Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Reviewed By: Arsenal298 06/09/2007 08:30 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Think Roto Grip really hit the mark with the Roto-Grip Epic Odyssey. I would consider myself a stroker with little hand so I have problems hooking the ball. The first shot on fresh oil started 25 through out to one and waved by to it but to my surprise it hooked dead flush. Continued that night to shoot 788 with it. Great ball Roto Grip

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Arsenal298


Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 09/01/2009 12:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
The Odyssey was one of the best balls in the Epic series. A very strong and predictable motion makes this ball a good choice for almost any type of player. Roto-Grip fans who have a Cell will really like this ball for when the Cell is too much. The Ultimate Vision cover is a very clean cover for a solid high performance ball which will allow you to get the ball through the fronts a little better than the Cell. And will not respond to the dry boards as quickly.

River Lanes Pro Shop
Titusville FL
321-385-0833


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Reviewed By: FuseG4 03/30/2008 09:44 ( stars)


 
Drilled this one 4"x4" no extra hole required. This is my heavy-oil ball and for playing inside lines. The OOB surface of 2000 abralon is well-matched to the ball for awesome traction and tons of hook.
This ball gets medium length and then reads quickly. The breakpoint is rather angular and strong. This ball can be bounced off the dry boards or just keep it in the oil and watch it crush the pocket.
Strong mass bias, low spin time, high flare. Works with many drillings but a strong mass bias location is best!
More angular than the Epic Quest and can handle more oil than the Epic Saga. Before the Cell, there was the Epic Odyssey!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by FuseG4


Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Reviewed By: DKRand 08/28/2007 14:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    185
Style    Stroker
 
I'm getting back into bowling after a 6 year absence. I'm a stroker with about a 195 average. The Roto-Grip Epic Odyssey ball skids and flips smoothly enough that it can be controlled. By adjusting speed, hand position, or delivery angle, I'm able to fine-tune the balls approach to the pocket.
I'd never be able to use this ball on dry, or light oil conditions, but if there's heavy oil, or lots of carry-down, I'll still be able to score consistently.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DKRand


Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Reviewed By: mikelj 05/12/2007 17:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
My Roto-Grip Epic Odyssey bowling ball came with a 3” pin. It was drilled with the pin above the ring finger and both the pin and RG 4” from PAP (positive axis point). We put a 1 1/8” balance hole on the VAL. The CG was swung way to the right. The box finish seemed very dull, and the resulting reaction was the ball hooking early. The ball seemed to lope down the lane. We hit the finish with the a 200 abralon pad again which seemed to give sheen to the surface. On a house shot I was able to play throw between the 2nd and 3rd arrow and bounce the ball off the dry. Under this condition, the ball had a nice smooth reaction back to the pocket. I think this ball will be best for me when I am playing a longer oil condition.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Reviewed By: BJI Reviews By Joe Cerar Jr. 02/13/2007 00:00 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Core Design:
The Maximus II core has extreme versatility and is found in all the Epic balls. The RG in this release has been lowered to 2.48 with a .050 Diff. We saw 6" of track flare with the 3.5 and 4.5" layouts. The 5.5" gave us 4". The mass bias strength is near the USBC limit at .026. This core can create many varied and strong breakpoint motions by altering the distance from a bowler's PAP.

Coverstock:
Complementing this strong, asymmetric core is Roto Grip's most assertive solid reactive cover, called Ultimate Vision. The box finish is smooth-dull at 1000 abralon, and the durometer hardness range is 7375. This cover tunes easily and can be highly polished for those looking for added length and pop at the breakpoint. Regarding the color, making a good-looking red bowling ball can be challenging. Admirably, Roto has found a way with this scarlet, maroon and crimson mix, which is pleasing to the eye whether dull or polished


Manufacurer's Intent:
Roto's premium line is all about power, both in the midlane and backend. The Battle is an aggressive, early midlane solid particle; the aggressive Saga is an aggressive, later midlane Hybrid (solid/pearl reactive); and the new Odyssey fits sweetly between these two. Its newly formulated coverstock is slightly stronger and the core has a much faster spin time than the original Epic, improving the midlane read and overall traction in oil.

Test Results:
Solid reactives are the most commonly used coverstock-type for many bowlers due to their hook and motion versatility. Strong solids with strong cores are even more in vogue due their ability to handle most medium to heavier volumes of oil and their tendency to be more angular than many particles at the breakpoint. The Odyssey performed exceptionally well on our heavier and longer patterns, with an extremely high carry percentage. On medium volumes we had to ramp up our speed slightly or add more axis rotation to preserve the needed energy for a high percentage of carry. These adjustments were needed due to the strong core and 1000 dull surface. Our preferred adjustment would be sanding the skin to 2000 or 4000 abralon or to apply a young polish. A young polish refers to a medium grit or satin sheen, not a high gloss. These surface modifications gave us easier length, more entry angle and lots of power, without altering our natural (and more comfortable)physical games.

When to Use:
Use when encountering longer and/or heavier volumes and when a particle cover doesn't quite turn the corner enough. The Odyssey and Roto SD-73 Classic were both at home in the oil and both read the friction confidently and predictably. Sport patterns offered little challenge as we could square up in the oil and read the midlane and breakpoint easily. In our PBA Experience league, we could aggressively swing either ball from 12-out-to-2 with lots of recovery on the Cheetah pattern. I would classify both balls as strong midlane arcing products for medium to heavier volumes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BJI Reviews By Joe Cerar Jr.


Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Pro Pin Reviewed By: pentact 01/30/2008 18:05 ( stars)


 
Very very impressed. Loved being able to drill a really cool layout. Put the pin over my ring and the cg on my axis with a large flare hole. Smooth roll on any and all conditions. Love the longer Pro Pins, great idea bowlingball.com. Highly recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Epic Odyssey Pro Pin Reviewed By: FreeWheelin781 01/19/2008 11:40 ( stars)


 
This ball is a juiced up version of the Epic, which I love as my first ball out of the bag. The Epic could be a little late breaking on the heavy stuff and this is where the Odyssey picks up the slack. It offers the same fast revving core with stronger movement on the backend. Very clean through the heads and reads the midlane well. Once it gets to the break point, it makes a very strong move towards the pocket and blasts the pins, as does the Epic. This core just flat out crunches pins. This ball is made for moderate to heavy oil, so use it wisely. Overall, I think this ball works great for a variety of bowler styles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 10 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter