Go to Hammer Absolut Hook »

Only show reviews for Hammer Absolut Hook

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.89Write a Review    Read all 19 reviews

I Love It
 
89% (17 of 19)
I Like It
 
11% (2 of 19)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 19)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 19)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 19)

Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco 10/30/2013 10:29 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
The name says it all... Absolute Hook from Hammer!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 55* x 5" x 35*
Balance Hole - On PAP

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (800 Abranet/1000, 2000, 2000 Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I have used this layout on a few recent test balls and feel it gives me a strong look without the ball reading too early. The Absolut Hook is supposed to bring just that, hook. This layout should provide a really strong look off my hand with a strong continuous motion through the back part of the lane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I was pleasantly surprised by how strong yet controllable this ball was.

The Absolut Hook from Hammer is all business. Right off my hand it was revving but not over reacting in the heads.

The motion I had in the middle part of the lane and through the backend was great. It was super strong and very responsive to friction downlane. I was able to create a ton of miss with this ball as you can see in the video. If I let the ball leak a little right it revved up and recovered great with plenty of hit.

Overall I think this is a really good piece from Hammer and from what I have seen of their other new releases will compliment them very well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: Sweetpea Bowl 11/10/2013 11:48 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
Here is my review of the Absolut Hook. The Absolut Hook features the FatMax Core with a stronger solid cover compared to the Absolut Curve. I drilled mine with an 80 x 5 ½ x 20 layout. I had drilled an Absolut Curve with a similar layout so I wanted a better comparison between the 2 pieces of equipment. While the Hook comes factory dull, I did got over the ball with Ebonite Factory Finish polish to get more length and recovery on the ball and to match the surface on the Curve to get a better point of comparison. I found the Absolut Hook to be about 3-5 boards further left than the Absolut Curve . I found the motion of the Hook to be earlier and smoother than the Curve. As such, I found that straighter angles are better for the Hook because of its earlier/smoother motion. As such, my sense is the strength of this symmetrical release will be fresh patterns and patterns where there is over/under. When the heads start to go, the preferred option, I believe, would be to switch to a Curve or another weaker piece such as a Cobalt Vibe. Overall, Hammer has developed two pieces of equipment that complement each other nicely in the Hook and the Curve. I think the ball will be very effective for a variety of styles and because its core/cover combination, it may well be a nice benchmark ball for many players.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sweetpea Bowl


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: hammerhead216 02/26/2014 19:53 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 over 1/2 up
 
For the performance this ball gives it is under rated in price. Big ball motion out of a mid line ball. The Absolut is a must in your bag Drilled the first one with my favorite drilling of 60X5X40. With the out of box finish this ball rolls great through the front part of the lane with a real heavy move towards the pocket. For me this ball needed no friction to go left. 727 out the box....

Drilled a second one with the pin under the ring with about a 3 inch kick out of the CG. This ball has great motion through the front as the pin up layout but back off just enough as it left the friction to be able to be used on shorter and broken down oil patterns.

Found that this piece is very versatile on just about any oil pattern. Going to polish the pin down to check the reaction I can get.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerhead216


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: gobeavers92 11/13/2013 14:00 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I drilled my Absolute Hook with a 4.5 in pin under my bridge with the CG kicked out to 65 with a small hole 2 in below my PAP on the VAL, box surface. The Absolute Hook is a very even, heavy rolling ball. The shape is very similar to the original Arson but is about 3 boards stronger and reads the lane about 3 ft. sooner. The Absolute Hook looks great on a fresh pattern as it rolls nicely through the oil and tames down the fresh back ends with the smooth arc that is very controllable. As the lanes break down I can move further into the oil and open up the lane as this ball is very strong in the midlane. This ball rolls through the pins nicely with great hit and mix. I can’t wait to see what this ball can do at USBC nationals in Reno this year. With the Pro Anvilane surface and the ICE oil at the stadium I have a feeling the Absolute Hook is going to be a PERFECT match up. This is definitely the strongest symmetrical ball in the Hammer lineup and a must have for your arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gobeavers92


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: hammerbowler87 10/29/2013 15:49 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8 over 5/8 up
 
Layout=60x5x35
Rev Rate=425

Wow the Absolut Hook is exactly what it say a lot of hook. Like the Absolut Curve it has the amazing Fat Max core but with a little duller cover than the Curve. For me this ball gets a little earlier read in the midlane but transition for this ball is sick. It hooks out the building. Im easily 5 boards further left with this ball than I was with my Curve. This ball will find a spot in my bag for the long hall. Hammer and Jeff Ussery hit it out of the park again with the release of the Absolut hook. If you want a ball that has a ton of hook potential that you can control on house conditions get the Absolut Hook you wont be disappointed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerbowler87


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: pdank 04/24/2014 16:49 ( stars)


 
As a mediocre LH bowler with a 170 average i received this ball 2 weeks ago and it is amazing on our 2 league houses. One is 42 ft of oily from gutter to gutter and one is 36 ft of extra heavy oil in the middle with light oil the first 7 boards both sides. Both patterns are no match for this ball. Out of the box i shot a 624 and a 595 at the drier outside house. Shot a 247 and a 226 at the oil across house after a first game of 160 while i was figuring the shot. This ball is a pocket seeker and at both houses i had at least an 6" path to hit the pocket. Love it much better than my First blood. Much quicker roll after the oil.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: beaunixon@rocketmail.com 03/29/2014 15:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    195
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 over 1 1/4 up
 
Speed: 16.5
Style: Tweener

This is one of the cleanest breaking balls I have ever thrown. I drilled this pin down @ 2000 grit expecting it to rev up mid lane, and that is just what I got... This thing covers a lot of boards with the prettiest arching motion I have ever seen from a ball. Nothing jerky about it, even when the lanes start to break down.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by beaunixon@rocketmail.com


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: t11rex 03/07/2014 18:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    202
Sport Shot Average    201
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The Absolute Hook is the best bowling ball I have purchased lately from bowlingball.com. I usually purchase expensive high end balls for heavy oil and low RG (Deadly Aim) with aggressive drill patterns. I had to change my concept since I bought the Absolute Hook. For an inexpensive heavy oil ball you can't pass it up. What a fantastic ball from Hammer. Out of the box on a THS oil pattern I rolled games of 238, 258, 299 (solid 9 pin) for a 795 series. This is my highest series ever. I am a senior bowler, 13 MPH Tweener with a 205 league average. Looks like my average may go up a few pins. This ball is going to Nationals this year along with my other latest purchase, the Deadly Aim. Another great bowling ball from Hammer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by t11rex


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: caldren 02/26/2014 21:30 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    153
Sport Shot Average    201
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I had it conventional hook drilled and we went and practiced to check the lane condition to see if they worked well with my style of throw and so far so good. We will continue to check this ball on different lanes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caldren


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: lefty-nc 02/26/2014 08:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Hits hard and works well on most lane conditions. Ball speed will be your only concern depending on rev rate. Highly recommended!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by lefty-nc


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: j-rod-300 12/17/2013 01:23 ( stars)


 
The Absolute Hook is one amazing bowling ball! It gives hammer another strong symmetrical solid! The Absolute Hook Has more traction and hooks more in the oil more than the Absolute Curve does. It is a great compliment to the Absolute Curve!! The Absolute Hook start up a little earlier than the Curve, and offers a strong continuation through the mid-lane and backend!! Stop by your local Pro Shop and get yours today!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by j-rod-300


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: ArmstrongJr 12/09/2013 11:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 1/4 x 1 5/8 up
 
This ball does exactly what its name states, it HOOKS. I drilled mine with a 5 1/2" pin to pap with the cg at 20 degrees. With this layout the ball is very clean thru the front part of the lane and has a strong continuous motion off the end of the pattern. I tend to throw this on most patterns that are fresh and with a little bit of carry down. I noticed this ball also tends to be really angular when encountering alot of friction. This ball is one of the first balls out of my bag at any event i go to. You should really give this ball a chance and i don't think you will be disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ArmstrongJr


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: JGHAMMERHEAD 12/07/2013 13:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    212
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is so good . Early hook and very strong mid lane but retains enough energy to be explosive on the back end . Drilled mine with 5 inch pin above the middle finger and this ball looks like it is kicked at the breakpoint . One of the biggest overall hooking balls HAMMER has had.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JGHAMMERHEAD


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: jeremy216 11/21/2013 23:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    203
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 3/16 by 9/16
 
drilled my ball 50x4x40 pin up (pap is 5.25 over and .25 up)

what i was looking for with this layout: being a higher rev player i wanted the ball to be stronger in the midlane without being snappy in the backend

what i got out of it: one word WOW!!! this ball got clean through the front, picked up very strong in the midlane, and was very predictable in the backend. I was able to play multiple angles on the lane with this ball. from deeper inside to straighter with different hand positions. Hammer has hit a homerun with this ball and will be a staple in most people's tournament bags. I highly recommend


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeremy216


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: Thompson32 11/13/2013 09:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8 x 1" Up
 
BOWLER INFO:
PAP/Track: 5 1/8” x 1” up
Axis Rotation: 25 degrees
Axis Tilt: 12 degrees
Rev Rate: 440
Ball Speed: 16-18mph
LANE CONDITIONS
Lane Patterns Used: 40' House Shot, 2007 USBC Pattern, & 37’ Kegel Kode Pattern
BALL LAYOUT: 60 x 5 x 30
COMMENTS
With the success of the Absolut Curve, when the info about the Hook was released, I was excited. I love the Curve and use it a lot, but it tends to be a little too much angle in the backends for me at times. The Hook definitely compliments the Curve & fits perfectly in the Hammer lineup. The “Fat Max” core with a new coverstock helps blend the mid part of the lane and offers a strong continuous motion in the backends. This motion of this ball reminds me of the Arson, but stronger overall (earlier & more in the backends). In fact, I brought out my original Arson out of retirement that have the similar layout (2000 surface) and the Hook was 5 boards stronger overall…. AMAZING ~ An Arson on Steriods!!
Dislikes: Needs to be used on the medium to medium heavier patterns. Even with the weaker layout I had on this ball, it was a little too much ball with my rev rate. I had to bring up the surface to 4000 Abralon to get the ball down the lane a little easier.
I think this ball will be the best “Bang for your Dollar” oil ball for the majority of bowlers. This ball has a great motion that does not stop rolling in the backend – it really continues through the pin deck!
The release date for this ball is Tuesday Nov 19th, so make sure you place your pre-order today!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Thompson32


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: Hammergirl 11/10/2013 15:40 ( stars)


 
BOWLING BALL: HAMMER ABSOLUT HOOK
CORE: "NEW" FATMAX
COVER: "NEW" H-200 SOLID
RG / DIFF 15# RG (2.51) Diff (.044)
LAYOUT: 70 X 5 3/4 X 50
SURFACE: BOX FINISH 800-1000-2000-2000 ABRANET
LANE PATTERN: TYPICAL HOUSE 41', MEXICO CITY 45'


PROS: DOES THIS BALL HOOK! FOR ME THE LIGHTER VOLUME OF OIL I CANNOT THROW THIS BALL DUE TO MY LOWER BALL SPEED. ON THE OIL IT REALLY HELPS ME CARRY THE 10 PINS! NO KIDDING THIS BALL IS BY FAR 5-7 BOARDS STRONGER THAN ANYTHING IN MY BAG FOR HEAVY OIL. I CAN SEE THIS BEING MY GO TO BALL FOR THE FRESH OIL AND ANY FLATTER OR LONGER KEGEL/SPORT PATTERN I BOWL ON.

CONS: THE ONLY CON I CAN SEE IS IT IS NOT A GOOD CHOICE FOR DRYER LANE CONDITIONS IF YOUR REV RATE OR BALL SPEED IS ANYWHERE NEAR MINE.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammergirl


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: fbarefoot74 11/01/2013 01:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    238
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Drilled this ball today and wow the word Hook is on the ball for a reason. Bowled on fresh oil today and this ball just reads the pattern so well and hooks a ton and hits so hard. It was used out of the box so I havent done anything with it yet and its just sick.

Gonna polish it and hope I get the same if not more out of it. Great new ball by Hammer especially since this is a mid price ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by fbarefoot74


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: crats25 10/30/2013 18:02 ( stars)


 
This ball is an absolute beast. Ive had mine a week thrown it twice and love everything i see.The name says it all it hooks and at a mid range price point your getting a lot of ball for your money. Its incredibly aggressive off the spot and has tremendous continuation through the pins. It hits like a truck. If you were a fan of the arson this will be a great replacement. I look forward to throwing more games with it

Aaron Cratsenberg
Hammer Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by crats25


Hammer Absolut Hook Reviewed By: Deltona Lanes Proshop 11/26/2013 14:19 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
First, you have Absolut Curve, and that wasn’t enough, soooo…now you have Absolut Hook. Hammer has released the new Absolut Hook, which gives you more hook for the slickest of conditions. It has the H-200 coverstock along with the same Fat Max core from the Absolut Curve. The stronger coverstock will give this one a bigger footprint that gives this release the extra traction for heavier oiled conditions.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Deltona Lanes Proshop


Read all 19 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter