Go to Storm IQ Tour Fusion »

Only show reviews for Storm IQ Tour Fusion

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.91Write a Review    Read all 45 reviews

I Love It
 
91% (41 of 45)
I Like It
 
9% (4 of 45)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 45)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 45)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 45)

Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/21/2014 09:28 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Take the predictability and hook of the IQ Tour and mix that with the strong backend reaction of the IQ Tour Pearl and what do you have?
The Storm IQ Tour Fusion!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
PSA Layout - 4 1/2" x 4 1/2" x 2"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
So I was pretty amped up about this test. I mean this one had to be awesome, it was the best of two of the best balls of the last two years all wrapped up in one awesome looking ball. The IQ Tour Fusion was bringing a hybrid version of the IQ Tour and IQ Tour Pearl to life.

I know that I went with a much stronger layout on this ball, and I admit, I wanted to see how much I could make it hook. I fully expected this layout to produce a strong roll through the heads with a ton of motion downlane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
First let me say, this was one of the most fun ball tests we have done in a while. I went into this one knowing I drilled the ball way too strong for a
typical house shot but I wanted to see how much it would hook.

I accomplished exactly what I set out to do. The IQ Tour Fusion was a complete beast on our THS fresh pattern. I was able to play so deep, even I was
a little shocked.

As you can see from our test video, I was sliding over by the left gutter and this ball did not stop. Off my hand it was much cleaner then I expected. I thought the hybrid cover would create an earlier stronger motion off my hand but the Tour Fusion cleared the heads with ease. This is what assisted in allowing
me to get so far in on the pattern and have plenty of recovery.

This ball was ridiculous down lane. I threw a few shots just to see how much it actually hooked and once I got settled in on the lane I could not believe it.
The Tour Fusion was one of those balls that just matched up to my game perfectly allowing me to open up the lane and create a silly entry angle. Because of that angle and the fact that ball did not lose any energy from that spot carry was a breeze. I think I may have left one ten pin during this test and the rest were ten in the pit.

Bowlers of all skill levels will love this ball. If you had a Tour Pearl or Tour you have to drill this ball. You will not be disappointed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 01/20/2014 16:09 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(5 1/2" over 1/2" down) - 6.25"
PSA Layout - 6.25 x 4 x 3"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

As a huge fan of the IQ Tour Solid and Pearl, I was hoping for something to fill the gap between two of my favorite balls.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

When looking for a bowling ball to complement another, not only should you think about overall hook, but also the length and shape of the reaction. Never has a bowling ball complemented two others like the IQ Tour Fusion does the IQ Tour Pearl and Solid!

The Fusion is the perfect blend of the length and angularity of the IQ Tour Pearl and the heavy, predictable roll of the IQ Tour Solid. The Fusion also fills the gap between the two as far as length is concerned perfectly. The Fusion owns the midlane. When you throw this ball, you know that it is reading the lane perfectly. This make adjustments so easy.

I can't say enough about the IQ Tour Fusion. This ball is versatility with no bounds!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 03/15/2014 12:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm IQ Tour Fusion another ball that will get ball of the year honors.
There is more reasons that we all need this ball than I could list.
Number 0ne Fusion will make the move back from about any part of the lane. You could drill for almost any oil pattern great ball to have in your bag.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: davkarsports 01/30/2014 14:30 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
The Storm IQ Tour Fusion really is the best of both worlds! I've had mine for a few weeks now. Drilled pin-up with the CG kicked right and a weight hole at P2, I've had the opportunity to throw this on a variety of lane patterns and surfaces.

For me, my IQ Tour (drilled similar, but without weight hole) does not do well crossing boards - it does better when I can get it down the lane. My IQ Tour Pearl did not always react to friction as I would have liked - it could squirt through the breakpoint and suffer from over/under.

However, the IQ Tour Fusion holds the line when I throw down the boards AND is able to turn the corner when I move left. It really is the most versatile ball I've thrown in quite some time. I'd love to get a second one to drill pin-down for a heavier forward roll.

The IQ Tour Fusion is a "must have" for ALL bowlers - great reaction on THS and extremely versatile for tournament bowlers.

Dave Han
PBA Regional Member
Storm/Roto Grip fan


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: bigmikecraig 05/29/2014 13:24 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4
 
Lay Out #1: 5" from PAP at 75* PAP angle and 35* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 75/5/35. The pin ended up about 1/2 above my ring finger with the CG very swung out from the ring finger. No weight hole as I wanted the direction change to be smooth.

Lay Out #2: 4.5" from PAP at 60* PAP angle and 35* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 60/4.5/35. The pin ended up about 1/2 above my ring finger with the CG very swung out from the ring finger. Weight hole in the P2 location which measured 7/8" drilled 3" deep.

Surface: I hit LO#2 with a 1000 pad by hand. I left LO#1 in the box finish with a 1500 reacta-shine.

Purpose: I wanted a couple of pieces that could go in the middle end of my bag.

Observations: The IQ Fusion is a solid piece. LO#1 is the go long-turn left type reaction. LO#2 gave me a good look on higher volume/longer patterns. And the hitting power is amazing. I use LO#1 when my Lucid is starting to get a little too quick off the spot and my Reign On is not picking up enough yet on the back. LO#2 is a ball that I have slotted in front of my Lucid just behind my MarvelS and Zero Gravity. LO#2 is a little stronger off the spot than my Zero is.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bigmikecraig


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Hurting 12/18/2013 22:50 ( stars)

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.


 
It\'s going to be hyper-round and roll more smoothly than any ball that has come before.

Similar to a hypercube, the hypersphere is comprised of a radial arc projected not just in three dimensions like traditional bowling balls, but along a fourth axis, producing the world\'s first four-dimensional bowling ball.

This ball is therefore capable of earning scores for your current weekly series or tournament that have not yet even been bowled and is thought to unlock the key to the mythical 13th strike in a game. It is theorized that such extra strikes could make it possible for bowlers to score single games above 300, or in your case upwards of 220.

Use your favorite layout from previous IQ's and you will be pleased.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hurting


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/05/2014 13:52 ( stars)


 
This is the best looking ball in my bag and it really looks good going down the lane. However it is a little to unpredictable for me it is often to aggressive for the lane condition I'm bowling on and has the most powerful scent I have ever had, my entire car smells like blueberry muffin.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Mcrews 06/03/2014 20:58 ( stars)


 
Ball review of the Storm IQ Tour Fusion
World Wide Release Date: February 4, 2014
Scent: Blueberry Muffin
Surface: 1500 grit polished
Bowler info: Michelle Crews (female)
PAP: 5" right and 1 1/2" up
Ball Speed: 16 mph
Rev Rate: 250 rpm
Axis Tilt: 15
Axis Rotation: 50
Ball info
Layout: 75x4.75x80
Surface Change: 3000 abralon
Pattern: Various
Compared to IQ Tour Pearl
The Storm IQ Tour Fusion was one of the most anticipated released in Storm's history. After the success of the IQ Tour and the IQ Tour Pearl, the future of the IQ series was exciting and truly is FUSION. I found that the 1500 polished out of the box surface was a little bit uncontrollable for my personal game on a house pattern, so we changed the surface to 3000 abralon to give me a little bit more predictability off of the breakpoint. However, out of the box I was able to use it on the WTBA Atlanta pattern and strike at will playing straight up 8. Unfortunately I have not gotten the privilege of throwing the IQ Tour Solid but I did have success at the end of last year with the IQ Tour Pearl (299, 801). I was very excited to throw the Fusion and it was everything I had hoped it would be and more. I love that it rolls just a little earlier than the Pearl but is even more continuous through the pins. It keeps pins low and throws them all around the deck. If you don't have a Fusion you definitely want to get out and buy one and if you already have one you should go out and buy another one to put away for a rainy day. The future is FUSION!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mcrews


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: srbenifield@aol.com 06/01/2014 23:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
 
Lay Out #1: 2.5\" from PAP at 55* PAP angle and 70* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 55/2.5/70. The pin ended up about 1/2 above my ring finger and shifted out to the far right, with the CG inside the middle of my palm. No weight hole was needed.
Lay Out #2: 6\" from PAP at 40* PAP angle and 80* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 40/6/80. The pin ended up about 1/4 above my middle finger with the CG swung out from the center of the palm. No weight hole was needed
Surface: I hit Layout 1 with a 1500 pad on a Haus machine. I left Layout 2 in the box finish.
Purpose: I wanted a one two punch when it came to getting to the lanes game 1 and 2, with my higher rev rate I often enjoy lower RG pieces.
Observations: The IQ Fusion is a solid piece. Layout 2 is the go long-turn left type reaction however even with the longer pin the off the spot turn isn\'t as hard as one would think, which is a fantastic thing for higher rev players.. Layout 1 is my go to ball. It is incredibly easy of the spot, very controllable and lets me play many parts of the lane. While sometimes the first layout will come up a bit flat s board or two fixes that issue no problem. I use Layout 2 when my first layout isn\'t rounding the corner properly and there is too much oil for the Wipe Out. The second layout tends to play a couple boards stronger than the first.
Storm Pro Shop Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by srbenifield@aol.com


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: CoachT 05/13/2014 19:06 ( stars)


 
Drilled this one 4X3 and lengthened the cover to 3000 slightly polished hoping to fit it into my arsenal. Not liking the fit, altered cover to be 4000 but that caused it to read a bit too soon for my needs. After a week, decide to look for a smoother roll down lane and cleaner through heads (1000 grit polished). Now I can’t put it down. Traveled to Georgetown Texas today for the first time ever and used one ball all day on their modified house shot that had right of 6 flooded. Yes the IQ Fusion was that ball. Averaged 248 for the day, easily running away with the event. Now I see why everyone praises this ball, even some of the bowlers on staff with other manufacturers. Roll one for yourself and check it out, and if necessary, don’t be afraid to tweak the cover to find that ideal roll for your game.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by CoachT


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Antibirdy 05/06/2014 21:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Beginner
League Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I was recommended by lots of pro shop to get this ball. I play outside and classify as a more straighter player. this balls hooks a lot easier and it has really impressive pin carry. This ball increase my avg for 60.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Antibirdy


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: pbaramos 04/24/2014 01:52 ( stars)


 
FINALLY!!!!!! The perfect hybrid mixture has been made, Introducing the NEW Storm IQ Fusion. The ever so popular R2S hybrid cover has been put on the proven centripetal core which gives you IQ Fusion. The reaction I get out of this ball is what I was expecting out of the iq tour prl when it was first released. The mixture of R2S solid and prl on this ball definitely makes it respond much harder off the spot and is the perfect middle road for the solid iq tour and its GOLD brother. I layed mine out with my favorite layout 60x4x30, and threw it on the team pattern for usbc nationals. I was able to start off playing the pattern farther right with my solid tour, and when that started to read the lane a hair too early, the fusion was ready to enter the game. 5 and 2 left, the fusion allowed me to open the lane up and get that extremely continuous motion through the pins I look forward to seeing when I move inside. This ball is a must have, especially if you have had success in the past with this weightblock. Bowl Up A Storm!

Erik Ramos
Storm/Roto Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pbaramos


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: LouisN 04/15/2014 02:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
PAP    5 Over 7/8 Up
 
IQ Tour Fusion Review by Louis Narvaez Jr.
Layout 1 : Storm VLS Low RG Layout : Pin to PAP - 2 1/8
PSA to PAP - 5 1/4
Pin Buffer - 1 1/8
When drilling this ball I decided to try something different and use a low RG layout from the Storm VLS system. I was looking to create a very controlled reaction from this ball that I could use to combat very strong back ends or even some shorter patterns. The first thing I can say is wow. Never have I had a ball that rolled from release to the pin deck and retained this much energy. If you're looking to fine tune your layouts I recommend trying the Storm VLS system.
The IQ Tour Fusion with this layout has absolutely zero "jump" to it. A layout such as this really helps to control the back end reaction. On our 38 foot house shot I am able to send this ball down the lane and not have to worry about over reaction when it sees the fresh back ends. If I send the ball out a little early it doesn't jump and dive left. It just picks up and arcs towards the pocket.
Where this ball shines is on short patterns or patterns with fresh back ends. I used this ball on a 41ft flat tournament pattern with a 2:1 ratio. This layout allowed me to grind through the fresh until the lanes opened up while many others were fighting the clean back ends and over under reaction.
Layout 2: Dual Angle 70 x 5 x 30
After throwing the first fusion I felt like maybe I was missing something. So I drilled a second one and used one of my more traditional layouts. with this layout the pin ends up right above the bridge with the CG kicked out slightly. This ball gets down the lane with ease but when it is ready to make the move there is no stopping it. This layout gives me a reaction that is the complete polar opposite of the first Fusion. I could just keep moving left and watch the ball turn the corner. I hit this ball with a 2000 grit pad to help it pick up a little bit sooner and it made a huge difference. This is now my favorite ball in the bag.
The Fusion is easily one of the most versatile balls in the Storm Lineup. The Fusion responds very well to both of these layouts. This is definitely a must have for anyone looking to add a versatile ball to their arsenal. I don't think you can put a "bad" layout on this ball and with the way it responds to surfaced changes the options for this ball are endless.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by LouisN


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: jungjordan 04/13/2014 18:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    211
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
IQ Fusion

Ball speed 17mph, 400 RPMs, layout 80x4x45

During a few tournaments on flatter conditions and various house patterns, I saw a real gap in the equipment I had for smooth transitioning balls, I have a pin down IQ solid, a Reign of Power and a Reign on both with layouts of 80x4x45. I was missing a medium-strong piece in between the low end Reigns and the IQ so my coach and I decided on an IQ fusion with the same layout as the Reigns (80x4x45). Out of the box the Fusion was a little too angular in the back end for what I had expected, so I took the box polish off with a fresh 4000 pad. With no polish the fusion reads the mid-lane and fits the gap of a medium-strong smooth transitioning ball for flat conditions yet still has excellent traction for when I need to slow my speed and chase the pattern in as the day goes on. Another great piece from storm!

Jordan Jung

Storm Amateur Staff

Vancouver, BC.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jungjordan


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: daniel.schaden@beconet.com 04/10/2014 08:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The IQ Tour Fusion is a bowling ball that combines the best of two worlds. The Cover stock is the blend of the IQ Tour and the IQ Tour Pearl. The layout I used on the IQ Tour Fusion was 75 X 5 ½ X 45 or Pin above the fingers with an Xhole at 1 inch past my PAP. My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up. My Rev Rate is around 300 and my ball speed is around 15mph. This layout I have used on several bowling balls and is one of my favorite layouts.

I compared the IQ Tour Fusion to several bowling balls on various conditions and what I noticed is that it clears the heads and reads the mid-lane like a champ. The IQ Tour Fusion is a hybrid and they used the cover stocks of two proven bowling balls (IQ Tour & IQ Tour Pearl) what did you expect. The IQ Tour Pearl with a similar layout seemed a little jumpy to me on most medium to dry patterns. The IQ Fusion did give me decent length but the power and readability in the mid-lane is far superior to the other IQ Tour bowling balls. I also compared the IQ Tour Fusion to the IQ Tour and what I noticed is just how much the IQ Tour Fusion reacts at the break point. The IQ Tour Fusion is more versatile for me because my lower rev rate and the conditions that I bowl on are not what you would call tight or wet! The IQ Fusion will always be in my bag whether bowling league or tournaments!

The IQ Tour Fusion has the best attributes of the other two IQ Tours but without their flaws.


Dan Schaden Jr
Utah Brands Pro Shop Staff
Vise Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by daniel.schaden@beconet.com


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: TKKShop 04/08/2014 08:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5x1 up
 
Elliott Askey
Ball Speed: 18 at pins
RPM: 450+
PAP: 5x1 up


I punched up my IQ Tour Fusion back in Janaury and wanted to get some games on the cover so that a fair review could be made. I drilled my Fusion with a 5x4 pin up layout. I have thrown this ball on a 39 ft THS, PBA Badger, and Kegel Turnpike. This ball is extremely clean through the fronts and mids, and retains all of its energy for the back part of the lane. It really shines on THS, as it allows for extreme angles to be played later in the set, while still carrying the corner pins. On Badger, I touched the surface with 2000 to allow the ball to pick up a tad sooner. I was able to control the pocket and still retain enough punch to kick the 10 out. On Turnpike, this ball really shined for me at box surface. Normally I use my Tour Solid, and then ball to my Tour Pearl when moving left. The Fusion was strong enough for me to start with it, and as I had to migrate left, I never had to ball "up." I must say, Storm has hit another homer in the Tour line with the Fusion. It definately has my vote for Hybrid Reactive ball of the year!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TKKShop


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: TommyGN 04/07/2014 09:59 ( stars)


 
The IQ Tour Fusion is the new release from Storm that has taken the proven success of the solid and pearl IQ’s, and “fused” them into one great ball. The Fusion has a bright gold pearl and Blue solid color combination of the R2S hybrid that is sure to catch a bowler’s eye. It uses the same C3 Centripetal Control core that was in the first two releases. The C3 core has an RG of 2.49 and a differential of 0.029 in 15lb balls. The Fusion comes from factory with a 1500 grit polish, and a blueberry muffin scent.
I drilled this Fusion with a 4x 6 ½ x 2 ¼ layout. This fits nicely in between my soild and pearl IQ’s, a little closer to my pearl, as I use more surface on my solid than factory (I keep it at about 2000 abralon compared to the 4000 factory). The Fusion is a good ball to start with on medium conditions.
I like the Fusion for medium conditions, and on patterns that I want to keep my angles more in front of me, but still need a defined move to the pocket. I have been able to use the Fusion on house conditions as well as Viper and on broken down Carmen Salvino pattern (40ft). The Fusion is just an all around good ball. Between the Fusion and the Roto Grip Asylum, most all of my medium condition lanes are covered. The Fusion is in the bag all the time, as of right now.
The Fusion will be good for all types of players, because of the proven R2S hybrid cover and the low flare, controllable core. Lower rev rate players will be able to bump the dry without getting over reaction thanks to the lower RG weight block, and high rev players will be able to hook it, and generate some hold thanks to the low flare potential. It surely will be a must have for all tournament players, wanting to be able to get control of the lane, and having a cover that can be fine tuned during practice to handle all variations of medium conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TommyGN


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: grstorm 04/07/2014 00:26 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 4 ½ x 5 x 4 1/8
The !Q Tour Fusion is drill pin below the ring finger cg out with a hole down. A lot of people know the success of the 2 !Q Tours before this one and this one is right in line with those. Combining the tour solid and tour pearl which we call goldie and the successful centripetal weight block you have best of both worlds. You get the length of the pearl but earlier read like the solid and the controlled back end of both.
I am able to play a more deeper line if needed with the fusion and see it come back strong than the other 2. Roughly about 2-3 more boards right than the solid due to the strength of the back end and 5-6 more boards right than the pearl which was amazing to see. You can literally have a nice 3 ball arsenal for league with just the 3. Tour solid for the fresh, fusion for transition, and tour pearl when it breaks down and you need a smooth blend motion down lane. With the ball out the box finish of 1500 polished I get more back end than the other 2 !Qs by far so I tried it with 3000 abralon and didn't give me as much length which I like and more control on the back end and not as flippy but still have the drive to get through the pins. Anyone who has the first 2 !Q tours you should definitely pick up the fusion. Great ball for medium conditions for your everyday league bowler and tournament players.

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: terrance_d_davis@yahoo.com 04/02/2014 10:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
 
This appears to be another great ball by Storm. I can't say anymore good about it than what Storm and all the reviews already have. I can say the Blueberry muffin, on my ball, is way over powering. The ball rides back in forth to and from the bowl in its factory plastic. In spite of that my car now smells like blueberry muffin, instead of leather. I than put it in a plastic trash compactor bag, which is heavy plastic, and it still smells up the car. People at the bowl complain and ask what is that smell, it stinks. Yes, it a powerful ball with a powerful smell.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by terrance_d_davis@yahoo.com


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Housequake 04/02/2014 05:25 ( stars)


 
This is probably the Best ball Storm ever produced. This ball is on back order because of the demand. I drilled my Fusion strong, I stacked it. The Flip I get into the pocket is insane. Lay the Fusion down a watch it work.As long as you move with the lane transition, you can use the Fusion all night.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Housequake


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: ddamoude 04/01/2014 15:10 ( stars)


 
Storm IQ Fusion Review
Layout:
Pin 1-1/2” above fingers on grip center line, cg kicked right at a 45 degree angle, balance hole on midline at 4-1/2” out
PAP:
4-1/2” -> ½” ^
Conditions:
A. Center A- 38’ house pattern*, Kegel Kustodian Walker, AMF HPL lane surface
B. Center B- 37’ house pattern*, Kustodian ION, New Brunswick Anvil lane surface
C. Center C- USBC White #2*, Kustodian ION, AMF HPL lane surface
* Center A and B patterns are typical blended, Christmas tree based applications, center C was a PBA Midwest Regional

Surfaces preps:
1. Factory finish
2. Factory plus Storm Rough Buff
Ok, so this was my personal experience throwing this amazing ball, and for reference I throw high track, 15.75 mph, 350+ rpms, using Turbo Lifts and a Switch Grip thumb insert and I am right handed.
After all the hype and everyone screaming glory, I must admit, this ball is everything publicized! Let’s be honest, multiple 700’s in different houses on different patterns, an 826 series, (which is my high series ever) during a duos league, and a 15th place finish at the Over/Under PBA Regional event in the ‘Raisin’ division at Thunderbowl in Council Bluffs IA.
My best experience with this ball is on slightly played lanes. For my ball roll and speed it can be a little iffy out of the gates. Get a game or two in, break this ball out and poor execution can be the only thing standing in your path.
I have long been a fan of the IQ Pearl, which has been my late block ball for over a year now. Imagine that same ease through the heads with a little earlier read and a smooth, strong, continuous back end motion that is more likely to leave a 9 pin than 10 any day!
For me, the surface adjustment with Storm Reacta Skuff has always shown the best results. This prep gives me the look I need on most house patterns I face, letting my balls get into roll at a better point prior to impact with the pins.
If you have been reluctant to throw a Storm ball, this is a wonderful choice for your first! If you were a big fan of either the IQ Tour or Pearl, this is a much needed addition to your arsenal.
Let’s be honest here folks, if you want to shine in your weekly league outing, you need one of these in your bag. What started as a rumor is slowly turning to fact and will soon be legendary! The IQ Fusion is possibly the greatest house shot ball ever made, and a must have for any serious tournament bowler!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ddamoude


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Tony Marino 03/31/2014 20:25 ( stars)


 
Storm IQ Tour Fusion

IQ Tour Fusion review by Storm staffer Tony Marino

I do not have an IQ Tour Pearl, but the IQ Tour solid and the original Hyroad have been two of my favorite Storm bowling balls to date. So needless to say, I could not wait to drill up the IQ Tour Fusion which uses a hybrid coverstock like in the Hyroad, and the IQ Tour’s Centripetal Control Core (C3).

My review:

The IQ Tour Fusion fits right in line with the solid and the Hyroad. The IQ Fusion makes the same motion as the Tour solid, but the hybrid coverstock allows it to push better down lane. C3 core however, transitions quicker and smoother than the “Inverted Fe²” core which is inside the Hyroad.

I drilled the Fusion just like my Tour solid, with the pin over the middle finger and the CG kicked out 60 degrees. The Dual Angle numbers on this layout are 60° x 6 3/8 x 40° with a P3 weight hole, which is slightly left of my thumb.

I have thrown my IQ Tour Fusion on several medium to medium-long house patterns. The IQ Fusion is noticeably (about 5 boards) stronger than the Tour solid, but with much more length. I was able to move much farther inside with the Fusion than the solid. Likewise compared to the Hyroad, the Fusion was stronger in heavier concentrations of oil. I find that sometimes the Hyroad skids then quits, but the Fusion is much more even and continuous. The incredible midlane control motion that the IQ Tours are known for, combined with the cleaner hybrid coverstock makes the IQ Tour Fusion roll very strong through the pins.

I have not had a chance to use the Fusion on any sport or PBA oil patterns, but I have the feeling that it will be just a touch too strong of a shape for me, so I will most likely take a little of the polish off of it with a 4,000 grit Abralon pad. Having drilled 4 Hyroads in the past and constantly changing surfaces, I can say without much doubt that the IQ Tour Fusion’s coverstock will take extremely well to surface changes.

The IQ Tour Fusion is perfect if you liked the IQ Tour solid, but need a stronger motion off the break point, or if you love Hyroad but want something that transitions quicker and is more continuous.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tony Marino


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 03/30/2014 21:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
Storm IQ Fusion
Right Handed
PAP 4 up 1 1/4
Rev Rate 400
Speed Medium

The IQ Fusion is the Hybird version in the very popular IQ series. I laid mine out
4 1/2 x 3 x 2 or 30 x 4.5 x 30 with the help from Steve Todd RSM for Storm.
The Fusion is the perfect blend of the pearl and solid IQ's for me. This ball is not as angular as the Gold ball can be , and not quite as early rolling as the solid IQ.
Off the press I used it the last game of league to finish off a 818 series with a 288.
This ball gives me at least one or two extra strikes a game on my so so shots. When I miss a little to right it doesn't over bounce on the dry and when I miss a little left it still has enough strength to pick up in the midlane and still get the ten out. This ball has a very strong arc motion and just carries very well. Very good cover (R2S) core (C3 Centripetal Control Core) combination.
We have drilled several of these balls through the shop for all different styles and they roll exceptionally well. As good as the Gold IQ is, I think the Fusion is better and is going to be a serious contender for the ball of the year in 2014.
Brian Watson
Storm/RG Pro Shop Staff



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: chardee 03/28/2014 14:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Storm IQ Fusion
Christina Hardee
PAP – 4-13/16th over and 5/8 up
Ball Speed: 15-16 mph
Rev Rate 225
Right Handed
Surface Preparation: OTB

Layout: 60X4-3/8X30
The IQ Fusion simply put is Amazing.
This ball just seems to have Radar and know where the pocket is. Its amazing how versatile this ball is! I can move left and more left and it keeps on coming and killing the pocket. This is one of those that knocks down 7 pins on the light hits and chops out the 10 pins on the mid pocket hits.
On a fresh house shot I can normally keep this ball in hand for the full 3 games just moving more left. For a Hybrid its amazingly clean through the fronts and comes off the spot in a motion that's just exciting to watch. Not having many revs and getting to see a ball come off the sport that hard and sling pins around is so exciting!
For sport patterns the answer is yes! I have used it so many times in different parts of the lanes there really is no defined situation for me as to when its needed. My favorite is when you get in the 40ft pattern area. I can start with the IQ Tour solid on the inside and then grab the Fusion when the solid just becomes to much ball. And the Fusion just gives me a look like I have never had in my bag before.
There are lots of lines where Equipment is made to compliment each other and it doesn't always line up perfectly.
But the IQ line of equipment can cover so much ground its incredible. If you have any of the other IQ balls in your bag and enjoy them than you are really cheating yourself not having a fusion to compliment it!
If you don't have any IQ's at all, then start with this one you will not be disappointed!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by chardee


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: don300shel 03/21/2014 19:44 ( stars)


 
I love the reaction it has especially when hitting the pocket. I bowled a 791 with it right out of the box.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Fwolf17 03/14/2014 14:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    207
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I was a bit skeptical about this ball coming from an all DV8 line up. I loved my brutal nightmare, well for a little while. It completely died after about 5 months. My team all had great luck with storm products so I thought I should try them out. I tested out the Reign On, Hypercell, Mastermind, Enigma, and the Zero Gravity. Although they are all fantastic, for me the Tour Fusion rolled the best. It has a strong finish and a great midlane read which I immediately fell in love with. My first series I played with this monster I hit 713, and was definitely not disappointed. I can't wait to use this thing even more. But I do admit the smell of blueberry muffins is pretty distracting at times. I highly recommend this to anyone amateur to pro. It hooks right off your hand

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: j9dalton@gmail.com 03/04/2014 03:57 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
At first, I did not plan to buy this ball but I decided to after heard from many friends of mine about it. I really glad that I bought this ball!

I have been bowl so WELL with Storm Sync and Roto Grip Defiant, but I have been struggling with many 10th pin on the lane every time I bowl. They are great ball and keep me stay above 200s for long time, but I realized that I haven't 700 series this year. When I bought myself a IQ Tour Fusion, I decided to have the pin one inch above of my ring finger (right handed bowler) to seek for smoothest, cleaniest, and strongest backend.

After two weeks, my average with IQ Tour Fusion is 244.5 and 700 series. (no 500s or 600s yet!) This ball is one of THE MOST STRONGEST BACKEND ball I ever had in my life! Not only this, my teammates love to see how Fusion rolled into the pocket like a boom!

Sometimes you feel like a strike you recently bowled was LUCKY... That's how I feel all the time with SYNC and DEFIANT. But with Fusion, all strikes weren't lucky strikes... they are REAL one!

If you have struggled with many 10th pin, get FUSION!

Beware of this, this Fusion will be your air freshener everywhere! If you love blueberry muffin in the morning before tournament starts, you'll enjoy this ball, too.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by j9dalton@gmail.com


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 02/28/2014 15:02 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm IQ Fusion Ball Review

When I first heard the best ball company in the world was combining two of their great pieces into one, I couldn’t wait to order a couple of them and make some dust! I have been so impressed thus far with the IQ Fusion. There were times I thought the IQ Tour and IQ Tour Pearl were too sensitive to oil and friction. Finding a happy medium with surface and drilling with those two rocks presented challenges but I was still able to use them. So far, the IQ Fusion has been nothing but impressive.

The IQ Fusion provides that happy medium I was looking for where it’s a stronger, symmetrical motion. It’s a perfect compliment to a Zero Gravity, Hyper Cell, or Marvel-S. The one I drilled is approximately 5 ½ x 4 ½ with a hole under my axis. I took the shine off with a light 1000 pad by hand. That helped the reaction be less sensitive to friction and oil, creating a smoother, but clean and powerful shape. I’ve been able to use it on many different conditions, but mainly when the lanes start to transition and I need to create some angle and shape down lane.

In my opinion, this ball is stronger than most people think. Because of the pearl, its response time is quicker which will help both the lower rev players and rev dominant players. I’ve also had success putting weight holes in balls with lower differentials. Weight holes help the ball read the lane a bit more and thus creating a better reaction. This ball, quite possibly, could be the ball of the year. I’m excited to win some tournaments with this bad boy in my hands!

Go drill one!

#StormNation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: SWidmer 02/28/2014 13:49 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    207
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 7/8 over 3/8 up
 
My IQ Tour Fusion Layout: 65 degrees x 4" X 3 3/8" (65 degrees)

Of the first two releases in this series I am a bigger fan of the IQ Tour Pearl while the IQ Tour has served me well at times as well. I've found it easier to lose my angle with the solid at times while being able to stay with the Pearl for more games at a time. I was pretty eager to see what the Fusion would do. In comparison to the first two the Fusion provided more length than the IQ Tour and a slightly more violent reaction at the breakpoint than the IQ Tour Pearl.

Since drilling the Fusion with the layout above I have drilled a second one. The second one is a pin up layout with an initial angle of 70 degrees and a pin to PAP distance of 5 inches. This layout provides a bit more length with a much stronger backend reaction.

Conditions I have used the IQ Tour Fusion on: Mostly house shots (41' on AMF, 42' and 43' on Brunswick). I also used the 70 degree Fusion for a couple of games at the 2014 Masters on the burn.

Prior to scuffing the pin-down layout Fusion I stayed away from it on a fresh condition. I just found it to be too skid/flippy on the fresh. Usually by the second or third game of league it was a great ball to go to. Once the lanes broke down a bit it seemed nearly impossible to throw the ball too far right for it to recover while still retaining enough energy to strike after recovering.

One night bowling on lanes following a couple of teams who used nothing but plastic gave me an opportunity to break the shine off. I had been tempted to do this since I got the ball to try it on a fresh condition. Nothing else was reacting well with all the carry down we were seeing in practice so I felt it was as good a time as any. I hit the surface by hand with a 1000 pad and then smoothed it out with an old 2000 pad. This gave me a great down lane reaction, one I didn't have with either solid I had with me (Marvel-S and Zero Gravity).

Last night I tried the same IQ Tour Fusion on the second shift pattern again and was a bit too strong under normal circumstances (not a full shift of plastic balls dragging oil down the lane) so I took it down to 4000. I've decided to keep my pin down layout at 4000 matte finish for now. This finish seems or fit the layout better but will leave the 70 degree pin up layout box finish since I'm looking for more of a skid flip reaction from that layout.

Where the IQ Tour Fusion fits in my bag: The IQ Tour Fusion is in between my Marvel-S and my IQ Tour Pearl. It's a good 3 to 4 boards weaker overall than my Marvel-S and 4 to 5 boards stronger overall than my IQ Tour Pearl.

When I use the IQ Tour Fusion: I would use the scuffed IQ Tour Fusion when I'm not getting enough backend reaction from my Marvel-S and want to stay with a symmetric ball.

Overall I would say I still prefer the more predictable motion I get from my IQ Tour Pearl but the Fusion is still a perfect option when the IQT Pearl isn't quite enough ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by SWidmer


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: stevefoushee@recycsystems.com 02/27/2014 12:41 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I got my IQ Tour Fusion a couple of weeks ago. I use it only for league play only, no practice! The IQ Fusion is an awesome ball that I have had the pleasure of using. What can you say except the ball hits hard! I have rolled 2 300 games this past week! The IQ Tour Fusion and the Storm Byte is whats in my arsenal. They pack a good one two punch! I carry a 225 avg on our house shot and looking forward to an increase here. Storm has done exceptional with these 2 balls! Can't wait to check out the Zero Gravity!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: gutterline 02/26/2014 15:58 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Right Handed
Ball weight: 14
Rev Rate: 378
Ball Speed: 18.2
Axis Tilt: 6.67
Axis Rotation: 45*
PAP: 4 1/2 horizontal, 1 5/8 up
Layout: 45 x 3 x 55 (hole P2)

I decided to drill the Fusion to be one of my benchmark balls. I want to be able to carry this ball pretty much anywhere and find a look, or at least give me a good read of the lanes. The drilling listed uses my benchmark ratio of 1:1.25, using a 100* sum.

First game out of the box on our THS was 289, with a terrible 11th ball. I was able to play the track with leak and tug. I had plenty of room and if the ball was around the hole, it mixed the pins great. For me, the roll is quite similar to the Tour Pearl, but just a bit earlier. The ball has a nice shape down lane, it isn’t too sharp and doesn’t rev up too soon. Just a nice smooth curve. If it encounters friction, it wants to move, but it’s not erratic.

There is a reason everyone seems to like this ball. The roll is predictable and it carries quite well. I can play up the boards if there is oil in the track, or I can swing it when something like the Hyper Cell or Zero Gravity has eaten up the shot. It recovers really well down lane when stronger equipment burns up.

Because most THS tend to have dry boards right and a taper at the end of the pattern, this may be the perfect ball for a benchmark. With the games I have rolled, I am overly impressed, even more so than I was with the Pearl Tour.

I’m not sure there’s any company that has a hybrid cover as good as the R2S hybrid. The cover/core matchup on this ball rivals the HyRoad. I try not to put a blanket statement on my reviews, but this is a must have. This ball is going to be good on a variety of conditions and should be a welcomed addition to most, if not all, arsenals.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gutterline


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Goess2004 02/26/2014 13:21 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
LOVE this ball. You can pretty much play any line of your choosing. The ball will come back early when needed and go long when needed. A++ to Storm on putting together 2 of the best balls last year in to 1. Easily a ball of the year candidate.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Goess2004


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: nsideoutpting@att.net 02/25/2014 15:33 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
To who me it may concern,I Would feel better about if you would reformat my grammer and put it in your own word I can explain how it all went down.I bought this ball from bowlingball.com where my wife and I buy all our balls and gear.my wife and I lowl twice a week.I avg 214 I was looking for a ball I could swing out instead of going down and in.so I had it drilled to go long with a strong back end.ordered the ball 4 inches out from the pin and it had 4 ounces of top weight.in my Fri night leauge I shot a 213 and opened in the 10th frame 2nd game 201 opened in the 10th frame then shot a 300 for a 714 series.and this was out of the box.never shot 300 before I have 4 299s.finally got the monkey off my back.I have 2 other storm balls.thank you bowlingball.com and storm o love storm.thx ray

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: sharrison@clarktesting.com 02/17/2014 11:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    206
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Very pleased over all I have purchased several items in different names through you all in recent years and the shipping has always been fast. This one was the longest but I expected it to be since it was a preorder and the high demand for this ball not complaining what so ever. will continue to be a returning customer. got the ball drilled and through it a few times already and love the backend reaction and the pin carry the ball gives.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: terrance_d_davis@yahoo.com 02/17/2014 08:47 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
 
Bowlingball.com was spot on again. Ball arrived when they said it was, \"as soon as it was released\". Ball works great. Ball smells TOO much. Car and garage smells like blueberry muffins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by terrance_d_davis@yahoo.com


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: jestrada1987 02/16/2014 22:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Style    Cranker
 
This ball is amazing. Has excellent movement and responds very well to many lane conditions. I bought this ball for my friend and she is totally in love with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Riggs 02/15/2014 18:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
IQ TOUR FUSION review by Storm staffer Jeff Richgels
Drilled January 22, 2013

But the IQ TOUR PEARL “Gold Magic” has been one of my favorite balls of all time, particularly on house shots. So long as there is not a huge puddle in the middle, it’s one I’ll always try on a house shot. And I have used it some on Sport shots — there just needs to be some dry area for it to work.
Storm said the key to the PEARL was that it created a lot of entry angle with a long transition, which usually isn’t seen. That's an excellent description of the motion!
The IQ TOUR FUSION fits right between the two, just as it was designed to do. The core is the same as the other two — the C3 Centripetal Control Core, "which is engineered to yield ample midlane roll and smooth out the transition.”
The FUSION makes the same basic move, but with the hybid cover it is intended to be less sensitive to oil than the PEARL and it is. Storm says the surface roughness of the new R2S hybrid mixture on the FUSION is about 12 percent higher than the PEARL.
Luckily for me, it is not as early as the IQ TOUR solid, which was so aggressive it typically forced me inside too quickly, too often creating a 4-pin/2-pin reaction.
I drilled two FUSIONs and have used them on house shots, the USBC Blue 1 pattern, a Kegel version of the flat PBA Bear pattern, and a WTBA Sport pattern that is very similar to PBA Cheetah.
One is very similar to my favorite IQ TOUR PEARL with the pin over the bridge and the CG kicked right about 60 degrees. The numbers are 4-5/8 pin to PAP, 4-1/4 “mb” (it's a symmetrical) to PAP, and 3-1/4 pin buffer with my PAP at 5 1/8 over and 3/4 up. The weight hole is almost on my PAP.
The other is a pin-in-the-palm, a drilling that often has been great for shorter patterns like Cheetah, as it blends out the often wicked over/under reaction, enabling me to swing it to the dry boards without it jumping high and get it in the oil without a squirt-snap reaction. The numbers are 5-1/8 pin to PAP, 3-3/4 “mb” to PAP, and 5-1/8 pin buffer.
The weight hole is on a 45-degree line down and right from my CG.
I’ve had much success with that drilling in other balls like the FURIOUS and SPECIAL AGENT on short patterns. And the FUSION worked great in the tournament I used it at, giving me control and striking power.
http://www.11thframe.com/news/article/6427
The FUSION’s coverstock is noticeably stronger than the PEARL for me, but with more skid the original IQ TOUR solid. If anything, it is stronger than I expected. I have to really get into a deep puddle to see it skid too much to make the corner, which happened frequently with the PEARL if there was too big a puddle. And the FUSION rolls very heavy through the pins if it hasn't rolled out. Where the PEARL was skid, move, and sometimes quit, the FUSION is much more of an even and more continuous motion unless it's totally thrown to the dry and quits.
I especially like how the pin-in-the-palm one rolls, even on conditions where I often haven’t used that drilling in the past, such as the flat pattern in the league I bowl in.
I have not touched the coverstock, but my doubles partner and ball guru Steve Richter said he hit his with a 3,000-grit pad and it rolled even better. So I may try that. The R2S is famous for working well with any surface treatment, so change the FUSION with confidence.
Even without changing the cover, I've found the FUSION to be usable on everything but very heavy oil with no dry area and very dry or burned out conditions. It's extremely versatile.
I think it’s real simple to say who will like this ball: If you liked the other IQ TOURs, especially the PEARL, odds are you are going to like this one. If you didn't like them, you probably should look for something else. If you liked one and not the other (like me), the FUSION probably is worth a shot.
I have a feeling the FUSION is going to be a contender for 2014 Ball of the Year.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Riggs


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: seanbaker 02/10/2014 15:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5inches right 1/2 inch up
 
Storm IQ Tour Fusion
Right Handed
Experience Advanced (I have bowled in a league and hold a PBA Card)
League Average 220
Ball Speed Medium 15-16mph
Style Cranker
PAP 5 over 1/4" up


PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2"
Balance Hole - yes
Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit polished)
What I Was Looking For from this ball: I wanted the same predictable reaction both my IQ Tour and my IQ Pearl give me and a strong backend.
What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout: The perfect missing link for the IQ series. The hybrid coverstock gives me exactly what I want, great motion down the lane and a very strong backend.
I tested this ball on a fresh pattern at my local center. The centers lanes are wood and the house shot isnt easy. The shot tends to hook early in the middle of the lanes and hang right if you get the ball too far out. Over the course of 5 games, I started at my normal area which is around 15 and threw out to 8 and quickly moved due to the hard backend reaction. I knew I drilled this bad boy up really strong for me with the type of ball it is, but I wanted it to be very strong for heavy oil patterns. I quickly found out that I couldnt think about playing my normal house shot with this ball. Right off the start, I quickly moved way left and I mean alot left for me and played very deep as well. I kept up my practice session testing this ball for another 8-10 games on our house pattern. I ended up making myself not hit up on this ball so that it would not over react on our shot. I cannot say enough about how mean this ball is. VERY Very strong and an absolute great motion down lane and an even more awesome backend reaction. I cant leave out how hard the Fusion hits the pin either.
Overall: One hard hooking ball that makes its way down the lanes awesome. If you want a big hooking ball, buy this. I think every IQ fan should have one and every bowler wanting a hard hooking ball should have one as well. A fantastic look and a confident ball reaction every time. If you want something for heavy oil, buy it. If you want something to have fun with and hook the lane, then you need this. This ball will be a definate must have with me for heavy patterns!
Sean Baker
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Paducah, Ky 42003


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by seanbaker


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: deoff 02/07/2014 12:05 ( stars)


 
Review by Derek Eoff
PAP - 5 5/8, 1 1/4 up
RPM - 480
19 MPH

Patterns: U.S. Open, USBC Blue, House
Length: 40’, 41' and 43'
Volume: 19ml and 25 ml.

I drilled this with my favorite layout, pin above my middle finger, CG kicked out 45 degrees with balance hole.

I love the IQ Tour and IQ Tour Pearl. The IQ Tour Pearl may be my favorite ball of all time. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the Fusion.

The Fusion is as advertised. It is a perfect compliment to the solid and pearl. Knowing what I have with those three balls, I compared the Fusion to the Hyroad. I drilled three Hyroads and didn’t have much success with any of them. As good as the Hyroad is, with my rev rate, it forced me too deep too quick. I could really only use it on longer patterns.

Bowling on the USBC blue pattern, my Hyroad gave me the 4 pin, 2 pin reaction. In the same spot, I could use the Fusion and strike at will. It picked up a little earlier than the Hyroad and blended out the back of the pattern to allow me to easily hit the pocket.

The Fusion just seemed to always pick up in the right spot. It will be best used on medium to longer patterns. Straighter players may be able to use it on shorter patterns, but for me it was too angular on shorter patterns. I will still use the IQ Tour solid on shorter patterns.

For me the Fusion is a newer, better version of the Hyroad. Since almost everyone on the planet loved the Hyroad, I assume almost everyone will love the Fusion as well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by deoff


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: strmbwling300 02/04/2014 20:47 ( stars)


 
The !Q Tour Fusion is one of the most anticipated releases that I can think of in some time. Those that know me well know that I think the !Q Tour Solid is probably the best ball ever made. The Solid version I find to be very versatile and can be used on most conditions. I have been throwing the Fusion for a few weeks and I find this ball to be another hit from Storm. In the past the hybrids from Storm have been great(Hyroad especially). I usually have to drill these with longer pin to pap drillings to get the best reaction for my game. I drilled this with my typical layout with places the pin 5 inches from my pap and the mass bias 3 inches from my thumb. This ball has good length and booms on the backend! I used this over the weekend for a few games and this ball was very strong off the spot. I find this ball to be just as clean through the fronts as the pearl and stronger off the spot with more continuation than the pearl. I think this could be the strongest of all of the balls in the !Q line. My personal opinion is that the heavier handed guys will like this even more than usual. Like any other ball in the !Q line it is a no brainer.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by strmbwling300


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: WKnight84 02/03/2014 23:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/4 1/8
 
Storm IQ Tour Fusion Ball Review By Walter McKnight
Lane Conditions: Medium Oil
Typical Conditions: Variety of Shots
Type of Lane: Combination
What part of the lane did you play? Third Arrow
Weight of bowling ball: 15
Surface of bowling ball: Factory/Box
Likes: The IQ Tour Fusion's R2S™ Hybrid Reactive cover is superb with the C³™ Centripetal Control Core.
Dislikes:
I drilled my IQ Tour Fusion 55 x 6 x 45. The IQ Tour Fusion was very strong off the spot in comparison to the IQ Tour Pearl. I started out relatively straight then had to move 5/2 left as the lanes dried up. The Fusion retained a lot of energy and had no problem getting back to the pocket. The IQ Tour Pearl wasn't able to make the same bend. The IQ Fusion is the perfect combination of core and cover. It has the same length of the the IQ Tour Pearl and a slight mid lane roll of the IQ Tour Solid. Once again Storm hits a home run with the R2S cover stock.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by WKnight84


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: dhiggyJr 02/02/2014 19:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 up 3/8
 
By STORM staff: Dan Higgins
Right Handed
PAP 5 1/8 up 3/8
Rev rate 380-415

I have drilled 2 IQ Tour Fusion’s
Pin up 5 ¼ x 3 ¼ x 3 or dual angle 40 x 5 ¼ x 42
I usually use my IQ Tour as a benchmark with this same layout. I now have more backend than needed! That’s ok though I can use less hand and let Fusion and lane guide me to the 1-3 pocket for STRIKING!!!, I like using this layout for more down and in play on typical house patterns or something 39-42 foot. I have this layout numerous bowling balls, EX: Marvel S, IQ Tour, Freak N Frantic and decide if I have to ball up or down based on desire reaction/carry. Now with the Fusion I have made eyes wander as this will be the ball to have.
The other IQ Fusion I drilled is the “Motion Hole” theory. With my Pap being over 5, I place the pin next to ring finger and drew a line from the cg through the pin and placed a hole 10inches from the pin. I like the layout and motion prior to the hole and with the hole I got a little more distance and more arch of the ball. I find it a little to responsive off the dry. I would suggest you to play with and older ball to see if you like the desired reaction.
I’m going to drill a third IQ Tour Fusion with what is called the reverse 130 layout(Pin above fingers on center line cg kicked left and inch from center grip and a 7/8 hole about 40-45 degrees 9 inches from center of span, which is above and left of my middle finger and left of my last flares). I have this layout in a Reign On, Modern Marvel and HyRoad, produces better length and continuous motion for me and I like better than the “Motion Hole” layout.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dhiggyJr


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: sk8shorty01 01/21/2014 09:03 ( stars)


 
Ball: IQ Tour Fusion
Layout Ball 1: 75x4.75x40
Layout Ball 2: 65x2.5x30
Surface Prep: 1500 Polished

Bowler Style: Tweener
PAP: 5.25x1
Rev Rate: 325
Speed: 17.5
Axis Rotation: 65 Degrees
Axis Tilt: 5 Degrees


The IQ Tour Fusion is the next in line to release in Storm's extremely successful IQ Tour Line and it definitely does not disappoint. This ball fits between the IQ Tour and the IQ Tour Pearl so well because it seems to have taken the best qualities of each ball and combined them into a single piece. The IQ Tour Fusion has the length and "pop" at the break point like the IQ Tour Pearl but still keeps that smooth mid-lane read and the versatility of the IQ Tour. This combination makes the IQ Tour Fusion a ball that is very difficult to put down.

For myself, I drilled up two IQ Tour Fusions to properly test the roll depending on what you did with the weight block during drilling and I was surprised how well this ball took to layout changes. By going with the layouts listed above I was able to create a ball with a little more length and angularity down lane and another with a more early roll that continued strong through the pins. This allows me to stay in the same area of the lane during a league set and easily modify my ball roll on the lane to ensure maximum carry.

If you have another ball in the IQ Tour Line and feel its a good ball, the Fusion is definitely a ball you want to consider for your next purchase because it might easily be the best ball out of the three. I think this ball has a good chance of taking ball of the year this year and its only January!

For more information please visit my YouTube channel (sk8sbowlingreviews) to see a video review of the IQ Tour Fusion and a more detailed breakdown of my thoughts on the ball.

Michael Bauer
Storm Amateur Staff Member
PBA Member
www.YouTube.com/sk8sbowlingreviews


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by sk8shorty01


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: KAS1419 01/09/2014 15:03 ( stars)

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    160
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Just got this ball and first time out noticed the difference. The greatest feature of this ball is that it allows you to roll two strikes with one roll no joke. as i threw the ball down the lane i noticed it was sort of like i was in the matrix and when it hit the pints all 20 on both lanes went down..easy double!! needless to say it was almost 300 every game and strikes galore.

in case anyone gets this far all of this occured in my daydreams at work


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Fusion Reviewed By: Alcoholic seamen thrower 12/27/2013 11:52 ( stars)

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    270-280
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I scored 4 300s with this ball, and it haven't even been released yet.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Alcoholic seamen thrower


Read all 45 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter