Go to Roto Grip Uproar »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Uproar

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.84Write a Review    Read all 32 reviews

I Love It
 
84% (27 of 32)
I Like It
 
16% (5 of 32)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 32)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 32)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 32)

Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: RonCase823 03/06/2014 23:12 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    241
Sport Shot Average    217
 
My Axis is 4 7/8 right, ¼ up, my speed is average and I would consider myself with higher revs but more up the back. So not a cranker but not really straight either.

Drilled this ball 50? x 5’ x 30? (5 ½” x 4 ½” x 2 ½”)

I’ve had success with this ball after the lanes get broken down because it goes long before it makes a sharp turn on the back end. I’ve also been able to move right and play straight thru the heads and get incredible carry due to the very angular back ends it creates. This ball will work well for people with a lot of hand, a drier condition, or one who likes to play straight up the boards and still get that sharp back end reaction.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RonCase823


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: caseyccg 01/16/2014 17:29 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Roto Grip UpRoar Review by Casey Murphy

Orientation: Right Handed
Rev Rate: 400 RPM
Speed: 16-17 MPH
PAP: 5 across ¾ up

Location: Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern: High Volume THS
Layout: 60, 5 ½, 40

Wow! The high RG/low Diff combo had me worried. I hadn’t really seen anything like it in a pearl coverstock. And what I found when I drilled the ball was definitely unique. The UpRoar is super clean through the heads, but on the back it just rolls. If I have friction, that ball strikes all day. And it doesn’t jerk off the dry like some of the other mid performance balls that are designed to go long and sideways.

The UpRoar was designed to blend over under especially when the heads blow up. It definitely succeeds. It feels like I’m throwing a big core high performance ball with the way the UpRoar rolls but somehow it still gets through the heads really well.

If you’re looking for a heavy rolling ball that gets down the lane every time the UpRoar is your ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: salvezzi@aol.com 07/22/2014 09:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    196
Sport Shot Average    186
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This ball is a replacement for a Hammer Vibe. It reacts very similar to the Vibe. It gets thru the oil and comes out swinging. The ball reacts in a very controlled manor,that is with a controlled finish. My first night in league use was great. I was able to bowl my average with little problem. I was able to maintain a good line even through the oil transition. This ball is a great addition to my arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: Lee O Green 07/18/2014 00:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
where do i begin with this ball: amazing as hell i got it just a week ago and i've already bowled my highest game in a bowling league ever with it which was 233 my layout on it is directly pin down it to give it that super strong flip & early roll through the front part of the lane although it required a balance hole to the right of my thumb hole to keep the layout legal and i absolutely love it definitely best ball of 2k14 thus far

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Lee O Green


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: CoachT 05/13/2014 19:07 ( stars)


 
Perfect for medium to dryer conditions, especially on sport or wet/dry conditions. It has that mid-lane smooth roll rarely seen in these lower end bowling balls. Very predictable motion down lane and doesn’t over-skid. I have this one drilled 5X4 with 2000 polished on top. Never afraid to bring this one out of the bag and a must for Open Championships after the shot breaks down. Averaged 240 last 3 games with this ball at Texas Masters. Another female student used it with confidence for last 7 of the 8 games in Blue Bonnet tournament. Wouldn’t have made cut without it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by CoachT


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: Tony Reynaud 05/07/2014 15:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    239
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1 5/8 up
 
COVERSTOCK NAME: 51ML™
COVERSTOCK STYLE: PEARL
COVERSTOCK TYPE: REACTIVE
WEIGHT BLOCK: LATE ROLL 51™
COLOR: ORANGE PEARL / RUBY PEARL
FINISH: 1500-GRIT POLISHED
FINISH METHOD: CAN BE SANDED
DUROMETER: 73-75 ON D-SCALE
FLARE POTENTIAL: 4" - 5"/MEDIUM-HIGH
WEIGHTS: 10LBS - 16LBS
SKU: RUP
RELEASE DATE: 01/07/14

My layout: 4 3/8 x 5 1/8 x 2
My PAP: 4 1/2 over 1 1/4 up

If you go back and read some of my other reviews you will see that I have a strong tendency to really like solid coverstock balls. You will also notice that I haven’t given many strong reviews on pearls and hybrids. Therefore when I tell you that I have a high opinion on the Uproar from Roto Grip it should really mean something to you.

As I said in the past I am not a big skip/flip type of guy. I like archy ball motions, and I don’t get that with many pearls or hybrids. The Uproar really rolls well for me and became part of my tournament bag very quickly. I don’t get that big skid /flip reaction, and yet the ball does make a very good controllable move in the back part of the lane and accelerates through the pocket.

Being that it is a pearl ball I also never have any trouble getting it down the lane. The ball really works well for me when I need to ball down due to transition, The fact that it doesn’t skid/flip, and just archs for me, helps me play the right part of the lane, therefore avoiding the under over reaction I get with most pearls.

What amazes more about the Uproar from Roto Grip is it very low price point. I feel you get so much ball for your money that the Uproar should be part of everyone’s arsenal. It will be very hard to go wrong with the Uproar from Roto Grip. The Uproar therefore gets my highest rating.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tony Reynaud


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: pbaramos 04/28/2014 11:23 ( stars)


 
The NEW Roto Grip UpRoar is the perfect new addition to the HP2 line. With the discontinuing of the Shatter, the uproar compliments the Wrecker and the Rumble perfectly. The cover/core combo on the Uproar gives it an extremely clean look through the front, and monster continuation in the back. When the rumble and wrecker are a lil too early rolling, the uproar is the perfect go to ball. I drilled mine with my basic pin down layout (45x4x75), and the motion i got out of this ball down lane was as if it was a high performance symmetric ball. This is a must have ball for all bowlers looking for a great league ball, or something for mid to later parts of a tournament. Own It!!!


Erik Ramos
Storm/Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pbaramos


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: tnguyen 04/23/2014 01:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Had this ball drilled 5" Pin to Pap with a controlled layout - 60x5x50. My Roto Grip Shatter has a stronger layout and would hit high when the lanes start to break down so I was looking for a ball that would give me more length and a controlled back end. Don't let the price fool you, this is an awesome ball for a THS. It delivered everything I had hoped for and I had one of my best series using it out of box.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: MillyStrikes 04/21/2014 22:24 ( stars)


 
Very excellent piece, reads the lanes very smoothly and has a very strong backend reaction, great all purpose bowling ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: bubblehead 04/19/2014 22:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    191
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/2 x 1 5/16
 
Received a Roto Grip Uproar from Bowlingball.com in 5 weekdays from my order. Also this was the first ball I had drilled by them and was very happy with the quality and service. Had the ball drilled 4x4x2 and after working on loosening up the thumb hole during the first game still managed a 613 series for a 191 average bowler. Ball reads later in the mids and makes a hard turn to the pocket on a 41 foot house shot. Very happy with this ball and Bowlingball.com and free shipping!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bubblehead


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: mikelj 04/18/2014 11:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I tested my UpRoar on my 39-foot house shot. The 1500-polished pearl finish worked well for this condition. I pushed the ball to the dry area to gain some friction.

My UpRoar is drilled with the pin up above the fingers and a dual thumb hole layout.. I wanted to have a ball that would compliment my Deranged and have a nice skid flip reaction. This ball produced about 3-5 inches of flare. The ball skidded nicely through the heads as I played just inside the oil line skidding out to the dryer boards. Once the ball encountered some friction, it revved up nicely and made a pronounced move to the pocket. ?As with all Roto Grip balls, it drove through the pin deck.

The UpRoar has a very predictable reaction, and with the 2.55 RG and .042 differential makes it a great addition for the lower rev medium speed league player who needs the extra length from the polished cover when the lanes begin to breakdown.

What I enjoyed the most about this ball is the late breaking skid flip reaction. It produced a nice dramatic hook to the pocket and devastated the pins. What a fun ball to throw.

The UpRoar is a nice go to ball for the league bowler and is good compliment to the Deranged and Asylum. This ball will make a nice addition to anyone’s arsenal.

Mike Johnston
Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: L.Hoffman 04/10/2014 15:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The good looking bright pearl Uproar is as good as any earlier balls in its class. My drilling has the 3 inch pin above ring finger & CG kicked out an inch. As a super senior LH stroker I keep hand behind ball which gives me more lenght before a sharp, but, smooth move to the pocket. On the avg. house condition I can stand 4-5 boards right of center & cross 12 to 5-6 & with the late break point, no pins left on the deck...On medium oil I have to move left & go up 5-6 with same hand release and carry. This ball can be sanded for heavier oil & high rev bowlers...Jason Belmonte for one on recent PBA TV finals...A lot of uproars on local lanes because of its versatility with all averages. L.Hoffman RG Staff

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by L.Hoffman


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: LouisN 04/08/2014 13:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
PAP    5 Over 7/8 Up
 
Roto Grip UpRoar Review by Louis Narvaez Jr.
Layout 55 x 4 1/2 x 70.
I drilled this ball using a 55 x 4 1/2 x 70 dual angle layout. This puts the pin below my ring finger with the cg kicked out. After throwing this ball for the first time all I could say is WOW! Even with this layout the UpRoar made an amazing move off the spot. On the house shot I could move as far left as I wanted and this ball would get down the lane and go left.

When I drilled this ball I was under the impression that I would be able to begin moving back to the right when things broke down. The great thing about the UpRoar is that I really do not have to move right. If I am throwing a stronger piece of equipment and it just becomes overly aggressive, the UpRoar allows me to stay in the same spot and keep on going.
Here is an example. I was throwing a Hyper Cell at 3000 grit. After about a game the Cell was just too much ball. I decided to move right and throw the UpRoar. First ball BOOM Solid 9 pin. After a few frames I was throwing the UpRoar from the same spot as the Hyper Cell and it was great.
The UpRoar pushes down the lane with ease. Don't let the HP2 rating fool you because this ball does move. If you are looking for a ball to use later in blocks or if you have problems getting some of the more aggressive balls to get down the lane this is a ball you should consider.
OOB surface on the UpRoar is 1500 Polished. The UpRoar did roll good with this surface but seemed to go a little bit long for me. I hit the ball with a 2000 grit pad to get rid of some of the polish and this ball came to life for me. It also made this ball very forgiving.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by LouisN


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: Jeremy Hunt 04/08/2014 13:05 ( stars)


 
I am not typically one of these guys who sees a ball on TV and run and drill one the next day but I must say after watching Belmo and Malott throw this ball on TV I was very intrigued. So that got my attention. Before drilling an Uproar I drilled several for customers and they were very happy with the performance so I drilled one for myself and the Uproar did not disappoint ! I went with a little stronger pin placement than normal on this Uproar because of my high ball speed and this being a higher RG ball I didn\\\'t want it to be way to long and change directions to quick. The Uproar is a very unique motion for me. Typically high RG pearls are not something I would use very often with my high ball speed but the Uproar is a lot more versatile than most pearls. I got great length with a nice predictable continuous move at the breakpoint without being super flippy which makes the Uproar a ball that could be used as a benchmark type ball. I found that I could use this Uproar on a wider variety of lane conditions than most pearl balls. I have not tried an Uproar yet with any surface but I can tell this ball would be even more controllable and predictable with a little surface.
Review Ball Specifications
Games Used 50
Coverstock Finish Box
Drilling Angle 55
Pin to PAP 4.5
Pin to VAL Angle 70
Reviewer Specifications
Bowler Type Cranker (400+ RPM)
Hand Right
Ball Speed 18
PAP Horizontal 4-5/8
PAP Vertical 3/4
Staff Member Yes
Lane Specifications
Lane Surface Brunswick ProAnvilane
Lane Condition THS 39 feet


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jeremy Hunt


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: TKKShop 04/08/2014 09:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5x1 up
 
Elliott Askey
Ball Speed: 18 mph
Rev Rate: 450+
PAP: 5x1 up

Does a ball ever just tell you to drill it? I had originally planned on waiting to drill my UpRoar until around May for when I go to Nationals. Well, the UpRoar sat on my pro shop shelf for 2 days before I could not withstand the urge to drill it! So I am comparing core and cover numbers with other releases and decide to drill it similar to my IQ Tour Fusion. What a great choice indeed. The ball is drilled with a 5x4 pin up, and it roars down lane. It is a great compliment to the Fusion. It is extremely forgiving and has plenty of recovery left in the tank when I send her a little wide. I messed with the surface just to see how durable the 51 ML Pearl cover was. At 4000, it was an extremely smooth and predictable roll. I believe this is how I am going to leave it for Nats so that I can control the breakpoint. At 2000, well, it wanted a little more oil than I was seeing on our 39 ft THS. The UpRoar is a great benchmark piece that will fill that mid level performance hole you have in your bag!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TKKShop


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: grstorm 04/06/2014 23:34 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 4 ¼ x 4 ¾ x 4 5/16
The Uproar is drilled 1 ½ inch down from ring finger and cg out with a weight hole down with 3000 abralon. When I first rolled it shined up it was a little too long for me and not much down lane motion, but once I put surface on it the ball came to life but still had the same motion as far as the length when it was polished but an earlier read in the mid lane and smoother transition down lane.
I use the uproar when the lanes break down usually after a fresh house shot pattern. When its on more of a fresh pattern I have to stand left and go up the boards until the transition hits then I can move more right. Right now the uproar has been a popular ball for the bowlers who need length with a more controlled back end and not much snap. For a medium to dry lane ball this ball hits like a truck! Great job Roto Grip once again!

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: TommyGN 04/04/2014 15:26 ( stars)


 
The Roto Grip Up Roar is the latest release in the HP-2 line of balls. It is the follow up to the Rumble. The Up Roar has a 1500 grit polished pearl 51ML cover stock. This is the same cover that was used on the Shatter. The core is the Late Roll 51 that debuted in the Rumble. The numbers come in at 2.55 RG with a differential of 0.030 in 15lbs. The Up Roar has bright shelf appeal with its orange and ruby pearl color combination.
I drilled my Up Roar with pin over ring, CG on my grip line, with the 6 ¾” virtual MB in my initial ball track. This comes out to 5 ¼ x6 ½ x2 ½ using the Storm system of laying out a ball. I left the ball at the box finish. The comp balls will be my current Rumble with a 4x6½ x2½ layout and a Shatter, with the same layout as the Up Roar.
The Up Roar is very clean to the break point for me. It doesn’t jump off the dry as hard as some of my Storm balls, but is a very strong move compared to my other Roto Grip pieces. This ball needs DRY backends to slow it down. It is an excellent complement to the Rumble in that it affords me about 3 to 4 more feet of length compared to the Rumble with box finish, and a more pronounced move to the pocket. The Up Roar is about 2-3 boards less overall than the Shatter. The decrease in the differential really changes the shape of this ball as it rolls through the backend of the lane. Since the core doesn’t allow the ball to rev up as fast, the move is much more sudden than that of the Shatter, once encountering friction. I really like the Shatter a lot, but sometimes find it to be too much overall hook when the lane starts to dry up based on the cover and core relationship. The Up Roar seems to be the solution, for my style of bowling.
I like the Up Roar for broken down conditions. I also liked how this ball worked for me at Doug Kent’s bowling center, during his Brockmeyer Open event. Doug has wood lanes, and uses a very difficult pattern. The up Roar allowed me to trap the middle of the lane, and grind out, making the first cut.
I probably wouldn’t reach for the Up Roar as the first ball out of the bag on freshly oiled synthetic lanes(unless it is a very low volume), as it will be too skid flippy for my ball speed. I could see where someone who is speed dominate and wants to play the dry, would be able to use it on fresh oiled synthetics though. I can also see bowlers with slower ball speed and higher rev rates will see use of this ball on medium conditions. For me, as my ball speed and rev rate are fairly well matched, I will use it more on the broken down conditions and wood lanes where I need a clean move to the breakpoint.
Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Roto Grip Up Roar.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TommyGN


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 03/31/2014 23:57 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
Roto Grip Uproar
Right handed
Rev Rate - 400
Speed - Medium
PAP 4 up 1 1/4


The RotoGrip UpRoar is the pearlized version of the Rumble. With a low diff. of 0.030 and high RG 2.55. There was some reviews about this ball being flippy on the backend. Even with a pearl cover I personally get an earlier roll with nice continuous smooth arcing motion. With the Late Roll 51 core, the Uproar is very predictable. As you have seen Belmo use the Uproar a lot on TV this year. Very good ball for sport and PBA. But also very good option for those house shots that are a little on the light side with the oil. I drilled mine with a 5 1/2 inch pin above my middle finger. With this drilling the Uproar also allows me play on the fresh better as I don't see a big change in direction off of the spot. High rev guys will really like this ball as it is so controllable down lane when they have to get deep and open up the lane. If you liked the Rumble you will definitely like the pear version Uproar.


Brian Watson
Storm/RG Pro shop staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 03/26/2014 20:52 ( stars)


 
I originally tested the Uproar on a house pattern and was definitely impressed. Typically on house patterns, I like to use stronger, slower responsive balls to prevent a ‘cliffed’ reaction. We bowl on a very high friction surface and this ball comes into play as the lanes transition and I have to move left and open up my angles. With any new balls I drill that come out very shiny, I usually take the surface down by hand to smooth out the shape. After about ten shots, I knocked the surface down with a used 2000 pad and the Uproar still cleared the front of the lane with ease and slowed down the response time down lane.

The one I drilled has the pin above my bridge with a large shift and a hole on my axis. This measures out to 5 1/8 x 3 with a 31/32 hole on my axis. I’ve had more success with putting larger weight holes in balls with lower differentials. I feel this helps the ball read the body of the lane and create a smoother motion. It also helps the ball flare and create a predictable motion. I can see the Uproar being used on all types of conditions on all types of surfaces. There will definitely be a need for friction, as the cover and core are on the mid to lower end. But, it’s a great shape that the straighter players will be able to play farther to the right with when the lanes start to burn up. The high rev guys (watch Belmo at the TOC & Masters) can move left, open up their angles, and create more of an arc shape down lane.

Go drill one!!!

#RotoGrip #OwnIt


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: John Brodersen 03/20/2014 13:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 2 oz, 2.48 top weight, 2.75 inch pin.

The Uproar, a pearl in the HP2 line, was drilled using the dual angle method. The layout is a 60 X 4.5 X 55. An x-hole was not needed. Using Storm’s layout terminology the layout would be 4.5 by 4.75 with a 3 7/8 inch pin buffer. The cover was left OOB which is 1500 polished.

The Uproar, a weaker pearl with a 51 grit rating, was thrown on a fresh 41 foot, 24 micro liter house shot. The Uproar was super clean through the fronts, did not read the mids consistently and did not go through the pins very well. I added a flare increasing X-hole at the intersection of the VAL and a line drawn from the grip center through the CG to the VAL. This did improve the overall motion of the Uproar but there are better ball choices in the Roto Grip lineup for this lane condition. The Uproar will excel on conditions that provide some friction as demonstrated by Belmonte’s and Malott’s recent success using it.


John Brodersen
RG amateur staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: drj361 03/13/2014 12:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
raised my average 20 pins. I have used it for 3 weeks now and never bowled better. I went from 200 to 220.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by drj361


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: tommyboyjr23 02/28/2014 15:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    184
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Don't really know know how to explain my layout but I know that the pin is above my middle finger and it allows the ball to travel farther down the lane and then explode left into the pocket. I use this ball as my adjustment ball after the lanes become dryer and I have moved as much as I can with my other ball. I have seen a vast improvement with my game by using this ball later on during tournaments or about the the third game during league play. If you are working with dryer lanes then this is definitely the ball for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tommyboyjr23


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: WKnight84 02/24/2014 01:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/4 1/8
 
Roto Grip UpRoar Ball Review By Walter McKnight


Lane Conditions: Medium-Light Oil
Typical Conditions: Variety of Shots
Type of Lane: Combination
What part of the lane did you play? Second Arrow
Did the ball track out? Normal
Weight of bowling ball: 15
Surface of bowling ball: Factory/Box
What grit was the surface of the ball? 1500
Likes: Smooth transition to the pocket. Very predictable.


The Roto Grip Uproar is the newest edition to the HP2 Line. The Late Roll 51 core combined with the 51ML cover gives this ball ultimate length and recovery. The Uproar has been designed to work best on medium to dry lane conditions. But make no mistake it is very aggressive and a true heavy hitter for its price point. The ball easily reads the mid lane without wasting energy and enters the pocket with a very sharp angle. If you're looking for a ball that can cut through dry lanes without losing energy, this is the ball for you.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by WKnight84


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: Roto_Roller 02/23/2014 13:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/8 1/2 up
 

Weight: 14 lbs.
Pin Length: 3”
Drilling: Pin over ring, CG in palm
Pattern Length: 39 ft.
Pattern Volume: Light/Medium
Pattern Type: THS
Right Handed

The UPROAR is a pearl version of the WRECKER.

I used the UPROAR on our 39 ft. THS, at box finish (1500 grit polished).

I found, for me, the UPROAR got through the heads and down lane very smooth, with a nice turn, and heavy roll to the pocket. The UPROAR is stronger than I originally thought it would be. I brought the surface up to 2000 grit, polished and found I got the little extra length i was looking for to make this ball a perfect complement to the WRECKER. I was able to start the set with my WRECKER. As the lanes transitioned, I was able to pick up the UPROAR, and stay in the same part of the lane.

This is a great piece for Light/Medium oil patterns. It is a great mid priced ball for all levels of bowlers. If you love the WRECKER, you will definitely be a fan of the UPROAR.


Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto_Roller


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: Roto_Roller 02/22/2014 17:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/8 1/2 up
 

Weight: 14 lbs.
Pin Length: 3”
Drilling: Pin over ring, CG in palm
Pattern Length: 39 ft.
Pattern Volume: Light/Medium
Pattern Type: THS
Right Handed

The UPROAR is a pearl version of the WRECKER.

I used the UPROAR on our 39 ft. THS, at box finish (1500 grit polished).

I found, for me, the UPROAR got through the heads and down lane very smooth, with a nice turn, and heavy roll to the pocket. The UPROAR is stronger than I originally thought it would be. I brought the surface up to 2000 grit, polished and found I got the little extra length i was looking for to make this ball a perfect complement to the WRECKER. I was able to start the set with my WRECKER. As the lanes transitioned, I was able to pick up the UPROAR, and stay in the same part of the lane.

This is a great piece for Light/Medium oil patterns. It is a great mid priced ball for all levels of bowlers. If you love the WRECKER, you will definitely be a fan of the UPROAR.


Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto_Roller


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: bigmikecraig 02/15/2014 15:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4
 
Lay Out: 4.5" from PAP at 60* PAP angle and 30* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 60/4.5/30. The pin ended up about 1/2 above my ring finger with the CG very swung out from the ring finger. I put a weight hole in the P2 area to maintain reaction.

Surface: I hit the box finish with a used 2000 abralon pad.

Purpose: I wanted to drill up this up the same as my Rumble to try to get a nice 1-2 punch to compare to. I had the Riot/Dark Star combo a couple of seasons ago and loved the way they rolled on shorter and lower volume patterns.

Observations: The UpRoar is very much like a sharper version of the Rumble. It is strong but controllable. I put it side by side with a Rumble and it has the same sort of shape, but is sharper off the spot. I hit the surface with a used 2000 pad and that smoothed it out more. This ball could be the Wrecker of 2014 as far as strong top shelf performance at a lower price.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bigmikecraig


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: Jroshandtap 02/10/2014 19:57 ( stars)


 
Uproar ball review by Storm Staffer Josh Conner
PAP: 5 3/8 over, 1/2 up
Lane pattern tested: 39' House Condition
The amount of ball you get, at this price point, can not be matched by any other company.
With the economy the way it is, I understand people can't afford new equipment, all the time. It always seems the latest and greatest ball out costs an arm and a leg, and never lives up to the hype. Well, that is surely not the case with the, Uproar. Being in the HP2 performance line, this ball is marketed as a lower price point ball, with a lot of ball motion. It's already made headlines at the T.O.C by being Belmo's go to ball the entire week. This 51ML cover combined with the Late Roll 51 weight block produces great mid lane reaction without risk of the ball burning up, or over hooking off the spot.
I drilled mine for league where we bowl on a 39' house pattern that sees a lot of over under. Where you get a little too much hook, but then not enough hook. So I drilled my uproar to blend out the condition, and give me the look I want. I drilled mine PIN DOWN UNDER MY BRIDGE and put my CG 2" from my center line. I've used this layout numerous times on equipment to blend out a carried down condition, where your back ends tighten up and also for your over under league conditions. There's nothing better then having a versatile ball that does well on multiple conditions with multiple layouts.
Try your favorite drilling on the all new Uproar and see how great this ball really is!!
Roto Grip, OWN IT!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jroshandtap


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: Jroshandtap 02/10/2014 19:37 ( stars)


 
Uproar ball review by Storm Staffer Josh Conner
PAP: 5 3/8 over, 1/2 up
Lane pattern tested: 39' House Condition
The amount of ball you get, at this price point, can not be matched by any other company.
With the economy the way it is, I understand people can't afford new equipment, all the time. It always seems the latest and greatest ball out costs an arm and a leg, and never lives up to the hype. Well, that is surely not the case with the, Uproar. Being in the HP2 performance line, this ball is marketed as a lower price point ball, with a lot of ball motion. It's already made headlines at the T.O.C by being Belmo's go to ball the entire week. This 51ML cover combined with the Late Roll 51 weight block produces great mid lane reaction without risk of the ball burning up, or over hooking off the spot.
I drilled mine for league where we bowl on a 39' house pattern that sees a lot of over under. Where you get a little too much hook, but then not enough hook. So I drilled my uproar to blend out the condition, and give me the look I want. I drilled mine PIN DOWN UNDER MY BRIDGE and put my CG 2" from my center line. I've used this layout numerous times on equipment to blend out a carried down condition, where your back ends tighten up and also for your over under league conditions. There's nothing better then having a versatile ball that does well on multiple conditions with multiple layouts.
Try your favorite drilling on the all new Uproar and see how great this ball really is!!
Roto Grip, OWN IT!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jroshandtap


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: seanbaker 02/10/2014 15:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5inches right 1/2 inch up
 
Roto Grip Up Roar
Right Handed
Experience Advanced (I have bowled in a league and hold a PBA Card)
League Average 220
Ball Speed Medium 15-16mph
Style Cranker
PAP 5 over 1/4" up

PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2"
Balance Hole - yes
Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit polish)
What I Was Looking For from this ball: A compliment in a pearlized version of the Rumble. I wanted the same aggressive backend reaction but more length.
What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout: A very strong pearlized ball that hooked hard on the backends. The ball would hold the line awesome even if I tugged a few or got it a board wide.
I tested this ball on a fresh pattern at my local center. The centers lanes are wood and the house shot isnt easy. The shot tends to hook early in the middle of the lanes and hang right if you get the ball too far out. Over the course of 5 games, I played around 15 and sent the ball out to 8 and sometimes went out to 5 to see the recovery. The Up Roar held my line very well and would even recover when I went a bit wide. Over the course of the next 10-15 games, the shot got much dryer in the middle and I migrated left with both my mark and my feet. What I found out is that this ball is very snappy for me when it hits the dry. With our house shot being tough and tending to be dryer off the breakpoint in the middles, I ended up moving back right and having to change hand positions to stay around the track area. I did however notice that since this ball is pearlized that it didnt recover much when I got too wide but that is to be expected on the shot we have. As long as I stayed around the 8 board no matter where I moved my stance, The Up Roar killed the pins. I have thrown this ball on a long patter as well and found that it works extremely well as long as I have a good backend.
Overall: I am very satisfied with this ball and think its an absolute fantastic compliment to the Rumble and one of the best pearlized balls out there. No over under or unpredictable reactions out of this ball like many other pearlized balls give at all. A definate must have for Roto Grip fans as well as any bowler wanting a great pearlized ball.
Sean Baker
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Paducah, Ky 42003


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by seanbaker


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: ODriscoll 01/11/2014 16:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    211
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Uproar

For you Pro Shop owners Roto Grip continues to provide a great entry point for new bowlers. Cheap price and great performance. The Uproar gives you great length with plenty of backend. I used it recently on the WTBA Los Angeles pattern and really matched up well. I could get right on top of the dry but was still able to get it down the lane with a great reaction on the backend.

Great ball for the shorter oil patterns and a great solution for the new bowlers.

Kelly O’Driscoll


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ODriscoll


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: RotoGripRickM 12/31/2013 10:30 ( stars)


 
UpRoar #1: Layout: 55x4x70
Tested on: 41ft THS and Don Carter pattern
Surface and oil/cleaner: Older HPL and Ice oil with Defense C cleaner
Results: Found this ball worked really well on the THS and playing the track area, did also have good success playing straight up the lane on the Don Carter pattern, even though this has pearl additive, it did not react like a pearl additive ball, the diff on this ball make it a great benchmark ball for any skill level of bowler. When I ran into carry down, it seemed very receptive to the carry down and it kept up the overall shape down lanes where a typical pearl ball would tend to start to slide a little more or hook early. When the Carter pattern starts to give up the front part of the lane, the ball motion did not really changed that much and seemed to be very stable on fresh and used patterns. Great overall performing ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripRickM


Roto Grip Uproar Reviewed By: StoRoto2013 12/30/2013 10:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The RotoGrip UpRoar is the pearlized version of the Rumble. The 51ML Pearl cover stock provides decent length with an aggressive break point. The UpRoar also uses the Late Roll 51 core same as the Rumble. I hand scuffed the cover stock slightly with a 2000 pad just to knock some of the polish off. The layout that I used was 45 X 5 ½ X 75 or Pin above the fingers with a slight cg kick to the right with an X-Hole on my Axis. My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up, rev rate around 300 and I am Right Handed.

I threw the UpRoar on a regular house pattern and also on the Viper pattern. What I noticed on both patterns is how easily the UpRoar glides through the front part of the lane. The other noticeable thing that stood out was how readable but aggressive the break point motion was. The UpRoar did not go sideways at the break point unless I just yanked on it at my release. Compared to the Shatter, the UpRoar has the same length but the backend motion was different. The Shatter wanted to jump or flip when it hits the dry boards whereas the UpRoar is a lot smoother. In order to get the Shatter to work on the House pattern my angle was extreme for my liking, feet were at 25 and my eyes were at 11 at the arrows. The UpRoar being more aggressive but smoother my angles were a lot better and more comfortable. I was 5 right with feet and looking at the area with my eyes. I decided to compare the UpRoar to the Rumble. Now with the Rumble out of the box with a 2000 grit finish…. The Rumble rolled earlier and smoother compared to the UpRoar. To try and make it fair I polished the Rumble. The polished Rumble did get more length than the OOB Rumble it did not compare to the overall performance of the UpRoar. The UpRoar gave me the world on the viper pattern with some room left and some room right. The Polished Rumble was either too much or not enough!

The UpRoar will be in my bag when bowling on the shorter patterns!



Dan Schaden Jr
Storm/ RotoGrip Staff
Vise Grip Staff



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StoRoto2013


Read all 32 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter