Go to Columbia 300 EPX T1 »

Only show reviews for Columbia 300 EPX T1

Customer Reviews          Average: 2.82Write a Review    Read all 17 reviews

I Love It
 
29% (5 of 17)
I Like It
 
6% (1 of 17)
It's Ok
 
18% (3 of 17)
I Don't Like It
 
12% (2 of 17)
I Hate It
 
35% (6 of 17)

Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: sirbeavis 03/09/2006 00:28 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I know 3 people, as well as myself, who have bought this ball... and 2 of the three balls have cracked... that's right the 1-2mm skin on the ball likes to crack, I guess it's a known issue as the manufacturer has sent my friend and I new balls that have a different skin from a different batch...

I would not suggest this ball to anyone and would pay for a extended warranty if I was forced to buy this! I will also note that when I brought this ball to my pro shop they said that a lot of these balls are bad, and they are bad balls in general.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: x300manx 02/19/2006 14:05 ( stars)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball is great for oily lanes if you need friction on the inside use this ball it will tear right into the pocket. I've already gotten 6 300 games with it, thanks bowlingball.com for the great deal!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by x300manx


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: tazpba 03/05/2006 19:26 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
I am a regional PBA member and have used the EPX T1 in league and on a PBA condition and I can say this is the worst ball that I have ever owned. If the ball hits a dry spot is burns out and dies and does not carry the corners. The ball also has a odor that you can smell when you are getting ready in your approach.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: Sscrc 09/25/2012 14:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    208
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
 
I got this ball for free because my buddy didnt want it anymore. When i heard what this ball would be ie. totally greasy, would break (drilling and throwing) i admit i was a little hesitant. However the pro shop guy made fun of me lol. This is the hardest hooking ball i have ever had and i have thrown over two dozen games with this ball. My average is about 230 with this game...... so all in all for me a great ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: Robsbowlingball 02/04/2012 10:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
 
No wonder the EPX isn't found anywhere - Columbia stopped making it and then they stopped making bowling balls all-together. The epoxy stock was like a sponge for lane oil and absorbed so much on my EPX that it would bead up on the shell and left oil stains on my bowling shoes that came in contact with the ball while in the bag. There was an absorbent media that you could put the ball in and absorb the oil so Columbia must have sensed there was a problem right at the start. But to say this expoxy shell absorbed some oil was the understatment of the century. I would have needed to go to Valvoline to get the oil drained out of this ball. Even if you find the deal of a lifetime----don't buy this one ........... it was a failure from the launch pad. It is relegated to 7 pin pickups now (lefty) and as the guy at the proshop said: You have the most expensive corner pin ball in the world.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: TheDude1987 02/09/2010 15:08 ( stars)


 
Lane Conditions: It is lane picky ball. This ball loves oil. It performs very well heavy oil to moderate oil conditions. If it roles on light oil, the ball over hooks, and rolls out.

Coverstock: Several people have had a lot of trouble with this coverstock. It will crack if the ball gets to cold. I only use this ball when the weather is warm. The coverstock also sweats oil. I can put my hand on the ball, hold it there for a few seconds and draw the oil up on the coverstock leaving a hand print on the ball. Do your best to keep the ball clean, and keep it dull.

Bowling styles: It is a good ball for all styles. The ball does like to roll so it is nice for a down and in shot.

Overall: Even though there have been many problems with this ball it still performs very well. The ball does like to roll rather than skid/flip. It is easy to get into the pocket and easy to make adjustments with. I give the ball 3 stars because it is weather picky, and lane picky, but it still performs very well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TheDude1987


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: Rocket 05/24/2008 12:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    202
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
When I first purchased the ball Iloved it. Even though it was a sponge when it came to soaking up oil. A couple of months after I shot my only 300 game, it came back from a shot with a crack all of the way around the ball. I had the ball over a year and I didn't get any response from Columbia about the ball. I used to be a Columbia man but not any more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Rocket


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: faller111 02/16/2008 21:01 ( stars)


 
I love the Columbia 300 EPX T1 bowling ball. I just got it today and shot a 289, 276 ,and a 248. I am a youth bowler and paid $270 for the ball. I feel there is nothing wrong with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: RichH 07/26/2007 11:18 ( stars)


 
I am sorry I bought this ball, It has done nothing for me, my first one broke and unfortunately Columbia replaced it with another one and it took 5 weeks for them to do so. So now the ball just sits in my closet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: pkibs 02/20/2007 17:34 ( stars)


 
I purchased the Columbia EPX T1 bowling ball late Oct 06 and used it for 3 months before it broke into 2 pieces. I really loved the product but when it broke into two it leaves me no choice but to search elsewhere for a different type of ball. But when I used this ball it was like no other ball I've had before. Ask me what I thought before it broke into 2 I would've gave you 5 stars hand's down.

bowlingball.com comment: The issues with this ball have been resolved. We have had to replace less than 1 percent of the balls since they have corrected this issue.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: jbrown20052009 02/20/2007 00:51 ( stars)


 
While this ball has a monster hook and killer pin action, it has some other serious issues. The smell that it gives off isn't a problem, I can get used to it. I bought this ball and had it drilled 2 days after receiving it. It only took a week to have a big chunk of the ball fall out. It was quickly replaced by bowlingball.com and I had to wait a week to get the replacement ball drilled. While the replacement ball reacted better and was easier to control it only lasted 3 weeks before it cracked. I would never recommend this ball to anyone and I will strongly recommend against anyone who is looking at buying one.

bowlingball.com comment: Most of the issues have been corrected, to date we have only had to replace less than 1 percent of the newer balls.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jbrown20052009


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: KevinR 02/08/2007 23:20 ( stars)


 
Jekyll or Hyde? No cracking for me, just unbelievable maintenance necessary! Continuous hot water baths have failed to keep this ball working properly for more than 2 or 3 games, bowling on heavy oil. Only hooks about half of when brand new and that only lasted about 4 games also. Not having any problems with corner pins as when new, have managed to adjust my stroke to suit the ball. Can't recommend this ball, solely based on ridiculous amount of care needed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: kmcguffee 12/22/2006 22:45 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
While this ball has a monster hook and killer pin action, it has some other serious issues. The smell that it gives off isn't a problem, I can get used to it. I bought this ball and had it drilled 2 days after receiving it. It only took a week to have a big chunk of the ball fall out. It was quickly replaced by bowlingball.com and I had to wait a week to get the replacement ball drilled. While the replacement ball reacted better and was easier to control it only lasted 3 weeks before it cracked. I would never recommend this ball to anyone and I will strongly recommend against anyone who is looking at buying one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: Shardik 12/22/2006 03:18 ( stars)


 
While plenty of other people seem to hate this ball, I'll be honest and say that it is the best ball in my bag. The Columbia EPX T1 didn't crack while being drilled, (it was even cold from the shipping when it was drilled) and after about 50 or so games the ball looks great. I have it drilled with a 4" pin from the PAP, and it has great back end hook. Unfortunately, the ball hooks too hard and has to go back in the bag after about the 2nd game. Also, the EPX T1 gives off a sticky goo from the coverstock, which smells sort of like burning rubber. Honestly, I don't think it's too bad though. I know 3 other guys who’ve bought the EPX, and none of our balls have cracked. Also, Columbia 300 offers a 1 year warranty if it does crack. If you’re looking for a ball to really move on the back end through the oiliest of conditions, this ball is for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Shardik


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: pacman 09/19/2006 12:33 ( stars)


 
I just received one of these balls and had it drilled up last night before league play. I LOVE IT. It hits hard, and has plenty of hook and power at the pocket. While I didn't bowl a 300, I did shoot a 648 on lanes that would be classified as medium oily. The ball does have a smell but it isn't anything you can't live with. If you need a ball that will hook and hit hard, to date this ball far exceeds any that I have used. It may crack, but I have been assured by Columbia that if it does, they will replace it during the first year. I recommend this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pacman


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: The Pro @ Majestic Lanes 06/22/2006 16:47 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I agree with one of the regional bowlers when they said that this is the worst ball they've ever owned... Anytime it touches dry it totally burns out... It hook stops worse than any ball I have ever seen... It only looked good for me on flooded pa lanes where I put up freakin area codes, but I still had to try to push it through any dry spots on the lane and I have a ton of speed, revs, and tilt... A total turd with a history of cracking. Do not buy this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The Pro @ Majestic Lanes


Columbia 300 EPX T1 Reviewed By: dccb300 06/19/2006 15:20 ( stars)


 
Same problem with it cracking. However, Columbia 300 was VERY curtious and prompt about sending me a new ball ASAP from a new batch of resin. Out of the box you will need LOTS of oil. This thing will hook. However, it will dead out on you if the oil pattern dictates. I sanded to 1500 and polished recently and it goes several feet longer storing tons of energy and hook for the pins. I would recommend this ball for strokers and tweeners.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dccb300


Read all 17 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter