Go to Hammer Spike Orange/Blue »

Only show reviews for Hammer Spike Orange/Blue

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.78Write a Review    Read all 18 reviews

I Love It
 
78% (14 of 18)
I Like It
 
22% (4 of 18)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 18)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 18)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 18)

Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: wmedina55 07/09/2014 22:27 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    184
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Just bought this ball and it's great ball. Threw practice games right after i had it drilled on medium oil lanes and i thought my Assassin hit hard this ball hit harder. It's great to watch the ball read the dry part of lane and make the drive into the pocket. Threw 7 more games at another house same day and OH MY GOD. Same reaction better scores. Great Job Hammer on a ball for a 55 yr old that just needed a dry lane ball. This ball is more than i could have imagined. If you need a ball for broken down oil this is the ONE!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: hammerhead216 02/26/2014 20:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 over 1/2 up
 
Love this ball! Was a little sad about the Vibe line stopping because of the great ball motion I got out of a low end ball. Out the box I didn't actually kill them. It took about 15+ games for this ball to open up for me. Pin over the middle finger close to outside of my span with the cg down in the thumb quad. This is my go to ball in league. to date I have 2 300's and 2 299's this season with this ball. This ball gives me a great skid flip motion which is not to common in Hammers line. Getting in deep to play a 5 board flare this ball doesn't over nor under do it. A ball you can keep in your hand for the whole night with out any huge adjustments. Not a bad tournament ball but not with this layout for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerhead216


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: TJ hooker 02/13/2014 13:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Nice hook and control for dry lanes tried it on heavy oil didnt break very well so use for dry and med lanes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Ravens47 02/10/2014 11:40 ( stars)


 
I have used this ball exclusive the last four games I have bowled on my Saturday league. I bowl on late night league and when I bought this ball I was looking for something that fits the conditions between my Vibe and my Copperhead. My first game was a 231, second was a 209 and thrird was a 222 for a 642 set. I also used it exclusively in my third game and shot a 201 the week before. I have not shot under 200 using it yet.My aveg. is only 178.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: lefty70 11/26/2013 01:33 ( stars)


 
I am having the ball drilled at my local pro shop after the Thanksgiving Holiday. I am having it drilled to the RICO pattern. The house that I bowl at has a dry,short,(28\') pattern. I will write again on my experience with this ball after the holiday.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Hammer23 11/19/2013 13:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    204
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 5/8 over and 7/8 up
 
LANE CONDITION

Layout: 65 X 5 1/2 x 40

Length:40 and 39

Volume:Medium to dry

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes:The Spike is super clean through the fronts. This is a great ball for the dry house conditions and later blocks in a tournament. The Spike creates great entry angle. Being I higher rev guy this ball is a must for the dry. Other lower rev rate bowlers have had great success with stronger layouts in the Spike.

Dislikes: Defiantly longer patterns. But you can change the surface down to 2000 and which enables the Spike to pick up earlier and still hit on the back.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammer23


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: hammerbowler87 10/29/2013 15:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8 over 5/8 up
 
Layout=35x5 1/2x65
Rev Rate 425

The Spike is defiantly one of my go to balls late in the night in league. The ball is very clean through the fronts and gets plenty of length down lane but still has enough energy to recover. With the black widow nasty core and a taboo cover this ball is a great bang for your buck when it comes to looking foe a ball that is strong down lane without having to pay the high dollar cost to get it. The spike is a ball that will fit good in anyone's arsenal and can help you keep strike when the lanes start to break down and your other equipment is over hooking.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerbowler87


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: hoppyfl@yahoo.com 10/09/2013 23:35 ( stars)


 
Ball, although only a 150 rating, hits very hard. I was surprised at thew carry I got with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: pcthao83@gmail.com 09/26/2013 01:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
 
I have a lots of trouble on dry Lane and this ball is perfect on me for that.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pcthao83@gmail.com


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Hammergirl 09/22/2013 12:47 ( stars)


 
BOWLING BALL: HAMMER SPIKE
CORE: NASTY CORE
COVER : GTR III PEARL
RG / DIFF 15# RG (2.56) Diff (.054)
LAYOUT: 50x4 1/2x40
SURFACE: BOX FINISH 800-1000-2000 Abranet™-Powerhouse Factory Finish Polish®
LANE PATTERN: Typical house shot (light volume)

PROS: This ball is very clean for me through the fronts and mid lane. It is very controllable and a good ball choice for when the lanes are drier or when the track begins to break down it allows me to stay in my comfort zone. I will say that the Spike has more backend movement for me than any of the vibe series I have thrown.

CONS: For my style of bowling it is not a good ball choice for medium/heavy volume oil patterns.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammergirl


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: fbarefoot74 09/11/2013 13:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    238
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This ball is just plain ridiculous! So smooth through the fronts and it revs pretty good midlane and the backend is super strong. I can play this ball on any part of the lane on the fresh and its hitting power is one of a kind. Great ball to have if you are looking for something when they get a tad bit dryer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by fbarefoot74


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Armstrong857 08/29/2013 12:35 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/4 x 2in UP
 
The Spike is one of my favorite balls for when the lanes start to dry out or on short patterns. I drilled my Spike with 4 1/2" pin above bridge layout with a hole in the center of grip on my VAL. One thing I noticed is when I need a ball that clears the fronts and mid-lane with an angular motion on the back end this ball is no stranger. You need to make sure there is friction though as this ball tends to wiggle when encountering oil down lane. This ball for me is about an arrow stronger than my cobalt vibe with an earlier motion out of the box. I feel like this ball is great for bowlers with medium to high ball speed that are looking for that angular motion with tremendous hitting power.

Mike Armstrong Jr.
Hammer Staff Member
PBA Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Armstrong857


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: tmnice33 08/15/2013 15:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Only used it for one series but seems to react how you want a ball for medium to dry lanes to react.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: gobeavers92 08/12/2013 14:43 ( stars)


 
I drilled my Spike with a 5 in pin above my bridge with the CG kicked out (5 x 3). I added an extra hole on PAP. I have had a chance to throw the Spike for a few weeks now and have seen it on multiple patterns. This ball is designed to go long and make a nice strong move at the end of the pattern so I laid out this ball to match up to the ball strengths (long with a strong move at the end of the pattern). The Spike is made for the burn when you need it to get through the front part of the lane and the track area and save up enough energy to still hit as it goes through the pins. The ball comes from the factory with a 2000 factory polish finish so no surface prep was necessary. If you are looking for a hockey stick motion (hard curve at the end of the pattern) look no further than the Hammer Spike! This ball glides through the front part of the lane with ease and saves up its energy making a strong, sharp, yet predictable move as it exits the pattern. The Spike really shines when the lanes are burned up and you need a ball that will get down the lane but yet still be strong enough to roll through the pins with strong hitting power. The Spike is a must for bowlers that bowl a late shift league or tournament bowlers that need a ball for that dry lane afternoon block. This is a ball everybody needs to have in their bag!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gobeavers92


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: j-rod-300 07/19/2013 11:51 ( stars)


 
The Spike is a new High RG/ High Differential ball in the Hammer Line. You can expect to use it on a pattern that has some friction and once you throw it you will see what all the buzz is about! From my personal experice with the ball I had it picking up a little sooner than the Vibes and more angular in the back part of the lane. It is definitely a peice that we have been missing in our line! Stop by your local pro shop and order one today!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by j-rod-300


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: qball1221 07/10/2013 17:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    232
Sport Shot Average    201
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 over 1/2 up
 
COVER : GTR III PEARL
RG / DIFF: 15# RG (2.56) Diff (.054)
LAYOUT: 70 X 5 3/4 X 50

SURFACE:BOX FINISH 800-1000-2000 Abranet™-Powerhouse Factory Finish Polish®

LANE PATTERN: TYPICAL HOUSE 41\', USBC TEAM, USBC SGL & DBLS


PROS:Spike uses a high RG, high Dif-ferential core system that gives Hammer bowlers a new look at conquering drier lanes. This is the ball motion that every bowler is looking for on typical house patterns, skid/flip. This is a motion that we have needed in HAMMER. This is a great compliment to Nail series. A must for Medium/Dry lanes. USBC Team pattern, I had to adjust surface to 2000 no polish. This helped Spike open it more down lane. This also helped on USBC Sgl/Dbls pattern.
CONS:On the fresh USBC patterns it was tight down lane with to much angle off the spot. Changed surface to 2000 no polish, match was much better.

Les Mann
Hammer Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by qball1221


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Plowboy300 07/08/2013 23:20 ( stars)


 
LANE CONDITION
Lane Patterns Used: 39' House Shot, USBC Singles/Double Pattern, & 2013 ITC Sectional Singles Pattern (43'), Kegel Broadway Pattern
COMMENTS
Ball Layout: 50 x 4 1/2 x 35
Likes: I was excited to hear about this release (High RG / High Diff core) from the ball that I enjoyed back in the day – Black Widow Nasty. This ball is much better with the Jet Black cover to give this ball plenty of ease through the front part of the lane. This ball is definately very clean in the front part of the lane with a STRONG & BIG backend reaction. As advertised, it fits above the Titanium Nail & Cobalt Vibe by providing a continuous backend motion where you need it. For me this ball worked best on when the patterns were in transition and I needed a ball to recover in the backends when the lanes opened up. First series out of the box was a 279, 227, 267 = 773 series on a low volume house shot pattern.
Dislikes: Tends to be a little too strong off the spot on the fresher patterns. It was a little too sensitive to the lane patterns which I played on the fresh, which is not the best idea to use an angular ball on these patterns anyways. Might need to knock off the shine if you want the ball to be a little smoother off the spot.
I think this ball will work great for a few of the lower rev rate bowlers that need a ball to get through the front part of the lane & turn the corner when the transition has forced them left of their comfort zone. With the high rg / high diff core & the Jet Black cover, this ball will help bowlers have a ball that will get down the lane with ease & turn the corner in the backends. This is a little different motion that we have seen & I feel was missing in the Hammer brand.
The release date for this ball is July 16th, so make sure you place your pre-order through Bowlingball.com



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Plowboy300


Hammer Spike Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Sweetpea Bowl 07/07/2013 13:03 ( stars)


 
The Spike is truly something new in terms of ball motion for Hammer as it has been a long time that we have seen a High RG/High diff core. Add the Black Taboo cover and that spells a ball that is very angular. I drilled mine with a 70 x 4 7/8 x 65 layout with a weight hole 4 inches over and 2 1/2 inches down from grip center. I used it with box surface and threw it on a THS and Master pattern. I agree with advice that had been provided to me that stronger pin positions tend to work a little better on this ball. Even with a stronger pin placement, this ball truly does lope through the front and then revs up very fast and kicks hard on the back. It is very sharp and striking looking in its Blue/Orange cover. I will state that with the shiny over, the ball may over/under a little bit even with a stronger layout. Purchasers of this ball may, depending on style and rev rate, want to dust the shine off to smooth out the motion just a bit without losing the charcateristic of the ball. The strength of this ball will be drier patterns or broken down patterns. This ball will be especially effective for people who tend to be rev dominant need and/or little extra help getting the ball down the lane. This ball truly does get down the lane very easily and does hit hard.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sweetpea Bowl


Read all 18 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter