Go to Ebonite Pivot »

Only show reviews for Ebonite Pivot

Customer Reviews          Average: 5Write a Review    Read all 14 reviews

I Love It
 
100% (14 of 14)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 14)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 14)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 14)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 14)

Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: jnemeth69 09/10/2013 20:21 ( stars)

23 of 26 people found this review helpful.


 
At first when you hear someone make a reference that a ball is like another ball, it usually gets dismissed. When someone tells me a ball is a gamebreaker on steroids, I think they are flat out crazy. I just attended the demo day at Riverside Lanes in Titusville and was able to test out the Pivot. The Ebonite demo leader Anthony Amadeo explained that Ebonite having huge success with the Gamebreaker, has looked for similar ball motion. Well folks, here it is. The Pivot is truly a Gamebreaker on steroids. The ball cleared the mid and virtually recovered from anywhere where I threw it. Ebonite needed a ball to help propell them back to the top... This is the ball to do it. I was convinced and fell in love again with Ebonite. There is not many products that I feel strongly about from Ebonite. The One, Gamebreaker, and Missions were those balls. Now the Pivot will join them and I get to have my new old Gamebreaker back again in the Pivot.

Thanks to Anthony at Ebonite for turning me on to this really awesome bowling ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: Jim Lewis 09/14/2013 20:59 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    193
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/8 by 3/4 up
 
Ball Weight: 15 pounds
Layout: 50 by 4.5 by 35, no balance hole

Rev Rate:320
Ball Speed:16mph
PAP/Track:5 3/8 by 3/4 up

Surface: box surface

Oil patterns used: WTBA Athens on Brunswick ProAnvillane

Back End: fair length for a hybrid cover and strong arc

Overall Hook: large hook

Midlane Read: aggressive

Breakpoint Shape: strong arc

Coverstock on the Pivot was aggressive enough to allow the ball to turn the corner off the back of the pattern. Layout was 50 by 4.5 by 30, with no balance hole. This is the strongest asymmetric Ebonite ball I have used out of the box on oilier lanes and this should end up being a hit with those bowlers that give the Pivot a tryout.

Jim Lewis
Sports Plus/Carmen Don Pro Shop
Ebonite Amateur Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jim Lewis


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: tazman1970 09/18/2013 14:24 ( stars)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
 
Goto try this ball at demo. Then bought a week later. Ok lets say your driving Mack Truck and take sharp turn your probably gonna destroy what you hit. Well that is the pivot simple fact!! I bowl sport and house I got ball threw practice games on just fresh oil lanes. Threw 264 217 235 263 yes was on house shot. Great thing about this ball if you come in early to pocket the ball has that great drive that gives you awesome pin action. So you get some strikes that shouldnt be strikes but hey a X on board is a X. I have other balls with continuous back end but nothing like this one never seen ball drive like that.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tazman1970


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: perfectshot 09/11/2013 22:45 ( stars)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 7/8 x 3/8 down
 
I drilled this ball with a 45x5.5x65
With the box finish on a fresh shot with a lot of oil it acually opened the lane up.with 4 to 5 games needed to put some polish on it to get it thru the front part of the lane. This ball is by far the best piece ebonite has ever made.

#bowlitforward

Ebonite Pivot Ball Specs:
- Color: Red/Gold/Green All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown.
- Coverstock: RCM Hybrid™
- Core: CB-2 Asymmetric
- Factory Finish: 500, 1500 Abranet™
- Reaction: Strong Backend Continuation
- Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Heavy
- RG: 2.48**
- Differential: .049**
- ** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
- A few tiny pit holes in the cover stock of the ball are normal

Description: The dynamic properties of the Pivot's CB-2 Core, design allow for a ball motion that is quite unique. This ball is designed to perform when the oil is heavier in the front part of the lane-when the oil is fresh, not broken down. You will see the results of the down and in continuation when the Pivot The Pivot will provide great down lane continuation, and great power through the pin deck


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by perfectshot


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: Tallsmooth1 09/17/2013 12:27 ( stars)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


 
I drilled my Pivot with a tall 4 ¼” pin mostly because the house shots I bowl on have lighter volumes and don’t allow the high end, strong stuff to really excel. I had to put some factory finish over the box surface but also played with it some and tried it spun down to 3000 and 4000 with and without polish on both surfaces. What I see is a ball that is a touch stronger than the Champion with what I think is a little more continuation. Looks like it will play very well on heavy oil to medium shots depending on your ball speed and rotation. I think with the right layout and surface you can play a little deeper with the Pivot than a comparable Champion too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tallsmooth1


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: RJA300 09/22/2013 20:03 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 2-3
Starting Top Weight: 2.5
Ball Weight: 16

DRILL PATTERN
Pin to PAP: 4.5"
I used the Drill pattern number two on the Ebonite supplied drilling instructions

BOWLER STYLE: Stroker – slightly speed dominant
Rev Rate: 280
Ball Speed: 17-18
PAP/Track: PAP: 4 11/16” and 7/8" up

SURFACE PREP
Box Finish

LANE CONDITION
House Shot – 42’

COMMENTS
The Pivot is very strong throughout the entire lane and will work best on longer patterns and/or lanes where there is sufficient oil volume in the heads. The traction in oil is excellent, but it does not burn up early. For such a strong ball, the Pivot recovers very well on shots sent wide of pocket and creates greater than expected angle of entry into the pins. I am going to experiment with some higher grit surfaces and polish to see their effects on the ball. This is one of the best balls ever to come out of Hopkinsville. I’m looking forward to trying some different layouts for sport and PBA patterns. I highly recommend that you get to an EBI Demo Days at a center near you to try this ball.


RJ Alman
Ebonite Regional/Amateur Staff



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RJA300


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: swiftr 09/10/2013 23:46 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
To state it simply this ball is outstanding. I was looking for a step up from my Track 811 c/t. My coach let me throw this ball in a practice session, and I fell in love from the first shot. This ball makes a very clean move down the lane, and hits like a truck. This is a must ball for those longer sport patterns or for the heavier house shots. -Ronald Swift, University of South Florida Bowling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: DJC 03/24/2014 14:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The last few balls I have purchased I bought after watching the ball motion of others with similar style and rev rate. The Pivot is my first Ebonite purchase and boy did this baby hit the pocket like an 18 wheeler. For a high end hybrid this piece is angular. The center I bowl at lays down a 42 foot house shot with heavy volume and only the high rev players can successfully cross boards early (1st game). The Pivot performs extremely well in oil and gives you more angle then most high end balls in its class. I shot 700 out of the box with no practice for my Thursday night league and followed that up with 740 the next week. The ball motion is continuous through the pin deck which is essential to consistently scoring high. I was so impressed with the Pivot that I ordered up the Pivot Point and will write a review on that ball after a few weeks of league play. The Pivot is also a versatile ball as I "chased the oil inside for 3 games. My opinion is the Pivot performs better away from the gutter with a soft hand versus playing straight up the gutter (1-5 board).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DJC


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: thefreeagent 01/10/2014 23:18 ( stars)


 
LANE CONDITION

Length: Multiple

Volume: N/A

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS, Sport shot.


COMMENTS

Drilling: I drilled my Pivot pin down with the MB kicked out about 1 ½” and put 1000 abralon on it.
Likes: This ball can handle any medium to heavy volume of oil you throw at it. This ball is very clean through the front and gets into a roll pretty soon but doesn’t stop driving when it hits the pins. This would be a great choice for someone with low revs because it does a lot of the work for you.

Dislikes: This ball seems to burn up on shorter patterns and lower volumes, especially if you try to hit on the ball, granted it is a high end ball and not meant for either. I’m not a fan of extremely rolly bowling balls and this one is just that, which isn’t always a bad thing I just prefer a little more angle from my equipment.

Ryan Pitman
Ebonite Amateur staff.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by thefreeagent


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: Shades 12/06/2013 13:57 ( stars)


 
DRILL PATTERN

Pin to PAP: 5” (above ring finger
MB: 60 degrees
X Hole (if there is one): 5” over and 1”up from midline

BOWLER STYLE: RH - tweener
Rev Rate: 320
Ball Speed: 16.5
PAP/Track: PAP: 5 5/8” and 1" up

SURFACE PREP
Box Finish: 1500 Abranet
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Abralon

LANE CONDITION
House Shot – Several
Sport Shot - (41 ft, medium volume)
Surface – “new” Brunswick ProLane

COMMENTS
Another outstanding bowling ball by Ebonite! It seems like every ball that EBI brings to the market is developed to fill a need for the bowler’s arsenal development. The Champion is an incredibly versatile ball and rolls well on most every environment. The one challenge for the Champion was higher volumes and longer patterns. Ebonite releases the PIVOT which meets that need perfectly. You will notice the Pivot is clean through the front like the Champion, a bit stronger in the mids and has tremendous response at the breakpoint, especially considering the box surface (1500). Most balls with that much surface have a tendency to slow down too quick and leave nothing for the back of the lane. The PIVOT is the first ball that still has a lot left as it motions toward the pocket. The coverstock and the core are matched perfectly with the PIVOT. The one thing that stands out with the PIVOT is the continuation through the pins and the pin carry. I recommend the PIVOT to anyone looking for a piece in their arsenal for medium to heavy oil environments and who wants to STRIKE!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Shades


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: Zio300 11/01/2013 11:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This is by far the best Ebonite ball to date. I can't remember the last ball Ebonite made that hooked this much and hit this hard.

A little bit about my style of bowling to give you an idea. I throw the ball at 19.50 mph, have a rev rate of approx. 415 (used a camcorder, video software, and math), and I drilled mine at 90x 5 1/4 xV20 (V = VAL angle). Axis Rotation is 55 degrees and Axis Tilt is 19 degrees. On Fresh oil, I can throw my Source on laydown of 15 and breakpoint of 5 and that will give me a slight light mixer.

My bowling center uses Stone Street from the Kegel Recreational patterns as the league shot. I've never had a ball that I could start out laying the ball down on 30 with a breakpoint at 5 and have enough juice to hit the pocket hard. Usually I get a little over under because of how much oil is in the center. This ball out hooks my Challenge, a ball that I previously thought Ebonite could not make another ball hook more than. Boy was I wrong. This is one of my favorite bowling balls to throw. You MUST get one of these.

I do work in a Pro Shop and I'm currently on Ebonite Pro Shop Advisory Staff.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Zio300


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: thakhuudynasty 09/27/2013 16:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    203
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 3/4 5/8 up
 
This is must have ball in your bag!!!! If you are looking for a ball for oil or missing something that really really hooks then this ball is for you. The ball goes through the heads so clean reads the mid-lane then makes a U turn. This ball hits like a truck and carries really well. If you are also looking for a ball that when you need to move left to play in then this is the ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by thakhuudynasty


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: aturn300 09/11/2013 23:58 ( stars)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This ball hits like a truck! Threw it on long oil and it had no trouble recovering. I'm impressed with the smooth roll, arcing motion, and carry ability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Ebonite Pivot Reviewed By: bullsbowler 09/10/2013 21:31 ( stars)

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


 
I'm a house bowler who also bowl on the collegiate level. This ball has great length with amazing back end. Its a game breaker on steroids. I would recommend this ball to anyone!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 14 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter