Go to Hammer Absolut Curve »

Only show reviews for Hammer Absolut Curve

Customer Reviews          Average: 5Write a Review    Read all 20 reviews

I Love It
 
100% (20 of 20)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 20)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 20)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 20)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 20)

Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: gobeavers92 08/12/2013 14:42 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I drilled my Absolute Curve with a RICO layout (pin in the center of my grip 4 ¾ from PAP) and I added an extra hole on my VAL 2 1/2 inches down from my PAP. I have had a chance to throw the Absolute Curve for a few weeks now and have seen it on multiple patterns. Because of the way I drilled this ball it is definitely condition specific as I was looking for a ball that would not bounce when it sees friction. A RICO drilling will keep the ball from slowing down too fast as it either exits the pattern or when it hits dry boards to the right. I took the surface down with a 1000 pad (it comes from the factory with a polished surface). The Absolute Curve is a quick rev-ing smooth rolling ball that is great on over walled or fresh lane conditions. The ball blends out the wet and dry VERY well. I was pleasantly surprised to see how much continuation this ball has as it goes through the pins. Sometimes when you have a ball that likes to rev up early and roll it can lose energy when the ball goes through the pins. Not the Absolute Curve this ball always seems to be going right to left off the pin deck. Along with keeping the pins nice a low it is a recipe for GREAT pin carry. I can’t wait to drill an Absolute Curve with a more traditional layout as I think it will be a great compliment to the RICO ball I have now. My guess is it will be a little longer through the front and middle part of the lane with a stronger move as it exits the pattern. I love the versatility of the core and cover on this ball. Another winner from the folks at Hammer!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gobeavers92


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: hammerbowler87 10/29/2013 15:32 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8 over 5/8 up
 
Layout=50x5 5/8x30
Rev Rate=425

The Absolut Curve is exactly its billing. This ball hooks a lot past the pattern. The new fat max core is becoming my favorite core in the hammer line. This ball is so smooth but yet transitions so fast in the back end it has been one of my go to balls in league as of late. This ball is a definite in your bag and is a ball you can throw all night in league from fresh to the burn. I have thrown it in wood and synthetic laned houses and I find the same reaction across the board out of this ball. Did I mention it hits hard. If your a die hard hammer fan or just want to try the brand for the first time you cant go wrong with the Absolut Curve.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerbowler87


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: Hammer23 09/24/2013 11:33 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    204
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 5/8 over and 7/8 up
 
About the Bowler
Bowling Hand Right Handed
Experience Advanced
League Average 228
Sport Shot Average 208
Ball Speed Medium to Fast
Style Cranker
PAP 5 1/2 over 1/2 up
LANE CONDITION
Lane Patterns Used: 40 House Shot, Kegel Montreal sport pattern
Ball Layout: 65 X 6 1/4 X 35
COMMENTS
Likes: This ball is an awesome rolling ball going down the lane. The new core/cover combo really gets the ball down the lane, with great continuation and it does not stop. Another huge benefit of the Absolute is the ball motion on oil. This is the first ball I have thrown with box finish(polished) the still hooks on oil. Used it on the Kegel Montreal pattern (longer pattern) and it picked up in the midlane and hooked on the back.
Dislikes: The Curve is a little speed sensitive with my week 6 in pin on oil, however I can use this ball on medium to med/drier lane conditions.
I think this ball will be great ball for the majority of bowlers that need length and continuation without skid/snap. The ball truly fits its name CURVE.
Brent Watson
Hammer Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammer23


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: qball1221 09/19/2013 10:15 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    232
Sport Shot Average    201
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 over 1/2 up
 

BOWLING BALL: HAMMER ABSOLUT CURVE
CORE: "NEW" FATMAX
COVER : "NEW" H-150 CROSSCOVER
RG / DIFF 15# RG (2.48) Diff (.048)
LAYOUT: 70 X 5 3/4 X 50
SURFACE: BOX FINISH 500-500-500-1500 ABRANET FACTORY POLISH
LANE PATTERN: TYPICAL HOUSE 41', MEXICO CITY 45'

PROS: With the combi-nation of the new FatMax core shape and our H-150 Crosscover Reactive shell, the Absolut Curve gives Hammer bowlers the most angular mid-price ball from the Hammer line in years. This is a ball that after one throw you know it has that WOW factor. Absolut Curve off the breakpoint is just plain sick, oh wait and then the massive continuation through the pins is ridiculous. This ball is going to be all around versatile for all types and different styles of bowlers. This is a must in every bowlers bag.

CONS: not to good for your competition on the lanes…..


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by qball1221


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: kingbowler73 09/17/2013 15:03 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
The Absolut Curve is for sure a winner in the Hammer line.

I drilled mine with the pin above the bridge trying to get as much down lane motion as possible. What that created for me was a long skid and a very strong flip for me. This ball has a ton of continuance all the way through the pins and off the pin deck.

If I were to compare the Absolut Curve to anything that Hammer has came out with in the past I would say very similar to the First Blood with the difference being the Absolut Curve is more controlled and the First Blood, for me, has a lot of over under.

Paul Brown
Amateur Hammer Staff Member
The Ohio State University Women's Head Bowling Coach


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: Sweetpea Bowl 07/07/2013 12:52 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I feel this ball has the potential to be a new "benchmark" ball for Hammer. Forget about the fact that this ball is VERY SHARP LOOKING...the performance of the Absolut Curve is ABSOLUTELY amazing! I drilled mine with a 5" pin to pap distance with no weight hole. I kept it at box surface and I have used it on a THS and Masters pattern in my home house. On both patterns, this ball demonstrated no quit...this ball flat out backends.It is very easy to stand left and send this ball to the right and watch it boom back. Change of direction can easily be tamed down by staying more up the back of the ball. However, because this ball has reads the lane so well and is capable of doing different things, it is extremely versatile and likely will be one of the first balls out of the bag. I think because of the performance chacateristic of the ball, it will also fit many different styles of bowler and will hit a very wide variety of oil volumes and distances!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sweetpea Bowl


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: Kgmach 04/24/2014 17:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    235
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5.25
 
Coverstock: H-150 Crosscover
Core: FatMax Core
Factory Finish: 500-500-500 Abralon® -1500 Abranet, with Factory Finish Polish
LANE CONDITION:
Type: THS, USBC Blue, Kegel Bourbon Street
COMMENTS: Big continuous angular movement here. Polished black, yellow and orange with the FatMax Core.
Likes: This ball gets through the fronts easily and gives you that "suck back" to the pocket look. Heavy rolling, big CURVE. ABSOLUT-ly!
Dislikes: I didn't like this on the heavy oil conditions. Seems to be more suited for medium conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kgmach


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: lefty-nc 02/26/2014 08:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
A monster of a ball. It crushes the pins. Always in the pocket. Highly recommended!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by lefty-nc


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: cross0213@yahoo.com 12/08/2013 18:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    172
 
This is my first ball from Hammer and it looks like I made a good choice. What I was looking for in this ball was something that would be a little less snappy then my Storm Frantic but more angular then my Mutant Cell. I just had the standard layout put on it (I have a medium track) anyway the pro put down a fresh shot for me and for an average bowler like myself I was shocked at all the various lines I could play and get the ball to the pocket even the pro was shocked and said he was going to drill one up for himself.

Will this be the start of a love affair between me and Hammer? Only time will tell. Thanks Bowling ball.com for making new equipment affordable as well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cross0213@yahoo.com


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: Hammer23 11/19/2013 13:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    204
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 5/8 over and 7/8 up
 
LANE CONDITION

Lane Patterns Used: 40 House Shot, Kegel Montreal sport pattern


Ball Layout: 65 X 6 1/4 X 35


COMMENTS

Likes: This ball is an awesome rolling ball going down the lane. The new core/cover combo really gets the ball down the lane, with great continuation and it does not stop. Another huge benefit of the Absolute is the ball motion on oil. This is the first ball I have thrown with box finish(polished) the still hooks on oil. Used it on the Kegel Montreal pattern (longer pattern) and it picked up in the midlane and hooked on the back.

Dislikes: The Curve is a little speed sensitive with my week 6 in pin on oil, however I can use this ball on medium to med/drier lane conditions.



I think this ball will be great ball for the majority of bowlers that need length and continuation without skid/snap. The ball truly fits its name CURVE.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammer23


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: DMatchett 11/15/2013 15:24 ( stars)


 
I have used an array of Hammer products and this Absolut Curve is in
my opinion the best ball produced since the original Black Widow,I still can't get over how strong this ball backends...this is a great ball for tournaments and ideal for house shots with medium oil or slightly towards heavy, the average bowler will look like a pro throwing this ball, I currently have The Sauce,Taboo,Ratchet,Black Widow,to name a few and the Absolut Curve is what I have been looking to find in the past few years.I love it so much that I may order another not drilled and save for the future...As soon as I heard the Absolut Hook was available I ordered one and can;t wait to throw it.
Did I mention that I bowled two 300 in back to back nights? Just be prepared to move left on house shots earlier then normal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: darren44 10/02/2013 22:21 ( stars)


 
I shoot a 222 247 202 for 647 great hiting power would buy a nother ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by darren44


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: istrike4u 09/22/2013 20:59 ( stars)


 
When I opened the box the first thing I thought was WOW,this ball has GREAT shelf appeal, and boy does it, sold three of these one week after released. The lanes haven't seen a ball thats rolls this strong from release to the pins in quite some time. The cover is very versatile as well, I bowl on a sport pattern and Absolute Curve created a much stronger angle on the fresh with surface. A stronger midlane drilling completely took any OB out of the aquasion. Thanks HAMMER far another great addition to your already strong line.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by istrike4u


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: Hammergirl 09/22/2013 12:44 ( stars)


 
BOWLING BALL: HAMMER ABSOLUT CURVE
CORE: "NEW" FATMAX
COVER : "NEW" H-150 CROSSCOVER
RG / DIFF 15# RG (2.48) Diff (.048)
LAYOUT: 50x4 1/2x40
SURFACE: BOX FINISH 500-500-500-1500 ABRANET FACTORY POLISH
LANE PATTERN: House shot (light volume of oil) and (medium/heavy volume of oil)

PROS: This ball for me is very comparable to my Jet Black Taboo and my First Blood. I love how strong and continuous this ball is through the pins! I have not seen this strong continuation in a symmetrical ball that has matched up to my lower rev rate in some time.

CONS: NONE


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammergirl


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: nascar24 09/10/2013 17:38 ( stars)


 
love this ball great hooking power

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: Armstrong857 08/29/2013 12:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/4 x 2in UP
 
I drilled my Absolut Curve with a Pin under bridge (4" pin to PAP) layout with a hole 2" down on my VAL. This layout for me is similar to a Rico layout since I'm a high track player. I choose this layout to help blend out the over/under ball motion I typically see on house shots. Out of the box I noticed that the ball was reading the midlane to early for my liking. With that being the case, I sanded the ball with a 500 grit abralon pad and then polished it. The result was the ball being very clean threw the fronts and still having enough energy and traction to peel off the end of the pattern in oil without laboring. On a fresh league pattern i can start with this ball and use it until i see transition where I will start to flat 10. This ball is a hook monster and i would recommend this ball to anyone looking for a strong continuous motion. The bowlers with the higher rev rate and ball speed will love this ball.

Mike Armstrong Jr.
Hammer Staff Member
PBA Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Armstrong857


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: Swerve 08/21/2013 14:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I'm entering my 2nd fall league season, still considering myself a beginner by many standards. I chose this ball during the summer have-a-ball league to compliment my other Hammer balls (Epedimic, Black Taboo, Infection, Cobalt Vibe, and others) - and with my first practice in 3 games last night, scored 237, 231 and 229 - my first 600 series. I know it was practice, and tonite will be the true test - first night of the men's league. I could throw it wide or narrow and it did what i needed - hit that pocket. We'll see how i do tonite!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: jake_washington 08/17/2013 14:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I drilled my absolute curve with a 90X35 degree layout. The pin distance is 3 ½”. Using this layout on this ball, I was aiming for a strong mid-lane reaction with a smoother backend motion. The Absolute Curve was everything I was hoping it would be and then some.
It has quickly become one of my favorite balls, because it is so versatile and I can use it on so many different conditions. On any house patterns or medium length sport patterns I have used the Absolute Curve on, it gives me an easy-to-read mid-lane reaction that allows me to make more accurate adjustments as the lanes change. I have even been able to use it on longer patterns after they have broken down a little bit. It reads early enough to use on long oil due to the strong cover on the ball and the layout chosen for it, and since it isn’t going too long it is able to face up to the pins quicker and increase carry.
The Absolute Curve also has a very versatile cover. I have played around with a variety of different surfaces on a variety of different patterns and I didn’t see a single reaction that I didn’t like. I found that I had a particularly good reaction with the Absolute Curve on a fresh 45 ft. pattern after I had cut the surface to 1000 grit.
Overall, I am extremely impressed and already crazy about the Absolute Curve, and I think this ball would be an awesome fit for any bowler due to its versatility. Try one for yourself. You won’t be disappointed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jake_washington


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: j-rod-300 07/19/2013 12:08 ( stars)


 
Let me first start off with saying WOW! This has easily become my favorite ball. The name truly says it all! The backend motion something different for us and it is a really good thing! Compared to my Arson Hybrid its cleaner through the front and a lot more angular on the back! The Absolut Curve is something you could use on a medium/ medium heavy oil pattern. Depeneding on your normal league condition you could use it the first game or even two games before you have to change balls. Stop by your local pro shop and get yours today!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by j-rod-300


Hammer Absolut Curve Reviewed By: Plowboy300 07/09/2013 00:08 ( stars)


 
LANE CONDITIONS
Lane Patterns Used: 39' House Shot, USBC Singles/Double Pattern, & 2013 ITC Sectional Singles Pattern (43'), Kegel Broadway Pattern
BALL LAYOUT: 50 x 4 1/2 x 30
COMMENTS
Likes: When I heard about a lot of great things about this new “Fat Max” core with a new coverstock from the Hammer test team after the info was released and was looking forward to throwing this ball to see what seeing what this ball was all about. All I can say is WOW – amazing looking & rolling ball going down the lane. This new core/cover combo really works well together by giving this ball easy length through the front part of the lane and with a very strong continuous backend motion that DOES NOT stop. No matter how much I kept moving in with this ball, this ball really turns the corner really well. The name says it all… Absolut CURVE. For me this ball compliments the Arson Hybrid where it is cleaner & more backend than the Arson Hybrid.
Dislikes: Needs to be used on the medium to medium heavier patterns. With the layout on this ball, it was a little too much ball with the backend motion for the patterns I was bowling on. This is a very strong layout of me, so it was a little sensitive to the patterns which I played on the fresh, but after a little surface adjustment (knocking off the polish) I was able to use this ball on the fresher patterns with ease.
I think this ball will be great ball for the majority of bowlers that need a ball to get through the front part of the lane & really turn the corner when the transition has forced them left of their comfort zone. This is a little different motion that we have seen & I feel was missing in the Hammer brand. BIG BACKEND motion that DOES NOT stop – really continues through the pin deck!
The release date for this ball is July 16th, so make sure you place your pre-order through Bowlingball.com



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Plowboy300


Read all 20 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter