Go to Brunswick Mastermind Genius »

Only show reviews for Brunswick Mastermind Genius

Customer Reviews          Average: 5Write a Review    Read all 16 reviews

I Love It
 
100% (16 of 16)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 16)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 16)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 16)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 16)

Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/21/2014 09:38 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Outsmart the pins. Become the valedictorian of your league with the Brunswick Mastermind Genius!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 55* x 5" x 35*
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 grit Siaair/Royal Compound)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
So I used the exact same layout on the Genius as I did on the original Mastermind. I was a big fan of that ball and thought that it was a big turning point in Brunswick ball motion.

The Mastermind Genius was going to use the same core with a hybrid version of the cover. This ball motion should still be plenty strong but a little smoother overall compared to the Mastermind.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I think Brunswick hit another one out of the park with this ball. The original Mastermind was by far the strongest ball we had seen from them in years. The only downfall was as the pattern broke down you were forced too far in and with the strength of that ball you lost carry. Higher rev players also had some trouble on lower volume patterns since the Mastermind was so strong.

The Genius is the answer to those issues. The hybrid cover creates a smoother motion and I I would say a 5-7 board difference from the original. This difference was huge for me. I was able to play in a higher scoring part of the lane and still have plenty of ball to recover should I need it.

The Mastermind Genius produced a typical hybrid ball motion right off my hand, getting into a strong but controllable motion and carrying that through the
middle part of the lane. Surprisingly the cover provided plenty of energy downlane. Sometimes with hybrid covers and stronger cover finishes you see a smoother motion off the break point. Not the case here, I was getting similar recovery to that of a high end pearl cover.

Overall the Mastermind Genius was a perfect compliment tot he Mastermind and a great addition to the Brunswick line up for 2014.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 01/20/2014 16:16 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP (5 1/2" over 1/2" down) 6.25"
Dual Angle Layout - 50 x 6.25" x 35
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair/Royal Compound Finish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

The original Mastermind was super strong, early rolling and very smooth. I was hoping for more length but still with the same strong smooth reaction.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

The Mastermind Genius is an extremely strong rolling ball. Once it gets started, there's no stopping it. The ball has good length for a ball this strong with an easy to read backend reaction. Down and in players will love this ball on longer patterns because they'll be able to create angle into the pocket. Crankers will be able to open up the lane on heavy conditions with this monster.

The Mastermind line is making challenging heavy oil conditions a lot easier to figure out. Let the Mastermind Genius be the brains, all you have to do is throw it!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: Ricksmith 02/17/2014 17:48 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
I've only been bowling for a few months now, and this is my 2nd ball. I absolutely love it! I don't use my thumb when I bowl, so I start to get tired 4 or 5 games in when I go. My biggest problem with my original ball was length before the backend hook, so I was wearing my arm out trying to get it down as far as I could.

This ball picks up speed and has great length on it. I don't have to put extra strength into it, or throw too far to the left. I usually roll about 13 mph at the alley I bowl at. When I switched to the Genius I was consistently in the 14's and low 15's without putting any extra strength into my release.

I'm still new to bowling so I know my opinion may not mean much to the more experienced bowlers on this site, but I thought I'd leave my review anyway.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: cryder.christian@gmail.com 02/15/2014 22:15 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    196
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is amazing! First of all, I've been using the same few balls since 2004 so I haven't had much change in a long time! I decided to finally get myself a new ball, and this is the ball I chose. I could not be happier with my purchase! This ball is amazing, it comes back from pretty much anywhere, gives you a lot of different angles to throw. I hit solid whether I hit light, high, or right in the pocket! This is definitely going to be my go to ball from now on!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: RB2 04/11/2014 11:28 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    192
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 x 1/2 up
 
My wife got this ball and its been an amazing piece for her. The center we recently switched too puts down a lot more oil then most centers we have bowled at. Other balls she has tried either blew past the exit point or rolled early and hooked early and hit like a noodle. This ball allows her to get it down the lane and come off the between the 8 or 10 board at the end of the pattern in a nice arc in a true hook -roll phase and hits the pins like a freight train with great carry. She now loves bowling on higher volumes of oil. She has a 185 avg. Throws the ball about 13.5 MPH and is a lower rev player but a little higher than most women and plays between the 3rd and 5th dots. The ball is drilled for length and back-end. Hope this has been helpful to all the woman players out there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RB2


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: laserboypa 03/10/2014 12:27 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
BALL SPECS
Ball Weight: 16 lbs
DRILL PATTERN
Dual Angle Layout #1: 65 x 5 x 40 (Pin Up)
Dual Angle Layout #2: 70 x 5 x 70 (Pin Down)
X Hole (if there is one): None
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker
Ball Speed: 16.50 mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track
SURFACE PREP
Grit: Pin Up - 500, Royal Compound (Polished
Grit: Pin Down - 500, 2000, 4000 (Matte)
LANE CONDITION
Length: Multiple
Volume: Multiple
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Multiple
BALL REACTION
Length: 8 / 10 (45 feet to breakpoint)
Back End: 7 / 10
Overall Hook: 8 /10
Midlane Read: 7 /10
Breakpoint Shape: More Angular than Mastermind
COMMENTS
Likes: Works great on any condition
Dislikes: None
The Mastermind Genius is a great compliment to the Mastermind. With the cover and core combination, the Genius has a strong but smooth reaction. And, with the Hybrid cover, it doesn't snap as hard as a pearl when reaching the friction. I have used both the pin up and pin down balls on a house shot and on sport patterns with similar performance. I can use the pin up ball on the fresh to allow me a stronger motion or when the Mastermind is too strong. When the lanes break down or I need a smoother reaction, I can use the pin down ball. Both of these clear the front part of the lane and can handle heavy to medium oil conditions. I have yet found a condition to give me an unpredictable reaction with either ball. I would recommend the Mastermind Genius to anyone who is looking for a versatile ball that can be used on a variety of conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: b505jcm 05/21/2014 09:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
This ball is really great for me during league play when the lanes are good and oiled. When it gets a little dry it tends to get a bit squirrely. If it sees any friction early it jumps left and rolls out. However, when playing on well oiled lanes, this ball is automatic. I start just left of the middle dot, throw it down 2nd arrow and watch it go down, rev up, turn left and just run over the pins. It's excellent for heavy oil, not so great for dry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by b505jcm


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: dwinick 05/15/2014 12:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 

I've been bowling regularly for 6 mos. By that I mean we bowl 3x's week. And usually 10 games per session.
At first we used house balls and shoes and in a short time stepped up to our own balls and shoes which we purchased here.
My most recent purchase was a Mastermind Genius.
I've been using a Mastermind Genius for about a month now. My average has increased about 20 pins. High game, 254, and many games in the 220 range.
I love this ball. It's very predictable on house conditions. It has a great backend and my strikes are often and consistent.
It's my favorite ball.




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dwinick


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: cabizares@hotmail.com 05/14/2014 16:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Hello.

I just got this ball, and it rolled very well.
Was very strong in the backend, and not recommended on light-medium and dry lanes. I really like the factory finish. :)
I would recommend this ball for Rev and speed dominant players, and of course Midlane players, i think its strong for strokers as well :)

Of a scale between 1-10 i would give this a 9.

The colors in the ball makes it easy to see the revs on the lane in action.

- Frederik Hansen


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cabizares@hotmail.com


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: JRnDAWGS 04/01/2014 16:29 ( stars)


 
PAP - 4 over 1/8 up
Layout - 55 x 4 x 35
Left Handed


I wanted a very strong asymmetrical ball that I could use on a variety of conditions. Most of the local houses are medium volume short patterns. I am a Brunswick fan and wanted the original mastermind but worried that it would be too much ball, so when the polished Genius came out, I couldn't pass it up.

The ball is everything I hoped it would be. It's a ball that allows me many options. I can roll it hard down and in, or I can move right and open up the lanes a bit.

I thought that I would not be able to use the ball for all three games, but I was wrong. In two weeks of owning the ball, the transition bowling balls I brought along have never left the bag.

The ball is so smooth through the heads, and I am really pleased with the length the ball gets as well, but when it's time to break, it does so with authority. I've been scoring extremely well with the genius, and look forward to using it much more in the future. The Brunswick Genius is simply Brilliant!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JRnDAWGS


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: harley2009 03/17/2014 22:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    156
Sport Shot Average    156
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
bowled my final round of a 5 week round robin tournament, went to bracket form and was sitting in the 16th seat beat the number 1 seat using the genius on a score king pattern and ended up taking 2nd place from 16th this ball is great it goes long down the lane though the heavy oil and snaps hard on the back end. even if i did not hit tight in the pocket it had enough carry to leave single pins standing and if i took it Brooklyn hit still crushed the pins

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: brettas2@gmail.com 03/14/2014 15:24 ( stars)


 
I average over 200
Ball Speed 15mph
Revs 275
Type Stroker,

I had my pro shop guy (Dwight Albrecht) recommend a few balls based on how he saw me throw. The first ball he put me in was the Brunswick Aura Paranormal. I had great success with that but between the Paranormal and my original DV8 Hellraiser, I was missing something to get down the lane further like the hellraiser, yet hit the pocket like the paranormal. Dwight put me in the Mastermind Genius. While i don't know all the technical terms of my drilling layout, I know my pin is above my ring finger.

When I got the ball and first threw it, I was expecting a big skid/snap reaction. It did not do this, instead stayed with my smooth archy delivery and I was able to play 6-8 feet further down lane. This ball is one of the most versatile balls i have thrown. I had a mark 10 boards wide! if i was inside i held long enough and snapped to the pocket and if i was outside i was able to still get back to the pocket and with a lot of power!

First series, 716 Second series 658, third series 674. The sad part is, the two 600+ series just came from me missing shots on spare leaves (i have only bowled for 6 years bear with me)

I would recommend this ball to any beginner-above average bowler looking for versatility in their arsenal.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: perry.goldman@yahoo.com 02/27/2014 16:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 11/16 1/2 up
 
I was really looking forward to drilling up this ball since the Mastermind is one of my favorite balls. I drilled this ball with the pin above the ring finger stacked with no weight hole. This ball is 4 or 5 feet longer for me with a strong midlane move and just runs over the pins. First night I used it I had 547 after 2 with an open! Its by far my new favorite ball! The hits just keep coming from Brunswick, the King is back!

Perry


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 02/17/2014 17:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4x 3/4 up
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 4"
Starting Top Weight: 3.8 oz
Ball Weight: 15 lbs 4 oz
DRILL PATTERN
Ball: 65 x 4 3/4 x 35
X Hole (if there is one): small p2 hole
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 375 rpms
Ball Speed:17.5 mph
PAP/Track: 4 3/4 over 3/4 up
SURFACE PREP
Grit: 4000 Siaair
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Smooth
LANE CONDITIONS
Lengths of patterns: 41 foot house shot and 35 foot Cheetah
Volumes: moderate and high volume sport
Type: house and sport
BALL REACTION
Length: Clean through the heads and strong continuous backend
Back End: strong continuous arc almost skid flip
Overall Hook: strong moderate
Midlane Read: late
Breakpoint Shape: sharp but predictable
COMMENTS
Likes: Clean through the heads with a strong predictable backend reaction.
Dislikes: Box finish provided a little too much lenght
The Mastermind Genius is the second release in the highly popular Mastermind series. The Mastermind has been the best performing oil ball that I have ever had due to its continuous backend reaction. The Mastermind can be a bit too strong at times when there isn't enough oil on the lanes. The new Mastermind Genius is the ticket in these situations. On our house shot the Genius was about 5 and 2 weaker than a similarly drilled Mastermind. It is several feet longer and provides a stronger and more angular backend reaction. The Genius is also very predictable and never misses the hook spot even when I fail to get the right amount of rotation on the ball. I fired a 707 with it right out of the box but it was just a little bit too long in the oil for my liking. I decided to freshen up the ball finish and then apply 4000 grit Siaair to the top of it. The reaction has been perfect ever since. The strength of the Genius is not only in the backend reaction but in the versatility it possesses. I was able to test it out on a higher volume Cheetah pattern and the ball really shined! It allowed me to move 7 and 1 left of my Melee. The Mastermind Genius was able to really bring it from the 4th arrow out the gutter and all the way back. The angularity was truly impressive. This is going to be my go to ball when I need to open up my angles on a condition that has volume and my Mastermind is too much. Take advantage of the $20 dollar rebate and get smarter instantly!
Chris Garrett

PBA Member
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: mkriek 02/10/2014 14:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
 
A new instant favorite, I already owned the original Mastermind and unleash it's powerful hook all over the lanes, but when the lane patterns get too dry it's power gets difficult to tame. The new Mastermind genius isn't meant to replace it, but rather be a companion to it and it does that very well. It's polished and gets down the lane farther before it starts to hook, and when it hooks it's sharp and with extreme prejudice against any pins standing in it's way. Great pin carry, probably the best I've seen when it comes to carrying the pins into other pins instead of blasting them over or around the pins, a true no pin left behind kind of ball. It's still got massive hook potential, especially for a polished ball and you don't need a really high rev rate to utilize it like some other balls in this class. I'm hook from the first game bowled with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mkriek


Brunswick Mastermind Genius Reviewed By: TheCranker 02/09/2014 00:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Simply amazing! It will definitely be my new go to ball in my arsenal!.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 16 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter